{ 44 comments... read them below or add one }

Javaid Khan said:

Wah Wah Mistri sahib. Zabardast building banai hai aap ne.
    Great article brol

SnrCtzn said:

Do not worry, the END of Mush & his cronies is in sight. ‘ Every dog has his day ‘
    as the saying goes; & so Mush-the dog, has also had his day.

ALLAH is also WATCHING, them. In Urdu it is said, ‘ En ko apni chaal lain chalnay do. Aur yeh oos din ka intezar karen, jis din Allah apni CHAAL challay ga !

Saqib said:

Good article. It seems like your assumptions are quite close to reality.

“For consolation of all the comrades let me reiterate that political forces are on the offensive and they are making it hard for establishment to achieve even these minimum objectives.”

I would just add a little thing but significant word

“For consolation of all the comrades let me reiterate that democratic-minded political forces are on the offensive and they are making it hard for establishment to achieve even these minimum objectives.”

Thanks a lot for sharing inside knowledge.

sic5770 said:

I know most people think it is almost the victory of people of Pakistan but it might not be as simple and easy as people think. First of all victory of people of Pakistan means defeat of Musharaf ( means defeat of army), means defeat of US and Western world.

If I would be Nawaz or Zaradari, I would still play very safe and smart and continue to be vigilant from these forces, because they can destroy everything in one second.

Lets keep our fingers crossed!!

Saqib said:

@sic5770

These gangsters shouldn’t be taken lightly. We need continuous determination and we should never lower our guard.

calyps said:

Musharraf will resign and go to Turkey. New characters in the establishment will go back to their original positions of 1999 and the game will start again.

>>>> dunya aagai ja rahe hai aur hum peechai .. the world is moving ahead except Pakistan (we are moving backward)

the thing i dont understand is why dont u all remember the situation of 1999? phir vohe zardai and nawaz phir vohe dramai bazi

TK said:

I’m confused.

engineer said:

welcome to the club

pejamistri said:

confused?

econfused said:

@TK, Now that is not fair, you know who is confused.

econfused said:

@pejamistri

If the rumors are true about putting a limit on CJ’s tenure, then it would wipe out all the victories of political parties. It will also be a big win for ESTABLISHMENT as no CJ will dare to do any thing. As parliament will send a message to any chief that either u will get arrested or kicked out from position :)

zia m said:

Mush is not goining to be safe any where……..except may be US and this is why he is reluctant to resign. We have to IMPEACH him.

calyps said:

http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/Apr-2008/17/index11.php

>>>>>>>>>> and dont tell me that there is nothing fishy in this meeting!!!!

I will wait for the day, when you all will be blaming nawaz sharif and asif zardari!!! and those days are very near.

Mind you .. i dont support any politics party.

TK said:

I think what is being referred to as “establishment” is not establishment at all.. some parts of the so called establishment (which I prefer to call the “suicidal kleptocracy” ) may be involved in supporting the waning forces (president and Qleague/mush etc) but there is a marked split in these forces. That split has originated from the civil society and has extended itself right through the heart of the civil/military bureaucratic kleptocracy.

There is no monolithic entity called “establishment”.. There is no proper establishment.. the kleptocracy is partly siding with the president and the remnants are still doing operations like the “karachi Lawyer massacre of 9th april done by MQM” and the Multan Riots ..

The elections were rigged in favor of PPP by the army moving aside at the last moment .. this is a huge step by the kleptocracy. This was not a co-incidence. This shows where ther foreign proxies (also referred to as “establishment” sometimes) stand in terms of the new balance of power. Kiyani is America’s man. All of the actions of Kiyani support the new setup (minus Benazir) as Zardari is more controllable.

In the elections, The monkey wrench was PML-N.. and that happened because of the predetermined strategy of the Army (“establishment” ?) just staying out of the picture and hoping that alone would give PPP the edge based on the BB murder.. but that failed to materialized because of the brilliant coup that Nawaz Sharif deliverd on the eve of the elections by having a party oath to support the judges cause! (again it was the same ppl, ie; kh sa’ad rafique, Kh asif, Mr Baghi himself etc.. who were the engines of that oath)..

So, if we are to look closely, it is the young turks in PML-N who are on the offensive and who are making things happen.. PPP is standing with the establishment.. Pervez Moshe is standing with the withering and fading factions of the agencies who are in their death throes and doing things like KHI/MUL …

I said I’m confused because I’m just having trouble following the common thread/flow in this article. No personal offense meant to you. There is some really interesting information in there.. but the conclusion is obvious and already known for everyone who is following the events (again.. no offense intended) .. and it is also obvious that it is PML-N young turks who are the real engine behind this “offensive” .. otherwise PPP would have folded by now..(as they are with the new kleptocratic configuration) the rest of the forces are either out of the arena (IK, JI, PONAM .. APDM in general) and the rest are the vultures (MQM/Qatil League)…

Rashid said:

It seems like a lot of philosophical mumbo jumbo. Typical drawing room discussion. Just keep discussing “Establishment”, “Democracy”, “Conspiracy”, “Dictatorship”, because the real issues are too difficult to handle.

What Pakistanis care about (not necessarily in this order):
    Inflation
    Law n Order
    Energy and Water Solutions
    Judiciary – What it should mean an avg Pakistani can go to a Citi court and get justice for everyday issues. Just getting back CJ wont be enough, esp, if he turns a blind eye to NRO, this would be a lost struggle.

Lower Corruption..(almost impossible to get rid of)
    Lower Non-Developmental Budget.
    Lower Defence Budget, Higher Development Budget.

On the subject of UN investigation ,lets add another Bhutto to the list. Can we have UN investigate the murder of Murtaza Bhutto as well

safshan said:

@sic5770
    @Saqib

I totally agree with you guys. Establishment is not out yet, it might have gone in defensive but back-door manuvering has’nt stopped and it will never. Thats what we are seeing from the very beginning and there is no end in sight yet.

Establishment is with Mushi now but it will change guard and new faces will come forward if Mushi is booted out and new game to malign the political forces will start. Already media is full of stories that present coalition hasn’t delivered and it will fail. I was shocked to see the columnist Hassan Nisar, the most pessimistic person I can imagine, wrote an article predicting doomsday sooner than latter.

PPP, PMLN and ANP must be very careful from the evil forces in media, we have people like Nazir Naji, Hassan Nisar, Irshad Ahmed Haqqani, Zia Shahid, Agha Masood Hussain and like, always handy for the establishment. Hamid Mir, though is writing a lot against Mushi these days but he has strong links with the destabilizing forces and can act as a catalyst. Jang group of publication has long history of siding with the dictators and working against the democratic forces.

Democracy has’nt taken roots yet but the forces to root them out are in full action. General Kayani is acting very sensibly so far, but remember Army will not allow any political party to become popular in masses. For them hundred of billions are at stake, they have looted mercilessly and will never back out.

Political forces like Imran Khan, JI, Mahmood Achakzai and other parties of APDM, left out from the Parliament because of the boycott should also be consulted by the ruling coalition and it is high time that these forces must unite to fight the axis of evil. Lawyers movement has played a very important role in bringing back democracy, now heavy responsibility lies on their shoulders to work for its strenght. Unity among masses working against the establishment can deliver miracles.

sajid mehmood said:

@pejamistri

Good article, but missing one very critical assumption that more influential than our internal establishment is the invisible hand (US-led global mafia).
    Mush is symbolizing this establishment currently. In such adverse circumstances where the cronies of Mush are getting adverse treatment on the streets (even if it is engineered, the hatred against them is not different as well), what is making Mush feel strong, relaxed, and optimistic. My friends, its not merely the domestic establishment, it is the God-father and untill and unless US is behind all that nobody from among so-called political forces on offense can dare to offend their viceroy.

Do not under-estimate the fire power of US. Already they have a very strong case against Pakistan for nuclear proliferation, pioneering and supporting Talibans and consequently Al-qaeda thereby destabilizing Afghanistan, Russia, China, India etc. Now we all know how the media-game is played. Within weeks Pakistan will ‘emerge’ as a threat to global peace and all the nations in the world will start showing their impatience to control the adversaries of this ‘ruge’ nation. All this will be sufficient to get Pakistan isolated from rest of the world. Moreover, our economy, education sector reforms, social reforms etc. are all a consequence of the aid that we are getting directly from US and from all US aides as being designated ‘darling’ for the hideous war against terror. You cut these funds off, it will be all over. Originally we are finished as an economy, as responsible members of international community and even defense as we now have an unprofessional army capable of doing well so many things except their core job- to defend this country.

When Mush’s bosses will start playing their cards, do you think our leadership is wise-enough to play head-on with such high caliber game-theorists. Also don’t overestimate the integrity of this political leadership. Every party within coalition is playing its own game and interestingly they are still in equilibrium even when mutual trust is missing. Such equilibrium is not uncommon but is usually very short-lived. In the days to come you will witness the emergence of a number of ‘brutuses’ from these political camps. I have no significant hopes from PPP as they know it is their last innings since there will be no more ‘Bhuttos’ to win votes for them and I see this party getting dis-integrated on a ‘proper’ time. PML(N) are playing their ‘game’ wisely (we must admit that at present much of the political intelligencia is in the N-league camps, so it is natural that they will come up with a strategy far far far better then the one designed by the bunch of stupids in the PPP camp). The next government seems to be of PML(N) but they will not wait for it for five years. They will manipulate to make it happen soon (in fact, for them it is highly plausible if the present government finishes today and the nation goes to polls again- but N should be careful that next time the establishment will come up with a more better engineering of results). At the end of the day, it is the establishment (with profound support of Godfather US) who will win because it is she who has learned a lot of lessons from this time’s mis-management of mandate, not the politicians.

pejamistri said:

@econfused
    I see the battle a long .. indeed a very long one. In historical context , in 1970 Bhutto along with Mujib were able to cause a considerable damage to establishment , but despite all their efforts/ popularity establishment was just weakened not destroyed both in Pakistan and Bangladesh. But let me say the damage was a permanent one and hence 1988 and then era of quasi-democracy till 1999 was able to cause some more damage specially creating a hole in establishments popular base of Punjab.
    I consider the current phase as a very significant milestone in the journey towards a social welfare state , we have now not only political parties but also the civil society part of this struggle. A pillar of establishment support has permanently damaged , surely they (establishment) will be able to get people like Hameed Dogars , just like they are always able to get Chaudaries in politician however like Bhutto phenomenon that produced Nawaz Sharif , Courts/Judges will now be another weak spot in establishment’s castle.
    Unfortunately I have only one agreement with the mad dictator i.e. when he says it will take sometime before we become a civilized nation. Yes it will take sometime the battle is only 55 years old , others took hundreds of years to become civilized. Our battle is on, for the first time we are on the offensive , a lot of popular base– it is totally different from 1980’s and even 90’s. So I am very happy. Journey is long we are making good progress , but I don’t see “The Promised Day” in few years it will perhaps take couple more decades.
    As far as CJ’s tenure is concerned i would think that it will not be reduced , however if you don’t take me wrong :) — it is not only about CJ , there another 45 judges who were along with him. CJ and his comrades have set a very “dangerous (for establishment)” precendent and now establishment will not only have to fight the battle with politicians but also with the judges , and then with lawyers and then with media…. man they are too many aren’t they? … I am just so happy today, since I have come to know that for the first time army has accepted a defeat and the judiciary is being restored. This is not a small achievment ….. I can not stop myself from congradulating in advance.
    I think there will or should be a huge celebration when the judges go back to their chambers. Lawyers and civil society should start preparing for that celeberation… let’s float that idea..

norcotics said:

if the 19 amendment came and rescue mush it would be the biggest mistake, these military tolay needs to be taught a lesson.
    the happiest day in my life
    verdict by the parliment after that we will be free from dictators rule forever.

imalik5525 said:

@Pejamistry and all who overuse word “establishment”

this word is been over used …isi,ib,militaryintelligence,armed forces with the aashirabaad of US plays there dirty power politics in our country but this setup also includes our popular political parties.

the Awaami party or person will be the one who will adopt a humble,simple life and reject luxurious life style,who would not have properties,bank accounts and lucrative positions….without giving sacrifies in your own life ,only using slogans to get elected is called champaign socialists …all these champaign socialists are feudals and are party of so called establishements….

having said that the only problem to our solutions is the adoptation of KANAAT…from top to bottom….cutting the presidency ,pm budget,cabinet budget,ministries and mna mpa budget…making them live ordinary lives…cutting deffense budget…and spending the surplus on education ,health and commodities of common 80% janta.

if we spend on education and make our nation mentally literate…make professors our heros instead of feudals then judiciary and constitutional issues will be solved for ever….investing on minds is the best investment.

last but not the least when i say KANAT and SIMPLICITY is not only politician’s or the big gun’s responsibility but whole nation shld acquire simplicity and spend rest on poor…our 20% janta who spend on there own comforts luxuries and show off are also part of establishment for me….
    imran malik
    va usa

pejamistri said:

Let me clarify that wherever I use word “establishment” , I literally mean “army” , since “establishment” sounds very popular in Pakistan. I also avoid the accusation of being an Indian agent by using this word :)

imalik5525 said:

Peja

the 25% richs of our country who live the life style of arab kings and talk about socialism,judiciary,problem solving this and that are also establishment ….and our popular leaders are all part of it.

only exceptions in politicians were malik mairaj khalid or to some extent ghulam haider waeen.

pejamistri said:

Well you may perhaps be right , your assumptions are very outright whereas mine are little vague. So what I understand your assumptions are:
    1. PPP standing by establishment
    2. “PML-N turks” standing thier ground and on the offensive.

On the other hand I don’t have very solid assumptions :) , I in fact believe that all the “political forces” (PPP, PML-N, PTI, APDM, ANP and for that matter any “bloody civilian”)*
    as the forces against establishment all of them fight to their strength sometimes they loose , sometimes they retreat but whenever they get a chance to push back the establishment they do so and will always do so.

*note : I don’t consider MQM as political force but a mafia , and Q-league I consider as bunch of people not a “political force” in any definition of the word)

zenith said:

Great article!
    But what if things change? I mean to say that Yousaf Raza the prime minister is somewhat comforting musharraf and a lot of mixed signals are coming out of this. Even though it seems that Musharraf ’s power is being rapidly depleted, indications from many political circles are not very encouraging, especially some PPP members. It almost seems that inconsistent confrontation with musharraf is only being carried out for PML-N. Babar Awan and many like him give pinching remarks about the implications regarding the restoration of judges. Anyways, Nawaz sharif is contesting Bye-elections, may be he feels some more pressure is needed on the PPP contingent. Whatever happens one thing should be made certain which is not only the removal but also an examplary punishment of Musharraf.

TK said:

@pejamistri: okay, good you cleared it up.. (and I think that establishment is not with Moshe) and that is a ‘good’ think in the near term.. (but that is only so because the US/West wanted to put democratic lipstick on Moshe’s dictatorial pig and PML-N threw a monkey wrench in there… (the elimination of Q was also part of the US plan.. these ppl have been discredited and were a total liability (IMO))

BTW, I think having an “establishment” gives a nation stability..

This is what I mean when I say “establishment” (the one good for a nation):

An establishment is
    (1) the entrenched ruling class in a society
    (2) which identifies itself with the interests of the nation and
    (3) which strikes a reasonable balance in sucking just enough blood to be happy but not enough to cause a revolution.
    (4) This establisment also provides the anchor for the politics of a country and is the balancing force between ALL pillars of the state (Parliament/Cabinet, Army, Judiciary, Administration)

Our ‘establishment’ barely passes muster on 1, and fails miserably on all other points.

That precisely is the problem. If you have only army dominant its like have 2 foot hands on a body.. you’re out of whack.. you’re a freak.. our polity is a freak!..

our establishment has NO ROOTS and NO LOYALTIES to this land! that is the biggest problem we have right now.. all these people are ready to bolt the moment things go south.. that’s just a bloodsucking kleptocracy.. NOT an establishment.

Other Pakistan said:

PK Politics Friends,

Given all the negativity in the air in Pakistan still I thought it necessary to share with you a happy and hopeful story of a great fauji Siphai Maqbool Hussain. It is a must read for every Pakistani and it will make you proud, so have a read of the link below and pass the good news around:

http://www.otherpakistan.org/sher-fauji.html

Feimanallah

Wasim
    http://www.otherpakistan.org/archive.html

Ali Rizvi said:

Great Article…. Now this is what I was looking for, this Article is looking into the future….

Let’s focus on what’ coming …. Judges should be restored with their tenure till 2013. This is the only way to SAVE Pakistan.

Unfortunately,,, PPP doesn’t agree with me.

Who are the beneficiaries if Judges tenure are changed?

1. Musharraf
    2. MQM
    3. Asif Zardari

am I wrong?

kinnare said:

How many of you think that Army has surrender or it is just stratagic retreat?

safshan said:

@pejamistri

Please correct me if wrong.

Next amendment in the constitution will be 18th, not 19th as mentioned in your article, because 17th ammendment which validated the Mushis wrongdoings (thanks to MMA) was the last one when constituion was ammended.

pejamistri said:

@safshan
    I deliberately used the word 19th amendment , instead of 18th amendment, the story is that Establishment is pushing for a constitution package which either may have two amendments or may declare the “constitutional amendment order 2007″ as 18th amendment. So basically the mad dictator passed an amendment order which is called “Constituinal Amendment Order 2007″ , however it is yet only an order therefore logically the last amendment was 17th , however with the constitutional package this may be changes as 18th and then 19th amendment in constitution.
    I hope I did not annoy many people using “19th amendment” , but my sources say the package may have actually 19th amendment not 18th :)

safshan said:

Got it thanks.

I hope no more amendments to give save passage to the dictator. We only need one amendment which should cripple the powers of President to dissolve the assembly and all the important postings including the Chief of Army Staff and Chief Justice should rest with the Prime Minister, as a norm in Parliamentary form of govt.

farhan said:

@pejamistri

i am amazed that who is goin to take your story as some shocking news,this all been coming in news and articles,talk shows since 18th feb

wts new you had tried to put it in i realy dont know

the most important part you had missed is that:

there are 2 groups in establishment currently working,one wants to keep musharaf even with diminished powers and one who wants to get rid off him just to clean the slate and start all over again,

if you link up all the incidents since 18th feb you can easily see who is about to achieve their goals.

in a third world country like pakistan the establishment they would always prefer to come up with a new n clean slate rather than 20% chances of retrieving their lost powers

the word establishment still exists in our society and they will hit back but its upto political forces that if they will stick together n finish them off completely or would they prefer to go after the aid and money

sic5770 said:

And if for some reason, so called ” establishment” let people of Pakistan win this time ( means judges to come back and Musharaf would leave), this establishment would go behind the door ( hibernate ) for next 5-7 years and destroy the career of all these politicians through media ( mainly through Geo).

At this time establishment is even happy to go behind the door because the whole world is facing serious economic crises and gas and food prices will cause serious issues in the world in upcoming years. They know it well that political parties cannot do anything to solve the issues ( because of the limited resources in the country). Once country will face ( or already started to face) the economic crises, people will turn their back against Zardari and Nawaz and will welcome another Musharaf in the country!!

saqibtahir said:

@Peja, I agree with your analysis. I just want to add one point. Judges are part of establishment. From Gulam Muhammad to Mush all illegal actions of dictators are fully condoned and legalized by judges.

Judges are completely MORALLY CORRUPT in the sense they do NOT stand against injustice unless they are directly effected by it.

I have a gut feeling that after fall of Mush, establishment will try to destablize the government through these judges and politicians like IK and Qazi.

SnrCtzn said:

1) Commentators above have given very good views, as above, which merits reading with understanding, especially ,by safshan,sajid mahmud,pejamistri, notwithstanding views of others.

2) By using the word ‘ establishment ‘ I think it implies forces like the civil bureaucracy, the army & other ‘ interested’ parties, who are ‘ pulling the strings ‘
    so that they can remain in power, so as to influence all future political forces.

3) I thank ALLAH, that somebody like ’safshan ‘ above, has expressed the same views as mine, expressed in these columns before, for example :-
    ‘ Jang Group of Publications has a LONG HISTORY of siding with dictators & working against the democratic forces. ‘

4)Thus, if Hamid Mir speaks the language of MQM & of other anti-democratic &
    anti-progressive forces ; then he ‘ cannot help it ‘ BECAUSE he is being PAID for doing so !

Saqib said:

“So, if we are to look closely, it is the young turks in PML-N who are on the offensive and who are making things happen.. PPP is standing with the establishment.. Pervez Moshe is standing with the withering and fading factions of the agencies who are in their death throes and doing things like KHI/MUL …”

This is in agreement with what I wrote a few days back in another thread. The new generation of PML-N leaders are showing the way. PPPP can learn a lesson or two from these brave hearts :-) These are the generals of the “mob” or the “proletariat”.

pak.nukes said:

http://pkdemocrat.wordpress.com/
    Check this website and decide who the real enemies are.

c hussain said:

SMS of the day

If all the women parliamentarins were to become pregnant they can form a party on their own called

MUTAHIDDA MAJLIS – E – HAMAL
    Kashmala Tariq can then become its leader

Jamshed Khan said:

Could someone define this Kutta ESTABLISHMENT
    I think the civil and military bureaucracy is collectively called ESTABLISHMENT. These Harrmm khoors work for others and are ripping Pakistan. It would be nice if some one elaborate Establishment.
    In the last 60 years these harram khoors have always pinched the common and poor Pakistanis and have carried out a systemic loot marrr. They are sucking Pakistan and are very loyal to their Foreign Masters. BASTERSSSSSSSSSSSS

Robab said:

@Pak-Nukes
    Hussain Haqqani is a very renowned journalist. The only wrong he is doing is that he exposes our baster Generals and ISI kutteeeesss. You know who is sucking Pakistan. They are not foreigners, they are what we call our own. Paki Army Generals. ISI and Establishment.
    They lost 1965 war, 1971 war, Siachn War, Kargil war. They gave territory to China They sell Pakistanis too. They created MQM and they created Taliban.

pejamistri said:

Listen to the so-called technocrates on Meray Mutabiq on 20th April, forcefully opposing the UN investigation in BB’s murder. It proves my point of how dangerous the act of PPP government will be to invite UN investigation in BB’s murder for establishment. This will also show you who are the establishment’s agent even the people who apparently seems to be against Musharraf.

sheeraz said:

truth must be revealed any how people of pakistan has the right to know who is behind the kiiling of BB and all other blunders in pakistan who are the establishment’s agent even the people who apparently seems to be against Musharraf
    WHY pakistan is not getting rid of these b@astards we must recognize them i don,t know what pakistan media is trying to show us numbers of channel is increasing day by day nothing is going well of pakistan YA ALLAH HUM PAR REHEM KAR OR HAMAIN KHUD BADALNE KI TOFEEK DAY AAMEEN

Rizwan123 said:

Screw the Cj issue worry about Pakistan and poor people of Pakistan. We heard word POOR alot before elections not any more?

nabs said:

Really disappointed to see that so many pakistanis are still living in a state of denial… They still cannot see that the person who rules the PPP is the biggest thug in pakistan history….

I see lot of ppl throwing the word “Establishment” around… and accusing of pretty much anything bad happening in pak is cuz of them… The truth is that now Zardari has all the power he needs…. he will make sure that judiacry is never restored with full powers.. so he can get away with the revenge he will take from the pakistani ppl…..

friends… dont forget this guy is a THUG…… ok……. get out of ur fantasy world… that musharraf was the worst thing for pakistan….. he was the best thing that happned to pakistan… and now that the devil incarnate (Zardari) has all the power… just watch what he will do with pakistan… all u guys think that he is a poor innocent guy being misguided by the “establishment”… dont be suprised when u wake up one morning with paksitan’s treasury empty… and see zardari smoking a cigar in a mansion in England