Mushtaq Minhas & Nusrat Javed

mushtaq.jpgnusrat.jpgPlease share your feedback on Bolta Duo and suggest any ways they can improve Bolta Pakistan. Please also let everyone know who do you enjoy more from duo and the reason behind that. We will make our best efforts to get their response back in their upcoming episodes.

85 Comments »

1. imalik5525 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 5:11 am

The BEST can not be improved

simply no suggesions at all.

they are awsome………….they bring light humour with great political wisdom…there combination is letha………….they are too good.

AAJ has taken over other channels..

unless DR SHAHID MASOOD is back……….GEO IS DOOMED

this is a very good program.both the hosts were awsome.

but hamid mir ki alag ji baat hai

3. imalik5525 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 5:12 am

i simply love both of them MM AND NJ.

imran malik
    va usa
    571-236-2629

4. imalik5525 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 5:15 am

MM,NJ and TALAT are the gr8est anchor persons not only in pakistan but in south asia.

shahid masood still got the edge..but he is not on air these days……

btw kamran khan is the worst thing happened to the media.

I really dont the style of Nusrat Javed, he always try to backup PPP and very conservative mind persion. In contrast, Musthaq Minhas is very liberal and always speak from his heart. The problem with Nusrat is he know so many people in politics so he try not to talk about them alot, where Musthaq very open minded, he will talk about any person whether he is in Government or oppostion.

Nusrat need to think his is not right always… sometime too much experience can hurt your opinions…

But very good talk show. I enjoy watching Musthaq more then Nusrat.

Wouldn’t it be nice if our media, wheather it is TV, Newspapers or for that matter internet users, just think about ordinary people and there welfare and not the politicians of any party.

I for one is simply appalled at the U turn that GEO has taken. Apart from Hamid Mir everyone is begining to be pro MQM. He gets more air time and he is not even in the country. There bias reporting is very obvious and that fellow Kamran should be sacked immediatley.

In this day and age of cameras everywhere, in cell phones, in PDA’s etc etc nothing can be hidden. Sooner or later people will find out the truth.

MM & NJ will be well advised to keep this in mind.

Bolta Pakistan is a great show. Perhaps the best on TV screens these days. On the format of crossfire of CNN, both hosts have differing ideologies and that makes the show more interesting.

Maybe it can be improved if Nusrat Javed interrupts Mushtaq Minhas a bit less and if, on days of major political developments the duration of program can be increased to have more callers and to allow at least the more sensible callers to finish what they want to say.

i have only watched a couple of their programs… not rational…
    they should try to be a little un-bias… mostly pro pml(n)…

They look so original and one of us, it doesn’t seem that they are on TV, they are so casual that sometime when I’m sipping my coffee I feel, wait a minute they are also in my living room let me offer them a cup of coffee.

Nusrat Javaid should allow Mushtaq Minhas to have more freedom.

They are good so does the program format. Only thing is that Nusrat is defending PPP all the time that make him look bad. Mushtaq on the other hand has been showing his favourism towards PLMN lately.

I just like to advise Mushtaq to calm down and don’t be JAZBATI all the time. Whenever he talks long enough, he looks like speeking just for the heck of it and doesn’t make any sense. At times looks like a dork!

To Nusrat, I would say that let Mushtaq complete what he wants to say otherwise he would start his taqreer. Also, be a neutral journalist and stop defending/ prjecting PPP.

Cheers

12. binary zero Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 7:00 am

@savage

Very True - its a very nice show along with Live with Talat - they are awsome - educated ppl.

Regardig Nusrat being more conservative - i guess its the part of this show and makes it more interesting - both person needs to have conflict of thoughts to discuss something or they would loose the charm.

i like it the way it is APART from: 20 commercials before program is started and same ammount of commercians within the program. Either make it for 2 hours or make the commercials low.

thanks,
    binary-zero
    Lahore

Both are very good and supplement each other well. However, the humor of NJ is a bit streetish at times. That is to say that he assumes an air of jugat baazi at times which may both be harsh and slightly unethical. Specially I observed this while he was discussing Dr. Atta on the 1st of April (I havent said this in any sympathy to Dr. Atta, just tried to quote an example).

Their analysis is immaculate. Both are masters of their trade.

1 ) Both, M. Minhas & N. Javed should allow each other to finish their sentences, then speak themselves.
    2) Whatever criticisms have been expressed about above Nusrat Javed , stand good, as far as I am concerned. thus I need not repeat them.
    3) Why all anchorpersons apply ‘ BREAKS ‘ before a break of the show ? They speak discuss in Urdu. Thus they should say ‘ WAQFA ‘ instead.

Absolutely Superb…
    MM little bit more emotional and more direct.
    NJ seems to be tilted towards PPP but I am not sure. but always more calm and calculated.

They both out class GEO program by considerable margin.

Also I’d like to add that Nusrat like to butter polish any big politician fromm PPP. Looks bad!!

i think you people lack in reserch on issues.

* Nice entertaining thoughtful program
    * I enjoy M.Minhas more than N.Javed. More or less same sort of difference as in PML-N and PPPP. :)
    * What the program lacks is that sometime they do not have proper homework. They should have collect authentic facts, figures before talking on specific topics such as they presented about EDUCATION issue recently.

Yes currently AAJ tv rocks with Talat and these two guys.
    There combination is lethal, to me its like and - wire which makes current to follow.
    And in my opinion, why they are getting popularity coz they say ppl mind, today whole nation is standing on some points and we all know what they are :).
    on the other hand Geo and hamid mir is working on some kinda hidden agenda, like they look more under the shadow of establishment and making Bhata party as national party.
    I still trust on hamid mir as individual he is not *beqawo mal* but in his Capital talk he is not able to deliver nowadays.
    May Allah give us power to do good deeds as a nation, in response we will get Good ppl who will rule us !!!!

Most knowledgeable, learned duo who are as good as was the duo of wasim and waqar …. & they are as lethal as was the duo W’s !

Nusrat is perhaps the *biggest* danger a politician can think of, other than Ansar Abbasi. He deliberately keeps quiet in Bolta Pakistan, else I am sure that if he let himself free he will be as lethal as some ‘Nangi Talwaar’ of Tipu Sultan !

Keep it up guys, you have earned loads of respect and honor !

21. BitterTruth Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 8:20 am

Nusrat doesn’t let Mushtaq speak..
    whereas sometimes Mushtaq gets heavily tilted towards PML (N)

*Bad Things*

– Sometimes they are disrespectful towards leaders/politicians. For example I have seen many times that some politician calls and then they use bad words about him/her in their discussion after the call. It is okay to say someone bad when he is calling (or in front of you) but should not be disrespectful afterwards. Please be more respectful towards others.

– I obviously dislike a lot their comments about HEC and Dr. Atta-ur-Rahman. It is because with all due respect their education level is not that high that they can criticize people like Dr. Atta or people who are doing PhD. They are not well qualified or expert regarding that. Furthermore, their information and facts about HEC was very wrong. They should not spread disinformation without first doing complete research or at least please first check HEC website for information before spreading wrong things. Dr. Atta is our hero and a great person.

*Good things*

– Like the style of program
    – Mostly well inform (other than about HEC) about their subject.
    – Good humor, fun and information in their programs.

23. sohnamunda Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 8:28 am

They are simply the best. Mushtaq is emotional but pure. Nusrat Javed is great too but he’s very biased toward PPP. Its okay to like a party but on this show he should be a bit neutral.

Nusrat Javed represents progressive, anti status quo, left, no wonder he is closer to PPP ideologically whereas Mushtaq Minhas embodies conservative, right wing ideas, he was a member of Islami Jamiat e Talaba. If Nusrat is “thesis” then Mushtaq is “anti thesis”. Infact this is what adds flavour to the program and help viewers make their own “synthesis”.

A very nice program. I think I would say my favorite. Both Nusrat and Mushtaq have a distinct style of their own. Whereas Nusrat’s pragmatism and sobriety (of course a consequence of more experience and his age) gives the program a good analytical approach, Mushtaq’s enthusiasm, simple pathan-like logic and passion represents thinking of the masses. Moreover, Nusrat is a bit inclined towards left and Mushtaq towards right which is also a good balance.

Suggestions for improvement? Well, lately I have noticed that the quality of calls has deteriorated. Previously people who called used to talk on the pertinent topic and to the point. Now its more like the old old days when calls on TV and radio started - a bit over enthusiastic, loud -TV -volumed callers. I am not sure if the duo can do anything about it or not.

Another point is that sometimes they argue a bit too much among themselves and lose track of the topic.

But all in all its a very good program.

26. adeel ayub Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 9:26 am

nothing to improve.
    thats the way to move .Mushtaq Minhas is Blunt while NJ is more collected .this is the best combination.
    if both them get blunt then there will B no neutrality!!!!!!

I agree all of the good remarks but something has to improve u will also agree…..

The Program
    They shouldn’t take the call from caller i never seen they satisfy to any caller because this is not a answering question program mostly callers comments on program. Hosts are sitting for analysis not 4 wah wah ji kia program hay. (guys this is not a Nadia Khan show) in this sense 50 Minutes is much better people discussion forum. Producers think about it and make the show more credible like Capital Talk, Meray Mutabiq and L.w. Talat.

Nusrat Javed
    No doubt he is a great journalist with lot of knowledge and we learn from him many things because his discussions based of experience & history. he has to improve only this thing that he share with us more his experiences and tell us history about one personality in each program.(what was worst what was good)

Mushtaq Minhas
    most of time Mushtaq sprites give us rocking but sometime he perform more aggressive like (7th april - Arbab Ghulam Rahim)episode he criticizes badly to democratic peoples he should analysis fair & wait for results after results he can criticize them. now picture is change everybody thinking now some external hands performing in current violation. So Mushtaq Bhai u must keep patient and be careful because u r doing very responsible job and everybody watching program closely.

thx 4 reading

I wish………. more “informal insights” coated with humour from Nusrat Javed………………………………less callers from public………

Both stooges are inclined towards Nawaz League…….. Journalist should be free and not biased in their opinions. But atlast like all poor nations journalists they have to fill their empty stomach as well,,,,, so it doesnt matter as long as the supply comes from Raiwand or Punjab CM House.

30. metastasis2 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 10:01 am

There is always room for improvement.
    I had been watching “Bolta Pakistan” for more than a year and though Mushtaq Minhas always mention email address but both never read or consider emails. They should read and discuss emails along with calls.

A very good program, thanks Aaj TV.

Both anchors are competent. Bravo!
    Nusrat has a lot of experience & Mushtaq Minhas is the voice of nation.

1) Nusrat should not interrupt when Mushtaq is explaining…

2) During the calls, what is that sound “toun toun” after each 5 seconds? its annoying

3) Please let callers complete what they want to say

Mushtaq Minhas:
    - He is the best
    - whatever he speaks comes from his heart
    - when he is speaking a typical Pakistani in the street is speaking

Nusrat Javed
    - has got experience and knowledge
    - needs to distance himself from PPPP
    - often he is seemed to be PPPP/Zardari supporter
    - otherwise he is nice

Ajj TV:
    - the are much better than GEO
    - but they too like other channels are scared to project true face of MQM
    - can improve there graphics, music and presentation -> look at Express TV
    - I hate commercial right at (everyhour):00

4) Moreover they must do one program on water situation of Pakistan, on dams, india’s occupation on the waters of our rivers etc….. A full program

34. ranaammar99 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 10:35 am

I hate Nusrat Javed as he is giving comments against Dr. Atta-ur-Rehman, who is and will be the future hero of Pakistan. He is creating many Dr. A Q Khan’s by his honesty and hard work.
    This is the only good thing done by previous Government, otherwise all other steps are big big blunders.

Wonderful program. We would like to see MQM exposed to their trueself. Please don’t be afraid of their terrorism, they can’t do anything outside Karachi. These dogs are cowards when it comes to face public and media. Look at the big soor he has been hiding his back in London for so many years. That stooge knows what is fate is going to be in Pakistan.
    Please put some light on the laanti kaalay mun of MQM geedars.

excellent at the moment, nothing needs changing

Pakistan being a very conservative nation,i give credit to Nusrat sahib for his liberal views.It does remind me of crossfire and firing line.It does need more fire. :)
    At the present time liberals and conservative have a common target in dictatorship, will be interesting to see how it evolves.
    Good luck to both Mushtaq sahib and Nusrat sahib.

Mushtaq and Nusrat presents a nice combination of idealism and realism…. this is genuine way to discuss politics! and slight humor makes great to watch this kind of a show!

Its not Nusrat supports PPP, actually he is a bit diplomatic most of the time! rather he supports journalists and columnists more!

Suggestion for AAJ-TV
    dare to project MQM’s true face! its must after 12-May and 9-April.
    being little diplomatic to the political parties is OK, not for the fascists!

bolta pakistan a great show
    Nusrat javed can slaughter mush if he wants but there would be no point of this programme if both of them had same political views. MM has a very hot blood but NJ is calculated.
    Both represent different social poiltical views, they are not here to satisfy us but to discuss politics..

smartest team on television!

41. Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 12:25 pm

No suggestions. They’re simply the best along with Talat. I love the little noak jhoank they have going all the time. It brings welcome humor to often sad and painful topics.

Mushtaq Minhas is a star! The man’s got a curse - he just can’t stop speaking the truth!

@someone

So to criticize a P.hd we need a P.hd. :) Going by that logic, I need to be a General to criticize another. Tomorrow you will ask to criticize a P M :)

Dude P.Hd has gotten to your head take it out.

Now on the program, love the show. We specially love MM when he tells NJ to stop being a Jalebi and deliver straight message. Like NJ is hell bent on saving face of PPP all the time.

I think there is no comparison to Dr. Shahid Masood. He is the very best.

When i first saw Bolta Pakistan, i didnt like it too much coz it was different but now after watching 5 to 10 shows i have really developed my taste for it and now it is one of my favourite show. But Nusrat should give Mushtaq a little bit of space coz what he says is really the voice of the people who want results and doing and not just words.

I love this show and others have basically iterated what is so great about it.. To me it is the interaction between the two gentlemen, although at times I see that there is a bit of a seniority thing going when NJ tries to pull rank over Mushtaq Minhas.

But really, I think this is the smartest team and the smartest show on Aaj TV, maybe on any south asian channel (I’m not kidding). Talat is in a class by himself and there is no comparison between these three and the rest of the crowd on geo and the airay-Ghairay TV station.

To Shahid Masood fans, he’s good but come on guys!

I would like to reiterate that MM should be allowed a little bit more time. He’s ex IJT but sometimes I see him speaking the progressive language while Mr. NJ (leftist theoretician that he is - and rightly so) seems to be speaking for the forces of Status quo.

I find myself rooting for Mushtaq Minhas because in this ’shtick’ he’s the underdog. All in all, A brilliant show! I could keep yammering and raving about it… but it really makes me proud of Pakistani Media and a shining example of the excellence that Pakistani’s are capable of showing if give just a little bit of chance. Zara nam ho to yeh maTTi baRi zarkhez hai saaQi.

Was’salaam,

P.S. And re: all those haterz on this thread who called you names; you must carry their ’sang-e dushnam’ as a badge of honor! It only shows that you are on the right path! and it makes the forces of darkness angry and frightened…

Urufi tu ma’yandesh za’Gho-Gaa-e raQeebaaN
    aavaaz-e sagaaN kam na kunad, rizQ-e gadaa raa

45. saleem rabbani Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Admin Bhai, Where i can go to become premium member ?

46. Democracy Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 1:28 pm

Gotta say this for them….I start my day at 6am by watching Aaj news on jump Tv…I build up alot of anxiety and stress but I know that Bolta Pakistan will provide me the relief at the end of the day! Its like therapy I have to say. Mushtaq Minhas basically verbalizes all that I am thinking or rather shouting at the TV. I really feel they do give voice to Pakistanis and that is an immeasurable service to the nation and to those overseas who feel equally vested in Pakistan. Also, many of us have started using the “kiya Kayrahe ho Mushtaq” line in our exchange with each other..they have become part of our culture and thats an enormous brand value!

47. ataraxis6 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 1:31 pm

This is a great political talk show. I could not think of better hosts than NJ and MM for Bolta Pakistan.

I think they can improve the program if NJ would let MM speak, instead of pouring cold water over his emotions, and interrupting him to take a phone call when he is making his point . MM speaks from his heart and that is what I love about him.

You guys are awesome!

48. Pakistani 2008 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 1:48 pm

These are the great intellectuals of Pakistan as every Pakistani is none the less than Plato or Aristotle. So the best people do not deserve any suggestions for the improvement.

mushtaq and nusrat both are doing their best accordingly and we appreciate it…Nusrat is extremly comprehensive and mature…Maybe nusrat can educate mushtaq a little…

but it does not mean that mushtaq is doing a bad job or anything…mushtaq is not as seasoned as Nusrat…and nusrat can polish him…

Bolta pakistan is the best thing happened to Pakistani media…specially since Geo started supporting terrorist mqm…

50. maikolachi Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 1:57 pm

I wish Nusrat Saheb would stop constantly trying to lecture us on how smart he is. Sometimes when prompted by MM it is good but always trying to talk and as soon as MM tries to rebut him he suddenly realizes that there is a caller on the line. Out of 160million people someone or the other is alwasy going to be on line.

The program needs to balance the callers with their opinions and not suddenly cut of callers to go to their opinions and then cut off their opinions to go to their callers.

I guess after 30 years of marial law it will take a while before the media really learns from their mstakes. I suggest for them to please watch footages of CNN’s cross fire and maybe Larry King live to learn how to balance callers from the opinions of the hosts.

Also what is that irritating beeping sound on the calls.

Talat is also a wierd guy, I think that he should have run for elections. He is more interested in telling the guests what he thinks rather than trying to give the audience the opinions of the guest. While the guests are answering you can feel that he is thinking of the rebutting question.

Please led the audience judge the validity of the comments that The guests are making. We are not that dumb that we need TH to clarify everything they say.

It is a great programme.
    I like Mushtaq Minhas the more. He speaks my mind and his thoughts are allmost like mine. Whereas Nusrat javeed is more or less an “enlightened moderate”.
    Best programme on TV after Dr Shahid Masood ” Meeray Mutabaq”
    Best of luck

52. taimurdar Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 2:46 pm

They both are great. Show wouldn’t be the same without Mustaq Minhas and neither without Nusrat Javed, so they both make the program entertaining. Quite humorous at times and also quite informative. Keep it up people, you guys have surpassed all other shows. And please for once invite IMRAN KHAN for some analysis…never seen him in your show!!! that’s my only request.

53. comment-top

A good programme but Nusrat rarely lets Mushtaq speak his mind to completion. Most of the time he interferes into what he says or just tells him to stay quiet because there is something else to say or someone else to hear.

IMO Nusrat takes much more time of the show than Mushtaq Minhas.

Overall AAJ TV looks much more balanced than GEO - which is giving clear indications to become MQM mouthpiece.

54. hamzak786 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 3:08 pm

Atleast i have a trust on them that thay are not from INTELIGENT AGENCIES……

55. Zarak Khan Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 5:07 pm

Great Show ! Keep up the good work.

Request for NJ: Please let MM complete his sentences. He is speaking the truth and expressing the feelings and emotions of the people. Don’t interrupt him unnecessarily.

Also improve the sound quality of the call-in segments. If this is technically not possible then stop this feature of your program.

To all those who call you names: Change the channel…you have many more choices. Have you ever thought why you still keep watching the show even though you hate it ?

56. comment-top

bhonktha maizbaan.
    its like watching a dog fight between these two guys.
    please be civilised , at least on tv, let one person finish what he wants to say , then the other should spell out words of wisdom from his mouth.
    let the caller say something, its not the test of whose smarter of the two.

57. Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 5:45 pm

Suggestions for these two:

1) they should have some form of unblock able transmission set up..so that if anyone tries to lock them down they can switch over and still keep arguing.

2) They should increase the duration of the program at least 15 more minutes.

3) They should expose corruption too, not only politics……

4) They need to expose Molvi tabqa a bit more…They never talk about Molvis…for some reason….we all know that Dajjal = Molvi….

5) I like both of them and enjoy their talk show a lot and appreciate what they are doing and they are doing a lot………

The suggestions are positive and will help us, the public, understand more….

58. Amir Hameed Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 5:57 pm

In my opinion the beauty of this program is that these two folks almost always have different opinions, otherwise, you will need only one person. I do not care if MM was an ex-IJT as long as he analyzes all IJT/JI related matters on merit which he does. Aaj TV is quite ahead of the other channels on these types of programs and is so far doing a good job in maintaining the quality of these shows.

59. comment-top

@fredy: maybe u will like “bhayya paan with kamran khan” show..

look how badtameez u are..

60. comment-top

On the whole show is like; tea on a Sunday morning….absolutely refreshing!!!

There are a couple of things as to the format and the content of the show that could, rather should be changed;

1. First off is Nusrat sahib’s PPP affiliation (sometimes seems like he is on a payroll, desire for which he keep mentioning )

2. Mushtaq, cool it down a notch (but then again if you do show wouldn’t be fun to watch)

3. For heaven’s sake change the graphics please (the telephone background- it’s bloody annoying to see the map of Pakistan traced with flipping loop)

4. Try to add a bit of investigative journalism into it as well (hire a couple of new - eager to please journalist’s if you have to)

5. On off days, try not squeeze the current news to fit the format of the show (try to be adventurous – try discussing off beat subjects – like discussing the kala bagh dam for instance – this is where that research I mentioned earlier could come in handy)

6. Well, if you’ve still have got money left-over; the set could do with a bit of touching over….and just do what you guys do best……

61. comment-top

@fredy,

TK has wrote a very nice She’r let me translate it for you.
    Urufi tu ma’yandesh za’Gho-Gaa-e raQeebaaN
    Urfi you should not worry about noises which your enemies make for you)
    aavaaz-e sagaaN kam na kunad, rizQ-e gadaa raa
    (Barking dogs doesn’t reduce charity given to beggers)

I do appologize, translation couldn’t justy the spirit of this sha’r.

62. comment-top

I just recently started watching this program. I have to say, i am addicted to it now. Its news and fun, with both of them making sure that they talk about everything fearlessly. Also, as opposed to Talat who is very erudite and correct all the time, Mushtaq and Nusrat, esp Mushtaq can sometime speak what everyone really wants to be talked about.. no matter if it is slightly politically incorrect.

I agree to one comment above, instead of talking and giving opinions, if they hire someone to collects facts for their point of view before coming to the studio, then both of them can make more stronger arguments that will also inform the audience and help them make arguments in our own discussion (over tea with friends and family :)

63. straightarrow Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 7:01 pm

Mr Javed should drop his false modesty (…”I a am just a simple student of politics”…and other such nonsense) because he is clearly not a modest man given the way he rides roughshod over Mr Minhas and others. He wastes valuable air time by indulging in his long-winded and insincere self-deprecation. Also, for God’s sake somebody in Aaj TV show him a dictionary to explain that “Asraar” means “mystery” and not “Insistence”. The correct word for “Insistence” is “Israar”. Errors such as this can be overlooked among others but not among journalists for whom words and language are tools of their trade.
    But all said and done, this is a great programme and I really like both comperes and their combative approach. Mr. Minhas is clearly the more honest and emotional one while Mr Javed is more wily. Whether these roles are real or synthetic, the work really well nonetheless. Excellent job! Keep it up!!

64. comment-top

HEC ke baarai main bechaaron ke pas koi knowledge nahin hai ..
    still they want to comment on it and so I am suspected now ke how much should their other comments about other things be credible :S

65. straightarrow Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 7:45 pm

Bolta Pakistan of MArch 10 - regarding the demand for a UN inquiry into Benazir’s death, I would agree with ex-Foreign Minister Kasuri and Mr. Allah Wadhayo that this is not a good idea. As suggested, the government can invite international experts if necessary, but must keep overall control with itself. This should offset any legitimate concerns about objectivity.

66. comment-top

excellent program. only two suggestions for Nusat Javed:

1. let Mushtaq speak without interrupting him before he even completes a sentence.

2. dont support PPP so openly, it affects your credibility.

anyways as most people above me said, i enjoy Mushtaq Minhas more, if only Nusrat wouldnt keep interrupting him.

67. comment-top

Mushtaq Minhas has his plus points but Nusrat Javed is the one who keeps the whole thing together (if you know what I mean). Priority to callers is a good idea but a balance should be (and is probably being) maintained.

68. afzalkhan Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 9:50 pm

Of course Bolta Pakistan is a good show. I was believing every thing they telling about Paki Politics. But what they were talking about HEC and Dr. Atta ur Rahaman were completely wrong. To me they have lost credibility a little. I myself doing Ph.d in Physics on HEC scholarship in France. Before HEC, we have never seen an advertisement for Ph.d scholarship, this is Dr. Atta ur Rahman who made this possible. I am also serving as a lecturer in a government university, things are changed very much with HEC. The services of Dr. Atta for Pakistan are more than Dr. A.Q khan.

I suggest that they must reserve one program for reading e.mails. I have sent them two or three e.mails, but they neither read them in their program nor reply me personally. So I suggest, they have to read some selected e.mails in their program once a week (probably on Sunday) and for other e.mails which they can not read in their program should reply in personnel e.mail.

69. comment-top

Bolta Pakistan gives a good coverage - But Talat in Live with Talat some times uses language which is not appropriate to his stature - He should improve in this.

70. comment-top

Nusrat Javaid always talks so “humble” yet he is one of the most arrogant people on media.

Program is great and everything is good but Nusrat Sahab please chose either humbleness or “authority”. You cannot carry them side by side.

71. imalik5525 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 10:50 pm

i dont understand this whole UNITED NATION investigation thing.

once asif zardari didnt allow post martem now even superman cant do nothing about it.

if you were serious about investigation then the first step was to have post martem.forensic science is the starting pt of all modern day murder investigations.

now this hue and cry for united nations doesnt make any sense .what can they do now??

72. FalconDigitaLL Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 10:51 pm

@Imalik525
    I absolutely agreed with your underlined statment that
    “”btw kamran khan is the worst thing happened to the media……”"
    He is really the most pathetic anchor among the dozen

73. imalik5525 Says:
    April 10th, 2008 at 11:44 pm

@falcondigital

yep…kamran khan even can’t say one sentence properly without hiccups.

74. ranaammar99 Says:
    April 11th, 2008 at 2:24 am

Time will prove that Dr. Atta-ur-Rehman is a future hero of Pakistan. He is making grounds to produce many A.Q Khans, the future survivals of Pakistan.
    NJ has commited a very big blunder by criticising Dr. Atta.
    He is the best of best in Pakistan. His personal knowledge, No. of publications, no. of books written prove him the best researcher Pakistan have produced. People like NJ should think manyfold before talking about such kind of peolple.

75. comment-top

@ranaammar99,

Please read this … http://www.sasnet.lu.se/hoodbhoy.html

76. aikaurpakistani Says:
    April 11th, 2008 at 4:27 am

this is a great show
    ever since dr. shahid went off the air, this has taken over.

I do agree that Dr. Atta seems like an okay guy

77. proudpakistani Says:
    April 11th, 2008 at 4:55 am

i think they are the BEST. the way they conduct a show is just brilliant. hats off to them.

78. ranaammar99 Says:
    April 11th, 2008 at 9:36 am

@rasheed
    Dear Brother
    Dr. Hoodbhai is a just a critic, nothing else. First he should explain, what he has done so far, for Pakistan.
    Much of his blames are baseless, as
    1. Funds expended by HEC on research are still much much less than other countries are expending,
    2. Current Ph.D. standard and criteria of Pakistan versities is not less than anywhere in the world rather it is more tough.
    3. If there are some management problems, Dr. Atta cant alone be blamed for it.
    4. People like Dr. Hoodbhai should positively suggest and help HEC in betterment.

79. comment-top

@ranaammar99

I agree with you that Hoodbhai is always complaining and undermining the achievements other Pakistani people who have at least done something for the country.

It would still be a good thing if our scientists can learn the outdated technology of the West; keeping in mind the current state of research in Pakistan.

80. comment-top

Bolta Pakistan is a good program and Geo has tried to copy this through their Left & Right program.

Nusrat is a left wing rep anf MM is a right wing rep in this program. It is good combination
    Nusrat needs to give more time to MM. Both are well prepared on occasions but one some occasions they are hardly prepared. They will hopefully improve their homework as the time passes. They need to suggest solution of the problems by gettting suggestion from people who are related to the field.

They shoudl include subject like education, agriculture, health, energy and of curse politics. Where as the political programs are easy to do and more interestig, the other issues can also be made more interestng by involving debates and ideas of experts, different political parties and pressure groups.

The callers are an important element of this program and they should give due time and space to them. They can also add a segment where they call to other people (politicians, experts) in which they can ask them to explain their statements or views.

I think they will be even more successful if they keep on improving their homework.

81. iqbal7200 Says:
    April 11th, 2008 at 2:27 pm
    comment-top comment-bottom
  82. comment-top

i think capital talk is far much bettter than bolta pakistan…
    i can tolerate the sohail guy but not these two…

83. AbuNauman Says:
    April 11th, 2008 at 7:01 pm

I think Both are good, as combination of Meetha or Karara makes it tasty. In pakistan we discuss people in open style but on TV we try to be sweet. I think they should also alow and encourage people to speak their mind without considering the diplometic words.

I have a complaint to Mr Nusrat, Few days ago on an other program with Talat some body said you a Bhand, and u accepted that. I think you should have told him that people in drawing rooms/bethak talk this way and this is the natural way of taking in pakistan.

Actually if we people be allowed to talk like this and without diplomacy then the real bad people in pakistan will be identified. On the HEC issue, yes they were less prepared but it seemed they had some other issue to discuss which they have to drop. Nusrat can tell us better.

Will they both read this?

84. comment-top

Nusrat speak much articulately than Minhas. He has a amazing sense of humour. On the other hand, Minhas may not be articulate much but always bring other side of the picture. Minhas is at its best, when he speak by his heart. It is only at that time that Nusrat become defensive.

Personally, I believe most of the complain about Nusrat is unfounded. No one can make entire Pakistan happy as we all may have significantly different opinion. His defend for PPP or Asif Zardari should be thought of literary. He is among those who contributed significantly in exposing Asif’s corruption. In this way, he got some leeway to criticize later. He might say I am criticizing you after giving fair amount of benefit of doubt.

There is one thing that Nusrat should take into consideration. He should not point it linguistic mistakes as such. Minhas should work on being better articulated.

85. The Giant Squid Says:
    April 12th, 2008 at 10:34 am

The program is currrently the best one available on pkpolitics. I am not sure if there are others that are not here…. But this one is by leaps and bounds better. My ranking would be from 1-10

Top 3
    ——–
    Bolta Pakistan 7 to 8
    Capital Talk Usually 6
    Live with Talat Usually 6 to 7

Dr. Shahid Masood usually a 3, unless he lets others speak and not expects them to say the thing that s in his mind, and stops his annoyingly irksome interrupting habit of cutting people in the middle of the sentences

Javed Malik - A pathetic 2. He is too artificial. Wish he improves… His writings indicate there is a brain over there.

Asma Sherazi… Was a 4, but is now again a 2, struggling with her new format

Focus with Faeza - 0 - “Qata Kalaami Muaf”, The most irritating of the lot. Her learning curve seems to be a decreasing one… She also seems to have delusions of adequacy

Suggestions for Bolta Pakistan
    You have a very good basis. Very wide following. I would suggest some technical improvements.

1. Increase the duration of your program by 15 minutes.
    2. In the last portion, use at least 2 minutes for both anchors to indivisually summarize their discussion with their points of view.
    3. Use some computer technology available to educate via hard data before some program, maybe once a week initially. Things like a chronology of violence in MQM. Or the current spate of orchestrated violance, or comparison of shifting positions of PPP. You know like they said on 9 Mar this, then on 18 Apr this etc etc.

I am also of the opinion (maybe because of my leftist tendency) that it is Mushtaq who interrupts at the wrong moments and more than NJ. NJ is usually interrupted when he is telling an anecdote or his analysis of a situation, while Mushtaq has to be interrupted when he is being emotional and irrational… Not always but usually.

However I like both of them very much and wish them success.