Speaker Election Videos - 19 March 08

Some videos on day of election of speaker for National Assemblies. (Six videos have been added and latest ones are the the bottom)

51 Comments »

It shows that Mush conspiracies have failed. There were people telling us nothing will happen.

Open your eyes. Something has happened - again!!

I am really happy to see this! She is graceful and composed! Another fine role model for our daughters and sisters! May we find the courage to involve women in the life of our nation more and more!

Bravo!

70 votes for the opposition candidate…
    does it tally with their numbers? Or, does it mean that some of the opposition actually voted for the PPP candidate?

I feel kinda bad for M.A.F .. I hope some solution can be found for this issue. But you know PPP is known for trampling it’s workers and loyalists. Nothing new. Sorry to say.

FVKING A$$HOLE media idiots! they started this sh!t as soon as Javed Hashmi started to speak!…

They should be banned from the next session!

oops! didn’t know it was a protest.. but really they ruined his momentum! just ruined it!

I don’t know much about the new speakers potential and past achievements, but I hope she can perform her duty honestly so she can set new standards and be a pattern breaker both regarding to perform outstanding work and regarding what women can achieve if they are comitted.

Awesome speech by Javed Hashmi! Jee Oye!

PML-N has the best orators and speakers.. then of course ANP … PPP speakers.. where are they?

I’m so pissed they kicked the journos out! The should punish the PEMRA Idiots! they started to pi$$ them off.. what was the problem? anyone know?

(m)ushi’es “sphere of influence” is quickly recedingto the “chowkidars and janitors” in the parliament house. Wonder how much the 10 people still loyal to mushie paid to these guys to cut the cables?

mullah deezal is talking about supremacy of the constitution! subHaan Allah!

NewsFlash: MQM leadership gets their ash’aar from the backs of Rickshaws on the way To Parliament.

Mashallah, great speech by Mr. Javed Hashmi. One could really feel that every word came from the depth of his heart. Keep up the good work!

the big question is will she be able to handle a lot of unconsionable louts in the assembly?

MAF speech was kinda pathetic.. I felt sorry for him.

14. concernedcitizen Says:
    March 19th, 2008 at 8:07 pm

Admin, can you please upload the debate on GEO between Aitzaz and Qayyum? Waiting desperately!

15. Mir Munsif Says:
    March 19th, 2008 at 8:18 pm

She is very talented lady,and famous for her social works.Last year when Flood came into badin,she was first person who arrived there with doctors and necessary support.She is always on toes to reach masses thats why during 1988 election,she was only woman after SHaheed BB and Mohtarma Nusrat bhutto from who won MNA election from Badin.

She is daughter of famous Journalist and Tahreek Pakistan leader Late Qazi Abdul Majeed.She has earned repute in her area as woman of great courage and intellect.I hope,she will prove her talent and constructive role as Speaker Assembly as well.

Bravo!!

Aitzaz & Qayyum program is being uploaded. It was a two hours long program and its going to take at least one more hour before it appears on the site.

Good, finally some progress.

However, I found it amusing and disgusting that PPP members were asked by the leadership (aka Zardari) to write Benazir ka bhai and Benazir ke bhen on their votes. What’s this nonsense. How much more is PPP going to milk Benazir’s death. Enough already.

Look like Farooq Sattar has been listening too much Altaf’s chroon walee speeches, he has become another Altaf in disguise!!

19. Mir Munsif Says:
    March 19th, 2008 at 10:47 pm

Islamabad, 18 March 2008: PPP nominees for the office of the Speaker National Assembly Dr. Fehmida Mirza and Faisal Karim Kundi for the office of Deputy Speaker National Assembly today filed their nomination papers.

For the first time in the history of Pakistan a woman Parliamentarian is poised to become the Speaker of the National Assembly. This landmark development has become possible after the PPP took the conscious decision to nominate a women Parliamentarian as Speaker of the 342-member House.

Never before in the history of Pakistan’s National Assembly were the words “Madam Speaker” uttered. It will be for the first time that the Chair will be addressed as “Madam Speaker”, another first added by the Party to the political lexicon.

Hailing from an influential political family of Sindh the 51 year old Dr Fehmida Mirza swept three consecutive national elections each time winning a general National Assembly seat in open electoral contest from Badin in 1997, 2002 and 2008.

Here is a brief resume of Dr. Fehmida Mirza.

Date of Birth: 20th December 1956

Educational Qualifications:

St Mary’s Convent, Hyderabad, Sindh - Matriculation 1972
    Nazareth College - Hyderabad, Sindh - Intermediate 1974
    Liaqut Medical College, Jamshoro, Sindh - MBBS - 1982
    Sindh Public Service Commission - 1983

Experience:

Medical Practice: MCH Centre;
    School Health Centre 1983-1989

Organized voluntary Medical camps in Badin District in 1989-present Director, Mirza Sugar Mills (MSM)- 1989-1999
    CEO Mirza Sugar Mills - 1999-present

Directly elected PPP MNA - Badin - 1997
    Directly elected PPP MNA - Badin- 2002
    Directly elected PPP MNA - Badin - 2008

Background:

Dr. Fehmida Mirza was born into the prominent and politically influential Qazi family of Sindh.

Dr. Fehmida Mirza’s family has contributed to the political and social development of both Sindh and Pakistan since the birth of the nation.

Among the prominent members of the family are her grandfather Qazi Abdul Qayyum who was the first Muslim president of Hyderabad Municipality. Her uncle Qazi Muhammad Akbar was a member of the Provincial Assembly and served as a minister of home, finance , Public works and information at various times.

Dr. Mirza’s father Qazi Abid started his political career as Chairman Hyderabad Division Council. He later served as Federal Minister for Education, Water and Power, Food and Agriculture and Information. He was also thrice Secretary General of the APNS.

Her brother Qazi Asad has served as the Secretary General APNS 9 times and has been the Secretary General of CPNE . He was also a PPP MNA and in that capacity served Chairman of the Standing Committee on Information. Her cousin Qazi Aslam has been Secretary General APNS four times.

Her uncle and father-in-law Justice Zafar Hussain Mirza, a descendent of Mirza Qaleej Beg, was a judge of the Supreme Court of Pakistan.

Dr Fehmida Mirza is married to Dr. Zulfiqar Mirza, a former MNA and recently elected MPA. They have four children.

@Tab’an Khamosh
    she is graceful and composed and a role model for all of us pakistanis not just our daughter and sisters. If you look at her record and background she is very deserving for all that has been bestowed upon her. I personally think she could have been a better candidate for pm. If mush goes out of country she will be president by default. This has been a very good sight to see and a very fortunate day. My regards to all pakistanis.

@lota6177: I stand corrected! thanks! :)

22. temporarynick Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 2:41 am

Opposition candidate Asrar Tareen got 70 votes, but their tally should have been
    PMLQ 51 MQM 25 PMLF 5 PPPS 1 = 82
    I am not sure how many seats were vacated by their colation due to dual seats as nobody come to my mind of PMLQ who have won on more than one NA seats.
    And if we count 5 rejected votes to be part of their tally as well, they are still short of 7 seats in the very first contest. So lets see at the time of PM how many more bricks will fall.

23. Omer Khan Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 3:26 pm

Well mash’allah our elected government servants seem to be in their full spirits. I hope Pakistan can form a cable outlet like C-span which telecasts all of our proceedings in the Grand public house live and uncensored.

We’ll see how they deliver. It’s been a month since the elections were held. I agree with Imran Khan that people ( an interested people) expect formulations, implementations and concrete progress within three months from the parliament. I hope they do not fail. Many of them have been given licentious amounts of forgiveness and forbearance from the people of Pakistan. An indelible amounts of forgiveness, w/o any quid pro quo or warranty. A very dangerous game. Hence Imran Khan and PTI’s principle stand. I hope they do not fail.

For much time now, the murdered, and maimed, the disenchanted and sold took solace in the fact that we were not being ruled by an elected body. That the republic was not there. If god forbid, any more missiles murder and main Pakistanis, what would be the excuse this time? They’ all better deliver w/o much delay. Will Pakistan be put first this time around?

Pertinent questions.

24. Omer Khan Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 3:27 pm

LOL!!! Funny quip by our beloved Respect MP Ayaz Amir. Simmer down Ms. Rehman. You seem to dwell in a world full of conspiracies with a bogey man at every corner.

@Omer Khan: I wouldn’t be too quick to assume that “the republic” is here now and will feed us manna from its teats! It’s not a button that you turn on or off. Also, the one month delay is because of that a-hole mushie .. but thanks for trying to imply it is somehow the parliament’s fault.

Even MQM is willing to give the new parliament 6 months on paper, but some people I suppose have even stricter standards for the new parliament. Or should I say some are haq-parast-er than haq-parast? I wonder how much time is necessary (in your opinion) to judge the performance of a usurper military goverment?

Perhaps one day we will be enlightened by your views on the degree of “licentious” amounts of forgiveness the hapless Pakistani masses have bestowed upon scions such as mush the illegal, shaukat the pilferer (and bhagoRa), altaf the killer, wajahat the spreadegaled & cavity searched (who bravely fought and nearly killed the chicken of bristol) etc etc..

Also, we need to stop expecting the missiles will stop just because we have a looli-langRi parliament in session! At least this parliament will not be hoping for more terrorist attacks so it can dupe the west into supporting an illegal and despised military dictatoryship.

mush’s regime was and is the proverbial pig with some democratic lipstick slathered on.. but it ain’t fooled no-one except those who wish to be willingly fooled by this foul concoction. You wanna date a pig, be my guest. Its got nice lipstick on! ;)
    L’Chaim!

26. Omer Khan Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 5:09 pm

@ DearTab’an. Altaf, shaukat, Musharraf have had their share of bringing this country down to its knees and stripping it of its dignity ay which way they could. In that Musharraf has done unprecedented damage to the country. I personally believe he would be considered right next to the likes of Yahya in the course of Pakistan’s history. Now you need to pay heed to what I write before being glib. When in doubt; ask.

If you think the NRO that Busharraf dealt with the likes of BB the other chattel ever eager to breast feed washington’s tantrums her flandering sidekick of a husband w/o shame is not license enough than I do not know what is. This I say, in light of numerous corruption scandals against the top brass of both Sharrif and Benazir. But Sharrif atleast has been more forthcoming and did not strike any deal with the dictator. Hence I find it easier to trust his person. Top brass of PPP not so forthcoming. Couple that with Washington’s shameless patronage of BB and her sabotaging the democractic movement at every juncture does not bode well for her clique or indeed the party.

Now hold on to your panty hose, this does not mean that Pakistan went the wrong way. Not so. Things under Busharraf were so bad that even another military coup deposing this dictator would’ve been an ironic benediction. This does not mean, that the people of Pakistan do not maintain a healthy skepticism of their elected civil servants. For the alternate has been the cause of much grief for the nation.

Lastly, the parliament has just met, many of these guys are not some new comers. Most of them are seasoned been-theres. Given the dire strait of Pakistan, we should expect nothing less than a speedy marshal of their affairs, and getting down to business. We must see some tangible action w/n 3 months. Like I said, the nation is willing and has been ever willing to forgive and give second, third , fourth chances with whatever decrepit avenues we have, but this time around no monkey business. I like what Wali Khan said: we are far beyond the thin red line.

This is just a minor victory in a battle to make Paksitan better. Those who love Pakistan should be on their toes for what’s to come. Inshallah it’ll be good.

…Unlike a few years ago, when the entire nation was running to the swine call of suuu weee suuu weee when Pakistan was being killed, bullied and trashed. Glad I was not one of them. Alhamdolillah.

@Omer Khan: Nice backpedaling bro.

It is curious how you gloss over the 8 years of crimes committed by the mush gang, to launch headlong into a tirade against the parliament under the guise of attacking BB/NS/AZ. Not to mention forgetting (conveniently) the BS drama the military has been doing for the last 50 years (starting overtly in 58). So spare us the whining about the politicians as you skillfully overlook the real criminals. I’m no Zardari fan, and BB was no angel either, but the tone and tenor you use to deride them is reminiscent of

Even when you equate mush with Yahya , you used “would”.. now let me ask you: “Would?” or “Should?”

There is no doubt in the doublespeak you offer, but I’ll make it easy (and therefore less “glib” for ya):

“We

“.. reminiscent of mush apologists”

29. econfused Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 5:56 pm

Its amazing that you care to read omer’s comments. May be this one was not a 5000 word essay :)

@econfused: yeah.. its a waste of time..

In other news.. MQM is just friggin Dandy.. they’ve been doing a lot of development work..they built a flyoever.. then they built a water tower…I find Farooq Sattar is a great leader, still remains to be seen when MQM will stop murdering their opponents, but other than that.. MQM is great.. and then the May 12th incident they killed 44 people.. but other than that Altaf Bhai is the greatest messenger of peach and hope to the world.. I basically support truth and justice because you know.. I LIKE big butts and ah cannot lie..!!! etc etc.

31. econfused Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 6:10 pm

you forgot to mention Jageerdarana Nizam, and a 2/3rd majority in 2013. Actually they will announce the independence for city state of karachi in 2013.

Found this comedy gold.

Altaf singing stupid songs while decked out in a pagri, looking like a black murgha about to be strangled.

And get this. He is appearing live in a “Telecast Khitab” from the MQM studios in London…hehe

33. Omer Khan Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 6:34 pm

@Tk, yaar. Again you are being glib. And that’s very sad. You are the one who engaged me here. So at least be fair before trying to rush to judgements. That doesn’t speak very well of you.

What you are doing is libel buddy. You would be hard pressed t find a harsher critic of Musharraf than me. He is one person for whom unfortunately I lose patience. And I have been scathing at his antics long before the entire hoopla of Supreme court or 12th May etc… So there. I have not glossed over anything.

And wahssup with you 3 stooges econfused. Quit being a sidekick.

Just like hearing a “katta” being hunted down by a predator. What a clown.

@Omer Khan: Just engaging in personal insults will not get you off the hook bro. Explain your statement when you are so inclined. You said ask and I asked, you accuse me again and did not answer the question. Who’s being glib now?

Being able to be abusive is not the same as being able to put a solid argument forward. Your skills at being abusive and evasive are obvious, now try to impress with your argument in defense of statements you made in a public forum. I don’t think I need to repeat my questions or the concerns I have regarding each.

@mbokhari: Dude I thought it was fake until I saw the rest of it… CRIPES!!!… it’s REAL!!!

37. Omer Khan Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 6:57 pm

@TK, Thats hilarious! You find me abusive? Well maybe. But really you should take your own advice if you live in a glass house dude. What a feeble attempt at spin. Really. You should perhaps re-read some of your own posts. And not taking the ones directed at me. For we hardly indulge with verbal sparring but vis a vis others whom you don’t agree with on this site.

Very well. I appreciate your forthcoming. Now I am not sure as to what you would like for me to explain? The bad military boys? They are bad. Even the worst elected reps from the body politic are better than arbitrary rulers (in general). That’s my pov. Perhaps the least worst dictatorship we had was Ayub Khan’s. That was still the worst than any monkey bone parliament in the country’s history. There is nothing for me to defend there. My first comment on this page was directed towards the subject of the thread, not a commentary on Pakistan’s last 50 years.

It is your assumptions, I believe which makes you think that I am some apologist hiding in the covers. If you are non partisan as you claim you are, surely you would agree that neutering Busharraf is but a minor step to make Pakistan a better place. And that includes putting our politicos in their place.

For me not the president, nor the prime minister of Pakistan walks on water. That’s my credo. My Islam.

Godbless brother.

@Omar Khan: Hmm.. I must’ve touched a nerve there.. all I was saying was that your skills at being abusive and evasive are quite obvious! … as you demonstrated again, but the point is.. demonstrating your skill at abuse via personal attacks is not a demonstration of your skill at putting forward valid arguments in favor of assertions made. You can say cute things till cows come home but that ain’t gonna do diddly squat as far as answering the specific question is concerned.

What does this have to do with me being abusive or vulgar or what have you? I’m not saying I’m better than you, I’m saying you are evading the question by calling me names and talking about things irrelevant to points specifically raised. Call me names if you must, but address the issues raised. Also, if you go back and actually look at my posts, my tendency is not to be personally offensive, though you know.. I swear like a truck driver.. but even I have enough sense to not target company present most of the times.

Btw, I’m partisan baby! Does this sound like the talk of a non-partisan to you? I don’t support any particular party, but I’m partisan. I think it should be obvious what side I’m on. Remains to be seen for certain others :)

I am definitely an advocate of putting our political class in its place but I also see things in context. Something MQM/Mush supporters (eMunafiq by some) have a tendency to not be too bothered about when they make statements like.. “We’ll see how this parliament performs blah blah blah.” who cares what happened in the last parliament right?

@Omer Khan: oops! I misspelled your name. sorry bro.

Dude…I be puttin you on notice yo!!!…Dont be dissin the Qaiday Tahreek. ….Uhm! Hmmm! (Fingersnapping, swinging head) How dare you put factual arguments against the supporters of Qaiday? As we all know, the facts are biased.

I have become a big, major-league fan of Qaiday since I saw that video. The focus on surreal magical realism exhibited has not been surpassed since….since…since KoKo, The Clown.

Seriously though. I have become ONE with the Qaiday. I’m in a state of exhiliration. Just don’t know what to say…. :~/

It is funny when Farooq Sattar was bringing the electricity issue of Karachi into the discussion. For him, the first issue to be solved by the new elected Govt is to solve the electricity problem. What about for the last 8 years when they were in power and in Govt, how come they did not take care of this problem and now expected from the newly elected Govt to solve the issue overnight.

@mbokhari: haha! that thing is hilarious man.. what is surreal is the amount of people though I think they actually make the number look bigger by putting chairs with a lot of space in between… watching that I was also wondering if MQM would allow a punjabi or outsider party to have a meeting like this in the heart of Karachi? oh wait.. there was something like this.. in may last year? or something like that?

No. Whatcha talkin about? May? Is that even a month? Yes there were some devious 44 malcontents called lawyers who shot and stabbed themselves in the back. The Qaiday Tehrik Phoolan Devi has clearly stated that these were malicious suicides with the express intention of giving the MQM a bad name.

The gall of these people! Imagine!!! Hating the Qaiday so much that you would shoot yourself in the back just so people can say that Qaiday Tehrik Phoolan Devi and his/her murd…oops, ..innocent people killed them…Oh, the hate!!!

…[Qaiday speaking] Bachay, behnain, HEEJRAY…[now singing and clapping loudly] Itnay piyaray piyaray log, piyaray log, Itnay piyaray piyaray log…

Seriously though…about time for an operation. These people make me wanna go all Stalin on Phoolan Devi’s ass. Level the MQM areas with bulldozers and salt the land…Settle others in their place…About fuc.king time!

44. econfused Says:
    March 20th, 2008 at 9:10 pm

@omerkhan

I have stopped reading your comments a while ago, when the usual number of words were about 5k. We have many so called neutrals on this forum and you are leading the pack. In the end your goal is to ridicule politicians, let me you know if you have change your stance. I have enough free time, I can start wasting it by reading your SUPER Analytical Essays.

@mbokhari: o paa ji, revivalist nay to aana jaana baNd kar diaya hai jab say tum nay usko chapaeRaeN mari haiN…

Oh yeah.. phoolan devi.. or is it chooran devi? don’t tell me you don’t find it kinda endearing that most of the chooran devi supporters actually buy that sh!t hook line and sinker! There is more Waco in nine zero than there ever was in Texas!

that video is comedy gold! I’m amazed no-one made animated gifs out of this guy.. we have some really talented Pakistani’s out there ya know! total ytmnd material. hehehe :)

@TK: Your redundancy and artifice is your cross to bear here. I have no idea why you are foaming at the mouth. Judging by your last reply it seems you carry some serious chips on your shoulder. All those irate juvinille comebacks, and zigzag insinuations and that half assed attempt at the knot of grief building up in your throat. And I still don’t know what you want to ask me LOL. You have a very mechanical mind. Too bad you forgot to wind it this morning.

@Omer Khan: Yup. did touch a nerve.

Dear Tab’an now you are just being boring. Here this’ll cheer ya up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0aedNpZeOw

@Omer Khan: Back to fart jokes eh?

Are you feeling better? Or still the jockamo Blues?

51. kamran.soomro Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 12:04 am

I don’t get it. What was that commotion at the beginning of Javed Hashmi’s speech?