Whole saturday, I have been waiting for any program … Even if it would have been Faeza or Insight with Malik … I would have love to watch that (which I don’t usually even click on, in regular days).
Aitzaaz ki essi tessi pher ker rekh di Kashif Abbasi ney. First time I have seen a great lawyer on backfoot at defensive position due to his party PPP….unfortunate…
Mr. Zardari’s Honey Moon with the media is over. They haven’t gotten on his case.. he better kiss and make up.. I’m serious.. (and I hate to recall Sheeda Talli here — but he may have had a point when he was claiming these guys are not prepared for the new mdedia).
The general sentiment of negativity seems to be increasing against PPP and Zardari. Not good for PPP.
It should be obvious to everyone now that a Party that came to power through NRO, never will be the true representstive of the aspirations of the people. It is a compromised Peoples Party,especially when headed by a controversial character like ,Zardari. Nothing is expected of this party backed by the ussual suspects. Even if they restore Judges, their non-serious attitude, and the statements coming from Zardari and cronies, will always make them part of the same establishment that was supposed to be defeated and buried forever.
Aitzaz Ahsan is too good for his party. He makes a stand on principles, but his party on the other hand wants close relationship with a dictator. who obliterated constitution. I wish there were more people like him in PPP.
yaa Aitezaz sharminda ho gaya bechara due to party politics..
The party has changed around him.. he needs to move.. to a more suitable party.. I don’t see PPP as a natural home to a decent person like Aitezaz Ahsan. Sad to say.
ralo99, Aitzaz is not as cheap as you are. PPP is only party that can restore Judges. PPP did not got single vote for restore of judges. Kashif is against PPP every one knows that.
Aitzaz will fight for rawalpindi on PPP ticket and zardari would not fight from any where. Ha Ha Ha I would waiting to see people face on that they.
great show as usual, Kashif. you asked tough questions of a man many of us consider a hero now but those questions had to be asked. hats off to you for asking them.
Aitzaz should do the right thing and leave the PPP. he has enough support and respect among the educated types that he can be a force even apart from the PPP.
Aitzaz do the right thing and move one! we are with you.
@farhan: I was going to observe this as well. I’m seeing a creepy congruence between the views of nazir naji and Imtiaz alam (especially in 50 min last night)
also if you hear all three of them i.e:NJ,imtiaz alam n nazir najee you would get the same tone
you might give a benefit of doubt to NJ as he has got balance views but nazir najee is a person who got arrested on 12th oct 1999′s night from pm’s house n he was the person who has written the speech which nawaz sharif was just about to give before he got arrested…
so we can see the work goin on but still if you get blind eye from ppp supporters than nothin u can do…
i believe if general musharaf with all his powers couldn’t cripple cj iftikhar twice than who the hack is zardari……
take the other issue like negotiations with taliban and negotiations in swat,ppp n anp who support each other cordially except judges issues,they both are makin moves to sign a treaty with those talibans but on the other hand the president great musharaf just issued a statement today which exactly match the pentagon statement about taliban n al-qaeda….
does any one see any sense at all that elected government is making peace treaties n president giving other statements….
put judges issues aside they dont even agree with this president on any issue at all….soon ppp will be labeled as a b team of establishment as very rightly said by talat hussain on 25th april….
just wait for 3rd april.same champion of democracy ppp will be blocking all the private channels on the name of ‘national interest’ n than atleast NJ will come back to his old position….
malik qayum is gettin paid for his job which is he doin best….
who cares about the principles if you are gettin paid in huge sums….
I feel so sorry for Mr. AA, such a nice chap but I felt lots of pain in this interview due to his party behavior toward him and his moment. The fact that he is not a cheap person as one Jayala mentioned in above post, he can’t say or react openly against his party. I do believe this also add to his agony.
I also started to believe that PMLN is more interested in miniseries and specialy Panjab, I was shocked to hear new tone of Khawaj Saad Rafiq in 50 mintues. “Yeh keya wazaratain hain, na jhanda hai na sarkari gaRi na protocol!!!”. When asked whether he would join the Lawyer’s march, he did mention that now we are in Govt and our responsibility is different. That does mean that restoration or no-restoration, they are not going to leave collation.
It’s becoming so obvious this govt is nothing but civilian face of moshe’s dictatorship as planed by our Masters.
AA is basically right as a lawyer to give benefit of doubt to this co-alition but realisticaly he himself believes that this deadline will never be met,infact judges restoration is hang up for another 15 days….
zardari is not gettin free lunch thats for sure,the actual deal b/w BB n americans was on the same script n every thing is goin onto the same plan the only difference is that there is no BB any more who had the ability to dictate on her own terms but forget that from zardari,
i am still hopeful that he might bow down on lawyers pressure or he might tries his best to save this co-alition….
things will be very clear on 2nd april but the ultimate losers will be ppl of pakistan n the ultimate beneficiary will be musharaf….
i also watched 50 minutes ,you actually didnt get his pt he was saying that we dont care about ministries and can leave them any time…we are working with simplicity we didnt opted for luxuries and cars etc….
he also said that we can sacrifies ministries and punjab if need arises
just wait for 3rd april.same champion of democracy ppp will be blocking all the private channels on the name of ‘national interest’ n than atleast NJ will come back to his old position….
yea let’s wait till 31st april but it won’t happen InshALLAH! Judges will be restored in accordance with the later and sprit of Muree accord and nation will go out through this mess!
atleast ppp’s master of disguise senator babar awan should sue geo tv for running that countdown for judges restoration if zardari dont believe on this countdown….
he is in power now n he should show some power as this is the only place he can show power towards…
Kashif is really awesome in the sense that he asks direct and pinching questions, much like Mushtaq Minhas. These two guys are kinda flag bearers of of truth and justice.
Sure, Aitezaz Ahsan is a very principled man but he was quite perplexed by KA questions. I know party discipline is “holy” but you have to leave your party once it goes astray. Otherwise any Nazi party member could have argued, “Guys, I have to follow party discipline”. That’s not an excuse and AA should leave PPPP if they are not willing to give in to his principled stance.
questions should be asked from NS as well that why dint he uttered any word before putting the line”judges will be restored by a simple resolutino within 30 days of the formation of the federal government”
why the hack he dint clear this at that time that what was the formation of government means,a full cabinet in all four provinces or just the federal cabinet….
he aint a little kid who don’t know where my school is….
This is precisely the reason why I think AA is not a leader. He wants to be seen as the lawyers hero, but he is also reluctant to leave PPP. He should make up his mind.
I think that if he tried contesting from almost anywhere in the country without PPP support he will quickly realize the difference in being the darling of the media and actually convincing people to vote for you.
The lawyers including AA have been behaving cautiously these days and sensibly giving the government the benefit of the doubt but Zardari has extended his stay in Dubai so seems like the issue will linger more.
PPP to restore judges in its own way: http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14350
Eventually they have to do it but it would be like “Doodh mai maingnia daal kar daina” but this is a usual practice of this BHAINS.
AA’s dilemma is understandable. Leaving a party is really not that easy. He has decades of association with this party. And there is no real alternative for him as well. Starting up one’s own party is kind of an amateurish idea. And he is a little too big for PTI. He’ll loose 90% of his political weight if he decides to join PML(N). He knows pretty well what happened to Jatoi, Khar, (now Fahim) etc. The intense romance of PPP voter with Bhutto family is an area of study unto itself. And we cannot really predict what PPP voter is going to do now without any Bhutto at the helm.
Having said this, timing is of so much importance in politics. I believe it will be a test for him to capture the moment when it comes. I don’t think it has arrived yet.
Talking about the Party discipline. Isn’t Javed Hashmi “violating” the party discipline by issuing statements.
2 days back he said, we will walk out of the ministries if judges are not restored by 30th April (which is not been endorsed by PMLN officially)”
Yesterday he said ” Political parties do not want an independent judiciary”.
It is the clear stance of PMLN that Javed Hashmi is enjoying such a liberty. Poor AA is tied into the shrewdness of PPP.
you know what for ppp’s support NJ,imtiaz alam and nazir najee should do their own talk show n take calls only from ppl who first mention it that they will only talk about ppp n no one else…..
@kinnare
Here are a few:
- Malik Qayyum continue to be the AG?
- Statement from a PPP minister that Moshe is a national asset, a sell-able commodity?
- PPP looking for working relationship with Moshe (the president)
i am putting up an e-mail from a columnist who writes in nawaiwaqt and sort of a famous columnist,i e-mailed him of his support for ppp and luk wt he replies back to me…
even though it is against the ethics to write down some one’s e-mail and i m feelin guilty as well but i thought let us clear the facts that who supports ppp openly in media…the guy’s name is aftab iqbal..so here is e-mail…
I like PPP most of all parties here n dont find any reason for u to b so uneasy with it?
May b u r mistaken,I m not a newsman buddy!I m a highly charged n opinionated viewpointer.Such poeple all over the world r free to have a right to poinion n express it too in their views.
I went to university in the US n have lived a lot in Washington DC n now m running my own media house in Lahore which means that i know my job Mr.Farhan!!!!
U may disagree with me on the judge issue but cant take away my right to opinion.
Normally i dont write long replies as this so if u r very keen to discuss any issue,feel free n call me any day after 3 00 pm.
Aftab.
i hav got a few e-mails from him in my mailbox but thats the one i am showing as he has clearly stated that he supports ppp,
AA is great. He is one politician who can easily defeat any one in the elections even as independent candidate. I wish he was the main leader of PPP but may be now he will pay the price for being honest and supporting Lawyer’s movement. Anyways what ever happen AA will be remembered as one of the greats of Pak politics.
BTW: Kashif is one of the best in media these days.
you are a very good columnist and i have got no doubt in regarding your veiw but the point you were making in your last column tend to give the idea that you are actually making the point that judges issue should be sidelined and we should go for strong parliamentary system,how on earth you can have strong parliamentry system without an independant and free judiciary
if you think that could be possible with Dogar court than i dont knw wt to say,
if you like ppp as you said that why not mr.zardari should come up into the courts whether its in pakistan or abroad and let them decide on merit if he was guilty or not instead of getting benefited by NRO and you know the answer very well why not
pakistan judicial history starts from mar 9th 2007,if we start looking in the history than for argument sake bhutto was the first civilian martial law administrator in wtever circumstances so should we stop calling him a true democratic leader
i have got no problem with your views and i am not a critic by any means but you must have got some realy good friends and you kan take the ideas from them that your columns seems like coming from ppp media cell,
Can SOMEBODY please, HERE & NOW, ANSWER ME, that was THIS DAY, to be witnessed by 160 million Pakistanis, to peacefully VOTE AGAINST Musharraf, & STILL NOT BE ABLE TO REMOVE him & instead, to RE-INSTATE CJ : Iftikhar Ch.?
I think ‘ The powers that be ‘ are STILL testing the anti-Musharraf PASSIONS, that have been AROUSED in the masses. My only FEAR is, that circumstances may take an UGLY TURN, FORCES THE MASSES to TAKE THE LAW into their OWN HANDS, & THUS become UN-RULY, LEADING to an unwarranted SITUATION.
Such events would MOST LIKELY LEAD the country, to a REVOLUTION, which I FEAR, will be UN-CONTOLLABLE, the ARMY also. DO YOU ALSO THINK SO?
Are you sure that AA can defeat anyone even as an independent??? There is a huge difference between winning the bar elections and getting voted from ‘awam’. AA knows that he tried to show more power than he had and now AZ is putting him back to his place.
@amir hameed, President is all powerfull that how consitutional position is right now. so PPP-PMLN have form government but has not acquired power.
President appoint AG and PMLN rightly said let him do Janitorial work. So when power is finally transfered I am sure AG would be replaced.
Gen Mush is president so you have to have a working relationship with presisdent not Gen Mush. And that is why PPP is always say that we need have working relationship with President.
Defence Minsiter has already denied the statement about sellable commodity.
this is the same president who has put the beloved pm gillani under the jail for 5 years…..
if some one could get that de-grade than nothin harm in having a workin relationship with the same man also the same president called the great ZAB a fascist on page 58 in the line of fire….
so if ppp still wants working relationship with the same man on the name of “national interest”than pakistan one day will be on the bright of the sky…..
The issue with many born again democracy lovers (not all but many Politicians, Journalists, Lawyers) is that they have opted for this position out of convenience. People like NJ have the honor to sacrifice to earn the right to make comments that are logically consistent for 20-30 years and not developed out of convenience. Changes and transformation in society is not just the result of emotions but mostly life long commitment to the core values of a particular philosophy. Restoration of judiciary is important because it settles a principle that Army chief has no jurisdiction to dismiss chief justice and not because of the dismal legal and democratic record of Ch. Iftikhar.
I am amazed that today our self-righteous friends are again ignoring the requests of Baluchi Bros. in the similar fashion they ignored the urges of Bengali Bros. in 1970-1971. The inflicting of pain, suffering, and humiliation on opposing forces is more critical than saving the country from disintegration.
Dude power won’t be transferred. It should be snatched by the elected govt. by their executive power. People of Pakistan didn’t elect them to be scared of the dictatorial forces. They should be courageous and start taking steps in national interest. Restoration of judiciary will prove to be their lifeline were Mush (I hate calling him our president) to use 58-2B.
The only problem is that PPPP should stop being the establishment or king’s party. PPPP leadership is not realizing that their political future will be at stake if they stop short of taking clear stance on myriad of national issues. Restoration of the judiciary being the top most.
Resaissance, it is very shame ful on your part to call PPP playing establishment game. Who knows better than PPP that you have to snatch the power but snatching the power does been destroying the country. PPP is only party in country which can restort judge. Do you PMLN has enough street to stop Army from standing him back S. Arabia. History do not say.
@kinnare
I can start a lengthy discusson on why PPP does not want to touch Moshe … remember the NRO and who has benefitted the most from it. Zardari’s “haazri” at the US Consulate with Ann Pattrson the very next day of the elections, etc… but I do not want to get into that. I just want to say that if AG is appointed by the president then so is the governor. Why is then PPP trying to remove governor of Punjab and bring their own person? Wasn’t governor Khalid also appointed by PPP’s president, Moshe?
Amir Hameed, PPP is saying that they would like to bring their men as Governer it has not be done yet. Yes, PPP defentily benefited through NRO and that benfite is the coffin of BB. PPP did not needed NRO. PPP could have easily ask Parliament to withdraw all the cases and with two third majority it would have been no big deal. It was bluff that Gen Mush played and people bought it. But eleven million voter of PPP did not vote on judges issue
if 11 million ppl dint vote for judges issue than zardari should talk like a man of day 1 n should hav said openly that i am not bound to bring back the judges……….
why dint he do that n acted like a real chicken……..
@farhan, dude have been doing it for last thirty years. Well I am happy that you agree that media and you are part of establishment. Actually most of PPP think that Jung Group is as much responsible in the murder of ZAB as JI is
@kinnare
“PPP did not needed NRO. PPP could have easily ask Parliament to withdraw all the cases and with two third majority it would have been no big deal.”
Getting delusional, aren’t we? Hello! Can you explain to me how the coffin-seeker and Zardari would have made it back WITHOUT the NRO? It is also interesting you say PPP did not need the NRO and in the same breath say PPP could have gotten the NRO from the parliament instead. By the way in case you haven’t realized PPP still does not have two third majority in the parliament (the “coalition” does but I think you believe otherwise)
stay happy as that cost nothin n keep closed your eyes but make sure that there is no BB in ppp any more who kan gather any crowd any more…
jang group,aaj tv,ary,express news n i cant even count on fingers how many,amazing thing is that only 3 agrees with your views…
NJ will be back soon than there will be only 2 so just think…….
dont you agree with my idea that zardari should sue geo tv for running that countdown n defaming him as he was never committed to it as he was committed to NRO n doin exactly wt he was told to do….
mate why you keep on repeating one thing,i agree with you that ppp dint get 11 million votes or infact a single vote for judiciary cause than why the hell ppp got committed for bhurban declaration if they dint take any vote for it…..
why dint zardari said what you are sayin n should had said it openly on the first day..
just answer me that my question is very simple…
also why did BB went to cj’s house n called him that he is my cj…
Does not uncle worke for Army and your another in Police?
wt are you tryin to say….
mate think n write as i know u r under lots of pressure as u hav to defend ur party against loads of bloggers here but for goodness sake write something which makes any sense than some one can reply u…
with my posts if u gettin happy than its a real habit of ppp that whole media is givin them stick n they are still smiling,
in simple language we call this act “dheet”
i dont know wt u call it..
plz clear wt were u tryin to say again.. n also would u answer my question as well which i asked earlier as i m still waiting for the answer….
There is literally no diff in pmlq ,,pppp ,,,mqm ,,,fazlu these days
as they are all using diffrent slogans to hide the fact that they are all working for establishment for petty gains.
only party against establishment (army usa) at this piont is NS .strangely NS party used to be there fav but ppp has replaced them.
mate have something realy good to drink n i recommend orange juice as you need lots of energy to defend your beloved party which u hav got every right to do…
take some break as i m off now…..
mind u i m not against ur party i only support principle stands..who ever takes it though…
when did u get this idea that my one of my uncle works for army n one for police….first of all no n second dont divert from the issue wts goin on in here
talk about facts where the hell my uncles came into the pakistani politics
is it a cheap stuff which is usual from ppp or u just hav got no answers at all…..
9TH MARCH made history…..whatever the result of this judiciary might be…but IFTIKHAR CHOHDARY’S NO changed the whole scenerio of pakistan politics … media and lawyer’s struggle has been one dramatic happening .
No conspiracy can stop it now.
No package can alter the verdict which was written on 9th…
you might heap allegations on CJ but he has changed the course of our politics….your leadership is in pakistan bc of him….he made mush weak enough so that he had to crawl ot bb (whom he used to say security risk) in abudabhi
@farhan
pppp didnt take votes for judiciary ……..neither to topple mush….they took votes on the dead body of bb..,.so that they can make a big mazaaar for her…………
they assigned us agent m durrani as pm’s assistnat.they still have malik qayyum…they say mush is asset……..they want dogar court……..
atleast pmlq was honest enough to support mush openly…
pppp is a munafiq form of pmlq
you said for 30 years u are defending ppp,once in 30 years u or ur party had taken one stand just stand for principle…..things would had been different…
last time in 1970 ppp had 2/3 majority since than its all big conpiracy against them n i m sure this time when election comes they will get atleast 30 or 40 seats because of their dubious stance on issues…
I here all the BS of conspiracies and punjab bashing from pppp every now and then..
the fact is that
punjab made ZAB PM….punjab even supported bb a lot…….
and sindh never ever supported a non sindhi Leader………….
there is no language biasness in punjab but in Sindh its a lot.
as per as army goes among all the heads of army chiefs only Zia ,asif nawaz and jahangir karamat were punjabis the rest 10 were non punjabis and 2 were foreigners
Can SOMEBODY please, HERE & NOW, ANSWER ME, that were, WE, i.e; 160 million Pakistanis, to WITNESS AN UNUSUAL SPECTACLE, that we are seeing these days, that, to after going the peaceful way, by VOTING AGAINST Musharraf, BUt STILL NOT BEEN ABLE TO REMOVE him & instead, RE-INSTATE CJ : Iftikhar Ch.?
I think ‘ The powers that be ‘ are STILL testing the anti-Musharraf PASSIONS, that have been AROUSED in the masses. My only FEAR is, that circumstances may take an UGLY TURN, FORCING THE MASSES TO TAKE THE LAW into their OWN HANDS, & THUS become so UNRULY, that may LEAD to an unwarranted SITUATION.
Such events would MOST LIKELY LEAD the country, to a REVOLUTION, which I FEAR, will be UNCONTROLLABLE, & for the ARMY also.
Farhan, One stand we have stood like rock that we will not give Pakistan to JI or JUI. who use to call Pakistan kafirstan and Mohammad Ali Jinnah Kafir just because he was Ismaili.
…CJ is a bitter pill for mush and ppp…they can’t swollow it nor can spit it.
if they forcefully retire him…he will become even bigger infact biggest political force in future…………………
there is no soln for mush pppp and all meance elements of establishment………….9th march was the turning pt …
the fate of mush and all pro establishment elements has been written .now its all matter of time….it could be months or years but will happen ..
@farhan
“but wt u kan do about ppp supporters i dont know may be u hav got an answer or may be NJ,imtiaz alam or nazir najee”
if some supporters are biased to an extent that they think that all pakistan is part of establshment …only pppp is the saviour …Aasmaaani makhlook then there is nothing that you can do to convince them.
Kashif, you’ve done an excellent job as usual in this show, and even more by inviting Aitzaz Ahsan. Always good to hear Aitzaz, what a gentleman he is.
again and again AA is showing what loyalty to principles is…
This feature is what we need so much…
there is increasingly trend that people think through identity…that see what is right and wrong through the lens of being a Muhajir/ being a Sindhi/ being a Muslim/ Being a PPP supporter/ being a PML(N) supporter…and so on…
it is rare to see now a days a person can rise above identity and think and stand for principles…
this does not mean being disloyal to identity but not be subservient to it…
I salute him…
ibnrazi
@SnrCtzn
“Can SOMEBODY please, HERE & NOW, ANSWER ME, that were, WE, i.e; 160 million Pakistanis, to WITNESS AN UNUSUAL SPECTACLE, that we are seeing these days, that, to after going the peaceful way, by VOTING AGAINST Musharraf”
Right after you can explain to me why the “missing” are still missing, Qayyum still the AG, Naseem Ashraf still chairman PCB and Human Development Commission along, Atta-ur-Rehman still heading HEC, D*gar still the Chief Justice, Lashari still the head of CDA, Gillani’s speech at GHQ, Dar’c promise to continue Shauki’s policies, …
PPP has no votebank whatsoever in NA-55 . you can see from the results of previous elections also..even BB`s Chamchi Naheed Khan contested from here many times and was defeated by PML(N) with the margin of 50,000-60,000 votes…this time Javed Hashmi PML (N) defeated sheikho lota talli….so you will see from turnout that PML(N) voters will never vote to zardari ..people in rawalpindi will be happy to vote for Aitzaza as he is above party now..but to think that PML (N) voter will vote for Mr. 10 % and biggest daku of pakistan is not possible..there is a difference between interior sindh and northeren punjab..
last time when sheikhoo lota nominated his nephew from NA-56 , he was defeated in by elections as people thought that sheikhoo has betrayed with party…i wish that any party who can bring candidate agaisnt zaradri has fair chances to defeat him and use the vote bank of pml (N)) ..i think lawyers should nominate one candidtae from NA-55 and then see whats the auqat of zaradri the dacoit
Dont quit ppp aitzaz no matter what. Dont let this one time genuine awami party to fall into the hands of notorious criminals and mafia bosses. Many people have sacrificed for this party, given blood and sweat, been victimised and wronged for being a party member. Its the story of every other house in the land.
Dont let the scum of society, the rapists and murderers, drug peddlers and smugglers, dacoits and outlaws hijack this party for their insidious purposes. Show yourself to be a true diciple of Jinnah. Have courage and faith in awam. You and other true leaders of the party must make this a true political party of poor and repressed classes once more and clean it up from those scavengers who want to turn it into a mafioso gang to loot, plunder, kill, subjugate, oppress and destroy only for their petty interests and wretched pleasures.
@SNRSTZN: bro, I would really like to hear your recorded comments because I think you try to put that enunciation in the comments and I think it would be a forceful comment if you just recorded it in audio format… I can feel reading ur comments that you do not feel the written medium can do justice to the way you are feeling.
as always an excellently conducted program by kashif abbasi. he is THE best anchor in my opinion.
aitzaz ahsan should have some self-respect and leave this criminal party called PPP. he should join PMLN and stand for elections from rawalpindi, he will be much better off. PPP is increasingly being taken over by criminal elements after BB’s murder.
reading some of the comments here, it is pathetic to see jiyalas acting like the jew who shouts ANTI-SEMITE the minute you start critcizing Israel and its fascist policies. jiyalas will not defend their party using any argument based on facts or principles, but just start their verbal diarrhoea of “establishment” “anti-ppp” “shaheed” “coffin of bb” “not single vote on judiciary” etc. guys dont even bother replying to these pathetic losers, all they know is how to celebrate sham-e-ghareeban over their so-called “shaheeds”, they dont want to argue about where their party has gone wrong or how it consists of criminals and opportunists(with a few(emphasis on FEW) notable exceptions like AA). just give them a chance to cry about shaheeds and they will be happy doing it day and night.
there are 3 or 4 people who are doing this in PPP which wouldn’t harm since the majority are in agreement, i hope. The majority matters, not those 1% or 2%.
Dear Admin, seems that Kashif’s programs are getting lots of comments. Why not have pkpol viewers send him comments much like the Bolta pakistan folks got from us and some others. Just a suggestion.
And I think the judges will have to be restored, CJ and all. Interesting issue of Javed Iqbal having seniority as he so eloquently stated. Not Dogar. So, the way I see it, restoring the judges is the “bitter pill” which PPP will have to swallow much like taking the oath from Musharraf was the “bitter pill” swallowed by PMLN. Heck they can wear black arm bands (PPP) if that makes them happy the day the judges are restored. But restored they will be!
Just have one comment on the program…..without getting into the specifics…one thing is for sure that KA was the only one in the program who said or asked questions with a negative angle…can give you lot of examples but one was stark one….wukla ki dictation nahi chali gi laikin sadar mushraff aur america ki dictation chalee gi….KA wrapped it up in a question form and protryed it as a stance of PPP/AZ….it may be good masala question but not an objective journalisim….one thing is clear….for objective journalism..you ask question based on the facts and let the interviewer add controversies to it, if any, due their experience or information…here see the whole interview and the person who added controversies was KA……so people who saying that KA did a good job…he added lot of masala to the interview but AA being an experienced politician avoided all that…in the end you are left with masala dar question with nothing coming out of AA….just another example…about “tulkh kalami b/w AA and AZ” AA catagorically denied it and said that media misreported it….but KA did not pick on it..and said something about media…but he asked another masalla question based on it…..good viewership value but was unfortunately not conduced in an objective professional manner….
Oh God ….we still are not able to see the real problem.
BHAI LOGO…army has control on 80% of our resources.
they have guns and 80% of resources.they will be getting increased aid from US 400billion dollars /yr soon,,and dont expect them to spend that aid on people.
we are still debating on political parties.
political parties are given a JHUNJUNA of ministries….if they mess with army they will be sidelined (like CJ in 2007,,NS in 99) or murdered……….like bb and zab
zardari understands it fully …….there is not hing any party can do,, when it comes to countering with army…….US and its slave pakistan.army doesnt want CJ….period
Meri jan then quit politics and start a tehreek against army to free your land. Why you accept that JHUNJANNA. Or you think people are little kids and you are giving us some kind of JHUNJUNNA to pacify us.
@inaam
AA could set up his party assuming that there would be others like AA who would deflect from PP based on principles. If PP does not restore the judges according to the wish of the public there will be a lot of anger against it and all what AA need’s is a bunch of deflectors and some independents and he could sweep a good share of PP voters. But if the under lying assumption that there might be a few members of PP sympathetic to its voter, is a naive one, then that means there is no one in PP with any moral fibre at all. Then what the hell are people voting this party for?
Any way, if AA can’t leave the party to join another or set up one him self then he should just take the command of the lawyers and lead the movement. What good can he achive being in PP other than to play the role of a mole. If after 30 odd years the so called champions of democracy who have had so many shaheed in the party cant seem to find the path to democracy and wishes to have a working relationship with a dictator. Then in my personal view, all claims of victimisation and love for democracy are false. Others are entitled to differ
One final question I’ve never understood why BB distant herself from AA if she was sincere in restoring the judiciary. Clearly if she had a secret stategy she could have informed AA and could have brought him on board.
If you have seen the photograph -(in Jang.com.pk) of Shahbaz Shareef with Khawaja Asif – the FACE and Body language of Kh. Asif tells everything about what is about to happen. The PML-N will have to quit to save face- and you know the OLD saying-
Those that are trying to save face have no face to save.
this column of hamid mir has got lots of hope in it,he may be a ppp sympathiser but he is truly against mush regime n upto some extent a very credible journalist in the present lot of journalists so i m very optimist that things will settle in a better way
@shimatoree, I am ready to bet that all the corrupt judges would be restore.
Thing that every one should understand the we need to help PPP and PMLN to suceed at all cost. If we loose we would not get demcracy for next ten years. Biggest enemy of democarcy in Pakistan is Pakistan Army. How they can all people to rule over then when their General say this bloody citizen.
Gen Mush have all the power so the government has been transfered but power is still with Gen Mush meaning with Army. I would appeal to people on this board who are drawing room expert on PPP and PMLN to please see the real picture of what is happening in Pakistan.
Kashif did well as usual but perhaps he hurt all PPP lovers who love PPP and want to love despite the harsh facts of NRO, Confidential meetings with the President in Dubai, silent support in Presidential elections, existence of Attorney General etc,
But we being a Pakistani just want listen truth and straight talk and we should have patients for this regardless party affiliation.
Kashif Abbasi should have taken tuition from u on Journalism. Hopefully u would help him in learning of basic principles of journalism (ab tak tu pata nahi wo bechara kahan ghass khod raha tha) but after under ur able guidance or tuition inshallah he will be able to do professional journalism and would not pinch the great PPP.
@kinnared
“Thing that every one should understand the we need to help PPP and PMLN to suceed at all cost. If we loose we would not get demcracy for next ten years”.
Democracy is not a londi of these parties. These parties need jamhooriat, not other way around. So far in our sixty year history, its undemocratic institutions like ppp and pml which have caused maximum damage to democracy, not the military.
…….’is ghar ko aag lag gayi ghar k chiragh se’
These parties better get their act together. They are still living in 70′s o 80′s. Jamhoriat will prevail with or without them. Why? Because we, the sons f the soil, have taken matters into our own hand.
Is this about Kashif Abbasi? or the strange problem that no one in the PPP can gvie the country a straight answer on the judges on Musharraf on countless other issues which time and time again polls have shown matter a lot to the people of Pakistan. Does Kashif have his biases? I bet he does. So what? Most politicos agreeing to go on his show know the drill. they know his style they know what he will likely ask. Everyone is a grown up! If they are on a weak wicket then its not Kashif or any other anchor’s fault!
We are so far removed from the reality – it is like living in a different world.
If Parliament is a supreme authority and is empowered by people to legislate and solve the lingering issues then why won’t every one, Aitzaz, media and the judges included, let them do their job and accept their decision?
Aitzaz Ahsan has earned respect of all, even of the ones who dislike PPP and every thing associated with it. It is time that he facilitates things instead of having a hard line, non-bulging stance.
What a thougtless critique on my post…….am sure aristotle is turning in his grave on the shallowness of your comments…..please change your name and then write these useles, sarcastic and shallow posts……you are not the the only one..typical and common problem…..if you can’t challange the content or opinion on its merits, challange the credibility of the writer or knowledge by sarcasm…..
Aristotle ka nam mat badnam karoo…..bahi koi aur nam rakh loo…;-)))
U reacted as expected because you don’t have any reply, answer or justification for all that whatever ur party is doing so u just can shout, that s all. About your intelligence and credibility of criticism, I would say nothing because your posts are self explanatory, but I would just want to say that if I have a common problem “challenge the credibility of the writer or knowledge by sarcasm” What you are doing? You did same about Kashif Abbasi. So please look at mirror and don’t waste your precious time in teaching others because people and parties, who have double faces and dual standards, are not capable to give lecture on ethics and professionalism.
OMG
This program was a series of slaps on the face of Zardari .
AA was really and rightly helpless.
As only a shamelss thick skinned loser can defend the questions using his Dhitai , which sincere person like AA can’t exhibit.
good show
Thank you so much Admin …
Whole saturday, I have been waiting for any program … Even if it would have been Faeza or Insight with Malik … I would have love to watch that (which I don’t usually even click on, in regular days).
Anyways, Jazak Allah.
Hassan Khan
California, USA
hats off 2 aitezaz.. wot a gentleman .
Aitzaaz ki essi tessi pher ker rekh di Kashif Abbasi ney. First time I have seen a great lawyer on backfoot at defensive position due to his party PPP….unfortunate…
Good show!.
One thing is for sure.
Mr. Zardari’s Honey Moon with the media is over. They haven’t gotten on his case.. he better kiss and make up.. I’m serious.. (and I hate to recall Sheeda Talli here — but he may have had a point when he was claiming these guys are not prepared for the new mdedia).
The general sentiment of negativity seems to be increasing against PPP and Zardari. Not good for PPP.
i think aitzaz should contest from rawalpindi to show zardari his real auqaat
Vaah Aitezaz Saheb:
Vaar isQadar Shadeed, keh duShman hi kar sakay
chehrah magar zuroor kisi AaSh-naa ka thaa
Always a pleasure to hear Aitezaz Ahsan speak.
like the way zardari is goin,sheikh rasheed has got every chance of comin back to the parliament again if zardari constests the election in NA-55
sheikh rasheed is clever enough to use the environment against zardari as it is very obvious….
It should be obvious to everyone now that a Party that came to power through NRO, never will be the true representstive of the aspirations of the people. It is a compromised Peoples Party,especially when headed by a controversial character like ,Zardari. Nothing is expected of this party backed by the ussual suspects. Even if they restore Judges, their non-serious attitude, and the statements coming from Zardari and cronies, will always make them part of the same establishment that was supposed to be defeated and buried forever.
no ppp defence yet…..where are the ppp lovers tonight???
Aitzaz Ahsan is too good for his party. He makes a stand on principles, but his party on the other hand wants close relationship with a dictator. who obliterated constitution. I wish there were more people like him in PPP.
yaa Aitezaz sharminda ho gaya bechara due to party politics..
The party has changed around him.. he needs to move.. to a more suitable party.. I don’t see PPP as a natural home to a decent person like Aitezaz Ahsan. Sad to say.
Painful.
he shouldn’t have contested the elections on principles even if judges comes back instead he should let zardari contested the elections
pindi will throw a big splash back on zardari….
Aitzaz must contest from Rawalpindi again Mr 10%, to teach Mr 10% a lesson
@ralo99
absolutely agreed…..
i am feeling realy sori for AA for havin such an awkward position…..
wrong man at wrong place at a wrong time…….
this is just heart breaking stuff……can’t see it any more
ralo99, Aitzaz is not as cheap as you are. PPP is only party that can restore Judges. PPP did not got single vote for restore of judges. Kashif is against PPP every one knows that.
Aitzaz will fight for rawalpindi on PPP ticket and zardari would not fight from any where. Ha Ha Ha I would waiting to see people face on that they.
Kashif hates PPP.
wow
here comes the ppp support…..
love to see that….
even thought kashif is sayin every thing as wts been happening at the moment…
but still ppp columns puttin up that he is anti ppp….
seems like there are only 3 journalists right now who dont realy hates ppp i.e:NJ,Imtiaz alam n nazir najee if we take kinnare’s words
in today’s news ansar abbasi ….the same journalists who has been threatened by mush regime as he was against mush regime…
he gave the view of defence of zardari n the report he has written…..
thnkz a lot frndz .. for puting up free version . thankzzzzzzzzzz a lotttttttt
great show as usual, Kashif. you asked tough questions of a man many of us consider a hero now but those questions had to be asked. hats off to you for asking them.
Aitzaz should do the right thing and leave the PPP. he has enough support and respect among the educated types that he can be a force even apart from the PPP.
Aitzaz do the right thing and move one! we are with you.
@farhan: I was going to observe this as well. I’m seeing a creepy congruence between the views of nazir naji and Imtiaz alam (especially in 50 min last night)
we are on a stage finally first time in pakistan that things are crystal clear that who is doin what…
but still if some one wanted to close the eyes n still wanted to sing the old songs its upto them….
reality prevails at the end….the key is who just sticks to the principles…
also if you hear all three of them i.e:NJ,imtiaz alam n nazir najee you would get the same tone
you might give a benefit of doubt to NJ as he has got balance views but nazir najee is a person who got arrested on 12th oct 1999′s night from pm’s house n he was the person who has written the speech which nawaz sharif was just about to give before he got arrested…
so we can see the work goin on but still if you get blind eye from ppp supporters than nothin u can do…
i believe if general musharaf with all his powers couldn’t cripple cj iftikhar twice than who the hack is zardari……
just take the judges issues on one side,
take the other issue like negotiations with taliban and negotiations in swat,ppp n anp who support each other cordially except judges issues,they both are makin moves to sign a treaty with those talibans but on the other hand the president great musharaf just issued a statement today which exactly match the pentagon statement about taliban n al-qaeda….
does any one see any sense at all that elected government is making peace treaties n president giving other statements….
put judges issues aside they dont even agree with this president on any issue at all….soon ppp will be labeled as a b team of establishment as very rightly said by talat hussain on 25th april….
Great show!
Why the hell PPP’s government is not replacing at least Malik Qayyum??
Judges now needs to be restored!
Was this show censored?? I am watching a free version
malik qayum is gettin paid for his job which is he doin best….
who cares about the principles if you are gettin paid in huge sums….
Itizaz!! stop defending PP. Join PMLN or setup your own party.
I feel so sorry for Mr. AA, such a nice chap but I felt lots of pain in this interview due to his party behavior toward him and his moment. The fact that he is not a cheap person as one Jayala mentioned in above post, he can’t say or react openly against his party. I do believe this also add to his agony.
I also started to believe that PMLN is more interested in miniseries and specialy Panjab, I was shocked to hear new tone of Khawaj Saad Rafiq in 50 mintues. “Yeh keya wazaratain hain, na jhanda hai na sarkari gaRi na protocol!!!”. When asked whether he would join the Lawyer’s march, he did mention that now we are in Govt and our responsibility is different. That does mean that restoration or no-restoration, they are not going to leave collation.
It’s becoming so obvious this govt is nothing but civilian face of moshe’s dictatorship as planed by our Masters.
AA is basically right as a lawyer to give benefit of doubt to this co-alition but realisticaly he himself believes that this deadline will never be met,infact judges restoration is hang up for another 15 days….
zardari is not gettin free lunch thats for sure,the actual deal b/w BB n americans was on the same script n every thing is goin onto the same plan the only difference is that there is no BB any more who had the ability to dictate on her own terms but forget that from zardari,
i am still hopeful that he might bow down on lawyers pressure or he might tries his best to save this co-alition….
things will be very clear on 2nd april but the ultimate losers will be ppl of pakistan n the ultimate beneficiary will be musharaf….
@savage
i also watched 50 minutes ,you actually didnt get his pt he was saying that we dont care about ministries and can leave them any time…we are working with simplicity we didnt opted for luxuries and cars etc….
he also said that we can sacrifies ministries and punjab if need arises
@savage
NS & hashemi have repeatedly said they will return ministries in federation if judges are not restored so I would wait and see.
@farhan
yea let’s wait till 31st april but it won’t happen InshALLAH! Judges will be restored in accordance with the later and sprit of Muree accord and nation will go out through this mess!
@fahim23
i am 100% with you mate….
lets hope for the best n be ready for worst…
atleast ppp’s master of disguise senator babar awan should sue geo tv for running that countdown for judges restoration if zardari dont believe on this countdown….
he is in power now n he should show some power as this is the only place he can show power towards…
Kashif is really awesome in the sense that he asks direct and pinching questions, much like Mushtaq Minhas. These two guys are kinda flag bearers of of truth and justice.
Sure, Aitezaz Ahsan is a very principled man but he was quite perplexed by KA questions. I know party discipline is “holy” but you have to leave your party once it goes astray. Otherwise any Nazi party member could have argued, “Guys, I have to follow party discipline”. That’s not an excuse and AA should leave PPPP if they are not willing to give in to his principled stance.
questions should be asked from NS as well that why dint he uttered any word before putting the line”judges will be restored by a simple resolutino within 30 days of the formation of the federal government”
why the hack he dint clear this at that time that what was the formation of government means,a full cabinet in all four provinces or just the federal cabinet….
he aint a little kid who don’t know where my school is….
@Renaissance
well said
thanks admin
This is precisely the reason why I think AA is not a leader. He wants to be seen as the lawyers hero, but he is also reluctant to leave PPP. He should make up his mind.
I think that if he tried contesting from almost anywhere in the country without PPP support he will quickly realize the difference in being the darling of the media and actually convincing people to vote for you.
AZ already has NS trapped, AZ won’t be a problem at all.
*AA won’t be a problem.
Fahim, I would like to bet with you about your challange. As I have win lot of money on these boads. How about thousand USD.
Shahid Kinnare
Memphis TN
901-370-5779
For the nazi reference so early in the thread! !!!
betting is haram
The lawyers including AA have been behaving cautiously these days and sensibly giving the government the benefit of the doubt but Zardari has extended his stay in Dubai so seems like the issue will linger more.
PPP to restore judges in its own way:
http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14350
Eventually they have to do it but it would be like “Doodh mai maingnia daal kar daina” but this is a usual practice of this BHAINS.
@Kinnare,
So tell me, what is it that Kashf said that was biased against PPP? nothing. He was simply stating the facts.
AA’s dilemma is understandable. Leaving a party is really not that easy. He has decades of association with this party. And there is no real alternative for him as well. Starting up one’s own party is kind of an amateurish idea. And he is a little too big for PTI. He’ll loose 90% of his political weight if he decides to join PML(N). He knows pretty well what happened to Jatoi, Khar, (now Fahim) etc. The intense romance of PPP voter with Bhutto family is an area of study unto itself. And we cannot really predict what PPP voter is going to do now without any Bhutto at the helm.
Having said this, timing is of so much importance in politics. I believe it will be a test for him to capture the moment when it comes. I don’t think it has arrived yet.
@Amir Hameed, and what that fact are?
Talking about the Party discipline. Isn’t Javed Hashmi “violating” the party discipline by issuing statements.
2 days back he said, we will walk out of the ministries if judges are not restored by 30th April (which is not been endorsed by PMLN officially)”
Yesterday he said ” Political parties do not want an independent judiciary”.
It is the clear stance of PMLN that Javed Hashmi is enjoying such a liberty. Poor AA is tied into the shrewdness of PPP.
@kinnare
you know what for ppp’s support NJ,imtiaz alam and nazir najee should do their own talk show n take calls only from ppl who first mention it that they will only talk about ppp n no one else…..
brilliant idea init……..
@kinnare
Here are a few:
- Malik Qayyum continue to be the AG?
- Statement from a PPP minister that Moshe is a national asset, a sell-able commodity?
- PPP looking for working relationship with Moshe (the president)
@all the ppp lovers and sympathisers,
i am putting up an e-mail from a columnist who writes in nawaiwaqt and sort of a famous columnist,i e-mailed him of his support for ppp and luk wt he replies back to me…
even though it is against the ethics to write down some one’s e-mail and i m feelin guilty as well but i thought let us clear the facts that who supports ppp openly in media…the guy’s name is aftab iqbal..so here is e-mail…
To: asadfarhan23@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: farhan
Date: Tue, 8 Apr 2008 02:25:35 0500
I like PPP most of all parties here n dont find any reason for u to b so uneasy with it?
May b u r mistaken,I m not a newsman buddy!I m a highly charged n opinionated viewpointer.Such poeple all over the world r free to have a right to poinion n express it too in their views.
I went to university in the US n have lived a lot in Washington DC n now m running my own media house in Lahore which means that i know my job Mr.Farhan!!!!
U may disagree with me on the judge issue but cant take away my right to opinion.
Normally i dont write long replies as this so if u r very keen to discuss any issue,feel free n call me any day after 3 00 pm.
Aftab.
i hav got a few e-mails from him in my mailbox but thats the one i am showing as he has clearly stated that he supports ppp,
AA is great. He is one politician who can easily defeat any one in the elections even as independent candidate. I wish he was the main leader of PPP but may be now he will pay the price for being honest and supporting Lawyer’s movement. Anyways what ever happen AA will be remembered as one of the greats of Pak politics.
BTW: Kashif is one of the best in media these days.
and that was my reply to him……
and after that i dint e-mail him back as i found it very uneasy talkin to a journalist who dont find who ir right n who is wrong….
To: aftabiqbal7@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: farhan
Date: Tue, 8 Apr 2008 02:35:34 0000
hi,
you are a very good columnist and i have got no doubt in regarding your veiw but the point you were making in your last column tend to give the idea that you are actually making the point that judges issue should be sidelined and we should go for strong parliamentary system,how on earth you can have strong parliamentry system without an independant and free judiciary
if you think that could be possible with Dogar court than i dont knw wt to say,
if you like ppp as you said that why not mr.zardari should come up into the courts whether its in pakistan or abroad and let them decide on merit if he was guilty or not instead of getting benefited by NRO and you know the answer very well why not
pakistan judicial history starts from mar 9th 2007,if we start looking in the history than for argument sake bhutto was the first civilian martial law administrator in wtever circumstances so should we stop calling him a true democratic leader
i have got no problem with your views and i am not a critic by any means but you must have got some realy good friends and you kan take the ideas from them that your columns seems like coming from ppp media cell,
i will call you inshallah
farhan
Can SOMEBODY please, HERE & NOW, ANSWER ME, that was THIS DAY, to be witnessed by 160 million Pakistanis, to peacefully VOTE AGAINST Musharraf, & STILL NOT BE ABLE TO REMOVE him & instead, to RE-INSTATE CJ : Iftikhar Ch.?
I think ‘ The powers that be ‘ are STILL testing the anti-Musharraf PASSIONS, that have been AROUSED in the masses. My only FEAR is, that circumstances may take an UGLY TURN, FORCES THE MASSES to TAKE THE LAW into their OWN HANDS, & THUS become UN-RULY, LEADING to an unwarranted SITUATION.
Such events would MOST LIKELY LEAD the country, to a REVOLUTION, which I FEAR, will be UN-CONTOLLABLE, the ARMY also. DO YOU ALSO THINK SO?
@ JKS
Are you sure that AA can defeat anyone even as an independent??? There is a huge difference between winning the bar elections and getting voted from ‘awam’. AA knows that he tried to show more power than he had and now AZ is putting him back to his place.
@amir hameed, President is all powerfull that how consitutional position is right now. so PPP-PMLN have form government but has not acquired power.
President appoint AG and PMLN rightly said let him do Janitorial work. So when power is finally transfered I am sure AG would be replaced.
Gen Mush is president so you have to have a working relationship with presisdent not Gen Mush. And that is why PPP is always say that we need have working relationship with President.
Defence Minsiter has already denied the statement about sellable commodity.
@kinnare
this is the same president who has put the beloved pm gillani under the jail for 5 years…..
if some one could get that de-grade than nothin harm in having a workin relationship with the same man also the same president called the great ZAB a fascist on page 58 in the line of fire….
so if ppp still wants working relationship with the same man on the name of “national interest”than pakistan one day will be on the bright of the sky…..
The issue with many born again democracy lovers (not all but many Politicians, Journalists, Lawyers) is that they have opted for this position out of convenience. People like NJ have the honor to sacrifice to earn the right to make comments that are logically consistent for 20-30 years and not developed out of convenience. Changes and transformation in society is not just the result of emotions but mostly life long commitment to the core values of a particular philosophy. Restoration of judiciary is important because it settles a principle that Army chief has no jurisdiction to dismiss chief justice and not because of the dismal legal and democratic record of Ch. Iftikhar.
I am amazed that today our self-righteous friends are again ignoring the requests of Baluchi Bros. in the similar fashion they ignored the urges of Bengali Bros. in 1970-1971. The inflicting of pain, suffering, and humiliation on opposing forces is more critical than saving the country from disintegration.
@kinnare
Dude power won’t be transferred. It should be snatched by the elected govt. by their executive power. People of Pakistan didn’t elect them to be scared of the dictatorial forces. They should be courageous and start taking steps in national interest. Restoration of judiciary will prove to be their lifeline were Mush (I hate calling him our president) to use 58-2B.
The only problem is that PPPP should stop being the establishment or king’s party. PPPP leadership is not realizing that their political future will be at stake if they stop short of taking clear stance on myriad of national issues. Restoration of the judiciary being the top most.
farhan, President is not man, it is a post.
Resaissance, it is very shame ful on your part to call PPP playing establishment game. Who knows better than PPP that you have to snatch the power but snatching the power does been destroying the country. PPP is only party in country which can restort judge. Do you PMLN has enough street to stop Army from standing him back S. Arabia. History do not say.
@kinnare
mate put up a gud defence if u realy wanted to defend ppp………
presidnent is a man according to zardari in nudero….who calls him pakistani gorbachov…
i dont know how many things you hav to justify mate….
its all been said by your beloved leader on different occasions no body is makin it up……
president is a post when it is accquires properly not when 60 judges got under arrest n martial law been imposed…
you got to make your facts clear before come for the defence of ppp….
@kinnare
I can start a lengthy discusson on why PPP does not want to touch Moshe … remember the NRO and who has benefitted the most from it. Zardari’s “haazri” at the US Consulate with Ann Pattrson the very next day of the elections, etc… but I do not want to get into that. I just want to say that if AG is appointed by the president then so is the governor. Why is then PPP trying to remove governor of Punjab and bring their own person? Wasn’t governor Khalid also appointed by PPP’s president, Moshe?
@kinnare
keep it up mate,dont lose heart as you hav to defend ppp……..
may be ppl here are a part of big conspiracy against ppp by establishment including me as well….
oh i forgot only NJ,imtiaz alam n nazir najee excludes that conspiracy rest of whole media is part of the conspiracy……
Amir Hameed, PPP is saying that they would like to bring their men as Governer it has not be done yet. Yes, PPP defentily benefited through NRO and that benfite is the coffin of BB. PPP did not needed NRO. PPP could have easily ask Parliament to withdraw all the cases and with two third majority it would have been no big deal. It was bluff that Gen Mush played and people bought it. But eleven million voter of PPP did not vote on judges issue
Amir Hameed , Yesterday Pakistani consulate meet Hillary clinton but do not see any halla bulla in US>
if 11 million ppl dint vote for judges issue than zardari should talk like a man of day 1 n should hav said openly that i am not bound to bring back the judges……….
why dint he do that n acted like a real chicken……..
@farhan, dude have been doing it for last thirty years. Well I am happy that you agree that media and you are part of establishment. Actually most of PPP think that Jung Group is as much responsible in the murder of ZAB as JI is
Farhan, I said that eleven million did not vote for PPP on JUdges. that means that not a single vote was cast for PPP on Judges issue.
@kinnare
“PPP did not needed NRO. PPP could have easily ask Parliament to withdraw all the cases and with two third majority it would have been no big deal.”
Getting delusional, aren’t we? Hello! Can you explain to me how the coffin-seeker and Zardari would have made it back WITHOUT the NRO? It is also interesting you say PPP did not need the NRO and in the same breath say PPP could have gotten the NRO from the parliament instead. By the way in case you haven’t realized PPP still does not have two third majority in the parliament (the “coalition” does but I think you believe otherwise)
@kinnare
mate i feel sori for you wt else i kan do….
stay happy as that cost nothin n keep closed your eyes but make sure that there is no BB in ppp any more who kan gather any crowd any more…
jang group,aaj tv,ary,express news n i cant even count on fingers how many,amazing thing is that only 3 agrees with your views…
NJ will be back soon than there will be only 2 so just think…….
dont you agree with my idea that zardari should sue geo tv for running that countdown n defaming him as he was never committed to it as he was committed to NRO n doin exactly wt he was told to do….
not only me but 98% bloggers here are part of establishment if i take ur views so you should be very very happy ….
@kinnare
mate why you keep on repeating one thing,i agree with you that ppp dint get 11 million votes or infact a single vote for judiciary cause than why the hell ppp got committed for bhurban declaration if they dint take any vote for it…..
why dint zardari said what you are sayin n should had said it openly on the first day..
just answer me that my question is very simple…
also why did BB went to cj’s house n called him that he is my cj…
waiting for answer….
@farhan, you are making me happy with you posts. Does not uncle worke for Army and your another in Police?
Does not uncle worke for Army and your another in Police?
wt are you tryin to say….
mate think n write as i know u r under lots of pressure as u hav to defend ur party against loads of bloggers here but for goodness sake write something which makes any sense than some one can reply u…
with my posts if u gettin happy than its a real habit of ppp that whole media is givin them stick n they are still smiling,
in simple language we call this act “dheet”
i dont know wt u call it..
plz clear wt were u tryin to say again.. n also would u answer my question as well which i asked earlier as i m still waiting for the answer….
I am sorry if I hurt your feeling. But I was saying that does not you uncle work for Army and your another uncle for Police?
Shahid Kinnare
901-370-5779
There is literally no diff in pmlq ,,pppp ,,,mqm ,,,fazlu these days
as they are all using diffrent slogans to hide the fact that they are all working for establishment for petty gains.
only party against establishment (army usa) at this piont is NS .strangely NS party used to be there fav but ppp has replaced them.
@kinnare
mate have something realy good to drink n i recommend orange juice as you need lots of energy to defend your beloved party which u hav got every right to do…
take some break as i m off now…..
mind u i m not against ur party i only support principle stands..who ever takes it though…
imalik552, one thing I do not understand is that why JI tries to hide under the skirt of NS
@kinnare
when did u get this idea that my one of my uncle works for army n one for police….first of all no n second dont divert from the issue wts goin on in here
talk about facts where the hell my uncles came into the pakistani politics
is it a cheap stuff which is usual from ppp or u just hav got no answers at all…..
@kinnare
9TH MARCH made history…..whatever the result of this judiciary might be…but IFTIKHAR CHOHDARY’S NO changed the whole scenerio of pakistan politics … media and lawyer’s struggle has been one dramatic happening .
No conspiracy can stop it now.
No package can alter the verdict which was written on 9th…
you might heap allegations on CJ but he has changed the course of our politics….your leadership is in pakistan bc of him….he made mush weak enough so that he had to crawl ot bb (whom he used to say security risk) in abudabhi
CJ is a bitter pill for mush and ppp…they can’t swollow it nor can spit it.
if they forcefully retire him…he will become even bigger infact biggest political force in future…………………
there is no soln for mush pppp and all meance elements of establishment………….9th march was the turning pt…………..
@kinnare
mate wt should we do even if we go onto the channels they all r talkin about deadlines n judiciary…
why dont ppp do anything about it….
come up openly n say it once for all that we dint take votes for judiciary not even a single vote…
why dont they do that….
@imalik5525
according to kinnare who ever speaks against ppp is part of a big conspiracy against ppp by establishment
so welcome in the conspiracy club…
your number is some where in 18th million…
6 million from pml-n
some from lawyers some from apdm some from media
so any ways welcome in the conspiracy club….
@farhan
pppp didnt take votes for judiciary ……..neither to topple mush….they took votes on the dead body of bb..,.so that they can make a big mazaaar for her…………
they assigned us agent m durrani as pm’s assistnat.they still have malik qayyum…they say mush is asset……..they want dogar court……..
atleast pmlq was honest enough to support mush openly…
pppp is a munafiq form of pmlq
wow
mate chill out…you might make some ppp supporters angry here
kinnare might get personal with you as he is out of words now to support ppp….
Zardari’s buisness partner (Food for oil programme) rehman malik who didnt even participated in elections is holding interior ministry.
Zardari’s personal lawyer khal nayak is the minister of law.
his friends daughter is speaker.
ch aetezaz who has become an icon is declined a ticket so far.
safdar abbasi,iqbal haider all the saner elements are sidelined.
great going mr zardari
@kinnare
you said for 30 years u are defending ppp,once in 30 years u or ur party had taken one stand just stand for principle…..things would had been different…
last time in 1970 ppp had 2/3 majority since than its all big conpiracy against them n i m sure this time when election comes they will get atleast 30 or 40 seats because of their dubious stance on issues…
@farhan
I here all the BS of conspiracies and punjab bashing from pppp every now and then..
the fact is that
punjab made ZAB PM….punjab even supported bb a lot…….
and sindh never ever supported a non sindhi Leader………….
there is no language biasness in punjab but in Sindh its a lot.
as per as army goes among all the heads of army chiefs only Zia ,asif nawaz and jahangir karamat were punjabis the rest 10 were non punjabis and 2 were foreigners
Can SOMEBODY please, HERE & NOW, ANSWER ME, that were, WE, i.e; 160 million Pakistanis, to WITNESS AN UNUSUAL SPECTACLE, that we are seeing these days, that, to after going the peaceful way, by VOTING AGAINST Musharraf, BUt STILL NOT BEEN ABLE TO REMOVE him & instead, RE-INSTATE CJ : Iftikhar Ch.?
I think ‘ The powers that be ‘ are STILL testing the anti-Musharraf PASSIONS, that have been AROUSED in the masses. My only FEAR is, that circumstances may take an UGLY TURN, FORCING THE MASSES TO TAKE THE LAW into their OWN HANDS, & THUS become so UNRULY, that may LEAD to an unwarranted SITUATION.
Such events would MOST LIKELY LEAD the country, to a REVOLUTION, which I FEAR, will be UNCONTROLLABLE, & for the ARMY also.
DO YOU, DEAR READERS, ALSO THINK SO?
Farhan, One stand we have stood like rock that we will not give Pakistan to JI or JUI. who use to call Pakistan kafirstan and Mohammad Ali Jinnah Kafir just because he was Ismaili.
@imalik
tell kinnare all that i know every thing…..
but wt u kan do about ppp supporters i dont know may be u hav got an answer or may be NJ,imtiaz alam or nazir najee
…CJ is a bitter pill for mush and ppp…they can’t swollow it nor can spit it.
there is no soln for mush pppp and all meance elements of establishment………….9th march was the turning pt …
the fate of mush and all pro establishment elements has been written .now its all matter of time….it could be months or years but will happen ..
@kinnare
JUI….
fazlu is the closest ally of zardari right now n supports exactly like he says…
wt u talkin about,as far as JI is concern i hav got nothin to do with it,
u still dint answer my question n talkin about the typical ppp stuff like some one asks for A n ppp comes with Z
thats what all their ministers r doin….u ask them about an issue n they start the story from the creation of pakistan…..
@kinnare
plz watch a video on youtube ….just type BHUTTO and Bangladesh………………………and watch how he bashed and abused Bengalis……….bangladesh was part of pakistan.
so its not only jui or others who said pakistan kafristan but your beloved bhutto also used to abuse muslims of bangladesh
wastage of time with ppp supporters but still they hav got right to defend their party thats wt democracy is…
time off …
@farhan
“but wt u kan do about ppp supporters i dont know may be u hav got an answer or may be NJ,imtiaz alam or nazir najee”
if some supporters are biased to an extent that they think that all pakistan is part of establshment …only pppp is the saviour …Aasmaaani makhlook then there is nothing that you can do to convince them.
a million dollar question
Can some body tell me how current ppp is diffrent than pmlq ………………..
same attorney general ,same president,,,,same m a durrani imported from US…………
they gonna continue the prev govt’s foreign policies…
what else they got…….atleast pmlq was bold enough to admit there loyalites to mush
see you all tomorrow
signing off
Kashif, you’ve done an excellent job as usual in this show, and even more by inviting Aitzaz Ahsan. Always good to hear Aitzaz, what a gentleman he is.
again and again AA is showing what loyalty to principles is…
This feature is what we need so much…
there is increasingly trend that people think through identity…that see what is right and wrong through the lens of being a Muhajir/ being a Sindhi/ being a Muslim/ Being a PPP supporter/ being a PML(N) supporter…and so on…
it is rare to see now a days a person can rise above identity and think and stand for principles…
this does not mean being disloyal to identity but not be subservient to it…
I salute him…
ibnrazi
@SnrCtzn
“Can SOMEBODY please, HERE & NOW, ANSWER ME, that were, WE, i.e; 160 million Pakistanis, to WITNESS AN UNUSUAL SPECTACLE, that we are seeing these days, that, to after going the peaceful way, by VOTING AGAINST Musharraf”
Right after you can explain to me why the “missing” are still missing, Qayyum still the AG, Naseem Ashraf still chairman PCB and Human Development Commission along, Atta-ur-Rehman still heading HEC, D*gar still the Chief Justice, Lashari still the head of CDA, Gillani’s speech at GHQ, Dar’c promise to continue Shauki’s policies, …
PPP has no votebank whatsoever in NA-55 . you can see from the results of previous elections also..even BB`s Chamchi Naheed Khan contested from here many times and was defeated by PML(N) with the margin of 50,000-60,000 votes…this time Javed Hashmi PML (N) defeated sheikho lota talli….so you will see from turnout that PML(N) voters will never vote to zardari ..people in rawalpindi will be happy to vote for Aitzaza as he is above party now..but to think that PML (N) voter will vote for Mr. 10 % and biggest daku of pakistan is not possible..there is a difference between interior sindh and northeren punjab..
last time when sheikhoo lota nominated his nephew from NA-56 , he was defeated in by elections as people thought that sheikhoo has betrayed with party…i wish that any party who can bring candidate agaisnt zaradri has fair chances to defeat him and use the vote bank of pml (N)) ..i think lawyers should nominate one candidtae from NA-55 and then see whats the auqat of zaradri the dacoit
Dont quit ppp aitzaz no matter what. Dont let this one time genuine awami party to fall into the hands of notorious criminals and mafia bosses. Many people have sacrificed for this party, given blood and sweat, been victimised and wronged for being a party member. Its the story of every other house in the land.
Dont let the scum of society, the rapists and murderers, drug peddlers and smugglers, dacoits and outlaws hijack this party for their insidious purposes. Show yourself to be a true diciple of Jinnah. Have courage and faith in awam. You and other true leaders of the party must make this a true political party of poor and repressed classes once more and clean it up from those scavengers who want to turn it into a mafioso gang to loot, plunder, kill, subjugate, oppress and destroy only for their petty interests and wretched pleasures.
one of kashif abbassi better programmes….
@SNRSTZN: bro, I would really like to hear your recorded comments because I think you try to put that enunciation in the comments and I think it would be a forceful comment if you just recorded it in audio format… I can feel reading ur comments that you do not feel the written medium can do justice to the way you are feeling.
Cheers.
as always an excellently conducted program by kashif abbasi. he is THE best anchor in my opinion.
aitzaz ahsan should have some self-respect and leave this criminal party called PPP. he should join PMLN and stand for elections from rawalpindi, he will be much better off. PPP is increasingly being taken over by criminal elements after BB’s murder.
PMLN has NOT given NA-55 seat to Asif Zardari.
this offer was exclusively for Aetizaz Ahsan.
http://www.ummatpublication.com/lead17.php
reading some of the comments here, it is pathetic to see jiyalas acting like the jew who shouts ANTI-SEMITE the minute you start critcizing Israel and its fascist policies. jiyalas will not defend their party using any argument based on facts or principles, but just start their verbal diarrhoea of “establishment” “anti-ppp” “shaheed” “coffin of bb” “not single vote on judiciary” etc. guys dont even bother replying to these pathetic losers, all they know is how to celebrate sham-e-ghareeban over their so-called “shaheeds”, they dont want to argue about where their party has gone wrong or how it consists of criminals and opportunists(with a few(emphasis on FEW) notable exceptions like AA). just give them a chance to cry about shaheeds and they will be happy doing it day and night.
@Traffic: ooooohh.. .that was harsh! (but an entertaining read)
@Traffic
PERFECT analogy!!!!!
there are 3 or 4 people who are doing this in PPP which wouldn’t harm since the majority are in agreement, i hope. The majority matters, not those 1% or 2%.
PML-Q has threatened to table resolution for restoration of judges if the ruling coalition does not.
The parties who were expected to restore judges are reluctant to do so and are working to find creative ways of undermining people’s wishes.
This could only happen in Pakistan.
Dear Adm1n,
I was wondering if you could add this poll
If the Judges are restored as promised in Muree declaration and AA (not AZ) does contest from NA-55?? How pathetically PPP bashers will react?
1- totally surprised with their mouths open
2- Will be disappointed
3- Will continue their bashing against PPP on the basis of IFs, and WHENs
@sleepingnation
there is a difference between interior sindh and northeren punjab..
You know what I agree there is BIG difference in sindh and northern punjab…! I am glad Alhamdulilah we are not like people of central punjab!
@sleepingnation
Sorry, I take my words back! I just got angry. If you think you are superior in anyway, be happy!
Dear Admin, seems that Kashif’s programs are getting lots of comments. Why not have pkpol viewers send him comments much like the Bolta pakistan folks got from us and some others. Just a suggestion.
And I think the judges will have to be restored, CJ and all. Interesting issue of Javed Iqbal having seniority as he so eloquently stated. Not Dogar. So, the way I see it, restoring the judges is the “bitter pill” which PPP will have to swallow much like taking the oath from Musharraf was the “bitter pill” swallowed by PMLN. Heck they can wear black arm bands (PPP) if that makes them happy the day the judges are restored. But restored they will be!
All
Just have one comment on the program…..without getting into the specifics…one thing is for sure that KA was the only one in the program who said or asked questions with a negative angle…can give you lot of examples but one was stark one….wukla ki dictation nahi chali gi laikin sadar mushraff aur america ki dictation chalee gi….KA wrapped it up in a question form and protryed it as a stance of PPP/AZ….it may be good masala question but not an objective journalisim….one thing is clear….for objective journalism..you ask question based on the facts and let the interviewer add controversies to it, if any, due their experience or information…here see the whole interview and the person who added controversies was KA……so people who saying that KA did a good job…he added lot of masala to the interview but AA being an experienced politician avoided all that…in the end you are left with masala dar question with nothing coming out of AA….just another example…about “tulkh kalami b/w AA and AZ” AA catagorically denied it and said that media misreported it….but KA did not pick on it..and said something about media…but he asked another masalla question based on it…..good viewership value but was unfortunately not conduced in an objective professional manner….
Oh God ….we still are not able to see the real problem.
BHAI LOGO…army has control on 80% of our resources.
they have guns and 80% of resources.they will be getting increased aid from US 400billion dollars /yr soon,,and dont expect them to spend that aid on people.
we are still debating on political parties.
political parties are given a JHUNJUNA of ministries….if they mess with army they will be sidelined (like CJ in 2007,,NS in 99) or murdered……….like bb and zab
zardari understands it fully …….there is not hing any party can do,, when it comes to countering with army…….US and its slave pakistan.army doesnt want CJ….period
Meri jan then quit politics and start a tehreek against army to free your land. Why you accept that JHUNJANNA. Or you think people are little kids and you are giving us some kind of JHUNJUNNA to pacify us.
@inaam
AA could set up his party assuming that there would be others like AA who would deflect from PP based on principles. If PP does not restore the judges according to the wish of the public there will be a lot of anger against it and all what AA need’s is a bunch of deflectors and some independents and he could sweep a good share of PP voters. But if the under lying assumption that there might be a few members of PP sympathetic to its voter, is a naive one, then that means there is no one in PP with any moral fibre at all. Then what the hell are people voting this party for?
Any way, if AA can’t leave the party to join another or set up one him self then he should just take the command of the lawyers and lead the movement. What good can he achive being in PP other than to play the role of a mole. If after 30 odd years the so called champions of democracy who have had so many shaheed in the party cant seem to find the path to democracy and wishes to have a working relationship with a dictator. Then in my personal view, all claims of victimisation and love for democracy are false. Others are entitled to differ
One final question I’ve never understood why BB distant herself from AA if she was sincere in restoring the judiciary. Clearly if she had a secret stategy she could have informed AA and could have brought him on board.
If you have seen the photograph -(in Jang.com.pk) of Shahbaz Shareef with Khawaja Asif – the FACE and Body language of Kh. Asif tells everything about what is about to happen. The PML-N will have to quit to save face- and you know the OLD saying-
Those that are trying to save face have no face to save.
http://jang.com.pk/jang/apr2008-daily/28-04-2008/col2.htm
@shimatoree
this column of hamid mir has got lots of hope in it,he may be a ppp sympathiser but he is truly against mush regime n upto some extent a very credible journalist in the present lot of journalists so i m very optimist that things will settle in a better way
@shimatoree, I am ready to bet that all the corrupt judges would be restore.
Thing that every one should understand the we need to help PPP and PMLN to suceed at all cost. If we loose we would not get demcracy for next ten years. Biggest enemy of democarcy in Pakistan is Pakistan Army. How they can all people to rule over then when their General say this bloody citizen.
Gen Mush have all the power so the government has been transfered but power is still with Gen Mush meaning with Army. I would appeal to people on this board who are drawing room expert on PPP and PMLN to please see the real picture of what is happening in Pakistan.
Kashif did well as usual but perhaps he hurt all PPP lovers who love PPP and want to love despite the harsh facts of NRO, Confidential meetings with the President in Dubai, silent support in Presidential elections, existence of Attorney General etc,
But we being a Pakistani just want listen truth and straight talk and we should have patients for this regardless party affiliation.
@Paf123
Kashif Abbasi should have taken tuition from u on Journalism. Hopefully u would help him in learning of basic principles of journalism (ab tak tu pata nahi wo bechara kahan ghass khod raha tha) but after under ur able guidance or tuition inshallah he will be able to do professional journalism and would not pinch the great PPP.
@kinnared
“Thing that every one should understand the we need to help PPP and PMLN to suceed at all cost. If we loose we would not get demcracy for next ten years”.
Democracy is not a londi of these parties. These parties need jamhooriat, not other way around. So far in our sixty year history, its undemocratic institutions like ppp and pml which have caused maximum damage to democracy, not the military.
…….’is ghar ko aag lag gayi ghar k chiragh se’
These parties better get their act together. They are still living in 70′s o 80′s. Jamhoriat will prevail with or without them. Why? Because we, the sons f the soil, have taken matters into our own hand.
Is this about Kashif Abbasi? or the strange problem that no one in the PPP can gvie the country a straight answer on the judges on Musharraf on countless other issues which time and time again polls have shown matter a lot to the people of Pakistan. Does Kashif have his biases? I bet he does. So what? Most politicos agreeing to go on his show know the drill. they know his style they know what he will likely ask. Everyone is a grown up! If they are on a weak wicket then its not Kashif or any other anchor’s fault!
We are so far removed from the reality – it is like living in a different world.
If Parliament is a supreme authority and is empowered by people to legislate and solve the lingering issues then why won’t every one, Aitzaz, media and the judges included, let them do their job and accept their decision?
Aitzaz Ahsan has earned respect of all, even of the ones who dislike PPP and every thing associated with it. It is time that he facilitates things instead of having a hard line, non-bulging stance.
@ aristotle
What a thougtless critique on my post…….am sure aristotle is turning in his grave on the shallowness of your comments…..please change your name and then write these useles, sarcastic and shallow posts……you are not the the only one..typical and common problem…..if you can’t challange the content or opinion on its merits, challange the credibility of the writer or knowledge by sarcasm…..
Aristotle ka nam mat badnam karoo…..bahi koi aur nam rakh loo…;-)))
Paf123
U reacted as expected because you don’t have any reply, answer or justification for all that whatever ur party is doing so u just can shout, that s all. About your intelligence and credibility of criticism, I would say nothing because your posts are self explanatory, but I would just want to say that if I have a common problem “challenge the credibility of the writer or knowledge by sarcasm” What you are doing? You did same about Kashif Abbasi. So please look at mirror and don’t waste your precious time in teaching others because people and parties, who have double faces and dual standards, are not capable to give lecture on ethics and professionalism.
AA not on back foot rather he is LBW.
In this show,he was looking like an already out batsman sitting in pavilion
OMG
This program was a series of slaps on the face of Zardari .
AA was really and rightly helpless.
As only a shamelss thick skinned loser can defend the questions using his Dhitai , which sincere person like AA can’t exhibit.