PPP PMLN Murree Declaration

March 9, 2008 . 67 Comments   

Nawaz Sharif and Asif Ali Zardari have signed a joined declaration for coalition government and restoration of judiciary.

Email This Post Email This Post
{ 67 comments... read them below or add one }

• Ashraf said:

• rosgeler said:

Good News for Pakistan. Congrats to all.

• nota said:

I wouldn’t bring out the champagne just yet! I take this non-agreement as seriously as I take the ARD or the COD. I would go a step further and say it is a delaying tactic and nothing will come of it. I heard “30 days” and I went “Oh-Oh!” And in saying that are they also saying they will keep the CJ under house arrest for another 30 days after coming to power? If not, then are they going to prevent him from going to the supreme court?

By the way is is Zardari’s immaturity that he cannot get along with two of the biggest leaders PPP has: Aitzaz Ahsan and Amin Fahim. AA and ZA are worlds apart on the judiciary issue — I am sure AA sees through this “30 day” cr*p because he believes restoration could be done just through a “verbal administrative order.” And we also have very strong words coming from Amin Fahim (”I am being humiliated, betrayed”; “The whole party is behind me for PM”; “I am only interested in being PM”; “Why was I not called to todays meeting with Nawaz? Zardari knows I was not busy so why did he say that”; his calling the ARD meeting on his own; and last but not least what he said today on talat show: “PPP-Parliamentarians is the party that won the election and I am it’s President - The party having negotiations with Nawaz is PPP whose Co-Chairman is Mr Zardari.” Fighting words indeed). So seems Mushy has succeeded in creating a major rift in PPPP. Zardari better clean up his own house first. And FAST!!!

• fraz1234 said:

This is a great day in the history of Pakistan and seems too good to be true. If judges are restored, it will be a biggest success of people of Pakistan during last 60 years and I think Nawaz Sharif deserves big credit for this as well.

• saqibtahir said:

I never felt so optimistic abot future of democracy in this country more than today. The agreement betwen PPP and NS is historic. This nation needs reconciliation between all democratic forces. On Mrach 07 we lost hope. A year down the road, a hope is born. The days of dictatorship and military rule are numbered. I hope political parties will learn a lesson from the past and unite to keep democracy alive. Establishment will try to divi and rule despite todays’s historic Muree declaration. If Zardari and Sharif succeed in thir mission and stay united till establishment is completely under control of parliament, history will give them a status of Ghandhi and Jinnah. On this day we should not forget Shaheed BB. This nation owe a lot to her wisdom and sacrifices for the sake of democracy in this country.

Our judges and lawyers are brave heros. I hope the judges will not repeat the mistakes of past and should seek apology from the nation for being used as pawns in the hands of past dictators and also for the brutal judiacial murder of Bhutto, sentencing NS as hijacker, and keeping PPP leadership in exile and behind bars for 11 years. The have to clean their wrondoings as well.

I hope new government will establish a truth and reconciliation commission under the chair of some undisputed judge or lawer e.g. Justice Fakharuddin G Ibrahim, Aitzaz Ahsan, Justice Wajeeh where all institutions including army generals, politicians and judges who supported dictators in past should come forward and accept responsibility and seek forgiveness for their crimes.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

Sherry Rahman is there LIKE.A.HAWK!

I’m not surprised at rumours of her being PM in the interim. She seems to have jockeyed into the front line. I have seen her in every single meeting that Zardari has held.

I think she should be made PM! Pakistan will be the only Muslim Country with 2 women prime ministers. Not that it should be the only reason, but she seemed to be involved in the justice protests too on 12th of may etc.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

00:41:00 “mqm par faisla laeN gay…. miaaN SaaHab ki ijaazat say”

oy! Altaf Bhai ki to moo’e zihaar jal jaa’aeN gi yeh sun kar

• People said:

@ TK

u mean ”jhooein” saR jaein gi??

• hac84 said:

Yippi yea ai aa!!

• anum said:

Hahaha :P All the Theafs in One Table :P They All are Corrupt Peoples of Pakistan’s History God Bless Pakistan! Makdum Ameen Faheem Is the Rie Choice of Prime Minister Sip He is sincere Honest and Loyal of Shaheed Moterma Benazir Bhutto.

Anum Hafeef
    Sr Consultant
    NeonSolutions

• ataraxis6 said:

I am so happy to hear this. Restoration of judges is just a matter of time now. I wonder how the dictator will react to this.

• nota said:

Live the way “India Daily” is reporting the story….
    Pakistan gets a democratic Parliament — the battle starts between Musharraf and Pakistani freedom
    The opposition parties agreed to form a new Government and bring back the judges fascist Musharraf sacked. Nawaz Sharif’s PML-N will join a PPP-led coalition government in Pakistan. PML(N) Chief Nawaz Sharif and PPP chairman Asif Ali Zardari signed a memorandum of understanding after their one-to-one talks and said that Sharif’s party will support the Prime Ministerial candidate from slain leader Benazir Bhutto’s PPP.

Zardari is cared somewhat to bring back the sacked judges. But he finally agreed to that. They will be moving a parliamentary resolution within 30 days to restore the pre-emergency judiciary.

Now starts the real battle between forces of free Pakistan and dark side of Pakistan military and ISI centered around fascist Musharraf.

Will Musharraf agree to exile outside Pakistan or will he battle to regain power and oust the elected leaders of both the parties?

Political think tanks believe Mushrraf’s nightmare is Saddam’s final execution. He would have never “tortured” Pakistan unless he believed the establishment in America will support him no matter what he does. His eyes are on America. He wants to stay in power with the help of the American support. If Americans signal him positively, he will not hesitate to put the freely elected leaders back in jail.

• hasheesh said:

joke of the year:

Altaf demands PMship hahahah

• nota said:

@anum
    I don’t think MQM endorsement is gonna help Amin Fahim, no matter how “Rie” he is. By the way it is real funny hearing MQM call BB “Shaheed Moterma Benazir Bhutto”

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

@nota: ROFL! haha “Rie” heehehe..

• Asif said:

This is a good news after a year of perplexing events.

I would reiterate my words that “Pragmatic approach for the survival of old-fashioned politicians would be to reinstate the Judiciary & turn the heroic image of lawyers & judiciary towards themselves. Otherwise, prolonged agitation will not only deter the dictatorship forever in the centre but even local dictatorships (jaghirdars, wadairas, sarmayadars)”.

So they opted the pragmatic one coz the other one can swept away them too.

• shimatoree said:

It is certainly good news but it is ONLY NEWS.
    For a pessimistic person I would like to hope that that not only they do the things that people want but also expose the economic disasater that Musharraf and his cronies have brought to the people. This must be done if the people are to know and once for all they know that some tin pot dictator will not be the solution.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

Regarding all the “Khair sagaali” in our politics these days:

SoHbat maeN Ghair ki nah paRee ho kaheeN yeh Khu
    daenay lagaa hai bosah baGhair iltijaa ki’yay

zid ki hai aur baat magar “Khu” buri naheeN
    bhoolay say us nay saiNkaRooN va’aday vafaa ki’yay!

~Ghaalib~ tumhi kaho keh milay gaa javaab ki’yaa
    maanaa keh tum kahaa ki’yay, aur voh sunaa ki’yay

• fraz1234 said:

@ 42:35 … lol …… Kia naam hei General ka ………………… :)

• fraz1234 said:

Sorry its at @ 43:35

• 2wise said:

Nothing came out of this meting as expected. Actually NS agreed to keep Iftikhar Chaudhry under house arrest until the Parliament decides his fate. This was the exact outcome expected from a loveless marriage of convenience between NS and AZ. How soon before we see them really exposing their ugly claws and teeths. and go after each other. Perhaps very soon.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

Rangers are gone from Iftikhar Choudhary’s house and his personal servant and body guard have been summoned to his residence (express.com.pk march 8th or 7th)

• Saqib said:

PPPP’s way of handling the situation is full of suspicions. As long as AZ and other chameleons are leading PPPP I have almost no hope that they will want to reinstate the judiciary. Why should AZ do it when he has his hands full of old cases against him? Will he not be sawing the branch he is sitting on (no, no I am not saying he is parrot)?

The question is; does NS want reinstatement of the judiciary? Very hard to say. In a way he could have some kind of revenge by having Musharraf dismissed and as a slap on Mush’s face he could be pivotal in restoring the judiciary. The question is will he do it or is he also playing a game knowing for sure that AZ will not restore the judges? After all NS could say that he tried his best and indeed had his men swearing that they will reinstate the judiciary, but PPPP didn’t want to. Then both parties will have it their way i.e. no irritating independent judiciary to follow any shady affairs.

Above mentioned issues are only suspicions based on the slow progress we are witnessing from PPPP and PML-N. May be my suspicions are unfounded, but I want to be dead-sure that the are on the right track. They must feel the heat of what the public wants. The lawyers movement had planned a long march on the 9.th March, but suspended this because they wanted to give PPPP and PML-N time to resolve the issue. The lawyers movement has agreed to give them 30 days as per wishes from the leading parties. The countdown has now begun, and the lawyers movement has already announced that if they don’t deliver they will start their movement on big scale. Personally I hope it is NOT necessary, but at the same time I feel the parties should know that somebody is ready to move if they fail.

• econfused said:

For all the pessimists, nothing will come out of any meeting for you guys. FOr the rest of us, we are the followers of Aitezaz Ahsan, and he said count down will start right after the formation of government.

I believe things will change within this week. The only reason they are not changing because Mush is a commando, and his intuition is to leave but his training to FIGHT ON is making him stay.

• Saqib said:

A soldier fighting on? Yes, when it is in Pakistan and Pakistani citizens, but when it is the enemy then 90.000 soldiers can lay down weapons instead of going down fighting. Our generals are a disgrace to the nation :-(

• commoner said:

“Politics is the art of the possible, the attainable - the art of the next best”
    - Otto von Bismarck (Prussian Prime Minister, Founder and Chancellor of the German Empire)

Zardari (PPP) and Mian Sb (PMLN) have made it. Bravo!

But beware, this is just a right start. Today is only the beginning of the re-drawing of battle-lines between the forces of democracy and the establishment. The history has been the witness to the fact that the most ferocious fights have been put up by the ones who have the most to loose and here it is the establishment that stands vulnerable to loose. So it will not take the things lying down. It is going to be a protracted and may well be the final battle for supremacy between the two power centers of Pakistani politics. The people of Pakistan the final arbiters of the destiny of the nation must stand vigilant as the history is being made.

• SnrCtzn said:

Yes, I also think, ( & you never know ) that Ms Sherry Rehman, MAY & also,CAN become the NEXT WOMAN PM ?

Then she will be entitled to sing the song, ‘ abhi tau mein jawan hoon ‘ ?

• Saqib said:

I have not experienced S. Rehman as a mature politician. It is a bad idea to offer her PM post. At best she should have some minor post as a minister, maybe minister for tourism. If you people have anything on her I would like to know of her abilities.

• Optimist said:

Have you noticed that MAJORITY of people are in favour of restoration of judiciary.

There are some Munafiq who were telling us that NS will go back on his promise. Now that he hasn’t, these lovers of Altaf Choran Wala are really feeling the pain.

• lota6177 said:

9th March what a diffrence a year makes, it was the worst of times it is the best of times. Next 30 days parliament reslotious will restore the judges. Parliament will undo mushraff amendmants. PPP and pml N working togather hand in hand taking the first step in the right direction. I never thought I would see that day. This is a historic day for deomcrasy in pakistan. My regards to all pakistanis everywhere. My one regret is if only benazir was still alive to see this day. I know she worked really hard for this day to come about. Nawaz Sharif and asif ali zardari has shown maturity to take this step. Mushi would end up on a nude beach on turker soon.

• 2wise said:

Lion of Punjab got hit in his rear end with the poisonous arrow. Stay tuned for further drama!!!

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

@2wise: Unless you back up your claims with some evidence, you will keep sounding like sour grapes bro. Don’t worry, Zardari will think about MQM’s role after getting permission from Nawaz Sharif. :) They have a “bit player” strategy too.

• Optimist said:

This is a NEW DAWN.

Historical and friendship between all provinces of Pakistan. We are all brothers.

Sindh Zindabad
    Punjab Zindabad
    ALL Pakistan Zindabad

This declaration is death to all hate mongers and those who want to divide Pakistanis.

• Optimist said:

@ 2wise

Last time you were condemning both NS and AZ.

You suddenly have fallen in love with NS. Like every MQM Munafiq you were saying that both of them don’t believe in democracy and now you think that one of them is lion.

• aahmad said:

Concern is Mush will do EVERYTHING to survive this onslaught by N and PPP.
    How he’ll use agencies and establishment is yet to be seen.

But I still think Mush will use CJ Doogar (fraud CJ) to prolong his tenure. We have to wait and see…

• aahmad said:

OR we can see history repeating itself again what judiciary did with CJ Sajjad Shah. Can we see pro-Mush judges try to block CJ Chaudhary’s take over?

• Optimist said:

To MQM supporters Who claim that Zardari is bad:

Your Biggers Peer called Asif Zardari (AZ) and told him that in the past people made him (altaf Don) and PPP fight (Altaf must be very innocent to follow those ‘people’!!).

He told Zardari that his struggle/sacrifices and jail term were for DEMOCRACY and these were unprecedented in the history of Pakistan (it was not for corruption but democracy).

He also repeated BB is a Shaheed and offered unconditional support to PPP.

NOW WILL MQM SUPPORTERS STOP BASHING ZARDARI AND PPP.

• Optimist said:

@ aahmed

I just wish that Mush do that as well. This guy has damaged Army’s reputation and deserves a medal for showing us the real face of dictator.

Mush’s days are numbered but I thank him for discrediting Generals forever. If he does something with Fraud Dogar, it will be good. We will get rid of both of them for ever. No lawyer goes to his court anyway.

• Asad said:

truly a historic day but i am thinking that if Justice Iftikhar is truly independent then he will not let these people(AZ NS) off the hook either. If judiciary is restored it wont be a black cheque for ppp or muslim leaque. If he manages to keep them in check then that would be a real achievement!!!

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

@optimist: I hope so, except in 10 years time people will forget this fight and then be ready to recieve another military dictator (with no small help from all the people who work in the background to create the situation for a military takeover)

Military takeovers in pakistan and Republican terms have one thing in common, they run up debts, wreck the country and then hand it over to democrats (politicians in Pakistan’s case) and then ask them to fix things .. in 10 years time they’re back to siphon off all the fruits of the past decade’s work…

just a weird uncooked theory on my part.

If we realy want to stop the generals from coming back,, we’ll have to severely punish a few people including a few jurnails.. otherwise we’ll keep seeing a repeat of the same.

• busybee said:

I hope everythig turns out right for akitanand the people of Pakistan. and I pray that these leaders have larnt their lesson.

• busybee said:

Correction; Pakistan and the people …..

• Optimist said:

@ Taba’n Khamosh

I agree but don’t you think that awareness level has shot through the roof. Can they still fool ordinary people with such a powerful media?

I am very hopeful that this is last martial law. I think civil society will be stronger (all of this is subject to restoration of judiciary).

• Omer Khan said:

@ Tab’an yeah that’s ture. except the neocons/christian fascist republicans don’t take dictation from any one. Though they do see god in their visions.

• 2wise said:

BBNS International Holding Company is now known as Nawazardari, Inc. We would like to assure our shareholders that this rebranding does in no way change our corporate mission and core values. We still strive to maximize ROI(Return On investment) to our shareholders. President AZ and CEO NS being the largest shareholders of the company are committed to that goal. In fact, to display their confidence in the forward looking profit profile of the company they have instituted an aggressive stock buyback program. We are happy to announce a full pipeline of projects that includes (but is not limited to) IPP-2, Forex reabsorption, defense equipment negotiation consulting fees, Sharif mega foundry, Tax reduction for Karachi of 5% (-20% govt tax Mr. 15%), and free yellow cabs for supporters program.
    In accordance with Nawazardari, Inc policy of puting securities for business, they have put up US$1455.5 million as a collateral. This money is deposited in a small bank called SBP (Sharif Bilawal Properties) where Nawazardari Inc holds 100% shares.
    Yes, that is what it looks like. Musharraf bashers do have one thing in common with Indians-both hate Musharraf

• Traffic said:

nawaz sharif’s reference to the future PM being someone who is not wired somewhere else and whose antennas are not fixed somewhere else, i think he was pointing to amin fahim. im so glad amin fahim is not becoming the PM, he would have been another jamali, i think hes on good terms with musharraf as well. the worst case scenario right now could be a break-up of PPP with amin fahim seperating along with some “patriots”. im sure mushi’s working on it, but very unlikely lol. now mushni is trapped, he cant run away to turkey now because that would be too humiliating, and hes going to be kicked out once the judges are restored, which is even more humiliating lol.

oh and those who want an example to be made out of the generals, dont worry mushni is going to be made an example of, no doubts about that, just watch. shaheedon ka khoon zaya nahi hota, people still havent forgotten lal masjid and all his other atrocities. inshallah mushi will be humiliated and made the lowest of the low in this life and the hereafter.

• sic5770 said:

@ Taba’n Khamosh

Yes I agree that Sherry Rehman might would get the PM nomination, I have a feeling that she might would be the full time PM instead of interim PM. She is the most trust worthy person for Zardari in the party and it appears that Nawaz Sharif would not have any objection on her as well.

Honestly speaking, I would have her PM over Amin Fahim, Mehmood Qureshi or Ahmad Mukhtar.

• Optimist said:

MUSHARRAF is the most POPULAR person in India.

HAMID MIR says that Indian journalists like Mush so much that they got angry with him and he was cut off from an Indian programme because he was telling them that Mush is not popular in Pakistan.

• Optimist said:

Musharraf’s corruption

Please note these are proven cases, unlike just propaganda.

1. 60 Billion (1 Billion Dollar) worth of loans written off (minimum limit set so that ordinary people don’t benefit and only feudals benefit).

2. Steel Mills Scandal (with Shaukat Aziz) - SC report

4. Just 24 hours before leaving, Shaukat Aziz gave 90 Billion Rupees worth of ‘repairing’ contract to his favourite firms (for just two roads).

5. Exporting Wheat and creating artificial shortage.

6. Stock Market Scandal - SC report again ignored!!

7. Backing Big Corrupt Chaudhries. Their constituents were so fed up with Chaudhries’s Goonda people that they came out in record number and defeated them despite rigging.

8. BIGGEST Corruption and crime of all: Broke Constitution twice, attacked judiciary and took Power by force. All these crimes are high treason.

• nota said:

@2wise
    “Yes, that is what it looks like. Musharraf bashers do have one thing in common with Indians-both hate Musharraf”

Certainly preferable to being a Mush-Lover/Traitor! But see above post by Optimist to see who really is in bed with the Indians..:)

• ninetykman said:

@ Optimist

The enemies of Pakistan will always support a dictator because they that a democratic Pakistan will become powerfule and more successful than them.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

@Optimist: I agree that the awareness level has indeed gone through the roof, and maybe the cycle will have to move to a 20 year one, but the next time the martial law comes (if it does) it will be a doozy along the lines of South America. There they used to find the equivalents of Hamid Mir in ditches after brief disappearances.

These are all tried and tested methods which the CIA/School of the America’s trained death squad members apply quite effectively to control the voice of countries where the US feels it needs to control the narrative (for whatever stupid reason).

I know people will label me chicken little for this, but every time that ghoul Negroponte talks of “special forces training” he means Death Squad Training.

I think our troubles are foreign made. And if it means subverting a flagelling media, then at least I’m of the opinion that the Americans will have NO QUALMS WHATSOEVER in whacking a few good men (from our pov) here and there.. so you might see more sh!tbags like that douche from PTV on Aaj TV as well.. What I’m trying to say is that outsiders actively try to disrupt our system and our institutions. Massive corruption, lack of education and commandeering of our armed forces top brass are all part of the same cohesive plan of neo-colonialist control. It is like controlling the economy. They just change the interest rate.. the rest takes care of itself (or something like that) or a few macro changes in choice places.

I’m trying to stay positive but the stakes for the US are just too great in this area. Our area is going to figure heavily in the strategic struggle to stave off China and Russia and American’s are used to shooting from the hip. They WILL try to subvert our democratic process and their roots in our army are quite deep.

• ninetykman said:

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=13468

Hamid Mir reporting that AZ and NS will ask Musharraf to quit nicely but if the arrogant dictator does not listen then they will go for impeachment.

• chau said:

@2wise
    “How soon before we see them really exposing their ugly claws and teeth. And go after each other. Perhaps very soon”.
    Perhaps very soon. It reminds me of my parody rhyme I posted at a forum’s wall about 3 weeks back. May be my respected friends would like to hear it:
    Peoples Party, Peoples Party! Where have you been?
    I had been to Dubai, to bring back the ‘Queen’
    Peoples Party, Peoples Party! Did you bring her back?
    No not exactly. Her hubby holds the ‘Stack’.
    Peoples Party, Peoples Party! From here you move and how?
    It’s, of the Bhuttos, for the Bhuttos, by the Bhuttos, ‘Now’.

Zardari is sharp polo player, playing his calculated game. We all know that Makhdoom Amin has far more contribution to the party’s role in Pakistani politics then Mr. AZ, who had succeeded in making a backdoor entry. The irony is that no one is having any pain or pang for the country and nation. Everyone is out there to settle his or her scores. We lack patience and tolerance and are not prepared to forgive anyone. The nation has given a clear mandate to its politicians and now it’s their turn to prove their worth. But instead of doing something constructive and fruitful for the deprived Pakistanis, they are diverting their attention towards other side. Isn’t it the repeat telecast of the same old long play being televised on our national stage since last couple of decades?
    I am upset that why we don’t ask our leaders to stop this drama for the time being and go for reconciliation at the national level. After all they would not lose anything as all the cards are in their hands but I know that they wont think of reconciliation because then they will have to deliver the goods which unfortunately they are not capable of. Don’t believe? See their past performances.
    How beautifully and smartly Zardari has come in the limelight and pushed Makhdoom sahib, a seasoned politician in the background. These ruthless people are playing their games at the cost of the nation’s future.

• Scorpion said:

Malik Qayyum Ki Tha!

• Adonis said:

Indians hate musharraf? Really? This divine information must have descended to you directly from heavens as I have yet to meet a single indian who does not love Musharraf.

Given his extreme popularity in india and his policies of destroying Pakistan, I wonder whether he really considers himself the president of india or Pakistan !!!!

• yaqub2005 said:

I will advise MQM to become a national marty and show maturity by distancing itself from Q-League and MUSH. They should join hands with PPP lead govt and avoid a political suiside. Some MQM supporters (may be from their media cell at 90) should listen to the voice of Pakistanis and avoid a certain death policy.

MUSH is sticking to his guns due to some bad advisers and he can realy become an ugly example for all dictators to come. I think last good thing he can do to his previous instittion (Army) is to resign with dignity. Nation will gorgive him if he resigns now.

• yaqub2005 said:

MARCH 9, 2007
    &
    MARCH 9,2008

Historic events.

Congratulations to every one who supported Judicary in last one year.

Writing on wall for MUSH and his lovers. Change your plans and accept verdict of people and their representatives or you will become a bad example.

• nota said:

Cheap Bast*rd Khosa, Aitzaz in war of words
    Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) President Aitzaz Ahsan and a vast majority of lawyers wanted reinstatement of superior courts judges deposed under the Nov 3 Provisional Constitution Order (PCO) immediately through an executive order of the prime minister or interior minister or a parliamentary resolution while Khosa and some other lawyers wanted the restoration of the deposed judges through an amendment to the Constitution with a two-thirds majority.

Talking to reporters here on Sunday before the Murree Declaration, Khosa, who is also a member of the Pakistan Bar Council (PBC), criticised Aitzaz for giving a call to observe black flag week from March 9 to March 16, questioning whether he had left Islam by resorting to “black agitation” on the auspicious occasion of the birth of Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him).

On the other hand, Aitzaz responded harshly to Khosa’s comments, smashing them summarily and terming them uncalled for….

(Note: Compare Khosa’s views on restoration with Mush’s from the Ansar Abbasi article above — “the Presidency’s top aide was adamant that the victorious leaders cannot do so unless they amend the constitution by a two-thirds majority.”

So Mr Khosa who’s tune are you singing???

• nota said:

Correction: [ink above to the same story was mistyped]
    Resolution will nullify Musharraf’s ammendments

• c hussain said:

The reason why Amin Fahim fell out of favour was his very lukewarm opposition to Musharraf at every stage and also recently he said that restoration of judges was not that important as independence of judiciary. There was a strong suspiciion that he might have contacts with Musharraf plus although he is humble and polite he is not very clear in his statements and therefore such a person can be a Prime Minister who is compliant like Shaukat Aziz but not a person who can lead a party out of problems.

I believe whatever their past - but what NS and Zardari have done is - they have given our nation a new hope and Inshallah we have a bright future now if Musharraf doesnt try to derail this process by force of which the chances are very little.

For Amin Fahim he should try to see what happened that he is not considered for PM. If Zardari wants to become PM let him be - its his party decision - down the road when the elections take place again - people would give their opinion again whether it was right or wrong.

With a strong media and strong judiciary - inshallah - even if these guys try to do something which is not acceptable - they wont be able to.

Farooq Sattar has accused that NS and AZ have hijacked teh assembly - I want to know how can two parties who have overwhelming majority hijack the parliament and a menial like Altaf Hussain and his party had not be holding the parliament to ransom in the past.

• thejdofva said:

THIS IS WHAT YOU CALL

“JOOTON MEIN DAAL BAT RHI HEY”

THANK YOU SHEIKH RASHEED

• chau said:

@ c hussain on March 10th, 2008 10:35 am

You may be right that Amin Fahim fell out of favour due to his very lukewarm opposition to the government, but what we are overlooking is that he was very close to BB who would always respect him. Makhdoom sahib’s claim that he would meet Musharraf on the behest of BB sounds logical because except for the initial phase of her politics when she would come head-on against the establishment, she would always go for reconciliation and probably the time and circumstances made her mature. May be Amin Fahim considering to resolve all the issues without going into any clash with the government, thinking that the country and nation has already suffered a lot. Without having love lost for any one let’s ask ourselves that what as a nation we have gained from this all? We are still at square one with our fingers crossed hoping for a Utopian future. Isn’t it ridiculous? On the other hand please do an honest analysis about Zardari’s emergence, whose re-entry to the politics is quite suspicious. Out of nowhere waving a fake ‘Will’, he gave his chocolate boy Bilawal the name ‘Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, just to cling to the chairmanship and then quickly occupied the driving seat by pushing the lad into the background on the pretext of his studies. So now without any contribution for the party except for his so-called imprisonment during which he had a jolly good time, he has nothing to show to people. But one must appreciate him that he is making the fool of everyone. Being an insider, if I tell you that what’s cooking up, it might give you the shock of your life. When Makhdoom sahib entered the politics Zardari had just done away with his nappies, so will it be fair to be unfair?
    You are absolutely right that NS and Zardari have given our nation a new hope. After all what else they could give this trodden nation? Francis Beckon said, “Hope is a good breakfast but don’t take it at supper”. Irony is that these jugglers would always serve us ‘delicious hopes’ and that too at supper.
    As far as Farooq Sattar or the idiot Altaf Hussain are concerned, let’s not consider them the politicians. These goons in fact have themselves hijacked the political system and are playing with the fate of this country. My ancestors also migrated from UP, India after the partition and I would hate allowing these ‘Ghundas’ to represent us. It’s almost sixty years that Pakistan has been founded. How pity it is that to gain sympathies we still call ourselves ‘Muhajir’? at least I won’t like that for me. Instead of remaining alienated why don’t we become Pakistanis?
    Let’s think over it. Shayed kay teray dil maen utter jaye meri baat?

• Pakistan’s troubled democracy, Ian Talbot | G8 IQ News by Heinz Duthel said:

[...] election campaign, though they seemed to have been resolved when the coalition was sealed in the Murree declaration on 9 March. But the timetable to re-instal the judges was not met, and the historic alliance [...]