Jalsa-e-AAJ - Nawaz Sharif

Talat Hussain, Mushtaq Minhas and Nusrat Javed grill Nawaz Sharif in Jalsaa-e-AAJ. This program was recorded before elections but was aired today on AAJ TV.

137 Comments »

Replace all muted audio with “Musharraf”.

[...] likavalentino wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptTalat Hussain, Mushtaq Minhas and Nusrat Javed grill Nawaz Sharif in Jalsaa-e-AAJ. This program was recorded before elections but was aired today on AAJ TV. [...]

3. Omer Khan Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 5:19 am

He’s a good politician. Better than BB marhoom. Ofcourse Imran is still the best choice for Pakistan.

excellent points on kashmir and afghan resistance.
    After all he is kashmiri himself, lolz.

Only thing I can say about NS Ghuda barhbain Khada Phawlan. He did attack Supreme Court of Pakistan.

- I feel sorry for those people who are unable to realise yet about the sincerity of PML-N, PTI, JI and about dubious policy/stance of PPP etc.

- I admit that although IK is not yet that strong politically but obviously he is gr8 visionary leader and an asset for Pakistani Nation. Hope we will be able to get benefit out of Imran Khan soon… Inshallah

NS did really well against these smart anchors. Talat was trying to give him tough time but NS was upto mark. ” Talat AAP ne pemra ordinance kabool kar lia kia” haha.
    Real problem is that NS needs support from PPP for restoration of CJ and kicking out Mush and only God knows what will PPPP do in next few days.

NS needs to grow a little more. I was not convinced…. He loves desk banging, clapping. He is himself not sure of what he will be doing, how he will bring the change. He did not answer Talat’s question properly. He should have accepted the fact that his party also played dirty role in attacking the hight court. Every thing said and done I hope and pray that democracy do flourish, and if not all than some relief should be given to the people of Pakistan…. We need it and we deserve it.

8. kamrananjum Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 7:40 am

Just wanted to say one thing here that is good about him. At least he is sure what he wants to do. Other parties like PPPP despite being the leading party in these elections is not sure what they want to do. Whenever they have been asked the answers are diplomatic and unclear. True he cant do it alone, but he is trying to take other parties with him and convincing them to be with him on atleast 2 issues (restoration of judiciary and depoliticisation of army) which are the main demands of more than 70% to 80% people of pakistan.

Now we should understand it’s not only NS who will do this, he is only a soldier in this war and we need soldiers like him from other parties as well. If by any mean PPPP takes a backseat in this scenerio it would not only be bad for pakistan but it will also be bad for PPPP. People of pakistan are now becoming aware of the issues (thanks to media) and they will not forgive any one who will voilate there mandate.

Thanks God, AAJ Tv didn’t broadcast this show before election, otherwise PML N would have been seriously damaged.

Atleast this guy has cleaved to some principles unlike PPP who cant even decide their priministerial candidate. PPP is still not clear about their stand. Bunch of vacuous minded feudals.

11. kamrananjum Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 8:18 am

@Fahim

Would you like to throw some light on the issues which you think have forced you to give the above statement.

I respect your views. But I think he has done equally well if not better than these anchors. If you hear our other leaders in comparision to him you will agree that he is more clear than all of them about what he wants.

How to do it is a good question (read my earlier post). He cant do it alone.
    He need everyone to back him. Wake up people of pakistan and leaders of political parties and hear the voice from inside.

Khuda nay aj tak us koom ki halat nahin badli
    na ho jisay khud khayal apni halat k badalnay ka

I liked his speech. I didn’t realize he was this good a public speaker. Obvjously he’s no ZAB… but I like the flow in his speeches better than BB who was always crippled by her Urdu problems.

Good thing it was aired today. Some added pressure on all parties involved to form the govt and do what is necessary.

BTW, isn’t Nawaz Sharif a “MUUH-HHAAJ-JIRR?????” I’m proud to see a successful muhajir prime minister who isn’t a racist or thinks in terms of his ethnicity or language…

@kamrananjum

apologies, posted in hurry by mistake…this is complete reply

In most of the questions he was asked, he was nothing but babbling “good book words”.

He has been on record saying that he won’t forgive any ghadar of his party who left him in difficult times, but now he is being opportunist but not accepting it.

No party in our unfortunate country takes care of its workers but as he claims he is man of principle, he again lied when asked about why he has given tickets to lotas (members of other parties especially PML Q) and his family members but not to the parties.

He lied again while self praising that he didn’t do any illegal thing and got mad with Talat Hussain when he said “men soch raha tha k kon kon say incidents men quote na karon”

He didnt even accepted that he committed any wrongs in the decade of 90s despite the facts his past is of the “Establishment Boy”.

The position in which he is, it is very easy for him to take the any stand he wants. He knew that, this election is a warm up exercise for him. He won’t have 2/3rd majority all alone so he can say all the good words.

As a leader of political party, he is supposed to have a clear strategy of achieving his goals. He seems like ordinary men on the streets with a large list of wishes. He don

15. khizarkyz Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 10:08 am

@Fahim23
    I did’t read ur email because of verbosity but caught the line “Ghazi Barotha project started in 1994″. this is wrong. In fact it was started in feb 1993 & I myself is witness to it. Although it was strange when BB relaid the foundation stone in 1994 at the advice of her ingenious advisors.

16. Omer Khan Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 10:17 am

Yah he has lotsa bad stuff, still dwarfed when compared to musharraf’s dicatorship, PPP’s 2 govt’s..combined.

To me Imran Khan has been the only true outspoken guy, where he condemend Muaharraf for NRO’s etc…for his own chair.

I mean if givena choice between all these corrupt politicians of all major parties PPP, PMLQ, PMLN, MMA who contested elections…he shines like a penny. And yup during his rule there was still pride in Pakistanis.

@fahim23
    Agree with ur views

18. Omer Khan Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 10:44 am

He still is and was better than BB-Zardari cartel or the Mush mafia….

And now hearing him speak…just afirms it. Let’s not forgive the culprits including NS for taking the nation for a ride and damaging whenever they hada chance. But if we wanna be consistent in our jibber jabber, You gotta admit it: NS is one hella politician. Or at the very least a better grand stander! :P

Well done NS. Just compare his pre-election comitment and todays comitment, he is standing equally firm contrary to usual politicians. Anchors stand at different time should also be questioned, for instance in this program Talat Hussain’s question “you have become the part of this unconstitutional system” means N-league is doing mistake by taking part in the election. Now compare this to his couple of days back program with Imran Khan and Qazi where he over-insisted for 15 minutes that PADM had mad big mistake by not participating to the elections. I have only big reservation with NS that is: there are few case where He preferred some lotas over his sincere workers. Two of those examples are: NA ticket was taken back from a worker A Qayum from Sialkot and was given to Zahid Hamid, ex-minister of prvious governemtn. A. Qayum have been running PLM (N) lahore office for years with hardshisps. Second, after election they accepted a guy from Mianwali in the party who have been tough with PML-N workers during last government. This thing has really discouraged the sincere workers and candidate of that constituency who have been working hard and facing hardships in last eight years.

Sorry for lot of typing mistakes in my above post. I was talking on phone as well

21. shimatoree Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 4:46 pm

@Fahim
    Your comments are a bit too severe. He is certainly not ZAB and perhaps not as honest as Mother Theresa but let him prove himself after the election. Yes he is unable to articulate very well but then all he needs is a good spokesman. Give him credit that HE DID place himself before a group of very critical journalists who are far smarter than he and I am sure had prepared themselves rather well and over all he handled himself well LIKE a POLITICIAN . ZAB once was asked why China did not come for help during the Bangladesh War- his answer was that China is not your MOTHER IN LAW ! So all politicians indulge in such SLOGANEERING.
    Perhaps the format was wrong. It would have been better as a one on one interview where the person asking the question also needs to be thoughtful and inquisitive rather than ” GOTCHAA”

Now that the election is over and his party has done better than most people were giving credit for- let us see what happens. Please note that it is not him that is dilly dallying about the Judges- it is the other parties . Give the guy some credit.

22. thehustler Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 5:25 pm

Why do people have to respond to crticism on one party (NS in this case) by saying that atleast he is better than BB/Mush/etc. That is neither here nor there.

nawaz sharif saadaa shaire hey

I am not pushing NS to anywhere,,,and I am ready to give room to anyone. I just expressed my views, and I believe this time NS has been honest (with some reservations off course, as old habbits don’t fade away easily).

@khizarkyz

The preliminary survey of Ghazi Brotha project was started in late 80’s, sometime in 1987. Then finally it was approved in 1994. This is source of my information: http://www.nab.gov.pk/Downloads/Case_studies/gazi brotha.pdf

@shimatoree

I appreciate his stance on PML N being most clear and straight forward and also of other parties like PPP, ANP and APDM. But I think we should not get too soft on any party. When we give credit to someone, we also should criticize.

25. bechari-awam Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 6:39 pm

I agree with Shahzad that now we can see that NS is firm on his commitments before and after the elections. Even his stance about taking back PMLQ people has not changed.

One comment about the people who are arguing about NS not giving straight answers is that isn’t that politician all about. You will never get a straight answer from a politician unless he has some thing firm in his hands. Now after elections NS is quite sure of his king-maker stature and acting like that by giving firm solutions for all the questions posed to him before by that panel.

Good luck NS.

Cycle Chore (Chaudhries) or meeting with Bhatta Khore (MQM) to conspire against forces of Nature (i.e. people of Pakistan).

27. mypkpoliticsaccount Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 7:12 pm

Good program! but unfortunately aired after elections — it would have given clear message to larger percentage of audience through this channel but its clear how Mush sabotage effort of sincere people just to save himself and continue bogus policies of US which are in fact against the whole nation and this region.

Now that we know that PPP ANP and PML-N have joined forces … we should expect good for our nation and region but at the same time keep close eye on representatives of these parties and analyze where we clearly see sincerity and where not …. I hope we see sincerity in each representative belonging to these parties ….

I also ask politicians scared of Mush because he holds files of corruption against them should take step forward in right direction without fears of what would happen to them ….. they should now start thinking of people of Pakistan and this region with sincerity …

Fearing Mush or Altaf is equal to SHIRQ — if you understand this much then I believe you would move in positive direction which would be beneficial..

28. khizarkyz Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 8:15 pm

@Fahim23
    NAB??????? is your source of information? I gave u a first hand information & u r refering to me the website of ever reliable NAB?
    Bravo.

29. khizarkyz Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 8:21 pm

@Fahim23
    BTW I don’t appreciate the project. It is the most fresh example where a smaller province was cheated & thats why these provinces don’t trust the centre. Everything was constructed in NWFP & the power plant was set up in barotha (punjab). Result: royalty goes to punjab.

30. GuyFawkes Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 8:24 pm

“kyoun is mulq mein press pe pabandiya lagti rahi hai” - Mr.Sharif, where was the private media under your rule?

“kyoun is mulq mein ayeen ko thora jaata hai” - Mr.Sharif, must I remind you of the 13th and 14th amendment which the Chief Justice said was unconstitutional?

“kyoun police humein khuli fiza mein saans nahi le ne deti” - Mr.Sharif, the police has had a reputation of corruption under your regime too, what did you do to rectify this?

Mr.Sharif, you only stand today in a popular position because Mush is quite an unlikeable leader. If only Pakistanis remembered the terrible calamities you inflicted on Pakistan…

sohail zia butt and his son are pml n canidates, i am surpised to find that after watching this program. Are there no better people available?. Everyone in lahore knows who sohail zia butt is can someone explain why nawaz sharif has him around?

About NS this is enough to say khuda bahair ban Khada Palhwan.

@GuyFawkes,

All of your logics are deeply flawed.

- If NS was very bad and people did not like him, how come he won 2/3rd majority in 2nd term when people had already saw his 1st term? Now you can joke that BB was also unlikeable leader at that time like Mush.

- Constitutional amendments were done parliament, not by Nawaz Sharif. Every member of parliament was an elected leader by people of Pakistan and PPP also joined these constitutional changes. Secondly, Justice Shah was kicked out by 11 Judges of Supreme Court for trying to cross his constitutional limits.

- You should see the Transparency International Indexes for BB, NS and Mush governments.

- Surely there were no private channels and credit goes to Mush for that. But did you see any democratic country in 21st century that had this kind of media blackout that entire nation witnessed since 3rd November?

34. GuyFawkes Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 9:20 pm

@rasheed

- We can be pretty sure that BB was very very corrupt. There is tons of evidence on that. And that is to say that NS didn’t have his ISI influence rig the second term elections. But that is debatable. Regardless of the past, he is popular right now only because Musharraf is the president, otherwise, people were quite sick and tired of his government in 1999.

- Similarly you can say the decisions made in Mush’s tenure have been made by the parliament rather than him. But as we all know, this is not true. His dictatorship has commanded the parliaments PMLQ. Similarly, NS’s majority commanded the parliament, and that is very true in the case of the 13th and 14th amendment. And as far as kicking out the CJ goes, there are judges today who took oath under the PCO and in essence, removed CJ Iftikhar from office. And we all know how immoral and wrong that is.

- I will not argue with the transparency international reports. Corruption is a trend which is ever present in our rulers. From 99-2002, mush govt had lower corruption than both NS and BB, but that changed after.

- I respect that you give credit where it is due. Regardless of how incredibly stupid musharraf has been, he has allowed private media, which his predecessors did not.

Pakistan is in need of leaders like Mr NS. He is very sincere, honest, and truthful. He is smart, visionary and very atutute politician. He has a great love for Pakistan and it’s Awam. He is the person who can steer our country out of the curent crises.

Mr Altah Hussain of MQM, has called mr NS a liar, in his recent statement. I would lik to to say to Altaf, ” You are trator and treasonist who is coward and gutless munafiq.” Mr Altaf, if you are concerned about your people then return to Pakistn. Mr NS is a great leader and he will not even hire you Mr Altaf, to polish his shoes.

Mr NS is dam right in his statements as follows.

” By restoring the independent judiciary, many current problms can be solved instantly.”

” There should be an accountability for those who mess around with our constitution.” That s Military dictators

” We need a powerful parliamentary institution, reprenstative of 160 million awam.’

‘ Western countries have to change their habbits and they have to deal with us on our terms and not to dictate us.” We must also learn to live with in our means.

I Like to solute to leadrs like NS and Javaid Hashmi, who are dedicated and selfless individuals. These two gentlemen have given lot of sacrifices for their country. we all thank them

Time will prove that Nwaz Sharif is an incorrigible person and learning form past mistakes isn’t his forte.

37. fasih_ul_yahya Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 10:01 pm

altaf is a coward i agree
    nawaz is a liar i agree
    zardari is a theif i agree o and murderer lol
    imran khan is charismatic i agree
    musharaf’s time to go i agree ( even though i personaly am a suporter of him)
    Aitzaz needs to distance himself from PPPP
    CJ needs to be reinstated but retire i agree

lol lets c how manny of u agree to what i agree

38. for6otten Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 10:04 pm

lol no one cares lol I agree lol

God bless you nawaz s,
    at least you have learnt some lesson from your past ,hope fulfil your promise

40. Omer Khan Says:
    March 2nd, 2008 at 10:47 pm

lol @ fasih

@fasih_ul_yahya
    imran khan is so charismatic that he took hugh grants ex gf aka ex london play girl and made her into a naik aurat sitting on stage wearing shalwar qameez and giving speeches. Now she is back in london doing……..

Sad…just sad…
    seen in the light of this programme, it is clear that NS will find himself a lone voice in the parliament talking about the judiciary…
    PPP will delay…and delay…and delay…

The confrontation is not between those who want judges to be restored and those who do not. The real confrontation is between those who want genuine democracy in pakistan and those who do not. It is important not to forget why the judges were removed. The main reason was that they will making two agendas of the international capitalist players, played through the establishment of the US and its western allies. The two agendas are War on Terror and Neo-Liberal economic agenda. The raising of misisng person isuse hurt the first and steel mills issue challenged the second. In my opinion, more than anything else, it was the threat to these agendas of international capitalism that led to the judges’ sacking. Thus, anyone talking about judges is in fact getting involved in this international battlefield. So NS is really not confronting Musharraf but against this international order.
    It is like fighting against the British in the colonial power. It worked ultimately because Muslims and Hindus were united on this issue. No way British would have been thrown out if any one of these two parties would have covertly supported the British. This is the situation we are facing today. NS may not know, but he is actually taking on neo-colonial powers but without the support of PPP.
    Hardly any chance that he will win…
    sad, sad…only sad…
    muqqafa

@khizarkyz

I had two choices, either to give you link of PPP website in which they claim this project is their acheivement.

http://www.pppusa.org/achievements.htm

Or I give you “kind of neutral” which is government’s source. I thought, second was suitable option.

I don’t mean to disrespect you by not accepting your first hand information may be you are right, but I can’t verify what you are saying.

Beside, punjab has always been doing that, all the east pakistan’s taxes and revenues were used to collected by Punjab, the Gas of Balochistan is mainly spent in Punjab, and water of Sindh fertile the lands of Punjab. And another example, which I didn’t knew Ghazir Brotha is constructed mostly in NWFP but loyal goes to Punjab.

@Rasheed

1997 was one sided Election.

Let me try to explain it here: Imagine NS is PM and SS is killed near his home in Police encounter. Within two months your government is toppled and a veyr strong rumour is created that NS killed his brother.

What would be the outcome if you fight the election soon after this?

46. chooran vali sarkaar Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 12:50 am

@all mqm lovers: Why do all of you sound like illiterate cab drivers with no education and no understanding of basic concepts like amendments by a real parliament vs. amendments done by one person ??

choooooran khhiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa llllooooooooooooooooo!

@ Fahim 23

You are comparing apples with oranges. Murtaza Bhutto was brother of benazir bhutto but was dead against her and her husband. He was killed and his family and his party put the blame squarely at the shoulders of Benazir Bhutto and her husband.

But I cannot understand how all this can have any significant impact on elections of 1997. Murtaza bhutto could only manage to win a single provincial assembly seat in 1993 and was a figure who was admired by the public due to his al-zulfiqar terrorist days. The real clincher that gave two third majority to PML(N) in 1997 was teh three year reign of PPP.

48. yaqub2005 Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 11:34 am

During recent visit of Shujaat and Mushahid, MQM said they MQM and PML-Q were friends and will remain so even if new friends are made.

What is this? A middle class party being a friend to a Jageer Dars. Remember Ch Pervez raised the issue of rise in street crimes after opening of MQM offices in Punjab.

MQM has a media cell at 90 and they are probably making a lot of propaganda openly or hiddenly. Mushahid Hussain also mentioned about this media cell. this is headed by Khush Bakht Shujjat (won in a beleived to be a rigged election in NA 250).

49. yaqub2005 Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 11:38 am

NS should stick to his stand and not to take ministries in govt unless Mush goes and CJ is reinstated. We shoudl also accept this fact that in the long run PPP and PML-N are two separate parties who have united to send establishment out of politics. If there is no opposition in a democracy then new opposition is automaticallt generated and beneficiaries could be Chaudhries and MQM. So my advise to PML-N is to remain patient and stead fast and no compromise with MUSH.

MQM and PML-Q are worried from restoration of judiciary due their black deeds.

Who attacked Supreme Court ?
    Nawaz Sharif ? just because he was the PM at that time?

Then Similar reasoning applies to :

Musharraf and Q leaque:
    For a countless disatrers in pakistan
    BB:

Who attacked Supreme Court ?
    Nawaz Sharif ?
    just because he was the PM at that time?

Then Similar reasoning applies to :

Musharraf ,MQM and Q leaque:
    For a countless disatrers in pakistan

BB:
    For Killing of his own Brother Murtaza Bhuttoo

Every body knows who attacked the supreme court,all of them are well known Q league members.

is is very easy to say that NS or SS ordered the attack just like one says that it was BB who ordered the killing of Murtaza. But all this is simply Bull Shit speculations.

As far as Musharraf is concerned, WHO has doubt about him.He seems to be the most Sincere person ever in the history of pakistan, to Kill the pakistanis and earn dollars by his Boss Bush.

@Adonis
    Murtaza Bhutto was brother of benazir bhutto but was dead against her and her husband. He was killed and his family and his party put the blame squarely at the shoulders of Benazir Bhutto and her husband.But I cannot understand how all this can have any significant impact on elections of 1997.

That is what establishment, hand in hand with Farooq Leghari , wanted to make it look like and they partly suceeded in that; that is why PPP who traditionally has a vote bank of around 7.5 to 8 million could muster only 4 million votes in 1997 elections. The voters turn out in 1997 was 34.5 % compared to the normal average of 40-45%. I believe there was not much increase in votes casted to PMLN yet it won two third majority. So you can safely conclude that it was not increased popularity of PMLN rather lower PPP voter turn out which resulted in the much trumpeted “heavy mandate” of PMLN in the elections of 1997.

53. comment-top

100 % agred to Adonis, as you replied to Fahim 23.

Infact ,it has no impact at all.

How many lovers of Murtaza are there in Punjab (or even in Sindh) ,who prefered to vote NS instead of BB, because of Murtaza’s Killing.
    I think less than 0.0001%

54. comment-top

Well said Optimit

Cycle Chore (Chaudhries)

Bhatta Khore (MQM)

Infact Chaudries are not Cycle Chore, They were and are still vert well known as
    ” Mujj chore”.

may be they used Cycles for running

55. comment-top

@Adonis

You know why BB wanted to keep Murtaza out of PPP. The normal knee jerk respone is, because she wanted to have hegemony over PPP. Unfortunately this is wrong, BB kept Murtaza away from PPP, because PPP as a political party does not believe in violence and Murtaza had a past. Even today although Murtazat is loved in the rank and file of PPP yet no one ready to give his wife a role in the party.

That is why

Darte they bandooqoon waley aik nihathe larki sey

56. comment-top

This is not at all that one who speaks good, writes good or conveys his ideas in a better way is the great person.Even one having the great ideas may not be great ,or more precisely can not be declares as “Good one for the people of Country”.

Even a Banker like Shaukat Aziz had the great capability to attract people (buisnessmen), a normal insurance agent , a property dealer has the skill to use “the sweet language ” to guard his own benefits. Most of them are normally cunning.

Many people say Nawaz Sharif is a goof. he should grow up.he is not a politician. he is not a leader.He is stupid etc.

I would like to ask those people , “Do you prefer a person like Musharraf, like Shaukat Aziz, who may seem apparently more intelligent (yes , they are, but they can sell Pakistanis for their own Sake)”?

Bush might be very great politician, a highly educated person , Why not we choose him a leader?

I think, Allah is with Nawaz Sharif , (Don’t forget the problems come around even with those people with whom the Almighty Allah is ).

He is very comparable to Z.A.Bhutto.
    Sure, he is not that much genious,intelligent, bold .
    But he has the Luck.
    Allah gave Bhutoo ,the great fame ,by his death.
    But for a similar case of NS, Allah wants NS to play his role.
    Bhutto played his role even after his death,NS has to play it actively.

Allah knows the best, But what I can Say is.

Don’t search the every solution in the “Brain”,becasue
    Aqal hai mehv

57. adeel ayub Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 12:25 pm

@Atif
    U seem Obsessed with NS!!!!!!!!

58. comment-top

Well, I think that NS did better than expected.

Talat was too critical (just an observation, not a critism).

NS was really smart to say “have you accepted PIMRA?”

59. khizarkyz Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 1:01 pm

Who speaks better than sheikh rashid. Does this qualify him to be the PM/president of pakistan? No. gift of the gab is desirable but not a necessary quality for leadership.

60. comment-top

@Atif: I don’t buy the “Nawaz Sharif as goof” theory. We’re talking about a family starting with the Elder who has done extremely well in the dog-eat-dog world (my apologies to dogs everywhere) of Pakistani business, and then politics.

If anything Nawaz Sharif is more cunning than Musharraf and Shaukat Aziz. He is the one who used BB’s death to engineer a big victory for his party by being sincere (or appearing to be..) in his dealings with Sindh etc. And even now, his eyes are on the eventual prize in two year’s time after getting rid of Mushie. He is more in touch with the popular sentiment and he has placed himself squarely in front of the popular movement (right or wrong) for the restoration of the judiciary. And people will give him 2/3 majority next time around just for sticking to his guns on this. He’s the real winner in all this.

I think I tend to agree with your assessment equating NS with ZAB, and though NS is not as visionary or eloquent, he might be every bit as clever as ZAB (actually may be a bit more). We’ll see if NS gets himself hanged based on his actions, if not, he might be a more cunning political operator than ZAB.. Keep in mind Bhutto was the product of the pre-partition era and thinking.. NS, BB and others grew up when Pakistan had only started its descent into hell and no one noticed as the rate of acceleration into the abyss was so small… But Pakistan went to hell on the last generation’s watch! It was the Ishaq Khans and the “nazriya zaroorat” judges that pushed us into and towards this sh!thole we call “Pakistan” these days.

BB and NS and others in their generation grew up fighting with the fu*kups of their elder generations. We were blessed with a whole generation of fu*king a$$h*le “elders” .. who else can we attribute the degeneration of Pakistan to?

I think NS is smart enough (and now wise enough) to handle the challenge.. let us hope he doesn’t get eliminated by the chaos-brigade.

61. comment-top

In my analysis, Nawaz Sharif is more lucky than being smart. Yes he is not goof but he is not the sharpest man around and not smarter than Musharaf or Shaukat Aziz.

He despite being a businessman ( and obviosuly must have made some money during his time from the politics) but he is also sincere to help the country and did more than other politicians in the country. It appears that he has been rewarded by the God for his good work. A person like his caliber became PM twice in the country and when all was appears to be lost, came back and won that many seats in the National assembly and won majority in Punjab assembly.

His current victory was as a result of boycotting of Jamaat Islami and Imran Khan. Had these two forces would have been participating in the elections, Nawaz Sharif would not have come to a big force.

He was rewarded ( from God) with the current victory because of all the hard work of Aitzaz Ahsan, Lawyer and civil society as well as Imran Khan.

62. fasih_ul_yahya Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 1:30 pm

some money? loll u clearly r new to this

63. comment-top

I don’t think there is divine intervention here. Sorry.

64. fasih_ul_yahya Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 1:35 pm

btw on the topic of bb i wudnt want to backchat about a dead woman but i think this is necesary! in an interview ocuring in her grandoir garden in pm house back when she was in power! one of her oxford colleuges interviewd her at one point the sun came up and they both were sitting facing it ! she said to the interviewer the sun has come up on the wrong place or so loll i mean little fings r wa tel wa ppl r like cz u cnt prevent lil fings dey r habits u can guard against big fings bt lil fings show persons inner psyche

65. econfused Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 2:03 pm

@faih_ul_yahya

lol lol lol lol lol lol lol lol

66. comment-top

the speech was good (as good as rhetoric gets anyway), he’s just telling people what they wanted to hear, but that grilling part did not go well at all (IMO), he either denied or evaded everything, talat hussain spent the better part of this program asking just one question (from every possible angle) - how would NS deliver his claims, some plan of action please - dodged it every time, either NS is extremely obtuse (or pretending to be), or he really has no clue or any plans to deliver.

the only good thing in this program is his firm commitment to the restoration of judiciary (lawyers have taken all the beatings, now PPP will have to deliver, and NS scores it with the public - not as stupid as he seems huh?), you know NS really could not have it any better, he has absolutely nothing to lose and everything to gain (all at the expense of Peoples Party).

67. comment-top

You call this grilling? …. Except a couple of good questions from Talat, it seemed to be mainly a pro-NS program allowing him a platform to voice what people wanted to hear. Had this been a real episode with unfavourable panel, he would not survive 10 minutes.

I totally agree with Fahim and GuyFawkes … talking about the kings party? what was he during Zia’s rule? … … talking about freedom of media, he even banned Imran Khan from PTV by name, something that even Musharraf could not do so audaciously; we all know what happened to journalists who tried to write against him; ask anyone from media yourself; despite all the resentment against Mush, they always maintain that the previous 3 decades have been much worse than even Mush’s rule overall … … talking about rigging in elections? I have personally seen him raiding on polling stations with dozens of his armed workers, who hit rifle buts to the female staff and forced them to cast all votes themselves in NS favour

@Atif
    Not having good communication skills is totally different from having no idea what your strategy is … I do not exactly expect him to express himself very eloquently, but he did not even reply the question in the loosest way. He has always been a reckless administrator and I am pretty sure he still does not have any clue about a line of strategy.

As for the attack on Supreme court, yes we are all forgetting that it was PML(Q) leadership who were mainly involved in this heinous crime and they were thrown out of the party the very next day and the government apologised from the supreme court and delivered on the constitutional requirement of more hirings etc. …. Ohh .. but wait a minute … this never happened …… NS fully supported the attack at the least by not taking any action against those who were involved even at the party level and he recklessly blocked the new hirings till the last day.

68. comment-top

Well Nawaz Sharif supporters, what do you have to say to counter Sarosh’s articulate assault on the past and democratic credentials of NS?

Don’t mind me , I’m going to sit back and enjoy the catfight! :)

69. comment-top

LOL RoTFL LmAo lol lol

70. comment-top

I agree with Sarosh (it will be hard to defend NS’s case considering it’s all true - i hope he’s not some Q leaguer, i’d hate to agree with one of them).

Nawaz Shariff had the opportunity to come clean during this interview (when Nusrat asked him about past mistakes), if you expected humility, introspection, maturity or some sign personal growth, it sure as hell didn’t happen (and he had eight years to think), yes he would have you believe he has never wronged (ye insaan nahin farishta hai). I am so dissapointed, he had eight years and he hasn’t changed at all, his answer smacked of arrogance. I can’t see any real change in the comlexion of our politics, the same old story is starting yet again.

71. comment-top

@redux: Rght on!

I heard this saying somewhere:

paisa parkhay baar baar
    maNRoo parkhay aek baar

you have to check the money every single time
    you have to check a man (character) just once..

I think it is an old saying of Hindu Baniya’s or something.. but it s quite apt. People don’t change that easily.. but one has to hope for the best… Im hoping he is wiser, because he seems to be on the path to PM ship for now.

I’ll have to stop coming to pkpolitics if the things take a turn for the worse and it is business as usual again.. :(

72. comment-top

@Sarosh,

Unfortunately, Kamran Khan was not present in the panel, otherwise you could see the kind if grilling you must have been expecting. Talat, Mushtaq and Nusrat are undoubtedly the best anchors we have got in Pakistan and the panel was focused on Nawaz Sharif’s future coarse of actions after elections and did grill him in all possible angles. The grilling that you might have been expecting was what NS did in 1820 and 1940 etc, which off coarse would have been a waste of time in “Jalsa” program.

Some replies here:

- There was no “Kings Party” in Zia time as the elections were non-party basis. Many current prominent politicians just went from college/university politics into parliament directly under Zia, unlike Musharraf ’s PMLQ which were seasoned politicians taken from NAB’s list. Many current leaders of both PMLN and PPP were in Zia regime.

- Imran Khan was arrested twice during Mush unlike NS time. No doubt NS has done hundreds of mistake in “Infant democracy” period after Zia, but don’t you think Imran had been acting as a premature politician by running campaigns against a 2/3rd majority government voted by people of Pakistan? Later Imran was running Army Chief’s presidential referendum campaign and now Imran is talking about democracy? Surely NS did not allow Imran Khan to come on PTV, but did Musharraf allow Imran Khan to come on state owned PTV and speak all what he wanted to?

- Do you know that there are many journalists sitting on establishment’s payroll in prominent newspapers and even the owners of these newspapers cannot remove them? They are all planted to brainwash Pakistani nation about corruption scandals politicians so that army takeovers would be welcomed when they are removed. Once army takes over, the same politicians are either issued NRO and made minsters and governors and the same journalists don’t say anything against this MEGA corruption anymore.

- So you have personally seen NS raiding polling stations with armed persons kicking females? Can you tell me the date and location? NS must be a superman since he had to go to 60,000 polling stations in a single day to get 2/3rd majority in parliament.

Supreme Court attack story has been repeated 1 million times here so I skip the answer.

73. khizarkyz Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 8:09 pm

@Sarosh
    1- The decision about supreme court was given in 2001 by the very court whose judges took owth of allegiance to Mush? have u read it.
    2-”I have personally seen him raiding on polling stations with dozens of his armed workers, who hit rifle buts to the female staff and forced them to cast all votes themselves in NS favour”. don’t take ur religious bias that far. Btw was u one of the female on the raided polling station?
    3- only najam sethi directly suffered under his rule directly & u must know who he is. Rehmat shah of FP was caught by ANF which is always headed by a general.

74. khizarkyz Says:
    March 3rd, 2008 at 8:11 pm

@rasheed
    Kamran khan? the same person who socalled grilled mush during judicial crisis. He & shakil sheikh are GHQ men anyway.

75. comment-top

@ rasheed

Lame defence man - two wrongs do not make a right.

btw there was hardly any grilling (kamran khan is a cute little kitten, what in the world do you imagine he would have done), only talat hussain tried (in vain) to get some straight answers, but he so didn’t get any, just like i’m so not convinced by your argument.

76. comment-top

@Rasheed
    I must say I am extremely disappointed by your previous post:
    March 3rd, 2008 7:42 pm

Normally, I like to read your posts, but this time I would suspect that somebody had stolen the real Rasheed’s username and password and made this quite non logic post. I have read your posts where you lambast MQM for giving all the wrong reasons for their (wrong) actions.

Unfortunately you fell in the same trap yourself. You are reasoning by pointing at others faults. How can you justify NS dictatorial actions? It would have been much more suitable for a man like you, who in my opinion is able to differentiate between wrong and good, to take a just stand and admit that NS was wrong without any ifs and buts.

I hope you can make it good again.

77. comment-top

@Saqib,

Unfortunately, you have to open your eyes and keep your brain open while reading. I have specifically written that NS did “Hundreds of mistakes”.

You have never impressed me and I hope you can impress me just once.

78. comment-top

@redux,

I think you don’t watch TV otherwise you must have known what I meant by “Kamran Khan”.

79. comment-top

@Adonis

Just comprehend this situation. Shahbaz sharif is assassinated in Polics encounter while NS is the Prime Minister…and the blame goes to NS himself….what would be the outcome of next election within few months for PML N?

If you cannot comprehend this, then I am sorry I can’t explain this to you any further.

80. comment-top

BTW…. I am almost sure sure that both NS and AZ both have hidden agendas. None of them are interested in a free and independent judiciary. Their past sins won’t let them do that.

It’s only a game for these non visionary politicians. No wonder that his former mates, the ugly chaudharies are challenging him to stand by his commitment to restore the judiciary. They probably know him better than most people and feel they can speak quite “frankly” about this issue. Will NS deliver? No, I don’t think he will. Will AZ deliver? That is an even bigger NO :-(

81. comment-top

Kamran Grilling:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=D9bWayVUnJg
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=pM-p9IZ_4Oo

While NS was being deported against Supreme Court decision, KK was grilling SS on all unrelated things that NS did a decade or two ago on Geo TV, exactly when the entire nation was watching.

82. comment-top

@Rasheed

As being famous for lotacracy the only two parties who contested 1985 election under Zia’s regime were Jamiat Islami and PML (Junejo) with NS being the CM of Punjab. All other parties boycotted but they betrayed MRD.

Do you feel little shy when defending and justifying Nawaz Sharif victimisatoin against IK and his family by comparing it to Musharaf.

83. comment-top

@Rasheed
    I am not posting on this forum to impress anyone, and definitely not anybody like you, who carry one yardstick for MQM and another one for corrupts like NS.

Your post is manipulating as you are visibly trying to ridicule NS blunders from “1820″, “1940″…Should we just forget it without having seen proof of real change? Until now it is only words from NS.

84. comment-top

@Fahim,

I have seen video and can find you link where police are manhandling the sisters of Imran Khan. Please don’t forget that NS alloted the land for IK’s hospital in Lahore, so your comment for victimization is a joke.

I respect Imran for what he is now and both “NS and IK” have been acting immaturely during infant democracy period.

Regarding 1985 elections, there was “NO KINGS PARTY”. PML was made after the elections and did not exist in time of elections.

I can tell tens of current PPP MNA/MPAs that were in Zia regime. Some are:

- Yousuf Raza Gilani (current PM candidate)
    - Shah Mahmood Querish’s dad (SMQ himself was minister under NS) (Now PM Candidate)
    - Asif Zardari’s Dad Hakim Ali Zardari

85. comment-top

@ rasheed

Hundreds of mistakes huh? strangely enough Nawaz shariff could not come up with even a single mistake when asked, and unfortunately you fail to notice the arrogance and the complete lack of accountability such behaviour reflects, so maybe you should open your eyes (both to yourself and NS). dedicate your efforts to causes not people (thats called idol worshiping).

Oh and I do know Kamran Khan, the most fun thing I’ve ever seen him do was hanging up on Arbab Ghulam Rahim (oh yes, nerves of steel that one, btw he’s based in dubai isn’t he), sorry to disagree (oh who am I kidding, I am not) but I find him quite placid.

86. comment-top

@redux,

Your comments show that you have not even seen the video. The panel was asking on future action coarse and not grilling on past mistakes.

This is typical normal typical behavior when something is burning.

87. comment-top

can anyone post the time coordinates of the past mistakes question? I seem to be skipping over it..

88. comment-top

@Taban,

Talat did grill NS over his past troubled relations with all Army Generals except Zia, but Talat did not let NS reply it and asked different question at the end and did not let NS reply.

89. comment-top

@rasheed

Take a deep breath, count to 10, exhale.
    Repeat if necessary.
    hopefully you will be calmer and thinking better.

I do know what I am talking about ( you see that particular part I am not likley to forget in a hurry), Nusrat javed asked him specifically about past mistakes and lessons learnt from them, apparently he hasn’t made any and no lessons learnt either, you can see it yourself.

you are so blinded, you must be in love with NS. oh and I’m not burning, just very dissapointed, I expected him to have changed for the better (good god, now I’m behaving like some jilted lover).

90. comment-top

Somebody please give rasheed the coordinates, warna mujhe dobaara dekhna parayga, and I really don’t want too (once was enough).

91. comment-top

@redux,

Just saw the Nusrat’s question again which was about the troubled relations with Army Chiefs and Presidents. When Nawaz Sharif asked about a single example, Talat started to grill NS and did not give any example, instead Talat rudely diverted the whole topic.

It seems you have been only watching questions, not answers.

Please take a shower.

92. comment-top

Talat asked the same question earlier about the troubled Army Chief / Nawaz relations in details here:

http://pkpolitics.com/2007/09/06/nawaz-sharif-with-talat-hussain/

93. comment-top

@rasheed

Oh yea, deny IK was not victimzed, it is a joke! He was not called jews agent and his family life was brought in public by so called “Sharifs”. He was kidding with Imran Khan…isnt he?

Why he was so arrogant to admit 1000s of mistakes he committed when asked? He claims million times to be man of principle, why his hypocricy is not catched by you?

94. comment-top

@Fahim,

Both parties were defaming each other like kids, but I don’t recall any victimization at family level by either side. Can you be more specific?

About mistakes, haven’t you seen charter of democracy and other press conferences hundreds of times where Nawaz and BB both admitted mistakes and said publicly that they will not repeat them again? What exactly do you want?

95. comment-top

@ rasheed

you got the nusrat question, gimme the co-ordinates, so I can check I have serious doubts about your cognitive abbilities (hot-blooded as you are).

96. comment-top

I’m not a NS supporter BUT…

If I was a politician in an election campaign and I was asked about my mistakes, I’d try to weasel out of it ..

It’s like answering the “What are some areas where you can improve yourself” question in an HR interview.. No f*cking way I’m going to tell them I j3rk off all day on pkpolitics.com

I think NS is smart enough to be cognizant of his mistakes, but he’s not stupid enough to be brutally honest either.. maybe I’m being cynical..

I’m juss sayin :)

97. comment-top

@redex,

Somewhere in the first half.

98. comment-top

For the time being NS has “hijacked” IK’s agenda of free and independent judiciary.

Listen from about 55 min. and onwards how he is speaking “passionately” on this issue. It would have been appropriate that NS gave IK credit for rasing this issue over a decade ago.
    I still suspect NS for playing with peoples sentiments reg. this issue. If NS against all odds should deliver on this unlikely front then he truly deserves credit………but first he MUST deliver!

99. comment-top

What is meant by Hijacking an agenda??

if someone goes for something good, and some one other goes through the same path or for the same destination (to be more precise), is it Agenda Hijacking??

Plz don’t follow IK so blindly .I personally think, he is the best in the lot, but still a human ,as one can see,he has made mistakes earlier (in 2004).

As far as Doubts are concerned,WHO is the EXCEPTION??

and remember, no one has the magic to deliver.
    it takes time, full support from public, as well as luck (or GOD’s help, more precisely).And may be some sort of Power ,or otherwise some street fighting may result.

100. comment-top

@Fahim23

If Sharifs did say all that to IK, that is very grave.

But even more grave is ,IK still stood with them.
    Why? Is IK so so ???

Conclusion: It was nothing like that.

101. comment-top

@Taban,

You motivate people to fight for and against NS so that you have more pleasureful j3erking on pkpolitics.com all day?

Aafreen hay bahee ;-)

102. comment-top

I just wanted to know the answers to Sarosh’s allegations.. I can’t imagine NS going into a polling station with weapons.. etc.. I didn’t really expect this to devolve into something like this.. my last comment was a total joke bro! I wasn’t really expecting a catfight..

Also, I think NS has conducted himself rather well (as a politician), and (IMO) we’re going through a line in the sand area. March 9th 2007 (Yom-E Adl) was the line in the sand and AFAIK NS is towing that line and he has basically put himself in front of the popular sentiment that the lawyers movement has been building.. I don’t know how to blame him.. he’s damned if he does and damn’ed if he don’t .. might as well .. plus I think he is genuinely behind it.. but the proof will be in the legislative pudding…

Let’s not expect our politicians to be angels.. they are power hungary, egotistical control freaks.. its a personality type.. what you gonna do? Its like asking Amy Winehouse to be a nice midwestern repressed little white girl.. well if she became that.. she won’t be Amy Winehouse now would she (She’d still have the voice, but would she have