Capital Talk - 6 March 2008

Shah Mehmood Qureshi of PPP, Chaudry Nisar of PMLN and Chaudhry Wajahat of PMLQ in a hot episode of Capital Talk.

34 Comments »

Hi guys, I have a sincere question. First of all, I am a big NS supporter and I voted for PML(N). My question is about induction of dismissed judges. What would it make difference if Parliament makes a commission as promised in COD and appoint new judges through a transparent process just like in US where each Supreme Court judge has to appear before a commission. Wouldn’t we have less of a controversy then and also most probably get honest persons as judges.

Also, both PPP and PML talk about the spirit of COD and spirit of COD in my opinion is about the independence of judiciary and having honest persons in benches.

I am asking this question with an open mind and I am willing to accept any logical and intuitive interpretation. I have been a lurker on this website for a very long time and I like the most of the people’s views which is pro judiciary and democracy and against dictatorship.

2. Zarak Khan Says:
    March 7th, 2008 at 3:15 am

Brother Rashid:

In an ideal scenario and environment your suggestion and logic would be applicable.

Unfortunately the ground reality is very different. We have to first correct and “right” what is criminal and wrong before we can move forward.

That is my humble opinion

Video added.

I dont understand why the priorties are not in order. The biggest probelm today with poor man on the street is the rising prices of food stuff. if i was a poor man who voted for PPP or PMLN my priorties would be in the following order.

1-Jobs
    2-rising prices of food stuff
    3-water supply
    4-electricity
    5-than judiciary

free judiciary will not feed my kids when they are hungry…

@adnan,

I would disagree with you.

First, if lawyers continue boycotting the judiciary, the main pillar of country will collapse soon and all things would be meaningless.

Secondly, the guys involved in sugar and flour scandals are the mill owners part of Mush regime. Without justice, they will keep on setting their own prices and control the market in a way that makes them more profitable. The current judiciary does not have balls to put their hands on them.

Water & Electric would take another 5 years before it gets resolved if we start TODAY by building dams and if British citizen Altaf Hussain shut up his slogan “Kala Bagh Dam over his dead body”.

Jobs will be created when we have small and large industries and development projects, which I don’t know how it will start without suicide bombings going all around.

ALL chaudrys are Khottas….no one talks decently…..and neither they know what to say and what not……

7. shimatoree Says:
    March 7th, 2008 at 3:58 am

Comment on comments by @ Adnan_H

As much as what is said makes great sense but MAGIC is not possible. The Govt is bankrupt thanks to the Musharraf regime policies. It is the people of the country who are selling and exporting wheat to other countries for profit. Will the PPP govt be able to stop that or can they? If you are supplying food for the Americans and Nato forces in Afghanistan for big profits while this very thing raises the prices inside the country.Is it possible that a party PPP which owes part of it’s success to the support provided by the USA and UK.
    Water supply- can only be improved with long term planning and it will take years. Same goes for electricity.
    Free judiciary might not feed your kids but has Musharraf done that. Everything is based on the achievment of justice for all and it takes justice to even think about providing food and other things to those that do not have.
    It is justice that even makes one think about food and healthcare for all but is that possible in a capitalistic society with a total revolution where the land is distributed to those that work it-where the workers who toil long and hard get mere scraps.

All of things that are sited as more important than restoration of judiciary will not be achieved without judges like CJ Iftikhar.
    Those that trumpet their own version of an Islamic Republic must be made to read Sayed Qtub and similar scholars so that they understand that a social welfare state is what an islamic State is.

I hope your comments genuine as they are- are read by those that have come in power and put in place policies which will correct all the problems for a long term . But we must have justice and we can start with restoration of Judiciary.

8. shimatoree Says:
    March 7th, 2008 at 4:00 am

Has anyone noticed the NEW hair style of Shah Mehmood Qureshi ?
    Is that an indication that he will be next PM>

ML-Q is one giant ball of irony when it’s not a one giant clusterf*ck!

I can’t believe this guy can sit there and talk shite like that with a straight face… just makes you shake your head in disbelief!

@adnan_H: good list, but think of your list as a tree, and number 1 thru 4 are the branches and all have #5 at the root .. :)
    no doubt we need to work on all, but root causes will bring a lot more bang for the buck as it were.. Plus, it is the right thing to do.

Also, I’m not sure what the poverty line is in pakistan but I think it is somewhere around Rs 150 per day. Jis par guzarti hai vohi jaanta hai. I don’t doubt your sincerity, but I think most of us don’t have any idea what it means to be poor in Pakistan.

Just by way of a general observation, most of us spend more on our monthly Internet fees than what a poor person makes in a month to feed a small family (and that is aroud 4-5 ppl in Pakistan) .. May no-one have to face that, and it is atrocious and unfair that so many back home have to endure this injustice.

another thing i foresee but hope doesnot happen is that. bringing back CJ iftikhar would it realy free our judiciary. Or are we going to taint another one of our institutions. will we simply replace the Genrals with judiciary that interferes in the democratic cycle in pakistan.

what if tomorrow once these CJ iftikhar is restored, what if he aligns with PML-N and reopen the cases against Zardari. wouldnt that bring us back to the same old story.

i say if we really want free judiciary we should let the parliament pick new judges that are accepted by all parties.

New poll added:

Imran Khan could best serve as which Minister in current Government?

13. Hameed Chaudhry Says:
    March 7th, 2008 at 5:43 am

Hamid Mir Sahib, you are really very intelligent person, the way you trap Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain in this program is not good and acceptable to PML(Qabza). Any way, Chaudhry Nisar Ahmed PML(N) and Shah Mahmood Qureshi PPP was very well prepared for the important national issues presently facing by the People of Pakistan.

I really think, its very difficult for the tv anchors and their producers running the political shows to find any respectable, educated politician of PML(Q) to come in these programs and give the party position who was also elected in recent general election.

I feel sorry to say that, PML(Q) is full of garbage which need to be dump as soon as possible. Please dont invite those politicians who are non serious to participate equally with the devoted and polished politicians from PPP, PML(N), ANP, PTI and JI.

Pervez Musharraf and his PML(Q) is now become past history, people of all four provinces rejected them and more or less 25 federal ministers were badly defeated by PPP and PML(N) candidates which is the reality of popularity of Pervez Musharraf for which he invested billions of rupees before the election to show the national and international press.

The clock has started count down ……… for illegal and un-constituted President of Pakistan, so-called commando is getting ready to run away from country within few days along with his “baqiaat”. He should be shame of him self what he and his team have done in last 8-9 years as a experimantal basis while not keeping in mind that he is a government servant and getting paid by the ministry of defence every month and have no legal and constitutional powers to exercise the changes and ammendments for which he is not permitted by the Constitution of Pakistan inforced in country before he illegally take over by gun.

I personally agreed, with Mr.Shah Mahmood Qureshi and Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan that Co-Chairperson of PPP Mr. Asif Ali Zardari and Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif along with Asfandaryar Wali is going to defeat Pervez Musharraf’s negative tectics which he is trying to inforce from Aiwan-e-Sadr. Thats why he is specially sending chartered planes to bring leader of the defeated team to Islamabad and put extra burden on the government of Pakistan to find some composition to stay in power but now its too late for that, people have rejected them.

I like to see, in the great interest of Pakistan in coming 2-3 days the peaceful pessage for illegal President of Pakistan to leave and replaced by Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahmed who is very intelligent and hard working person interested in reversing in all illegal constituanal changes made in past time to time as well as killing ordinance 58-2B.

In my opinion, Makhdoom Amin Fahim and Yousaf Raza Gillani is two best choices for PPP …….. very decent and metured politicians but my first choice will go for one and only Makhdoom Amin Fahim as a deputy chief of the PPP from last many years.

Chaudhry Wajahat, is the chief of mafia in Gujrat. Please dont show his “maqrooh suraat” on tv leading programs. I salute those tv anchors who make it possible to bring actual position to the viewers and mobalize voters to go for better political choices in their constituencies. I really missing Dr. Shahid Masood and Mr. Ansaar Abbasi who are now in the list of missing persons will appear on tv after the judiciary is reinstated in coming few days.

@Brother Rashid

My sympathies too lie with NS. The logic is very simple.

In Pakistan you cant trust any body.

Bhuto though Zia would be good for him but the opposit happened, Nawaz changed 4 Genrals because they had Keera in their brain, Musharraf turned out to be exactly the same.

Even poeple like Sheeda Talli who could not be expected to turn loatay did exactly the opposit of expectations.

Judges like Bagwan Daas and Iftikhar Choudry stood up infront of the most powerfull and most Kharr Dimaagh of all general and a dictator at the peak of his power climb when it wasn’t clear if the political parties would be able to back them or not. These jusdjes are the only one that can be trusted to cleanup the judiciary because they have proven them selves.

This awakening of the judiciary is what people have been waiting for for the last 60 years.

People who say that CH Iftikar turned against Musharraf after 3rd November are liers!!! Dont listen to them

CJ Iftikhar started to give just decisions as soon as he took office, He was taking decions on the missing persond cases way before. He was appointed by Musharraf but Musharraf made the same mistake As Bhuto and Nawaz.

Example of CJ is the example of Musa in the house of phiroa (firaun). This is Allah’s intervention and blessing after the great suffering of this nation because of Musharrafs zulm and deviation from the stright path.

He became a god and GOD sent a Musa.

So please! stay focussed to the cause and dont doubt Nawaz, he is more intelligent than he seems. Time will proove this, insha Allah. After all did any body think that he could convince PP to work with PMLN?

well said chudry nisaar. shah also admitted that the joint collision will survive.

So many anchors get so many Urdu words wrong. Urdu has been destroyed in Pakistan. The plaural for Nuktah as point is Nikaat. Nuqaat is plaural of Nuqktah meanig dot. The colunmist of Nawaiwaqt and Jang are better educated in Urdu. Kamid Mir is Ok but I can’t tolerate people who dont know thier own national tongue and can’t speak their beloved english either like Mush

CH Wajahat, what an ullu!! They say wise foe is better than a dim friend. Al Q legue are Khussya bardaar, bayghayrat. If these are Musharrafs freind then ge surely will hang.

18. Zarak Khan Says:
    March 7th, 2008 at 7:26 am

I used to always wonder why the British police at Heathrow detained Ch Wajahat , body cavity searched him and his group and then not only released but deported him from their country and gave him back to us.

Now I know why ?

@Rashid

I support your view in this regard. It would be very easy if we let the people for whom we have voted decide in a peaceful democratic way through parliament.

20. forgotten_sindhi Says:
    March 7th, 2008 at 10:24 am

@ Adnan_H

I totally agree with you. First, there are other big issues than judiciary. Second, there is a difference between “freeing judiciary” and “restoring judges”.

Mr. Sharif is insisting on restoration of CJ (not freeing judiciary) because Iftikhar Chaudary himself is a pro Sharif person and to be honest he is one of those power hungry people!!!

If we talk about national reconciliation, than we should look forward and dont invovle in such things which can arise conflicts.

Yesterday Aitizaz said “we should forget 12 may” although its a bigger issue but he is mature. And if we want to move forward than Judiciary should be independent not restored bringing back power hungry judges.

@rashid

All you said is very good but ,practically when we try to go for the process mentioned by you,i.e,

” through a transparent process just like in US ”

this transparency is not achievable all of a sudden., rather through a continuous democratic process

@forgotten_sindhi on March 7th, 2008 10:24 am

But sir, Mr Aitizaz is much more active to restore the judiciary than Mr Sharif.
    Then Why is it so that Mr Aitezaz is called mature by you while Mr Sharif is blamed of supporting a man who is power hungry or pro sharif?

is’nt it something like double standard?

Its merely an impression ,I got from your comments.May be it is not what you wanted to say.

@Adnan_H on March 7th, 2008 4:41 am

totally agreed with you.
    but the problem is from where to start.
    Anyone has to be the CJ.
    and among the lot,Mr Iftikhar looks to be most suitable.
    off course, it is not possible that this decision be based upon affilation ,otherwise each party would have his own CJ.
    no body will land from somewhere else.But if it continues like that,I am afraid people like Malik Qayyum or even some American ambassador (why not) will soffer his services in the LARGE NATIONAL INTEREST.

Adnan_H on March 7th, 2008 3:36 am

here i would dare to disagree (democratically )with you,plz don’t mind.
    off course all four are major problems,
    1-Jobs
    2-rising prices of food stuff
    3-water supply
    4-electricity

but what if the jobs can given to people by americans (as they did in Afghanistan and Iraq)
    What if food can be provided to Pakistan by america
    and the water and electricity (much easily) by america.

Just he demands, sell 500 people to me, i’ ll give you dollars to get all things above.

handover your nuclear assests, I will give you all this you demanded,i.e.,
    jobs,food,water and electricity.No problem at all.

I ask you “Should we opt for it? ”

Should we?

if yes, then OK, Jhagrra he khattam…. No need of any judiciary, any army, any parliment.

if NO, then probably the most important problem is something other.
    which is the root cause.

generally ROTI is not at all a problem of a man, when his honour is in danger.

I hope , I am able to convey my point of view.
    Equally probable that I am wrong.

@Tab’an Khamosh on March 7th, 2008 4:23 am

This is ,what I wanted to say.
    I may have repeated your voice.

chories still trying to get in power by chor darwaza and ch nisar rightly mention that these qutta league people were accusing pml n for toeing pppp but now their own leaders r licking the feet of zardari to get some ministeries in punjab and baluchistan
    shame on this qutta league, what a shameless bunch of losers!!!

26. londoner007 Says:
    March 7th, 2008 at 3:43 pm

pmlq want to sit on ppp and zardai jotian now they don’t have any shame and taking u turn every day, they cant bare that pmln is making gov. in punjab. they know if pmln manage to make gov. in punjab by the next election pmlq will be wiped off from every corner of the country.

i think we need to give them a big push to drain in the guter.

@Adnan: has rightly summed up the 5 basic needs of people of Pakistan.

However, Judiciary should be the core as Justice Iftikhar was right in the way of Mafias. He was the one who stopped the pritization of Steel mills.
    CJ had also intiated an action on the formula of Petroleum Prices. This case is also forgotten.

Mush is responsible for all this financial turmoil of the country. Some genius:) advised him to replace the century old tested system of Commissioners with that of Nazims. Commissioners had powers of Magistrates and they used to control the rates in their devisions. Now Nazims dont have any idea how to do that , infact they are part of this mafia. This inflation is not real. It is just the coalation of Cartels which can be checked with the help of Strong Judiciary supported by the Commissionar System.

Its a pity that People like Chaudhary Shujaat and Wajahat are our leaders whom no respectable man would like to invite in his place.

@ Adnan H

Brother Judiciary is the issue. That is a real deterrent against those who are trying to raise prices and give jobs to the real people.

@ Forgotten_Sindhi

Nice to see you back after some time and supporting about ‘forgetting judiciary’ and May 12. We disagree with AA on this point. Your support for these issues shows that you are exposed again. I think MQM lovers need to become a bit more intelligent before trying to show themselves as supporters of PPP and as Sindhi.

When we have a free judiciary, we will bring pictures of those who committed murders on May 12 (doesn’t matter which party they belong to).

Altaf Hussain should have been the first one to get justice for them because he claims all of them were his workers. Ishallah we will get ALL workers of ANY party justice. On the other hand, MQM lawyer was so happy when all the cases were terminated and said ‘Haq aur Insaaf Ki Fateh Hoi’.

We need to have a free judiciary and get these victims justice. This is the only way to stop things from happening again.

sorry type: give jobs to their own people (i.e. family and friends)

30. sleepingnation Says:
    March 7th, 2008 at 9:27 pm

Ch.Nsar rocks, h is one o the best politician in PMl (N).. i never bothered to waste my time in listening ull Dog Ch. wajahat who is head of Gujrat mafia.. he is black from iside as weel as out side

As long as crooks are running the parties no change will occur. Until now NS has had statesman like approach to the judiciary issue. How long can NS keep on playing mouse and cat with AZ? PPP/AZ are clearly playing with peoples sentiments and unnecessarily delaying the all important judges issue.

“Top PPP leadership is quietly seeking firm guarantees from the PML-N that the restored judges would not turn their guns on them once they form a government.”

Source: http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=13414

How can he demand guarantees from PML-N? If the judiciary is free no one can run away from justice. A really stupid and weird demand :-(
    And re further PPP/AZ says:

“Even Zardari did not hide his emotions against the judges, when he met dozens of journalists at the Zardari House last week where he first spoke his mind on the issue. He explained to journalists that he was against the restoration of those judges as these very people were sitting in courts when he, along with his spouse, was being hounded and wronged in jail and put on trial.”

This means that he is clearly running a personal vendetta…..AZ is non statesman. We shouldn’t expect anything positive from PPP/AZ. They are not able to deliver anything but confusing statements which will only benefit Musharraf and other anti judiciary elements.

Q leage woh Kutti hay jis ko kharrish par chuki hay so woh marham lagwany kay liye Mush kay paas to kabhi zardari kay paas ja rahi hay……..

Anybody suggest cure for them………………….?

Chj wajaht says that president Musharaf is still strong it does not matter
    if the people of pakistan does not like him (but Ammies still support him
    so he is strong). On other side he says we should not take dectation
    from outside. This is Dochlapan. In other words Munafiqat!!

He gave also warning that this is just the starting it is going to be worse.
    My Dua is that Allah s.w.t save (Pakistan people of pakistan - Munafiqeen)

please put up this news on the front page. it is unbelievable, even for pakistani standards of dalali.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=13430