l Capital Talk – 22 March 2008 | Pakistan Politics
{ 49 comments... read them below or add one }

• Riddle 792 said:

Here we go, Hamid Mir is so candid and sweet with Haidar Rizwi ( Haidar Bhai) and than he said Altaf Bahi. :)

During the emergency crisis and his ban, he used to say in journalistic community that I am getting death threats from MQM and have sent my family to Dubai… and now this ?????

What does this total change in attitude means……………….GEO is on knees for MQM and establishment these days….When it was off air and people use to congratulate GEO for its stand, I used to say that wait and see……GEO is a business enterprise and it must have some benefit in pocket if it is doing this…….. as every business have rights for itself….

May be I am wrong… but I see PMLN backing from restoration of judiciary issue in coming days or PMLN will be ditched by PPP….. if not than it will be interesting to see PMLN ministers and MQM ministers working together…………….

• k3 said:

@ around 22:30
    MQM guy is talking about how establishment does not want democracy in the country and blah blah . This is both a joke and irony to our nation. i don’t know whether to feel sad or laugh on that.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

This should be interesting! Also, Who is “Mehreen Bhutto” ? is that Sanam Bhutto’s daughter who was there wit h Bilawal etc? just saw her name at the ticker

this mqm guy usually just wastes time .. and didn’t dissappoint this time either..

“Pakistan kay vasee’ tar mafaad men Shipping ki ministry lay lay gi agar aap bazid haiN to”

• qabil50 said:

Our heartiest congratulation to Mr Yusuf Raza Gilani for the nomination of Premiership of Islamic republic of Pakistan. You are the right person and very well qualified for the highest post in the nation. Currently Pakistan is facing many challenges and is in serious crises. We hope that the comming government under your leadership (Yusuf RazaGilani ) will steer our country out of the current crises. We ask you to give priorities to the followings

1. Maintain the supramacy of Parliament
    2. Amend 58-2-B
    3. Restore independent judiciary and reistate the sacked judges
    4. Improve law and orders
    5. Economic and education reforms
    6. other reforms to benifit each citizen of Pakistan

• lota6177 said:

@riddle792
    A little background on hamid mir, back in the days when he was a student and his father was a professor in Punjab University. His father who was a journalist also at the time was writing against Gen Zia ul haq. Gen Zia gave jimat islami the job to shut his father up. They send Liaqat balouch to threaten his father and when he didn’t stop writing they involved his older brother in a made up murder charge. Liaqat Balouch was personally involved in this whole effort. One day they even kidnapped hamid mir outside his house and their intention was to murder him but they were seen kidnapping him by his mother who ran screaming after the car. They roughed him up and gave him a message to tell his father to stop writing. His father died due to a heart attack after a few months while his son was wanted for murder. He and his family went through a lot and you can see Liqat Balouch appearing on capital talk. Keep this in mind when you raise the mqm question about hamid mir.

• najma_ahmed said:

@Riddle 792
    Do you want TV talk shows of your choice? Should GEO select it s panel after consultation with you? Why don’t you like dissenting views on TV?

• k3 said:

@lota6177

what is ur source? i heard lot of stories about different important personalities and sometimes they are conflicting. so please share your source with us?

• lota6177 said:

column by abaas athir in daily express lahore. It was published a day after imran khan got arrested in punjab university due to ji. I will look it up and post a link in a day or two if it is still online.

• k3 said:

Magic of NRO

The government of Pakistan is estimated to have squandered about a million pounds, pursuing the Surrey Palace case for almost seven years. The price of the Rockwood estate, bought in 1995 by Mr Zardari presumably for 4.35 million, is now said to be worth over $7 million.
    Full news here
    http://dawn.com/2008/03/23/top14.htm

• k3 said:

@lota6177

thnx bro. i didnt mean that i was suspecting your story, but it is a logical thing to give source when you are saying something which is not common knowledge

• lota6177 said:

@k3
    part 2 read this also
    it is very disturbing so i didn’t beleive it when i read it also.
    http://www.ibitians.com/2007/11/23/islami-kan-tutte-aur-wairs-mir-2/

• k3 said:

@lota6177

i was about to say there is no name of Liaquat Baloch in the first column but the second part explains it.

now the whole story has lot of weight behind it. thnx for sharing it.

• lota6177 said:

@k3
    while you are at it you might wanna read this column by hamid mir about bb and please becareful of anyone driving a car with plated LH9523
    http://www.ibitians.com/2008/01/02/aakhri-mulaqat/

• lota6177 said:

does anyone know where is dr shahid masood. The offical story is that he is studying in the usa but is that really true?
    http://www.ibitians.com/2007/07/14/kon-thien-kahan-chali-gayien/
    http://www.ibitians.com/2007/08/03/mehfooz-raaste/

• ilovepakistan said:

Hamid Mir is as a patriot as there is any in Pakistan. But his hosting a TV programme which is rated as the most popular one for its independent and lively debates, also sets him in another role – an independent and unbaised journalist out to present an even-handed view of things to his viewers. Obviously he was looking to address the withdrawal of candidature for the PM by the MQM and there was no way other than to invite an MQM man to explain their point of view. MQM, despite all the charges it has received consistently from its detractors, enjoys popular support within its own constitutency. It is therefore better for all major parties to engage it and, in the process, help reform it than treating the MQM leaders and its ranks as the prototypes of Bugti who died as a ‘rebel’ though for me he was the biggest supporter of federation.

• lota6177 said:

@ilovepakistan
    i agree with your post other than comparing bughti who died as an offical rebel declared by the govt of pakistan to mqm. Bughti and mqm are like apple and oranges. There is no simlarities and bughti was an honorable man.

• BABU FROM USA said:

I think we should pray for new government.
    We should also pray for the guidence of all the politicians and others.
    It is not always a case that if someone was wrong in the past will be always wrong in the future.
    we should give them some time to see what they will do.

• Wasio Abbasi said:

“bughti was an honorable man.”

True … so very true. He could have done a lot for the Balochis if the government had not made him an outcast and an enemy in his own country and hunt him down in such a coward way.

• Fahim23 said:

Sanam bhutto has 2 kids, one girl named Aazadi and one boy Shehryar.

• crazyrz said:

Who is Mehreen Bhutto

• londoner007 said:

I am totally against pmlq like most of other pakistani but if ppp is taking mqm on board then what is wrong with pmlq . they both mqm and pmlq both share and support mush.

i think pmlq is far better then mqm , then why only mqm i think hamid mir should rais this question too and i don’t think most of pakistani are happy by this news that mqm will be in gov. soon . hamid mir should ask question to the peoples on the street not on the street of karachi only all over the country then he will have clear picture.

mqm just want to sit in the gov. all the time because they want cover up for their crimes thats why they dich pmlq and ran for the bone.

and i think they will dich mush too if they get better deal from AZ or NS

• londoner007 said:

this rizvi is repeating same words again and again in every programe.

• khushbakht3 said:

hamid mir is one of the best anchors of pakistan and ansar abbasi as well.thats why the foreign media considered hamid mir as HERO OF PAKISTANI MASSES and i think its true.he changed the mood of pakistanis and even my self.
    his father waris mir was also the great journalist.(may his soul rest in peace).i think he has done his jab very well.
    GOD bless HAMID MIR and his family.amin

• Imtiaz said:

MQM controls GEO. Hamid Meer had to show respectful to MaliQMkan.

• khushbakht3 said:

@imtiaz
    i dont think so hamid mir show respectful to maliq qayyum
    he is neutral throughout the program

• khushbakht3 said:

@imtiaz

MaliQMkan.???

• aahmad said:

I have totally lost respect of GEO TV since they have started transmission again.
    They are now propoganda machine for MQM and MUsh. Why a sane channel would telecast a ‘soft’ interview of a dictator a night before National Assemblies 1st session.

Altaf Daccu has always been presented a ‘national leader’ where he is only good for urban Karachi.

I personally think Aaj TV is the best news channel.

• sleepingnation said:

whaetever Gwo do for MQM and ush..these thugs will not survive too long…..i wonder why one ethnic bsed party confined to a city and represnting a specific ethnic group is gven so much coverage by Geo…

Geo will los its credibility very soon……i always write that aaj tv is much more better , balanced and profesional as compared to Geo TV

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

I’m sure every time they discuss “debate on defense budget” our Maalik Makaan adaarah cringes a little bit..

but it is true.. if we continue like this, we’re not gonna have a country to defend (see also: Iraq)

• savage said:

I noticed that not even a single episode from Mr. Hamid Mir without MQM representative, OK if he gives this argument that MQM has some 20 seats in NA assembly so their view should be aired, I buy that argument but then why same time is not given to ANP which has around same number of seats. Geo has become MQM’s mouth piece.

GEO team just try to fuel the fight between two parties, like HM was so low when he asked MAF “aap aaj kal aik shair bahut suna rahey keya us ke barey aap kuch bata saktay hai” I felt so disgusted and didn’t expect something so humiliating and low from HM.
    “Jeenay do kutny Geo”.

• zia m said:

Special edition of Hamid Mir tonight at 11:05 PST.

• urazzaq12 said:

man, what the hell is wrong with hamid mir…????

He knows what kind of unconditional support mqm dogz are giving to pppp, and hez still acting like he doesn’t know it….these terrorists are demanding ministries more than their “aukaat” .

If press cannot criticize mqm, why does it support mqm either…
    the way h.mir is talkin hez supporting mqm in a way..

I had respect for h.mir, but he turned out to be such a ………^*&^#*

• urazzaq12 said:

and after the nomination of yusuf raza was made public, the clips geo played was a real attempt to make a split between ppp…

don’t they realize what this country is going through, and what they are doing….

• zia m said:

MQM has seen the writing on the wall and offered uncondional support to PPP. But PML-Q is too dumb they will self destruct…JMHO

• aahmad said:

Mush is already planning a second emergency.
    I think MQM was planted by Mush to put rift amon PPP, N and ANP allience.

http://www.akhbar-e-jehan.com/home/islamabad.php

• sic5770 said:

There will be no emergency from Musharaf, if anyone think Mush either can force emergency or break the current assemblies, need to read Akhbare-e-jahan instead of following the Pakistan politics.

• Tab'an Khamosh said:

What is wrong with this picture? Yes – 8 Generals and One TunDaa MaNDa loola laNgRa civilian on Yom-e-Pakistan

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/mar2008-daily/23-03-2008/up62.gif

This is the first thing we need to remedy. Both the people on the Dais should be civilians and the Military should be behind them on a lower Dais. These people look like a bunch of gangsters … daNdanna rahay haiN hamaari chaati par mooNg dal rahay hai.. mulk toR rahay haiN jaNgaeN haar rahay haiN

aur naKhray bhi kar rahay haiN

• khushbakht3 said:

hey why are the you people criticising hamid mir ,he is a well known journalist not only in pakistan but also all over the world.
    but unfortunately he is still under a lot of restrictions.and inshaAllah soon he started a new capital talk.(not new show)but soon we see capital talk which we like.InshaAllah

• savage said:

@khushbakht3

I like Hamid Mir, but lately capital talk seems have 2 hosts, Mr. Mir himself and a MQM guy.

• taimurdar said:

Why the hell is hamid mir inviting these MQM thugs?????????? WHY?
    Where is mush’s commitment to ASSASSINATE ALTAF “BHAI” ….
    Can someone ask this question to army chief please…

• GM said:

PPP contacted MQM becos of US pressure, as reported by some sources:

http://www.ummatpublication.com/lead6.php

• khushbakht3 said:

@ all
    sabar ka phal meetha hota hai.

InshaAllah we will see a big change in capital talk ,soon.
    it is important to hear the views of both sides thats why hamid mir has invited babar ghori.

• Omar said:

What crap questions by Hamid Mir to MQM people.

Why no body in these talk shows asks bloody MQM people about their Altaf bhai. Since his last drop of blood is for Pakistan then what the hell he’s doing in England.

• Omar said:

OMG……
    what a joker…A must watch video of “Altaf bhai”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaNy2NqeSBs

• melansar said:

I am hooked to PkPolitics and earlier posted commented also. However, since it required registeration to post the comment I never felt compelled to register. But today’s Hamid Mir’s show is a shock for me.

To me journalists, lawyers and Judges are the true heroes. Also, I have great admiration for Hamd Mir. But the first time I got extremely hurt due to him was his article about Bilawal while he was doing the job of “image building” for him. He did not even bother to raise the point that PPP should “democratically” selected their leaders. And in his zeal to promote Bilawal he lowered himself to a point that he (Hamid) does not deserve. He lost half of his respect in my eyes.
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jan2008-daily/10-01-2008/col4.htm

Later, I thought that I have seen this problem with many rational and logical PPP supporters (for example, Aitzaz Ahsan and Arshad Ahmed Haqani) … so I still kept reading and listen Hamid Mir. But today’s show … Hamid you have disappointed me … you have disappointed many of us. Please don’t lower yourself to this stage. You know it better than me that respect is earned over a long time, but is lost swiftly. You will be our hero as long as you will stand for principles … otherwise, you too will go down the history like many otherwise talented people, such as Mushahid Hussain …

” [...] sweetness of dates and telephone calls make it happen ….” Yuk … Why don’t you also answer the sweet questions posed to the Haider and Baber, instead of troubling them to open their mouths? …

For pkpolitics commenters … I admire all of you for keeping a check on any one who takes a non-principled stand on issues, even if he be as revered as Hamid Mir, Talat, or Aitzaz. That is the only way for our Ba-Izzat survival.

• khushbakht3 said:

geo breaking news

amin faheem resigned from ARD

• MIRROR said:

if u guys pay attention to the reply of KHURSHID SHAH after he being asked that what are the merits of YUSUF RAZA GILLANI. if loyality, seniority, experience and party officer-bearer ship are the true merits, then nobody in PPP is more quilified then AMIN FAHIM. its non-sense what zardar had done. I have no doubt in my mind that after Z.A. BHUTTO’s murder, PPP lives only to seek revenge from pakistan and pakistanis.