Kashif Abbasi discusses current issues with Ahsan Iqbal of PMLN, Farzana Raja of PPP and Raza Haraj of PMLQ in fresh episode of Off the Record.
Free version:
43 Responses to “Off the Record - 10 May 2008”
© Copyright 2008 Pakistan Politics

thx admin
That Q guy kept checking out Farzana Raja all through the program.. what a lech!
I feel that PPP (Farzana becoming Dewaana) is kind of irritated by the questions kashif is asking. It is indicative of the fact that they have gone into a secret truce with musharraf and nothing will deter them now. Zardari is making the worst move of his political career by giving way to musharraf and letting the judiciary go down the drain. I wish better sense will prevail in the end, however, both PPP and PML N are skiting on real thin ice here.
RAWALPINDI: A Lahore High Court (LHC), Rawalpindi bench, on Wednesday dismissed a National Accountability Bureau (NAB) plea against former petroleum minister Anwar Saifullah’s acquittal in three corruption cases, and reserved its judgement on Pir Muqaramul Haq’s acquittal plea till today (Thursday).Haq’s lawyer Babar Awan said that the corruption reference against his client came under the ambit of the NRO, as the alleged corruption was committed in 1985 and the reference was filed in 1995 and the NRO covered all these years.Haq’s wife, PPP MNA Farzana Raja, also attended the hearing.
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=200858story_8-5-2008_pg7_17
farzana raja..again……..lolz
it looks only she is out there to face media on ppps behalf, they should sack sherry rahman and make her information minister.
lets c what farzana says. i hope its not shaheed benazir ke party etc..
NRO say deviate karnay par Bainazir jan say haath dho baithi….Zardari ko is moqa ka faida mil gaya aur ab sirif yahi kaha ja sakta hay kay …aisay waisay kaisay kaisay ho gay….
Is doghli Farzana ko yeh nahi nazar aata hay kay Insaaf koe alag say cheez nahi hay ..Balkay Insaaf say roti ki takseem ho gi agar insaaf aye ga. Roti to milhi rahi hay is mulk main magar insaaf say nahi bati ja rahi hay. Insaaf us proceedure ka naam hay jo use ho ga saray masail ko hal karnay kay liyay Insaaf koe roti kay mukablay main koe aur commodity nahi hay bhai…kay roti lo ya insaf lo balkay moamla kuch youn hay kay roti insaf say lo….resources ki taqseem insaaf say ho….Agar insaaf nahi hay to kuch bhi nahi hay
i’m just so sick of the rhetoric
Down with PPP!!! Go PPP Go!!! Go PPP Go!!! Go PPP Go!!!!
I hate this party the most…most than Musharraf and PMLQ!!!
god that passed/failed …you cannot change capital G to small g and you are hating PPP coz they r not changing accordingly to people’s wishes. Great!!!
R Malik will sink PPP soon if AAZ keep on listening to him. ooopppsss NRO is there.
It sounds ridiculous when now PPP spokesmen speak about principles and try to sell the coffin of Bhutto ancestry. It’s indeed a voice of Zardari trait.
PPP and PMLQ are same choors and i think PPP will be more crupt than PMLQ. Because their leader has the history and once a cheeter always a cheeter.
Farzana Raja-( after watching her a few times) is lying, has been lying and will continue to lie on orders of AZ and Musharraf.
Ahsen Iqbal is also dishonest in his statments.
Kashif should focus like a prosecuting lawyer and not let these people continue to make mere slogans.
the azaab of P-League is going to be much worse than the azaab of Q-League. the only thing these b*stards know is how to loot the country and fill their foreign bank accounts. for that they are willing to sell their mothers if need be. the P-League consists of the lowest scum of our society and these thieves will finally destroy our country in a way that not even moshe has done. what did we do to deserve rulers like moshe, Q-league and P-League? pakistan ka Allah hi hafiz hai.
Judiciary was also corrupt. After collaborating for sixty years, suddenly their “Zameer Jaag gaya”.
Be wary of these corrupt-deposed judges.
We should give some time to the present supreme court.
Hopefully, PPP/Q/MQM coalition would serve the nation.
@muchng
At least (forced non-functional judges) zameer jaag gaya. so that should be great thing. But you want to give time to these defacto SC judges whose Zameer is still soya howa ha. wat a contradiction my friend.
also donot forget mush and fazlu
mush ppp pmlQ mqm fazlu >>>> serve the nation>>>> like mush, pmlQ and mqm did in the last 8 years. If you consider their 8 years of dictatorship corruption no rule of constituition and law missing people 25 killed journalists runaway PM shaukat and many more is serving the nation then my friend may Allah have mercy.
oh I totaly forgot their real service to the nation …the bridge in karachi that was made by billions of Rs. and it came down in how many days….and how many peopel have been prosecuted…..
Address urgent issue: Restorance of the judges, has no gaurantee that majority of the people will get honest justice after that (because there is also big corruption in justice system). But still I will say that set the priorities, first solve the people’s urgent problems “Roti, Kabra aur makaan” (which was PPP’s slogan). Judges issue comes after basic need.
Please be open and tell the people (so they could trust you), that what kind of “khichaari” is cooking in London.
It is standard technique, to divert the people’s attention from real issue, create less important issue and propogate it.
Aitezaz Ahsan is a hypocrite who wants a PPP ticket and want to run on a PML n seat. He does not belong to Rawalpindi.
Please remember his record as an interior minister in 1988-90. He was the one who gave lists of Sikh freedom fighters to Gandhi.
@BABU
So try to remove the sitting judges and their “zamir jag jaye ga” too. Then we should accept them too?
We must give atleast five years to Zardari and the new coalition.
I
ppp wale begarats
@muchng
from judges you jump now on AA….AA is standing on the right track ..PMLN has offred him the seat he did not ask for it. he is ppp worker but he has his own right stand. how you become hypocrate if you disagree with your party.
In 1988-1990 if he gave the list then why he was not prosecuted coz there was no independent judiciary.
we must have independent judiciary so no one dare to break the law. you said they are corrupt judges. If this is true then how come mush and AG could not bring evidence of his corruption in SC while his case was in SC. Callling someone corrupt is different and proving someone corrupt is different.
you have wrong or little information. who saved the steel mill. who tried to recover missing people. who dismissed IG police Islamabad for using force against innocent people.
muchng
are you on pay roll of some agencies? or do u belong to MQM?
i have read all your comments on this site and it seems you are here on some special assignment…..
You said that Gujrati B*stards are better than present Govt.
then you said PPP/Q/MQM will serve the country
then you criticize aitzaz and judges
its all nonsense BS which you are talking here..
@sleepingnation
Anyone who wants to show the mirror is labeled as an agent or MQM-man. I am no exception.
The nation will realize in no time that who is better Wasi Zafar or Crook naik
Sherpao or Rehma Milk
Following is a link for “aaj ki pakaye” by Anwar Masood. please substitute Chaudry for some White sitting in Langley, Virginia. Rehma is very good in this poem and truly represents the character of Rehma Milk.
http://apnaorg.com/poetry/anwar/audio.html
Rehma says in this audio “Sadian ney Amrika naal Yarian”
@sleepingnation: If he _is_ on their payroll, they should take him off because he’s not doing a very good job of achieving their objectives.
I think muchng is a dard maNd pakistani.
I think he is from Britian. Because his english is so good.
@muchng
I don’t know what your political affiliation is or whether you belong to MQM (not that theres anything wrong with it :-).
I know a killer joke when I see one. And your Raheemeya connection with Rehman Malik is spot-on. Bravo!!!
I remember reading this joke in English which ended something like: “Oye Raheemeya, how come you change your opinion about cuisine so fast? Raheemeya replied, Because Chaudhry Saab is my Malik and not Waingna da saalna.”
This Farzana BiBi talks nothing but Shaheeds Bhuttos and sacrifices of of the PPP. She also, repeatedly talk about reconciliation with Mush. She is a cry baby and a big hippocrite like AZ and other PPP leaders. She, like other PPL leaders, love to stay in power, even under the thumb of ilegitimate, self proclaimed d’ facto president. PPP leaders don’t give a didly doo to the wishes of ordinary people who have elected them to solve their problems including the restoration of independent judiciary, and that is an unfortunate reality.
My request to her is to remeber the mandate of the people given to her, and do whtat she was asked to do. I also would like to ask her to stop moaning and crying about herself and Bhuttos sacrifices. It makes me sick and I can’t take it any more.
why the hell AZ go out of the scenario? and why the whole 18 crore paki nation has to suffer for his NRO?
If you do a gallop survey again between AZ and CJ iftikhar Ahmed Chaudhry……99% of paki nation would like CJ back and not AZ ( a looser)
Well if someone say that BB would have been better than AZ then you people are wrong. Coz BB was goin against americans to get vote and t
@mubasher syal
my friend,18 crores have to suffer because they are 18 crores and they were 16 crores a month ago.They are fu*kin multiplying like cockroaches and not only load shading is to blame.Has any of these political party come up with some real solution and not just franchising more sathis.
Well calling us Paki nation is a little bit rude my friend.I hope you will be careful in future. no offence.
ZAB was a populist leader. Roti Kapra makan was his slogan but his party consisted of land lords like himself and mustafa khar. The power corrupted him to the extent that he played a major role in the break up of Pakistan. He had practically become facist with oppressing his political oponents during his government.
We should not be casual in declaring leaders shaheed just because they have been executed. Mausoleeni was executed by an angry mob in Italy after WW2. You could use the same logic for Hitler except he supposedly killed himself.
@mustafa khan
you said that power corrupted ZAB. I would slightly disagree with you there because he was already corrupt.
PPPP is just a party which came into power with deal with establishment under influence of US. They are just changed faces of Q league but N league were never part of the planned game, but a unwanted result of B. Nazir murder. Now N league is the only a nail between PPPP n Establishment as Justice Iftakhar was before between Q and Establishment. He was removed and offcourse pro Americans does want to see N as nail now.
I am feeling sorry for nation, where a PM is appointed on criteria:
HOW LONG A POLITICAL WORK HAVE BEEN IN JAIL(Yousaf is told PM on critaria that he been in jail but not Amin fahim)
I think nation should stop expecting anything from PPPP, since the top leadership in PPPP is not transparent in their self.
Farzan Raja is making no sense at all.
BB was killed by anti american extremists who realized that she was sent as “maharni” by USA to accomplish special tasks which Mush was unable to perform.. due to her death PPP-zardari secured sympathy vote and her death was very very beneficial for PPP gang
i m fed up by this shaheed qwali done by farzana raja and hamnawa…from last two weeks i do not waste my time for listening this PPP qwali..whenever someone start this “shaheed/qurbani/roti/aata/mandat/nazuk halat/mulki salmati/muhafamat/saath leh kar chlana/qanooni masla/committment and other bakwas, i just fast forward that segment….come on PPP, come up with some new talk…this qwali is flop…
Can u post some anchorpersons like Talat Hussain, Dr Shahid Masood, Kashif Abbasi’s profiles?
Can u post some anchorpersons like Talat Hussain, Dr Shahid Masood, Kashif Abbasi’s profiles? Is it possible? I hope fans of these anchors would be grate to u.
Oh My God! If PPP is very democratic party (but not believes in election within the party and rights of rule has reserved for family only) plz do not mention aging and aging that u r a party which stands for principles. What a joke of the day. PPP always sold their principles. Stands, point of views, political will, so-called struggle and their dear Shaeeeds on a very high price and practice is still going on. Champion of Democracy and King of principles, Great believer in rule of Law Mr Zardari is ready to make a government with Q league and play with him. What a great leader! No doubt he is very good salesman.
One thin g more! All ladies like Farzana Raja, Sherry Rehman, Shehla Raza, Shazia Marre, Fahmida Mirza, Fauzia Wahab and more were not appeared in BB’s life. Thanks to Mr Zardari who has respect for women a lot and gave him chance to be famous.
We r requested all PPP representatives that plz try to make fresh statements, innovative dialogues and juicy script. People are fading up by your stories and dialogues. We believe ur government cannot change anything becoz now ur playing as Q League part II but at least u can produce variety in ur drama dialogues just for change. U must think over it.
A news item appeared in The News, May 12, 2008 on front page about media crash policy (and lesson to the trouble makers’ anchors/journalist) which are being planned by our dear democratic government. Democracy of Pakistan President Party Zindabad.
One thing more is disturbing and creates questions that PPP is in love with President and negotiations are going on from the back door (as usual), now this is an open secret then why Mr Makhdoom Amin Fahim was rejected with just the allegation of connections with president house? It shows that Mr AAZ does not like any single man in his party who has potential of leadership. Mr Zardari just need Yes-man and women.Shaeedo ki qurbanian Zinda bad.
For info!
By Ansar Abbasi
ISLAMABAD: Yet again, the media in Pakistan is under serious threat. Alarm bells have already started ringing. Naked warnings are being overtly given. Lists of “troublemakers” in the media are being compiled and the NRO-laundered intelligence sleuths are being assigned to straighten out the “crooked” pen pushers.
Some media houses have been pinpointed for “conspiring” against the elected government (read presidency if you like) and are being warned to get ready for another round of beating. The stage is being set to teach the unrepentant media a lesson.
The assault could be subtle. It could be uncouth and blatant. It could be direct. It could be vicious. Some fear, perhaps it has already been conceptualised and may be launched within days, if not already put into action.
The journalists smell a rat when they talk with government leaders, but they have not panicked. They are rather relaxed and prepared for the fight to defend the freedom of the press as guaranteed by the Constitution.
It might be new for the present day masters of our destiny to flex their newly acquired state muscles to tame the media but those associated with this profession are used to it. From the days of the draconian press laws introduced by the first military dictator of Pakistan General Ayub Khan to the era of public whipping of journalists during Zia’s Martial Law and then to the post Nov 3, 2007 media-specific black days of General Musharraf’s military rule, not to mention the wrongs done to the country’s press during the democratic governments of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, Benazir Bhutto and Nawaz Sharif, the losers have always been those trying to strangulate the media.
But the rulers perhaps are not in the habit of learning lessons from other people’s experiences. At least, it seems so from what is being contemplated now to gag the media, whose major crime today is that it reminds the leaders of their actions and promises of the past.
A lunch hosted by a PML-Q lady MNA at her Margalla Road house on Friday served as an opportunity for a selected gathering of “notorious” journalists to share their views on the looming threats to the media.
The host of Aaj TV’s popular programme ‘Bolta Pakistan’ and senior journalist Nusrat Javeed believes that the crackdown on media is just round the corner. It might strike us in just a few days. He was of the view that a ‘financial emergency’ was likely to be imposed to attain the objectives of the vested interests.
Hamid Mir, the host of Geo TV’s CapitalTalk and a senior columnist, was certain that the D-day was just 10 days away. He said that the list of five marked journalists had swelled to 17 and possibly included the names of most of those invited to the lunch.
According to Hamid Mir’s assessment, amongst the media houses, Geo News, The News and Aaj Television were said to be the first in the firing line. † Our Group Editor Shaheen Sehbai perhaps had some clear picture of what was simmering against the media but for being a man of few words he kept his secrets to himself.
Syed Talat Hussain shared his latest confrontation with some presidency-backed local businessman, who told him that the media was responsible for all the present ills of Pakistan. The man had reportedly celebrated the March 9, 2007 removal of Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry because the latter had ruined his golf dreams. It had all happened because of the media, so for the likes of this man media is undoubtedly the villain and, therefore, should be cursed.
Kashif Abbasi of the ARY TV was sharing with this scribe the kind of pressures he was presently facing. Geo TV’s Dr Shahid Masood from Dubai explained as to why he focused on Rehman Malik in his popular programme ‘Meray Mutabiq’ on Saturday night. Dr Shahid said that during his last visit to Islamabad, he got a plain warning from Rehman Malik in the presence of Asif Ali Zardari.
“The situation is really scary,” he said, adding that Rehman Malik talked of his “punches” to respond to the “punches” of the media. Malik, he said, introduced himself as the establishment and the master of all the intelligence agencies. “Honestly, it was shocking for me,” Dr Shahid said, adding that Benazir Bhutto had done a lot to support the cause of the independent media, particularly after Nov 3, 2007 but things had now changed altogether.
Media is today the only pillar of the state that is still standing but under a serious threat. The other key pillar, the judiciary, was made to collapse on Nov 3, 2007 when General Musharraf carried out his coup against the institution. The new parliament is already is shambles and lacks confidence. The Executive is simply nowhere and is hostage to the status quo of the remnants of the past military regime.
May one ask the champions of democracy and the masters of our destiny on what grounds and basis do they intend to run the state. Can the state survive without these pillars? Have our leaders developed some innovative vision, alien to the world’s experiences, to run the country? Are we going to prove to the world that we actually are a banana republic? Enjoy your bananas.
PPP statements and their real meanings
PPP BS statements(real meaning)
We do not want confortation (we want to keep Musharraf as it was in NRO to keep him as president)
We want to restore judges according to constitution (We do not want to restore them at any cost..how comes these judges wanna change system in pakistan)
Roti is big issue (let these idiots fight for food and we continue our crimes)
people have many issues apart from judiciary (indulge these idiots in such a complex sitauation that they forget everything about judges…increase load shedding, increase food shortage and if possible create law and order situation)
Democracy is best revenge (its the revenge against those who voted for judiciary restoration, revenge against those judges who denied to take oath under PCO and agaisnt those who tried to stop zaradri from corruption)
We believe in reconciliation (we believe in “mil bant kay khana”..share should be given to all corrupt mafias)
Country is facing crisis (coz our mafia head zardari has looted the country without any mercy)
its all BS what PPP ladies say on TV…they should come up with some new ideas ..in two months they are finished with new bakwasiat and repeating old sh*t
Can someone answer my question please. I am really wondering
that which people give vote to PPP ? In all the forums,
in the streets, on the media, in newspapers, I can see only 1 out of 10 people supporting PPP and 1 out of 100 supporting MQM but when the election
is held, they score so much votes and go away with so many
seats ?
and I don’t know which idiots believe that BB gave her life for democracy
and people of Pakistan ? Even no media anchors speak against this
whenever these PPP people start mourning about BB. Is this some holy
cow like holocaust that we can’t speak against this ? I only heard Mushtaq
Minhas saying once that ZAB ko mein shaheed naheen kehta. Only he is
the person who could say truth without fear.