Visitors News & Views - Week 4, April 2008

Share and discuss latest Pakistani Political News and Views here. Please also feel free to share links to any interesting videos, columns, and articles from any other newspapers or blogs. Always pretext a link with your views or useful information about the content of a link.

Link to previous week’s News & Views

879 Comments »

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/apr2008-daily/22-04-2008/update.htm#40

Good development. But the “TOPI DRAMAS” inbetween should end.

India teaches Pakistan a lesson in self respect

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/apr2008-daily/22-04-2008/up108.gif

* PPP’s Nabeel Gabol says govt to reconsider cases registered against mafiosi

NABEEL GABOOL & LYARI GANG TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Lyari’s most prominent mafioso Rehman Dakait and his group are holding talks with the government to surrender in exchange for becoming public servants.

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) member in the National Assembly Nabeel Gabol claimed the credit for the developments.

“These all are my efforts. I talked with the gangsters and offered them a package,” . He said that all cases registered against the outlaws would be rechecked, because “police nominated them in a majority of fake cases”. He said that “minor cases” against the mafiosi would be cleared.

Gabol claimed to have sought a surety from the mafiosi about wiping out the entire Lyari area of all illegal weapons upon their release. He said the government would offer employment opportunities to the outlaws.

Sources said that Dakait could even be a minister in the future. The mafiosi who have reportedly agreed to surrender include the members of sub-groups such as Baba Ladla, Abdul Jabbar Jhengu and Jabbar Lungra. Sindh Home Minister Dr Zulfiqar Mirza confirmed the reports.

“We have some unofficial reports on the surrender of Lyari’s mafia groups,” he said, adding, “If these gangsters want to surrender and be public servants, it would be good.”

He said that cases registered against Mafiosi would be studied and that they would be “facilitated as much as possible according to the law”. There are several possible motives behind such meetings. The first is to maintain law and order in Lyari and to end the conflict between gangs. The second is that the people of Lyari, especially the Rehman Dakait group, oppose Gabol because according to them he did not favour them since his election in 2002. Gabol’s “indifference” led to the defection of several PPP workers and members of the Rehman Dakait group to the rival Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM). Some even demanded Gabol’s removal from the party, upon which he is said to have met Dakait and assured of his full support.

Dakait mostly led the PPP rallies before and after the elections. Recently, Dakait and Gabol met PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari in Islamabad. Zardari and Gabol assured Dakait that cases against him would be settled.

There were reports that Gabol met Haji Lalu, the father of Arshad Pappu, in jail. Lalu is the pioneer of drug business in Karachi, whereas Dakait had worked under Lalu. Nowadays, Lalu and his three sons are in jail. The members of Arshad Pappu’s gang, Ghaffar Zikri and Dr Shoaib, have also agreed to surrender.

Also, there were reports that Gabol was indifferent to the Arshad Pappu group because of its meagre influence, mostly owing to the unavailability of leadership. That’s why Pappu’s group is depending on Ghaffar Zikri and Dr Shoaib — the chiefs of Pappu’s sub-groups.

Pappu’s hold has been limited to Zikri Mohalla and Para, while Dakait’s group has taken control of nearly 99 percent of the areas in Lyari. Sources said that their arrests may soon be shown in a fake encounter, after Dakait’s meeting with high officials of Sindh police. Dakait has also demanded not be killed in an encounter.

The Sindh home minister said in a recent press conference on Lyari, “It is not necessary to kill people to stop the violence. Unemployment is a major cause behind it and we will provide employment.”

Nowadays, Rehman Dakait himself is taking interest in eliminating street crimes in Lyari by putting up banners saying, “Lyari ki awam Sardar Abdul Rehman bhai kay shukarguzar hain kay unhon nay Lyari main aman barqarar rakhnay kay liye apna bharpur kirdaar ada kia” (We, the people of Lyari, thank Sardar [lord] Abdul Rehman for trying his best in maintaining peace in the town).

please help me with this photo

this is from a photo of google of the maps:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=islamabad pakistan&ie=UTF8&ll=33.729649,73.097395&spn=0.005514,0.007961&t=h&z=17

Some wise people have said in email that the building between supremes courts and parliment is 3 barrack of solder from triple one burgade.

Is this a true fact sir?

Please sir look at this link to picture of supreme courts and parliments

your system is breaking my links.

7. Bilal Warraich Says:
    April 22nd, 2008 at 10:36 pm

To whom should I contact for Free premium membership in connection with my Media work here in London.

@Bilal Warraich

Is you father Sohail Warraich?? :)

Do you also talk like him?

Are you planning to work for Geo aswell?

How much monthly salary have they offered you?

Answer these questions and then click here for premium membership
    http://pkpolitics.com/members/signup.php

9. Bilal Warraich Says:
    April 22nd, 2008 at 10:58 pm

well, I am Human Rights activist , been working as Media Coordinator with civil society organizations. Recently finished my LLM Human Rights.

God Bless You.

Due to failure of my SDSL line, Live with Talat and Bolta will be uploaded tomorrow morning.

Currently Meray Mutabiq, Off the Record and Capital Talk are being uploaded at very slow speed through my backup ADSL connection. Expect these programs to be online with a gap of 60 minutes in between each other from now.

11. Riddle 792 Says:
    April 23rd, 2008 at 3:36 am

Nusrat Javed is acting like a pure “nutcase” these days. Just watch his words in todays Bolta Pakistan. The lady was right when she said that “listen to me nusrat u and hamid mir have betrayed us ”

I always had doubts abt his so called un biased analysis…. Mushtaq Minhas was quite right today when he said to Nusrat that “stop doing aian baia shai” …

Nusrat is a pure leftist piplia !

“India teaches Pakistan a lesson in self respect ”

Same story, couple additional links:
    NYT: India: U.S. Advice on Iran Is Rejected
    Times of India: No guidance needed on Iran ties: India to US

Sorry but feel it is worth quoting (from above):

India tartly said it did not need “any guidance on the future conduct of bilateral relations,” making it plain that no saber rattling from its friends in Washington would impair its relationship with a vital energy supplier. “India and Iran are ancient civilizations whose relations span centuries,” the Indian Foreign Ministry said in a statement

Musharraf to continue as President till retirement: Javier Solana
    ISLAMABAD: The European Union Foreign Policy Chief Javier Solana has said war against terror in the region would continue and President Musharraf would retain presidency till retirement.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=44089

Musharraf to continue as President till retirement: Javier Solana

ISLAMABAD: The European Union Foreign Policy Chief Javier Solana has said war against terror in the region would continue and President Musharraf would retain presidency till retirement.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/default.asp

16. rajkumar123 Says:
    April 23rd, 2008 at 12:47 pm

Who the f…k is Solana to dictate it on us that until when anybody will remain our president or not. These pests should be told to back off.

17. Amir Hameed Says:
    April 23rd, 2008 at 1:08 pm

@rajkumar123
    I totally agree. I would like to see a statement from our so-called large political parties that no one from outside should worry about who should be the president of this country and whether Moshe should be there tomorrow or not. But, I just reminded myself, our political leadership does not have either the spine or the balls to issue this type of statement.

Bush less popular than Communist Cuba (in america)

Pakistani “intelligentsia’ still busy crapping their pants over “how powerfull ummreeka is” and “10 bill-yunn dollaar” that their p!mp got for getting the Pakistani nation to do wh0ring for uncle sam.

Actually our bolly-ticians (for their bollywood type stunts) are too busy calling Mush as `a national asset’. Well their mentor shaheed BB was busy in somersaults before she died so what can we expect. Frigging spineless bunch ruling us.

But, I just reminded myself, our political leadership does not have either the spine or the balls to issue this type of statement.

Pakistan ki Tareekh: An interesting read by Afzal Tauseef

http://dailywaqt.com/230408/Images/p18-05jpg.

A little bit of fairness goes a long way:

http://www.newsroom.ucla.edu/portal/ucla/brain-reacts-to-fairness-as-it-49042.aspx

The human brain responds to being treated fairly the same way it responds to winning money and eating chocolate, UCLA scientists report. Being treated fairly turns on the brain’s reward circuitry.

“We may be hard-wired to treat fairness as a reward,” said study co-author Matthew D. Lieberman, UCLA associate professor of psychology and a founder of social cognitive neuroscience.

@nota on April 23rd, 2008 4:16 am

I agree that India is much more independent in their decisions making (why should they not be), but when tempted they also bargain. They back stabbed Iran in an important UN resolution not long time ago.

Talat and Bolta for 22nd April coming in 2-3 hours.

Children Of Iraq

This is what will happen to your children if you choose to be cowards and DO NOT RESIST the dictatorships imposed on you by those who want you destroyed.

We are on the same path to the slaughterhouse that Iraq was led down on. Our “muhibb-e Vatan” jurnails and other zameer farosh traitors will be sitting in their villas they are allowed to have by the foreigners in exchange for the liquification and utter destruction of our nation.

They must understand that we will destroy everything they hold dear if they play with our destinay ANYMORE!

We are the only guarantee of the survival of our nation. We must take up arms if the situation doesn’t change soon. Or we will end up like Iraq.

WARNING: Extremely gory content towards the end of the page!

Very private acts with money given by Pakistani taxpayers.

In mid April 2008, I saw several news of a raid on Islamabad red light area clubhouse. Three elected members of assemblies were also caught including one MNA. Does Pakistan has some kind of Freedom of Information act to let the electing public know which member from what party did they belong?

http://pkpolitics.com/2008/04/15/visitors-news-views-week-3-april-2008/#comment-73262
    http://pkpolitics.com/2008/04/15/visitors-news-views-week-3-april-2008/#comment-73425

Arrested: Abdul Qayyum Jatoi (MNA-elect of PPP), son of Nazar Muhammad and his friends,
    Muhammad Sarfaraz, son of Abdul Qadir,
    Muhammad bin Saleh, son of Muhammad bin Umar

26. comment-top comment-bottom

panjabi mein kehtay hain pairrey kamman dey pairrey natijay! tauba tauba! poor man!

LOL @ savage. khair Allah maaf karay - the poor fellow, despite his mess-up that was just too much.

Few Good Men on Capital Talk with Hamid Mir today.
    Javed Hashmi and Raza Rabani discuss current judicial issues.Hamid Mir also takes a call from justice Rana Bhagwan Das.Men like these give me HOPE…..

“”He has become impotent for the rest of his life and will be unable to perform his conjugal duties. He can never become a father,” the doctor said.”

I can accept their incompetence at not being able to re-attach the “organ” because the “medical research” in Pakistan consists of finding the Miracles of X , but did he have to go so far as to claim he would never be able to have baby..

Shouldn’t these “doctors” have heard about artificial insemination by now? It _is_ 2008 afterall?

P.S. Poor guy.. he shouldn’t have gone to her house after what he did to her.

@Ashraf: good detective work bro,

Any news on the Billions that are going into the blackhole called the GHQ and how they are being spent? Any wh0re sponsoring going on by the pious jurnails by chance?

just checking.

“Children Of Iraq”

Thanks TK. Seen most of them before but one tends to forget. Glad someone put up such a collection to smack us across faces/punch us in the gut.

But there is another story too that gets little play, that of the horrors of Depleted Uranium (googled here), a gift that keeps on giving for 4.5 BILLION YEARS. Yes, this is the future of Iraq till the day of jugdgement, brought to you courtesy of Jesus, financed by the King Abdallah and Co.

Don’t forget to watch POISONOUS LEGACY at BushFlash.

(I am sure you would like other animations put together by Eric Blumrich, especially those he put together for the first and second anniversary of the Iraq War. Oh and Liberation, Occupation, and ….)

Live with Talat just discussed new package which is to reduce CJ tenure to 4 years. Such a shame; illegal Moshe is sitting as president while our legal guardian is being played in the hands of our corrupt political Gama (NS) Maja (AZ).

@nota: what is bothering me more and more lately is the similarities between Iraq and Pakistan and what they seem to be preparing for us. Unless we turn ourselves into predators and soon, we’ll be eaten alive as a prey item. The butcher doesn’t see a sentient being with feelings and emotions, the butcher sees slabs of meat and how he’s going to portion it off.. If the cow’s stupidity helps his cause, then so be it.

Thanks for posting the other links. DU is one of the biggest crimes they have committed against us and we should sue them for their crimes as soon as we are able in a competent court of law, or power (whichever comes first).

@TK, nota,

I don’t think US economy could affoard another war, also if they could buy Pak General’s for few millions why would they spend billions.

http://www.gjsentinel.com/news/content/shared-gen/ap/US_Presidential_Cabinet/Gates_Iran.html

“Another war in the Middle East is the last thing we need and, in fact, I believe it would be disastrous on a number of levels,” he said in a speech he was delivering Monday evening at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y.

I used to love Nusrat Javed but recently this chameleon is showing his true colors, he is Latif Khosa, Naik of Journalist community. He speaks so PPP words. “Judges issue is not real issue”, he said in todays Bolta Pakistan, he used to be all for judges restoration, but now his employer doesn’t want them to be reinstated so he is switching his stance.

@savage: totally agree that in reality, another war would be the end of US soft power, but those who are piloting the hijacked US ‘democracy’ right now don’t give two sh!ts about it..

US is just a vehicle to be used and discarded for the 1000 year survival of Europe’s Stillborn Child.

They think they can pulverize and slash and burn the neighbourhood so their little corner can survive the demographic tsunami, but they are mistaken.. the events will overtake them.. and their only guarantor will be destroyed in this high stakes game they are playing…

If Iran is attacked and they try to provoke Pakistan to break it.. I can assure you there will be NO FIKKIN TEMPLE! That is for sure.

But this is no guarantee that they won’t try, they are hustlers and audacious gamblers,and they have to be.

If you get a chance I would recomend watching following, it not only shocking but scary too.

(torrents sshhhhhh!!!)
    http://www.amazon.com/Decoding-Past-Doomsday-2012-Days/dp/B0013DOJZU

@savage

umm…i tried the link….doesn’t unfold…??

@kafka8
    which link? amazon or Gates on Iran war?

@Savage

Not the first time we hear about doomsday scenarios.

“A surprising number of sources, both ancient and modern, agree when the world will end.”

Hmmmmm……sources……….Which sources?

Waste of time (IMO).

@saqib

I might have posted link to the wrong documentry, I will check again when I would reach home. The documentary which I wanted to brought here, shows how evangelic are trying to fulfill the prophecy to gather all Jews in Israel, so saviour could come and with him Amegadan (Remember Dr. Shahid Masood Al-Malhama-tul-Uzma :) ). even they are renting houses from arabs and giving it to jews in Palestine. The point is they are trying their best to make these prophecies true. On same time every effort is being made to put temple back replacing Aqsa.

@Savage

Isn’t that all what Zionism is about?

@savage

Yes it is, but it is avengalic which I wanted to point out, milestones of bothe look same at the surface, but destination is totally different.

wow I’m addressing myself, multitasking might not produce good results all the time..

Well, a lot of people committed suiceds in year 1066 or 1666 ? based on bs religious (Y2K) type hype..

Instead of getting caught up in that hype, we should use that hype. The zionist lobby is using this evanglist mythologies to help their brethren settle in Palestine on the christian’s expense…

BTW, @saqib. you have used the Z word .. expect ‘the watchers’ to mysteriously appear in this thread anytime now ;-)

47. Amir Hameed Says:
    April 23rd, 2008 at 9:28 pm

Geo Online reports: “US concerned about Pakistan-Taliban peace deal”

We are concerned about it and what we encourage them to do is to continue to fight against the terrorists and to not disrupt any security or military operations that are ongoing in order to help prevent a safe haven for terrorists there,” said White House spokeswoman Dana Perino.

So, the point that the US is trying to make here is that we should keep slaughtering our own people? because this is what the military operations are about. It is these types of operations that produce feelings of hatred among our own people and force them to take up arms, like Mehsud.

We should put out an ad in the national newspapers that we, the people and citizens of Pakistan, are looking for a political leadership that has a spine and balls of its own. What a predicement that we are in? What a dumb ass coward leadership we have got who is not even able to take one decision that they were given the mandate on. They do not even realize that there is no time to take baby-steps because it will not get them anywhere. It is time to take bold decisions and long leaps.

48. comment-top comment-bottom

“na maloom afrad” of Karachi threatening Suddle.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/apr2008-daily/23-04-2008/up95.gif

most of the mqm media cell is absent from pkpolitics these days..

busy prepping for another murder and mayhem spree if the “mazaakrat” fail this time with PPP?

Threats to IG Sindh and The Minister Mr.Zulfiqar Mirza is again an attempt to create some kind of law and order problem in Karachi.This is one thing which is on and off in Karachi i dont know why but whenever things seems getting settled something new comes up and all this in particular happens in Sindh mostly.Iam sure the threats given are from those who does not want too see a peacefull atmosphere in Karachi and after yesterdays meeting between the goverment and Mqm officials things were getting on smooth track but those who feels insecure if this happens again tried to create differences by giving threats to the IG and Minister but inshallah they are going to be safe and people who has bad intentions will never going to achieve there goals.

52. Loyal2Bhai Says:
    April 23rd, 2008 at 11:22 pm

We strongly condemn the threats given to the IG Sindh and Mr.Zulfiqar MIrza Home Minsiter Sindh and these threats are given after the govt and Mqm had a meeting in which they both agreed to support eachother and will work for the people welfare.Those who did this act are no one from space but they are those who never wanted to see stability and peace in the country and especially in Karachi.No such political party can do such things.They had choosen Mr.Suddal because they think that by giving threats to him the govt will hold Mqm responsible for this but they are wrong because Mqm with govt wants to move things ahead and Mqm has given uncondional support to the govt long before.Soon people behind destroying peace in Karachi are going to be held.

53. Amir Hameed Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 12:13 am

“No troops withdrawal from tribal areas”: Shah Mehmood Qureshi

A statement from a US stooge, Shah Mehmood Qureshi. These are the same people who, before Feb 18, were not getting tired of reciting that “Operations in the Tribal areas must halt and we will do it when we will form the government”. Now, they have just realized that per the agreement with their foreign masters, they can not do this. These MoFu spineless traitors and b@stards.

This ch**tia guy could not even talk sense in front of the cameras before Feb 18. He was always vague and dubious in his arguments and is now heading one of the most important and sensative ministries, why, because this MoFu nose-browner had his nose inserted all the way up into Zardari’s @ss.

54. Amir Hameed Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 12:17 am

There is an easy way to control Altaf Hussain IF the will of the government is there. That is, approach the UK government through the back doors and ask them to stop this moron from disturbing peace in KHI. Our government still hold cards in the form of this so-called war on terror and they can have their say and UK will oblige it. But again, the will needs to be there.

55. comment-top

By Ansar Abbasi
    Will Nawaz fall prey to Zardari’s trap?
    http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14282

ANP, JUI also behind Zardari in opposing judges’ return
    By Tariq Butt
    http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14283

56. comment-top

Rehman Malik’s dinner menu

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister’s Adviser on Interior Rehman Malik had an exclusive session with President Pervez Musharraf and discussed with him, among other things, the burning issue of the reinstatement of the deposed judges, The News has learnt…………………………………..

more at http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14286

57. comment-top

poola: Rehman Malik is one of the many moles high up the PPP chain of command. The only path open is that of open revolution sooner or later..

I thought it was going to be civil war in 10.. looks like it might be revolution in 5… and all these vu*kers should be on some kind of list to be summarily tried for their crimes against the nation.

58. comment-top

@poola
    At the risk of bein called Jiyala (this is what I am seeing the mood of pkpolitics public which I think is understandable) , I would read the news with a different perspective perhaps graver than Naik’s meeting with Dictator.

at the dinner the president had hosted in honour of the formation commanders at the Aiwan-e-Sadr.
    He said he did attend the dinner along with his spouse but left the Aiwan-e-Sadr early.

So General (retd) Pervez Musharraf is still the part and parcel of the mafia, and he is not sitting in army house to have social dinners.
    It is pity how people just easily forget about the real mafia in the country and even turn hostile towards people who try to expose (like Hamid Mir) this mafia.

59. sleepingnation Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 1:00 am

pejamistri

why Mush is part and parcel becuse
    he is an assest for PPP
    PPP JUI and MQM wanna see Mush in power to save their mafias
    NRO is becoming biggest hurdle for PPP to remove Mush…

so do not try to put everything on hidden powers, there are some evident things which cannot be ignored

as far as some media guys are concerned i agree with poola that zardari know how to use money to buy people…i will not say anything more

60. comment-top

@sleepingnation
    keep sleeping :)

61. sleepingnation Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 1:05 am

pejamistri

this nation will wake up soon and then dacoits like zardari, terrorist like altaf and munafiks like fazlu will not decide its fate….

62. Amir Hameed Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 1:09 am

Moshe is not an asset; he is an ass-set.

63. comment-top

It will be very interesting to identify how many establishments agent visit this site and posts message. I propose the following way. Pkpolitics members will vote for the ids which they consider are establishments agent. I’ll propose starting with me , who thinks that pejamistri is an establishment agent?

64. comment-top

@dmin
    We may want to heave spread thread on the same lines as we voted for the best/worst personalities of Pakistan.

65. sleepingnation Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 1:25 am

pejamistri

its a great idea…..as you want to define establishment agents..so please increase it to the people who support present B team of establishment i.e PPP MQM and Mulla Fazlu…….there are atleast 10 very prominent and regular visitors who fall in this category

66. Riddle 792 Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 1:29 am

MQM or Aliens: http://blip.tv/file/825671

Express Tv Program Column Kar with Abbass Athar , Ata Ul Haq Qasmi , Haroon Ur rashid and Abdul Qadir

67. comment-top

@sleepingnation
    :) :) .. I loved this remark. Honestly that was the reason I asked to vote on me. So let us define establishment as PPP MQM Fazlu Pejamistri :) and now please vote who is establishment’s agent on this site.

68. sleepingnation Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 1:40 am

pejamistri

thanks a lot for re-defining establishment agents

so please admin..start a threat about that

i keep my right reserve to identify those 10 people out of many many members who fall in this category

69. comment-top

@pejamistri

I would also like to add Indian agent category in the survey
    so the establishment agent here will vote other ppl in that category

70. comment-top

@TK, Saqib

Sorry I misled you guys earlier, actual documentary can be found at following place.

Doomsday Code, The James Quinn
    http://video.google.com/googleplayer.swf?docId=6439295521791525424&hl=en

71. comment-top

Hey! isn’t that “patsy” from “Quest for the holy grail” ??

72. comment-top

Wait a sec.. scratch that… that is the dude from Black Adder

73. comment-top

Not sure but it was first shown on Channel4 and detail could be found at their website.
    http://www.channel4.com/culture/microsites/C/can_you_believe_it/debates/doomsday.html

74. comment-top

@everyone,

How about thread on top 10 Pakistani personalities in media, politics, business etc who are supporters of establishment? The answers from pkpolitics members should give some clue which member is consciously or unconsciously establishment supporter.

How does it sound?

75. comment-top

How about starting a daily topic where few TOP news/column/analysis will be posted. Everyone will vote on each item on weather it is a genuine news or planted by establishment.

How about that?

76. comment-top

@admin: I like both suggestions. I haven’t been reading most columnists so it would be instructive for me to see what the pkpolitics readership thinks of each character..

I would be more partial towards the 2nd suggestion (Top columns/news/analysis) because it would allow even myself to participate based on the content of the given article.

thx.

77. comment-top

Chief Minister Sindh orders review of ALL appointments during last govt’s tenure (45000 vacancies still there… WTF were they doing?)

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/apr2008-daily/24-04-2008/topst/main2.gif

Baitullah Mehsood strictly bans all provocations in Waziristan ( I can here them drones flyin in to ‘fix’ the situation)

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/apr2008-daily/24-04-2008/topst/main3.gif

78. comment-top

“what is bothering me more and more lately is the similarities between Iraq and Pakistan and what they seem to be preparing for us. Unless we turn ourselves into predators and soon, we’ll be eaten alive as a prey item.”

Well, my very strong, personal belief is what we take to be Pakistan has already ceased to be. It is like a brain-dead patient on a resuscitator, with its heart pumping blood but serving no purpose. The minute the decision is made to pull the plug, it will be a matter of seconds for everything come to a DEAD stop.

There is no chance of us turning ourselves into predators for we lack all the characteristics. We will be eaten alive (Not to sound dramatic but it is my firm belief that in the next two years, all of us living in Pakistan will experience first hand what rotting human flesh smells like — and it does not matter who is holding the reins in Islamabad).

Could Pakistan be “saved”? Sure, but not without going through hell-fire. Do our leaders have the guts? Not even close. Will our people fight? Don’t make me laugh (our soldiers can’t even fvcking fight unless against their brethren; these bastards — along with “Parliment is Supreme” crowd with a “strong mandate” — can’t even get the Army House vacated of an illegal occupier). The best amongst us are like Pejamistri (apologies in advance, Peja) who choose a party over principle, choose Zardari over Pakistan. But to be fair to Peja, tell me one person who belongs to party for whom Pakistan takes priority over party? We are like foxes trusting scorpions.

(A scorpion and a small fox were standing at the side of a river. A storm was coming and both had to cross the river to safety. The scorpion couldn’t make the trip on his own. So, he started bargaining with the fox, asking the fox to carry him across the river. “I’ll die if you don’t help me,” the scorpion said.

The fox said, “If I put you on my back, you’ll sting me.” The scorpion replied, promising the fox that he needed to get to safety and if he stung the fox, he would himself drown as well. The fox agreed and let the scorpion jump onto his back.

About half-way across the river, the scorpion stung the fox. With deadly venom surging through his veins, the fox asked, “Why did you sting me? Now are both going to die! You promised me!” The scorpion replied, “I’m sorry. It’s just my nature.” )

79. comment-top

@TK, pejamistri

What do you make of this, I thought democracy would be the end of Moshe but it seems our biggest democratic force is so aligned with dictatorship, as planed by western masters is new power source for president house, it is a bit frustrated and disappointing for me, what is your take on this?

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/apr2008-daily/24-04-2008/topst/main9.gif

80. MQMSupporter Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 5:29 am

@everyone:
    I am not sure about how much stock to put in news provided by The News/Jang Group. They print one news item one day and then the opposite is true, and they have the balls to print the opposite news the next day!! I know the newspaper is in english, but that doesn’t mean you believe everything written in it is right. It’s news items on a particular subject sometimes don’t even correspond to each other. One news headline would be saying “Zardari with Mush”, the other would say (without quotes, staff reporting), “Zardari committed to restoring Judiciary”…

81. comment-top

@Poola
    “Will Nawaz fall prey to Zardari’s trap?”

I must say I was really surprised to hear Khawaja Saad Rafiq (”Islamabad Diary” on Samaa channel) challenging lawyer Athar Minallah to a ’street fight’ saying something like “Ulti ginti ki baat karni hay to aa-ain lar laytay hain. Ham bhi sari zindagi lartay aa-ay hain aap say be lar layN gay” and stating there were bigger issues than restoration. That certainly was a change from previous PML(N) stand.

(During the program, Mr. Minallah mentioned something that even made Khawaj Saad’s jaw drop. He stated a full half of one sector in Islamabad has been allotted to just ONE person at the rate of Rs.1 per acre with the help of a current sitting judge of the Supreme Court and yet no one is talking about it. Any one know more about this???)

By the way, here is what Dawn is reporting today:
    Differences likely to delay resolution: Reinstatement of judges
    …Sources in the PPP told Dawn it was highly unlikely that the resolution would be tabled in the National Assembly on Friday, the last day of the current session….Interestingly, PPP leaders say the committee is discussing both the draft of the resolution and the proposed constitutional package, but PML-N leaders say the committee has only been asked to finalise the draft of the resolution to be tabled in the National Assembly in accordance with the Bhurban Declaration to restore some 60 judges of the superior courts.

82. comment-top

Few days ago I read that draft has already be worked out by F.G Ibrahim, now what changes since then has been made that’s another story.

83. comment-top

Decoding_the_Past-Mayan_Doomsday_Prophecy 2012

video.google.com

84. comment-top

@savage
    “Few days ago I read that draft has already be worked out by F.G Ibrahim, now what changes since then has been made that’s another story.”

Exactly. And so many days of “tinkering” by the likes of Naek, Khosa, Awan (they all might not be on the committee but you know they are involved).

Another very worrying part is the total disconnect on the working of the committee: PML(N) committee claiming the committee has no mandate for a “constitutional package” but PPP insisting they are working on that very thing….

85. comment-top

While the parliament can’t restore a *$%^@$ Kiyani is all set to promote majors and above today. Now isn’t that the absolute need of the hour?

86. comment-top

I don’t like the sound of it.
    A news piece by Ansar Abbasi on Zardari-Nawaz talks on judiciary:
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14282

And I like this even less. Rehman Malik is one of the people in PPP one should be wary of. His special dealings with Mush and his role in the recent past in striking deals etc….. I don’t feel comfortable.
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14286

87. comment-top

@mbokhari
    It is anazing their calender was more accurate than the one we follow today.They were very advanced in astronomy.
    Even NASA is doing some research on 21st Dec 2012 the sun is supposed tobe in the middle of Milky way.I remember watching a documentry on History chanel last year.
    Who knows with global warming anything is possible.
    May be we should look for Dajjal. :)

88. comment-top

How about starting a daily topic where few TOP news/column/analysis will be posted. Everyone will vote on each item on weather it is a genuine news or planted by establishment.

How about that?

———————————————————————————

That ’s good idea if you put its links and stuff beautifully over web.

89. Riddle 792 Says:
    April 24th, 2008 at 8:03 am

Breaking News AAJ:
    President may use 58/2/b in judges case
    Supreme Court May Call Army if Needed
    MQM/PMLQ will be filing “Stay Order” in Supreme Court

90. comment-top

that is bad news! totally disastrous! hope its only a threat!

91. comment-top

@Zia M

I heard Dajjal is just a metaphor. Have you ever wondered what Internet translates into Urdu? DarmianJaal. That’s right…If you shorten it, that is DAJAAL right there…

Maybe its just a rumor but I beleeef it… (I just started it. ;’-)

92. comment-top

Rehman Malik’s dinner menu

Thursday, April 24, 2008

By Dilshad Azeem

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister’s Adviser on Interior Rehman Malik had an exclusive session with President Pervez Musharraf and discussed with him, among other things, the burning issue of the reinstatement of the deposed judges, The News has learnt.

“Rehman Malik met Musharraf alone at the dinner the president had hosted in honour of the formation commanders at the Aiwan-e-Sadr,” sources privy to the development revealed here on Wednesday.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14286

93. comment-top

ANP, JUI also behind Zardari in opposing judges’ return

Thursday, April 24, 2008

By Tariq Butt

ISLAMABAD: Asif Ali Zardari is using the opposition of his junior coalition partners, the Awami National Party (ANP) and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI), as counterbalance to the deposed judges’ restoration, in his talks with Nawaz Sharif.

“Zardari is not alone in resolutely opposing the reinstatement of sacked chief justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry but has the support of ANP and JUI of Maulana Fazlur Rehman,” a source told The News.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14283

94. comment-top

Rs 1.5bn spent on KHANZEER Musharraf’s foreign visits, NA told

Thursday, April 24, 2008

By Rauf Klasra

ISLAMABAD: President General Pervez Musharraf and his wife had spent Rs1.5 billion from national kitty on their foreign trips during the last five years, Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi disclosed in the National Assembly on Wednesday.

Qureshi also disclosed that the president took at least 1,325 visitors along with him in 37 trips since February 2003. Musharraf’s visit to the USA to attend the book launching ceremony of his autobiography “In the Line of Fire” turned out be the most expensive trip, as it cost Rs227 million.

Likewise, Musharraf’s desperate visit to Abu Dhabi to hold a historic meeting with the late Benazir Bhutto on July 26 2007 to seek her help after restoration of the chief justice of Pakistan on July 20, cost Rs15 million as the president took 43 people along with him.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14296

95. comment-top

Oh man! These “global warming” hoaxers are getting desperate:
    Showman Al Zawahiri Rants on-Global Warming too

Is this how you are going to waste your money, Al?

96. comment-top

According to other details, Musharraf spent Rs21 million on his trip to Russia, Rs22 million to Malaysia, Rs7.4 million to Saudi Arabia, Rs17.2 million on the USA, UK, Germany and France, Rs28 million on Tunisia, Algeria, Rabat, Rs38 million to the USA, Canada, Rs33 million to Malaysia, Rs28 million to China, Korea, Rs29 million to Turkey, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia, Rs12 million to Sweden, Finland, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Rs31 million to USA, Netherlands, Italy, Rs60 million to UAE Rs5 million to Afghanistan, Rs90 million to Kyrgzsatan, Uzbekistan, Rs20 million to India, Indonesia, Philippines, Rs37 million to UAE and Qatar, Rs9 million to Australia and New Zealand, Rs40 million to New York Tampa, Rs53 million to Saudi Arabia, Rs11.4 million to Kuwait, Yeman, Saudi Arabia, Rs1 million to Switzerland, Norway, Dubai Rs45 million to China, Rs168 million to UAE, Rs0.3 million to Afghanistan Rs3.4 million to Belgium, Cuba, the USA, UK Rs227 million to Jordan, Syria, Egypt and Saudi Arabia Rs54 million to Indonesia, Malaysia, Rs56 million to Iran and Turkey, Rs11 million to Spain, Poland, Bosnia and Turkey, Rs44 million to Saudi Arabia and UAE, Rs14 million to Afghanistan, and lately his trip to France, Switzerland, the UK and Belgium cost Rs146 million.

97. comment-top

@geog47
    Do these figures include plane charter charges?

98. comment-top

“Breaking News AAJ:
    President may use 58/2/b in judges case
    Supreme Court May Call Army if Needed
    MQM/PMLQ will be filing “Stay Order” in Supreme Court

Hey “Dem-UH-Cratic Forces” Way to break the VUCKIN momentum YOU VUKKIN VUCKFACES!!!!

And the good news is, this time the army is not going to vruck around with incarcerating these idiots, they will just have them executed. None of these “maslihat pasand” douchebags will find any refuge. And yes, this includes Zardari and his beloved son. They will not allow any top tier leadership to survive.

99. comment-top

Petition against judges restoration through parliament

ISLAMABAD: A writ petition has been filed in Islamabad High Court against restoration of deposed judges through parliament on Thursday.

Maulvi Iqbal Haider filed petition under article 199 of the constitution in which speaker, deputy speaker national assembly and law secretary have been made respondents.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=44163

100. comment-top