Ad Space Available - Promote your Business Here!
Sheikh Rasheed has announced that he will fight back on NA-55 seat in by-elections on the seat vacated by Javed Hashmi. Sheikh Rasheed said that he will unveil his elections strategy after the opposing candidate is announced.
It was previously announced that Nawaz Sharif himself may run his elections from Rawalpindi.
42 Responses to “Shiekh Rasheed to Fight Back in By-Elections”
© Copyright 2008 Pakistan Politics
sheikha sadaa haraye he haraye.
Sheikh Saheb,
If the current assembly is going to last for 6 months, why even bother to participate the By-election?
Begairtoon kee kamee nahee hai Pakistan mein!!
bisti karaaNR daa ShauQ’eggaa ae ennhaaN nooN
Let him contest. It is better that he licks dust again.
I belong to NA-55. There was a huge support for Javed Hashmi and I hope that people will still support PML(N) candidate in this consituency.
SheIkh sahb wont be able to win this time as well InshALLAH.
He might be hoping that Peja will bail out Sheeda in election with Dhaandlee. After all Peja need Sheeda to make his night drinks.
yaaaawn!!
@wazimran
i heard that ppp and pmln have decided in the way that where they had won they will support other party candidate so i suppose in NA 55 there won’t be pmln candidate.
@ kahut7
its not like as u have heard, it is otherwise, means, party who won the election from a particular seat will be having a right on that seat and party whose candidate was not a winner will not be having their candidate in byElection.
vacating a seat for the party who lost in general elections doesnt make sense.
GM iqs right. The only exception will b if aitizaz decides to contest from Lahore.
That is good.
I would lover to see him lose again. And spend most of his money. According to Jang report, he is going to China for a few days.
I guess Chinese Massage is in order, otherwise what else Sheikh of Pindi has to do in China.
This reminds me of Biography of Sheikh Rashid where he tells that he used to recite Songs and Na’at and mix them together. One of the Na’at he read in a function was:
‘Nabi Mera Ghori Char-ya’.
Sheikh says that people forced him off stage after this Na’at. This time people will force him out of Politics, Inshallah.
lol kuch logoon ko apni aur bisti karanay ka buhat shoq chara hua hai. sheikhay ne kaha abhi zara kam hui hai thori aur kara loon. shukar hua tha jaan chutti thi is manhoos ki shakal dekhne se tv per, ab phir pairhi boothi le kar aa jayega talk-shows per aur bisti karanay.
Hashmi vacating Lahore seat is understandable. Even I will win if ML-N gave me the ticket from Lahore. They can also adjust some big guns who couldnt participate in the general elections, or some other capable person whom they want in the national assembly but who lacks any constituency of his own. They can even oblige Aitzaz. But vacating Pindi seat is a big let down, specially for those who voted. It’s a significantly important constituency and Hashmi should have kept it since he is very loyal to the party and enjoys national recognition.
Giving Sheiku another chance is a mistake. He is still very dangerous and he is going to throw everything in the ring this time since many ml-n voters are probably feeling a bit disappointed by this let down. He is gonna come out with all guns drawn as we can asses from his remarks of today where he is saying ‘hundered days is a long time in politics and this coaliton governments farce will come out in the open soon’. Means, he is going to expose ML-N to the best of his ability and play all kind of dirty tricks to get his seat back. Also check his remarks as he says ‘through NRO law breakers are turned into law makers’.
I dont even wanna think about the consequences to our national spirit of reconcialition prevailing in the three major parties and peeople of Pakistan in general should this joker make it back to the assembly and into limelight. Sheikhu has a big mouth and he is going to use it to undermine this spirit and paint a bad image of government in the minds of our very simple and gullible citizenry. He is a snake and a back biter and knows the art of sabotageur. He was better off left for dead. Or perhaps should have been crushed further and buried alive. But not put back on life support for another shot at living.
Since the mistake’s already been made, I hope they bring in a strong candidate. What I have heard is that they want the original guy(who ever he is) to contest who stepped aside so Hashmi could beat Shiekhu. If he was not good enough then to beat Sheiku, than he better stay sidelined now.
Why Hashmi didnt vacate his Multan seat? His chosen candiate would have easily won from there, and should it happen for some reason that he doesnt, Hashmi will always remain a strong candidate from there as it’s his home town and center of his politics. And also, since ML-N is partner in national gov and making governmant in Punjab as well, his voters from Multan would never have felt abandond since he can get things done for them without having to retain the seat.
I hope some pml-n party man explains this decision so I understand better.
i am thinking who should defeat him this time around.
Nawaz Sharif
or
Imran Khan
I have nothing against Nawaz, infact i always favor his party, but i would love to see Imran Khan winning against Sheikho
@fas
I understand your concerns and I partly agree with what you said. I think Hashmi has to look for his own constiutency from Multan and he doesn’t want to give PPP free hand in multan. He lost a seat to Shah Mehmood Qureshi. Moreover, south punjab is not a strong-hold of PMLN so in order to ensure their presence and in the interest of political expediency he did this. My dear dont worry sheeda tulli doesn’t stand a remote chance and I think Nawaz SHarif intends to contest from this seat. If NS is the candidate, Sheeda will not even dare contest. He has already mentioned that he will make his strategy public once opposing candidate is announced. For the time being he ran away and he didn’t wanted media to say that he has run away like 18th Feb. It is a bluff by sheeda.
i think its a chance for Imran Khan to get in n/a again i hope he takes it
Initially Imran Khan was supposed to tackle Sheeda with support from PML(N). After he decided to boycott, Javed HAshmi took over. So I think this constituency should be given back to Imran Khan.
Shiekh Rasheed did lot of stupid things during his support for Mr. Musharaf during past 5 five years but there is no doubt in this that he did lot of development work in Rawalpindi NA 55 and NA 56. So that’s why I think he deserve to contest election from NA 55. Winning or losing is another thing which totally depends on people of NA 55. And awam always make the right decision. As you all know about the “Akhri Muka” of People of Pakistan.
Does anybody know about Raja Anwar who contested for a provincial constituency near Pindi on PML(N) ticket. He is one right guy. People who know about him will agree with me that he is kind of person we need in our national assembly. He was in Gordon College with Sheeda and in Punjab University with Javed Hashmi. One time he was right hand of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto. Was in exile during Zia regime then was out of political scene only writing books and occasionally Urdu Columns. I would like him to contest Sheeds if not Imran Khan or Nawaz Shrif.
aaaaaaa …. stop supporting musharraf and do something for the country, i’m 100% sure that you (sheikh) will get the votes. Yapping doesn’t get things done!
@ Rashid.Sheikh
are you real Sheikh Rasheed or his *** licker??
If you are, is it true that you are a paedo? A friend called and told me this as a news?
i want IMRAN can easily tackle shaeeda tali . ise insan ko sharam bi nahi aati haar kay bi ise basharam ko chain nahi
wait n see
politicians are very clever. specially shiekh rasheed
I think Sheikh is a real loser. He says there will be election in six months time. Why doesn’t he wait till six months?
To win in Rawalpindi, you need PML N behind you.
Raja Anwar can be an intriguing choice but he contested provincial elections from Kallar Syedan and is not an active in pindi city muslim league. So it is more likely that a leader of local PMLN organization will be nominated. On the other hand, Nawaz Sharif can contest himself as well or give a ticket to Imran Khan.
Aitzaz Ahsan can also be a choice from NA 55.
I hate this fat toad…..Hate to see him on TV also. I hope PPP and PML N make sure that he is out for a long time to come.
@Optimist
“Nabi Mera Ghori Char-ya”
R U sure sheikhoo said that?
If that is the case then he should be Hanged with electricity wires in RA bazar!!!!!!!!
Anybody who thinks that Sheeda talli has any chance then he is living in a dream world. First of all he was defeated by a very wide margin recently and now the party who stood runners-up will also be supporting the winning candidate. I am guessing the victory margin between first and second this time around will be in excess of 50k votes and for sheeda talli, he again will lose his deposit money. Also thinking that people of rawal pindi will vote for this loser who even now thinks that he is the son of the soil (GHQ) will see him flying off to spain, this time in reality very soon.
Shaikhu will lose.
Chaudhries of Gujrat want to nominate him again in NA-55 to make sure that he is again humiliated. They also don not want him to found a new party.
My guess is that Shaikhu will try to avoid this by-election as he knows that public is against MUSH and associates. I think he should leave politics.
Shaikh sahab aram karo or bohat logo ko bewakoof bana liya. At every wrong doing of Pervaiz Musharraf he supported him and now on TV he said he did speak against all those mistakes. This shows the “Munafqat” of sheikh Rasheed.
Sheikh Rasheed Murdabad.
Q legue Murdabad.
@ adeel ayub
You wrote:
@Optimist
“Nabi Mera Ghori Char-ya”
R U sure sheikhoo said that?
If that is the case then he should be Hanged with electricity wires in RA bazar!!!!!!!!
TRUST ME THIS IS WHAT HE WROTE in his book Farzand-e-Pakistan. It is very first or second chapter. He shouldn’t have repeated that in his book. He didn’t say that he was wrong either. I am surprised Why Mullahs didn’t speak on this issue? Probably they don’t read many books.
it looks like AA will be contesting from the seat and i believe he is most suitable person for this constituency.
Shida Tully will stand as Q candidate or as his own party….and will not lose………………… but lose his ‘deposit’ as well !!
Definitely Aitzaz is contesting from NA 55.
@Optimist
Its not the matter of mullah knowing this or not. its a simple case of Blasphemy just like we have in case od Danish Cartoons!
May Allah give Sh. Rasheed What He deserves!!!!!!!!
Imran should join if he dont sheikh jee should win
I think Ch Aitzaz Ahsan should fights as Lawyers Candidate {not the PPP}.
I want to see that can he win a seat with out being on the ticket of PPP.
@rakaposh
I think NS is convicted terrorist and not eligible to contest.
@askhan75 on April 2nd, 2008 4:52 am
Really?????????
SHEIKH RASID had said that this will be his last election and he lost now he must not conteste in election and he must play golf as some peoples think that PRESD.MUSH. should do so. he is a very good friend of MUSH then he should also join his friend and play golf. he is a honost man but he is a LOOTA also he was eleted on the name of PML-N in elections of 2002 and he joined MUSH and his KINGS so that’s why he lost and that also shows that RAWALPINDI is PML-N city. any body he gets PML-N support can win like in the case of HANIF ABBASI who was for the first time contesting on the behafe of PMLN and he won so i think SHEIKH would not be able to win against ITZAAZ or N.SHARIF so he must take some rest.