Capital Talk - 12 March 2008

Ansar Abbasi, Imtiaz Alam and Tariq Fatmi with Hamid Mir in fresh episode of Capital Talk.

32 Comments »

nice program

thanks @dmin

ansar abbasi is one of the very few journalists who spoke out against the lal masjid massacre even when the rest of the media was harping the government line about “terrorists” and “writ of govt” etc. he is a very honest and upright man, may Allah bless him. on the other hand these pseudo-intellectuals like imtiaz alam can do nothing but try to create doubts in the mind of people, they are munafiqs, who the hell told him that those who dont vote in elections dont have a right to demand the govt to do the right thing? and hamid mir in his quest to look neutral shouldnt start presenting the govts point of view, if it is based on falsehood.

I agree with traffic. I don’t see much wisdom coming from other guests. Ansaar Abbassi is honest and has valid points.

As usual Hamid meer conducted the programme elegantly. I liked the panel, each member had a national view and no one seems to have vested interests. Collective impression that one gets from different talk shows is that majority of people want Mr. Musharaf to resign and this is in his own interest.

The clash between the president and parliament seems inevitable. Let’s analyse the situation. What options President got, He could either resign (unlikely) or confront the parliament and act on day to day basis as situation evolves. He is going for the second option it is very obvious. Most dangerous thing that he can do in this battle is the use of 58-2b. The question is can he do this if needed?
    In my opinion for every order to be implemented, power is required. For example I think, Chief Justice Iftikhar would not have been restored by the full bench of Supreme Court, earlier if there was no overwhelming public support. It was because of the public pressure (thousand of hundreds of people on street) that Mr. Musharaf was forced to accept and implement the court verdict and the court got courage to give such decision
    Mr. Musharaf drew his power from Army and PML-Q; both sources of power are gone now. If Army is neutral he will not be able to exercise 58-2B.
    I would like to have your comments please …..

@ asqu

“If Army is neutral he will not be able to exercise 58-2B.”

please everyone take this idea out of your mind that the new army chief kayani is “neutral”. he is more loyal to the americans than musharraf himself. the only reason he is not supporting him outrightly is because if he starts interfering now, there will be civil war in the country and that is not in american interests for the moment. they would like to have stability as long as their interests are being fulfilled, in which case there CANNOT be stability. we as a nation have got to understand that our biggest threat and problem right now is america and its war against Islam. as long as pakistan keeps fighting americas war against Muslims, there CANNOT be stability. we have got to take a lesson from the iranians and realise our enemy, the sooner the better. im afraid there is going to be a revolution if we dont stand behind our leaders, and if they dont deliver as per the wishes of the pakistani nation. imran khan said in a talk show recently that according to a survey 93% of pakistanis are opposed to the american war against Islam (i dont know who the rest of the 7% are), i would like to ask why we are fighting a war to which more than 90% people are against and which is against our national interests. zardari better resist american pressures or he will be responsible for the disastrous consequences. i believe that if nawaz and zardari use the popular support to oust the americans from our country, the whole nation will stand behind them, and not even america can confront a united nation which stands on principles. have a look at iran, despite planning for years, they cant do anything about it,while the iranians continue to show the yanks the middle finger.

dont forget the chief justice sajjad ali shah case:

by constitiution army comes under the aid of president and on chief justice bhalf,musharaf can call army for not implementing the orders of PM

if that resolution goes through from the parliament and pm passes an executive order for restoring judges than civil administration will have to follow the orders of PM

so lets see wt army will do now,if army stays neutral in the sense that they dont act upon the request of illegal cj than the real cj is back

all eyes on kayani now,no body knows what he will do

but the first step is a resolution from parliament,lets see will they survive the pressure from american block and stay intact

Zulm Rahe Aur Aman be Ho

Hamid Mir on Habib Jalib, 1971 and War on Terror

http://jang.com.pk/jang/mar2008-daily/13-03-2008/col6.htm

8. Mir Munsif Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 2:04 am

Excellent presentation by Imtiaz Alam,quite impressive and realistic approach.Intellect and wisdom of Mr Imtiaz Alam is appreciable.He is realistic and has very practical approach on political issues.People who live in Dream world,may get against his views but its of no vien.

Mr Fatimi and Ansar Abbasi also presented well but Mr Imtiaz Alam was on top in this prg.

@ Traffic
    I absolutely agree with you on certain issues. I think this is the defining moment in our history. The politician if they could deliver what the people of Pakistan want them to deliver, would be great. As for as I know, BB was murdered because she was not following the script.
    I think for the first time the major parties are not acting as rivals which is against the interests of US. If they could sustain the pressure, no one can force them but to adopt the Pakistani agenda.
    I disagree that Kyani is pro-american. It suits them if PML-Q would have won, but the reports from media suggested that army was not involved in elections. The results could have been different.

But it is a logical guess ,I may be wrong and in few months I may change my opinion about Kyani if his behaviour is not appropriate .For the time being I want to be optimistic to avoid depression.

@optimist:

Dude! your comment reminded of this .. this is one of the more surreal renditions of jaalib’s work I’ve seen. Notice the rythm, the accompanying “dancers”, and notice the setting .. and then notice the “audience”. OMFG indeed!

http://youtube.com/watch?v=CkSmklbktk8

@TB
    nice video

ansar abbasi is one of the best journalists of pakistan.he is honest to his profession and for country.
    nice program

quite impressive Imtiaz Alam, i like his approach and knowledge on politics, on few occasions Mr. Ambassador talks like a politician but a good program.

abassi was impressing as usual. hamid mir should call barrister hamid khan and shafkat abassi.
    good link there optimist
    zukm bhi ho aur amun bhi rahay
    kiya mumkin hai, tum hi kaho

15. Omer Khan Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 8:36 am

I havn’t watched the show yet. But i’l say one ting about Mr. Abbasi. Some peple have that gravity around them: the Halo effect. There is kindness in their eyes and warmth in their voice. Journalist Ansar Abbasi comes across as one of those people. I wuld love to meet Mr. Abbasi, Hamid Mir, and others one day.

one of the gr8 conversation

Abbasi might be a nice person but frankly I always found his analysis very shallow and he always seems to be obssessed with the thought that “everything is done by america” and all his analysis is derived from anti-americanism.

which world do u live in crazyrz

haven’t you read the book in the line of fire

cant you see the role of american ambassador in pakistan and dont you read the articles of american administration about the judiciary crisis in pakistan

either you are just about to apply for green card or you live in states and in love with american culture

new book published ‘Musharraf in line of fire’

well its not a book but a reality!!

It is with much pleasure that I admire Hamid Mir for ably covering all aspects of his subject and bringing capable people to answer his questions.It is also gratifying to note that we have now in our media quite a few young very capable people such as Talat Husain, Asma Shirazi to name a few who will provide Pakistan with strong and healthy questioning. I am beginning to feel Pakistan’s future in good hands. Let us hope that our young political leadership will also continue to perform equally well.

Despite all other madness and senseless going ons, given a reasonale time of performance and opportunity these young people will I am sure take Pakistan forward and even leave India behind in democracy and economics Inshaallah.Quaid e Azam MA Jinnah had said God has provided Pakistan with unlimited resources and it is upto us to make good use of them. We have plenty of young people who are determined to make necessary changes and take the country forward.

Should Musharraf continue to misbehave, our Legal community has decided to march to his house and I hope our political coalition should also declare to join them alongwith other parties, civic society and appeal to the public to go along as well to settle this matter once for all.

@ farhan

I didnt try to negate American influence in pakistan; its has always been happening in not only in Pakistan rather all over the world. even so called powerful independent european nations can’t make any independent policies and nobody can deny that. My comments were merely Mr. Abbasi analytical journlist skills. That kind of analysis he does , even you and me can do over the cup of tea in our drawing rooms..

and for the record I dont live in US and I personally very much imperialistic capitalist agends pushed by US.

very much against…

24. Omer Khan Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Well look the US is involved deeply no question about that. Question is how come?WHo let the?
    Here’s a story of a lowly office clerk:

A guy was depressed and his friend asked him why. The guy explained that his Boss was driving him nuts and he was thinking of quiting his job because of it. The friend asked what happened. The guy explained that his Boss once asked him to get her a drink from the soda machine and took out a dollar and fifty cents to give it to him. But he being a gentleman, and the new guy said “Don’t worry about it. It’s on me.” The Boss seemed pleased, smiled and left. The next day she passed by his desk greeting him a good morning and then asking him to buy her a drink at noon and bring it to her ofice. Onl this time she never left any money. But she smiled and winked at him. On the 3rd day, she intercommed him and asked him to bring a drink with a straight non chalant voice and didn’t even say thank you. To top it off, she has been the hardest on me of al other employees.

The friend asked OMG how long has this been going on? The guy said 2 months and I am getting sick and tired> i feel violated, disrespected and slighted. The friend said why don’t you stand up to her? Why don’t you tell her politely you can’t anymore? or atleast unless she gives you the appropriate change. The guy said I think it’s too late for that. I think I’ll just quit. The friend offered to mediate, but the guy had his mind made up.

Anyways the freind went up to the Boss’ ofice and asked her why did she keep using the poor guy like that w/o any compensation? Her reply, “Because I could.”

25. Omer Khan Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 4:47 pm

I do know the US has gone astray from what it was supposed to be, and the patriots in this country are at work in addressing the issue. The problem? Public apathy.

Even so, noone on the Capitol Hill can even dream of ever bombing a city in the US or sending in helicopter gunships to kill it s own citizens. Not even imaginable. ….what to speak of any foreign coercion or military force.

An American life is not cheap.

26. Omer Khan Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Unless it is ended by an Israeli of course.

I would like to make a monetary donation to this website. Admin, please get in touch with me.

28. sleepingnation Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 6:36 pm

what an idiot hamid Mir is.. he is not even ready to listen Ansar abbasi and tariq fatami…and keep on criticizing Aitzaz ahsan… hamid mir needs to be a bit realistic

its the lawyer movement who is responsible for awakening society as well as putting pressure on PPPP to come to a point of restoration of Judiciary

i never liked hamid mirs approach.. i rate talat 1000 times intelligent and professional journalist than hamid bull..he need to learn some manners

29. for6otten_sindhi Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 8:01 pm

Book1: In front of the line of Feir
    Book number two ; In front of line of firing squad

haha goode joke! of course! it is good joke!

I think Shah Mahmood Qureshi is a very seasoned politician and perhaps the best among all the candidates to become the PM.

Imagine the PM of Pakistan and then Imagine all the candidates, I guess BB was the most suitable figure but now PPP has lost the stature.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi seems to be a nice guy.

@sleepingnation

u urself i think idiot
    hamid mir listens every person with patience and 99.99% of pakistanis like to watch his program becoz of his good talking

@ Ali Rizvi on March 13th, 2008 10:55 pm

Just a difference of opinion.
    I think SMQ is the least qualified to become PM.

I have listened to him in a few programmes after elections. Whereas all other leaders are talking about greater issues, his approach remained to that of a nazim level. He mainly focused at

Praising BB
    Letting down PML(N) and
    Boasting PPP’s role in last few years (occasionally rightly, mostly wrongly).

Despite all my reservations (and may be some disliking as well for Mr 10%), I think AZ is a better choice for PM because

He is ACTUAL leader of PPP
    He’ll be responsible for PPP Govt’s performance, so he must have authority as well
    He is a strong person.