Discuss: Next Moves?

- First session of Parliament will commence on 17th March 2008
- The main political parties have agreed to restore the Judiciary within 30 days
- Musharraf has declared that Judiciary cannot be restored with a Parliament Resolution
- Musharraf has threatened that confrontation between Parliament and Presidency would be deadly
- The lawyers have vowed to launch a more aggressive campaign and continue the boycott of courts

- How do you see the Political and Judicial confrontation for next few weeks?

- Would it be possible for new Government to keep Judges and AQ Khan under arrest?

- Do you believe newly elected members will humiliate Musharraf during oath taking ceremony?

143 Comments »

its difficult to say how…but one thing is for sure…That Head Qutta Mush will go

Mush will be the biggest casualty of all this no matter how aggressive he pretends to be …he is weak and powerless

No matter what we HAVE to solve this issue. If it turns out to be some kind of a compromise on the judiciary issue then I am afraid it will only be in favour of Mush, wannabe dictators, the Yankees and other ill wishers.

- Would it be possible for new Government to keep Judges and AQ Khan under arrest?

NO, the should ALL be released unconditionally. Enough is enough!

- Do you believe newly elected members will verbally humiliate Musharraf during oath taking ceremony?

I think there is every possibility of this happening. It has already been done in several speeches by IK (he will not have the “honour” to verbally humiliate the dictator at this ceremony). NS has done it (He couldn’t “remember” his name in the joint press conference at Murree). Khawaja Asif has done it on TB ( Hard Talk prg.). Normally I would not support the idea of humiliating anyone, but when it comes to people who humiliate Pakistan, then I have no qualms.

- Political/judicial confrontation could be quite dangerous/deadly. NS/AZ and ANP need to stand firm on their pledge and set aside any internal differences to ensure victory for Justice. Other parties like Lawyers, JI and Civil Society need to stand by the elected govt to ensure they deliver on their promise.

- No way any govt will/can keep judges under arrest anymore

-newly elected members MUST verbally humiliate Musharraf during oath taking ceremony. after all he has humiliated the whole nation!

i m seeing a severe political and judicial conforntation in coming weeks involving real political parties like( ppp,pml,anp ) and mush along with his dogs(pml q ,mqm) and i think the victors will b the real political parties

as far as the issue of verbal abuse of mush is concerned it is nothing as compared to sufferings he has given to the people of Pakistan in last 8 years.
    infact i will suggest some mna`s to even throw shoes at him and applause him with punjabi gaaliyaan

Answer 1: I can only see confrontation during next few weeks. Only a stable elected government can get things in order.

Answer 2: Things will get ugly because Mush may do something silly to keep the status quo. Although he is an ultimate loser, there will be some issues.

Answer 3: President will be humiliated to some extent. I think NS ministers will add ‘Illegal’ president and Real 1973 constitution. BUT they should not disclose this before Oath taking ceremony. Mush is so paranoid that he didn’t even address the parliament for 4 years.

6. bechari-awam Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 3:32 pm

I guess it will be quite a smooth sailing for democratic forces. Once govt is sworn-in all administrative tools will be in their hands and mushi will be sitting in his army house like a frightened man, not able to come out because his security apparatus will be busy buttering new PM.

Once judiacry is restored, no one will be able to stop CJ Chaudhary to go to SC and occupy his seat because police and all city administration will now be under PM and mushi will not even have his house keeping done without the blessing of PM.

Guys, we should understand that mushi can bark as much as he wants, but his food will only come through Ishaq Dar blessings which I am hoping will cut down presidency expenses by 90% in new budget.

no matter what we are heading towards a very interesting times and we should be lucky to see the establishment itself digging its grave deeper and deeper by the day.

7. bechari-awam Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 3:34 pm

I guess it will be quite a smooth sailing for democratic forces. Once govt is sworn-in all administrative tools will be in their hands and mushi will be sitting in his army house like a frightened man, not able to come out because his security apparatus will be busy buttering new PM.

Once judiciary is restored, no one will be able to stop CJ Chaudhary to go to SC and occupy his seat because police and all city administration will now be under PM and mushi will not even have his house keeping done without the blessing of PM.

Guys, we should understand that mushi can b@rk as much as he wants, but his food will only come through Ishaq Dar blessings which I am hoping will cut down presidency expenses by 90% in new budget.

no matter what, we are heading towards very interesting times and we should be feeling lucky to see the establishment itself digging its grave deeper and deeper by the day.

The answer to all the above questions is simple, it all depend upon the people of Pakistan. If they are not going to come to the streets on mass level, these party members cannot change the system. It is only the pressure of people who can force the army and US to change their stratagy in our reigon. The last thing US want to see in our country is a revolution by the people and the moment they going to see people on streets, they will force Musharaf to leave and make a change in the system ( LIKE A BAND AID!!).

i am clearly watching Musharaf has no future . inshalah he will be no more with in 2 or 3 months INSHALLAH . i hate mushraf

10. ahakimnaz Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 4:05 pm

Musharraf is the main problem and I think within a few days of meeting the entire Parliament together with whole of our legal community, the civic society and a few thousand public should walk to his residence and demand his resignation, keep the “ghairao” until he submits. And may be when he comes to the Parliament for “oath ceremony” they should arrest him, tie him up with something until he gives in to the will of the people and let the whole world watch this show of our peoples resolve.

I think Musharaf dosen’t have any choice left but to follow the new Govt or resign. He can only stay if Makhdoom Ameen Faheem would have been nominated as PM PPP but his chances are almost nill now.

Now the thing is that Makhdoom saab is the president of PPPP, so it is quite definite that president office will ask him to make the Govt on 17th. So PPP should annouce their PM, Speaker and other important posts ASAP so that there shouldn’t be any doubt left for the spin doctors of the president office.

12. Omer Khan Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 4:21 pm

hahahahha @

“Musharraf has declared that Judiciary cannot be restored with a Parliament Resolution
    - Musharraf has threatened that confrontation between Parliament and Presidency would be deadly”

Mr. one call troll is on an ego trip here. One wonders what he meant by “deadly” though? If that indeed is the word he used. Perhaps the parliament could then request the Waziris to lay siege tot he presidential house.

eh?

Ja kay panday tou mushraf
    Go musharaf Go musharaf

it all depends on how well our political leaders can handle pressure from the Great Satan(for those who dont know im talking about USA). if any compromises are made on an independent judiciary, the whole mess is going to explode in the faces of the new coalition. the political parties should not forget the level of resentment pakistanis have against musharraf and his war of terror, if they keep that in mind, all is going to turn out fine inshallah. the dictator will play his last moves, but he is about as helpless now as the lal masjid children that he killed, but only if the politicians stay united and firm in their resolve of restoring judciary, removing musharraf and ending military operations in the country. if they do all this, pakistan will be on the track to recovery, otherwise we are in for a revolution. and its going to be bloody. may Allah give guidance to the political leaders.

There might be a confrontation between duely elected government by the people, from the people and for the people with total authority and one D’efacto, illegitimate and self proclaimed president, who is powerless and bluffer. Of course the newly and duely elected govrnment will be the winner. It is wrong to detain judges and other individual against their will. We need independent judiciary and not the one constituted by Mush, Qayum and Pirzada. No one in Media has a courage to expose these two stooges, who are the mastermind behind this entire judicial crises. They are the legal advisor to Mush and they, both, had played a pivital rule in thdestroying our constitution.Pirzada and Qayum are the main culprit along with Mush for the current crises in Pakistan. They are trying their best to keep Mush in Power to save their asses. They are the most crooked law man that I have seen my life. They have to do a lot of explaination for their crimes.
    If Mush refuse to leave then we must remove capture him

16. Omer Khan Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 4:48 pm

Busharaf gives an ENTIRELY NEW DIMENSION TO the adage: “Just F*****in QUIT while you’re ahead, or rather have a modicum of sanity left in you.”

If Mush refuse to leave then we must remove him by force. He must not be provided a safe passage. That will be wrong and unacceptable. This will send out a wrong message to the world. It’s time to tell the world that we are the nation of laws and we certainly believe in accountability.

Having said that, I would like to caution you regarding zardaris stance with NS. I only hope to Almighty Allah that these two leaders stand firm in their determinations to undo all the wrong steps of Mush and his administeration. History is being written right at this moment of my writing. Let’s stay united and work together for peaceful and prosperous Pakistan. We need to be proud ourself.

REMEMBER; PAKISTAN IS A NUCLEAR NATION OF 165 MILLION PEACEFUL LOVING PAKISTANIS

i agree with qabil50 ‘ No one in Media has a courage to expose the two stooges Qayum and Pirzada’ from now on referred to as Monkey1 and Monkey2

The 2 monkeys have made a joke out of our constitution and of the people of pakistan. its time that such puppets are brought to justice

Donkey 1 Mush
    Monkey 1 Qayyum
    Monkey 2 Pirzada

I am a bit apprehensive about how this entire 30 day deadline works out. the CJs stance is that he is the legal CJ and would resume office as soon as his illegal detention is ended. I assume that would be as soon as the cabinet swears in. CJ ought to (as per his principled decision) make a beeline for the SC. That is where this thing plays out. What will the state apparatus do? I would think the course would be for the coalition to immediately appoint an assertive minister of interior and make significant changes in the top cadre of the police and rangers. I think the AG is a presidential appointment (too bad). It is imperative that the order coming out of the SC should be Chaudhry Iftikhar’s and not Dogar’s. They can then reinforce it by a parliamentary resolution. The problem cases are when Dogar either in response to a Musharraf petition or in preemption of the CJs actions, exercises judicial review against the resolution.

I suggest the following should be done in the following order:

- Disarm Musharraf by arresting Qayyum and Peerzda and initially keep them in detention for same period as other lawyers like Aitzaz were kept.

- Abolish PEMRA ordinance

- On physical presence of Musharraf in Assembly, everyone should repeat the same kind of slogans that lawyers do all the time on street (Balkay meray jaisa ho to woh aik do tika bhee deyh) and live coverage should be shown on all TV channels.

- Abolish 58-2B and nullify the constitutional changes done by Musharraf on 3rd Nov 07.

- Release all judges, lawyers, political prisoners specially nationalists, and elected members should bring the judges back to court themselves with honor and protocol.

- Musharraf should be disarmed of his (un)constitutional powers and humiliated on every Talk Show on TV every single day by senior Ministers of PPP and PMLN.

- While keeping Musharraf in President house, his corruption scandals and personal wealth should be fully investigated and progress should briefed daily on TV channels.

- When enough humiliation is done, he should be arrested and tried by Supreme Court for his corruption and his crimes against humanity. If not article 6, then he should be at least charged for illegal detention of Judges and kidnapping of PM for which he should serve life imprisonment.

Musharraf and MQM. Both are working for Urdu Desh. Urdu Desh comprises of Karachi, Guwader, Pasni plus grabing coastal areas of Pakistan as much as possible. If threatenend, Musharraf will dissolve assemblies and announce elections again after six months. If Kiyani tries to intervene, MQM rioters will kick in. Direct confrontation with MQM’s rioters will culminate in making of Urdu Desh. EU and US would be the first one to recognize it. Only people of Karachi can stop it. I hope they have enough courage to resisit MQM, but it looks very unlikely because they are with MQM enmass.

Do use the power of vote as the people did, so instead of humiliating him, just vote him out.
    Change the old style of personal hateredness at national level.
    Period.

24. bechari-awam Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 6:37 pm

@Imtiaz
    “Musharraf and MQM. Both are working for Urdu Desh…..”

being an Urdu-speaking person, I want to be the first one who p!sses on Urdu Desh

@Imtiaz and bechari-awam: Actually I like Urdu-Desh better than jinnah-pur .. but for me all of Pakistan is Urdu Desh. If anyone wants urdu-desh they’re gonna have to fight for it.

@ Imtiaz , U want to say that only Punjab should get all the shares, Pakistan comprises of all the provincess and very sorry to know abt ur views, that’s why i keep on talking abt provincial autonomy and rights for all the provincess so no province can blame other, as far as development in KHI and Gawadar is concerned i think it’s in the best interest of Pakistan,, atleast they are not making their own property, and if you hate so much abt the development work in KHI the stop taking taxes from KHI, I don’t want to go into discussion as I am focused on united Pakistan but it’s a fact KHI gives more than 60%.

@nam: I appreciate your willingness to act like the rest of Pakistani’s and work for a “united” country. We should probably fed-ex you cookies for doing us such a big favor.

Btw, do you have any statistics or reports to back up your claim of 60% which is somehow less than the 70% claimed by Altaf “bhai” ?? I just cannot imagine Altaf saying anything wrong or misleading.

28. bechari-awam Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 6:55 pm

@nam
    “…I don’t want to go into discussion as I am focused on united Pakistan but it’s a fact KHI gives more than 60%.”

same old BS, lets see from where KHi gets it water, or 40% of its power, or 100% of its food items and list goes on and on!!

even a first year commerce student knows that because all the major financial institutions have their HQ at KHI, so they have to accounce their revenues from there, it doesn’t mean that they generated their revenues from KHI. Also, KHI being the only major port, all the inland shipments arrive there without which KHI will not be able to even feed itself on its own.

29. thehustler Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 7:10 pm

You guys are going about this the wrong way - if someone says we get 60% of our revenue from Karachi, it does not mean that you start disparaging karachi and say that it will not be able to feed itself.

It does not even matter if the number is 60 or 70 or 10. We should disagree with this argument on principle. Let me put it to you guys this way - if someone is able to prove the 70% figure, will it change your viewpoint?

My second point is that these statistics are also being used to rile up (some of ) the people of Karachi who are pissed by the fact that their electricity has been cut off.

30. thehustler Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 7:13 pm

—————————————–

This will come down to one side saying an executive order is enough, the other insiting on 2/3rd majority. I don’t know how this will be resolved? Let’s say the govt. passes a simple majority resolution - how will they enforce the reinstatement?

- Do you believe newly elected members will humiliate Musharraf during oath taking ceremony?
    ——————————————

No - this will not happen. If it was only Nawaz league then there would have been a chance but the PPP has been treading very carefully so they will keep things civil.

Recognise Munafiq

Imtiaz is MQM supporter (he has been an open supporter) and now he is acting as Munafiq.

In a way, he is propogating Urdu Desh idea (and his hopes that USA etc will recognise it).

@Optimist: There is already an “Urdu-Desh” and that is in Bihar and UP. If anyone wants it, they can get back the frikk on a plane and go the frikk back. This guy did sound like he was trolling but they need to realize there ain’t gonna be any desh! if they want it, they’ll have to fight and die for it.

Well Mush will try to fight out judiciary issue.
    According Ansar Abbasi today in THE NEWS, USA is putting pressure on Zardar to backout of judiciary issue. US is not happy with Mureee Dect.

I think:

1) Mush will fight till end - remember he’s a commando
    2) He’ll prolong the issue by taking stay order against judges

All depends on Atizaz Ahsan and Kiyani’s mood. I don’t trust N wallas on judiciary.

I wish if MQM leadership dumps Mush’s agenda.
    If Altaf Hussain can see beyond Mush and say yes for Pre-Nov 3rd judiciary then I can see him bounce back national political scene.

They have hurt themselves badly on May 12th and now for taking anti-judiciary role.

35. imalik5525 Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 8:07 pm

a lot has been expected from the new assembly.

dont jump the guns and give them time….they are still under the threats of various establishment tools..

its going to be test of nerves

36. imalik5525 Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 8:20 pm

They say that plan for the worst and hope for the best..
    i have a question to all the forum members

QUESTION: What should be pml-n’s plan b IF pppp back stab them or for some reason giveup under establishment pressure and start towing mush’s line…….
    shld they resign from ministries and jion oppostion?
    or shld they keep on mounting pressure for judiciary etc.

37. ninetykman Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 8:21 pm

Musharraf is an isolated man. He wont be able to delay the mandate of the people.

The best option for the parliament is to slowly take away his powers and that way he wont be able to bite.

He has become a mad dog.

Personally, I am not satisfied with the prospect of forgiving main culprits, which I suppose most just loving people won’t be, BUT it is nothing which can be totally refused in a greater national interest. My willingness to a pardon has roots in the future dangers for Pakistan. If we don’t get rid of Musharraf asap and restore the judiciary, then Pakistan will be in a GREAT danger regarding it’s existence. We have the Yankees at our western borders and the ever hostile Indians at our eastern borders. I know the Indians a playing the nice guys nowadays, but it is also evident that they have their hands full regarding dirty tricks against Pakistan via Afghanistan. On top of this we have two munafiqeen parties within Pakistan. PML-Q and especially MQM are acting as fifth column/Trojan horses. Maybe MQM has gone even further with their anti Pakistan policies (read terrorist activities). Al this is being done by the Yankees involvement as the anchors. They are pulling the wires to succeed in their ultimate goal to totally destabilize Pakistan. They are waiting for a Pakistan in chaos, so they can target our nuclear assets. This is the threat I am most worried about at the moment. Unfortunately for Pakistan there are several other threats which are linked to the Yankees. A free and independent judiciary will investigate the missing person abducted by the military and handed over to the Yankees. Musharraf is also a part of the problem. Why are the Yankees supporting him so vigorously? To fulfil their ugly designs against Pakistan!

I think the Yankees were originally focusing on dealing with Iran first (and then Pakistan), but since the Iranian people has been a tough opponent i.e the Yankees has not been able to penetrate the Iranian peoples armour. Therefore they have shifted their focus a volatile Pakistan with a traitor on the top post.

If a pardon can get Pakistan on the right track, then so be it, but that also requires guarantees, so that AZ doesn’t play a double game. If he is allowed to lure the nation to forgive him without having the benefits then all the participants and Pakistan will be fooled. We cannot afford that since this issue is about Pakistan’s existence!

39. imalik5525 Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 8:51 pm

If Judiciary is not established and troops are not brought back from waziristan and swat,,then suicide bombing will continue as well..
    as far as economy is concerned it can’t be improved overnight …and gov will loose its credibility

so in order to get people’s approval the parliament can’t revert back from judiciary restoration and /or waziristan issue policy change…..they dont have any other option due to media ,civil society and dhamaka group’s hyper activism..

40. imalik5525 Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 8:53 pm

parliament have to stick to judiciary …they dont have any other option but to be at logger’s head……they know how media,lawyers etc will punish them if they try to evade
    so i dont see how mush will survive………he can’t use 58 2 (b) if he does he will be forcefully kicked out

41. imalik5525 Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 8:59 pm

just a vague thought…….WHAT IF IFTIKHAR CH IS REINSTATED AND HIS COURT GIVES DECISION IN FAVOUR OF MUSH’S PRESIDENCY???

42. bechari-awam Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 9:01 pm

Anybody has an idea if a newly elected speaker could halt the termination of on-going NA session although there is an presidential order to terminate it indefinitely. The reason I am asking is that mushi will try to have as much time as possible (and obviously digging his grave deeper) to hang the NA in limbo without having a leader of the house (PM) by not calling the session again after speaker and deputy speakers have been elected.

I guess all democratic forces in the house should prepare for the confrontation from the very first day and not allowing session to prorogue until PM is elected.

musharraf will cling on to his seat till his death. we will never vote for the political party that does not impeach/hang musharraf. a constitutional amendment should be passed that whoever suspends constitution in future shall be killed and the deposed govt shall be reposed immediately. something has to be done. even now, pk is difficult to save. foreign agencies are bombing the country and the senseless hypocrites think they are lcoal extremists. who is extremist: one who practices his faith or one who supports mqm and order innocent citizens to be bled killed on streets. who is extremist: is it the innocent child who dies in ambulance or is the the cold blooded murderer who gets roads blocked for everyone.

@nam
    “…I don’t want to go into discussion as I am focused on united Pakistan but it’s a fact KHI gives more than 60%.”

nam dear, it may very well be 60% or even 70%. Karachi has been the only major port for Pakistani exports and imports until now. Yes the solution is to separate the port revenues from the revenues collected from the business activities. As a matter of fact, let each district of Pakistan have, a portion agreed upon, its taxes generated from their business activities be utilized within that district. But the natural assets must be owned by the provincces they belong to. Sui natural gas should be owned by Baluchistan and Karachi port revenues should go to Sindh government. But what MQM is doing, is threatening the rest of Pakistan of secession, if their demands are not met. Unfortunately their demands are not realistic. Their demands are to have exclusive control over the country’s resources, may it be jobs or business or even cultural shows. Sad part is that they use arm twisting tactics. They did that in East Pakistan as well and on that account, rest of the Pakistan was disgraced and we suffered a haunting humiliation as a nation.

And don’t forget 15% sales tax EVERY Pakistani pays on every item (even Tea bags) and provinces with more population pay more (more people consume more stuff!!)

London pays 65% of UK’s so called revenue and Bombay pays roughly 60% of India. Every country makes ONE hub of economic activity to create ease of logistics and transportation. The whole country consumes items produced in that city and pays in that way.

This also means that the whole country (and foreign) invests (money as well as human resources) in that city too, not just take their revenue.

46. comment-top comment-bottom
  47. Hameed Chaudhry Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 10:24 pm

Your all three questions are very important to be answered by the serious minded visiters of your most interesting site pkpolitics.

I should start from beginning, in my opinion any government servant either from civilian beaurocracy or from arm forces get involved to destabalise elected Prime Minister of Pakistan or advice in any capacity to assist and impose any un-constituted orders and ordinances which is not his or her job to do for which he or she is trained and paid by government of Pakistan from years and years should be accountable.

General (Retd.) Pervez Musharraf is a traitor easy to say “Ghadaar”, he was COAS which is equal to BPS-22 works under the Minister of Defence and Secretary of Defence. In 1999 he violated the most important oath of army officer for which he was get paid and provided the facilities of more or less ten lakh rupees per month cover his sallary, accomodation, medical and dental, medecines, utility bills, several servants available round the clock, cook, drycleaning service, luxury four star cars with drivers always filled with gas for un-limited usage, free travelling with family and provided rest houses all over country resorts with all facilities.

The Chief of Army Staff is always bound to work under Prime Minister of Pakistan who is Head of Government and President of Pakistan who is Head of State. It is also important for him to respect the elected members of parliements who are the representatives of the 160 million People of Pakistan, it is clearly advised in Constitution of Pakistan.

Prime Minister was not comfertable to keep him COAS and he was worried that Pervez Musharraf is not trust worthy after he come to know that, he is trying to remove him ……. he taken inneciative in the absence of COAS while he was on foreign tour. The action of the Prime Minister was not even appropriate but COAS has no right to remove elected representatives with the help and power of army as a institute.

If Pervez Musharraf, think that he has the legal right to exercise his power against Chief Executive of Pakistan, we really want to know how.

How do you see the Political and Judicial confrontation for next few weeks ?

Pervez Musharraf being a regular government servant and in uniform was not eligible to contest the election for President of Pakistan. The operations he was running illegally in Pakistan on the request of foreign countries and handing over innocent people and receive billions of dollars to run his government in 8-9 years when the references were taken care by the Chief Justice Supreme Court Mr. Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry was removed illegally with other judges. In the begening PTI and JI was in favour but now PML(N), PPP and ANP is backing up for restoration of judiciary. I hope every thing will be fine well before 30 days from oath taking with no confrontation politically only Aiwan-e-Sadr will put last effort through Sharif-Uddin Pirzada, Malik Abdul Qayyum, Ahmed Raza Kasuri, Senator Saif and Khalid Ranjah …. to bring some confusions for Asif Ali Zardari, Makhdoom Amin Fahim and Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif but it will be defuse by electronic media.

Would it be possible for new Government to keep Judges and A Q Khan under arrest ?

Simple answer is ………. NO

I hope the moment, when members of the parliament compete their oath ceromony …….. government machinary in Islamabad will also change the strategy for coming new federal government. They start moving the way the new government wants ……….. providing all kind of facilities to Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan and all honourable Judges.

Do you believe newly elected members will humiliate Musharraf during oath taking ceremony ?

I am sure ……….. YES

I think, he really deserve much more than that. He should be thrown out from Aiwan-e-Sadr by force to Adyala Jail and face criminal charges.

Pakistan Zindabad ……………………. Musharraf Murdabad.

48. Other Pakistan Says:
    March 12th, 2008 at 10:40 pm

PK Politics Friends,

It is important to state again that all of this new renewed hope is a direct result of the sacrifices of the lawyers movement. I am confident we shall prevail and the judges will be restored and this will usher in a new dawn for a new Pakistan. My post saluting the lawyers is worth a read:

http://www.otherpakistan.org/saluting-the-lawyers-movement.html

Feimanallah Pakistan

Wasim
    http://www.otherpakistan.org/archive.html

49. londoner007 Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 12:59 am

when pmlq was in gov. even then mush had no legs to stand on and address the NA because he knew it will be to much for him to take. i am sure now when javed hashmi, sad rafique, ch nisar etc are in better possition they will make sure to not miss this chance to humiliate this begarat mush.

50. londoner007 Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 1:15 am

@aahmad

sorry but i don’t wish him(altaf kala) to political scene because he is not made for politics he is made gunda.

and why will he dump mush. if he does he will be dumped too because he need power on his back to protect him from police, army and especially from justice because he commited so many crimes. and he will and can be punished if he do not have mush support .

i hope u r agree what im agree with

The biggest enemy of urdu speaking people or I should say the patriotic people of Pakistan is Altaf and his gundas. This time I would like to see an operation cleanup in which only the sector in charges and up go to prison and justice should be done and leave alone rest of the workers as they would be leaving MQM soon.
    Long Live Pakistan
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/03/080312_mqm_attack_sen.shtml

52. omarali50 Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 3:45 am

1. Judges will have to be set free. Parliament will meet smoothly…if Musharraf Musharraf has been kept on a leash. That will not be easy. There may be no smooth exit.
    2. he will leave some giant timebombs behind him. The biggest is not Waziristan (though its big). The biggest is karachi. MQM can (theoretically) become a “normal” political party, but that miracle is not very likely. More likely, they will try to keep their monopoly on violence in Karachi and there is just no way all the non-MQM actors can allow them to do so. Conflict is almost inevitable and will not be pleasant.
    3. Terrorists (there probably ARE some real terrorists too, not just ISI hired hands) will keep fighting. Some bombings and other atrocities will still take place, though if Mush is gone and Kiyani is cooperating with the incoming politicians, some improvement in the situation is likely. On the other hand, things can even get worse. Imagine Rehman Malik in charge of internal security…

53. comment-top

“What will happen next”

1-Musharraf wil not be removed.. he has been a man of his word held fair elections, let the looters back in the country accepted the result of the election. so he has kept his end of the deal. so now Zardari has to keep his part.

2- Zardari will keep his part or should i say he has to. if he wants USA still to fund his govt.. whiich if they dont they will not have anything to loot.

3-War on terror will continue in some shape or form.

the only nuisance will be PMLN they will try to break up PPP one way or the other. and than confront the president so that he dissolves the assmebly and elections are held again…

we need to stop him from carrying out his devious plan to become ameer-ul-momneen.

54. khurramali Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 7:11 am

finally great news & I sincerely hope that it is true. “The news” website is reporting the following story.

“Updated at: 1145 PST, Thursday, March 13, 2008
    ISLAMABAD: Awan-e-Saddar has agreed with Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League (N) over their stand of reinstatement of the deposed judges, the sources said.

As per the new development, the troika agreement, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Chaudhry Muhammad Iftikar and other deposed judges of the Supreme Court and High Court will be reinstated.

In return, the PPP and PML-N will support President Musharraf will continue as president for one year and after that he will quit the highest office of the country, the sources claimed.”

This should remove all uncertainty that is weakening this nation at its core.

55. comment-top comment-bottom
  56. comment-top

Another side of the issue reported by Ansar Abbasi

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=13533

57. silencemove Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 8:29 am

MQM once more exposed in Karachi
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/03/080312_mqm_attack_sen.shtml

once more shame

58. Omer Khan Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 8:54 am

whew!

59. yaqub2005 Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 9:07 am

1-Public pressure is the biggest weapon with the parliment. I am sure Army will not come to save MUSH when he himself wants to go for suiside. Why should ARMY save a person who continues to humiliate this institution single handedly.

“MUSH is a SUISIDE BOMBER”

so he can blow himself to destroy the parliment. Parliment needs to tackle him very cleverly. First steo is to run a public awareness against MUSH portraying him as a suiside bonber.

Lawers and public can mount pressure on Supreme Court (Dogar Court) by show of strength. MQM and other political parties can be taken on board through hidden contacts in senate and NA. Public can also go for long march to Army house (MUSH house) to increase the pressure. Army can ask MUSH to vacate Army house for Army’s prestige.

In the meanwhile, the judiciary restoration resolution is passed. MUSH will challege it in Dogar court. lawers and people can be called to give the Dogar cour some taste of public pressure. Dogar should not be allowed to hold this hearing. In the meanwhilethe PM should issue an order to reinstate 2 Nov judges. At this time police and other agencies are in full control of PM and they are no more power to hold back public pressure on Dogar court and president house. At this time MUSH should be asked to resign. If he doesn’t then the CJ Iftikhar can hold a hearing at his residence alng other judges against 3rd Nov steps of MUSH and sack Dogar and MUSH. If MUSH still does not listen then people can be left free to decide their fate at their will.

2- Parliment memebrs should not humiliate MUSH in oath taking ceremony. They can do it easily outside the parliment. MUSH can banned on govt and private medai. Geo, AAJ and ARY etc can use their common sense. When MUSH is no more getting the media coverage then he will be down. He is a media hungry man.

3- AQ khan and judges should be given their well deserved place and dignity. No one can keep them in custody any more.

60. silencemove Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 9:25 am

Guys come-on lets act something from our own part and resources to say all the west media and parliaments member about the true real face of MQM dread Politics moves KARACHI recently they insult, threaten and killed two MQM haqiqi personals

They insult many press reporters , flattened and killed two MQM Haqiqi members in Karachi yesterday .. Comon all lets do our part and inform all about the hideous politics of Karachi Gunda Party

61. comment-top

@imtiaz: your words just show the inners of you and your leader Altaf Hussain. Karachi ppl have nothing to do woth your ideas and views. anyone who has theories other than pakistan is considered a traitor in whole of the Pakistan.

62. comment-top

Geo is reporting on its website and also Jang is reporting that Aiwan Sadr has agreed to reinstate the judges of Supreme Court and High Court and in return want that Musharraf should be allowed to remain President for one year.

Can anyone comment on that please.

63. ninetykman Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 10:07 am

@ c hussain

Yes I saw this too.

Well I hope its true. He must be made a lame duck president before he is allowed to stay. No 58-2B.

64. comment-top

@c hussain on March 13th, 2008 9:59 am
    “Musharraf should be allowed to remain President for one year.
    Can anyone comment on that please”

When did “Go Mush Go” become “Stay, just a little bit longer”? If true, all this means is PPP and PML(N) are accepting a traitor as president, giving him an NRO, leaving him and his buddies free to sabotage the next govt. This means nothing will change with the new parliament. War on Terror will go on, number of “Missing” will continue to rise, Army will keep killing more of its citizens, economy will get worst sooner than later.

65. ninetykman Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 10:14 am

@ c hussain

GEO has removed the news. Its too good to be true. The dictator will not go easily.

Remember he is a commando. He has to be impeached and kicked out.

This is the only he lingo he understands.

66. comment-top

@ninetykman
    It’s still there
    http://www.geo.tv/home/15185.htm

67. comment-top

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=40179

It is still there on The News International

68. comment-top

I believe PPP and PMLN and lawyers are on the right path - first step is to reinstate the judiciary and after that they can move forward and plan to impeach him.

I think he clearly understands now that he cannot use 52B on this parliament because he would be kicked out and may even be tried.

So lets put more pressure on him until he gives up

Imran Khan and Achakzai and Aitzaz Ahsan should stand in by elections and both parties should support their re-election. Sorry I missed the name of Qazi Hussain Ahmed. He should also be re-elected. That would make teh assembly more safer and Musharraf wouldnt dare to dissolve it.

69. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 11:49 am

Well I agree with Ansar Abbasi article. Restoration of judiciary is an important issue and reinstatement of Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry is one of the most important issue. But following the conspiracies made recently by Presidency, impeachment of the president should be the prime agenda.
    M U S H A R R A F ‘ s T A C T I C S
    His law cronies are now saying that there is no time limit for calling the national assembly session for the election of prime minister. And no move can be initiated in the first session of NA apart from oath taking and selection of Speaker and Deputy Speaker.
    Presidnecy intends to gain as much time as possible with these delaying tactics and in parallel they will try to break the majority of opposition against him.
    ZARDARI’s INTENTION
    Zardari has somhow been able to make the most of the situation. He has taken the charge from Amin Fahim. If you can observe apart from the meeting just after the elections, Amin Fahim has never been called. Hamid Mir was saying yesterday after the Asif-Amin interaction that if Amin Fahim had not been invited in the declaration and other meetings, so weren’t Shah Mehmood Qureshi and Ahmad Mukhtar. But today we saw Ahmed Mukhtar in the party meeting but no traces of Amin Fahim.
    QUESTION to PPP Supporters
    Don’t you think your party has been hijacked by Zardari? He has cleverly created a confusion in the party by naming so many candidates for premiership whereas Bhutto would have always preferred Amin Fahim over anybody. He has been attending all the meetings as the only party represnetative.
    Don’t you think Zarari created all this scenario to himself become the Prime Minister? Whenever they will have voting for the premiership in the party people would be distributed. No one would have clear majority and so for ‘THE UNITY OF THE PARTY’ and in ‘THE INTEREST OF PAKISTAN’, he will have to take the ‘BURDEN’ himself.

70. comment-top

i have mixed feelings on this news

on a positive note if judges are restored (assuming Mush is allowed to stay for a year under a deal) there is no one stopping independent judiciary to invalidate his election. This option may be politically correct to avoid confrontation. But knowing Mush he will try and bring some condition to ensure he stays for a year, which he may be succefull with or more likely not as since last 1 year ‘Commando Jackal’ has been loosing on every front!

But if Mush is allowed to stay that means we will be accepting illegal President and going back on principals for which lawyers, civil society and politicians have sacrificed so much

whatever happens may we be able to live in a peacful and prosperous manner

71. comment-top

58-2B must be removed at all costs.

However the timing of removing this must be a surprise move by the parliment and that too in the early weeks.

First step is to get hold of security agencies like Islamabad Police and FIA and leave the fate of Dogar and associates with the lawers and people. Then minimise the million dollar security appointed for MUSH. Remember what he did to BB when he did not provide sufficient security. He does not deserve a high profile costly security. He will be forced to leave Pakistan after realizing that some suiside bomber will get him (himself being suiside bomber).

MUSH has no right to go against the will of people and parliment.

72. comment-top

Tanweer Amjad

respect your views but this is no time to raise issues on next PM. As all parties including NS has assured its PPP’s right to elect whoever.

raising such issues at this stage means we will deviate yet again from core issue of restoration of judges and getting rid of Mush and will weaken the democratic system started after 8/9 years of interruption

73. comment-top

Musharaf might be buying a time, he knows in one year, he could create a rift among the PPP and PMLN or create bogus scandals to dissolve the assemblies or more bombings to impose another emergency plus or have one of the leader of PPP or PMLN killed to turn the game in their favor.

One year is plenty of time for Musharaf, he could play his game in one hour!!

74. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 12:15 pm

@Malek

Point taken.

Request to @dmin for eliminating the last two paragraphs

75. comment-top

# Duffer on March 13th, 2008 9:31 am

“……. anyone who has theories other than pakistan is considered a traitor in whole of the Pakistan.”

Dear Duffer, you are absolutely right there. Trust people. They are the best defense for Pakistan. Thank you.

76. comment-top

There is one more comittee that PPP and PML-N need to make, and they better pray to God that the citizens of this country don’t start making these “comittees”

A committee should be formed which shall compile a list of all those bureaucrats, civilians and military officers who are instrumental in impeding the formation of the new government and the creation of hurdles through delaying tactics in this grave and critical period in Pakistan history.

These people must be identified, prosecuted and punished. They must all be fired from their jobs. This is the least punishment they should get for their treachery to the Republic of Pakistan.

77. comment-top

NEXT MOVES?

a guy goes to the parliament on 17 March in a suit……
    sometime later people of pakistan witnessing on all TV channels including PTV a naked guy running out of the parliament building……….
    no bus/taxi driver ready to take the naked guy wearing only ‘janghia’………
    running in his ‘janghia’ thru streets if islamabad and Pindi enters Army House…….
    ‘Havaldar’ at the gate says sorry the doors are locked…this is now COAS residence as it says on the nameplate and ….Kiyani sahab aram kar rahe hain……
    the ‘jaghia’ guy runs towards President House….the gates are locked again as interim President has been sworn in as SC has nullified the illegal election of president last year……

Next moves…………???

78. comment-top

on the papers it luks very ideal and every one wants that judiciary to be back

but if you it realistically in the sense that ppp is under extreme pressure from states plus that NRO effect is nibling their minds and they had been away from the government for long years

moraly musharaf is very weak but realistically he has all the powers to eliminate the threat from the parliament

once the parliament is sworn in things will be the different and we will see the different stance from these political parties.

there are a bit too many naggets in pakistan who wanted to save the status quo

it will either done on some give n take basis,some judges might hav to go may be cj iftikhar which will be hurtful.

my uncle is brigadier in army n he is in pindi and there are news coming that ppp will bow down under the pressure

lawyers wont be able to do anything once parliament is sworn in and make some decision.

i m only being optimistic that things will change but i have a gut feeling that it wont

lets see in a months time

79. comment-top

@Frahan. i totally agree with you but with following minor amends to your post

on the papers it looks very ideal and also every sensible citizen of Pakistan wants that judiciary to be back

and realistically ppp despite under extreme pressure from US plus that NRO effect is not nibling their minds because of full support from other parties including NS who had been forcibly exiled for long years

moraly, physically, mentally and in all respects musharaf is very weak and realistically and he has No powers to eliminate the threat from the parliament

once the parliament is sworn in things will be the different and we will see the different stance from these political parties. eg Q League abandaning Mush altogether

there are a bit too many naggets in pakistan who wanted to save the status quo like Qayyum and pirharmzada

it will either done on some give n take basis,some judges might hav to go may be cj iftikhar which will be hurtful.

my uncle is brigadier in army n he is in pindi and there are news coming that ppp will not bow down under the pressure because they have people’s support as well as other major party i.e PMLN

lawyers wont be able to do anything once parliament is sworn in and make final decision of gettinmg back to work after Judges are restored.

i m only not only being optimistic but realistic that things will change but also have a gut feeling that mush will go sooner than i can think of

lets see in a months time when Mush will be in jail tried for treason and the rest of the country will be free from major evil

Ameen
    Farhan and Malek

80. comment-top

further minor amend missed in earlier post

it will not be done on some give n take basis,some judges who have already reached retirement age might not come back but Honourable CJP Mr Iftikhar Chaudhry will be the CJP until the end of his tenure and may get extension until 2020.

81. comment-top

@ Malek

Can you please identify what’s so Honourable about CJP Mr. Iftikhar Chaudhry?

Just for my information, no offense meant.

82. comment-top

beacuse he is the CJ of Supreme Court of Pakistan

83. comment-top

@Malek

put your hopes and wished aside talk practical

i m not saying that i m against all that,but see the picture all around

11 billion dollar investment on musharaf plus the war in afghanistan still goin on which is republicans only hope of retaining power in states again in the coming elections.

article 190 aide the current supreme court to get the help from corps commander pindi if an executive order comes from PM to allow the restoration from civil administration which comes under PM

PPP’s dubious stance on judiciary even after the muree declaration which luks very fishy.

if amin fahim becomes PM than forget every thing like a strong parliament or any thing else

lawyers,civil society,apdm,pml-n and ppp upto some extent luks very binding force if 58-2(b) comes in power but it will be a chaos

and also dont forget a pyscho president of ours who did every thing which one should think wouldn’t be happened start from kargil,nawaz sharif ousting with 2/3 majority,akbar bugti’s killing,breaking of wana accord,lal masjid massacre,chief justice first deposement,nawaz sharif’s exile,confrontation with benazir even with the western broke deal,benazir’s killing on 27th dec and dont forget the 3rd nov and even till now he is threatening.

none of the current analysts would not take him seriously with his past record

to me all eyes on ppp as nawaz sharif has already got some balance to clear with him

84. comment-top

@ Malek

Oh Ok. Isn’t he the same judge who has provided Musharraf a mandate to make constitutional amendments not disturbing the core foundation of constitution.

Plus he also said to the dissenting judges to either give decission in favor of the above judgement or go home?

85. comment-top

scorpion

no he is not,he was justce irshad hasan khan

you got to put your records straight,

talk about the things after 9th march,things had changed from than with cj iftikhar

86. comment-top

@ farhan

Was he the part of bench or not?

87. comment-top

no he wasn’t,he was the cj of balouchistan at that time

he came in to supreme court on May 7 2005

he did take the oath on pco but he was never part of any thing illegal and as i said before talk the things about him after 9th of march

88. comment-top

mistake cj iftikhar came after nazim hassan siddiqui not irshad hasan khan

nasizm hasan siddiqui was the one who allowed musharaf to amend the constitution

89. comment-top

@Farhan

General Pervez Musharraf’s post-coup d’état infrastructure wasn’t much different: a compliant judiciary, an American alliance and a civilian façade. Chief Justice Irshad Hasan Khan validated the military takeover on the grounds of the doctrine of necessity. Our Supreme Court — with Iftikhar Chaudhry also part of the bench — validated the Referendum. Our Supreme Court — with Iftikhar Chaudhry also part of the bench — validated the LFO. Our Supreme Court — with Iftikhar Chaudhry also part of the bench — validated the 17th Amendment (the Amendment that allowed the COAS to be the president).

To be certain, Iftikhar Chaudhry didn’t head any of the benches but didn’t dissent either.

I think you need to revise your record now!

90. for6otten_sindhi Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 2:19 pm

@farhan & Scorpion: Why is Altaf hussain being a traitor to Pakistan and sitting outside and controlling a terrorist organzation? How can you follow a foreign national and a known terrorist?

Why did Muththal Qatil Movement attack the real representatives of the Muhajir Community’s peaceful protest yesterday and attacked press photographers and shot in the air with ak-47 ?? when the women and children were present? Was CJ Iftikhar was there yesterday too?

Ur question re: CJ are silly and and effort to distract people from the crimes of the thugs of MQM. Stop supporting killers and terrorists! Your terrorism days are numbered!

91. comment-top

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/regional/story/2008/03/080312_dutch_far_right_ra.shtml

Pakistan is still silent .
    why only Iran protest first in all over Islamic world. I know Pakistani high-caman must know this matter but they r silent when public comes out on roads then they will start to speak……………………..wht a shameless establishment.

92. comment-top

@for all the readers:

Saeeduzzaman siddiqui was the first one who dint take the oath under pco and was the brave judge like cj iftikhar,hav a luk at rest of the dummies till the last one cj iftikhar.

as i said before things start after 9th of march for cj ittikhar,these are all the judges who came under musharaf’s rule except saeeduzzaman siddiqui who was appointed by rafiq tarar

Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui
    Chief Justice of Pakistan
    In office
    July 01, 1999 – January 25, 2000

Irshad Hasan Khan
    In office
    January 26, 2000 – January 06, 2002

Muhammad Bashir Jehangiri
    In office
    January 7, 2002 – January 31, 2002

Sheikh Riaz Ahmad
    In office
    February 1, 2002 – December 31, 2003

Nazim Hussain Siddiqui
    In office
    December 31, 2003 – June 29, 2005

Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry
    In office
    30 June 2005 – 3 November 2007

i dont consider cj dogar a judge i consider him a dodger

93. comment-top

There is a new twist to the story that judges will be restored with the condition that Mush will be given a year. Latest is that Mush says he’ll restore all judges but CJ Chaudhary.

http://www.khabrain.com/naiaakhbar/13-03-08/htmls/n1.htm

94. for6otten_sindhi Says:
    March 13th, 2008 at 2:29 pm

@Nazim: the article mentioned it was protested in Pakistan. What do you want the poor establishment (generals and secretaries) to do? endanger their expensive properties in Europe by speaking out against europe?

Why do you hate Pakistan so much?

95. comment-top

@malek

i had told u that talk about thing after 9th of march or start it from steel mill case

quaid-e-azam moved from congress to muslim leauge so should we start denying his legacy

96. comment-top

@for6otten_sindhi

for your satisfaction bro there is a glimpse of current illegal cj’s efficiency

he was coward from the begining

A division bench of the Sindh High Court comprising Mr. Justice Nazim Hussain Siddiqui and Mr. Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar, vindicated Altaf Hussain and 18 others in the Major Kaleem Case, on February 6, 1998. Those acquitted included former Secretary General Dr. Imran Farooq, former central leader Saleem Shahzad, former Sindh Minister Dr. Safdar Baqri, Sector incharges Ashfaq Chief, Haji Jalal, and Jawed Kazmi from famous Major Kaleem Case.

97. comment-top

farhan
    if you are not MQM how do you know the details of so many MQM criminals?

98. comment-top

@farhan
    response to your earlier post

11 billion dollar investment on musharaf plus the war in afghanistan still goin on which is republicans only hope of retaining power in states again in the coming elections. WE ARE IN PAK AND TALKING ABOUT OUR COUNTRY NOT US HERE

article 190 aide the current supreme court to get the help from corps commander pindi if an executive order comes from PM to allow the restoration from civil administration which comes under PM. THE CURRENT SUPREME COURT IS HEADED BY CJP IFTIKHAR CHAUDRY AND HIS COURT WILL DECIDE

PPP’s dubious stance on judiciary even after the muree declaration which luks very fishy. PPP AND PMLN HAS CLEAR AND UNITED STANCE ON JUDICIARY

if amin fahim becomes PM than forget every thing like a strong parliament or any thing else. PM WILL BE OF PPP’S CHOICE - WHOEVER THE CHOOSE

lawyers,civil society,apdm,pml-n and ppp upto some extent luks very binding force if 58-2(b) comes in power but it will be a chaos. 2/3rd MAJORITY IN PARLIAMENT AND VERY SOON IT WILL BE ESTABLISHED IN SENATE

and also dont forget a pyscho president of ours who did every thing which one should think wouldn’t be happened start from kargil,nawaz sharif ousting with 2/3 majority,akbar bugti’s killing,breaking of wana accord,lal masjid massacre,chief justice first deposement,nawaz sharif’s exile,confrontation with benazir even with the western broke deal,benazir’s killing on 27th dec and dont forget the 3rd nov and even till now he is threatening. AGREE MUSH AND ALL THOSE WHO ‘COVERTLY’ SUPPORT HIM ARE PYSCHOS