Qamar Zaman Qaira of PPP, Riaz Pirzadar of PMLQ, Dr. Tariq Chaudhry of PMLN and Babar Ghuari of MQM in fresh episode of Capital Talk. Hamid Mir discusses the delays in formation of new government.
March 8th, 2008 at 4:46 am
lol “ch. shujaat should step down”…nice!!
March 8th, 2008 at 6:36 am
I donot care much about Shujaat stepping down.
Retd General Mush MUST step down or KICKED OUT for illegally possessing the presidency seat.
And the honorable judges of pre Nov,03,2007 judiciary MUST be restored to their respectives seats.
March 8th, 2008 at 6:41 am
i guess pervaiz ilahi should step down along with his master muhsaraf
March 8th, 2008 at 6:59 am
@ admin>>> comment has been taking long to submit
I donot care much about Shujaat stepping down.
Retd General Mush MUST step down or KICKED OUT for illegally possessing the presidency seat.
And the honorable judges of pre Nov,03,2007 judiciary MUST be restored to their respectives seats.
March 8th, 2008 at 7:09 am
MY GOD. he more mush stays the more are we in trouble:
http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=13430
March 8th, 2008 at 8:21 am
I think, there is a need to rephrase the restoration of judge’s issue. At the moment the issue is presented by many as an issue in itself. It is beacuse of this that MQM brings up CoD matter.
The way thsi issue should be seen and presented is a consequence of nulifying the Nov. 3 acts of COAS. The point is that on Nov. 2 COAS did something which Mush himself has acknowledged to be illegal. The main idea should be to nulify that act. The question is what is MQM’s stand on this illegal act. If it supports it then it is obvious where ir stands. If does not then automatically going back to Nov 2 will mean getting the judiciary back.
MQM is trying to hoodwink the people.
muqqafa
March 8th, 2008 at 9:22 am
Clash Between Ameen faheem & Asif Zardari
Yeh Mard hoker Party nahee chala saktay Shame on him BB Female koher kia kuch ker ghyeen Shit This Dirty Politics.
Anum Hafeez
Sr Consultant
Neon Solutions
March 8th, 2008 at 10:32 am
Restoration of judiciary is very crucial. It is not acceptable to the political parties who have hidden agenda. The parties that want the status -co, are not interested for IFTIKHAR CHUDHARY to come back. I know come back of Justice Iftikhar will not revolutionise the society but at least there will be some hope for a common man .I am an optimist that some time in my life I may see a change in the political arena of my country . If political process is allowed to flourish and the media remains free to scrutinise, then the corrupt and incompetent politician will eventually perish.
MQM unfortunately, now, is a representative of establishment, how can it be in favour of restoration of judges?
PPPP does not want to restore judges.
March 8th, 2008 at 10:53 am
@asqu
How can you say PPP does not want the restoration of Judges?
March 8th, 2008 at 11:09 am
One has to judge a party by the statements that the leadership give on a particular issue and the attitude of the high command. PPPP have not given a clear cut statement on judicial issue like Mr NS. There is overwhelming pressure from media and public to restore judges. It is becoming difficult for PPPP now, to deny this. If they are sincere in this issue what have prevented them saying so. PPPP talks about the independence of judiciary but there is not even a single clear cut statement from PPPP higher command of restoration of judges. I give all credit to Mr Aitazaz Ahsan .He is keeping public pressure on political parties. He is a man of principles and nation should be proud that we have people like him.
March 8th, 2008 at 11:54 am
Is a coup within a party possible? W/n PPP that is? I wonder…
March 8th, 2008 at 12:33 pm
@Fahim23 on March 8th, 2008 10:53 am
Is there really any doubt?
http://www.jang.net/jm/3-7-2008/images/1745.gif
http://www.jang.net/jm/3-8-2008/images/43.gif
March 8th, 2008 at 1:13 pm
LO KER LO GAL
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/mar2008-daily/08-03-2008/col5.htm
March 8th, 2008 at 1:15 pm
I fear for Aitizaz’s life..
He might be eliminated..
Actually this is the time that these people can engrave their names in Pakistan’s history.
March 8th, 2008 at 1:19 pm
@anum: Your statement is rather sexist don’t you think?
@Atif: the second link you posted is quite provocative and “smells” a bit. I really hope the PPP CEC is not so illogical to think that if they free the judge he will go on a country tour and that will be a problem for them. If anything it will raise PPP in the eyes of the public.
@Omar Khan: I think the coup maybe materializing already. Because the anti-zardari element seems to be coalescing now. Not sure if it will manifest itself now though. Even if we consider NS and AZ to be visionaries, the parites, by their very UN-democratic nature are chock full of small, venal people. I think they might wait for Zardari to fail, and then take control of the chairmanship after he is discredited.
It is ironic that Zardari, after announcing his son’s dynastic ascension to the “throne” not too long ago, is now going to the district (or is it division?) level party workers to determine the PM.
I think he’s playing a game. And the “gurg-e baraaN deedah” faction is giving him as much rope as he asks for.
March 8th, 2008 at 1:39 pm
@Tab’an: I hope so, and I agree with your observation of our political parties.
March 8th, 2008 at 5:02 pm
pragmatic approach for the survival of old-fashioned politicians would be to reinstate the Judiciary & turn the heroic image of lawyers & judiciary towards themselves.
The sooner they reinstate the better it would be for them, coz prolonged agitation will not only deter the dictatorship forever in the centre but even local dictatorship(jaghirdars, wadairas, sarmayadars). Why?
The people are becoming more & more familiar day by day about the Rule of Law, human rights & the things like this even in rural areas due to the close relationship of lawyers with the masses.
March 8th, 2008 at 7:57 pm
how is mush illegaly president?? lol if he is illegaly president then elections held under him r illegal loll so go on keep rolling the clock bak ? ther is no way he can be chukd out
March 8th, 2008 at 8:24 pm
@asqu n atif
Can you please recall when Mohtarma herself marched to the CJ Iftikhar’s house and gave the most clear statement I have heard on the issue of restoration judiciary. She said “Ch. Iftikhar is my Judge”. Have you raed in her book what was offered to her in Dubai which she denied? Can you recall the Policy statement issued by Raza Rabbani on the floor of Senate about restoration of Judges? Have you watched Naveed Qamar, Latif Khosa, Shah Mehmood qureshi, Qamar zaman Qaira and many other PPP representatives on the different talk shows like Capital Talk, off the record, live with talat and parliament gallery etc, stating clearly that Independence of judiciary is interlinked with the restoration of judiciary.
The difference between PML N and PPP is on the modalities. PPP wants to resolve this issue on parliament, while PML N was initialyl insisting to resolve this before the parliamentary session. But now they too have realized the best place to resolve this issue is parliament.
There is Coalition between PPP, PML N and ANP, do you honestly believe that without any consensus on the issue of judiciary this coalition is possible?
By the way who is leading this judicial movement?
March 8th, 2008 at 9:02 pm
Kalay Naag ko pitari may band kia hoa hay phir bhi dang pay dang mary ja raha hay…….
First.. …….Peerzada who’s not look like traitor .
March 8th, 2008 at 11:21 pm
@Fahim
I wish like millions of other pakistanis that PPP restore judges. If they do so they will be praised because it is in Pakistans interest but deep inside my heart there are fears that they might not do so .,I pray it may be just my wishful thinking. This is not base less because if you see and listen to the talk shows every senseble anchor also shares the same anxiety . Why time and again people asking PPP leader ship the same question ? Answer is they are not giving the straight answer.
March 9th, 2008 at 12:56 pm
I have heared the combined press conference of PPP and PMLN and this was wonderful . In my opinion this is the best day of my life. I oppologise for the doubts that I had on the PPP intention. It may be a begining of a new era for us.
March 9th, 2008 at 2:32 pm
@asqu
PPP is following the policy of avoiding confrontation. That does not mean it is compromising on the principles. But having vast experience of anti-establishment confrontational policy, PPP is in most learned position to tackle the establishment of our country.
Yes, since 9th March 2007, things are changed but that does not mean we should forget our past. PPP could have too throwed one-liners like NS to cash the popular sentiment, but this would have brought chaos in our already tarnished and fragile country.
So, far Elections are held (and I am sure you would agree that), credit goes to PPP and its leadership, which has seriously damaged the position of Musharaf and PML Q like never before.
As far on the issue of judiciary, A GOOD NEWS! http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/03/080309_ppp_pml_accord_ra.shtml
I hope this will vanish all the doubts constantly being expressed on part of PPP.
PPP will InshALLAH acheive what we all want without seriously risking the integrity of Pakistan. It is like “Sanp bhee mar jaye aur lathi bhee na totay”.
This is the strategy of PPP with which you and I can differ but so far it is Alhamdulilah working.
March 9th, 2008 at 3:53 pm
@ Fahim
All is well that ends well. I am glad that both leading parties of Pakistan came to an agreement on this disputed issue of restoration of judges. This in fact is the voice of millions of Pakistanis. I give credit to Aitazaz Ahsan who single handedly kept the issue alive and then credit goes to NS who was clever to know what the public demand is and he based all his political compaign on the issue of restoration of judiciary. This thing paid him