{ 65 comments... read them below or add one }

S H said:

he is a mature politision, i am not pakhtoon but i believe that he is a elder of nation..

econfused said:

Thanks admin, I enjoyed it on TV

Optimist said:

I have great respect for ANP leadership because of their non violent policies.

I hope that they expand in other areas of Pakistan. Since ANP leaders are not violent criminals, other races will join them too. If I was in Pakistan, I would have opened their office in my area.

Democrat Pakistani said:

Excellent interview

I AGREE WITH CHANGE OF NAME FOR FOR PROVINCE

Democrat Pakistani said:

ANP is a very good and mature party.
    ASFAND IS GREAT LEADER

Fahim23 said:

ANP is one of the or probably The oldest party pakistan have.

The another ignored gem we have is Nawab Khair Bux Mari (he is now anti-pakistan unfortunately) but I once heard his one interview and whatever he said directly hit my heart!

savage said:

I really think ANP could be the best thing happened to NWFP, I also think he is the most mature and honest person in politics in Pakistan right now and we are lucky we have people like as our leaders. Just few concerns as a non-pashtu speaking Sarhadi.

1. Session was held in Pashtu, while a large population of Province doesn’t understand pashtu.
    2. Name pakhtunkhoa doesn’t not represent all the province, etc. Hazara belt, Kohistan and southeren division.

Asfand Wali Yar sir, being most popular leader of the province don’t forget non-pashtun, we are also part of your province and take us in your fold too sir.

Optimist said:

Mehmood Khan Achakzai is a great leader as well.

Zarak Khan said:

First time I have heard ANP’s politics being discussed at length. I am greatly impressed. I agree with comments above by my fellow pkpolitics brothers that Asfandiyar Wali should be encouraged and allowed to play a greater role in national politics and not just stay restricted and confined to NWFP. We need people of his maturity and vision at the national level.

On another note I think the interview moderator needed a vitamin b-12 shot or maybe something stronger.

Zarak Khan said:

Addendum to my comment above:

Why doesn’t Imran Khan get closer to Asfandiyar Wali instead hanging out with JI and Qazi party.

zenith said:

Why do these guyz give precedence to ethnicity over nationalism and even religion. I think that is where we all lack we prefer to be arabs, turkish( ottomons), persians and in pakistan : sindis, Punjabis, Baluchis, and pakhtoons. Afghans claim that all pakhtoons should be in afghanistan even though most of them are in peshawar. I am really dismayed when many people think this way. If this was so, then may be pakistan was a mistake. Its sad though very sad indeed.

econfused said:

@zenith

Listen again, its not about precedence. It is about identification, listen to his interview again. He is asking for a name for his province. We have this province without a name.

You are trying to bring up an issue, which was not discussed by Asfand Yar Wali. You have to understand identification is different than ethnicity.

Seriously, before this interview I never understood the reason behind this name change for a province. BTW most of paktoons are not in Peshawar :) you got to read history bit more. At least read as much, as you been reading US history.

Optimist said:

We should appreciate peace loving ANP and their past is a living proof that they want peace.

A salute to our great Pakhtoon leader from myself (Pakistani who belongs to Punjab).

TK said:

@Zarak Khan: Interesting question re: IK and JI indeed!

Although I think I have seen a marked drop in IK being seen with Qazi. But IK and ANP would make better allies (Given the rhetoric at least IMO).. why aren’t they seen together and cooperating?? .. Can anyone explain this? Is IK really a fundamentalist at heart and right-leaning ???

Optimist said:

@ TK and Zarak Khan

Mullahs are a blackmailing breed. Since Imran got married to a girl who was born into a Jewish family, he had to save his skin from their fatwas.

Imran has not only earned respect in religious parties but he has also snatched their votes (in NWFP his party is more popular than Mullahs according to surveys).

He has not given any chance to Mullahs to discredit him as a play boy or jewish agent (both of these allegations would have been untrue anyway).

Optimist said:

Muslims can learn a lot from ANP’s struggle.

ANP was a target of establishment propaganda in the past. They did not abandon their struggle and avoided unnecessary rhetoric or fiery speeches. Their image got better and better and now they have much more respect/credibility than even major parties (like PPP/PML).

We, the Muslims, need to follow this path. We must be careful with our words when we advocate our mission. Unnecessary speeches only discredit us and provide ammunition to those who are propagating negative image of Islam.

zenith said:

@econfused
    You can change the name to whatever. The issue is why aren’t these people as vibrant when it comes to pakistan’s unity. Always talk about Bacha khan’s philosophy, who was never in favor of pakistan. What happened to jinnah? haven’t heard his name from Wali’s disputatious and arrogant lips. Pashtoons do have the tendency to blame pakistan. Why can’t we all except our mistakes? who cares about what ayub khan did to pakistan, but pakistan’s existence is blamed not the loathsome elite from all provinces. Regarding peshawar, i was merely implying that the number of pashtoons in pakistan is much more than that in Afghanistan. My disappointment stems from their reluctance in admittance of their mistakes.

TK said:

@zenith: Bacha Khan believed in non-violence. Bacha Khan remained loyal to Pakistan till the very end. You seem to subscribe to the same character assassinating BS that Zana-ul-Fuq and his dogs used to spew about all of those they were repressing (in the name of Islam and “Pakistan”).

Bacha Khan never went to india and called Pakistan the “Graaatusst Mustaake!” .. “DhiViSSSion of theee BluDDD!” like a RAW agent did.. He accepted Pakistan as reality and despite all the attacks, they are still with Pakistan.

Bacha Khan never organized death squads in Pakhtoon majority areas.

“Pakistan” is code word for a certain ahem.. interest group… *cough* . The thing is, no one falls for their bullsh!t anymore more because they’re out their killing people in the name of their ethnicities.

It is interesting that your diatribe against Pakhtoons managed to completely evade the elephant sitting in the room and that is the MQM-A fascist and murderous behaviour in KHI and HYD ??

econfused said:

@zenith

Seriously, I did not understand what did you get out from his interview. BTW are you also implying that nobody has right to disagree with Jinnah?

Didn’t Asfand say that he wants to move one. Why ANP is the only one which has to accept its mistakes. Why can’t you see it other way around?

Don’t you think the current mandate received by ANP is legitimate. All he is asking for the rights for his people. I do not see anything wrong with it. All he is asking for to follow the 1973 constitution.

Your disappointment should always stem from your own reluctance by your own mistakes. You should not be disappointed by someone else’s mistakes.

zenith said:

this site has serious problems every comment of mine is being held for moderation.

zenith said:

@ TK
    You should have read my comments on MQM when we were having discussions on all parties individually. MQM is not even a party why should i waste my time on them? the thing is there is growing resentment against pakistan’s very existence. I have experienced this.
    It deeply saddens me, but i think all of us should except our mistakes and shouldnot blame on pakistan.

zenith said:

@ econfused
    Plz dont make it complicated. I said why is there a sense of abhorrence towards pakistan? I meet many pasht00ns, blame pakistan for their miseries. Change the name to whatever, this would not solve the problem. The guy believes that his pasht00nism is way ahead of his being a pakistani and is shared by a large number of pasht00ns,WHY? Disagree with jinnah, I too disagree and many people even Iqbal had some arguments, but I would not elevate Bacha khan to his level and follow him. I am disappointed when I see people blaming pakistan for their own blunders. Pakistan is a reality, but listening to him and many others I feel we would have been much better of washing dishes in a united india. My point is struggle if u are being denied something and share the blame for the misdeeds because the pashtoon elite has contributed immensely to the enviable state we are in today

zenith said:

@ econfused
    Plz dont make it complicated. I said why is there a sense of abhorrence towards pakistan? I meet many pasht00ns, blame pakistan for their miseries. Change the name to whatever, this would not solve the problem. The guy believes that his pasht00nism is way ahead of his being a pakistani and is shared by a large number of pasht00ns,WHY? Disagree with jinnah, I too disagree and many people even Iqbal had some arguments, but I would not elevate Bacha khan to his level and follow him. I am disappointed when I see people blaming pakistan for their own blunders. Pakistan is a reality, but listening to him and many others I feel we would have been much better of washing dishes in a united india. My point is struggle if u are being denied something and share the blame for the misdeeds because the pasht00n elite has contributed immensely to the enviable state we are in today

Zarak Khan said:

@Optimist and TK

IMO if Imran Khan aligns himself with ANP and starts to actively participate in the NWFP political scene he will immediately earn the respect and national stature ( if not international stature) of a major political leader because he will be able to bring peace to the region because:

1) He understands the tribal areas socio-political dynamics,
    2) He is well respected by the tribesmen and they will listen to him

zenith said:

@ econfused
    To ur answer i have posted my comments five times and everytime they are held for moderation, i guess moderation is for those who remain within decency and not for those who use digits to enlighten us with new abusive vocabulary.

S H said:

Mates from states and all others should visit this link and act on it..i’ll try to practice this in uk by contacting the members of parliments and officails to brief them about my concers on pakistan.. lets do our role..

http://supportpakistan.wordpress.com/2007/11/08/an-appeal-to-you-call-your-members-of-congress/

it is importants after CIA’s chiefs statement on UBL that he could be in pakistan and if something comes up it’ll be from those areas i think its another stunt for pressurising pakistan.

TK said:

@zenith: I don’t think you really listened to the intereview. I don’t know what you were saying in the mqm thread, but in this one, you seem to be blaming the Pakhtoons for all the problems they have had. I would request you to re-listen to the interview. I find AYWK to be a decent and balanced man with rational arguments for his case. Light years ahead of chooran sellers that our “most educated population” seems to be happy with as leaders (spiritual or political or “familial” )

I really don’t have the patience to have a pi##ing match… so I’ll just shut up now.

econfused said:

@zenith

I seriously have no idea which history lessons you have been taking. You are just another interruption on the road road towards true democracy and provincial autonomy.

econfused said:

I was getting that feeling that this guy did not listen to the interview and was selling some chooran. I was unable to place zenith on a Mafia Support Group. May be thats where is comign from and has to post some thing without actually listening to the interview.

The other great gesture by Asfand was not meeting with JN and RB to place of their choice.

S H said:

Another point of view on ANP and Asfabdyars interview…

http://www2.picturepush.com/photo/a/521830/img/521830.gif

its not my point of view…

regards

zenith said:

@ econfused
    What interruption on the road are u talking about. couldn’t care less about history. Tell me one thing, why was that guy telling again and again ” aap logon nay ye kia woh kia” tell this guy what have u done. Why can’t we share the blame that as a nation we have failed to adhere to the principles why is this always HUM nay and Aap nay? We all have to move forward together. everyone one has made mistakes accept it and move on. He potrays himself as he is the most oppressed man in the world? look at the big picture and put an end to this nonsensical bickering of HUM nay Aap nay. If u say that none of them have made mistakes who or what has pushed us to the brink? Lets hope that they move forward include eveyone like baluchistan. forget HUM nay AAp nay.

econfused said:

Yes, lets start selling chooran

zenith said:

@ econfused
    and plz Mind ur language dont disgrace me by linking me to MQM. Iam a proud punjabi and will never support anything of the sort. I expressed an opinion true or not i dont know, If someone doesnot agree with u doesn’t mean he has to be from MQM.

mbokhari said:

Haha… Zana-ul-Fuq (Perfect 6!, over the pavillion)

Regarding Imran. I am really disappointed. He should have at least taken part in the elections and trained his party cadres. 10 years after launching his party, it is still a one-man-party. Sadly, a tanga party. But he is a great man nonetheless. I would have loved to see him ditch JI after the IJT thing. He should have led a major rally from PU the very day he was released. He didn’t. Now he is a nobody..

Najam Sethi’s wife Jugno Muhsin writes caricatures of politicians in The Friday Times. I am going to post a caricature of Imran (Im the Dim).

mbokhari said:

Howzzat (as published in TFT, March 7-13, 2k8)

“As you know, I’m famous for my ex-wife and my hit and miss jabs at the MQM. But above all, I am an honest and upright Pathan on a lonely road to nowhere. Now nowhere is where I think Pakistan should be and people who want to mislead this nation towards a democratic, secular, enlightened tomorrow will never find me awake after 9. Unlike others, I don’t have a split personality. In fact, personality is not my strong point. I am a personage of the vicarage, my parish being Wana and my vicarage being North Waziristan.

There’s this new restaurant in Lahore called Dish, where I am to be found every day. It takes a dish to spot a Dish, as I’ve always maintained. My favourite starter is pate de foi gras (halal) followed by rack of Australian lamb (halal) followed by cr’me brulee (halal). Unfortunately, the dishiest thing, single white female (haram), was not on the menu.

As you know, my neighbour Aitzaz Ahsan has been released and now the crowds that throng Zaman Park, I can’t pretend are for me. However, I plan to continue feeding off his fight. Since we both don’t have a seat in Parliament now, we can sit on a bench in Zaman Park and let the adoration begin. I’ve always known that I’m adored but it was wonderful to see that someone else could be adored for a brief moment. Being adored I’ve discovered doesn’t mean that you’re liked or thought of. The Chaudhries are an example of this.

I must say Jemima has not let me get into the middleclass business of providing for one’s family. These things should be taken care of by Allah. In the form of Jimmy Goldsmith’s will. Let’s face it. I’ve always had certain advantages like my looks, my way with women, my direct access to God and celebrity. I want not, fear not, know not and nobody could care less not. I’m glad to have boycotted the elections because the ISI was out of action this time as borne out by the drubbing received by Humayun Akhtar, Ijaz ul Haq, Sheikh Rashid and others beloved of our Armed Forces. Not to forget the wonderful clerics of the land.

As for Nawaz Sharif, when he became PM for the first time in 1990, I was his hero. I told him Hamley’s was my favourite shop. He said he owned Hamley’s and gave me a letter saying I should go and shop to my heart’s content and just give the letter to the lady at the till. On my next trip to London, I did just that but the lady at the till couldn’t stop laughing.”

Im the Dim

econfused said:

@zenith

Its the mindset, as if being Punjabi we are not willing to accept the responsibility of all mistakes. We are then part of that chooran mentality. As Kh. Asif put in his budget speech (my alltime favorite), major blame is to Punjab. Punjab has to make things right.

zenith said:

@ econfused
    Major blame yes. But not all. Others must except it too. I am sorry if i offended u but my point is that we must all except our mistakes. Punjab is being potrayed as mighty and plush ,once u go there, it saddens u for instance even in lahore many people live below the poverty line ,but still share the blame. I come across this punjab bashing almost everyday thats what makes me unhappy.

Democrat Pakistani said:

Being a person form punjab, i agree with KHAWAJA ASIF, ECONFUSED.

Punjab ha sto face the music. Take resposibility for blunders . Give equal status to all federatng units.

Respect all the provinces

mbokhari said:

@zenith

You keep using that word “except”. I don’t think it means what you think it means.

TK said:

@Zenith: I think I have an idea why ur messages are being held. You changed identity. When I shortened my nick to TK, for some time my messages were being held in moderation.

Now, come on, tell us what other nicks you have been posting under? You know it would be embarrassing if @Admn were to post ur IP ;-)

I’m just pulling ur leg. But seriously, Punjabi’s rarely say things like “I’m a Proud Punjabi”. And NEVER EVER say things like “GA Punjab!” We never say that.. okay okay I’m just kidding. :)

zenith said:

@ TK
    I never neverwould have used my this sentence that iam a proud punjabi, but some members were accusing me of being Mqm material. What proof must i give to make u believetat iam from punjab. Punjab is my province. When some people deliberately write things like Jiya sindh and Jiye bhutto afer having posted some pinching remarks about punjab it hurts, may be not to u but to me . Let me be honest with u in majority of forums and pakistani blogs punjabis mostly talk of unity and anti state comments come from others. Punjabi establishment and Nawaz sharif are the culprits , is there kalma.

Note: I never change my name or ID i dont have time to indulge in these follies and point remains that pujab’s curse is islambad, wish someone could take it away from it. everyone is responsibe for this plight of ours, not punjab alone.

zenith said:

@ mbokhari
    sorry for the spelling error. I rarely make these mistakes, but this punjab bashing had me going i guess.

TK said:

@Zenith: I’m just goofin and trying to help you at the same time. It happened to me just the other day.. all my messages were going into moderation and I thought it was because the system puts a nick in moderation if it is changed .. dunnoo.. maybe it was something else (but I checked and even empty messages were being moderated)…

Anyhoo, I don’t think you need to prove anything to anyone man. But I must confess it sounds kinda odd when someone who is preaching “Pakistaniat” starts saying things like “I’m a Proud Punjabi”.. isn’t this exactly what you were against in your original message? Just odd. that’s all. Anyways.. off to the beach!

mbokhari said:

@zenith

Interesting point about identity politics in Punjab: There’s no Punjabi identity. Punjabis rarely think of themselves as Punjabis. They coalesce around identities such as Sialkotis, Gujratis, Lahoris and Pindiwals. Then you have a quite different language, the Seraikis in Punjab. Yet the Siraiki ethnic identity is not strong either. They also identify along city lines such as Multanis, Bahwalpuris etc. I should know. I am a Seraiki. (Though I sometimes call mysefl Israeki ‘;-)

Punjabis have not made their language a fetish. And, most of all, Punjabis don’t nurse hatred against other ethnicities. When I went to Karachi for the first time, I was amazed to see the level of antipathy between different communities for each other and then all other communities against Punjab. Came as a surprise to me.

But things will change now. With calling NWFP as Pakhtunkhwa, not building Kalabagh Dam, paying Balochistan its royalties (come on they are only 6 million) and making peace with MQM, there shall be peace in our time.

zenith said:

@ TK , off to the beach
    If had not mentioned my ethnicity, would u have stopped calling me an Mqm follower. I too abhor this mentality. I was preaching pakistaniat and still am, but then i was accused of being some vacuous minded Mqm follower. Ethnicity matters to all of us but sadly pakistaniat comes afterwards. Hope the breeze at the beach clears ur thinking.

zia m said:

I am Anritsari,i guess this makes me muhajir.

zenith said:

mbokhari
    ur absolutely right, but they are all seen as one by others. Karachi ur right harbours some grudge against punjabis.Punjab especially lahore is the home of many non punjabis too , but they are never segregated. My point was that If punjabis say that they have been unfair and have committed blunders, what about others?I told in my earlier comment that islamabad should have been in some other province, as the province holding most of the responsibilities is likely to be upbraided and crticised. All of us must accept( finally got it right) mistakes with gentility. Whenever i say this ,people get mad and start their punjab bashing and present me with achievements of Zia-ul haq because of his relation to punjab, but completely ignore the blunders of Ayub and bhutto and other louts.

TK said:

@zenith: You are assuming I stopped calling you an MQM follower. Also, you seem very ethnically biased yourself. For someone who is supposedly against such things. Punjab bashing bothers you to the point of using the wrong words, but you don’t like pakhtoons asserting their identities. You also made racist statements against MQM members. Not all MQM members are “vacuous minded”. There is a reason MQM is a force to be reckoned with. You can’t call them all stupid idiots. I don’t agree with their fascist/terrorist fear based politics but that doesn’t mean they’re not wily or cunning. Far from it.

Speaking of beaches, If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, should it be called a duck? ;)

zenith said:

TK
    My comments are again in moderation, which doesnot allow me to express my opnion. hope this one passes through. You know talk about one thing. When I was merely implying that everyone should humbly accept their mistakes and move on , you reacted strongly and accused me of being against Pakht00ns. Why doesn’t everyone accept their mistakes? This Wali character is against kalabagh dam, which is not a bad thing at all, but presenting as an imperialistic punjabi agenda, is something very appalling. In my first comment i very innocently said that why are we so conscious about our ethnicities? you again said i was against them and gave me Mr. Zia’’s example, but forgot to mention about ayub bhai and tika khan famously known as the butcher of baluchistan. U very sadly think that everything emanates from punjab. Why? Is it really hard to accept that all of us made mistakes? I am not asking much.

About that MQM drama.
    during the individual party discussions, I asked very decent ,very precise and well educated questions and received no answer at all, but when some video of Nawaz sharif was posted all the MQM lovers came back energized and made some pinching comments about pakistan and punjab in particular. Now, should i call them the enlightened ones. In this forum, people have been using very harsh words against MQM, which i donot approve of, but you had to point me out, great going i must say.

Can u shed light on the new species u just created in ur last sentence?

The Hope said:

I’m really impressed by Asfand Yar Wali’s personality and his ideas, before this program I never knew we have such a mature and purpose-made party in the country, my best wishes are with ANP and its members. However Altaf Hussain is a puke!!!

Ashraf said:

Facts from Google Earth, altitudes in feet from sea level

Kalabagh Dam site (river bed): 825
    Kabul riverbank at Nowsherah: 952
    Nowsherah Central: 1088

Height of Kalabagh Dam: 240 ft (Wikipedia 79 meter)
    Peak water level: 1065

Suburb of Nowsherah will be impacted but not the central Nowshera. Also, fertile land on the both sides of Kabul River, west of Nowshera will be under water. Interviewee seems to be correct on his statement

adeel ayub said:

@mbokhari
    Bro can U gimme the link of the Howzzat Article that U have posted?

econfused said:

@zenith

Most of the people with little knowledge of history or no knowledge at all were impressed by the interview if Asfand Yaar Wali. You in one of the posts accepted major mistakes were done by Punjab. The mistake was not some action by punjab, it was the INACTION by us.

I have an identity and a mother tongue, my love for it should not be called as ethnicity. I can keep my identification, as long as all PAKISTANIs are considered equal citizen. Once a law is made, then it should be followed with true letter and spirit.

All the hatred will automatically go away. All the people within federation has genuine grievances. The only people without any GENUINE grievances are in central Punjab. Can we even question why we do not have any?

sohnamunda said:

MashaAllah Asfand is very honest, sincere and patriotic person. He’s the leader of ANP, elected MNA, yet he didn’t go for Chief Minister seat in his province. Can you even imagine any other parties doing something like that?

Adil said:

Its a nice interview as far as his ideas are concerned. Its true that he is a mature politician. His way of talking in urdu was a bit crude at times but u can expect that from a pathan due to his accent so no worries there. I was just looking at some of the figures and ideas people have posted here regarding Kala bagh dam. I won’t argue in favour or against kala bagh dam. The only thing I wana say is ‘ Why do v hafta make only Kala bagh dam if its controversial? ‘ . U can make a consenses regarding this issue at a particular time but the fact is its a controversial issue in the opinion of more than just 1 province ! Is pakistan so down on the thought process of engineers and their technical abilities that they could,t find any other way of power generation over the last 10 years?
    Bhasha dam is 3 times bigger project than Kala bagh and its controversy free just to give u an example.
    Anyways I strickly repudiate the claim that Pakhtoons are less patriots. I am a pakhtoon and I love the country to the limit and I can speak on behalf of hundreds and hundreds of pakhtoons that are known to me. Respect to all our sindhi panjabi saraiku balochi and kashimiri brothers and sisters, thave every right to be proud of their ethnicity after their religion and country.

shandana said:

@zenith
    “You can change the name to whatever. The issue is why aren’t these people as vibrant when it comes to pakistan’s unity. Always talk about Bacha khan’s philosophy, who was never in favor of pakistan. What happened to jinnah? haven’t heard his name from Wali’s disputatious and arrogant lips. Pashtoons do have the tendency to blame pakistan. Why can’t we all except our mistakes? ”

I am amazed with these comments. I am sure only that person can say these words who is unaware of the history. Baba khan(bach khan) or even wali baba were never arrogant. They always talked about the truth. When Baba khan was fighting against the British rule, it was Congress who gave them moral support and was not muslim league. I am talking about the era of 1910’s. Muslim league was not much different than it is right now. When Pakistan came into being, It was Baba khan’s party govt, Jinnah dissolved the assembly although Baba khan already had accepted Pakistan. That is how our leader got the habbit of dissolving assemblies.

zenith said:

@ econfused
    All must accept their mistakes; is it too much to ask for ?Wali khan kept on using hum aur aap. Who is this aap he was refering to? He could have used the word establishment more frequently in place of aap. anyways keep ur identity, no one disagrees, but why promote ethnicity? sindh is not an ethnic name, it is because of darya sindh, same with punjab; land of five waters. If u start naming provinces on the basis of ethnicity, we are a gone case. Even in our eastern neighbour, some states have been named on the geographical location.
    Above all i like him because he represents somewhat democracy. even the worst the politician is better than a dictator.( worst politicians dont include chaudries, as they are well below that level).
    Law should be supreme; couldn’t agree with u more.

zenith said:

@ shandana
    Bacha khan was a great leader who was born in peshawar, but prefered to have his final resting place in jalalabad and was awarded Bharat ratna by india. There is no point in digging out such facts; it will be painful. Mistakes were made by all; accept it and move on.

ayubi said:

“You can change the name to whatever. The issue is why aren’t these people as vibrant when it comes to pakistan’s unity. Always talk about Bacha khan’s philosophy, who was never in favor of pakistan. What happened to jinnah? haven’t heard his name from Wali’s disputatious and arrogant lips. Pashtoons do have the tendency to blame pakistan. Why can’t we all except our mistakes? ”

I think that is a general problem of many parties.
    PPP keeps talking about bhutto and BB ’shaheeds’.
    MQM keeps talking about altaf bhaii
    and ANP keeps talking about their ideological leader Bacha khan.

I don’t know the current stance of PML-N, but i guess they can’t be anti Jinnah.

Overall its a sad situation that we don’t give the father of the nation his due recognition as the time passes.

However, the issue at hand is that the pushtoons should be reassured that punjabis do not and should not have any objection to the change in the name of the province as long as all the people of NWFP want it (assuming consensus in hazara).

Also people should know that a poor person is a poor person no matter which province he lives in. In that way it was good that ANP did not talk in the punjabi-pathan tone etc and this should be welcomed.

ayubi said:

and by the way, pathan-punjabi-sindhi-balochi-kashmiri brotherhood (inshaAllah) zindabad.

Fahim23 said:

@enconfused

I totally second you dude. I consider the self rightneous a disease which will make you blind of things happening around you. Since the independence bengalis were being persecuted at the hands of their so called “brothers” and the people in west pakistan were in complete denial. When I read about the massacre of bengali intellectuals I was literally shocked what pakistan army and its groomed mullah like Al-Badr and Al-Shames have been doing there. And PTV even till this day tells the people never wanted to make Bangladesh it was bloody indians who conspired against us.

I see a similar denial regarding Baloch’s, sindhis, Pathan’s and ppl of siraiki belt in punjab. Mostly, sindhi, baloch and pathan are considered “Ghaddar” in our country, when they demand their rights. Being elder brother, Punjab should act like an elder brother and feed to smaller provinces from its own share. But it has mostly demanded for more and more. I am not saying only punjabis can do tht, sometimes I wonder, if Sindhis were in majority and they were in charge of this country then probably we too have exploited smaller provinces like Punjab has been doing.

This is due to moral bankrupcy in our characters. Currently, in pakistan there is a “might is right rule!” This needs to be changed ASAP if pakistan is to survive.

PS: With the word punjab I mean the ruling establishment, I don’t blame a poor punjabi who is in fact a victim and no different then any pathan, sindhi, or balochi.

Fahim23 said:

@econfused

self-righteousness***

atif said:

please dont make this forum a chat room

i am not complete follower of ANP but because of bacha khan all pashtuns for years been treated as traitors. thanks to media we now know each other better than before

asfandiyar is mature leader, like his father and grandpa

please read Javed Hashmi letter to his daughter in his book and i qoute

“now i understand how people would have felt who were termed as traitors by establishment”

i would appreciate if you please read that letter

kamran.soomro said:

I was highly impressed by this interview. He answered all the questions directly without beating about the bush. Not like our “major” politicians. Bravo Mr Asfand Yar Wali.

And although I’m Sindhi, I support ANP’s demand for naming NWFP. It is demeaning for them to belong to a place that doesn’t even have a proper name.

Moon_of_14th said:

First of all, thanks alot for posting this great interview with Mr. Asfandyar Wali Khan.

Nobody knows, what does NWFP mean?

Well dont worry im going to tell u.
    NWFP means Name Wanted For Province.

So we need a name for our province, which is PAKHTOONKHWA.

” tal de wee pakhtoonwali asfandyar wali asfandyar wali ”

Pakistan, Pakhtoonkhwa and rest of the provinces ZINDABAD.