Imran Khan vs Hussain Haqqani and Kishmala Tariq vs Dr. Firdos Ashiq Awan in Left Right.
April 18th, 2008 at 2:59 am
my disant uncle against my leader.. this ought 2 be interesting
ill watch it 2mmorow
April 18th, 2008 at 3:04 am
this was aired last weekend…saturday I believe.
April 18th, 2008 at 3:36 am
Anjum Rasheed would make an excellent TC FAQEER!.. He should be picked up by kharkaar’s and used for begging on mallroad..
oh and Haqqani.. why am I not surprised to see this neocon LOZER by the side of this imbecile Anjum whatever…
April 18th, 2008 at 4:01 am
you reminded me of stewie
April 18th, 2008 at 4:08 am
i have been saying this for a while that this left / right is stupid program. The purpose is not to have a genuine debate but they are more interested in show or theater type thing.
@dmin, when r u going to do your poll thing to know which program to be taken off.
I really want these 2 programs to be permanently removed
Left Right & Focur with Faeza
April 18th, 2008 at 4:10 am
General Retd. Pervez Musharraf talks about the Human Rights in Pakistan.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H87NPPalVik&feature=related
April 18th, 2008 at 4:28 am
I think I need to talk to my taliban friends about Kishmala Tariq
she is the female version of sheikhoo and I sincerely hate both of them
April 18th, 2008 at 4:30 am
i agree with engineer.. here is the programs i think we should have
1)bolta pakistan
2)live with talat
3)off the record
4)capital talk (and i dunnon why ou guys think its a pro establishment program i dont see any other channel dissing mqm directly as much)
5)meray mutabiq
6)kal tak (he actually increases my general knowledge)
April 18th, 2008 at 9:17 am
Bingo. Hussain Haqqani logically and forcefully presents the historical background and perspective of Pak US relations. He presents well the case of democratic forces and rightly points out the the selling of our national interests under the military regimes for the sake of prolongation of personal rule and army’s monopoly.
Imran must try to talk less emotionally and more coolheadedly.
April 18th, 2008 at 10:27 am
yeh Anjum Rasheed sahib ko kahan sey pakar kar laye hain..never seen him on television before…is qadar na qabil e bardasht hain ..he has no class and tries so hard…arguing for the sake of it without substance. I wish they’d replace him with a more charismatic host..Our other host may seem goofy and is good for comic relief because of the way he talks in that monotone of his but he asks fairly pertinent questions and has some good points to put across.
April 18th, 2008 at 1:18 pm
Agree with commoner … H. Haqqani’s arguments are almost always well balanced and well founded, despite his audacity of saying unpopular things (which are often true at the core). Imran on the other hand disappointed me with his less than eloquent points lacking intellect and just repeating the popular cliches; he did not stop to realise that Hussain was actually saying the same thing in a more sensible and less emotional way. Imran also seemed divided between his stance about sustaining friendship with US and that about surviving without relations with US; there may be a reconciliation point somewhere but he failed to put it across in an elaborate manner. He is generally an above average and reasonably logical speaker; maybe he just had a bad day.
As for Anjum Rasheed, please give that poor guy a break. You must understand that whatever he says is not his actual point of view but a part of his job as being a representative of the rightist wing, which is often unpopular and hard to defend on reason. It is just unfortunate for him that he has to often argue for the wrong side, the sole reason for which is to allow opposing views to coincide, in order to portray a holistic picture about the given subject. If you read or listen to him otherwise you will find that he and Sohail agree on most things and both have been aggressively endorsing popular democratic ideas. I cannot disagree with the fact, however, that the show does not qualify to be a serious debate program and is very poorly conducted.
April 18th, 2008 at 2:15 pm
admin PkPolitics
Dear if you can just post time of free viewing then it will be easier for us to wait
April 18th, 2008 at 2:21 pm
OK so I watched it again.. and I think I can explain my visceral, unmitigated RAGE! and it was just because of my bloodpressure going up 1000 points after seeing that Bhikk MaNggaa Anjum Rasheed..(and to see HaQQaani by his side? I mean really WTF? he maybe a crypto-neocon, but still, I always considered him to have more sense than that!?!. I am indignant that he actually chose to sit next to this buffoon!
IK was a bit emotional, but I think any decent human being would be consumed by irrational rage and hatred after only two sentences out of Mr. Anjum Rasheed’s dahn-e mubarak.
nuff said.
P.S. I am inclined to believe Srosh’s description of Anjum Rashid.. but then again, why can’t they find some actual freak like Kasoori or someone who would actually believe the tripe they’re offering.. Currently this program is just noora kushti … pretty much.
April 18th, 2008 at 4:34 pm
April 18th, 2008 at 5:51 pm
I watched Sohail Waraich on the GEO election day transmission and he had almost encyclopedic knowledge about pakistani politicians. I respect him for that.
But his way of talking can put anyone to sleep.
How sad…so much knowledge but no personality….
April 18th, 2008 at 6:06 pm
I think Suhail’s part in the programme is always concrete and logical.It is his counterpart who is responsible for all the boredom.Also combining two topics in half an hour probably leave both the topics uncovered.
April 18th, 2008 at 6:18 pm
I don’t know why, but I see a skullcap on the head of Haqqani. It maybe because of the lighting in the studio.
In my opnion we have a new Shaukat Aziz in Haqqani though in a smaller version, but the damage can maybe still be serious. Haqqani is good at twisting words. He was NOT saying the same as IK. He put the entire blame on Pakistan for the Yankees (mis)behaviour like the usual arm twisting to have their interests implemented. The Yankees don’t always do what they say. Don’t be the blue-eyed guys. My advice is that we should be very carefull about Haqqani. This man is dangerous. He is a real hard core spin doctor, and he is not bad at his “handicraft”…..for the Yankees, but for Pakistan…he is bad.
Pakistan has been tempted to participate in mostly Amarican affairs.
- Korea war (as far as I remember. It was NOT our war)
- Afghanistan (We had some national interest in this war)
- Desert Storm. 1’st war against Iraq (It was NOT our war)
There is the doubt that the Yankees has always left us when we had civilian leadership. Some good examples are the tneures of ZAB and NS regimes. We must be prepared to receive punishment whenever we have civilian rule. The Yankees are accostemmed to one phone call to have things done and not accustommed to parliamentary affairs, where decisions has to be made on debates and meetings i.e. if at all we agree it may take time….annoying for the Yankees. Let’s support (light verbal version) democracy, but actually work on having dictatorship whenever possible.
Haqqani said that the tribals had picked up weapons against Pakistan. This is not true statement. The GHQ started the armed struggle and was in addition assisted by their masters from Afghanistan. I saw Haqqani defending the Yankees at every cost. All the blame on Pakistani generals/politicians, but no finger pointed at the tha Yankees for an equal violation of international rule i.e. interfering in our affairs - a soveriegn country. As IK truly said there is only a political solution to the tribal areas problem, and if we don’t find it quickly we will pay a very high price.
When somebody steps on the lions tale then one should expect some kind of reaction.That was exactly what happened when Haqqani started twisting words from the very beginning.
Btw….. It is not only expatraites in America, who are sending money to Pakistan. There is also fair amount from place called EU.
April 18th, 2008 at 6:24 pm
the real question overlooked by Haqqani, “Will u change the current policy?”
despite of being coolheaded / intellectual / rational he failed to answer this question.
IK said the policy must be changed……thats the difference b/w Haqqani and IK.
April 18th, 2008 at 6:32 pm
I never liked Haqqani even when he was in BB govts, due to my limited knowledge or limited media, I never understood what part of the Nation he represents, but later by reading his columns in international media it was obvious he is not one of us or he doesn’t represent us.
@Saqib, I thought It was only me who noticed his artificial beauty.
On other note, Left Right is a flop show, Geo tried to follow Bolta Pakistan pakistan pattern, but they failed miserably, it’s so obvious that Both Mr. Anjum and Mr. Waraich are arguing for the sake of job. Specially Anjum he seems so lost. In one episode where topic was Islamabad, his argument was “Yeh kaisa Sha’r hai, is mein koi Pagal bhi nahee ghoomta” stupidity at it’s best.
April 18th, 2008 at 6:46 pm
IK keeps shouting populist slogans right now. Once he has a REAL political party that has some influence on policy, then i’ll see what his policies are.
The only politicians right now who can take on the Americans right now are probably Shahbaz Sharif and Asif Zardari.
April 18th, 2008 at 6:54 pm
@baig_lahori
“IK keeps shouting populist slogans right now. Once he has a REAL political party that has some influence on policy, then i’ll see what his policies are.”
I think you are wrong. Only time will tell who is right about foreign policy. This is my opinion against yours. Though his local record is quite good. .
April 18th, 2008 at 7:02 pm
kufar aur yahood muslims k kabi doast nahi ho saktey (hadith) do not challegne the words of prophet.
April 18th, 2008 at 7:28 pm
i would agree with Imran here. he mentioned important things here, the people fighting in trible areas were not of the same phelosephy as alqaida or taliban are, they fight as they think they have been attcked. dialogue is the best option which always work with tribles. otherwise they will fight, they never give up, and this would be in the america interest not in pakistan. haqqani pretty much same cowardly tone as every politician unfortunately in this country is. speak loudly and clearly as people can understand and America as well. haqqani version of relation, we have been listening for long now. now we need some one speak it loudly, like Imran. imran is very logical here, he also mentioned relation should be multi dimensional, not just only, where america needs us.
April 18th, 2008 at 8:03 pm
Flop.
Lame show. Sucks. Never watched it.
By the way, did you guys know, Hussain Haqqani was a Jamiattiya gangster in KU?
“Aur Janaab, aur janaab….”
- Anjum Rasheed would probably be a lot better at making hajamats. He doesn’t believe what he is saying. Flop version of Mushtaq Minhas.
- SW is just too goofy. Soon as he opens his mouth, I start hearing, “bachpan me baray shrarti hoN gay” and “Kiya ye khula tizaad nahiN hai?”
Kia kia mujra karati haiN rotiaN, Aadmi ko nachati haiN rotiaN
April 18th, 2008 at 8:06 pm
for my knowledge?
is hadith protected like The Holy Book??
April 18th, 2008 at 8:09 pm
@tk
heard somewhere that there is a link between the abomination that is daniel pipes and haqqani? can u dig up some literature ?
April 18th, 2008 at 8:15 pm
@kafka
It is available at dictatorshipwatch.com
April 18th, 2008 at 8:19 pm
@mbokhari
You are too funny,i am still ROFLMAO after reading your comments under Education Policy
April 18th, 2008 at 8:23 pm
Haqqani is a shrewd person, has been in america during the musharraf regime, may be a bit before that. Had been close to the two former two-time Prime Ministers. He has to fulfill the agenda of two persons now… the lost Shaukat Aziz and the ‘to be lost’ Musharraf. Things would still remain the same.
April 18th, 2008 at 8:25 pm
@zia m : true dat! and the kicker is.. the guy bought it! hahahah!
April 18th, 2008 at 8:45 pm
I don’t know the personal character of Hussain Haqqini so I am just forming my opinion on the things that has been said in debate
I think Hussain Haqqini was very logical and almost right in all things he said.
in comparison Imran khan was looking as emotional person
Blind emotion without any strategy or tactics whether it is for the right cause does not help and Imran khan has a history of doing those emotional things that were counter productive so he might attract my heart with his emotional rhetoric but my mind rejects him completely
April 18th, 2008 at 8:50 pm
can anyone please send a message to anjum rasheed to not interfere if someone is speaking !!!
April 18th, 2008 at 8:55 pm
It is hilarious the guy is advising on Education !
April 18th, 2008 at 9:22 pm
@zia m, TK
What do you mean funny? How am I funny? You mean I am here to amuse you, I’m here to make you laugh? What the fuqq is so funny about me? Tell me…….. ;’-)
I wrote that post half in amusement and half to see if someone would stumble over it. Glad to see no one spotted it 8–)
I have a few observations to make that are proven by my satirical post:
- Disturbingly, the guy I was lampooning agreed with me. Pakistanis are very vulnerable to religious fascism. Good thing we haven’t had any Mussolini or Hitler. We have had Molana Diesel, Molana Radio, Molana Bijli Ghar, Molana Sandwich, easy pickings to say the least. Marx(?) said religion is the opiate of the masses. The opiate of poor/stupid/uneducated-but-literate masses, more like it.
- For me these discussions are more of the onanistic variety. If I wanted to do that I’d use my 2 GB collection of Sunny Leone videos, OK?
I may not be a Cunning Linguist but I sure am a Master Debater (Ohhh Behaaaaiiive!!!).
- Lack of critical thinking. Since nobody is reading anybody else’s post, nobody is doing any critical thinking and poking holes in the other person’s theories. Barring a few exceptions, of course. And then they expect HEC, State Bank, Media etc to be critical and objective.
- Nobody in authority or in a position to change things reads these Help suggestions. Add all those media Talk Shows that “discuss” those events. The Talk Shows serve only ONE purpose and that is to inform the voter. The leadership should NOT get their cues from the media/papers. We need think tanks like the Brookings Institute and the RAND corp. to educate these imbeciles. The pkpolitics posts on policy are good in concept but don’t amount to a hill of beans when you factor Reality in, OK? I don’t think Ahsan Iqbal would be shouting to his secretary, “Quick Farkhanda, freshen my huqqa and get Qalam and Dawaat, mbokhari/TK/nota has just posted a very important post on education.” Also, nobody reads the other members’ posts. If I had the time and energy I would respond to every nonsensical post and try to show fallacious reasoning in their ideas. Just for the heck of it. Everybody wants to get a word in to Ahsan Iqbal without reading each other’s messages. And then they expect AI to read each and every post. Funny.,.
Question Everything. Accept Nothing….
April 18th, 2008 at 10:19 pm
Damn you @mbokhari! I was just about to post a scathing review of the current policy and a groundbreaking program of visionary changes to the re-edited pdf circa 2005!!
But seriously, I don’t think Ahsan Iqbal’s secretary of education would be reading this… I actually bothered to read this document and looks like it is from 2005 and the ranking educationamalist bureaucrat just changed the heading and title page and submitted it to the minister…
The doc is full of generalizations.. I don’t really know how to comment on it.. hopefully someone will try to find something in those comments. I think it would be better for the minister to have a conference of educators and then have them give expert opinion on these matters. I think they would be able to add more values than us, most of whom are not really SME’s in the area.
April 18th, 2008 at 10:24 pm
If people like Haqqani are going to be the a link between PAK-US affairs we should be ready for the usual mantra from the Americans “You need to do more”.
It is quite frightening that many people are not able to see through QaQa-Qahani. He is good at his spin doctor job, but if one puts a littlle effort to understand this eel then he is easily exposed as a Yankee man as long as they pay handsomely. If we have people like him then we will see more news like this:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7353852.stm
My above observations combined with the link given by mbokhari then it is quite obvious that this man is quite dangerous. Where is this “cool” man’s loyalties? With IJT, PML or PPP, and also remember that he is suspected of having links with CIA and ISI. Qaqa-Qahani is where the pay is most handsome? WTH is this man doing at the helm of affairs?
Excerpts from mbokharis link:
“Despite the violence (usually involving PSF and NSF against IJT), the University did manage to hold its 1979 elections.
The elections saw the Progressive Alliance defeat IJT on a number of union posts, but the union’s top slot was won by IJT’s top man at the varsity, Hussain Haqqani.
It was Hussain Haqqani (who many years later would join PML (N) and then the PPP), who introduced the usage of latest weaponry at the University. Even though he never carried a weapon himself, he moved with a well armed group of Thunder Squad members led by the infamous, Rana Javed. Haqqani’s opponents also accused him of being “on CIA and the ISI’s payroll.””
April 18th, 2008 at 11:32 pm
@Saqib
You asked, Where is Haqqani’s loyalty?
Elementary my dear Watson. His pait. He is one of the most pure variety of pait parast. Haqqani’ aint lookin out for Zardari, or Nawaz, or US, or Daniel Pipes. Haqqani is lookin out for Haqqani. He is the president, chairman, spiritual leader and Qaid of Haqqani Qomi Movement.
Seriously, I look at this guy as a fascinating and rare specimen in some Natural History Museum. Just looking at him makes me think of lizards, iguanas and Salamandars. But most of all, I think of KOMODO DRAGONS….You should look the Komodo Dragon up, truly Haqqani type creatures.
I am very impressed with Haqqani because of his swinging like a pendulum from IJT to Nawaz to BB to Zardari. Some say he is a political weather vane, indicating the political winds….I say NO…They say rats and lizards sense earthquakes months before and start abandoning the towns. This guy is like that rat and you can see when the government is going to fall by seeing how he changes his Sugar Daddies. He should have been in the Pakistani Acrobats squad in the Olympics. OR, he should join MQM. His deviousness would complement their evil. A marriage made in heaven.
April 19th, 2008 at 12:12 am
@TK wrote:
“…The doc is full of generalizations…”
Impractical tings like this report and other do-gooders who don’t have a clue (Islamists, politicians, TV pundits) always remind me of this classic:“How to Rid the World of All Known Diseases”
April 19th, 2008 at 12:27 am
@mbokhari: I urge you to start a blog (or I’ll have to do it for you) dammit!
April 19th, 2008 at 12:52 am
I agree with commoner and Sarosh. Altho Saqib has some good points too.
But the whole point is that HH ney IK ko hila key rakh diya. IK may not have had such a weak position, but HH argued really well and IK just had nothing to offer in return. He did not ask any relevant questions, such as why is Gen Durrani being retained, etc. He just got bamboozled.
And that is his problem, he is just such a drawing room talker–he can’t hold his own in an intellectual debate.
April 19th, 2008 at 3:21 am
Hussein Haqqani arguing that we should set our fact straight. But he didn’t respond to the point that why a country should allow to make moderate alliance, and which group should be in the government. Instead, he used a cheap tactic. And said that people who boycotted the election could not accuse other for being linked to the US. He was accusing other for twisting things, yet he himself did it!!
Second, Anjum was not letting Imran finish his point. Whehter Imran had been articulate or not could have been decided only if, we let him complete his say. Whenever Imran begin, Amjum interrupt him.
Haqqani do teach in university. However, no one would deny that he is not even passing of Noam Chomsky. And Noam Chomsly have said Pak-US relationship has been harmful to Pakistan throughout Pakistan’s history. Noam Chomsly has also said that Pakistan must disengage from the US plan, if it wanted to survive.
You guys are all sensible people. Do you think Pakistan has got freedom from the US after Feb 18 election? we, ordinary people, can see it clearly that we are far from it. Yet, Haqqani couldn’t see it.
These are the people who deserved the word pseudo-intellectual who really have intellectual capabilities, well read, yet never lose the sight of their self-interestl. He wanted to be an ambassador to the US, this explain subtle contradiction, and personal attack on Imran. Would he say the samething about Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto that he was exploting people, or Zulfi was mere emotional talker? He won’t, even if he believed it so.
I was just beginning to admire him due to his views which he expressed in some talk shows. Thank you left-right to not letting me do that.
Haqqani should learn from people like Pervez Hoodbhouy or Dr. Mubarak Ali. At least these people do not care for their self-interest. They speak what they believed to be true. Pervez hoodbhouy or Mubarak Ali deserved our admiration, at least more than Haqqani.
April 19th, 2008 at 6:19 am
at 14:55 Haqani said that a terrorist is a person who kills innocent people for what ever reason”. now ask this CIA agent that “is America also a terrorist country cz it attacked Iraq, vitenam, Hiroshima, Nagasaki and Afghanistan ”
I rest my case…. people like Haqani are being groomed in West to intellectually spin the destiny of our beloved country …….
April 19th, 2008 at 7:34 am
@mbokhari
Great that you (Savage, Madeel and Riddle) also were able to see what kind of a man this Qaqa-Qahani is.
Qaqa-Qahani also reminds me of MQM people who dances around the issues without saying anything. My favorite comparison in the animal world for MQM people are chameleons……changing colors according to the situation.
@madeel
Madeel wrote:
“You guys are all sensible people. Do you think Pakistan has got freedom from the US after Feb 18 election? we, ordinary people, can see it clearly that we are far from it. Yet, Haqqani couldn’t see it. ”
The last part of the sentence should (IMO) be: “Haqqani wouldn’t show it.”
Qaqa-Qahani is not a stupid man, and makes a big effort to (mis)lead people by twisting words. There is no doubt that this man is a good spin doctor, and exactly knows what he is spinning, but nevertheless people with little knowledge about such creatures can see through him.
April 19th, 2008 at 7:59 am
PMLN and PTI are the parties which truly understand the international dimensions of this so-called “war on terror”, and see it for what its worth.
sadly the PPP either is unaware of the real motives of USA and West, or it is an enemy of Pakistan and Pakistanis and is following the foreign agenda. however there should be no such doubt about this neocon hussain haqqani, who is an enemy within us, and appointing such an evil man as the ambassador is potentially very dangerous for our country.
April 22nd, 2008 at 8:48 am
Visit http://www.pkdemocrat.wordpress.com to know more about this yahoodi agent Hussain Haqqani.