Live With Talat - 25 March 2008

Talat Hussain discusses the visit of US states department officials and the indulgence of foreign forces into Pakistan’s internal affairs. It is a public call in program.

42 Comments »

1. Hardliner Says:
    March 25th, 2008 at 8:43 pm

is this voice down thing part of PEMRA sensor policy OR bad recording?

if I want to see what ppl thinks about certain things then i dont have to watch Live with Talat, I can just go to the market to find out. What I meant is that Live with Talat is better with guests which have knowledge about the subject.

WOW that was quick, thanks a lot.

@K3
    sorry i do not agree with u every body can go to market to find out but how u send this voice to the so called big apples for me last 2 live with talat shows are much better than “big analysts” views.

Pakistan is a democratic and a soveriegn state and no one should dare to interefare in the internal and external affairs of Pakistan. Pakistan awam has awken and the politicians must understand the mood of the nation. We have to formulate our foriegn policy based on what is best in the interst of Pakistan.

Mush and his cronies are fully responsible for what’s happening in our country. His reckless policies, both internal and external, ought to be reversed imediately. PML-N and PPP must unite on one foreign policiy that is based on what is best in the interest of Pakistan. I ADMIRE MR NS FOR HIS STANCE ON FOREIGN POLICY, THAT IS ON EQUAL FOOTINGS AND THAT IS WHAT IS IN THE BEST INTEREST OF OUR COUNTRY. PPP ON THE OTHER HAND IS LITTL SOFT AND AMIGUOUS ON OUR FOREIGN POLICY.

7. Pessimist Says:
    March 25th, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Talat should Interview one of these US states department officials

BASH THEM!!
    and let them know how we feel about them intervening in our internal matters

This caller is stupid and has no sense what so ever. His criticism of Talat and other journalist was unjust. Mr Talat is very professional, courageous and very very courteous. Yes indeed Mr Talat did embrac the criticism politely.

9. taimurdar Says:
    March 25th, 2008 at 9:56 pm

Well if we keep taking millions of dollar funds from them then these politicians will keep saying yes to every word those americans say. There has to be a line drawn between, and the one who’s responsible for this is the so called president of pakistan.

we should politely refuse they demands which are not in our interests.

I have noted, like Talat himself his audience is also very well versed. Or they feel compelled to talk descent which once used to be the trademark of our culture.

When I go to my village, I find their language much more pure and descent as compared to the urban masses who are getting more and more crude and sort of fast food language. I was surprised to know that, in the area of Kohistan every single person is MashALLAH able to converse in poetry/prose!

12. nawaz shah Says:
    March 25th, 2008 at 10:17 pm

I reguest u talat please please invite these amirican bastared and ask them why why u interfare in every matters of pakistan these amirican wants us to be in stone age please talat and dr shahid masood both of you should invite these amiricans and ask them question which pakistan layman have in his mind please if u can see my comment please i need ur response thanks

TALAT. You are supposed to have guests in your prog and those bolta duos taking calls. Can you not control them of its mismanagement?

We like you interrogating geusts.

excellent show, Talat is right when he says that we as a nation have everything going for it but the sad thing is for numerous reasons we are not fulfilling that potential. but we will remain optimistic always.

I was really pleased to hear the callers on this show, it was actually better than the usual claptrap one gets to hear from the “analysts”. Although I must confess LWT has teh best quality overall and even the listeners are on the ball!

Congratulations to Talat for a great show. I was really touched by the story of the 7 year old. This is the biggest victory for People like Talat, we have young ones who are growing up with a sense of respect for the constitution and the rule of law. If we get even one generation like that, our future is bright!

Talat says asal khatoone awal of Pakistan was also present in the ceremony. Who is Pakistan’s “asal khtoon e awal”? Mrs. Gillani? :)

17. temporarynick Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 12:18 am

Excellent program and i think only those people who like MASALA and enjoy watching fights between different politician/analyst will disagree with this. The callers were very open and did provide different aspects of how people are really thinking these days.
    I will add to this that people like me living abroad cannot go to markets and get a first-hand knowledge of how AWAM is taking these new developments and what is their perception.

18. Amir Hameed Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 12:34 am

@Tab’an Khamosh
    I second your thoughts. The one thing that I found was common among all the callers was that they all spoke againt the one-man show, they all spoke against the visiting American mvtherfvkers and above all they had a pride in their thoughts and tones that they now had a sovereign parliment. Very good program. I liked Talat’s comments on Shaukat Aziz.

@asfand1: I think he meant Mian Soomro. because Shaukat Aziz wasn’t there perhaps.

Does anybody has link to Cj. Nisar speech in National Assembly, which GEO muted with Baysharmi?

21. mu_chng@yahoo.com Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 12:43 am

ECONFUSED

GEO was only interested in getting rid of previous CHORs. They are not interested in educating the people anymore now. Thats why they muted CHORY Nisar speech.

22. mu_chng@yahoo.com Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 12:46 am

Any one knows if Dr. Shahid Masood was the only casualty in the media after every thing has been said and done?

My Pakistani brothers and sisters.

I feel ashamed by the comments the person (clearly and MQM agent) calling from Karachi made. I am sorry.

I am urdu-speaking and live in Karachi and want to tell you that an armed political group (MQM - Mutahida Qatil Movement) has hijacked this city. Please save us.

Also the caller who wrongly alleged wrong doing on Mustaq Minhaz was extremely sad. The person should be ashamed of himself and should check his facts before making such an allegation. Shame on that caller and the one from Karachi.

All the rest of the callers and whatever I heard from them, makes me a happy man. The Pakistani people are simply amazing and understand things fairly well.

24. imalik5525 Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 3:29 am

talat is awsome.

he is CHAMPION journalist

simply the best

imran malik
    va usa

Assalam o allaikum,
    I feel talat has improved alot but I still remember his program about swat in which despite all the people he interviewed said that they want Shareeat in Swat, his conclusion was that what you heard from these people was not true and majority are against Shareeat. I was very disappointed at Talat’s stance. It was simply bad reporting or maybe pressure from the establishment, i dont know. Anyways, quality of analysis in his programs has improved alot.
    Hamid Mir on the other hand though is less analytical but he is spot on when it comes to facts.

26. faisalmirza Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 6:58 am

Is something wrong with viddler today? I am having etreme delay in loading the videos!!

i think Talat is right …we need aid with honour and dont need it at the cost of our soverignity ….
    the person who was critical about Kashif ….shud go to Kashif…not to Talat….if he has complains ….he sounds like mush fellow…
    Kashif is slightly more blunt then Talat …
    Talat is mature enough to handle the most annoying guest…
    Kashif ,obviously is a great anchor but need to learn a lot with offcourse wud learn with the passage of time …
    Good luck to Kashif …
    Hats of to Talat

watch at @00:39:35 . The caller named BILAL seems to be the son of Musharraf. listen to Talat reply at the end “no respect for a person who is not eligible to be elected” (reference to Musharraf)

29. aristotle Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 9:55 am

I don’t agree that caller’s views that our journalists are not professional and their behavior is negative. The caller cited Kashif Abbasi’s attitude towards politicians especially to all ex ministers. I must say that majority of our journalists is matured /grown up. They behaves like a professional but there are some personalities who are not interested in self respect so what can we or any journalist do for him? People who does not believe in Respect for all how can they expect respect from others? Respect is a right of them who respect others not our ex ministers who were talked about Opposition leaders, political party workers, Chief Justice, Lawyers and Journalists in a very offensive manner.

Kashif Abbasi whatever he did or do with them, I think they deserve it. Plus, Truth is always bitter so we must develop habit of digest it. Harsh ground realities create bitterness which reflects in our tone. Journalists are a part of our society and directly affected by all those steps/decisions/policies whatever was taken by previous government and Mr President.

Talat Hussain, Kashif Abbasi, Shahid Masood,Nusrat Javed, Mushtaq Minhas, Hamid Mir and others like him are the “Voice of People” People of Pakistan. Don’t try to curb it becoz Mr President had tried and badly failed.

sorry watch @00:33:00

31. defaultuser Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 11:38 am

yaar I think Aaj TV is not biased atleast like GEO.
    HAMID MIR is a good anchor person but as everybody knows he is a man of agencies.
    Atleast I’ve not heard the same for AAJ TV Team and specially TALAT.

I hope most of the people will agree

@ Talat Hussain
    The way Talat responds to callers is excellent. Irrespective of whether the caller was an intellectual or talked rubbish, whether he supports Talat or opposes, Talat is always decent and polite.

Nusrat Javed is exactly opposite. Very rude and impatient.

Has anyone else noticed it or is it my viewpoint / observation?

33. dictated_democracy Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 6:26 pm

@pessimist you are 100% correct. I back you. tallat must talk to these…………Schweines.

Iftikhar Ahmad is another one who is missing as a mention. He truly grilled the politicians before PEMRA came along. Since then he has almost disappeared.

All these politicians have been talking about free media but i have noticed a few statements from PPP recently where they have also been calling for responsible media .

While there is nothing wrong with the slogan, its exact interpretation by the rulers of the time makes one very suspicious. We need all these guys (media persons) to check the civilian rulers as well. I wish them well.

@Adam1
    Nusrat is not rude at all only if you can understand him. He is my favorite.
    You know like films some things are targeted for different audience ( you can call it immature, cynical, sadistic or crude minds)

Talat may be very well educated but harbours some grudge against Nawaz league. the other day when one of his participants said that Shabaz sharif has good administrative skills he brushed it off as a mere legend. He does support the PPP, but he should be more neutral during a program. Even though Nawaz is more stern when it comes to the US, this guy never gives him the credit.

@zenith
    I can assure you it is your own biased. Talat says lot of hard things about Musharraf , BB , Zardari but you only seem to notice when he says something hard about Nawaz
    Just read his columns and you will notice that he is much nice to nawaz then zardari

38. Amir Hameed Says:
    March 26th, 2008 at 8:53 pm

I do not believe that Talat has any grudge against NS.

No one can assure another of his impartiality, but i take ur point. I haven’t read his work a lot, but I have noticed some ill-feelings from his attitude in live programs.

Talat Hussain is one those journalist who has been most consistent. It is impossible to be 100% correct all the time, but I believe that Talat Hussain is very committed and performs his duty to the best of his ability. One can maybe misunderstand his habit of giving a sharp comment.

I don’t think we should critisize on petty issues.

Dear Admn
    AA
    Cant watch this video? can u pl do something?
    Amin M Arfi Dr

42. sajidahmed Says:
    March 27th, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Dear Admin,
    What is the problem with the Bolta Pakistan and Live with Talat from 25th of March I can not run any of them. The message apearing is ” The video no longer available”. Can you please fix this problem.

May Allah give you Ajer for this whole work. You are doing service for the nation in and out Pakistan.

Sajid