It is being reported my multiple news sources that Musharraf has been forced to resign within 3 days by General Pervaiz Kiyani, otherwise an impeachment by the parliament.
Oh My News Reports:
Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf agreed on Monday to resign from office to defuse political tensions, provided there are guarantees that he will not be persecuted in the courts, well-placed sources have revealed.
Musharraf informed Chief of Army Staff Gen. Ashfaq Parvez Kayani of his decision to resign in the larger national interest during a meeting at the Camp Office in the Army House that doubles as the official residence of the president, sources said.
“The president was responding to General Kayani’s request to Musharraf to consider playing a statesmanlike role to resolve the political and constitutional crisis in the country,” a well-placed source privy to the meeting revealed.
Sources said that Musharraf agreed to quit national politics in response to the growing calls for him to step down or face impeachment by the new parliament in the wake of the resounding drubbing to the Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain-led Pakistan Muslim League-Q, which is closely associated and with Musharraf.
I have my Budweiser bottles ready for the celebration party. ( OK OK relax, I mean to say Roohafza with doodh mix!).
I hope that this is true.
We will overcome the problems that he has created with the resolve of people of Pakistan.
Only we have the right to accept or reject our leaders. Doesn’t matter what Mush lover tell us about our present leaders.
May God destroy this dictator. May God give our leaders strength to take our country out of the mess created by him.
I’m starting to get the feeling that these news reports are being floated by the treacherous intelligence agencies to induce a rift between Zardari and Nawaz Sharif. Becuase they have conluded that it is Mush whose presence is causing these two to unite and they might just be testing the waters by injecting this news through some “agency” source in the paper.
None of the main newspapers have reported this new. aside from ohmynews and it is being circulated via email.. I have also sent it to everyone I know, because you never know.. it might become a force in itself if the rumor spreads fast enough??
maybe wishful thinking on my part…
I have Samosa Pakora ready and as far dessert, I have Jaleebi in Doodh.
LOLOL — yeah that Rooh Afza Milk is a pakistan Special
Anyways, As much as it is MUSIC to my ears,
I believe it is a rumor.
Firstly, Remember, Kayani was handpicked by Musharraf
Secondlly, Kayani himself pledged non interference of Army in politics
Thirdly, if ARMY sees this action fit , then this same army is guilty of criminal negligence
Fourthly, I’d really wish Musharraf to be not allowed any plea Bargain and Pay for his deeds. For Once, Pakistan need someone at the top to be held accountable.
LASTLY, that just sound too good to be true
he should not been given a safe passage out!…..he should be brought to trial!……..regardless of weather he is impeached by the parliment or he resigns….this will send a message to the future rulers that no one is above to law!
@ Tab’an Khamosh
I think The news/jang reported but they also reported that yesterday but they also reported that Presidential spokesperson has denied any such news.
Stella Artois BAYBEEEEEEEE!!!
dil ke behlanay ko khayal accha hai ghalib…..
I wish its true. As for Mushrraf’s request that he shouldnt be prosecuted, the leaders should agree to this and baad may daikha jae ga . Pehlay yey bala toh talay.
Musharraf nay kaun say promise poora kia hay jo yey promise kar ke poora karain gey.
Full Poem here: (BaGhbaaN she’r is by Faraz, rest by this dude)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ea5D3PAPdc
@Tab’an Khamosh
I have read the same news in the daily Jang (onlin) yesterday (issue of Tuseday March 04 came last night – US – EST)
I wanted to put the source here but the newspaper for Tusaeday March 04 is not available yet.Please read daily Jang – online March – 4 issue.
I do not believe this news because of the following reasons.
- Musharaf attended a tea party from Q-league and asked Q-League to remain united and said that the bad time will not stay.
- MQM is not joining PPPP in Sindh.
- A group of Independents (headed by Watoo) met musharaf and did not join any party.
- My feeling is that Q-League is preparing something for future at least after 4-6 months.Pervez Elahi will be named as the leader of the oposition parties.Musharaf might user 58-B and arrange elections again to bring these lotas.
Munir
@sic5770 and all:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=SVKSOzp7E_0&feature=PlayList&p=767F91DBEE50DF17&index=4
i will be the 1st one who distribute mathai on the street on Birmingham if this would happen . and inshalah that day is not away this is my bleafe . Shame on you musharaf , our kitay pakistan marwwo gay , kudh tou sdarti mahal say nikalatay nahi our jatay bi ho tou by air , himat hai tou phir kay dhaikawo pakistan main security kay ghaigar wo bi humaray paisay say lay kay bhaitay hooway ho salay
Munir don’t break our hearts. Let Musharraf and co see the reaction of people to his resignation.
An interesting alternative point of view.
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=99622
Asif Raza Mir is NOT the son-in-law of Musharraf.
I wonder how much of this news story is made up.
He should be handed over to the families of the missing persons only clad in a Binyan
Well what so ever the case is that he stays or goes but important point is that he should be held accountable for what he did. He can put CJ under detention for petrol and car fraud but he himself played hell with national interest will he slip out of it so easily???? If he is not tried then may be another 20 year old Taliban will make this decesion in the national interest.
Q League: Baba vey kalaaN maroR
Mush: aR gai’e gaDDi laa day jore
Q League: tu kainnaN gair gaDDi daa aR geyaa, takkaa lauNdi nooN saah…Haa-Haaa Ha-Haaa … chaR gaya vay kalaaN maroR!
Mush: ni gaDDi vich saRk day aRR ga’ie nee laa day jore…
Aitezaz : Tainu kar da’ooN pulis havaalay, jadd la’ie pulis nay tauNRi, teri akal ThikaNRay auNRee
Q League: tu kainnaN gair gaDDi daa aR geyaa, takkaa lauNdi nooN saah…Haa-Haaa Ha-Haaa … chaR gaya vay kalaaN maroR!
what a crap report is that….Bull S—–..Look at the name of the source..oh my news ….crap..
Who will believe this story ….
@moodykhan
Yes Kiyani was handpicked by Musharraf but don’t forget that Musharraf too was handpicked by Nawaz Sharif
“what a crap report is that….Bull S—–..Look at the name of the source..oh my news ….crap..
Who will believe this story ….”
It is just a matter of time for Musharaf to leave ( or killed).It is not possible that Musharaf and new political system work together.
Having both the forces together means, serious political deadlock in the country . If Musharaf is going to stay in power means, no restoration of judiciary, which means lawyers and civil society will come to streets. US and army would not want the lawyer movement and civil society movement would gain momentum and slowly become a big forces in Pakistan, that would eventually destabilize the current political players and system, who are mostly at the mercy of establishment.
So for the best interest of US, Army and establishment, Musharaf’s game is over and he is going to be history soon.
This news seems to be a hoax from pro Musharraf trash throwers. That is why, the word “persecuted” has been used. Any legitimate future government or legal groups would use the word “prosecuted”.
Let the record be straight, unless at least one army general is not put into the stand, the story will repeat again and again. If you think army is too powerful to let it happen. Then wait for a future Roohullah who will do two in breakfast, three for the lunch and five in dinner. Pre-dawn refreshment and off course the grand feast is not included.
Pakistani writers are writing a lot of sense.
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=99623
An important discovery….Musharraf is actually MAD. He needs to be sent to a hospital before he is tried for his crimes.
This news is a cool breez, atleast for now. Chances of it being a rumour can not be ruled out but at the same time it can be true. If we look at current situation of law & order, instability and economical crises of Pakistan – it leaves the President with no other choice.
Pakistan Zindabad !
@S Khan: your warning to the jurnails is a sobering one. I hope they don’t foolishly step into a corner they can’t step out of.
The Iranian people took full revenge on the cruel generals of SAVAK and the Imperial Army. They were shot like dogs in the streets and deadbodies displayed half naked.
Another reason, none of the jurnails have dared to usurp power in Iran despite worlds Super Powers being thirsting for their blood since the revolution came into being..
I think Pakistani revolution will be even more bloody.. I’m afraid it is also going to be Islamist and extremist in nature (way more violent than Iranian, and way less intellectual than the Iranian one).
Musharraf must be punished for what he has done to all of us. At least as a fall guy, or the flood will take everyone with it.
I think sooner Mush leaves the more chances are that he will get a safe exit. The more he stupidly struggles and if people get killed, then they will be after his blood also.
I highly doubt that General Kiyani is requesting Musharraf to resign. Those two are on excellent terms, and Musharraf had personally picked Kiyani to lead our soldiers.
And if it is true, I hope that Mush’s replacement can do a better job than him.
Mush is in no position to bargain and to impose certain conditions before he resign. He should step down imediately and get ready to face the criminal charges. Being a bonafied citizen of Pakistan. he should be give the due process to explain his side of the story in the court house..
He should not be given a free and safe passage to leave the country.
He also not be given immunity from prosecution and certainly he never be allowed to adress the nation.
this is just not true.
HAd it been true nobody would have gathered for grand-alliance yesterday.
Yes Kiyani seem to B distancing himself from mush, but thats too due to future change in white-house policies.
Hillary has won ohio and texas so she is more likely to head democrats and we all have read her thoughts on MUSH!
It will be great for the country if mr. mush resign.
I hope this dream becomes reality soon…..Inshah Allah…
congratulatiuons to everyone.
I meant congratulations
Allah karay aisa ho jaye
atleast ek problem se to jaan chootay g
per baqi ka kia ? :O
wish its true……….after his resigh i want every pakistani to see a shamefull face…………………wish he get all what he has sown…………….wish his kids and himself be disabled ,not dead in his SO CALLED WAR ON TERROR………………….WISH HE PRAY FOR DEATH AND DEATH GOES FAR FAR AWAY………………………………………..
I hope that it is not true. Army Chief has no business interfering in the affairs of the state.
I would rather love to see Musharraf disqualified from holding office by teh restored Supreme Court. The icing on teh cake wil be when musharraf will be tried and convicted for treason under Article six of the constitution, inshallah.
A safe exit is not an option any more…..
PK Politics Friends,
I hope you are all right and that gooooooood news is near. You all may find my post titled Missing Musharraf a worthwile read too, see link below:
http://www.otherpakistan.org/missing-musharraf.html
Feimanallah
Wasim
The Pak army is again interfering in politics and people are rejoicing over it. I don’t know whether this news is correct or not but in my opinion it would be much better if the politicians had sorted this problem themselves out, through impeachment of course. Musharraf committed many crimes and his crimes shook the country to its deepest foundations. He simply cannot/shuoldn’t be allowed to go scot-free.
I think difference between Musharraf and Nawaz Shareef is huge.
Musharraf will never let his ally alone like Nawaz Shareef ( when he chosed to go to SA alone)
Even at that time Ghoush Ali Shah ( Ex CM of Sindh said there was not a single seat for me in that huge plane…:) )
CM was also in the same jail where he ( NS) was, but he did not inform any of his party leader and fled to SA with his all family and with 100 big box….Then he lied more than 7 years that he never signed any paper for his freedom.
But after his signatured paper came in public , he said i signed only for 5 years and not for 10 years…..what a great 5 times prayer lier…
and 20% PEOPLE OF PAKISTAN GAVE HIM VOTE.
I have no idea is this vote, what he got,because he said truth after 7 years or because he lied soooo good that no body was able to cath him before proof came out….:)
In my view President will not go anywhere for to save his life.
Only because of hate against ( for different reasons) Musharraf, Pakistani people decided to give leadership to corrupt and lier.
Now we all are going to bear this type of leadership.
GA Pakistan ,
musharaf m***r c**d will only leave the way his Illigitimate father Zia ul Haq or Illigitimate cousins gen irshad of Bangladesh left
This is the last effort by Mush to remain in power
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/03/080305_zardari_cases_uk.shtml
Mush should never go free. If that happens it would be a very sad day for Pakistan. This guy in the name of ‘Pakistan’ has murdered thousands and thousands of Pakistanis, done a complete U-turn on our principle based foreign policy, destroyed our economy for short term gains , made the only terrorist party in Pakistan, MQM the strongest party, abrogated the constitution, destroyed the institutions, promoted vulgarity and nudity in the name of ‘roshan khiyali’. Mush has been an Azaab on us. May Allah have mercy on us and rid of us this Azaab.. Ameen.
PML N should not make a point of presitge that they did not want to part of cabinet and dont want to take oath from Musharraf – instead they should do so , get into the assembly and then make sure they pass a resolution against Nov 3 action – that would take whatever legality Musharraf has (although I believe he has none) and make him taste his own medicine. When a parliament would pass that resolution – after that then parties should force Musharraf to resign and he would not be able to resist at all.
But under no circumstances PMLN should refuse to take oath in assembly because its better for them to be in teh assembly and goverment and make Musharraf’s life a hell. I can assure you that he cannot use 52 B so soon.
So strike the iron while its hot.
I don’t think MUsh is going anywhere…
Rather he is trying to create a divide between N and PPP.
Mush is going no where…. rather he is trying to create rift between
NS and PPP…. makesure to read the last paragraph:
PPP will sink itself in Punjab if they side with Mush.
“No problem, the president is safe as long as the PPP does not support the ‘oust-Musharraf, restore-CJ’ agenda of Nawaz Sharif,” a source close to the president told The News on Tuesday.
Background interviews and lengthy talks with several aides and those close to President Musharraf reveal that there is no panic over reports of new coalition at the Centre and in the provinces.
“To the best of our knowledge, the PPP is not on board against the president and on restoration of sacked Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry,” said one such source. Zardari has apparently made up his mind to take the issue to the parliament where people like Qazi Hussain Ahmed and Imran Khan will have no presence at all. More so, lawyers and civil society representatives will also be sitting out of the parliament and will not be part of any decision. Some PPP leaders say that the party members would not take part in any move by the N-League to table “oust Musharraf” or “restore CJ” resolutions.
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=99746
chaachaa vardi lauNdaa kyauN na’eeN?
http://www.vidpk.com/view_video.php?vid=1861
See more videos on vidPK.com
WTF? where is my embed? it shows the vidpk advert instead!!!
@ Taban: it’s workin’ fine.
Ah, the famous Pakistani socio-political acapella…….
love it every time I hear it. I don’t think there is any thing fundamentalist in it, but maybe because I only get by understanding punjabi.
Here’s an alternative link if Taban’s doesn’t work.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=h0L9MPFodUg
PPP will lose even more if they side with PML-Q and Musharaf.
Didnt the PPP get it that people want Musharraf gone and CJ restored.
Why is Amin Fahim meeting with agency man Chattha. People rejected Q-League and now PPP wants to bring them back in the govt.
Aitizaz Ahsan clearly has been saying that PPP didnt get enough seats because of their flip flop on the CJ issue.
If PPP does not show a firm resolve on getting rid of the dictator and restoring the CJ then they will make a big mistake.
In this case NS and N-League should sit in Opposition that the people that their mandate has been hijacked.
Just heard:
I am told there has been a Boeing ready and waiting on the Islamabad airport for four or five days. Who will be the passenger?
i think musharraf should restore judges before he quit.
he should never give credit to nawaz sharif of restoring judicry
and chauhdries should also try to go with him
i will inqurie my frnd how many seats have the boeing jet
@mian akbar: Musharraf is in contempt of court and in violation of Article 6 of constitution. Therefore he is illegal. And therefore does not possess the constitutional powers to restore anything anymore.
The only power he possesses is the treacherous silence of the “Pak” army which has gotten used to putting a gun to it’s nation’s head.
if musharaf restores judicry will he be a HERO or still ZERO
References:
One: Supreme Court Ruling Against PCO
Two: http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007116story_6-11-2007_pg7_21
“They maintained that the matter was taken up on Nov 3 by a seven-member bench which restrained the president and the PM from taking any such action contrary to the independence of the judiciary. This included fresh oaths under the PCO or any other extra-constitutional step.
The Chief of Army Staff, Corps Commanders, Staff Officers and all concerned of the civil and military authorities were also restrained from acting on the PCO which has been issued or from administering fresh oaths to the Chief Justice of Pakistan or judges of the Supreme Court and the chief justices or judges of the provincial high courts.
The Nov 3 order was communicated to the SHC before the PCO was passed, whereby the respondent and the functionaries were restrained from doing what has been stated in the order. Despite this, the respondents, in blatant disregard of the lawful order passed by seven judges of the Supreme Court of Pakistan, issued the PCO, committing contempt of court, in addition to violating the order.”
References:
Three: Emergency illegal, admits Musharraf
…”Have I done anything constitutionally illegal? Yes, I did it on November 3,” he said, referring to imposition of emergency rule. “But did I do it before? Not once.”
Apologies — posted the above two in the wrong discussion…Please delete them here as I will post it there…
if only one army chief has got the punishment over broking constitution of pakistan
i think no more army chief would have thought to do that again
but now a days i think every army young men is thinking to be a president of pakistan
I may be wrong in my prediction this time, but I think that retired but mad General is going to stay. Pakistan’s establishment (read army) is not going to bow down to people’s will. Let me give an example , let’s suppose that there is an army who has suffered 3 humiliating defeats at the hands of their arch enemy, and for eight years they are humiliated on daily basis by the mightiest army on the earth , their soldiers are being kidnapped , killed in suicide bombing everyday , even the top generals are not spared. And then this army has an enemy which is weak and downtrodden. Army humiliates this enemy everyday , calls them bloody civilians , kill them whenever it needs to vent anger, humiliates them whenever feels humiliated. So at least it has someting to console.
And Lo and Behold one day this weak enemy despite being crushed to death stands up , looks in the eyes of mightiest enemy and then says ENOUGH. How would the mighty feel? Remember the weak enemy is inherently weak, it is just there union that has let them stood up. So what will be action of the furious army … CRUSH ‘em , TEACH ‘em the lesson of thier life but divide them first.
So I can tell General (Retired) is going to stay , recall 20th July , how he reacted , he went quite waited and waited and then BANG , 3rd of November, and then the BIG BANG 18th December . I can foresee another big bang perhaps a total crush, this time not a hidden one but an open war a-la 1978.
On the other note , as I always said there is a method in the suicide attacks. Their timing is all the more important then the loss… so watchout for them.
take care.
@ nota:
I think that plane is for CJ Chaudhary.
http://www.ummatpublication.com/leads_news/lead04.htm
I refuse to be pessimistic about getting rid of Musharraf. There is only one solution and that is Musharraf quit unconditionally.
La taknatu min rahmatallah.
We need the winning political parties to fulfil their promises i.e. restore the judiciary at any cost. Only by then we will be able to cut the wings of the wannabe dictators.
I expect the final battle will be fought when IK and AA will make their move with APDM and lawyers movement. The established parties need a kick in the right direction otherwise their drive to reinstate the judiciary will die out.
Especially NS needs outside help as he personally has made solid effort by letting his party members swear in public about commitment towards restoring judiciary. Maybe he opted for that knowing his party members better than anybody else. PML-N is well know of being a party of many lota politicians. By this move NS was able to have a more reliable commitment from the members. Maybe it was not a bad move at all, but only time will tell whether it was sufficient, because on the other hand we have PPP/AZ giving confusing signals on an issue where there is no room for any deviation from the only true course. If AZ is able to derail the process then IK and AA will HAVE to make their next move. My personal opinion is that it will be a necessity.
Well !!
Even though i hate busharraf & his policies. but still if i see at the ground realities & see his nature, he is not gona go down if approached aggressively…. rather Looking in the wider interest of the country and people & and to avoid further turmoil & giving our nations enemies more chances of exploiting opportunites gapped, musharraf should be provided with the safe way out, and all political monsters should with the agreement of establishment as they know the ground realities even just go back 3 days & observe the statement given by one of senior pakistani official………. wateva
I just pray ALLAH subhan o tallah, to make things right for our country,
Amen
Then you will be letting the big fish go and maybe only catch the small fishs. Is this justice? If you make big blunders then you can leave and if you make small blunders you must pay. Only a just decison can save Pakistan from possible future dictators.
i hope he stays!
buhat mushkil hai
yeh laaton ke bhoot hain
baaton se nahin mante
impossible…… AmeriCa hai is k peechy … Itna Asan nahi hai mushrif ko us ki jagha sey hatana… phir bhi .. Hum Sab umeeD sey hai….
After an 8 hr meeting of Corps Commanders this evening – in a press release Gen Kiyani has denied that the there is a growing distance between him and Gen Musharraf although he also did not openly declare that the army is fully behind President Musharraf.
a C130 required?
Why waste a C130 on Mush…..A bullet is enough.
Army Chief said that Army will stay out of the political
“Army fully stands behind the democratic process and is committed to play its constitutional role in support of the elected government.”
along with
“He also observed that an impression is being created about ‘distancing of the Army from the President’”
What a political statement ????
Our army could learn a thing or two from the Iranian Army. or the Indian Army. Which btw DEFEATED them in 1971.
Try putting that sh!t in the primary syllabus.
[...] Shujaat Hussain-led Pakistan Muslim League-Q, which is closely associated and with Musharraf.read more here. Author: Yaseen [...]
News Source... Additional material was found in this news story to assist you [...]...
Good Lord, we were zapped again. Thank you Rabia Zia. You are simply marvellous.