Navigation - link to other main sections from here

Skip Navigation

Filed Under Off the Record  
May 13, 2008

Off the Record - 13 May 2008

Aitzaz Ahsan with Kashif Abbasi in special episode of Off the Record.

Comments

39 Responses to “Off the Record - 13 May 2008”

1. Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya on May 13th, 2008 10:00 pm

I am surprized at Eitizaz’s energy levels these days, one time dant dapat by Zardari pesay ka pujari punctured him !

I thought Eitizaz was a strong fellow ?

One bullshit from zardari and he is like a dukhi dulhan now ?

2. zawarmas on May 13th, 2008 10:25 pm

He is in a difficult position lol. I feel really sorry for him.

3. sarosh mahdi on May 13th, 2008 10:28 pm

Ali ahmed kurd should take over the leadership of lawyers.He is more explosive.i Love kurd

4. waqar sarwar on May 13th, 2008 10:29 pm

@ Mulla

“Dukhi Dulhan” nice one man

5. democrat on May 13th, 2008 10:30 pm

Aitazaz will take over PPP very soon. Let this Titanic sink and thenn PPP jyalas would need somebody with a character and moral values for face saving. Oh no, but he is not Bhutto and is not acceptable to @Paf BAB like jyalas.
    May be he can become Aitazaz Bhtto Hussain.

6. kafka8 on May 13th, 2008 10:50 pm

@critics of AA
    you guys are not used to ‘class’ and when you come across it..you mistake it for crass and allege all sorts of derogatory terms such as ‘dukhi dulhan’ (a good one though..must say) .

wait…i dont know much…but time does. …wait.

7. sam on May 13th, 2008 10:55 pm

He is the Tony Benn of Pakistani politics..what a price he’s having to pay for his principles and loyalty..shame PPP doesnot value and appreciate such people ..rare in this day and age!..

8. democrat on May 13th, 2008 10:56 pm

@kafka
    it is not about class. I personally respect AA a lot like everybody else. But the good thing is that awam (not jyalas)is not going to accept anyone distancin from judges issue.

9. sam on May 13th, 2008 10:56 pm

btw is there a problem with the sound in this programme?

10. Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya on May 13th, 2008 11:51 pm

Dukhi Dulhan ki tafseer yeh hai keh, jis tarah suhag raat impotent shoher bajay faraz nibhanay keh, dant dapt karta hai…or subh dulhan soochti hai keh hay mein ne yeh kis se shadi kar li….wohi haal is wakat hazrat chaudry aitizaz ki si hai!!

jab aya waqat nibah kah…zardari ki impotency , us ka ghussa ban kar aitizaz ko ruswa kar gayi…

ab aitizaz ko chaiye keh nach nach yaar mana lay ya phir itna nachay keh gunghrooo toot jayeen…..

11. A Kamran on May 13th, 2008 11:53 pm

Salam my people:
    I like to put forward a solution to the current national crisis and like to know your feedback on this:

The solution is General Referendum where people are asked these 3 Qns:
    1. Do you like to have all the deposed judges restored?
    2. Do you like to have current judges continue ?
    3. Do you like Musharraf continue as president?
    If last Qn is not relevant then we can ask: Do you like to that Ch. Iftikhar is reinstated as Chief Justice?

Amazing that I have not yet heard such a proposal, may be the reason is that I’m the one studying Innovation as well as immense interest in Politics :)
    General Referendum is a very useful way and helped many nations in Worlds recent history.
    Anyway, I have been thinking on this for few days & see many benefits for all the concerned parties especially People of Pakistan:

a. After God people are custodian of Pakistan and have ultimate responsibility to sort things out.
    b. The matter is now over-matured and all other mean are exhausted.
    c. The political forces are week and have been reluctant, slow etc.
    d. Mush, MqM, JuI and smaller parties are blackmailing PPP on the issue.
    e. It shall send a strong signal to all the concerned forces especially Military and foreign powers.
    f. Nation building: it is good way to involve people; something fathers of this nation would have done if they come across such a situation.
    ……….

12. Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya on May 14th, 2008 12:18 am

@Kamran:

Kamran, nice idea, but don’t you think the recent election was a much more stronger verdict than a referendum could ever produce ….

I think all the above questions which you submitted after intense tfakkur (thinking) were most probably answered in the recent elections ?

Now if the elections were fake and they are impotent and can not yield a decisive , clear intention of the public of Pakistan, then no referendums can guarantee action….

wiling is not enough….the next stage is of implementation..thats what we are lagging right now……..

I do agree with the suggestion…and answering back in a friendly tone…..

13. Traffic on May 14th, 2008 12:20 am

@ A Kamran

well your idea isnt really all that innovative(sorry). we have just had elections, and the mood of the people is very clear. they want to get rid of Musharraf, whatever means possible. so you can guess the answers to your three questions yourself, no referendum needed. the fact that P-League as always has betrayed the nation is another story. i think we need another general election instead of a referendum so we can get rid of this fascist PPP once and for all. oh and judging by previous referendums held in Pakistan, nobody trusts referendums anyway.

14. Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya on May 14th, 2008 12:24 am

People of pakistan are only for chanting slogans , and second priority when the leaders go into the aiwan….people go back to their misery and helplessness, some try to go to uk, dubai or singapore, others apply for assylum in canada or usa, some find a job to get by and tred on the cycle of time…who cares about the entiry called people…….

I hate the word people and public……both words stink of labels for something low class ….I wana know who the F*** created these words like in urdu they say awam…which comes from aam…yani opposite of Khas….., what is khas about khas ? just cause they are labeled bhutto or zardari or general , makes them khas and those who couldnt secure such titles are awam ? I will rip apart such logic ..

Time to think of no consequences is coming….and I warn the world that we are afganis nor iraqis …we are PAKISTANI……a breed of its own kind……….

15. sajid mehmood on May 14th, 2008 1:04 am

If people are thinking that soon the nation will go to polls, resulting in an over-whelming majority of good guys like PML-N and a worst defeat to PPP and PML-Q etc., they are overly simpleton. US-backed establishment has learned a lot from the mis-judgments made in this election. Mind you guys, PML-Q was the second highest votes-taker in the elections which grabbed more votes then PML-N. This is enough to expose the political maturity of this ‘foolish awam’. Villages are still all belonging to Q-league. The good guys largely won in the urban areas where against the expectation of everyone those people who never came out to vote, came out this time (and here is where mis-judgment was made). Next time, this will be taken care of. Also US and puppet EU will also not press hard for ‘free and fair elections’, army will also not be neutral any more. So there will be surprising results. Theoretically you are justified in seeing land sliding wins of alliance of PML-N, APDM etc., but reality will be different. I feel sorry for people like Aitzaz, Imran, Ahsan Iqbal, Raza Rabbani, Justice Tariq Mehmood, Dr. Qadeer Khan, Talat Hussain etc. who are in business in a wrong country. But they should keep it up with dignity.
    Mian Brother spend their exile time in holy atmosphere of Arab (in good proximity to the Kali Kamli Wali Sarkar) whereas Zardari Family lived in the dirtiest land of UAE (the shameful baddus), so you can see the difference in the two (apparently).
    If Mian Brothers are genuinly sincere as they look on the up, Kali Kamli Wali Sarkar will bless them with success. They are the last hope for Pakistan otherwise it is going to be all over with Pakistan (my heart cries).

16. Dheet on May 14th, 2008 1:09 am

@A Kamran
    I emailed the same proposal a long way back to media, ie capital talk, live with talat, shahid masood and bolta pakistan, only in bolta pakistan Mushtaq Minhas without mentioning that it was an email, just in phrase asked NJ about refrendum, and NJ answer was, Refrendum sirf Amirr Karwata hay.

17. kinnare on May 14th, 2008 1:24 am

One thing I do not understand why tv comparer in Pakistan only give one side of the story. Why they do not call people in panel who are against restoration of corrupt Judges. They should call person like Khalid Anwar of PMLN who is dead against the restoration of judges.

Hamid Mir, Dr. Shahid, and owner of TV channels know that if they do not support establishment they would be throw out eventually. I have been seen this for last forty years. Every time PPP come in power their is this great propoganda against it for some thing or other and then the establishment takes over.

18. Suleiman on May 14th, 2008 1:29 am

Live with Talat was great today…

19. admin pkpolitics on May 14th, 2008 2:19 am

20. justice on May 14th, 2008 3:37 am

there are three categories of judges now
    1.PCO judges
    2.Ex PCO judges
    3.Double PCO judges

21. rasheed on May 14th, 2008 3:43 am

There are 3 categories of Judges now:

- Who never said NO to Army Chief
    - Who once said NO to Army Chief (60 deposed Judges)
    - Who twice said NO to Army Chief (Justice Iftkhar Chaudhry)

22. justice on May 14th, 2008 3:47 am

there are three categories of judges
    1. hung ZAB
    2.Sentenced NS in highjacking
    3.cleared AZ in NRO

23. rasheed on May 14th, 2008 3:51 am

Your statement is contradictory .. yeh to six categories ho gayee … yeh to beymaani hay.

Learn to properly argue mister.

24. justice on May 14th, 2008 3:53 am

one is a constitutional category
    other is decisional category

25. rasheed on May 14th, 2008 3:58 am

There are 2 kinds of persons in the world …

- One who has faced injustice and wants no one else to experience the same fate …

- Second who has faced injustice and wants everyone else to have to same experience in revenge!

I believe you belong to “doh number” category.

26. justice on May 14th, 2008 4:04 am

i am not talking about me or you(us).I am talking about judges.Specifically
    Ex PCO judges

27. justice on May 14th, 2008 4:13 am

Ex PCO judges were part and parcel of General PM regime all the way till march 2007.
    Now Present PCO judges part and parcel of current regime headed by PM

28. tmehmood on May 14th, 2008 5:08 am

@kamran

Well, your (as well as other people claiming for this) idea is good, but don’t you look at the previous referendums that we had in our history like the recent one of “Musharraf” and even a bitter one of “Zia-ul-Haq”.

Then how can you expect a fair referendum now, even when there is a so called government and they are in favour of Musharraf by one way or another. And also it is going to cost millions again because you know in Pakistan how big is the hierarchy of “looting” the government budget in such issues.

So can simply consider (and in-fact it is) the recent election as referendum and you can easily get the answer of all you questions along with others…

29. nota on May 14th, 2008 6:41 am
  30. aristotle on May 14th, 2008 6:52 am

We have lot sympathy with Aitezaz Ahsan but now he should take a decision otherwise journey in two different directions would be difficult for him. PPP is not your party, now it is party against you. You must relies or accept this reality. Mr Zardari and Hamnawa would not allow to you to enlarge your image being a leader. Every boona in the PPP is afraid and trying to create barrier in your entry in the parliament. You and Mr Makhdoom should think over it that what he have gained being a loyal member of PPP? What their party has paid him for their long association, sacrifices and loyalty? Side line? Allegations? No acknowledgment? No faith? No trust?

Eik sher for Aitezaz Ahsan:

Eik zara see baat par barson kay yarane gay
    Lakin itna to hoa kuch log pehchaney gay

31. Malek on May 14th, 2008 9:02 am

@A Kamran

i think the idea you have presented is very good….and it certainly needs to be explaored particularly when PPP after gaining votes on back of judg@s issue is walking away from it claiming that they never got votes on that basis?

also will expose Mushi’s claims and this will certainly silence the critics who are claiming judiciary restoration and Ch Iftikhar is not an issue of the people

32. fas on May 14th, 2008 10:48 am

@Malek
    Not a good idea. People did not depose and appoint judges that they should now rethink. Even the assembley of peoples representative had nothing to do with this. It was an illegal act and should be dealt with as any illegal act is dealt by law. That is why state is empowered with arms to establish its will. Only time people can be called for refrendum is when a constituton is being set up, or some issue props up which is not covered by the constitution. Once established, all state business should be conducted according to the consttution. Otherwise, we’ll be going to the people for very other frivolous issue and the end result will be utter chaos.

33. kurkosmici on May 14th, 2008 2:27 pm

I dont understand why all the ministers are after the topic of restoration of judges. All the anchors are asking same questions to every ministers.
    This is absolutly wrong. All the ministers and all the anchors are making fool to us (awam)
    The anchors should ask the questions to the respective ministers according to their department.
    For example;
    Minister of Power: question should be what you have done since you became a minister and what is the future short term planning.
    Minister of Food and Agriculture; Why is the shortage of the food in the market or why it is expensive, How to solve the problem and when do you think you can resolve it and give us the deadline.
    If the anchor ask short term planning, it will be very good, otherwise the minister will tell us Inshallah in 5 years time we will do this and that.

If you keep on asking these types of questions to the ministers, it will be a check on them and they will do something for their respective departments, other wise all the ministers will remain quite, take salary, enjoy their life and wait for the resoration of the judges.

God help us

34. m5433d on May 14th, 2008 2:29 pm

IA can be the voice of the judiciary even as an independent so why cling on to PP. Even BB wasn’t happy with him. He can’t carry on like this. His body language today was of a person who knows the awkwardness of the situation and the difficulty of defending both the Law society and PP.

Nothing should be above principles. If people start to show this kind of loyalty to Parties then those parties become like a stagnant pool of water (johart).

His loyalty to PP in circumstances as such is almost like Q Leagues with Moshe’s uniform.

What good can he do by being inside PP. If they want to listen to him they will listen now. If they are not listening now then what difference will it make after he is elected as a PP MNA?

35. m5433d on May 14th, 2008 2:34 pm

If IA does get the ticket then Ali Ahmed Kurd should head the lawyers movement. Conflict of interests

36. TK on May 14th, 2008 4:29 pm

2 categories of Judges:

1. Bay Zameer
    2. Baa Zameer

If you don’t know what the difference is, you are in Category No. 1

Yay! You! No. 1 for a change! :)

37. Traffic on May 14th, 2008 10:40 pm

after watching a couple of interviews of aitzaz, i can only conclude that he is a man of weak character. if he continues to hang onto the fascist P-League, pretty soon he will loose all the respect that he has gained over the last year.

38. Adam1 on May 15th, 2008 9:48 am

@TK on May 14th, 2008 4:29 pm

Nice one
    Lolz

39. Usman_Sheikh on May 18th, 2008 10:47 am

Aitzaz…if u get ever read this message then just get out of ppp now otherwise u will lose all ur integrity…….and people will start hating u like they hate musharraf and zardari…ur next on the card