{ 45 comments... read them below or add one }

hasskhan said:

Just reading the book by Suhail Waraich “Ghaddar Koun” and NS seems to be a pretty reasonable person as per the analysis of Suhail.

I just pray that NS and his party should restore the post Nov 3rd judiciary !

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

These representatives can not speak proper English kionkey na to yeh English Janteyn and neither Urdu. I do not understand why do they speak half English half Urdu and in turn they demean themselves.

these so called Punjabis are what a fool? they do not speak their own language and they do not teach punjabis to their own kids. thats why some people call them “chopaya”. Sometimes I feel they might be.

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

Please Talat may be 85 % of the pakistanis do not english. Can you ask your hosts to speak urdu or some other regional language?

Optimist said:

@ mu_chng

I know kids of Khawaja Asif and I went to school with son of Tehmina Daultana. They do speak Punjabi very well. They are fluent in English and Urdu as well.

This is the situation of middle/upper middle class Pakistanis. They cannot ignore English and Urdu/Punjabi is everyday reality of Punjab.

We should be happy that they can speak 3 languages (one of them even knows Spanish!!).

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

optimist

they should save their English for their foreign masters. Why don’t they talk in national or regional languages?

Thanks to their previous policies some of us were not privilged enough to learn english

Optimist said:

you also believe in masters? OMG!!!

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

I guess it is THEY who lick the “—-” of their masters.

Optimist said:

@ mu_chng

what are your views on Mush’s master Bush

and Altaf’s British masters?

how many these two are licking daily (you seem quite knowledgeable about such things!!)

Optimist said:

Look supporters of feudal Chaudhries (brothers) and Army (Mush) are talking about ordinary people!!

Mush says that he doesn’t even know Urdu (he doesn’t know English either)!!

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

Optimist

Mush may have served his masters and now we have a new crop of creolized english speakers coming in to do the same job

Now I ll see if they ll change the education al system that Kh Asif was talking about in his national assemly speeches.

admin pkpolitics said:

I am going to sleep now and Bolta Pakistan is being uploaded. You should be able to watch BP in 20-30 minutes in the top right small video player.

Optimist said:

@ mu_chng

don’t worry about new crop. Let us cut your masters first. Just wait for a few years.

we had to live with your master for 8 years and let us start all over again.

Why don’t you go and learn Urdu and start typing in Urdu.

Optimist said:

My final words to MQM/Mush lovers:

Jee Bhar ke ro lo Beta

Tumhara Master Mar gaya

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

My master is none but Allah ta’alla.

I love so much the way people hate Dictator Mush.

The chamchas have already started recruiting Mush agent (Pak ambassador to US ) as advisor to Syed Gillani.

Good start.

Optimist said:

Beta ab Tumhare Rone ke din heiN.

Zulm to phir Zulm hai, Barta hai to Mit Jaata hai !!!

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

We are smiling actually—- the way the Pakistanis would be fooled again is unfortunate though .

Optimist said:

‘My master is Allah Ta’ala’

‘we are smiling actually’ (on Pakistanis being fooled again)

We? Who? you and Allah? or you and Devil??

Munafiq is starting to open up.

busybee said:

Well have to give them time to see their performance…..I do not mind they speak urdu/english/mixture or french I am only interested in what they deliver…..

farhan said:

what about talat himself,how would you expect guests to answer in urdu or punjabi when the host or anchor himself act like a confused freak,no doubt talat hussain is one of the best available anchors but he has got a bad habit and some times he acts like a “gora,confused gora”

he is a proper punjabi,the best way to judge some one about if he is a typical punjabi is to watch him closely when he says;

talauq means relation
    qanoon mean law
    commerce means trade
    javaid which is a name

talat some times act like a proper dumb,other day in a show around kohat he was asking a question from a sipahi who just couldn’t even speak in urdu and talat was asking him question in his mix udru n english

imran khan is best in this regard even though he had spend years and years here in london but he never do these mix lingo stuff

be desi!!! desi bol……..

Shaz said:

Another worth reading column by JAVEED Chudary

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20080401/Sub_Images/1100379587-2.gif

farhan said:

@Shaz

he is not the only one who is writing such sort of columns but all the media anchors,politics programs and rest of the journalists infact they all are scruitning the recent appointments from zardari of those four persons which had been recently appointed

i realy dont understand why zardari is making these sort of appointments why dont he learnt from his co-alition partner

none of the jounralists nor any anchor had criticised pml-n position yet and now they had even taken the oath

pml-n is just scoring more and more numbers and zardari is on his way to sink his ship just in the begining of the trivia…..

sleepingnation said:

First of all thanks a lot for uploading live with Talat.. Taza Hawa Ka Jhonka …..Talat you are my hero.. God Bless you

Second about language… I love when Khawaja asif speak Punjabi….its not necessary to speak Lakhnawi urdu or British english… how many people in europe (ofcourse except UK) who speak very good english and even they have their own slang languages within one country.. this is beauty of the society and it represents diversity ….

its our complex “Us Ko english nahi aati, wo urdu nahi sahi bolta etc etc.”

PML (N) keep it up…i wish you will not disappoint this nation

sleepingnation said:

I also like so much when asfand yar wali and achkazai speak urdu…sincerity of a person is not reflected by language rather its from his expressions and voice which comes from heart impresses everybody….

I request you guys to come out from this language complex.. everybody is free to speak the language which he or she wants.. we should not impose our standards on everyone

Beenai said:

thats very unprofessional of Talat to call only PML N ppl at his show …
    and pulling thier legs…at the joint agenda ,which has come from both the major parties….PPP and PML N …
    i may tell you Mr Talat that it is not only PML N alone ,who is going to be reposible for making true thier promises but PPP too…
    we have been told in our Mass comm classes that u have to show both sides of the pictures…
    i wonder …how a very professional journalist like Talat missed out the point to invite PPP representative too….
    i hope …next programme he wud be doing with Madam Sherry Rehman and Babar Awaan…and asking the same questions to them…

poola said:

Though most of PML-N people who have been given ministerial portfolios are competent, but Tehmina is one of those who became ministers on the basis of loyalty, being beaten up and for remaining vocal against Musharraf otherwise she doesn’t deserve.

Shaz said:

It dont hurt so much when u appoint incapable ministers, but it hurts more when u manipulate the administration inappropriately. This really damage in the long run and destroy the institutions, because they are there to stay. This is why a bad establishment builds up…..

Adam1 said:

Tehmina Doltana

She must represent MQM.

She talks a lot, tries to speak in English, but has little material. Mostly Rubbish and verbosity.

I hope her management skills are better.

defaultuser said:

@k3
    Can you tell me how I can download the contents from there as download link is not working

lota6177 said:

tahmina doltana comes across like an airhead. It is really sad to see her as a minister.

Malek said:

TD may come across as not so competent but should be given time to prove herself. She has certainly shown resiliance, commitment and drive in years of opposition to the dictator….may be she can use these qualities to become effective in her new role?

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

sleeping Nation

Some of us might not be that perfect in English i n Pakistan and I was only asking that TV anchors and their guests should speak local languages or at best Urdu.

Some people have complexes and they try to speak creolized English and in the process show them how dumb actually they are. tehimina daultan was looking like -such person when she was speaking creol english.

econfused said:

mu_chng@yahoo.com
    :) After 8 years of enlightened moderation, half naked girls on TV, superb awareness about valentine’s day, HOLIs, and every other crappy day known to western nations. All that billions spent on HEC Phds and universities, and you are whining our nation doesn’t know english.

I can bet audience of these talk shows is well aware of everything being said. Time to keep the illiterate awam in dark ages thru PTV is over.

TK said:

I tend to agree with mu_chng’s initial sentiments regarding the use of english . We need to have our anchors speak a language that reaches the maximum number of people. Aside from the historical and political difference I have with the Urdu firster crowd, I think it still is the language that can reach the largest segment of the population.

Using English basically cuts out a large swathe of people from the national conversation that is taking place on these public forums (TV shows like LWT etc). Our politial class should have the courage to shift to a more expressive language (punjabi, sindhi etc and worst case Urdu) if we are trying to explain concepts and want to reach the largest possible audience. Provincial lang’s may not make sense in a national program.. so discretion is advisable.

If you are explaining concepts, shift to Urdu or Punjabi/Sindhi (proverbs) and don’t start these silly arguments in broken english just to establish your “elite credentials”.

Talat is one of the best anchors and he acutally _is_ fluent in english compared to many of the guests who appear on his show, but he has to be careful that he doesnt’ start making points in English because a lot of our ‘political’ leaders take it to be a direct psychological challenge to their competency and start saying things in broken (creole? thx mu-chng) english thereby forgetting about the conversation altogether, and making fools of themselves to boot!…

Most our politicians trying to speak english remind of that old “Jaanoo German” character on PTV… :)

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

Nota

the audience is how much of the Pakistnai population ? if they speak in local language their audience and comprehension of the present audience might go up.

mu_chng@yahoo.com said:

TK

I tend to agree with you on so many points. Sometimes I think if i could ever meet you in person.
    Fortunate though I am to read your comments on these frums.

ayubi said:

Using English basically cuts out a large swathe of people from the national conversation that is taking place on these public forums (TV shows like LWT etc).

Agreed. in this regard PJ Mir is the worst. He is a wanna be gora. No wonder he was disliked by the pak cricket team at WC2007. Also Focus with Faeza is another program involving a lot of English.

dervesh99 said:

@nota:
    did haqqani really work with aipac?that’s disgusting if it’s true
    i do remember reading some of his work done in collaboration with the aei folks

dervesh99 said:

err…wrong thread to put my previous comment in..
    guess that’s what happens when you are reading two threads at the same time

Fahim23 said:

Kh, Asif is a good soul, and I am sure due to him PPP/PMLN/ANP coalition will work out its problems for the good of nation.

While Tehmina doltana has no idea what is she talking!

Democrat Pakistani said:

Tehmina daultana needs to understand, the language understood by people is urdu.

Khawaja asif rocks. I think TD may be great party worker, but she may not be a suiatable for cabinet. . I remember RAUF llasara ARTICLE criticizing NS for forgetting TD.

But i think by and large this cabinet is much better than any previous.

londoner007 said:

@mqm supporters

all mqm support can’t bare to see these programes because now their big mouth leadersare not sitting on those chairs and now ll they do is moun oh they are speaking in english. they are wearing white cloths , they are smiling etc tc.
    why don’t you mqm supporters shut up and go some where else if you can’t bare o be here

Optimist said:

Two good news:

MQM is crying for ‘Sard Mehri’ (i.e. no ministries) and Mush is getting lonely because no minister was present in a ceremony where he was presiding something under ministry of Science and Technology.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/apr2008-daily/02-04-2008/main2.htm

abuhaleema said:

Assalam o allaikum.
    Very dissapointed in Tehmina Daultana. She had no clue of what was being asked of her and how to respond to it. I remembered Sheikh Rashid when he told Kashif Abbasi that let these people (coalition) come in power and then they will find out how media has changed and how quick you have to be to respond to the questions from media.
    I guess, his siyasi istikhara has proven right, atleast for Tehmina Daultana.
    On the other hand, as speakers, I truly enjoy Khwaja Asif, Khwaja Saad Rafiq, Babar Awan plus a couple of others who are short and to the point and with great comebacks when somebody tries to corner them.

A comment was made above that those who support urdu to be the standard language, why do they not write urdu on this forum. Actually, maybe some of you do not know that the forum does not support urdu text. I had requested admin that urdu support be provided but I guess other stuff kept him busy. Whenever you type something in urdu, it displays question marks. Below is an example.

???? ?? ????? ?????

drzeato said:

@mu_chng

Urdu is not the native language of any of the participants.