Ad Space

Ad Space Available - Promote your Business Here!

Navigation - link to other main sections from here

Skip Navigation

Filed Under Live with Talat  
May 7, 2008

Live with Talat - 7 May 2008

Khawaja Saad Rafiq of PMLN, Dr. Israr Shah of PPP and Journalist Zahid Hussain in fresh episode of Live with Talat.

Comments

45 Responses to “Live with Talat - 7 May 2008”

1. CHAND on May 7th, 2008 10:16 pm

wonderful prog.
    Talat tried to pin point the problem. He knows and we all know that PPP is not interested in CJ case and is Mushraf’s cornies. Talat should ask them why Malik Rehman played a BS game and why PPP leadership did not ask M Rehman for his idiot action.

2. burhankunda on May 7th, 2008 10:21 pm

This is for AAJ TV:

Why you showing clips of old musharraf clips but why not nawaz sharif clips against benazir and benazir clips against nawaz sharif. why PPP-MUSHARAFF handshake is a issue but not PPP-NAWAZ.

I guess everyone hypocrate and opportunist.

3. A Kamran on May 7th, 2008 10:44 pm

Dear burhankundayou, are right man….it seems that Media is also a party in it and have taken sides it is now Qn of their Izzat too.
    occasionally it feels that Media is too politicized and not any more neutral, not good folks!

4. waqar sarwar on May 7th, 2008 10:54 pm

**burkankinda

musharaff is dictator PPP-NAWAZ are political parties even though they are corupt

5. ch.salman.zafar on May 7th, 2008 11:42 pm

@burhankunda , A kamran media is not biased . PPP and PML N both are political parties and get number of votes to come in to Gov.
    where as musharaf is not a politician he is still a dictator and ppl of pakistan is against Musharaf that why whoever will shake hand with musharaf will be cricized by Media Civil SOciety . Lawyers and Public..

and PPP is the one who is doing these negotiations for what reason no one knows ?? where as its an open secret but we want to hear from PPP why they are really negotiating with Musharaf
    to save paksitan ??
    to save Elite class??
    To give favor to america ??
    to save their AZ and also many other courrpt politician ??
    only u will get ans No in frist q… To save paksitan NOOOOOO

6. admin pkpolitics on May 8th, 2008 12:06 am

7. Imran on May 8th, 2008 12:25 am

Thank you Admin for quickly posting free version

8. diamondcut on May 8th, 2008 12:25 am

The best anchor in pakistan,i just can’t stop appreciating his brilliance & unbiased approach….

9. Imran on May 8th, 2008 12:28 am

If undemocratic/unelected people ( or should I say thugs like Rehman Malik) have to run the show then what is wrong with Musharraf running it?

10. diamondcut on May 8th, 2008 12:33 am

Question on benazir and nawaz sharif fighting against eachother….they have accepted their mistakes and apologized to each other in public….And if you could remember,though in the middle their stance was different during mush benazir talk.Still they haven’t gone into past and shown greater respect in public by agreeing to disagree.And it still continues…Thats how democratic parties should act…

11. rajkumar123 on May 8th, 2008 1:03 am

Talat Hussain is a brave man

12. pakistani2008 on May 8th, 2008 1:09 am

thanks admin

13. Paki_2008 on May 8th, 2008 1:21 am

“Talat” is Brave,Brilliant,Honest and THE BEST.

14. mya on May 8th, 2008 2:17 am

well done talat!

video he showed is a real slap on PPPP who is still trying to save mush

its a shame that two faced party like PPPP is one of the biggest party at the moment… whenever u see them talking they will start but,if,may be, i dont know…. stuff like this all bullshit and crap…. did anyone got anything from the PPPP representative in this debate?

15. Renaissance on May 8th, 2008 3:10 am

OMG!! this is one heck of a good program. Talat nay chhik kar zaleel kia hai compromising politicians ko.

Politicians, remember people elected you to bring a change. Stop clinging to the dictator or don’t let the dictator cling to you.

16. Fan of Talat sahab on May 8th, 2008 3:10 am

Well done Talat sir. u have shown that u r u. no one can touch ur position. what a slap on PPP face.now after watching all this PPP shud stop dealing with mush n adopt a stance like PML(n)this is the only way of survival of PPP

17. shimatoree on May 8th, 2008 3:40 am

Let us keep in MIND that it was MUSHARRAF who made it possible for PPP leaders to wash themsleves CLEAN of any and all allegations of criminal activity. (NRO ! ).
    None of the PPP leaders talk about that.
    Once you accept that- then it makes sense as to why PPP is singing the tunes which appeal to Musharraf and people are listening and watching.
    All these guys in PPP and PML-N are beating the same drum of Musharraf and blaming him for all their lack of deccision making ability and political courage.
    These guy lack CHARACTER . They only are good for meaningless slogans.

18. nota on May 8th, 2008 3:53 am

The best PPP can do is to put forward Dr. Israr Shah, Mahreen Anwar Raja, and Jahangir Badar. That tells a lot doesn’t it?

19. Riddle 792 on May 8th, 2008 4:19 am

I know that Kh. Saad Rafiq is one of those few people in PMLN who are men of principle ( i have doubts even on NS after he left the country) … but seeing Saad Rafiq speechless/ashamed because of PPP , because of where he has to stand today…………. it really cuts my heart……………..7 more days to go …. but no sign of hope….

20. Riddle 792 on May 8th, 2008 4:23 am

Where is

Senator Anwar Baig
    Raja Ashraf
    Senator Babar Awan
    Naveed Tariq … ( mucharrr)
    Sheeri Rehman

they used to yell on Mush a lot but today they are busy counting $$$… Jina Banda Hay Bana lo….

Look at Ahmad Mukhtar( Gujrat)…. they guy is no PPP worker at all, has never faced hardship, and he is not only the Defence Minister but also PIA chairman…… “Yani Dono Tangain Sheeray May ” … BTW his brother was PIA Chairman during Mush regime and he made millions in “Badnam-e-zamana Boeing 777 deal”

21. nota on May 8th, 2008 4:28 am

@Riddle 792

And it was those probably millions that were financing Ahmad Mukhtar’s campaign. By the way I doubt Ahmad Mukhtar has ever been on a hawai jahaz so isn’t he the perfect fit for the PIA job?

22. nota on May 8th, 2008 4:38 am

@Riddle 792

This is curious: Do you know WHO appointed him Chairman PIA? Why he himself!!!!

If this is not corruption of the highest order BY PPP then what is?

23. Riddle 792 on May 8th, 2008 4:45 am

PIA is at the brink of collapse. The internal mafia and political / bureaucratic influence has made this a BIG FAT BLACK MOSQUITO which is being financed by the hard earn money of people of Pakistan only to provide luxury to SOME.

24. nota on May 8th, 2008 4:59 am

@Riddle 792

About that 777-deal: If I remember correctly PIA was all set to buy from Airbus but the switch to Boeing was made overnight.

Here is PPP’s own reference against it.
    Pakistan Peoples Party ………………………………………………………….. COMPLAINANT

V/s

1. General (Retd) Hamid Nawaz, Secretary Defence, Government of Pakistan
    2. Ch. Ahmad Saeed, Managing Director, Pakistan International Airlines Corporation
    3. Air Vice Marshal (Retd) Niaz Hussain, Deputy Managing Director PIAC and Others

25. Riddle 792 on May 8th, 2008 5:14 am

@nota,

Yes and this Ahmad Saeed ( brother of Ahmad Mukhtar) made millions in this deal. Some time I worry that “do these politicians think that we AWAM are JAHIL” In order to make sure that the faimly remains in power they have relatives in all parties so that they can successfully Suck The Blood Out of Poor People…

Similarly I was shocked to hear that my all time favorite Khawaja Asif is a very close relative of Farooq Naik. (Khawaja’s sister is married to Farooq Naik)…. !!

26. NoHypocrisy on May 8th, 2008 5:43 am

@Riddle 792

You are reflecting my sentiments exactly when you say regarding Saad Rafiq
    “because of where he has to stand today…………. it really cuts my heart……………..7 more days to go …. but no sign of hope….”

It does cut the heart … and you and nota and I are for sure not the only ones so affected. It is worth reflecting that anger and sorrow are twins. In fact sorrow of this kind is the soil from which anger rises. These are stirring dangerous waters for their foreign masters, and those foreign masters see a win-win here. If the country acquiesces in this debauched charade they are the gainers because it is played for them. And if the charade leads (now or later) to a chaotic and bloody consequence .. well they are quite keen on that also.

Zardari really has to go. The best way forward is for those in the PPP who still retain sanity in spite of promises of mammon to draw a line in the sand, and quickly.

27. Usman on May 8th, 2008 6:10 am

yeh wohi besharam aur munafiq JARNEEL hai jo NS aur BB ko galian baak raha hai aur abh uni saay apnay iqtidar kee bheek maang raha hai???
    I just can’t imagine that somebody can get so low for his personal gains- I think the most important asset is one’s SELF RESPECT jis ko Iqbal naay “KHUDI” kaha- I just fail to imagine that someone can get so low for his personal benefit and have put the whole Pakistani nation at stake!!!
    aisay bad bakht hukmaran ager hamaray ooper musallat hoon gaay tou kaisay hamari halat achi ho sakti hai- yaqeenan Almighty Allah ki narazgi hai jo hamaray ooper BUSHARRAF ke shakel mein musalat hai
    May Almighty Allah FORGIVE our sins and rid us of such a MORON!
    jis ko apni izzat-e-nafs ka khiyal naa ho, woh bhala pori qaum ki izzat aur waqar ka kiya khiyal karay ga!!!

28. imalik5525 on May 8th, 2008 6:12 am

Talat if you r reading our comments .

i just want to congrat you and your team of bolta pakistan .
    you guies are our hero

you have courage to speak truth and put a wise and unbiased picture of situation……………….aaj is miles ahead of other channels.

imran malik

29. Riddle 792 on May 8th, 2008 6:36 am

Following are the last three written by ZAHID HUSSAIN in Wall Street Journal… a must read….

Musharraf Seeks a Deal (May5, 2008)
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB120993794768465841.html

Pakistan’s Ruling Parties Resolve Impasse on Judges (May2, 2008)
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB120965841978359747.html

Pakistan’s Leaders Try to Avert Crisis (May1, 2008)
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB120958072615656991.html

30. nota on May 8th, 2008 6:38 am

Riddle 792 on May 8th, 2008 5:14 am
    “Similarly I was shocked to hear that my all time favorite Khawaja Asif is a very close relative of Farooq Naik. (Khawaja’s sister is married to Farooq Naik)…. !!”

Wow! And now they are on that committee together. So basically Naek could tell Kh. Asif: “Bus chup kar, Salay!” :)
    I won’t be shocked if Khawaja Asif’s other sister is married to one of Mush’s generals. With Ch. of Gujrat having such links with Imam Kaaba, anything is possible. (Just this month my wife was invited to the wedding of the son of one of the biggest industrialists and Mush’s buddy. The bride was the daughter of a General. I was shocked to find this General was the brother of none other than PML(N)’s Ch Nisar’s)

Wouldn’t it be nice to have a family tree of these intermarriages between politicos and the power brokers behind them?

31. Riddle 792 on May 8th, 2008 6:49 am

@Nota:

My mistake let me make the record straight:

Farooq Naik’s (Law Minister PPP) sister is married to Khawaja Asif (PMLN)

Both Farooq Naik and Khawaja Asif are also First cousins

Another sister of Farooq Naik is married to Senator Tahir Hussain (MQM)

So in other words: Khawaja Asif’s Sister in Law is married to MQM Senator…

Now what u think !!!

32. Renaissance on May 8th, 2008 7:02 am

Interesting revelation BUT I am a staunch supporter of democracy and my eldest brother thinks that fauj is much better. I believe in restoring CJ while my elder brother thinks that he was a corrupt guy. Point being you can have relatives who differ from you on a myriad of issues.

Another thing is that Farooq Naik’s sister might differ from her brother and she might be a fan of Kh.Asif and hence in love with her or whatever. In fact, one of the signs of a polished society is that people differ from each other but do respect their freedom in their personal matters. As long as Kh. Asif or Naik show me that they have the guts to make right decisions, I don’t care if they are related in whatever manner.

Said that, I see your point that in our society you probably marry within people whom you trust and consider close.

33. Renaissance on May 8th, 2008 7:03 am

oops… i made some gender mistakes in the above post… apologies

34. Dheet on May 8th, 2008 7:51 am

Nawaz Sharif aur BeNazir kay time pur sirf PTV tha, Bechara Talat kaha say purani PTV clips laye ga?

35. nota on May 8th, 2008 8:48 am

@Renaissance
    “In fact, one of the signs of a polished society is that people differ from each other but do respect their freedom in their personal matters…As long as Kh. Asif or Naik show me that they have the guts to make right decisions”

But we are NOT a polished society, for heavens sake. This is Lalu Khait we are living in. From what I have seen of people around me, there is always favors done for these relatives no matter how opposing/morally repugnant/clashing their beliefs.

36. imalik5525 on May 8th, 2008 8:52 am

u r right bro.

we as a nation needs to increase our visits to qabristan,attend frequent namaz-e-jenaaza ..and to sit in compony of pious people who keep on reminding us of life after death and the instability and shortness of this world.

imran malik

37. nota on May 8th, 2008 8:55 am

@Renaissance
    Ch. Mukhtar, Ch Pervaiz, Ch Shujaat, Mush, Dr. Israr Shah, Mahreen Anwar Raja, Jahangir Badar, Babar Awan, Rehman Malik, Tariq Aziz, Wasi Zafar, , , , Musarrat Shaheen, etc., etc….
    Is this your idea of a “polished” society? Remember your biggest party is biggest because it’s slogan is “Roti, Kapra, aur Makan”.

38. GM on May 8th, 2008 10:09 am

@ nota, Riddle 792,Renaissance

Some clarifications

1-Khawja Asif Married Farooq Naek sister not recently, rather a long time back when farooq Naek was nothing but a lawyer and even Khawja Asif was not active in politics in his father’s life and was that time working in middle east.

2- Decision of marriage was by parents (as normally had been in our society and still continues) and the reason for trust was because both were first cousins, so that was not unusual ;

3-@ nota, I guess u r talking about brother of Ch. Nisar, general (RETIRED) iftikhar, who retired in 1996 and was defence secretary on 12 october 1999. I think , givign an impression as if his brother is a serving general with blessing of musharraf is NOT FAIR.

I think, marriage of his SON was a few days back.
    The day ch nisar was with nawaz sharif in Dubai talking to Zardari, that day was waleema of his nephew.

39. shahkar on May 8th, 2008 10:13 am

@Usman Great comment

I m 100% agree with u

40. imalik5525 on May 8th, 2008 10:15 am

where is MUSARRAT SHAHEEN these days
    i think pppp shld hire her to do BACK DOOR negotiations with mush

btw mm has left aaj tv
    lets wait until tomorrow…if he comes back or not

41. nota on May 8th, 2008 4:58 pm

@GM
    “givign an impression as if his brother is a serving general with blessing of musharraf is NOT FAIR.”

Sorry I gave you that impression — I tend not to see the two (serving/retired) as much different as a lot of the retired ones are enjoying cushy positions in the civilian setup even now. I am sorry but I cannot agree that once retired all generals become angels. Nor am I saying there are no decent retired generals (and most of the decent ones would have been “retired” anyways). Let me ask you: Was it just coincidence that the brother of Ch Nisar happened to become the defense secretary in 1999? Was there no nepotism involved? Please do inform me for I really don’t know.

What I am really talking about is the intertwining relationships as TK put it here. It is not an attack on Nawaz or Ch Nisar but the whole system. Ch. Nisar’s name just came up as something that was something very recent that I came across and was still fresh in my mind. There are thousands such examples. My family is no different.

42. TK on May 8th, 2008 5:04 pm

@nota:

Let me ask you: Was it just coincidence that the brother of Ch Nisar happened to become the defense secretary in 1999? Was there no nepotism involved? Please do inform me for I really don’t know.

I seem to have read somewhere this… I think it was Ch. Nisar’s brother who interceded on behalf of Musharraf to Nawaz Sharif when NS was looking for the next COAS.

I could be wrong.

43. TK on May 8th, 2008 5:06 pm

“interceded” as in .. someone really close to Ch. Nisar did a “sifaarish” for Musharraf so he could be appointed..

Musharraf is a sifaarshi! nearly got court martialed .. and if the Pakistani Qaum had it’s druthers.. should now face a firing squad for the crimes he has committed against the Republic.

44. Rashid on May 8th, 2008 6:14 pm

All this inter marriage talk is scary. I think this is the jinn of ‘establishment’. It’s the control of select few whether they are in Military, Bureaucracy, or Politics.

Before Ch Nisar was the sifarshi for Mush.
    Now he hates Mush.
    Few years later he may go back to defending Mush.

I would like to get a rishta for any (retired/serving/corrupt/upright) genral’s daughter. Unfortunately, I am not a son of VVIP. Any matchmakers available?

I would love to land at airport hand over my passport and bags to a sentry waiting at the airplane door and be whisked away in a sarkari gari to my susral in defence…

45. Dheet on May 8th, 2008 11:27 pm

@imalik5525

Is that right that MM left Aaj TV????
    Must be Danda from PPP to Aaj TV. Like Shahid Masoof left ARY

• Sponsored Links

• Like PkPolitics?

Get your online Magazine, Newspaper or Blog designed by PkPolitics Team. Write to admin at pkpolitics dot com

• Ad Space Available

Advertise your Business to 20,000+ Pakistanis abroad everyday.