l Geo Blocked in Karachi on MQM Rigging Reports | Pakistan Politics
{ 58 comments... read them below or add one }

• sohnamunda said:

Good thing it happened. Geo was favoring them too much. None of their shows invites an ANP representative but MQM is always there. I hope Geo learns a lesson and stops promoting them anymore. Bring the good ANP guys on TV.

P.S. I see jang newspaper is printing ‘meray mutabiq’s’ ads in their paper and showing some TV ads as well. I think Dr. Shahid is about to make a come back. I miss him so much!

• Saqib said:

@sohnamunda

I don’t think it will have any effect on GEO since it was non planned statement. They will keep on bringing hourly news about “Chooran wala”.

• ayubi said:

Alternatively, Geo can get even meaker and stop daring even this much. MQM is much worse than any dictator. No wonder it aligned so well with Mush.

• econfused said:

@Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya

Abbasi is very emotional and sincere person. He is not someone else’s mouth piece. Also would you don’t judge the WHOLE CLAN, as it just shows YOUR racist tendencies.

• Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya said:

@econfused..

jigar, dont take my comments on the whole clan that serious….my comments were meant to be funny and not derogetory at all…

I do not trust this ansar abbasi dude ….thats all…but that my opinion so ignore it…..

• sohnamunda said:

I totally agree with you econfused. He’s always been speaking his mind. He happens to be the only journalist who is not part of establishment unlike Hamir Mir, Kamran Khan, etc. I remember watching him with Dr. Shahid Masood speaking very bluntly ….

• econfused said:

Well I have been following Abbasi for a while now, he has been doing good investigative reporting.

On the second note, let me also laugh at funny comments . Hahaha

• Saqib said:

Hard to say what Ansar Abbasi is carrying deep inside his heart, but what he has been doing recently should be appreciated. Backing from somebody or not – Not many people dare to go against MQM.

I appreciate that, and please forgive my remarks for the whole clan, there is one dude up there in muree, shahid khaqan abbasi who I met in USA , he seems to be pretty good…ex PIA manager..

we shall all have fun while discussing stuff here…

thanks for the smile

• poola said:

Ansar Abbasi is very well reputed journalist. He always reports interesting and factually correct stories. His stories were key to expose most of the dirty tactics establishment to make lawyer ‘s movement failed before 20th July.

We must morally support courageous people who speak truth without fear.

• ninetykman said:

Correction:

A Abassi is a beacon of Truth. He no one’s mouth piece.

His reports are alway well researched. Everyone respects him.

As for GEO transmission in Karachi, probably a few cable guys were threathened by every one know “WHO”.

The new govt. is not involved in this.

• Saqib said:

There are so many “learned doctors” in MQM, and I feel a little pity about Altaf that he hasn’t got any (fake) degree. Can’t we call him “Doctor Who”. Then he won’t develop inferiority complex.

I know it is difficult replace “Chooran wala”.
    :-)

• mbokhari said:

@Saqib

“Can’t we call him “Doctor Who”.

Alf Altaf, CHOORAN di booti, Musharraf mere man which layi, WHOOOOOOOO(???)

meh…maybe I’m just being lame ;’-) but I hate this Chooran Devi

• Democrat Pakistani said:

Mulla ge

Making fun is good , but not at the cost of racial slur.
    Khaqan abbasi was PIA boss in NS regime.
    Ansar abbasi is an emotional person, probably right wing bias , but a genuine person. I do disagrree with some of his assertions. ONthe whole he is good journalist.

• Saqib said:

I have found new pictures of Altaf. They have never been published before.

http://www.fotosearch.com/photos-images/chameleon_2.html

Enjoy them :-)

• ch.salman.zafar said:

ANSAR ABBASi :

a sincere Journalist . who thinks about country who love pakistan . before hearing ANsar abbasi i always feel that journalist not worked for pakistan they just worked for money .
    but ansar abbasi is one of the person who can change mind who have the power to speak truth
    i cldnt forget words of Ansar abbasi in Meray mutabiq to Durani (galat bayani)
    ” sir acha howa ap nain aye warna ap ka is say bhi ziada bura hal hona tah ”
    When farooq sattar has beaten by lawyers.

ANsar abbasi . best Journalist
    Imran khan .. best . politician
    Talat -…. BEst ANchor

• Saqib said:

And also compare the above pictures with this one:

http://www.showbizhungama.com/uploads/large_ws_tx533.jpg

• chachu_bush said:

Truth is always sour. bhai loogo.

• BABU FROM USA said:

Oh Qabza democracy is back again. Geo should bring them now and ask them about National reconciliation.
    Ansar Abbasi is Great.

• binary zero said:

Shahid Khaqan abbasi is owner of Air Blue if i’m not wrong – he made a new airline and made it successfully (in profit) – He’s a good businessman i guess

• binary zero said:

lolz @ saqib

watch his face and then try to guess the feelings of the lady – my sympathies.

Today bolta pakistan was on arbab rahim.
    Minhas was behaving as a MANHOOS character.
    He shamefully blamed PPP, without any caution and inquiry.
    Minahs needs to be CONDITIONED

• binary zero said:

Dude – Democrat Pakistani

Minhas was right to some extent – PPP has to take the blame for not managing its workers. IT Well may be a concpiracy against them by establishment or itself by MQM/PMLQ -

you never know but i found nothing in Minhas for which he needs to be conditioned !

• mbokhari said:

@Saqib & Binary Zero

I think you have a fake and doctored image. See the evidence

Jai Kali Mata! Goddess of Chooran !

Kali Ma Shakti De !!!

• mbokhari said:

Don’t think there was any conspiracy…The PPP workers have p!ssed on the Nine-Zero visit. I wish they had joota-fied Kali Mata Chooran Devi.

Hopefully this means that the MQM Honeymoon is over and we get on with the business of impeaching their boss Moshe.

• chachu_bush said:

cannot wait for bolta pakistan to get uploaded on pkpolitics.
    Minhas had a point. After all its PPP government, they are responsible for setting examples. Minhas zindabad.

Juta mar k geo.

ok, the transmissions are back online and visible in all parts of Sindh!

Per BBC..

As of today it is still cre taker government
    i however agreethat PPP shuld take care of its workers

• sohnamunda said:

@Democrat Pakistani

I thought today’s Bolta Pakistan was the best. Mushtaq was able to shut Nusrat up, who always defends PPP. I don’t ever hear Nusrat critizing anything about PPP. He’s not fair when it comes to them. Mushtaq w/o is an emotional person but he was spot on! I don’t think this was an organized incident, it was carried out due to justified anger and outrage that PPP workers harbor against their own leadership and opposition for not considering their sentiments. PPP should instead take responsiblity and move on…Nusrat saab plz stop defending them blindly.

r u loading capital talk thnx.

• Mr Jinnah said:

For God’s sake, stop spreading rumours. Headlines like these don’t help specially when they are not true. There is no truth to this headline. Who at PkPolitics came up with this stupid idea?

Why would they only stop transmission in Karachi if there is a rigging allegation? Shouldn’t they stop it everywhere else? Stupid news for some very gullible people….

@ sohnamunda

I am not defending PPP or nusrat javed.
    But the way manhoos was talking was very arrogant. Mihhas lacks basic mannerism and know how about sensitivities of provinces.

He has no idea about SHAH latif kalam in sindh.
    I can question any thing , but without anger.

Please remember musharaf is still their to derail democracy.
    SINDH government as of today still in the hands of MUSHARAF/ MQM
    I AM really disaapointed about MInhas behaviour.

• forqotten_sindhi said:

The real Dr Moooooooooo

@ Mr Jinnah

This news was on jang website.
    Not pkpolitics news

• ch.salman.zafar said:

MR jinnah there are Links available .. so u can see urself who is spreading Rumors . BBC Jang or PkPolitics :O

• poola said:

@MR jinnah

Geo was shut down when Capital Talk was underway in which Ansar Abbasi answered a question of Hamid Mir that why MQM was able to win the election when all the other parties backing Musharraf lost badly.

His answer was that election was rigged in most of the constituencies in Karachi. Hamid took Barbar Kalia online to defend allegation and he said Ansar Abbasi is not credible journalist bla bla.

After few minutes, there were news that GEO has been blocked in Karachi and most of the areas of Sindh. The news appeared on Jang online and as a ticker on both GEO and Ajj.

• Asif said:

No to fear-mongers on the name of race, color & location. When Muhammad Ali Jinnah passed away, Was Karachi or Sind get offended & raised a slogan of seperation?

• taimurdar said:

You don’t need to be an analyst to figure out that this party (MQM) have rigged elections. There was more than 100% outcome at some polling stations…
    Imran Khan is right, a fascist party.

• taimurdar said:

and about Minhas and bolta pakistan……..
    Dudes, that’s their FORMAT OF THE PROGRAM. One guy takes the left side and the other guy takes the right. Think logically!

• poola said:

But Mushtaq Minhas was really in form and put Nusrat Javed in defensive mode.

Well done! Mushtaqi

• swsert said:

Babar Kaaliye sirf BHOOO BHOOO kar sakta hay . . . Ansar Abbasi is the best and patriot journelist we have now a dayz . . .

& I agree taimurdar 100 %

• takbeerehaq said:

PPP Blocked GEO ARTONE and others transmission to hide her JIALA ACTION in Sind assembly

• imranalichaudhry said:

Ansar Abbasi is a very courageous , upright and hardworking journalist. He is one person who always speaks the truth. Hats off to him

• savage said:

@saqib

Chameleons Rights Association has lodged a complain about you? what did you do to them Saqib, they looked very mad.

• mashooo said:

@Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya,

Being an Abbasi and from Murree, I dont find your comment funny at all. Stop being a racist. Your comment should be deleted.

Anyway, about Geo being blocked, well I thought we are past all that blocking and blacking out non sense after the coming of democracy!!

• TomCat111 said:

GEO tum Ansar Abbasi… dont let these ghonday/pett-thugs bully you around.

• TomCat111 said:

@dmin

when are you going to put up this particular CT?

• type ke keys aazaad haiN tere said:

@All MQM haters

who is from karachi in this board??? ne 1 from lalo kheet, nazimabad
    karachi cent or landhi konrangi? Please correct me if i am wrong
    I think MQM got only 10% of jali votes, 90% are real, Thanks to good work of city nazim ……

——-like Sadam Hussian’s election MQM have to make it big WIN….there is no other way to show that MQM is still hot among in karachiwalas unless they are getting more votes then last time
    and oppostion parties getting less votes..

• Niazi said:

Ansar Abbasi is a wonderful soul. In these days of hypocrisies there are very few people who have the courage n conviction to tell the truth. His analysis and comments are based on reality.MQM was formed by Gen Zia UL HAQ to counter PPP back in 80′s but it didn’t work accordingly.And as a result it was confined to Karachi urban areas and was not able to develop itself as a national political force although the leadership is educated and represent the middle class.since their entry in the politics they have been acting as pressure group.I m at loss to under why Mr Iltaf hussain does come back in the country n take the party on the national front himself if he believes in democracy and wants to do something for the betterment of people of Pakistan then i would well come him to join hands with other political forces .Sitting outside the country delivering the telephonic speeches will not change the reality on the ground.we need a revolution to change the entire system. you can,t change the system being the part of it . Restoration of judges is one of the most sensitive
    issue which will determine the fate of the grand alliance.PPP is not committed.
    If they are not going to respect the mandate of the of Pakistan then i think it will be disastrous for the PPP. i wish n pray that party leadership should have a sage head on their shoulder to act wisely

• Niazi said:

:d

• poola said:

Malek on April 8th, 2008 8:45 am

I saw this programme as repeat telecast (i should say ‘revised’ telecast) on Geo at 8.05pm in UK. The comments from Ansar Abbassi (which resulted in MQatilM shutting Geo in Khi and Sindh) were not telecast in the revised programme. I clearly noted a ‘cut’ in the programme and suddenly the topic changed.

Shame on Geo for comprimising and signing ‘deals’ with ‘mighty’

This is the same Geo which few weeks ago showed evidence of MQatilM rigging of polls. However that programme was never telecasted again. There was also a claim in that programme by the journalist conducting the programme that he had hundreds of such videos taken at different polling stations in Karachi…..but none was telecasted after that.

H Mir also did not raise that in this programme although very easily he could have shown the evidence of poll riggings as a special report during the programme which he normally does

In future how would Geo confront politicians of not doing their job honestly or coming under pressure to sign agreements with establishment when they themselves have given in under pressure??

• ayubi said:

BBC article reports that Sheri Rehman has ordered an inquiry into the channel closure for 3 hours.

One wonders what happens to these inquiries. What about the inquiry launched to investigate the Justice Ramday house ransacking?

• binary zero said:

@”He has no idea about SHAH latif kalam in sindh.”

Well – SIR i duly bed to differe here and agree with Minhas -

I never voted for these women and men to weep and make a drama in Assembly. If they wana mourn go make a majlis or something – if you wanna hear qawali – go to some mesulem or arrange a majlis at your expense.

NO SIR – i and many other tax payers won’t accept this drama bazi on our expense in assembly. The lights were running, A/C were working – power was being used – who’s going to pay for this ? just for the sake of hearing a qawali or weeping around like morons ?

shame on all of those who support these efforts – i and many other 101% stands with Minhas that this wasn’t we voted for !

• usman khan said:

if geo has been stoped in karachi, it is clear like a cristal now that mqm is a mafia of karachi, mqm has been doing in karachi whatever they want.i would like to call upon NASEER ULLAH BABER to come again and clean this dirt of mqm from karachi, even the sign of mqm shoud be removed form karachi,, we think of karachi as a other country just because of complete hold of these stupid mqm. these mqm people are stupid, heartless and consiouless, they shuold be clean tatally from karachi sothat we may go and do as a law and rule in karachi,
    usman khan spain.0034-634101023

• usman khan said:

i hate my selfish army, they can do operation against innocent students, but they are not able to fight agianst this stupid mqm in karachi,. mqm always do in karachi whatever they want. nobody take notice and even army is afraid of them,, foregion minister stupid SADIQ said that pak army is able to accept any kind of challange of terrorism and attack of usa.. he is a lair , he is a foolish man,, pak army is good for nothing, they even can not fight and cotrol mqm in karachi ,, how can this worthless army fight against us army,, we are not child who can trust on our army.,, our army just can fight agains innocent and helpless people,, our foriegn ministry and army even can not give any strict statement agains us army and even they had naver stated any good statement, just talk of round about manners,,, can not even talk freely against us army, so how can they even fight with us army,,,,,,,,,, it is bullshit.

i am proud of IRanian president MAHMOOD NAZAD who alwyas stated firmly and straightforwerdly aginst us army and irael,, he is a son of a man, not k guy like our army or president. he is fighting aginst us since three years, i am sure if there is a president of pakistan on for iranian president, he would have given the pakistan to us army since long time ago…………. i curse on pak cowerd army who can not control mqm in karachi and karachi looks as a other contry different from pak.. usman khan spain..0034-634101023

• binary zero said:

well mister Usman – i smell something else here.

Please don’t disgrace our Amry into it. Its not their job untill asked for.

Seems like you have a political agenda hiddent behind your comments.

• Dr. Fartash said:

Gentlemen…and ladies..:-)
    whatever the past has revealed before us in the present in the form of MQM is now a reality. People living in Karachi are dead scarred of their well organized mafia like operations. From ordinary people to organization CEO s, every one knows that they can hurt u really bad. There are two ways to tackle a bully. One is to just go along wit what he says and the second is to stand up to him. If the bully is too strong, the first way is the obvious choice for most. But if u r strong enough than u can take the second path. Unfortunately, in politics and otherwise too, negotiations are always cheap and yield better results. There is a strong need however to give the people of Karachi the courage and confidence to stand up to this menace. If they don’t fight this war, and believe me its easier said than done, there is no way out.