MQM & PMLQ to Support PPP

Farooq SattarMQM has announced unconditional support for PPP and withdrawn their Prime Minister candidate Doctor Farooq Sattar in favor of PPP. PMLQ in Balochistan has also announced full support for PPP.

Link to Daily Jang Article | Link 2

114 Comments »

Let see how a common man is benefitted from this gesture!!!!

Something big is going down. Why are they making a consensus govt? This seems like a breakthrough and the fact that PML-N is mum about it also makes me wonder if something big is in the works! Could this have something to do with situation in Iran? I think Pakistan is going to stay out of the attack on Iran. and it may be in final stages because of that DICK, Cheney warmonger going around .. nothing good ever comes out of that idiot’s tours.

Either that or a PML-Q revolt is actually in the works and they’re all going to gang up on mushie and MQM figured they might as well join before the news breaks..

inturrusting.

Mush’s days are numbered.:)

4. Amir Hameed Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 5:58 pm

@Tab’an Khamosh
    I believe that MQM is trying to be proactive based on the meeting that took place b/w Mush and the choudharies as they might have guessed by now that PML-Q is not going to last as a single entity for too long. I do not believe that US will attack Iran and not because it does not want to but because it does not have enough soldiers to plan such an attach. People in US have already fed up with the war and this is one of the reasons that the Republicans had lost both in the congress and the house.

5. Tanweer Amjad Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 6:03 pm

This is real game ON. MQM had Sind Governorship at stake and they have very cleverly affirmed it. Doesn’t matter who would be the Chief Minister, they can still assure their district council posts and so a firm hold of Karachi and its streets activites.
    PML(N) would have to be very cautious now as to how they should maintain their hold in the parliament, although Punjab is still safe in their hand.
    But an alliance including PML(Q) would reaffirm that everything is being thoroughly watched by the establishment.
    So no accountability of the Sugar, Flour Crisis and Pak Steel, PTCL privatisation.
    Things are all the same if not worse.

PPP to nominate candidate for slot of PM on Saturday: Sherry Rehman

Updated at: 2130 PST, Friday, March 21, 2008
    ISLAMABAD: Information Secretary of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Sherry Rehman said Friday that PPP would name its candidate for the post of prime minister on Saturday.

Chairman of PPP Bilawal Bhutto Zardari will name party candidate for the slot of Prime Minister Saturday, she said while talking to newsmen here.

MQM has assured to extend unconditional support to PPP candidate for slot of PM, she said.

Pakistan People’s Party spokesman Farhatullah Babar said, “The process of consultation has been completed and the PPP will announce the name of its candidate tomorrow (Saturday) evening.”

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=41202

7. GuyFawkes Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 6:15 pm

MQM and PMLQ now ducking behind PPP so they’re not attacked by them. As they say “if you can’t beat them - join them”. And PPP hasn’t shown much disregard for Musharraf either. I’m presuming this is a Musharraf brokered deal - PPP, MQM and PMLQ together, and the old chor NS is out.

Oh got it, Why they called all the way Bilawal to announce the name of next PM. They just don’t wanna AZ to be blamed for the decision & wanna avoid any rift within the party over any disagreement with the PM nomination.

Good Shot! by AZ(Hes playing his cards quite well until now to keep his HOLD on the party)

9. Amir Hameed Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 6:34 pm

AZ better keep the promises that his party has made to the people as well as the Bhourban accord and the CoD that BB had signed with PML-N, otherwise, I can tell you that PPP will break into factions. Time will tell if this is what AZ had been working on as I still do not trust him.

Asif Zardari has made the right decision.

Many innocent people still support MQM and they don’t realise that MQM top leadership is dangerous.

Till people of Karachi realise that MQM is dangerous, we should keep throwing BONES to Altaf Hussain and Babar Ghouri.

Well a nice discussion, interesting twist…. I wonder may be AZ is playing his cards for Sindh b/c of Ameen Fahim… Situation predicts that may be PPP is losing Ameen Faheem…. but every one should work together for Paksitan…

This is for greater good of the country otherwise ruling coalition has more than two third support (obvious from speaker election).

Another reason for this is to control MAF who might have decided something foolish.

Ground reality is that MQM has seats in Karachi. We should not have whole country going in one direction and one city in another direction.

13. Other Pakistan Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 6:43 pm

PK Politics Friends,

SORRY TO REPEAT THIS COMMENT BUT I FEEL NOT ENOUGH PEOPLE HAVE NOTICED IT AND I AM ONLY DOING MY ISLAMIC DUTY IN MAKING AS MANY PEOPLE AWARE, PLEASE READ ALL BELOW:

I am urgently writing to inform you all of the evil of America in appointing General Hood who presided over the ABUSE OF THE HOLY QURAN at Guantanamo Bay as Defence Attache in Pakistan. See the link below urgently and stand tall and resist this evil:

http://www.otherpakistan.org/general-hood-and-the-evil-of-uncle-sam.html

Feimanallah

Wasim
    http://www.otherpakistan.org/archive.html

14. Riddle 792 Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 6:43 pm

There is a rumor flying high in Islamabad today that PMLN is about to be ditched out after the recent developments between PPP & MQM, PMLQ and Mush.

MQM and PMLQ will support PPP candidate and in return PPP will step back from the restoration of judges issues. Amin Fahim will not be a PM but will be happy with this settings as long as PMLN is out. It is being said that AF totally lost his interest in PMLN after the Khawaja Asif statement and no condemnation from Nawaz and Shehbaz for it.

Asif Zardari WILL not even make a divide in the party. He wants to keep the party UNITED at every cost possible. He knows that dictators and establishment tried and were not successful and he certainly does not want to be remembered as the person who was at the top if PPP will break. AF has a lot of respect and support in the party……………aside from the Prime Minister issue.

Will See..

“najma_ahmed on March 21st, 2008 3:55 pm

How long this unnatural alliance of PML (N) and PPP will last? They cannot agree on the name of a PM. There are serious internal differences between both parties; they are hiding their differences but soon they will be exposed. They are united for a very limited time; their agenda is to get rid of President then full-blown political war will start between them. Wait and see”

WHERE ARE YOU NAJMA? WE NEED YOUR WISDOM ON THIS!!!

16. wellwisher Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 6:55 pm

A disgusting example of politics of greed and skin saving.

Next week you will see, PML-Q joining government and Pakistan will emerge as the biggest funny democracy in the world. A government without opposition.

Strange country indeed.

PPP won’t break over any external disagreement with PMLN because it has to happen sooner or later, they both belong entirely to two different school of thoughts. And by chance they can’t afford any rift right now for their own survivals.

PMLN would have to join hands with PPP in order to restore their confidence in urban population by somehow restoring part of the judiciary if not whole is possible. If PMLN fails to do this, PMLN would have a hard time in next elections particularly in urban areas. Its very fine line for PMLN in the changing political scenario.

This move certainly have some kinna impact on PMLN, it may or may not be good for them.

18. atifmusaddaq Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 6:56 pm

Altaf bahi app kaa bohat bohat sukriaa, app kaa yaa ahsan aur qurbani qawam bilkul nahin bolhlayee geee.

Satheeeeeeeeee sab mazloomoo kaa sathee hayee Altaf Hussain.

Chaudhry Shujaat has phoned Altaf Hussain and protested.

Who cares about Chaudhries. MQM has to look at ground realities to save its skin. MQM is a ground reality too.

All Qenchi league members in Blochistan are behind PPP. Who cares about Qecnchi league.

20. nawaz shah Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 7:06 pm

THIS MIGHT BE A BIG PLAN FROM MQM AND PML Q BECOUSE THEY R SAVING THEIRSELVES THE BIGGEST CURRUPTION IN PAKISTAN HISTORY BEEN DONE IN PREVIOUS GOVT AND THIS MIGHT BE A PLAN FROM BOTH OF THESE TO LATER ON WHEN THEY GOT POWER THEY CAN INITIATE INTERNAL REVOLT THEY GOT SOMETING FISY FISY IN THEIR MINDS THEY R PLANNING SOMETHING FOR FUTURE God SAVE US FROM THESE EVILS GENERAL HOOD COMING TO PAKISTAN ITS VERY VERY SHAMEFUL MOMENT FOR ALL OF US BEING A MUSLIMS HE SUOLD BE GIVEN CAPITAL PUNISHMENT

21. Amir Hameed Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 7:14 pm

So, according to Geo:

Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari has been informed about the decision with the hope that the PPP will reciprocate and will not disappoint the MQM in future.

what type of future reciprocity is MQM expecting here from PPP? What if they want from PPP to reciprocate on something that PML-N wouldn’t agree on, then what? Remember, MQM is not in favor of restoration of judiaciary because they will have a lot to loose as most of their leaders are killers.

hey Optimist:
    If you remember we had a discussion last night and I told you that MQM is and will not support mush always, since they are changing.and you see now they made a good decision to support ppp/pml n govt .
    In this way the mush and q league days are numberred.

@ areeza

I agree. I hope that this is a good news for the country. MQM should stand with people of Pakistan and civil society. If MQM had stood with the lawyers movement, no one could have done any injustice to innocent people (not talking about criminal elements).

Ordinary people of Pakistan are most to gain from free judiciary. MQM claims that its innocent workers were killed in Army operation. They should have supported judiciary to stop any injustice.

I just hope that criminal/bhatta khore element in MQM becomes weaker. It will only become weak if moderate people like Khush Bakht Shujaat are given real powers, not just for media face.

All this because M.A.F just _had_ to be PM this time… doodh meN meNgniyaaN ab hi Daalni theeN?

@ TK

I think Zardari made this move to control MAF, who might be dreaming to make a forward block and get extra support from MQM etc. Hijra of Haram needs to be reminded he is not a ‘macho man’.

Now whoever Zardari nominates, will win. I am sure that Zardari took PML N in confidence, not because AZ loves N league but because of their reality.

my reading is that this is not because of good gesture. It is a msg to Amin Fahim that we will vote you and encouraging him to make a forward bloc in PPP.

mqm is more interested in making govt in Sind and there is a chance they will succeed in that with the help of Amin Fahim

I am not very happy about this move - not because I am against consensus - there should be consensus but the more political parties you would align with yourself the more compromises you would have to do when you are to implement your agenda. AZ and NS had more than two third majority - they didnt need any support for PM unless ofcourse they are going to move against Musharraf and have taken MQM on board to move against Musharraf and restore the judiciary. If that is the reason then its ok but other than that this move was not needed at all.

Maybe Zardari wants to save his party in Sindh because Amin Fahim would have made a forward block and to counter act that he has done that - maybe that is the reason. - If that is the case then Zardari is taking on board an evil entity who might be involved in attack on his wife on October 18 because without their involvement (police and all the agencies were under their command on Oct 18) attack on BB could not have happened.

A dangerous move by Zardari with full of risks.

28. moodykhan Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 7:58 pm

GOOD thing Zardari did nt request for Altaf Bhai to return to Karachi (in the greater interest of bla bla bla) - cuz that ‘d have caused him a fit !

AND by the way, These MQM folks let it out first and then they are taking rest of “oppoition in to confidence”! - way to go Morons.

29. Amir Hameed Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 8:01 pm

@c hussain

consensus but the more political parties you would align with yourself the more compromises you would have to do when you are to implement your agenda

You have made a good point here. If I remember correctly from the London’s gathering of all opposition parties, PML-N had agreed with IK on not to do business with MQM in the future. If PML-N was taken into confidence then I would consider it a U turn on PML-N’s part on its promise.

i realy dont understand that wts the point of having an election and to get a vote of change

wt if pml q comes with a changes faces means change in leadership n than they will be in government as well so wt is the point of havin a change of vote

is it endin up like every one gathers and start a new looting programm with new faces

the way pml n is shunt about it than …..

It seems to avert any maliscious design to disintegrate PPPP in Sindh by Amin Faheem. Clever move by AZ, the casualty again seems to be NS.

@Amir Hameed: hopefully this is just my paranoia speaking because I think the Neocons really want to hit Iran before Bush/Cheney get out of power.. They also might try to get a coup going in Pakistan before they’re out.. I don’t put any thing past these ppl..

I don’t think they can go for a full scale assault but they might try to do a limited strike this summer .. enough to deteriorate Bushehr etc but not enough for Iran to do anything too crazy.. They’ve been pressing the ‘M’ button without much success this time around.. so they’ll have to do some other false-flag sh!t to piss the ‘mawzlumm’ street off and get the kind of apathy for the traditionally war-averse european populations. (it worked like a charm for the lebanon war but I don’t know why they expect the ‘M’ button to work every time..)

33. Amir Hameed Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 8:24 pm

@Tab’an Khamosh
    I am pasting views of one of my US colleague with whom I often discuss the situation in Pakistan, the so-called war on terror, the US foreign policies, etc. This is also the opinion of a lot of people in US:
    —–
    I can only say that Bush has not made the world safer although he thinks so, but then an idiot by definition can hardly think.

All I can say, and this is really cynical, is that Bush reflexively cast what happened on 9/11 as something beyond a terrorist attack, something usually associated with interactions between countries. But there was no other country only a terrorist organization - but Bush went ahead using the only paradigm he knew and declared war on terror.

Now he could not only invade Afghanistan and botch catching bin Laden, but also screw our civil liberties in the name of homeland security, and then seeing how much money his cronies could make either through selling war material or capturing an oil rich state, decided to invade Iraq under dubious if not out right false pretenses. And then because of a cost saving mentality, botched the first few days of occupation, letting Iraqi’s loot and steal national treasures, buildings, and probable arms depots because we had too few troops or orders to stop it. To be followed by the stupid decision to disband the only really cohesive force in the country for maintaining order - the Iraqi Army. Not to mention dictating to the Iraqis to form their new government was to have causing policy deadlocks over the past 5 years.

And for this, Bush says it was worth it. Well, yeah, for his friends in the military industrial complex it really was worth it.

what about judges?
    Why MQM is numb on this issue?
    Again, gotta read Javaid Chaudhayr’s column today…
    PPP doesn’t support judges restoration.

Nawaz Sharif has nothing to lose….

http://www.express.com.pk/

This is funny.. all this to not have M.A.F because he may be an establishment man.. they’re going to let MQM call in favors “at a later date” knowing full well they are in bed with mush and will act as a fifth column within the ‘coalition’..

this is really bone-headed.. this is going to break the PML-N off and Zardari will be on mushie’s ‘rehm-o-karam’

M.A.F would have been infinitely more ‘controllable’ through soft channels than MQM.. this is a beast Zardari can’t control.. what is he thinking? It better be something huge we don’t know about because otherwise we’re essentially back to the NRO because this was the original deal PPP Q MQM coalition.. now we have the PML-N young turks all pissed off probably and they’re going to make a beeline for the opposition benches and an election in 12-18 months.

“good night” indeed.

aahmad

Nawaz Sharif has nothing to lose….

———————————————————————————————

It was very easy to get the votes by voicing for judiciary, its that difficult would be for them to go back & voice the same thing again, urban population would be a swing vote for quite some time due to the electronic medias influence on its audience.

The one who’s gonna rely on urban vote would be making a big mistake.

37. TomCat111 Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 8:56 pm

Sour grapes

38. econfused Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 9:19 pm

So are we ready to say Goodbye to PML-N and 60 Judges. So can we say battle lines will be drawn again?

I know its early, but it now I am trying to think what did Asfand Yaar Wali meant when he said

“Bayghairti aur maslehat main thora farq hota hai, aur hum maslehat say kaam lain gaiy, baygharati say naheen”

Well again,I support MQM in this forum, regarding judiciary I have stated earlier that I want to see an independent judiciary free from all external affairs like an independent judiciary. I don’t want to see the same CJ Iftikhar back with the same power but wanted to see him if he is back with full powers so that no one can intervene in Supreme court decisions, we had an example when he was restored back to his position by Justice Bhagwan Das and then later he was sacked by president Mr. Musharraf. In the past Nawaz has done the same thing with CJ, i don’t want to see the judges on the basis of interest. Judiciary should be supreme and an independent department so that no political parties or Generals can sacked them, we had so many examples in the past, if someone has some knowledge they should remember MR. Bhutto’s act as well. This chapter should be closed in a good manner and we should not allow any political parties to take advantage of current judiciary crisis in their favour.

Goodbye to PML.Q and Mush.Great move by Zardari

@nam,

“I want to see Justice Iftikhar with full powers”.

Impressive U Turn! Just bloody impressive U Turn ….

Tomorrow Altaf bhaee will be telling same thing in the your electricity wasting Jalsaa and all zombies will be clapping.

Looks like the end of “Bayta Bayta Game”. MAF got fooled when AZ used him to become the Co-Chariman of PPPP and has his son become the Chairman, when MAF son’s turn came to become the PM of Sind, AZ ditched him and also did same to MAF. Now his record is as clean as that of a new born (used MAF to get rid of all cases via NRO) and MAF is looking like a fool. Even NS, Qazi & Imran are silent on NRO as they have a bigger goal i.e. to get rid of common enemy “Mushi”, MQM is silent becasue they are the second most beneficiary.

Shery Rehman looks v happy in todays media briefing, may be becos she knows that Yousaf Raza Gilani is going to be PM.

@Navaid: could Zardari really be this devious? that’s some good chess-work right there :)
    Everyone is doing uturns.. MQM hated jageerdars, then they loved MAF, then they doublecrossed him after finding out his plans (and probably telling Zardari) and now they will support AZ?

M.A.F does look like a fool now don’t he?

I dont think Shah Mehmood Qureshi is out of the race as well!!

Naveed Qamar is the new horse in the running

USA has the intention to attack both Pakistan and Iran. The question is which order it will happen and NOT IF will happen. I suppose it will two different ways for two different situations. Iran and Pakistan are very different cases regarding unity etc.. Pakistan being far more vulnerable on the account of unity. We have numerous and well known contradictions well known and on top of that we have fifth column/Trojan horses amongst in form of PML-Q and especially MQM. They are citizens of a sewer system and are immensely dangerous for the existence of Pakistan, but unfortunately most people don’t realise that yet. We have reached a point where there is no room to have any kind of deal with or tolerance towards these people.

The Americans are making a determined and a wholehearted effort to weaken Iran. That part is NOT successful BUT where are they getting their determination to continue from? In my opinion from Pakistan - a rag rug state with immense problems, which are created mainly by the corrupt military and generally corrupt and incompetent political leaders. We are a nation of dumb people who refuse to think on issues. We are rather content of being “jiyalaa” in this and “XYZ” in another party etc. We have failed as a nation and as a people if we don’t pull our acts together . Otherwise we will NOT survive. THESE ARE DETERMINING MOMENTS OF HISTORY. Let’s stand together and make an honest effort to SAVE Pakistan. Let us sit together and have issue based politics instead traditional affiliation to some party.

The attack on Iran:
    The Americans will not need many soldiers to have the success they want. In Iran the are not that stupid that they will attack from land or sea. The situation is too difficult for that. I think they will opt for heavy aerial bombardment to destroy or make severe setback to the Iranian nuclear installations. They will also try to cripple the Iranian military in order to bring them in state so they are only to have a defensive capability. This will allow the Americans to have free flow of oil from the Persian gulf. If that is difficult then I think the Americans secretly might have made arrangement for free flow of oil via pipelines from Iraq to Turkey and from Iraq via Jordan and Israel.

The attack on Pakistan:

The way is widely different (and open) from Iran’s case. Pakistan being a rag rug state brought to this point by the establishment and the military. The politicians cannot be free of guilt either. We should have said enough is enough a long time ago. In my opinion it should have been done already when the criminal Zia-ul-HULK entered the crime scene. Ideally Pakistanis should have stopped the military the very first time when Ayub the gangster entered the scene. Anyhow I consider the situation better suited because of ZAB’s popularity in the masses, but what did we see? No reaction from the public when Zia made the coup. Are we a nation of cowards? Why don’t we move when it is required? Don’t we have any sense of situation left inside us? Look at the current situation. We are on the brink of disaster and still there are being talked of deals behind closed doors, when we need unity and clear messages to both the Pakistani nation and the outside world that we have had enough. The time has arrived for unity and we don’t want any interference in our internal matters from anybody. But what do we see instead? We see that Musharraf and his cronies has sold us to the Americans and the politicians are still roaming around and making deals. We have to realise that there is not much time left before we may see an attack on our nuclear installation. Without them we are an even more vulnerable state. We are witnessing proxy war from the Indians at the moment. The day we don’t have the nuclear threat the Indian threat can become a regular war on some kind of a pretext, for example instability in Karachi/Sindh created by the fifth column. In all this confusion the Americans will not find it too hard to get rid of our nuclear technology. Only a few precision strikes will be enough. The Pakistani nation will be held in dark when it happens and when we find it then it will be far too late.

GET YOUR ACTS TOGETHER AND WAKE UP PAKISTAN!!!!!!!!!

@Tab’an Khamosh

Considering his bright pass (Surrey Palace, Cotecna, etc.) this would be considered as child play and not devious by his standards. Having said that, it could well be that he had initially made sincere promise to MAF but than some other players may have jumped in and ruined the party for their own benefit, so AZ may well be in a postion to choose between the lesser destruction.

Correction past!

I think this is another well played shot by AZ. He is countering any future possibility of Amin Faheem creating trouble. Amin only chance for creating trouble was to get support from MQM and get his supportive MPA of Sindh assembly hence creating trouble for PPP making Govt in sindh. Asif Zardari eliminited this possibility by get MQM on his side before anybody else did. I have to admit AZ is play his card very well..

@navaid

I mean if AZ has managed to make us fool, then I would still want him to be running the show. As he has managed to keep the party together and bagged enough seats in assemblies. He has every right to make money form us poor folks. I mean come to think of it, at least million of people are behind him. Not like a dictator, who has to use barrel of gun.

My source told me today that Amin Fahim start his day around 2pm, he is a big fond of booze and sinfe-nazuk. No wonder Musharaf is dying for him to become the next PM!!

53. comment-top

It is rumoured that Gilani will be interim PM,after Mush’s departure he will be the President.

54. comment-top

Nothing has changed,
    If Zardari can become the PM of this country, then we all are cons and swindlers, he will be representing the masses - and the masses they are..
    Its the same QATIL league that he’ll join hands with..
    Its the same MQM who were bitter enemies and lots of people were killed of both sides whose blood was so cheap that it can be foregone for shaky and humble power..
    The judges issue is being putrified so that we give it up,
    Not restoring the judges, which can be done easily, is endorsing Musharraf’s rule.
    The General can still keep Iftikhar Chaudry under house arrest, he can still inhabit the Army house, what kind of a Civilian president is this..

The harm that Musharraf has done and is doing to our nation and Islam, no one have done in centuries..

Bloody Roach..

55. comment-top

Regarding General Hood’s appointment..

I think with this news someone must have started tying an explosive belt around his waist already..

56. comment-top

@econfused

I have no idea how you reached the conclusion that I am comparing AZ with dictator? He certainly is playing his cards very smartly and in a timely manner. Keeping MAF is yet another effort to keep the “million people” together.

57. comment-top

Is it possible to have the Edit option to be added and active for 15 minutes or so once the comments have been submitted?

Quick Question: Why my comments are under moderation?

Correction for last comments: Keeping MAF away from PM position!

58. comment-top

An interesting article:
    Hidden Wars: US Troops in Germany
    http://www.americanchronicle.com/articles/29226

59. londoner007 Says:
    March 21st, 2008 at 11:55 pm

another u turn by AZ and altaf
    altaf said my workers are saying to not sit with gov. but i think he was reay from day one and now he seen the bone and he jumped on it.

AZ made this move to save his party because of AF it might be good move for his party but its not good for pakistan. these (mqm) are same peoples who enjoyed every thing in past 5 years , what happened in karachi and how they supported mush. mqm is ready to do and take any u turn as long as they sit in gov. anyway if AZ is doing deal with them then we are expecting same old story. they will make peoples fool for 5 years and then will go in election mqm will blame ppp and ppp will blame mqm and after election they will be one again.

there is some hing going on behind the doors.
    i am sure AZ have contacts with mush thats why gov. is very keen and fast to withdraw cases against AZ, if this is true then pakista ka allaha he hafiz

60. comment-top

@navaid

As you point to brilliant past of AZ, so one has to assume that you have reservations about AZ. Question is when AZ is so much powerful that even a Fauji government has to back off, then may be time is right that he run the country :)

61. comment-top

Who will become the prime minister? PPP, PML-N coalition, MQM, PML-Q PPP coalition, AZ plans, restoration of judiciary,.
    I have been patiently watching and listening above issues on TV channels and on PK politics and happy to know people have started taking interest in politics.
    But …..consider this question….All that hard work of elections and post election issues, coalitions and decisions can be just undone by one General declaring martial law. Then…no assembly, no judiciary, no peoples will…what will happen. Its not a joke..i am serious….never underestimate PK army. They know the perks and privileges of a martial law administrator and army in general.
    They also know that article 6 is never and will never be invoked. Thay know people of Pk just dont care, atleast they wont fight with the army. they are already under inflation and load shedding crisis.
    What is the answer? How can we avoid another martial law?
    In my opinion, the one and the only way that future ML can be avoided is ” Musharraf should be tried by an independant judiciary. This wil be a lesson for other generals who may then not dare to attack Pakistan

62. comment-top

@shahab: you’re right bro, this issue is the big elephant sitting in the room that everyone in our politics hopes will go away by itself, but you know until someone get’s their hands slapped for putting their hands in the cookie jar too many times, we’ll keep having jurnails breaking into PM houses at 2:00am.

63. comment-top

@ Rasheed

look at my comments again”"”i don’t want to see the judges on the basis of interest.”"” u should read the same line in continuity. Nice try dude… Keep up the -ve things….

64. moodykhan Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 1:51 am

There are LOTAAs in other parties but MQM as a group is a one big fat LOTA ! ——–they have allied themselves with every single entity for their benefit.

PPP - MQM alliance news is not pleasing at all - Its not what ‘people’ wanted by their vote. They rejected Musharaf allies. (Of course Karachi elections are never fair)..

How could Asif Zardari forget about 12 May. was it not MQM that played their dirty game of blood and murder that day for sake of Musharraf.
    This is just NOT right people!!!!!

65. comment-top

moody it’s not PPP-MQM i think Asif Zardari talk on behalf of all other coalition parties….. I was watching Kamran Khan show and every one was saying ALTAF BHAI ALTAF BHAI… Moody Bhai wht’s the definition of LOTA/// and the point abt the KHI election that U have mentioned is not new, this was done b4 in 1971 where we didn’t accept and respect the vote of the people…. so i urge you to talk in a sensible way and show some acuity…

66. comment-top

If Zardari would bypass Nawaz Sharif and would go and make the deal with Musharaf and MQM, this would be a win win situation for Nawaz Sharif for future. Whoever is going to make the deal with Musharaf at the moment, he might would win for the time being but for the long run, would loose big time. This would be the death of PPP in Pakistan for long run if they would go and make the deal with dictator.

What about this theory, the whole Amin Fahim sega was created to justify to make the deal with MQM and PMLQ, so Amin Fahim is not going to black mail Zardari for splitting the party. This might be the excuse Zardari is going to use when he goes back to Nawaz Sharif.

67. comment-top

@sic5770, I think you have not hear Chaudrys when they where saying that NS sold his PMLN to Zardari and Company. NS future is link with Zardari they would die and live together.

68. temporarynick Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 3:52 am

This seems early to call it a positive or negative move. We have to see response from PMLN on this move. Were they being consulted and are they satisfied with this development.
    As Zardari already stated in Murree that we will talk to MQM after consulting with PMLN so i hope this is the case otherwise this can be a move to corner not only Ameen Faheem but to make PMLN under pressure. As so far from this PPP-PMLN colation, PMLN was gaining more strong position than PPP itself. PMLN was giving more solid impressions than PPP since the elections so considering this fear that PPP would become weaker and weaker more they depend upon PMLN, this can be a backup strategy for Asif Zardari.

But again all these speculations can be wrong depending what kind of cooperation PPP and MQM agreed upon.

69. comment-top

‘National Government” means ‘ bara dastarkhan - sab mil bant k khao. ‘

Lets have 150 ministers and 150 sub ministers who will get their turn after six months in ‘qaum’ k wasee mufaad’

Cost of our MNAs
    http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=20083\21\story_21-3-2008_pg3_5

Why don’t media makes noise about this and ask our politicians to cut down their expenses for the ‘qaumi mufaad’.

70. Wasio Abbasi Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 4:07 am

To tell you the truth, many supporters of Peoples Party are unhappy with the decision to align with MQM. Several members of PPP died due to MQM involvement before and during elections and for their blatant rigging they caused severe harm to poling agents of the rival party.

Members like Babar Ghauri are responsible for the destruction of valuable government records during these past years and one recent example is the recent fire that destroyed the land records. Just look at the number of lands being illegally occupied by MQM supporters and the benefit they will get with this mayhem. They have looted and plundered this city for so many years and have so many cases pending upon them. With this alliance, everything changes to where it was. Those Jiyalas who gave their lives to support PPP mandate, how can their souls rest in peace when you are joining hands with the enemy against whom they went ahead with open chest and head held high?

With this alliance, MQM will still remain in power, will continue to loot and plunder, will not suffer for the murders it committed thanks to NRO and NO RESTORATION of JUDICIARY and ultimately will lead to party disintegration.

What has AZ to lose with all this? Nothing … he’ll simply pack up and go for a peaceful and rich life in Dubai and the common Pakistanis will suffer, the Sindhis will suffer and would leave PPP Shaheed Bhutto group a clear ground to take over who will probably revive Al-Zulfiqar and we would see bloodshed like never before.

What is that idiot thinking about ???

71. comment-top

Well said Rasheed “” BARA DASTARKHAN”"” , no comments dude….

72. comment-top comment-bottom
  73. comment-top

biggest beneficary of NRO is MQM. More than 2000 cases withdrawn against MQM>

Shahid Kinnare

74. comment-top

@nam,

Why the hell should I read your words in continuation of just one line? Why shouldn’t I read yours and your Altaf Bhaee’s propaganda against Chief Justice Iftikhar since 9th March 2007?

You guys are such shameless creatures, I can’t imagine how you show your face the world while shamelessly switching sides.

75. comment-top

hehehe, ask Nawaz not to accept the forgiveness and the withdrawl of all the cases that were closed by Pres. Musharraf when he ran to Saudia . I don’t wanna say who was Mr. 10% and who made all the cases against Zardari, why was Sharif Marhoom was arrested & who arrest him…. AAP Kinnare hi mai lagay raho… Pakistan ko aagay barhnay do!!! Pakistan needs a stable and unity at the moment, to combat is not the solution… Hope aap Kinaaray sai beech mai zaroor AAo gai…

76. comment-top

@ Rasheed,
    my point of view is simple. Judges should not be appointed on the basis of interest, I have never switched, I try to look only towards the reality, I listen to every party’s point of view then I decide myself wether to support them or not… well it’s a very typical issue which was clearly evident in the capital talk with Malik Qayum and Aitzaz, but to better understand that show one should be noetic.

77. comment-top

@nam,

You definitely are zombie and speak whatever is fed to you. It was President Tarrar who pardoned fake hijacking case, not your chief Musharraf.

78. comment-top

@nam,

No one will fall for your chiknay chapray words here. We all know MQM’s stance against CJ since 9th March and the entire world has witnessed the bloodbath in Karachi on 12th May you did in showing your “Love” for CJ.

I can’t forget Altaf’s speech in Karachi on 12th May:

“Iftkhar Sahib … Aap nay Karachi kay logon ka khoon bahaa diya .. Iftikhar Sahib .. aap kay kalejay ko thand parr gayee hamara khoon ker key” …

You shameless creatures held the entire city hostage and deported CJ like it was your own country. No one is going to forgive you and inshallah all judges will be reinstanted and Sindh high court will inshallah hang you murderers.

79. comment-top

@econfused
    It would be naive to think that the dictator (army) is backed off because AZ is “so powerful”, the withdrawl of cases on the basis of NRO is good enough a signal to conclude that AZ and Mushi are going through the motions of the deal set uo by MAF/BB.

80. comment-top

PML N & PPP made many mistakes in the past. Till now, both are showing maturity. These parties used to win on the basis of animosity and people voted them on that basis.

In this election, people have voted them on the agenda of friendship with each other. If these parties fail to go together, people will punish them in next election.

I don’t like MQM top leadership mainly because of their violent tactics but they are a big reality in Karachi and Hyderabad. AZ must work with them because many people still vote them.

Some people think that AZ is trying to ditch NS which I think is not true. If there is any truth in that, then biggest winner is NS who can go to people with clean slate and win even more seats.

Why think negatively when RECENT past of these leaders have shown that they have matured?

81. comment-top

@ rasheed

MQM thrives on victim mentality. Best way to expose MQM is not to let it become ‘Mazloom’ in the eyes of its voters. That can be done by keeping MQM in government for next 5 - 10 years.

It is human psyche to unite in the face of threat and divide when threat is gone. We need to ensure ordinary citizens that they are not under threat from others. It will take time.

As far Altaf Hussain, I pray that God reward him if he is right (as claimed by his MQM supporters) AND punish him severely if he is behind all those crimes and murders. Ameen.

82. comment-top

@ Rasheed,

pardoned,,, by president, to phir courts kis liye hain if Nawaz’s case was fake then MQM cases were also political …. no one is Mazloom and MQM knows to struggle for a cause and their rights… and can Nawaz ran at that time without the deal with Pres Musharraf, PresTarrar to sirf ribbon katnaay kai liye thaaay…

83. temporarynick Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 5:40 am

@Optimist
    Its not about thinking negatively. The matureness that these leaders have shown was for democracy, independent judiciary and restoration of constitution. This was the mandate provided by people on 18th February.
    These were the main issues that PPP and PMLN have agreed upon to work together.
    MQM has a clear history opposing all these issues. They were part of the government supporting Mushrraf to destroy all institutions. They were very vocal on expressing their support for Musharraf even after the election.
    Following the same example, Musharraf should be forgiven as well for all the crimes he did so that we can have a broad-based national government.
    This is not reconciliation, this is negating the mandate given by people of Pakistan. And the clear beneficiary is MQM no doubt that if there is a dictator ruling, they were with him and when a democratic government is going to be formed they are supporting it as well.

84. comment-top

There are some guys here who are trying to compare cases against NS and that against MQM. This is the greatest misperception. NS had teh constitutional right to dismiss Musharraf and when he did it he didnt do anything wrong and when he was forced to sign teh paper he was forced into it by blackmail tactics against his family and his old father fearing for his life had to tell him to sign it.

Musharraf was hell bent on murdering NS and his past history has shown that he has murdered Bugti and BB and innoncent girls of Lal Masjid.

As for Altaf Hussain if he had just sought asylum in UK - we would have said its ok but his biggest crime was to accept British Nationality which means he has taken oath to the allegiance to Queen and that he would abide by the interests of British State rather than the Pakistan. If any ordinary pakistani accepts British or foreign nationality its ok but for a leader of national party to accept such a thing is not acceptable under any circumstances.

BB and NS have remained so many years outside Pakistan but they have never accepted foreign nationality.

85. comment-top

@c hussain

There is no room for such comparison. NS has had his deviating actions in his tenures, but these actions are of a total another character of what we are seeing from the MQM Trojan horses (your ref. to leaders allegiance to the UK Queen).

What NS did to remove the COAS was right. I would suggest the next PM to kick out the whole top brass of the criminal GHQ and replace them with people who are ready to follow the law of the land!

86. comment-top

@Rashid : Maybe you should post some info on “the cost of a General”, “The cost of a lietenant Jurnail” all the way up from Brigadier ?

As soon as we have a parliament everyone remembers the cost of a parliamentarian, but how come we don’t hear a peep about the damage jurnails do.. (and how much they cost to the nation?)

I think Military Inc. has some estimates on this. I’m not saying corrupt politicians should not be taken to task, what I’m saying is that we should not use that as an excuse to attach the political institutions just like we shouldn’t use corrupt and dishonourable jurnails to attack the institution of the Pakistani Military (acutally I think it should be a mandatory service for all pakistani young men instead of this BS volunteer thing.. — more on European lines)

87. comment-top

New twist, PMLQ is going to bring their own candidate for the PM and they are condemning the MQM decisions to withdraw Farooq Sattar for the PM slot.

88. comment-top

Look like PMLQ is not following the Musharaf’s order and MQM is along with Musharaf OR MQM is not following Musharaf’s order and PMLQ is taking the orders from Musharaf.

89. comment-top

Well the MQM is abondoning PML Qaaf. Which is to be expected. As they say “You know the ship is sinking when the rats start leaving”.

90. moodykhan Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 1:11 pm

@nam

Dear nam just becuase some body differ, does nt necessarily mean they are’nt talking ’sensibly’
    I call it a PPP-MQM alliance because PML N has serious reservation on this, they should voice them and probably will ,soon.
    Whereas politics should be about give and take there must be some principles.
    Either you continue to stand for those who dies needlessly on May 12vth or you dont. To embrace verything and anything in the spirit of national reconciliation is WRONG. Unfortyunately MQM is successfully creating a rift between the 2 winners of mandate of free people (I maintain karachiites are nt free any more). When I talk about karachi elections being massively rigged, I speak from experience.

91. comment-top

“Unfortyunately MQM is successfully creating a rift between the 2 winners of mandate of free people (I maintain karachiites are nt free any more).”

MQM has no choice except to sit in the Govt ( they will never sit in the opposition!!), on the other hand I dont think it is a bad move to take along MQM. New Govt has to face lot of difficult challenges in coming months and fight with MQM means disrupting the Karachi, which means disrupting the whole country.

Yes this is a blackmailing tactics from MQM but in politics, sometime you have to make compromises and surrender your principles.

92. comment-top

I think this has been done by PPP to pre-empt any possible moves on part of Makhdoom Amin Fahim.

Once Mush is given the middle finger salute there will be no more need for MQM.

93. comment-top

Agreed with all the maturity to get into power, maturity would be tested once they would start to tackle the issues. Lets pray for a just response from the corridors of power in near future.

94. comment-top

Why Can’t you guys see it as a rift between opposition???????????

Only friends MQM had was Qenchi league. Even they will stop trusting it. MQM may become a sign what WATTO has become in Punjab. A sign of untrustworthiness.

This is not necessarily my view but all those who think that Govt is to lose from this, can see that opposition is to lose more, especially when the sink is already half sunk.

95. Omer Khan Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 2:51 pm

oh wow, let’s see how much sherry rehman berates MQM now.

I guess Imran Khan can forget bringing any charges against the Don of edgeware.

COming days will tell if this is political samjhota and awakening or the more likelybecoming scenario of Is hamam main sab hi nanay hain.

May god help Pakistan. May the freedom loving spirit of Pakistanis never fizzle out.

Loop da loop da loop. let’s take you for another ride they chanted from the glittering, flambouyant Domes and Halls.

96. comment-top

@Optimist,

I have never consider PMLQ or MQM as an opposition. There are only two parties in Pakistan ( or in fact two groups, Nawaz group and Zardari group!!). Once these groups are united, now the real fight is between the Zardari and Nawaz group vs the establishment. That fight is still on and will never end in Pakistan’s life!!

97. comment-top

Establishment has played a very dirty game once again. By involving all larger parties in govt., the risk of conflict increases automatically. PML(N) and MQM = old time odds, … PML(Q) and PML(N) again rivals (or the same thing).
    I think PPP is doing very good by getting along with all parties because this is the only way of getting Pakistan out of crisis and foreign involvement.
    But I am afraid the govt. will not last long … As long as Mush is there, they are united. Once Mush is gone … MQM and PML(both) will show their real (dirty) face and it will happen very soon.

98. comment-top

“MQM and PML(both) will show their real (dirty) face and it will happen very soon.”

@fantagiri,

What made you think that PPP is not going to show her dirty face? Dont tell me that your name is Bilawal Zardari and you just got permission to type on computer!!

99. najma_ahmed Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 3:15 pm

@Optimist
    Thanks for missing me
    Writing was on the wall. I knew it and I was 100% sure that establishment wasn’t going to give in. I called PPP-PML(N) alliance unnatural yesterday and I was thinking that establishment will come up with a formula acceptable to all parties except PML(N). Establishment has been favouring AZ and he is happy to see his cases being expelled day in day out; so why does he need PML(N)? Only one winner has emerged from all this political wrangling and that is our establishment.

100. najma_ahmed Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 3:27 pm

To be in power in Pakistan, one needs support of establishment. AZ knows that too. Those who have challenged the powers of establishment have undergone tough time and subsequent political wilderness. Nawaz Sharif’s example is before us. MQM had problem with establishment during the 90’s but now they are partners. When would our political leaders learn lessons from past? No matter where you come from; Left or Right; you need establishment to get power.

101. comment-top

@najma_ahmed

interesting analysis….

But I hope its not true ! Pakistan has nothing left in it to be looted anymore. The past 8 years pushed us back enough. I hoped that whatever party comes in power will actually do work this time :(

The MQM joining hands with PPP. That’s very troubling news. If it is a move by AZ to force AF to remain with the party, he is pushing other elements out of the party. An example would be AH. He would be in a very direct conflict with his own party over the judiciary issue.

btw …. AZ has shown maturity over last month… but I don’t trust that guy at all. Not till he shows some good work instead of ambiguous and mysterious statements.

102. najma_ahmed Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 4:17 pm

@ondoner007
    I think common sense has prevailed and all parties have shown political insight by excluding PML(N) from the govt-forming process. AZ has played his cards well and establishment used Amin Fahim smartly to keep pressure on AZ. MQM, PML(Q) and Pagara League are establishment parties and will toe the line as asked by establishment . AZ has spent too much time in jail and learnt a very important lesson; When in Rome do as the Romans do

103. Wasio Abbasi Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 4:23 pm

Well as I type, I can hear on TV that Yousuf Raza Gillani has been announced as the next PM of Pakistan.

To tell you the truth, things are getting VERY difficult here. One thing people should keep in their minds. Makhdoom Ameen Faheem has an honourable history with PPP and has a name that commands respect throughout Sindh. He is one person who will NEVER compromise against PPP and will NEVER form a forward block. He would rather prefer to quite politics and sit on couch for the rest of his days than do that.

Secondly I just got confirmation from Larkana. People are really pissed at Asif Zardari at the moment. Not allowing MAF to become PM and committing the biggest mistake by not just aligning with MQM but also give them ministries is the work of the most insane person in the country. AZ will not be the one who’ll answer the people, it will be the MNAs and MPAs who’ll be facing the brunt which they don’t deserve. Everyone is saying that the monkey got the power and he’s unable to handle it and dancing insanely on the tune from Mush, Bush and Altaf and in the process not just making his own son a laughing stock (all the way from UK just to announce the name and not even doing that) but shaming the country in the whole world.

Allah help us all … things are going to be VERY tough for us.

104. comment-top

Yusuf Raza Gilani named as PM by PPP

105. najma_ahmed Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Yes it is true; no matter which party gets power the plight of Pakistani people will not change an iota. We will have same problems like shortage of water, atta, gas and power even after another 10 years. We are further facing problem of suicide bombers and no one knows how to tackle this fast growing problem.

AH is not the man favoured by establishment and these days he is not walking on his feet rather he is being carried on shoulders of shouting lawyers. MQM is now a good and skilful political player; not possible for any govt-forming party to rule them out.

PML (Q) is once again a winner; thanks to establishment
    There is an old saying; you scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours.

106. chooran vali sarkaar Says:
    March 22nd, 2008 at 7:42 pm

Altaf bhai approved. here is a recording: