l Visitors News & Views – Week 3, May 2008 | Pakistan Politics
{ 446 comments... read them below or add one }

• savage said:

As a nation we have become monsters, this image is so shameful and gross. It shows there is no law at all. Oh!!!! law?? what is that thing?

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/15-05-2008/topst/m.2.jpg

• democrat said:

@savage
    fully agreed with you. could you please add text of the news.

• admin pkpolitics said:

News added at this link.

• DirtyNation said:

Welcome to my Country, Pakistan.

Fortunately we have managed to free this country from any laws prevailing on this globe. We feel that the laws put on restrictions, and we are not ready to accept any restriction.

We are a free nation and hence we do take pride in freeing ourselves from all the moral and social laws. Thanks to our great Generals ruling us who taught us that Constitution is a piece of papers which can be teared and thrown away any time.

We invite you to this part of the world where we choose our leaders on basis of their corruption. We developed this great idea that corrupt people are Genius people. We therefore choose these Genius people to rule us.

We have said goodbye to all social bindings and laws. Why should we stop at a red Signal ? We are a free nation and hence do not want to obey the cheap limitations imposed by these superficial laws.

We dont mind if somebody has conspired to kill our dear ones. If it results in us having indemnity and save all the wealth that we have accumulated, we very gladly accept the killers. See how open minded we are !!!

We are a country who do believe on God and for that reason we do not have any health system for poors. Believing in God tells us that when the time comes, one will die. We hence do not feel that their is a necessity of providing them with health care, God willing and they die !!!

To be continued……

• Riddle 792 said:

Ansar Abbasi: Punjab Govt asking Rs 7 million from Musharaf’s friend for aircraft fees: http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=112593

didn’t Musharaff once said ” Pakistan 1st ” :)

• Malek said:

NS nomination papers from NA123 Lahore accepted!!!

• Riddle 792 said:

Ch. Shujaat, Ch. Pervaiz Ilahi and Hamid Nasir Chatta met with Musharaff today and addressed the media together afterwards…..

there is some thing BIG in the making and it certainly wont be a forward group of PMLQ, infact I see a Complete PMLQ supporting PPP for GOVT and hence a Push to PMLN….

Its time for NS to get out from this Zardari romance before AZ hits on NS’s self esteem……………APDM is also waiting for NS’s decision….. cz the “Shab Deag” is ready for him……………………………!!

• TK said:

A new ‘charm offensive’ aimed at the Pakistani Public ??

Current Supreme court is taking Suo Moto action against the 54 Billion Loans “Forgiven” by the previous Shauka Chore govt:

http://dailywaqt.com/150508/Images/bp-08.gif

WTF? Any guru’s care to comment on this ??

• TK said:

@Riddle: In mush’s mind “pakistan” means “pervez Musharrf”.. please do this translation in head as he does it as well…

So, after translation, repeat after me:

“Musharrf First!”

• rasheed said:

@TK,

I believe this loan issue is being opened by Musharraf Kutta to pull strings of Chaudhry brothers who refused to leave the PMLQ leadership and may also look towards PML-N camp. The main issue is the number game in Parliament to legalize the actions of November 3rd and Chaudhry brothers can either make or break this deal.

• rasheed said:

One of the main beneficiary of “Loan Forgiving” were Chaudhry brothers.

• TK said:

@rasheed: aaah! for a second I thought these EVIL ba$tard$ had grown a heart in the pitch black cavities inside them :(

• econfused said:

Naseem Zehra was talking to Kh. Asif. Wondering if we can video of that interview

• nota said:

And of course the Chaudhries ran to Mush so it must be working ….

• nota said:

PPP Foreigh Ofice as khasi as Mush’s:
    FO refuses to comment on Bajaur attack

• savage said:

Whenever their is a talk on peace process, this thing happens. Before missile attack, there were news that troops moved their positioins from Waziristan, it was all to jeopardize peace process. Expect a new row of khud-kush attacks, and tall claims “Sar mill geya hai”.

By the way did you notice how quick Indian traced Jaypur masterminds, they have published it’s sketch, and our world famous agencies.. Oh never mind, they are for different use.

• savage said:

“Capital Talk” is discussing PPP reconcilian policy at gross root, they just reported that Layari crime rate has dropped in recent time because PPP handed layari’s “aman-o-amaan” to Rehmn Dekait, so vertually no law and order forces are working… Well done Nabeel Ghobol for imposing writ of state this quick.

PPP is right who needs these judges any more. Layari to Rahman Dekait, Pakistan to Zardari, PEACE…ZZZZZzzzzzzz ZZZZZZzzzzz ZZZZzzz

• TK said:

Just look at the protocol Moshe gets.. Who wants to leave that kind of “Aish” ???

http://vidpk.com/view_video.php?vid=2845

• nota said:

“The role of the president of the United States is to support the decisions that are made by the people of Israel”

Finally someone speaks the truth . The guy is not a lefty. I think he did not realize he is NOT supposed to expose such things Bet he will get in trouble for this.

• BilllyBhuttoZardari said:

Did anyone just see what happened on the Kamran Khan show? The show began and Rahimullah Yusufzai was about to speak on the Bajaur missile strike and then they immediately went to commercial. The show was only on for 2 minutes! Now they’ve been doing commercials for 10 minutes in a row. The commercials began just as Yusufzai, the first guest, was to speak. STRANGE.

WHAT? Now Ghamidi is on now!

• democrat said:

@billy
    thats your ppp’s freedom of speech policy. they are champions of these democratic values. Recently they held elections for their leadership and elected the most experienced and deserving chairman as well.

• nota said:

@BilllyBhuttoZardari
    They did start it later. Don’t know when but I caught the end of it where he had one of the ANP guys whom said rightly that the first Bajour missle attack, our army claimed responsibility. Karman LIED and said they did not. ANP guy said they did. Kamran dropped him immediately and repeated the LIE once again. And that was the end of the show. (Remember the first reporter to report the incident as a US missle strike was picked up by intelligence agancies and murdered. And just a little time ago his widow was murdered as well by a b*mb planted outside her home.)

Here is a link to the story :
    82 die as missiles rain on Bajaur: Pakistan owns up to strike; locals blame US drones

And of our govt. taking credit for the murder:
    Bajaur operation not under any pressure: FO
    Bajaur dead were all militants, says Musharraf
    President Musharraf told an international gathering that anyone saying innocent people were killed in the air strike was lying.

“They were all militants. They were doing military training there. We were working on them for last six, seven days and we know who they were and what they were doing,” the president said at the opening of a seminar on security in South Asia.
    Commanders to discuss Bajaur bombing
    “He defended the attack and said it was conducted by Pakistani forces and not by US or any other foreign forces.”

But it was US that exposed Mush’s lies (Al Qaeda was target of Bajaur attack: US ) but he still continued to insist all the killed were militants. In fact he even released a video of them “training” at Fajir time.

KAMRAN KHAN: YOU ARE A LY!NG SACK OF SH!T!

• democrat said:

You are giving all these logics as if establishment and west consider us humans. Do you remember in defence of his unconstitutional act,on 3rd Nov 2007 , Busharraf gave the logic on his televised speech that Pakistanis donot deserve the same human rights and democracy as people in west do. This is the problem. We are missing the fundamental question here. All these logics will fall on deaf ears because people n power (including fudels of PPP) donot consider us worthy of any of these rights. I agree with NS and APDM that this is the fight for another independence. I have a strong intution that atta crisis and all other crisis are self created by establishment because asking for justice is athe level of self actualization whereas establishment eants to keep them at first step of Maslow’s pyramid.

• TK said:

Hey! anyone know the names of all the people in the Establishment and where they live?

• democrat said:

Establishment is a dynamic phenomenon and to understand it you have to understand the fourth dimention.
    This is a term loosely applied to the ruling class elite. However in lay terms it is a cult that most of the people deprived of their basic needs wish to and dream to join.
    Once you hve been part of it even foor a while, you are given a different status in the society so this is a different cast and crede system with a history of of millions of years. Have you ever thought why people still keep the titles like RAJput,Mughal,etc(no offencxe to any of thses royals hanging around among us commons). So establishment, in another way is probably a social behaviour without the boundries of any formal institutions.
    Now who is establishment? You suggest and we will add.

• Asif said:

Everybody in House is busy in cashing the judiciary issue. But no one is sincere in resolving the issue. PMLN being a part of government failed to convince the coalition on restoration od judiciary(good on talk but still no walk).
    Boycotted Tasser\’s oath ceremoney but eventualy will have to work with him(again good on talk but still no walk), how long the can boycott, Its just a dinner away to get away with boycott.
    Sharifs paper accpeted this time without any change in Judiciary. So the decisions made by courts are still political & heavily influenced by the ruling party.

The people yet again are the victims of ruling classes\’ injustice & brutalities, with the only exception of change of label from PMLQ to PPP PMLN ANP.

Can these goons change their nature? if can\’t then they would be the next to be burned alive like the street robbers the other day. It seemz to be no more fiction but a bitter reality………

Posted 3 seconds

• hawmajid said:

@TK on May 15th, 2008 5:45 pm
    Man i dont think its mush convoy he has 9 mercedes convoy plus 2 dummy convoys (ie 27 mercs ) This look more like governor or cm they had 2/3 mercs/bmw.

• Riddle 792 said:

Lawyers: We will not support Aitezaz Ahsan on PPP ticket for election: http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/16-05-2008/main.htm

• kinnare said:

@Riddle, most of office bearer at different Bar council around Pakistan are from forum of Pakistan People Party’s lawyer forum. So forget about any street demonstration of large magnatuted. NS did not learn any thing from his past mistake. Although I agree that his cheque does not come directly from US. He should start thinking about Pakistan.

18th Feb, election produce hung parlaiment as Gen Mush said it would. It was great of Zardari and PPP to go in partnership with NS instead of PMLQ which they could have easily. NS should be thank ful of that instead of quarling like six year old.

As far as judge are concern they are corrupt. who allowed to the General of Pakistan Army to rule over Pakistan CJ iftakar. Well if you kill some one and than say sorry and accept that law will not take it course and you are living in fools paradise. CJ would and should feel very lucky if is reinstate. I would vote for him not to be restored.

• nota said:

While Deposed judges blast charity offer of reappointment, two stories in The News give opposite takes on Aitzaz’s press conference:

Aitzaz supports Asif over proposed resolution
    “…Aitzaz Ahsan on Thursday said a joint resolution by parliament for the restoration of the judges, as recommended by PPP Co-chairman Asif Zardari, would be an appropriate step…” WTF?

PPP has disappointed nation: Aitzaz
    “…He said he had always apprised PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari of his stance on the restoration of judiciary but he did not agree to his stance.”

Did anyone watch Aitzaz news conference?

• nota said:

Acceptance of (NS / SS) papers raises new fears by Ansar Abbasi
    ISLAMABAD: The credibility of the Election Commission took a battering on Thursday when the nomination papers of the PML-N leaders, Mian Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif, were accepted by the returning officers. The decision came months after the rejection of their papers on certain grounds.

However, a new crisis could develop if the returning officers’ decision is challenged in the High Court or the Supreme Court where the PCO judges would conduct the proceedings. Nawaz Sharif would not contest his case as a matter of principle as he does not recognise the PCO courts. Thus, Nawaz may lose the case by default….

• Riddle 792 said:

Half of Karachi without electricity-man climbs 300 feet high power lines
    AAJ, Express TV reporting LIVE

! ? ! > $

• Rashid said:

Same court, same EC accepts NS papers. And now NS calls it first step towards independent judiciary. On one side, PML is going nuts over Taseer’s appointment, on the other hand they accept the old system.

PML-N can’t continue to take moral high ground for long if they continue supporting Federal govt and enjoy power in Punjab. Awam and Media will soon get tired of this “karwi goli” politics.

• TK said:

Police brutality in Pakistan:

http://vidpk.com/view_video.php?vid=12267

• TK said:

@democrat: re: “establishment”

If you don’t know who your enemy is how are you going to fight it? Can you pinpoint what people (actual humans) this ‘pahaaRi Jinn” called ‘establishment’ consists of?

BTW, I have violently disagreed with the misinformation spread by the kleptocracy that “establishment” is a dynamic phenomenon.. very ver very hard to know who it is..

The question was rhetorical and to force an acknowledgement that we don’t know what the FRUK this ‘establishment’ is.. but we keep harping about it.. In the meantime, this ‘establishment’ keeps affecting real and brutal change and degeneration in our society..

so.. what gives?

I want names!

P.S. I’ve tried to explain this issue and the ‘establishment’ in the Pakistani context in my blog.. I think our opinions differ on this.

• TK said:

looks like Naji recieved a big fat poTli of cash from the secret accounts of the “ministry of Information”..

what a shameless lifafa journalist!

• ashahid said:

PPP-Q is going to be the bit$h of the year and Chaudry Asif Ali Ghadari the son of the bit$h.

• kafka8 said:

kamran khan is a disgrace to journalism!

• TK said:

Why the hell is Zardari getting briefing from ISI ? He is not a member of parliament, not even senate, has NO portfolio and has NOT signed ANY “secrets act”

how the hell is this guy going to bring about “supremacy of Parliament” when he himself has NO IDEA what it means to follow proper procedure?

WHY the hell is ISI giving top secret briefings to this guy? How the F*K is this different than a one man rule that Mushie was accused of? How is this following the rule of law and procedures of national security? And why the he!! is National “Security” Council quiet on this matter?

http://www.you tube.com/watch?v=_Zm3FoO-6rU

• Rashid said:

@TK,

I had raised this exact same point long time ago. I think it was the first ‘briefing’ in which NS and AZ were present. I was told by @Peja, it’s their right because they have people’s ‘mandate’.

• TK said:

@Rashid: well that makes the two of us.

• TK said:

@admin: some javascript on the “blacksheep” page and visitor page kills my FireFox when I follow any of the links to “most recent comments” from the front page.. it just dies and says “reading from pagead2.googlesyndicate.com” or something like that…

it happens a lot.. I have firefox latest version.

• Amir Hameed said:

Why the hell is Zardari getting briefing from ISI ? He is not a member of parliament, not even senate, has NO portfolio ….

It is simple because he is getting the fokking protocol for complying with the GHQ, not touching Moshe and obediently bowing to the US. What a fokking joke PPP has become becuse of the likes of these so-called “beloved leaders”.

• Amir Hameed said:

@kinnare
    Man, I don’t know whether I should laugh at your statements or feel sorry for you and the others like you who “seriously” believe that Zardari is a great leader. What a fokking joke.

• mbokhari said:

@TK:

“Why the hell is Zardari getting briefing from ISI ? He is not a member of parliament, not even senate, has NO portfolio and has NOT signed ANY “secrets act”

how the hell is this guy going to bring about “supremacy of Parliament” when he himself has NO IDEA what it means to follow proper procedure?”
    ——————

It is not very hard to understand. When you see Pervez Ellah talk about Mao and Che, Zardari can yap his flap about the Parliament being sovereign.

Remember when he came back right after BB’s death, he had the same Ghunda mustache, the same Khopra glasses…Must have been Sherry Rehman who gave the pickpocket a makeover with a clipped mustache and rimless glasses. And it must have been Hussain Haqqani. the mirror image of Mushahid Hussain, who taught him these ‘big words’ to Zardari, the Lutaira of Larkana.

• Saqib said:

The so called democracy has become a joke all around. We have a puppet Prime Joker in YRG, AZ snake roaming around at Mush’s will, Farooq H sNaeks making a mockery of the whole situation, Rehman “The Snake” Malik also roaming around at Bush’s will. How can jiyalas tolerate this? Don’t they have any respect left?

Obviously not :-(

• kafka8 said:

@tk, rashid

we dont know what the extent of the briefing was…why it was deemed important at this point in time……and from which ‘mouth’ of the faujistanisi establishment it came..

• TK said:

@mbokhari: totally.I think it is HH who’s been coaching this douche! and I think he did all that goofy sultan rahi stache with thick rimmed glasses n walking stick BS to try to fool BB with all that shtick!

This guy is No Hakim Ali Zardari.. let alone Bhutto! What the hell are we doing?

• econfused said:

@ashahid

Stop being a cl0wn and stop spreading lies. You are also violating pkpolitics policy by copy/pasting “articles”

• TK said:

Well I raised the issue of NS and Zardari getting briefing from Kiyani and the other jurnails and I was thouroughly attacked by all the jiyalas (who seem to have disappeared off the FACE OF THE EARTH!!!)

I’m not counting the M.Q.M transvestites still pretending to be PPP “jiyalas” ;)

• Saqib said:

Just change the issue and they will all readily jump back to participate in the debate.

• TK said:

@econfused:

I noticed that too.. I wouldn’t be surprised if it is the guy himself.. ..

@ashahid: Please don’t post that rupee-news tripe verbatim.. if you must point out an email use a snippet posting/pasting service.

• mbokhari said:

I wonder what’s going to happen in the near future….I give the current Snake-administration around 6 months when the Atta, power, inflation will catch up with them. I was reading something the other day and some PPP-Q guy was saying that the lawyers have no jigra to get beat up on roads in this searing heat. I kept thinking, isn’t it PRECISELY like last year? These were the days between the first sacking and restoration, between March 9 and July 20th. If the lawyers destroyed Mush’s credibility then, they can certainly do it now.

I am really hoping for some ugly confrontation so that the PPP-Q can be completely exposed. A Long March to really test the nerves of Rehman Malik will be just the thing the lawyers need. The Public Sympathy will be with the lawyers, NS and IK even more if they focus on the economic crunch. The PPP-Q will surely help destroy their own image within the Jiyalas with Zardari’s protocol, Mercedez, new corruption scandals etc…

The Q era is not a distant memory and it is easier to label PPP as the new Q while the iron is hot.. A significant period of time between the Q and PPP-Q will enable Zardari to further strengthen his hold on power. The time is now. NS really needs to make some dama dam qalandar. Especially since they have the excuse of Salman Taseer now….I wouldn’t be surprised if Ch. Nisar’s ballistic press conference was a prelude to EXACTLY this order of battle.

• savage said:

Asia Time’s report on Pakistan “Enlightened Moderation”

—-
    In Pakistan, a dark trade comes to light

…..”Rumors abound online that female TV stars and actresses can be hired for sex. “You can get film stars for 50,000 to 100,000 rupees but you need good contacts for that,” one blogger wrote after a trip to Lahore.
    “…..
    http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/JE17Df02.html

• savage said:

“Muhtaaj Qaum” to become even more dependet.

USA offers installing mobile power plant at Karachi

porthttp://www.paktribune.com/news/index.shtml?200531

• TK said:

@mbokhari

NS really needs to make some dama dam qalandar.

O paa jee! asee tay pailaaN ee kaih ditta si.. as soon as the watching of the interview of the Nawaz of the Sharif 2 of the days ago!

Nawaz Sharif said, and I quote “Meray 4 din unkay saath achchay guzray haiN” and he called this pco judges with real judges “Munaafiqat”

E’laan-e jaNg to usi din ho gaya thaa baaQi sab khanah puri hai.. but I think they’re thinking a non-street game.

• mbokhari said:

I am not so sure about the non-street game and its success. We have to concede one thing: The longer the judges stay deposed, the harder it is going to get to bring them back to the bench. I think the hearty protest marches post March 9 were more due to a sense of moral outrage and shock than to the finer points of Law.

I fear we have gotten over that shock. Like the beGhairat nation that we are, we have accepted that and soon it will be harder to rile up the masses to wait for IMC as he drives from ISB to Lahore like before. Thats what the game plan of PPP traitors is, exactly true as Mushahid called it, the Zia Response. Essentially, prevaricating on an issue until the cows come home.

I just read this article by Aftab Iqbal in Nawai Waqt and he says N and Q are planning a merger to forestall any decapitation moves by Mush. He thinks the Chaudhry brothers will publicly apologize to NS and support the Restoration of Judiciary.

Ever since Ch. Nisar’s press conference, this N plus Q is looking more and more like the rational response to PPP plus Musharraf. I think NS has a choice to make. If he gets Q on board, he will have short term benefits. He will get to keep Punjab and may even capture the Center. He may be able to get rid of Musharraf and restore the judges. But the long term blowback will be horrendous. He will lose all his moral superiority and PPP will assume again the mantle of Shahadat.

If NS ditches Q overtures, he stands to gain a windfall of public sympathy and may get 2/3rd again whenever the elections are held. But the downside of this Long War will be, the judges restoration will become even more unlikely.

I don’t envy the pressure N people must be. To fuqq PPP over by merging with their bette noire, the Q guys. Or, to do a long term suicide bombing on PPP with the prospect of a Jannat where only N exists and both Q and PPP have been obliterated.

hmmmm….

• TK said:

Actually, I think the only viable way for PML-N is to get Q on side. If they can. Mushahid Hussain could help out in this regard.

If Zardari can sit with Altaf Chooran Wala, then I say to NS, FUGGIT! Bring Q on-board with an oath to CoD and commitment to judges issue.

They are natural allies.

• mbokhari said:

Ugh…I said precisely that but my long comment is in moderation…..infamy!!!

• mbokhari said:

Karachi land scam officer receives death threats

ISLAMABAD: The Estate Officer of Pakistan, Sher Afzal Khan, who had unearthed the Rs 450 billion scam of government properties in Karachi, is now facing serious threats to his life.

“On one occasion, I was directly threatened by one politician, who on May 15 repeated his threat through his private secretary, who visited me in my office, with dire consequences. Even today, I received a message from the TCS company that eight shipments had been delivered to some destinations and my cell number had been written on the packets.

Since I had sent no shipment to anyone, I called the TCS who informed me that these shipments had been sent to the president of Pakistan, the prime minister, the chairman Senate, Senator Babar Awan, Senator Mohammad Ali Brohi, Maulana Fazlur Rehman and Senator Maulana Samiul Haq. I have sent no shipment to the above noted persons and the move appears to be an act of harassment. I very well know the forces of evil who are after me, particularly the politician who has himself passed threats to me and I have informed my family members and my tribesmen about these individuals and for any wrong that may be done to me, these people will be responsible.”

——————————————————————————
    Teendoo mentality at its worse. It’s the same from Chooran Devi down to the lowly thugs in shiitholes like Ranchore Lines.

• TK said:

@mbokhari: GRREEAT!!! Now I look like captain obvious! oooh boy!

I guess we were on the same track.. interesting. Could it be that the road to Islamabad Goes thru Gujrat?

IF that she-dog Anne Patterson starts meeting with the mumble-brothers.. then you know we’re on the right track.. that should happen within a day or so hehehe

• TK said:

@mbokhari: dude I said that without even reading anything…I guess it’s become so obvious now.. as the only alternative to street-protest which no-one really wants.. even the lawyers are prolly hoping they don’t have to do this ahageeen!

You see, this was the whole point in the delaying tactic.. to stall the lawyers until it was godawful hot!! (or could be that Zardari is a douche? .. take ur pick)

• mbokhari said:

Looks like N and Q wont be getting together after all. Shujaat has publicly endorsed Governor Taseer and is now trying to mend fences with Musharraf.

Poor NS. Poor Lawyers. Poor Judges. Poor Pakistan.

We didn’t deserve IMC. Who let the D0ggar out? Who? Who?

Us, it seems.

• TK said:

The only reason I’m suspicious of a “Tehreek” is because JI is in it… Everytime these DOUCHES are supporting a “cause” it ends up anu$-furging the Nation.

So, I say, do whatever the hell Jamat Islami is telling you to do. May the force be with you!

Because people can tell me “Qazi is a cute little teddy bear, and Jamaat is Shooo Noiche now!”

Lekin, Main naa maanooN kiraaRi kaa naam Ghulaam Fatima!

• TK said:

aaaaaaaaargh!

“So, I say, do whatever the hell Jamat Islami is telling you to do. May the force be with you!”

should read

So, I say, do THE OPPOSITE OF whatever the hell Jamat Islami is telling you to do. May the force be with you!

• TK said:

@mbokhari:

“Ekla Cholo ray!”

I say Fugg all them niggiz! For once someone should fight for a principle in this land before it is smashed to bits by it’s enemies.

• mbokhari said:

Finally some piece of good news about Pakistan. This is by Khaled AlMaeena who is a Saudi journalist and sort of an expert on Pakistan. He speaks fluent Urdu.

Pakistan Revisited — VI: A Time for Reflection

On the day of our departure for Jeddah, with our bags packed and goodbyes dispensed with, our group found itself together at the coffee shop of the hotel. There each one of us talked about whether this trip had changed our opinions of Pakistan and its people.

with more than 100 universities and 150 research institutes, Pakistan produces 100,000 engineering graduates annually, and another 100,000 technically trained graduates.

More than 50 foreign companies have set up R&D facilities in Pakistan recently. Some of these include multinationals such as GE, DuPont, Bell Labs, IBM and Microsoft. In the business of automobiles, Pakistan manufactures and sells engine components to five of the world’s largest manufacturers. Suzuki and Hyundai are recent entrants to the manufacturing buzz in Pakistan setting up full-fledged plants, with Pakistan taking its rank as the ninth largest automobile manufacturer in the world.

• Riddle 792 said:

nawaz sharif was the chief guest in the recent launch of salman taseer’s urdu newspaper….!!!

cmn’ ppl stop decieving the poor illiterate people of Pakistan. ….u all r chorr… chorr n chorr.. this is all topi drama from u ………….

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Million Dollar Question!!!
    What is the difference between PML(Q) and PPP?
    In the current politics, it is just two parties with difference in names. Both have Musharraf as the chief head. Shujaat has been replaced by Zardari.
    Rest of the analogies you could develop yourself.
    One says Parha Likha Punjab and the other says Karkun Shaeed Bhutto Roti Kapra Makan
    Both got support of JUI(F) and MQM
    I think the difference is only support of ANP. I think it will change soon as well.

• kinnare said:

@tanweer, it is hard for most of drawing room politician to understand between PPP and PMLQ or PMLN..

I will try to make some sense for you their are two parties in Pakistan since 1970 one PPP and other is establishment. PMLN PMLQ, MQM, IJI, JUI, JI are all part establishment. This has to be appriciate that NS cheque come from Bank of America, through its branch in Saudi Arabia.

• Amir Hameed said:

“Karachi land scam officer receives death threats”:
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=112982

Is there a need to have the justice system protect people who reveal these types of scams against the mighties? Not in the dictionary of Zardari the snake.

“PPP MNA tells strongman Zardari to restore judges”
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=112978

I give kudos to Nasreen Chaudhry, MNA from Multan, for telling Zardari the snake on his face that the judges need to be restored.

BTW, AA is frustrating the heck out of me. I am so close to start calling him a wuss. He can not have it both ways. He needs to make a decision on which side he is. Otherwise, he will loose all the respect that he has gained. I am also tired of his same rant on every TV program about Moshe KKB (Kutti Ka Bachcha) that how he is an illegal president and that how he sent those 60 judges home with the stroke of a pen. Oh, we get it, now what? Are you going to do something about Zardari’s tripple-standard politics or not. At least have the courage to pass right comments on what he has been doing.

• Amir Hameed said:

@kinnare
    This seems to be your favourite phrase … there are two parties … blah blah blah … yatti yatti yatta.

Try to reason with logic and not with cliches.

• mbokhari said:

“So, I say, do THE OPPOSITE OF whatever the hell Jamat Islami is telling you to do. May the force be with you!”

Haha…Reminds me of that old Seinfeld episode where George decides to do exactly opposite of what he has been doing all his life. Works out just fine for him. I remember he flipped back to his old self but I don’t remember why.

I think NS has great potential to be a revolutionary. He could be what IK could never be and what Qazi has wet dreams of being. It won’t be a problem even with Qazi on board as the lawyers will cancel the Qazi out…::-)

Nawaz Sharif has been doing ‘ekla cholo re’ in pursuit of principles ever since he came back. I hope that he ignores the terror of the thunder, the darkness of the night and ignites his heart with the lightning of our suffering and walk in its light.

Ekla Cholo re. Nawaz Sharif, you have Tagore’s blessings.

• nota said:

@mbokhari
    “More than 50 foreign companies have set up R&D facilities in Pakistan recently. Some of these include multinationals such as GE, DuPont, Bell Labs, IBM and Microsoft. In the business of automobiles, Pakistan manufactures and sells engine components to five of the world’s largest manufacturers. Suzuki and Hyundai are recent entrants to the manufacturing buzz in Pakistan setting up full-fledged plants, with Pakistan taking its rank as the ninth largest automobile manufacturer in the world.”

But what good is ANY of it if brings no benefit to the people of Pakistan (except a tiny segment)? Reminded me of the documentary on Nike that showed that though supplying the world with shoes, most of their factory workers can not afford shoes them selves.

• mbokhari said:

I guess you are talking about the whole sweatshop, capitalist pig thing. I agree. Outsourcing and globalisation of labor has led to exploitation and unfair trade. But still, these enterprises have tertiary benefits that trickle down to the poorest. The factories provide at least survival wages. The MNC’s keep the engine of economy humming. More people can afford atta, medicines and banaspati ghee.

But, anyway, take this guy with a pinch of salt. He is not a real journalist. No Saudi journalists are real journalists, they are just hacks hired to be mouthpieces of the police state.

What is real and actual exploitation in Pakistan is price fixing, hoarding and speculation in real estate, currency and stock exchanges. Thats the “dribble down” theory of Stephen Colbert. The fatcats gobble up all resources, some of the crumbs and juices dribble down their beards where the poor cling to tbe beard, climb up and slobber up the dribbled nutirtion….

• urazzaq12 said:

The good Sharif:
    http://thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=112995

Battleground Punjab:
    http://thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=112990

Managing a coalition:
    http://thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=112993

It’s amazing to see PPP getting exposed allover in the media, and now people of Pakistan are aware where PPP stands. And I think PPP is mistaken just like Q-league that whatever the media may say, people won’t give a damn about it, and they can continue with their hypocrisy.

• GM said:

Pakistani ambassador to Afghanistan Tariq AzizudDin has been released after 96 days.

• kafka8 said:

lawyers march 10 june??..can someone throw light on why they have given this 23 day gap period?? are ‘they’ trying to fizzle it out…give time to ppp-z…whats the logic behind this particular date? who is asif ali zardari to instruct the law minister (to pay the deposed judges?) what a bloody sham? YRG…shove your PMship up your ppp-ZIT !!

• nota said:

@kafka8
    I was afraid of this. Dare I say it has to do with Aittzaz being a jiyala first?

YRG is off to Egypt to meet his masters at the WEF and share a drink with Hosni so doubt he will be listening.

• TK said:

@kafka8: that _is_ thuthpithious! maybe they are giving them time to do this in the budget session? Could also be that AA is trying to do AAZ a favor… ?? like he did when he told people to “forget may12″ … You see, now it seems he already knew Zardaro’s tack so he was starting to smooth out the lawyer’s resistance to it.. months in advance..

anyways.. I don’t want to malign AA too much.. but I sometimes get a whiff of opportunist-ambition from his side too which kind of startles me.. but then everything is hunkey-dorey for a few more weeks..

P.S Zardari has already started to refer to the govt. as “Meri GuvminT” ,”Ham Hukm deNgay” etc… YRG is a rubberstamp.. I wish he really _was_ the PM with the powers… wouldn’t that be great.. a half decent guy with the power to govern instead of reptiles incharge?

• TK said:

Hussain Haqqani defends Unkle Sam:

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20080517/Sub_Images/1100408208-1.gif

Does a bear sh!t in the woods?

• nota said:

@kafka8
    Just wanted to add:
    Aitzaz reminds me of US presidents / presidential candidates who are only fully committed to one thing: “UNCONDITIONAL support to Israel.”

• kafka8 said:

@TK and NOTA

ah…Aitezaz !! prove our fears wrong…!

• TK said:

NikhaTToo Jurnails worth 500 MILLION DOLLARS Each!

The common soldier doesn’t even get proper pension:

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20080517/Sub_Images/1100408456-2.gif

Just wait till these soldiers join the rest of the bhukka naNgaa’s of Pakistan.

• nota said:

“Hussain Haqqani defends Unkle Sam:”

Man you should have heard the 2 minute advert GEO did on Haqqani disguised as news on GEO News last night. It went something like:
    “Haqqani is the best ambassador Pakistan could have appointed, said Senator X. Senator Y said it does not matter who wins election in US as Haqqani has great relationship with both. Senator Kennedy sais Haqqani is very smart and intelligent and can express himself eloquently. Senator Z said Pakistan has nothing to worry since Haqqani is there……” and it went on and on and on. It was so bl**dy ridiculous.
    (sorry I just remember the name Kennedy)

• kafka8 said:

i saw that too….GEO can be downright shameless at times….nay, is shameless most of the times. Hamid mir…and Shahid masood are rare exceptions. i think the article was in Washington Post.

isn’t VOA carried on GEO too…wonder how much GEO makes on that cockabull per-ad-vert ?

• muchng said:

“Hussain Haqqani defends Unkle Sam:”

Please for God’s sake, spare him.

He is only performing his duties whole heartedly.

• kafka8 said:

@tk and nota

and with the coming of muck, it can only get muckier!! mucking mhit!

• TK said:

@nota: “you should have heard the 2 minute advert GEO did on Haqqani disguised as news on GEO News last night”

I guess this was to make up for the drubbing he got from that hack Dr. Shahid Masood!

• Saqib said:

@mbokhari

“I think NS has great potential to be a revolutionary.”

Lol….We have had many potential Che Guevara’s, Fidel Castro’s etc. but unfortunately whenever they had the possibility the screwed up all the chances to deliver what is required. The oppressed people of Pakistan has just been left gaping almost each and every time. I agree that NS and his second string has had the right STATEMENTS, but what is required is the RIGHT ACTIONS, when you have power. In my opinion it is too early to say whether NS has changed himself to a real democrat or he is just another AZ waiting for his part of the cake.

All the talk about a merger between N and Q is also worrying since it is only a short term solution i.e. like p!ssing in the pants to keep warm. I would advice for long term solutions to break the back of parties like PPP-Q, but for that NS may have to wait for next elections. The question is he able to control himself and other politicians from the party to be patient? Maybe they need someone else as a leader to have such patient work. I would much rather see a man like JV as the spearhead for PML-N.

Btw I don’t think the next elections are too far away. If PML-N can hold it’s nerves then they will be able to form a formidable alliance with PTI to crush all the political wh0res.

• TK said:

@nota:

US presidents / presidential candidates who are only fully committed to one thing: “UNCONDITIONAL support to Israel.”

OT, but it boggles my mind.. how did the Jews in america accomplish this? while the arabs/muslims have just managed to look slightly better than child molesters? (the population sizes are not that different .. the Jews have been here longer .. but really.. what’s the geedaR singhi?)

I know the mullah types say “kufur is ummat-e wahid” but really.. has anyone studied as to what makes the Jews “Tick” ?? … in _any_ society.

be it

Egyptions
    Greeks
    Romans
    Muslims
    Christians
    Modern Europe..
    United States..

There is something to study and research here. What makes the US Presidents turn into little b!tches in front of only one group?

• nota said:

I think it has been studied more than enough but those who do are side-lined as crazies and “anti-semites”….

• econfused said:

@TK anf others

Did I miss the press conference of Aitezaz and lawyers convention OR te news channels has decided not to provide TV coverage. I noticed GEO was running ticker about long march, while AAJ was showing that dumb Rehman Malik conference.

Without media coverage lawyers movement can definitely be toned down.

• TK said:

@Saqib:

“I would advice for long term solutions to break the back of parties like PPP-Q, ”

Although I agree with your general sentiment, I think Q or any other Lota Parties are an emergent phenomenon based on the Feudal mindset and injustice that exists in the society.

The only thing that has and can break Q’s be they PPP or PML would be the rising level of awareness in the population (and education)…

Otherwise, these very same people will just make another party and call it somethingelse-Q or F or J or whatever..

@nota:

Oh yeah.. forgot about that… but you know that itself is part of the “network” that acts in unison while appearing to be ‘co-incidental and non-connected”

hmmm ..

• zenith said:

Nazir Naji is a true SOB. In todays Pachas Minute on geo, he is spewing out venom against PML-N and lawyers.

• Amir Hameed said:

@Admin,
    Based on what we are seeing of Aitezaz Ahsen recently, I would suggest that you open a topic on something like “Is AA still sincere to the lawyers cause” or something along these lines.

• Amir Hameed said:

One caller in Bolta Pakistan had hoped/wished, based on the decoits’ burning incident in Karachi, when these politicians who have done nothing but weaken the country would meet the same fate. Moshe KKB (Kutti Ka Bachcha) should be the first in line along with a few four star generals, followed by the likes of Zardari the snake, lotas from Q league, Maulana Diesel, and the list goes on.

BTW, it is my opinion that this reptile Zardari’s GUDDI will not stay that high for too long. He is just a pawn or a little piece in the larger game plan of US, UK, Moshe KKB and the our army brass. He will meet his well deserved fate in the future at the hand of the same people who he is trying to give a safe passage.

• Amir Hameed said:

Ayaz Amir: “A country in the grip of small men”
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/arc_news.asp?id=9

Ayaz Amir is changing his tone slowly and it is quite evident from his recent articles:

Whatever their differences on the judges’ issue there are other issues on which they are in broad agreement. The popular mood is ugly and is getting desperate. Except for the very well-off, everyone else is feeling the impact of inflation.

• TK said:

@Amir Hameed:

He will meet his well deserved fate in the future at the hand of the same people who he is trying to give a safe passage.

I think so too.. To get a sense of how Umreeka Bahadur treats its slaves, check out final moments of their maha-b!tches, Mr. Saddam himself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBF8p9lsAb0&feature=related

Those who live like Dogs, deserve to die like dogs at the hands of their foreign masters.

• TK said:

Shireen Mazari Sacked by Haqqani and friend on 15 minute notices

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=112973

@Amir Hameed: ur link is broken

• muchng said:

“Is Zardari a leech or a parasite?

A PML sympathizer asked this question and was thence trashed on being so base and mean.

• muchng said:

“Is Sharif corrupt or hypocrite?”

The Jiyala in turn asked this question and was thence trashed on being so base and mean.

• kafka8 said:

and then kali matia said ..jo altaf ka ghaddar hai…woh maut ka haqdar hai….and thence another kali matia burnt him alive.

• TK said:

@muchng: I’m waiting for you to bestow your pearls of wisdom regarding one Altaf Chooran Wala upon us mere mortals.

• Amir Hameed said:

@TK,
    Here is the complete aricle from Amir Ayaz. The link was part of the back issues and for some reason was not pointing correctly:
    ————
    A country in the grip of small men
    Friday, May 16, 2008
    By Ayaz Amir

Just last week I was saying (or was it opining?) that this coalition would endure. Well, that wasn’t analysis; it was the triumph of hope over reality. I was expressing a wish and making the wish sound like a profound appraisal of the national situation. It has taken just a week–a long time in politics, didn’t Harold Wilson say?–for my enduring coalition to come unstuck, or at least under strain, with PML-N ministers walking out of the federal cabinet on the judges’ issue. So much for wishful thinking.

Somehow happiness doesn’t last very long in our climate. The euphoria sparked by the Feb 18 election has already evaporated. The people of Pakistan voted for change. What they are getting is more of the same. Somehow we just can’t manage things. Getting things right politically, ensuring stability, focusing on basic issues ailing the nation seem beyond the capability of our political or governing classes.

The people proved, not for the first time, their acute sense of political judgment, giving a thrashing long to be remembered to the stalwarts, symbols and pillars of the Musharraf order. But what are they getting for their pains? The political leadership, all its leading lights throwbacks to an earlier era, is failing to measure up to popular expectations. While the wisdom of the Pakistani people stands vindicated, the inadequacy of the political leadership stands exposed.

This is not a conscious betrayal of popular expectations; it is a betrayal by default, brought about by shallowness and opportunism of the worst kind. We always knew that the political leadership was inadequate and that it would have to show exceptional wisdom and maturity to get the transition from authoritarianism to democracy right this time. But that it would show signs of stress and failure so soon comes as a surprise even for hardened pessimists. The people of Pakistan are being prepared for another lesson in higher cynicism.

When the country needed, above anything else, calm and stability, it is being pushed into another round of uncertainty and instability. The exploration of new allies for the PPP government at the centre has already started while in Punjab various horses and forward blocs (always a sign of danger) are out in the field, sizing up different options and conjuring up various permutations of change.

My all-time favourite intriguer, someone in a class of his own, is friend and National Assembly colleague, Mian Manzoor Wattoo. There is a new glint in his eyes these days. Indeed, all those who thrive in a climate of intrigue–and there is no shortage of this kind in the lush political fields of Punjab–have come alive all of a sudden. The people of Pakistan be damned; the political elite is bracing itself for exciting times.

Even the projected appointment as Punjab governor of Salmaan Taseer (congratulations Salmaan for finally making it up the greasy pole) is a pointer to what may be brewing in the minds of the PPP leadership. It would be surprising if appointing a sharp one like him to this position at this juncture is just an accident. Remember Governor Altaf Hussain and the role he played in the Punjab crisis of mid-1993? Together with Manzoor Wattoo, who earned his political spurs during that tumultuous interlude, Governor Altaf engineered the downfall of the PML-N government in Punjab. Governor Taseer is not being appointed to count the trees in the Governor’s House.

Will Taseer be up to the task? I have my doubts (although like my fond prediction of the enduring-ness of the federal coalition I could be wrong yet again). Altaf had a feel for Punjab politics which Taseer, a drawing room champion, may lack. All the same, Mark Antony comes to mind. Having worked up the Roman mob after Caesar’s killing, what does he say? “Now let it work. Mischief, thou art afoot, Take thou what course thou wilt.” Exaggeration? Perhaps, but not far off the mark considering that the post-election euphoria has already given way to a sense of foreboding.

Part of the problem was us, the Pakistani people, looking for heroes where none existed. We put exaggerated hopes in Asif Zardari who was pulled centre-stage after the assassination of his wife, Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto. We withheld judgment and gave him an extended period of grace, shutting our eyes to the fact that he had skeletons in his cupboard and his past made him a hostage if not to fortune at least to unfolding events. So even though banal phrases played on his lips we gave him the benefit of the doubt by reading in them the cadences of the statesman who existed only in our imagination.

Now reality is coming home to roost and we are dismayed. Zardari was never going to be instrumental in restoring the judges. He made his intent loud and clear to whoever talked to him in private. But in public he spoke with what now can only be called a forked tongue and Nawaz Sharif believed him or pretended to believe him. But Nawaz Sharif had little choice. He could not restore the judges on his own and as he had gone out on a limb on this issue–even requiring PML-N candidates before the election to take an oath for their restoration–he had no choice except to believe, or pretend to believe, Zardari’s honeyed assurances.

But too many deals were involved, too many assurances given to third-party mediators or interlocutors. For being able to make a bid for power, the PPP and Zardari were beholden to the United States in large measure and even to Pervez Musharraf in a limited sense. The reprieve or pardon that Zardari received via that piece of hilarious comedy, the National Reconciliation Ordinance, was part of the understandings arrived at between the concerned parties much before the people of Pakistan delivered their verdict on Feb 18.

So how was Zardari a free agent? And if he wasn’t that it was foolish to invest high hopes in him regarding the restoration of the judges. The triumphant return of My Lord Iftikhar Chaudhry to the Supreme Court, to national applause, was just not part of the agreed scenario. The PML-N’s mistake lies in not giving due importance to this circumstance. It believed the honeyed assurances when there were enough grounds to be sceptical and, consequently, cautious.

Zardari counters by urging ‘pragmatism’ (in Pakistan often near-cousin to hypocrisy) because he says it is not the struggle of the Pakistani people but the role of outside powers (for which read the United States) which has been vital in Pakistan’s transition to democracy. He is right up to a point. The United States put pressure on Musharraf to take off his uniform. That is what undercut his position because if he had still been army chief he would have been in a better position to influence the elections.

But Zardari is wrong in not giving enough credit to judicial resistance and the lawyers’ movement, the real factors which weakened Musharraf and made him look a stricken figure in western eyes. Musharraf’s unravelling began on March 9 last year when My Lord Chaudhry stood up to him. Everything else followed. A weakened Musharraf was more susceptible to American pressure. A strong Musharraf could have insisted on his original game plan of holding elections while still in uniform.

Zardari thus may be beholden to America but he forgets the obligation he and his party owe to the Pakistani people, the judges who confronted Musharraf and the lawyers who kept the flames of resistance alive throughout 2007.

But enough of carping. Whether anyone likes it or not, Asif Zardari and Nawaz Sharif are the key players on the national scene and the task of steadying the nation’s ship and warding off the ghosts of uncertainty and instability devolve upon their shoulders. Whatever their differences on the judges’ issue there are other issues on which they are in broad agreement. The popular mood is ugly and is getting desperate. Except for the very well-off, everyone else is feeling the impact of inflation. We are in for a long, hot summer in any case. The last thing Pakistan needs is another round of open or surreptitious political warfare.

Email: chakwal@comsats.net.pk
    —-

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ ALL except kinnare
    Leave kinnare alone coz he is too dumb. He does not make any sense. His info is incorrect. He thinks and believes that crow is white and not black and that is his firm position. For example you tell him that PML WAS IN SOLID FORM WHEN PPP WAS NOT EVEN IN ITS LIQUID FORM. But he will disagree with you. He will say 1970 PPP came into being so PPP is the oldest party. He says1970 means older than 1947. So you see we cannot argue with him. HIS CROW IS WHITE.
    I HAVE ASKED HIM SO MANY QUESTIONS TO ANSWER WITH REASONS BUT HE NEVER USED A REASON. On the other hand, he start saying NS check comes from Bank of America via Saudia and if you ask him for the source of his info or evidence then he starts saying something else. I thought might he works for NS to bring his money from BOA to saudia and then to NS.

• muchng said:

“Is Altaf Hussain a Bhai or Don”

Both Jiyala and PML worker were gunned down. These workers might not have this fate, had they known that AH is a Ter******

• Amir Hameed said:

….Mazari clearly told him that her sacking was because of her independent views that had upset the US camp, which was dictating to the PPP government…..

A well-planned purge process is being carried out by the fokking servants of the US. Mazari was one of the vocal critics of the US policies and it is of no surprise that she was asked to leave in a humiliated manner. Haqqani has been given a list of tasks by his US masters and he will execute them to their wishes.

You know how we relate black sheeps and moles to “Mir Jaffer”; I wonder if it is time to change this analagy because if we look around, we will see many who have clearly surpassed the then “Mir Jaffar”.

• Amir Hameed said:

@BABU
    LOL :-)

• BABU FROM USA said:

I am going to log out guys. Allah Hafiz.

• mbokhari said:

REAL QUESTION

“Is Altaf Hussain a Goat or a Hindu Goddess?”

Tough Question.

• kafka8 said:

@dmin

anything being uploaded anytime soon??

• Amir Hameed said:

@mbokhari,
    This is an easy one. Altaf Hussain is the reincarnation of a Hindu goddess in the shape of a goat.

• kinnare said:

I hope that Lawyers would march toward GHQ in Rawalpindi and not toward parlaiment to weaken the parliament.

• kinnare said:

Ayaz Amir is another hater of PPP he was part and parcel of Establishment.

• GM said:

@ Kinnare

Its a news for me that Ayaz Amir was part n parcel of Establishment and he is a PPP hater.
    Please do give me a reference or apologise and feel ashamed for telling lies.
    Now for your information, his father Amir Khan was MNA from chakwal on PPP ticket in 1970.

• Amir Hameed said:

@kinnare
    The parliment has no powers, thanks to the fokking reptile, Zardari, and the likes of him for strengthening the Establishment. And Yes, we know that there are two political parties in Pakistan… blah blah blah …. yatti yatti yatta.

And, yes, those who criticize PPP must be PPP haters and not because they have some brain that they use from time to time. PPP is part of establishment now.

• kinnare said:

@amir Hameed, I think you are wrong PPP is not part of establishment and will newer be. If Parliment has now power it is not because of PPP but the reason is seventeen amendment. which was done with the help of JI JUI and other People inthe parlaiment of that time.

I do not mind if some one criticize PPP, but the fact remain what it is. PPP media trail start as soon as PPP comes to government this nothing new I am looking this for last forfty years.

• kinnare said:

@GM, Ayaz Amir was in Pakistan Army.

• kafka8 said:

admin…any new ones for the viewing..sire?

• GM said:

Latest News..

Manzoor wattoo appointed as Advisor to Prime Minister

• savage said:

@GM

“Manzoor wattoo appointed as Advisor to Prime Minister”

A big slap for kinnare like peoples. Keep it PPP show us your real face, don’t be shy ,you still have supporters, right Kinnare sir? :)

• kinnare said:

@savage, Thank you for title. HA HA HA

• sota said:

@GM and Kinara

I know ayaz amir from university time .yes he was in the army but was inducted in civil service by bhutto government .he was third secretary in russia when his father a PPP mna from chakwal was murdered .later he did his master in .He is any thing but pro establishment . He was part PSF in his university time .he is considered the most progressive thought and hates the religious parties

• nota said:

“Shireen Mazari Sacked by Haqqani and friend on 15 minute notices
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=112973

So I was right :)

Here is my post from 3 days ago:

nota on May 14th, 2008 9:46 am

Shireen Mazari removed from Institute of Strategic Studies.

No surprise there since her latest articles were pointing finger at U.S. So I guess U.S. State Dept told Haqqani who told Qureshi who obliged.

Another feather in the cap of PPP for Jiyalas to be proud of.

• kafka8 said:

this bit about shireen mazari is odd….she is supposedly part of the ‘establishment’ …you dont get to be Director ISS without ;connections’

that the umreeki face of the establishment has an upper hand is obvious, but how long will the ‘other’ one stay dormant.???

• muchng said:

Shireen Mazari is part of the establishment–her father was an MNA.

Her brother worked as a DC in the bureaucracy.

It is only during the last few years that they did not get their “DUE” share in the plunder and that led her to write against Uncle Sam.

• nota said:

@muchng
    According to pejamistri and the News she certainly was getting her right share…

• Amir Hameed said:

@Kinnare
    —-
    If Parliment has now power it is not because of PPP but the reason is seventeen amendment. which was done with the help of JI JUI and other People inthe parlaiment of that time.
    —-

Huh! dude, if what you were trying to say was that the powers were given to the presedent by JUI-F in the form of 17th ammendment and not by PPP then you are right. BUT, how would you explain: a) PPP in bed with the same Fazlu who had bestowed this “meharbani” on the nation? b) Now that PPP is in a position to do something about it because of support from PML-N and the civil society is also willing to back it up if it does the right thing then why is this reptile Zardari’s legs shaking and instead of doing the right thing he is also in bed with Moshe? Care to explain it? Look around and you will see how those who were not even elected by the masses are running the show. Care to explain why?

• muchng said:

She deserved much more than a mere pennies— $130 K is nothing much for these sharks. She was knew too much for being just offered a paltry 130 K.
    She wanted deers not mere chickens.

• kafka8 said:

admin…any hint on whats to come tonight and when?

• Kruman said:

Slaman Taseer’s Son Dressed up as Captain Cond0m
    ===========================================
    http://www.newsindia-times.com/nit/2005/01/21/wedding-26top.html

Lady Ella Gabriella, daughter of Prince and Princess Michael of Kent, and an aspiring journalist, is planning to marry her Indian boyfriend Aatish Taseer, a trainee reporter for Time magazine in London, according to news reports.

Lady Gabriella, 23, the 30th in line to the British throne, met Taseer when she was studying Spanish and English literature at Brown University in the United States and he was at Amherst College, Massachusetts, working part-time as a segxual health campaigner dressing up as ‘Captain Cond0m.’

Lady Gabriella, 23, the 30th in line to the British throne, met Taseer when she was studying Spanish and English literature at Brown University, Rhode Island, and he was at Amherst College, Massachusetts.
    Taseer, 24, who was born in Mumbai, is the son of Salman Taseer, a Muslim from Pakistan, and noted journalist Tavleen Singh.

“Prince and Princess Michael of Kent will announce that their elegant 23-year-old daughter is to marry Aatish early this year,” The Sunday Telegraph was quoted as saying.

The Prince and the Princess are both Catholics but they have no problem with Taseer who, although born of a Muslim father, is said to be a practicing Sikh. In fact, the Princess, who considers Taseer as one of the most handsome young men, has been quoted in newspapers as saying she would have no objection if Prince Williams married a Muslim girl. The Prince and Princess had reportedly flown earlier to meet Taseer’s mother in New Delhi, reports said.

The couple are likely to live in India after Taseer’s stint as a trainee in London gets over.

“I will be heading back to India to pursue my career,” Taseer was quoted as saying in The Times of India. “The opportunities in media out there are excellent and I am determined to give it a go. I have lived here in London and in New York, but Delhi is where I am from and where I want to be,” he told the newspaper.

• kafka8 said:

but she stood up when moshe began to sell off pakistan bit by bit…

i think i saw her taking part in the lawyers march too.

• nota said:

@kafka8
    Exactly. Must say I was surprised by her latest stand and so not surprised by her firing. That is why when i heard about it, the first thing that popped into my head was “Haqqani did it!”

• nota said:

@Kruman
    “Taseer who, although born of a Muslim father, is said to be a practicing Sikh”

One could say:
    “Salman who, although born of a Muslim father, is said to be a Sick mofo”

• kafka8 said:

there should be a “people to watch’ list ….and haqqani should be on it.

• nota said:

@kafka8
    “there should be a “people to watch’ list ….and haqqani should be on it.”

He’s been on my watch list for years :)

• sota said:

Shiren Mazari is the dauhter of Bikh shir Mazari and a white mother .No doubt his father is fedual but also the brother of shir baz khan mazari.

Again she represents the progressive forces not the feudal forces .

• Tanweer Amjad said:

Million Dollar question put by Ayaz Amir at the end of ‘Pachaas Minute’
    Only one person took the cases of poor people in the highest court of Pakistan, and that hero is finding it difficult to find justice for himself by a high mandate party.
    I am unable to copy it since it was put in a better way.
    Justice is the biggest issue. And if Zardari is not here in Pakistan because of NRO or any under-table deal he should be brave enough to face all cases in the true court.

• urazzaq12 said:

Will you be uploading today’s “50 Minutes” sooner or later..?

• kafka8 said:

nazir naji is epitome of yellow journalism.

• FSM said:

@sota

Shirin Mazari ….is she daughter of Balkh Mazari or Aashiq Mazari???

• kinnare said:

@Tanweer Amjad, can you name the CJ who allow General of Pakistan Army to rule over the country and make amemdment in constitution.

Shahid Kinnare

• Amir Hameed said:

@kinnare
    Can you name a CJ who said NO to an army dictator which had never happened in the history of this country. Can you name a CJ who took up cases of missing persons?

Ask yourself, why is CJ so popular? Has any CJ ever became so popular?

• Amir Hameed said:

“Smiling all the way, Chaudhrys outsmart Musharraf, Nisar”
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=113275

Interesting.

• kafka8 said:

AA stands up!! gives up his ticket for NA55!

• TK said:

Hey…!!! The Documents Section has a lot of goodies in it now! wow! Thanks @dmin and whomever put this list together!

http://pkpolitics.com/documents/
    :D

• kafka8 said:

@tk

you watching AA mate? feel rejuvenated..over here.

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ ALL>> Kinnare CROW IS STILL WHITE AND WILL REMAIN WHITE UNTIL HE HIMSELF OWN HIS EYES AND MIND. HE NEVER DARE TO ANSWERS MY QUESTIONS.
    First he raised the question that CJ was corrupt and when I confronted him with this that if CJ was really a corrupt person then why mush with all his power along with Zalil A.G and Khabees haramzada could not prove CJ a corrupt person in SC. But he still calls them corrupt. So he keep insisting that crow is white and not black.
    I told him already Fazlu the big fat lota have helped mush with 17th. ammendment. YA SHAYEED HI KINNARE LAGGA.

• mbokhari said:

Holy Jumping Batman! TK….

That’s what we need in the documents section. Could it be nota? or perhaps @dmin himself…

Thanks…and please keep adding more stuff.

• BABU FROM USA said:

i MEANT>>>>OPEN HIS EYES AND MIND

• TK said:

@kafka8: TK is standing up, applauding AA’s actions! :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U04ZSXyfH3k

Wake UP!! B!tches! The Time is NOW!

• TK said:

@mbokhari: Come on! take a bow.. (maybe not yet..) Admin needs to get @nota in the loop too…

I need that Tarikh-Al-Tabari! Dang it!!!

Arts and Litrature needs more love!

Thanks Admin!

• Asif said:

One of the Forgotten Pakistatni Heroes. Lets start to appriciate them.

Prof Asghar Sodai’s verse “Pakistan Ka Matlab Kia – La Ilaha Illallah” became the central slogan of the Pakistan Movement which was read by every Muslim of the Subcontinent and became the basis of the country.

Hes passed away yesterday living a very simple & modest life. I happened to see him once. He was very down to earth person that I can never forget. May Allah rest his soul in peace. Ameen

• kinnare said:

@Asif, I am sorry but I would like to state the facts about creation of Pakistan. First, Pakistan was not made for Islam. Actually Ulema of India were totally against creation of Pakistan. Mohammad Ali Jinnah was called Kafir. and their was a big resistance toward the creation of Pakistan. As every thing is lie from the establishment people Prof Asghar Sodai verse was not creat until after creation of Pakista

• GM said:

@ Kinnare

i totally disagree with u. u r always here for ur irrational comments and far from reality and facts.

It is NOT true that ulema of India were against creation of Pakistan.
    Only Mulla of a certain faction were against and those Munafiq Mullas are the first Love of ur beloved zardari (Mulla fazlu).

Infact majority of muslim ulema not only supported Pakistan movement , they also had active participation in Pakistan movement. Refer to All India Sunni conference In Banaras (1946) where the resolution stated that even if Mr. Jinnah disowns the demand for an independent state for Muslims (Pakistan), we will continue this struggle.
    Most of the ulemas were active members of Muslim League and MSF (like Molana abdusSattar niazi)

So please dont distort the facts. If in ur eyes hypo Mullas like Fazlu are’ulemas’, then no one can help you out.

• TK said:

If you want to see Yellow Journalism at it’s best WORST! … watch the 50 minutes of 17 May…

Imtiaz Alam and Nazir Naaji have let go of _any_ sense of propriety and respect for the intelligence of the Pakistani People and are supporting the NON-Democratic agenda to the hilt!

• GM said:

@ TK

actually there is some difference of programme schedule (b/w UK and Pakistan)for some of GEO programmes (like Left Right and 50 Minutes). So i think it will be uploaded on Pkpolitics in cpl of days.

• savage said:

MARDAN: 13 people have been killed and 22 others have been injured in blast in Mardan, the reports said. The blast occurred in a bakery in PRC market of Cant area of the city, media reports said.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=45797

It is aftermath of Bajaur missile strike, poor jawans are again at receiving end just because they are soft targets.

• Asif said:

@ Kinnare

If you don’t know Prof Asghar Sodai, then keep your nose poking into your dears & near ones to whom ever you like, I won’t mind.
    I have met with that great man & happened to spend a day with him while at an award ceremoney at a school. So keep these people away from our stagnant & stinky thinking.

Soory for any comments that appears to you be offensive.

good decision by AA to withdraw his papers from NA55.

• imalik5525 said:

@aftab
    its a good decision but it made me worried that shiekh rasheed might win again…….can ppp or pmln still put some candidate on na 55??

• TK said:

The state of Mental Health Care in pakistan:

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20080518/Sub_Images/1100408934-1.gif

Also, the state the Mental Health in Pakistan: (graphic picture)

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20080518/Sub_Images/1100408911-1.jpg

• TK said:

Who are these people? and why do “educated” people accuse their enemies of “blasphemy” ?

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20080518/Sub_Images/1100408973-1.jpg

Another paRha likha Jaahil like TeeNDoo could probably answer this question.

• ataraxis6 said:

Pakistani Politics explained in the context of game theory.

Capital suggestion-Game theory and the PPP by Dr Farrukh Saleem
    http://thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=113297

• kafka8 said:

@atraxis

thanks for the link. great read. totally agree with the author.

which candidate will fight for NA55 any idea guys.

cont

sorry i meant from N-league

• sota said:

@Kinara

One of the great alam Syed Jamat ALI shah of Ali pur Saidin (Narowal District) worked for pakistan movement even when he was ill and people in those days do not have cars to go from village to village and they used charpis to take him from one village to another village because he was unable to walk .Anothe great name is Maulana Shabbir ahmed Usmani who worked very hard for pakistan movement .

• Amir Hameed said:

While I applaud and appreciate AA’s decison to withdraw from by-elections, I still believe that he should not have opted to participate in them to begin with.

Now that he has made up his mind not to contest, he should try and make the long march as successful as possible. This may be the last chance to get all the pro-judiciary forces together because people will eventually get tired and give up after repeatedly seeing all their efforts go in vain and this is excatly what the establishment , including Moshe, PPP, PML-Q, MQM and JUI-F want to see.

• econfused said:

Lateef Kinaare how is weather in TN, must be hot :)

• kinnare said:

@sota, when history talk of Ulema they mean the main stream Uleam like JI, kamal Azad, JUI Hind, etc. Even Guradian of Kaaba called Sir Syed Ahmed and Sir Sultan Mohammad Shah Kafir because ulema of Hind send a delegation to Kaaba to exclaim to theGuradian how this people are working against the nation (HInd) and Islam.

• kinnare said:

@amir Hameed, totally agree with you but one little point PPP,PMLQ, MQM,JII_F from the majoriy. And in democracy do not we have agree with majority. So that means that nation do want to restore Judges according to your logic.

• GM said:

@Aftab

i think Syed Zafar Ali Shah will be the candidate of PMLN.

@gm thnx never heard of the guy is he from pindi

• GM said:

@ aftab

Zafar ali shah is senior vice president of PMLN and he was candidate from the same constituency in 2002 elections.

• Riddle 792 said:

MQM thug getting 1st rate treatment in USA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAKso58KtEU

and then u wonder why Boucher, Negroponte and Ann Paterson are visiting him…..

• Fahim23 said:

@All

Look at the condition of family of Founder of Pakistan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQpNGecR8rQ&feature=related

That man donated his whole property to Pakistan. His home is in Karachi at least that can be given to his family for free! We are really pathetic!

• TK said:

@Fahim23: It’s weird how nobody knows the “Aaga peecha” of the founder of this nation.. I’m wondering why would he donate his property to Pakistan when he had family members that needed help… Is this guy the son of Dina Jinnah? Because she lives abroad. Or is it Fatima Jinna’s son even then he’d be nephew not grandson…

leave it to our “investigative journalists” to focus on the melodrama… facts can be established anytime.

• econfused said:

@mbokhari

I would say it did not happen, but don’t you believe in innocent until proven guilt?

• econfused said:

@fahim23

Wow, so you are still lurking on these forums :) so what are your thoughts on leader of PPP?

• Amir Hameed said:

@kinnare
    —-
    ….one little point PPP,PMLQ, MQM,JII_F from the majoriy. And in democracy do not we have agree with majority. So that means that nation do want to restore Judges according to your logic….
    —–
    Here is a little point for you as well. The nation did give mandate to these ba$tards to work for them and not to sell their souls to the devil, which is exactly what they they have done. You see, on paper, MMA (JUI-F, JI, etc.) had the mandate of people in the previous government but do you think that their sell out for the 17th ammendment was done as a representative entity of the masses? think long and hard and then try to come up with a logical answer.

• Amir Hameed said:

ANsar Abbasi reports: “Package on judges within a fortnight”
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14783

• kinnare said:

I support the formula that no CJ Iftakar no CJ Dogar. Complete selection of new judges who have never taken oath under PCO. This would be according to Charter of Democracy.

• Amir Hameed said:

Hamid Mir reports: “Tension between Zardari, Shahbaz mounts over jailed chief editor”
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14784

This coalition will not last for too long now. This also highlights the need of an independent and strong judiciary so that everyone can get justice. It also shows that how those who are friends of someone in the government have far better chances of getting released than those who do not, which is over 99% of this nation.

• kinnare said:

@amir Hameed, I never said that we have to agree with majority. But you have to respect majority.

Second, MMA what ever you so say did voted for 17thamdent rest of parlaimnet had accept it. even today it is a law which is keep MUSH in the power.

Third, PPP did not get singl vote for the restroration judge. Yes it was an issue but it was not the only issue like PMLN. For PMLN thay thoudh that they would rule the country for next five if they won the election on only one issue very sad for Pakistan.

• Amir Hameed said:

Brig Ejaz Shah moves to Australia
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14792

This is what they do; fock the country and then go live abroad.

• rasheed said:

@kinnare,

You said “Removal of CJ will be according to Charter of Democracy”.

Can you tell which clause of CoD says that?

• kinnare said:

@amir Hameed, that what they have been doing for last sixty years. Do you know that General of Pakistan get 250 acres of land. I ask why?know

Do you Gen Mush is Numadar of Chack 13 Bhawalpur.

• kinnare said:

@rasheed, clause 3, 3a, and 3b their are several programme that explain that.

• Amir Hameed said:

@Kinnare,

….with majority. But you have to respect majority….

Have you seen the latest gallop survey that over 80% Pakistani people want the judiciary to be restored.

Third, PPP did not get singl vote for the restroration judge….

Yeah, this is the latest sh!t that the split-tounge reptile, Zardari, and the other NRO beneficiaries have coined recently. Why did not they say it openly as part of their stand before the elections that “restoration of judges will not be their priority”. But wait, then they would have gotten diddly in votes.

• Amir Hameed said:

@kinnare
    This is what BB and the foking Zardari did.

• farhan said:

@kinnare

fair enough of that formula…..but nov 3rd was an illegal act n so does NRO….n if the whole setup who brings the new judges agrees that those new comin judges are totally independant and free which they have to in the presence of vibrant media now a days….the fate of the nov 3rd action n NRO will still be decided again…..would you agree on that too….

i can give you in writing ppp is scared like a little chicken head about their NRO paper work….1.2 billion dollar reportedly have been freed to use now for AZ……would he be that stupid to let Dogar court go n hav independant and free judges to come over on which all part of society agrees……

• farhan said:

zafar ali shah from pml-n is still in contest from NA-55 n he is able to beat the sh!t out of that moron sheikh rasheed…..who truns like a little devil every now n than…

i was amazed at his statement today that i had never seen a deadline of a long march like that before…..

but if lawyers wud had given a closest date he would be the first person cryin out about oh….these are the forces who are ready for confrontation n dnt wana see democracy flourish…..the jerks like sheikh rasheed needs to be defeated on every 3 months…

like some one wins from NA-55 and resign n than sheikh rasheed fights again from there n lose until or unless he says that enough for me….

thats wt some one said on bolta pakistan long time ago…

• rasheed said:

@kinnare,

Here are all clauses from CoD that contain the word “PCO” in it:

3. (a) The recommendations for appointment of judges to superior judiciary shall be formulated through a commission, which shall comprise of the following:
    i. The chairman shall be a chief justice, who has never previously taken oath under the PCO.
    ii. The members of the commission shall be the chief justices of the provincial high courts who have not taken oath under the PCO, failing which the senior most judge of that high court who has not taken oath shall be the member

3. (b) No judge shall take oath under any Provisional Constitutional Order or any other oath that is contradictory to the exact language of the original oath prescribed in the Constitution of 1973.

—————

- The first 2 clauses are only for “commission”, not the judges themselves.

- The last clause says “SHALL”, which means “Future”. This shall be implemented from the date CoD is signed. This clause can never be considered for past, otherwise both BB or NS would have to fire the entire SC and HCs just like Musharraf did on 3rd November to implement CoD.

• Fahim23 said:

@econfused

dear mam…I think AZ moved sensibly and then all of sudden messed up! :D I just hope and pray for better.

• kinnare said:

What PPP got through NRO is Coffin of BB.
    MQM settle 2500 cases.
    we dont know wheter establishment issue NRO ordinance just malign PPP. In the other we for sure know that NS did sign deal with Gen Mush. Because whole nation saw the documents.

Gallop polls are for opinion making they hold no value in Parlaiment system.

• Amir Hameed said:

@farhan
    Yeah, I remember someone saying it on Bolta Pakistan. But Sheeda Tully is so be-ghairat that he will keep contesting.

• kinnare said:

@rcasheed that what I meant that they can appoint new set of Judges. let go both Dogar Court and Iftakar Court. I do not see any harm it. It should be acceptable to all

• rasheed said:

@kinnare,

Again you are continuing your propaganda.

Only 2 documents exist related to Nawaz Sharif.

1- NS signed the agreement with Saudi Government

2- President Rafiq Tarrar pardoning Nawaz Sharif and members of his family who were not even charged with any crime.

Can you show me any reference to any other document?

• farhan said:

imtiaz alam

http://jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/19-05-2008/col9.htm

hamid mir

http://jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/19-05-2008/col6.htm

after reading these two articles and put them in accordance with recent events….one can easily get the idea who is working for the ppp media cell…..i m stayin neutral….any body put the light will be great…

• TK said:

Zardari screwed everyone! He took advantage of the goodwill that the nation had after the feb 18th win.

I hope this fu**er pays for his treachery.

• Amir Hameed said:

@kinnare
    Actually, what BB got was trying to deviate from the script that her masters had written for her and trying to be over-smart. Why did anyone in PPP not ask the question about the whereabouts of Rehman Malik who was incharge of BB’s security? Keep in mind that Rahman Malik is a close friend of Zardari.

• kinnare said:

@Rasheed, So you do agree that President did pardon NS so why you are angry if President pardon Zardari.

• Amir Hameed said:

@kinnare
    That is not what Rasheed is saying above. Read the third clause and pay attention to the word “shall”.

It is not the entire PPP that does not want the CJ to be restored; it is the Zardari and his cronies who do not want it because they have tainted past and they are afraid that CJ will void NRO and rightfully so. The reason Moshe does not want CJ to be restored is obvious, because his mansion in Turkey is probably not ready yet and he can not pack up and go there on a short notice.

• rasheed said:

@kinnare,

First of all, I am still interested in seeing the documents between NS and Mush that
    “whole nation saw” and I missed it.

Secondly, I don’t consider Mush a President.

Thirdly, I don’t mind Mush pardoning Zardari or BB, as they already suffered too much. I am pissed off of NRO due to MQM getting hundreds of their killers released.

• kinnare said:

@Amir Hameed even if your agruement is accepted. PPP again easly bring bill in parlaiment to forgive Zardari’s unproven crimes and the problem will be solved. So PPP does not need NRO.

Yes word is shall so because it was signed in past today could be shall. I think every one should be happy if both Dogar Court and Iftakar Court and we should apoint new CJ who has never taken oath under is PCO at any point in his life nothing wrong with that.

• farhan said:

the question lies should be that if zardari n nawaz sharif got pardoned off just coz they were big fishes than why not that guy who commited suicide for just 40,000 rs.

n if zardari had to be pardoned off for $1.2 billions than why not let those robbers go in karachi who had been set on fire alive…..

why make an exception for just zardari…..

if zardari or his cronies in ppp thinks that NRO was right than they should come on the national media and spread the message to the ppl that dont burn those robbers(which was wrong any way)n let them come under NRO as it covered all the crimes done by mqm n ppp….so why not few more robbers…eh?

say it to public n ppp will get the clear answer…

• kinnare said:

@rasheed, Prince Turki of Saudia showed the document to whole nation in Pakistan I am sure you call Geo or Aaj they can pulled out from their archive.

• rasheed said:

@kinnare,

This is what I also confirmed that NS signed a deal with Saudis. That document was shown on many channels and was also shown in Supreme Court. It was proved that there was no deal between “Nawaz Sharif and General Musharraf”.

Can you find that image of that document where NS signed a deal with General Mush as you originally claimed.

• kinnare said:

@rasheed, it seem you want to live in your allusion. You are welcome.

• farhan said:

@kinnare

so you finally realise that some one else is living in illusion not allusion…apart from you….

thats wt every here in this blog tries to tell you from ages that you are living in illusion but you never listen but finally you decided that some one else living in illusion….wow

• TK said:

News item about another robber who was beaten and nearly killed in Lahore:

http://vidpk.com/view_video.php?vid=12331

• TK said:

Coming to Memri TV near you!

http://vidpk.com/view_video.php?vid=12337

WTF is wrong with these ppl?

• Fahim23 said:

@rasheed

I didnt wanted to jump in the party bashing but you wrote:

This is what I also confirmed that NS signed a deal with Saudis.

Just to make things clear who made deal with whom, I would ask you few questions and if you would be honest to yourself replying those then you will know whether NS made deal with Saudies or Musharaf (it doesn’t matter really as in both cases he made a DEAL, which is bad word only for PPP)!

1- Who was in authority to free him?

2- How Saudis reached him when he was under arrest?

3- Who pardoned him?

In nutshell

##- In whose custody NS was when he did that deal?

NS stance until this document surfaced was that he has NOT made deal with anybody, please watch Dr. Shahid Masood’s program on this issue. BB at least never denied that there is no deal between PPP and Musharaf and on right time she accepted it also.

• Kruman said:

@TK,
    AZ has tripled his personal security since the burning of the robbers.
    Why is he so afraid?

• talpur78 said:

ROBBERS BURNT TO DEATH IN KARACHI

burnt alive the robbers is a good act by citizens. I think now people are exhausted by lawand order situation, joblessness, hike the prices of essential commodities. all these factors which motivated the people to act like this manner. they have no any hope from government bodies to ease their sufferings now they opted their own way and made their own laws to punish all those who commited the illegal act at the spot. you all people know that some time ago Altaf (MQM) said that this not afghanistan this a secular city of pakistan. now i think Altaf must have to change his statement and accept the realities that Karachi is now a part of Afghanistan. but all is out come of Altaf’s terrorist activities which he has maitained since long time in the name of patriot Muhajir. To bunrt to death the roobers means now Karachian wants independence from MQM’s illegal rule over karachi.

IFTIKHAR

• farhan said:

this thing “burning alive”thing is so horondous and absurd that any one has got no idea where its goin to stop……

just yesterday i read a newstory about a little collision b/w a pick up and a bike in khi….both the parties were start arguing and all of a sudden the pick up driver start accusing those 2 bike riders of roberring and all of a sudden there was a mob and some one in that mob start urging masses to burn those 2 boys alive…..in the meantime that pick up driver just ran away n those 2 boys got rarely saved by police…

this is so dangerous and any body could be of victim in that such situation…..

i would like admin to spread the message through this website that even though they were robbering but its not ppls job to decide to punish n in a burning way…..

these things could lead to anarchy……i dont see any of these progressive or liberal minded journalists writing any thing on these issues who had spend their nights n days writing on talibans,lal masjid n so called extremism…….

this is the real extremism comin from the city who always claims they are the most educated part of pakistan…burnt alive 4 ppl in 3 days….

wt r we cryin for talinas than……

i dint see any daily times writing articles by najam sethi like the way he writes against tribal persons….

i dont see writing of hasan nisar,nazir najee,agha masood hussain…or so many others about it…mqm dont even say a word about it any more who claims that they were the best in changing the course of the city…

@admin…

you got to promote the message from your website that these things should be stopped n infact put this in headline format….if this could lead to other part of the country than this could lead to the anarchy…..any body could blame any one n he could end up in burning alive…just think about it…

appreciated…

• farhan said:

cryin for talibans

• Riddle 792 said:

Hamid Mir:Zardari wants relief for his Drug Dealer friend
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/19-05-2008/main2.htm

• busybee said:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqANqcqZO-E
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhDrf0uOwbg&NR=1

This is the height of our disgrace…. Thank u mush for dropping us so low that we cannot see the difference between filth and us….. One should not forget that we are MUSLIMS first….

what i want to know is NRO going to extend to genuine innocent people in pakistani dungeons

• Amir Hameed said:

@Kinnare,
    —-
    …..PPP again easly bring bill in parlaiment to forgive Zardari’s unproven crimes and the problem will be solved. So PPP does not need NRO….
    —–

Now that is what I call the joke of the day; Zardari does not need NRO!!!

—-
    …Yes word is shall so because it was signed in past today could be shall….
    —-

Huh?

—-
    ….I think every one should be happy if both Dogar Court and Iftakar Court and ….
    —-

Replace with word “everyone” with the “Snake Zardari and his cronies”

• Amir Hameed said:

@aftab
    My friend, you are living in dreams if you think/wish that an NRO type law will ever include common people. This was tailor made for corrupts like BB, Zardari, Rehman Malik, PML-Q lotas, MQM killers (and the list goes on) so that Moshe could get a relief which he certainly has.

• TK said:

@Amir Hameed et. al:

Does anyone have the text of the NRO ? I looked at the pakistani.org website and this is what I found:

http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/legislation/2007/NationalReconciliationOrdinance.html

I’m wondering if there is a more detailed version that covers more specific cases?

(thanks to @peja for providing a link to this site )

• Saqib said:

Sorry…it is the same link :-(

• rasheed said:

@Faheem23,

My statement was in response to Kinnare’s statement that entire nation saw the paper between “NS and General Mush”. No such paper exist and it is proven in Supreme Court of Pakistan.

Secondly, please now show me reference to your statement where NS said that no deal exist with anyone.

Thanks and awaiting for response.

• TK said:

Cup Bearer

Cup Bearer, fill the flagon, fill it high,
    Khushal shall sing of war in revelry,
    Now blood has stained the hands of the pashtun youth,
    The talons of the hawke that knows no ruth,
    For full 5 years the tribal sword has flashed,
    keen edged and bright, since first the battle clashed,
    Upon tatara’s peak, where at one blow,
    Twice twenty thousand of the moghul foe,
    Perished, wives, sisters, all that they held dear,
    Fell captive to the all conquering afghan spear,
    Next in Daoba smote we Hussain Bek,
    & Crushed his unclean head, that venomous snake,
    In all our gain was glory, our glory gain,
    Minstrels shall sing of us “Yea! these were men!”

– Khush Haal Khan KhaTTak

• TK said:

@Asif Ali Zardari:

Life’s no life when honor’s left;
    Man’s a man when honor’s kept.

Nation’s honor and nation’s fame;
    On life they have a prior claim.

With thoughts of these I do remain;
    Unvexed with cares of loss or gain.

• BABU FROM USA said:

@FAHIM23>> First of all you have mixed apple and oranges. But let me clear few things here.
    Lets start from oct 1999 since its more like between NS and mush.

1.who broke the constituition>>mush
    2. who took over an elected government illegaly by force>>mush
    3. who put the PM NS under arrest and detained illegaly>>> mush
    4.who used the SC in his favour against NS>>>mush
    5.who used all the instituitions in his favour and also in favour of all those who submitted to him>>mush
    6.who broke the constituition and the laws >>mush
    7.who was judge,jury,prosecutor and executioner>>mush

Since mush illegaly did all this on his own now let me start answering your questions.

1. you asked : who was in authority to free him>> First of all NS should not be detained or arrested in the first place but mush arrested him illegaly>>then mush free him.
    2.How saudis reached him when he was under arrest>> you need to ask that to mush>>but why the saudis were there in the first place coz NS was detained illegaly and they wanted him to be free >>they used their pressure on mush to let NS free. so mush took U TURN and freed NS.
    3. who pardoned him>> No one pardoned him>>coz NS was not convicted by an independent judiciary>> mush had no choice but to let him free.
    4. In whose custody he was when he made the deal>>> He was illegaly in mush custody >> if he made a deal or not >> in my opinion he did not make a deal with mush >> reasons>> There was no deal paper provided in the court>> only paper provided was a statement with NS signatures ONLY but if it was a deal then there should be the other party who must have signed. A Deal must have at least two parties and at least both have to sign. other reason FREE WILL is necessary for deal.

NOW YOU SEE WHY WE NEED INDEPENDENT JUDICIARY. LET ME MAKE YOU CLEAR ON ONE POINT THAT IF SOMEONE DID CRIME REGARDLESS WHO HE/SHE IS MUST BE BROUGHT TO JUSTICE AND JUSTICE MUST BE SERVED. Does not matter if it is NS,AZ,mush or anyone else.
    Now let me tell you about NRO. If AZ is really not guilty then why he choosed NRO over an independent trail. If NS committed a crime then he should be brought to independent judiciary and if convicted then must be punished and for others the same criteria.
    FOR YOUR INFO AZ HAS BEEN CONVICTED IN SWISS COURT BY DANIEL DEVAUD. YOU CAN DO YOUR RESEARCH. TRY GOOGLE.

Now just answer my one question:
    DO YOU THINK NRO IS RIGHT OR WRONG FROM YOUR HEART???

@amir hameed

i know very well that this will not extend to poor innocent people but my point is that if it does not then they should at least change the name to RFC – Reconciliation For Crooks

• savage said:

Had Iqbal been alive today, he would have killed his “Shaheen’ and burreid it in GHQ.

India to press Pak for concrete action on terror
    http://www.thestatesman.net/page.news.php?clid=2&id=204596&theme=

• TK said:

Colonel’s wife and 2 sons murdered – Batman suspected (no not THAT batman silly!)

http://dailywaqt.com/190508/Images/fp-08.gif

Given the kind of treatment these poor souls get, I’m surprised more of them don’t end up murdering their mai-baap’s

• TK said:

I’ts interesting how Moshe and Moshe-Qatil-Movement have completely disappeared from the media?

I don’t EVER see any Chooran Wala’s on any talk shows? anyone got any theories?

• TK said:

MunafiQ ki nishaani:

Va’adah karay to poora nah karay!

• BABU FROM USA said:

FIRING ON AAJ TV TEAM close to Islamabad>> LUCKLY EVERYONE IS SAFE. One person is arrested.

• BABU FROM USA said:

APDM SAID >>AZ is the hurdle in judges restoration.

• Amir Hameed said:

@aftab

RFC – Reconciliation For Crooks

You have suggested an appropriate name for NRO.

• hamidwattoo said:

See CBR chairman Yousaf Abdullah’s spectacular dance

Islamabad’s Flare magazine has posted on its website link to a private party video of Mr. Abdullah Yousaf, Chairman CBR, dancing as Musharraf, Shaukat Aziz, others, along their wives clap and enjoy…

click the link below to find out the video

http://www.flare.com.pk/Abdullah_Yusuf_dancing3.wmv

Or right click on the link and select “Save Target As”

• TK said:

Heeeeyyyy!!!! The Document Section looks GRRREEEEEAAATTT!!! Thanks @Ad_min!!! 8-)

• kafka8 said:

@tk

good show!

• savage said:

Great work pkpolitics.

• kafka8 said:

another attempted burning in karachi.!!

• BABU FROM USA said:

@hamidwatto >>>thanx for sharing >> CBR chairman>>marasi ban gai>> wat a tragedy that Nation is suffring and these HARAMKHORS are having fun on people’s money and time. Wat a shame?????

• econfused said:

@hamidwattoo

A private party, and I did not see a problem with it :) did you?

• izafar said:

An Indian man was arrested over the weekend for allegedly posting derogatory and vulgar content about Indian politician Sonia Gandhi on Google’s social networking site.

http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20080519-maybe-a-little-evil-google-outs-indian-man-to-authorities.html

“Surprisingly, the creator of the “I hate Sonia Gandhi” group was left alone, as hating prominent politicians is not illegal in India. Posting vulgar comments about that someone is, however, leading authorities to pursue Vaid.”

Constitutional package ready: Farooq Naek on geo website

• kafka8 said:

shaheen sehbai on Meray Mutabiq: Retd. Gen’s and Brig. are also planning a long march on the army house.

wow…if this pans out to be true….it will confirm the divide within the faujitanic establishment….

heady times ahead…

@dmin….live with talat..when??

• pejamistri said:

@dmin
    you may want to add the follwing book of Iqbal in the list
    http://www.allamaiqbal.com/works/prose/english/reconstruction/index.htm

• kafka8 said:

@peja

great book!

you don’t have glubb pasha by any chance?

• pejamistri said:

@kafka
    Sorry I did not hear about glubb pasha but are you referring to “The Road to Jerusalem”?

• kafka8 said:

@peja

among others….yes

i think he had 5? volumes ….

col. glubb pasha..of arab legion fame 1897-1986

• kafka8 said:

@peja

The Great Arab Conquests, Hodder & Stoughton, 1963, Prentice-Hall, 1964.
    The Empire of the Arabs, Hodder & Stoughton, 1963, Prentice-Hall, 1964.
    The Course of Empire: The Arabs and Their Successors, Hodder & Stoughton, 1965, Prentice-Hall, 1966.
    The Lost Centuries: From the Muslim Empires to the Renaissance of Europe, 1145-1453, Hodder & Stoughton, 1966, Prentice-Hall, 1967.

not to forget that he was a britsh officer…(bias/crusader/etc)..but the books are rich in dteail.

• kafka8 said:

@peja

it is the last one ; “the lost centuries”, that i am looking for.

• Zarak Khan said:

Dalrymple’s long, absorbing piece on Bhuttos and AZ

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/asia/article3932406.ece
    The Sunday Times
    May 18, 2008

• admin pkpolitics said:

I am free and feeling generous for next 60 minutes. Please tell the five free programs that you want to see excluding anything put in last 24 hours.

• Riddle 792 said:

Chairman Federal Board of Revenue Pakistan, Abdullah Yusuf Dancing to a song’s tune in a private party held in Army House Islamabad which is paid by the Poor Tax Payers Money… Musharaff, Shaukat Aziz and other Blood Sucking Mosquitoes are also present along with their wives. In the end Musharaff also starts to dance but the camera is moved away

Is this your Islamic Republic of Pakistan … !?

Spread the word

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mf-gVHOQtQA

• econfused said:

GEO Ticker:

Tariq Aziz-ud-Din was freed up by Taliban after securing release of Mullah Ubaidullah (Ex Taliban Interior Minister)

• Amir Hameed said:

The Nation reports: “Gilani raises Bajaur airstrike with Bush”
    http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Politics/19-May-2008/Gilani-raises-Bajaur-airstrike-with-Bush

Like the moron Bush cares. Why not shoot down the spy planes or the drones but wait this will require some balls which our “brave” military does not have. So, the strikes will continue, the innocents will keep dying, the “fake” protests from the government will continue, the drawing room generals will keep drinking the US coolade.

• TK said:

@Amir Hameed:

I think the military men have the *cough* cojones but the thing is that our shoopar doopar cutesy wootsy jurnails have sh!tloads of properties and assets to the tunes of millions in the US and EU…

So they’re not about to piss anyone off anytime soon. We have been made a vassal state by the very organ of the state which was supposed to protect us from exactly _that_ humiliating prospect.

Simply because our Officer’s class and bureaucracy has been compromised and our “jawaans” despite being very “professional” (pinch of salt required) have a tendency to insert a handful of ghuNgniaaN in their faces as soon as their Jurnails start doing something illegal and generally repugnant. (follwing orders you see!)

You know Pakistan could take out their fucking bases in a range of 2000 miles each way.. I mean we could take out their 2 aircraft carrier wings.. the Qatar base and possible the Iraqi presence and generally blow their fokking energy supply up big time… We got nothing to lose… we’re already in the stoneage.. (with stoneage justice to boot)

and these fuqqers have the nerve to talk sh!t to us… Where are strategic nuclear submarines when you need a few… what we need to do is convert one of those French submarines to nuclear or something… I’m really pi$$ed right now >:-(

Our rulers need to grow some ba!!s

I really like the way Putin has give a big middle finger to all the duffers who were hoping Russia would liquidate itself because they had Yeltsin all drunk and subdued and in the control of the 12 oligarchs… (who just HAPPEN to be all Scottish)

• Amir Hameed said:

@TK,
    I have said this before on one of these forums; In my family, at least five or six people have served in the army, so I have seen the army culture very closely. If I compare the residence of a UET professor to a major or a colonel then the latter beats the former by miles. Why are these army colonies kept so clean with the tax payers money while there are piles of garbage scattered all over in the civilian areas? These types of questions need to be raised openly now.

• nota said:

“You know Pakistan could take out their fucking bases in a range of 2000 miles each way.”

Remember they have been handed 3 bases right here and it is from one of them that these drones fly…. These mofos can’t even get those vacated. I don’t think these jurnails even know what cojones look like — I think they believe it means “drop you pants, turn around and bend over”

• TK said:

@nota: hehehe.. I believe the technical military term is: BOGU (Bend Over and Grease Up) ;)

You see, we posses the ultimate deterrant that mankind has been able to devise.. but we don’t have the ba!!s to use it to our advantage in the sense that we ought to be able to tell the world powers.. and I mean ANY world power to BAck the fuq off!

This gives us instant stalemate against any power.. if we play our cards properly.. but what are we doing with our cards? bending over first and then showing them to those who merely bluff us.

Just give in without putting up a fight! Not even a verbal one! Not even an attempt to get favorable terms! Good strategy Jurnails! Good strategy! You’ll be remembered in history with glowing words! COWARDS!

• Amir Hameed said:

@nota,
    You are right about the bases. Isn’t it the irony that OUR bases were awarded to the US by OUR milirary and the planes that are using those bases are killing OUR own people. I don’t know what to call it.

• TK said:

@Amir Hameed: “I don’t know what to call it.”

It’s called treachery and any nation worth its salt punishes it with death by firing squad.

in Pakistan, you get another medal for fornicating with your motherland.

• TK said:

;)

• nota said:

@Amir Hameed
    Drones reminded me of this old joke:
    “The commander in charge of the operation said sophisticated equipment had been seized, including a small, Chinese-made remote controlled drone, which he said had been used by the militants to spy on army movements and positions in the area.”

Looking for the above I came across this. Did you know we have fvcking “Marines”? That is a new one for me.

Here is another tidbit:
    Much of the U.S. bombing of Afghanistan was conducted from bases in Pakistan. (So much for the claim we only allowed our “air space” to be used)….

• imalik5525 said:

after ppp has officially jioned hands with establishment where is that childish analyst whose favourite words were “POLITICAL FORCES ARE ON OFFENSIVE AND ESTABLISHMENT IS ON DEFFENSIVE”

how naive our people are…………dont they know that politicians are parts and parcel of establishment???

• imalik5525 said:

seb ki baari hai…………..in 90s it was NS ,in 2000s it was chohdaries turn and now its asif zardari’s turn to lick army’s boots to get personal gains

• Saqib said:

@Amir Hameed

“Why are these army colonies kept so clean with the tax payers money while there are piles of garbage scattered all over in the civilian areas? These types of questions need to be raised openly now.”

This is to give a “proof” to the nation that only the army is an institution which handle affairs……. Clean roads, health facilities, law and order etc……To hell with the bloody civilians.

Sad, but true :-(

Btw civilians also take pride in living on rent in these areas. The civilians don’t even own the land. It’s on a kind of lease. Is it 99 years??

• imalik5525 said:

For Mush this phrase is so true :::::”JEB g legi phetney khairaat legi betney”

he gave away nro and now is willing to give away 58 2 b

• TK said:

@nota: maybe the drone was used to “freak out” the pakistani forces.. a psy-op as it were ;)

• TK said:

Punjab Polic: The more things change…

http://dailywaqt.com/200508/Images/p6-05.gif

• nota said:

“@nota: maybe the drone was used to “freak out” the pakistani forces.. a psy-op as it were”

Funny thing is it WORKED! See the number of brains-in-camouflage gathered around it. I mean they even called in the international press to display their big catch…

• TK said:

Musharraf’s Pakistan: After 8 years of his absolute rule, citizens are poorer than before, and having to fight like animals for a few days supply of wheat flour.

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20080520/Sub_Images/1100409865-1.jpg

musharaf kukri dance

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sUVpRLP5S4&feature=related

• TK said:

‘Justice’ of the Mob:

The reasons for this ready recourse to mob violence are obvious: joblessness and underemployment, crippling food inflation, lack of electricity, water and sanitation, as well as the air and noise pollution that is driving people to uncontrollable rage. And yes, also crime, insecurity and rising drug addiction, among other factors. Under these appalling conditions the public embraces any excuse to vent its long pent-up frustrations. Clearly, grabbing hold of a bandit and setting him on fire has more to do with the prevailing socio-economic situation than any dissatisfaction with police incompetence. The whole system is at fault.

Also…

At least one recent incident of mob violence in Karachi suggests that the victims may have been set up by individuals pursuing a personal agenda. In another it is suspected that bandits may have set the crowd on their unfortunate victims by claiming to be the aggrieved party.

• savage said:

Panjab govt anounced to give Ch. Iftikhar Chief Justice of Pakistan’s protocol.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/05/080520_rana_sana_presser_zs.shtml

just watching capital talk and they were showing clip of Chairman Federal Board of Revenue Pakistan, Abdullah Yusuf Dancing and the all of sudden they go on a break what the hell is going. why does this clip have any significance?

hamid mir cornered in capital talk by wasi zafar and farzana raja

• kafka8 said:

PPP-Z being supported by …get this…Wasi Zafar!!

sharam PPP-Z ko par nahi aati !!!!

ppp and q-league should merge, put us out of our misery with all this rubbish. farzana raja trying to spin ppp statements by saying things are not what they seem. things in most peoples mind are very clear that you are now going to give legal cover to november 3 actions. shame on you.

• savage said:

Geo is reporting that Moshe is ready to leave if PPP could indemnify his acts, what a looser he his, also PPP could never give final punch when everythings is in thier favor (I wish they prove me wrong this time).

• TK said:

Bo KaaaTaaaaaaaaa!

i can’t believe it, judging by the dictators past behavior its wishful thinking.

• savage said:

After reading this I confess ad-min have much better things to laugh at than “Hum sab umeed hain”

• savage said:

Jang linky to above report.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/20-05-2008/up87.gif

• pejamistri said:

The battle is still on [ for the disappointment of many though :) ] . PPP is refusing to give an unconditional indemnity to the actions of 3rd November. Establishment is willing to give some space to politicians if they agree on providing a “Notwithstanding….” clause in constitution.
    At the moment I am extremely glad that the victory is ours in any case. Let us first revisit the history and some context of this battle.
    1. Establishment is always ready to allow politicians to face the public specially when things are bad (remember 71-77, 89-99). They however require some sort of legal/constitutional instrument(s) that will allow them (establishment) to “fix” the politicians in case the need arise. The absence of any such instrument (ala 58-2B) forces the establishment to expose themselves not only to the public but also to the international community.
    2. During the era of 90′s establishment used the article 58-2B successfully however they always realized that they still need some better way to manage the affairs , hence the idea of “National Security Council”.
    3. Despite successful manipulation of trojan horses in the politicial parties and exploitation of the political differences and developing an animosity among the politicians , establishment faced their ultimate defeat in 1997 when the 13th amendment was passed unanimously.

Now let us look at the current scenario.
    1. In all probability the legal/constitutional instruments (58-2B/NSC) are bound to go even if they go in a quid pro quo for indemnity to actions of November 3rd actions.
    2. In all probablity the honorable judges are bound to be restored even if the Dograh judges stay.
    3. In all probability there is a very remote possibility of the bitter relations between PPP and NS, they may have differences (which they must have) , but I don’t see 90′s relations. Even if establishments tries to develop such animosity it seems it will take many years.

For the hawks of pkpolitics , did they consider why following things have (not) happened.
    1. The judges did not try to go to their benches even after 12th May. They could have even sit under the trees to hold the court. BTW one of the legal maxim is that “Judge is the court” that means court does not mean a building , a judge can sit anywhere and hold the proceedings of the court as long as he/she is a judge.
    2. Why Lawyers decided no to march towards Army house where the mad dictator is staying.
    Just so people are not flared up and start suspecting Aitzaz Ahsan as culprit , let me say that both of the above actions are because of political forces on the front foot , as they signify that political forces are making progress on their actual agenda , once their is a real “stalemate” , I would see the judges trying to hold courts under trees and lawyers trying to march towards army house. Unfortunately both of these actions will be futile remember 3rd November 2007 or 12th October 1999.

i hope when cj is back he will get rid of RFC(reconciliation for crooks) and people are held accountable including mr 10%, musharaf and anybody else who violates the constitution and breaks the law.

• TK said:

@peja LIVES!!! :D

I thought you had gone into hybernation again…!

Hey I like your analysis.. it’s got some meat to it…

BTW, the biggest indication of the new setup coming into play without Mush (IMO) is the fact that YRG went to meet pres Bush and not Moshe.

Rashid Qureshi’s recent bayans are also indicating in that direction so I think you maybe on to something …

I’m willing to hold my nose and go with “the package” if it means getting rid of Moshe and partial indemnity of nov3 but with setting a precedent that NO ONE can sack the court.. but I’d be looking to the lawyers movement and the text of the pkg to see how much treachery has been injected by one Mr. Zardari and Rehman Malik
    ;)

• TK said:

@peja:

also, there was NO plans of judges “holding court” under a tree on the dot on 12th may.. They were hoping things would go their way.. but they had to decide on the new policy (which required a convention — pesky internal democratic values) which they did…

The most immediate effect was PML-N staying the course and leaving the ministries which a LOT of ppl were saying they wouldn’t do.

I’m still not willing to believe that PML-N and PzP were doing some kind of a good/bad cop routine…. both parts are too infiltrated by moles for that to happen (moles take the news to establishment.. if they are too weak to cause real rifts right now)

The problem is not our ‘establishment’ (or Faujistanic-Kleptocracy) but the external masters who are in 95% control of our ruling apparatus. I think there is a shift happening there (in the US/UK establishments) and they are starting to realize that a revolution/anarchy in Pakistan will only benefit China because china is in play to help a nationalistic govt in Pakistan.

China will also help in a purge of the current establishment if such a mini-revolution were to take place. The end result will be a US plus Kelptocratic ‘establisment’ as Net Losers and China and Pakistani Nationalists as the ‘Net gainers’ .. this would have been clear suicide so they are stepping back from the brink …

I think we have to look at this ‘pkg’ to see what kind of stuff they got in there.. I’m sure the foreigners want to have something in their control to subvert the govt. in case they choose to attack Iran (which a democratic govt will resist)..

I think your’e portrayal of the ‘establishment and its masters’ being stuck between a rock and a hard place is true. The question is, Is Zardari going to realize this and grow some spine or give in too much just based on the bluffs the Americans are giving him thru Haqqani and Rehman Malik ???

• savage said:

Don’t get excited Mr. Khalnayak revealed on “Aaj Kamaran ke saath” that he is the sole writer of the that Package and he didn’t get any suggestion from anyone else but right after that he corrected hisself “except co-chair zardari sahib”. I would be the last one to trust PPP after seeing its post-election stances, it is even quicker than moshe to make u-turns.

• TK said:

@savage: true enough… that’s why I said we’ll have to read the package. The shameful part is that people crowing about the ‘supremacy of Parliament’ don’t seem to have any inkling of the parliamentary process..

this package should have been put to the parliament in DRAFT and then a debate should have taken place instead of an un-elected person imposing his personal WILL on it.. HOW THE FUQ is that different from Moshe doing this?

This is WRONG!

Anyhoo.. Given the recent development in Punjab, I think the ‘political forces’ are more on the war-path than the ‘love path’ and I don’t really see them going back on the ministries…

If Zardari wanted to give NS what the lawyers want.. things wouldn’t have come to this pass…

I’m giving peja’s analysis benefit of the doubt because I do think that our Kleptocracy is up sh!t creek.. but our Zardari Sb (thanks to HH and RM and Anne Pattersons “Spine Strengthening Injections”) doesn’t seem to realize it and is willing to concede to the Americans which BB would Never have (or probably Never did — all this is verbal and the only ‘witness’ is Rehman Malik — and we all know how honest and forthright HE is!)

if you indemnify november 3 2007 then this will happen again. mush should be done for treason and hanged.

• savage said:

Exactly that’s what I think, not only that, it was reported that package was sent to president house allies to be reviewed, as you said it was prepared by non-elected players also it was sent to “Moshe, the Constitutional Serial Killer” be reviewed.

Both democratic and anti-democratic forces are colliding head-on with each other, to me democratic forces are “Lawyers Civil Society Media partial APDM (IK, Achakzai sorry Qazi) PMLN” vs “Establishment Zardari Party (not PPP) “.

Anti establishment stance is only ground PMLN got to stand and fight, till now they are doing that, on the other hand, Zardari Party is being haunted by it’s past wrong-doings and being played by both nation and international establishment.

I don’t want to predict who will win but as peja put “Battle is on” .

• nota said:

“an un-elected person imposing his personal WILL on it.. HOW THE FUQ is that different from Moshe doing this?”

Pretty much the topic of today’s Live with Talat :)

• pejamistri said:

I was off for few days.. may also be off in near future. Thanks for remembering me :)
    BTW my analysis is still the same. I still trust political leaders as always. I can not agree with Anti-PPP (PML-N/IK) protestants when they say sling mud on Zardari or Anti-PMLN (PPP) protestants when they sling mud at NS , however I like when PPP jiyalas defend Zardari , IK lovers defend IK and PML-N matwalas defend NS and now Justice lovers defend CJ (for his taking oath under PCO in 2000).
    I personally believe that politics is about people , and it is a very complex subject, you are dealing with independant people who have independant opinions as well as their vested interests. I always look at the end-results in politics , these end results are achieved not by a single person or party , they are achieved by a combined affect of diverse forces working in parallel. I avoid passing judgments on people (i.e. politicians) , although I have my favorites whom I like to vote , but that never means I am passing judgement on other leaders for being good or bad , neither does it mean I am passing judgment on the leader whom I am voting for.
    Finally I always look Pakistan’s politics with black and white glasses , I only see either black (establishment) and white (political forces). I would be very happy to give my opinions about the political leaders once black is completely washed away.

P.S. I thought it is better to explain my position as I noticed I always keep confusing people with my stupid comments. On the second thought I think I have confused even more :)

• savage said:

@pejamistri.

“I can not agree with Anti-PPP (PML-N/IK) protestants when they say sling mud on Zardari or Anti-PMLN (PPP) protestants when they sling mud at NS”

That’s why I think issues should be supported not the parties and one should start thinking with his own brain, not what party propaganda feeds him.

• TK said:

@savage:

“That’s why I think issues should be supported not the parties and one should start thinking with his own brain, not what party propaganda feeds him.”

Hear! Hear!

• TK said:

BTW, watching Capital Talk and Wasi Zafar just admitted he was a cowardly b!tch of the ‘establishment’ and didn’t have the cojones to object…

Then he complained how politicians are targetted… I find it rather pathetic.. that our kleptocracy has become so powerful that they are shooting themselves in the head by destroying the institutions…

In any case, Wasi Zafar gained some points in my eyes because of his admitting his mistake openly and in public! Bravo!

• Saqib said:

“In any case, Wasi Zafar gained some points in my eyes because of his admitting his mistake openly and in public! Bravo!”

It´s always refreshing to see brave people speaking the truth, but in this case we should be a little careful. You must also have noticed some understanding between the double….PML-Q and PPP-Q representatives. They were clearly on the same wavelength.

• TK said:

@Saqib: that is true, however, I am liking this trend.. we need to encourage this kind of behaviour… I think moshe and shauka should come out next and admit their guilt…

BTW, I don’t think he’s become brave or changed overnight.. but at least he’s willing to incriminate his ex masters..

BTW, I see this more as a new posture due to the strategic alliance that is happening between N & Q (just a guess) — Wasi Zafar’s statements directly hurt Moshe and all those who stand with him (including PzP)

• savage said:

@GM

That could be the reason, lately PLMN is conveying it’s messages to PPP using press conferences.

• TK said:

@GM: Well, PML-N should at least mention it that “we have requested PZP to look into the issue of judges pay”

now Zardari jhappaTaa maar gaya :D

but it’s a small matter,… lesson learned …

• Saqib said:

I missed the start of Capital Talk today. Can anyone give a link to the youtube video, which was shown in the beginning of the program?

• TK said:

Today’s Live With Talat RAWKS!!

He brought up the issue of internal party democracy that is near and dear to my heart! Also that of un-elected party leaders using rubberstamp PM/CM’s (more PM) and openly running matters of state..

I mean what if we have a war right now? what the heck are we going to do?

Zardari should get his “advice” to the Prime Minister and the PM and Cabinet should approve all decisions.. there should be a debate in the cabinet on this stupid package.. instead of Zardari giving his opinion.

• Riddle 792 said:

Guys is this true. Does any 1 have the GEO clip:

>>
    GEO has shown the Youtube video clip of chairman CBR Abdullah Yousuf dancing in a private recreation meeting, in which President General (r) Pervez Musharraf, his wife, former Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz and host of other officers were present.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mf-gVHOQtQA
    http://www.pakspectator.com/dance-of-chairman-cbr-whats-the-big-deal/

• savage said:

@Riddle 792

you have already posted this link before Capital Talk, and it was a good dig. :)

• nota said:

Is watching the Yousaf video clouding Ansar Abbasi’s mind? He states “But lately the PPP co-chairman is said to be willing to give Justice Iftikhar another two years in the office by introducing five-year tenure for the chief justice of Pakistan….The Zardari House is non-committal in case of Justice Javed Iqbal, who is senior to Justice Dogar. There are reports that Justice Javed Iqbal is willing to forego his seniority if he is reinstated.”

Now if I remember it correctly there is nothing new about this. After offering the “five year” limit that would have retired the CJ in june this year, this WAS the second proposal from Zardari and it involved getting rid of Justice Javed Iqbal so Dogar can become CJ next year. See my post from May 2nd here to see there is NOTHING NEW ABOUT THIS.
    (Excerpt:“The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) in their Dubai talks have agreed on a five-year tenure for the Chief Justice of Pakistan, thus reducing the tenure of the deposed Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry by three years. They have also agreed that Justice Javed Iqbal will either not be restored, or made junior to the present Chief Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar, credible sources told ‘The News’.”….)

• nota said:

Link to Ansar Abbasi’s Article mentioned above.
    Zardari showing flexibility on Iftikhar’s return

(And do note the disingenuous headline)

• Riddle 792 said:

LOL here goes the remix version of CBR dance:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52mH-d8JSzg

• TK said:

@Riddle792 : haha! that’s the best dubbing..!! I didn’t realize that Moshe was also dancing at the end but the cameraman feared for his life and immediately turned the camera into a corner.

This, folks, is the MAFIA that rules us. This is the Kleptocracy. Sitting in that room. All these Chief Secretaries and Jurnails.. they make our nation dance as if she’s their personal b!tch. These are the leeches who suck our blood dry and build palaces in Britain, Australia, United States from that stolen wealth!

These are the leeches who stop the only kidney dialysis program for the poor in the whole country, but who don’t blink an eye before ordering the 15th VVIP Jet costing 60 million dollars of our nation’s blood sweat and tears.

YOU let them do it!

• TK said:

Zindigi baal fishaaN khaak ba ruKh naalah ba-lab
    munJamid saakit-o Hairaan hayoolay ki tarah
    chaNd taaNbay kay taraaShay hu’ay sikkooN kay ivaz
    Dhol ki thaap peh raQSaaN hai bagoolay ki tarah

Shame on our rulers!

Shame on us.

• Riddle 792 said:

@TK LOL…………….. !!!!

• TK said:

@mbokhari: Good work adding the audio/video section!

added a few more vids and a section on logic/crtical thinking …

So all those too lazy to read can go at least watch some vids now! :D

• Amir Hameed said:

With reference to Ansar’ Abbasi’s report above, I find it humiliating that ONE individual, who happens to be one of the most corrupt persons in the history of this country, is deciding how the judges should be restored, who should be restored, whose powers should be clipped and whose tenure should be adjusted (reduced/extended).

This individual, who happens to be a reptile by nature with two edged tounge, is almost solely involved in deciding the fate of 160 million people. How is this different from how Moshe ruled on this country for 9 years. That was also a one man show then and so is this one.

The reason that “aparently” he is showing some flexibility now is because he wants to repair the damage that his stance has done to the party and not because he means well for the judiciary. He knows that the media and the civil society is watching his moves like hawks and that he may have to pay a hefty price for his actions.

• nota said:

@Amir Hameed
    “The reason that “aparently” he is showing some flexibility now is because he wants to repair the damage that his stance has done to the party and not because he means well for the judiciary.”

I think you missed my point. I am saying THERE IS NOTHING NEW HERE and NO flexibility is being shown by AZ. Please see the this MAY 02 story and tell me if what Ansar is presenting today as NEW really “new”!

(Below are my comments on the story on May 02:
    Like I have stated before, the WHOLE exercise by Zardari is to MAKE SURE DOGAR gets to be the CJ and the purpose there is to UNDO any HARM done by CJ Iftikhar Chaudhri. See the extent to which they will go:

“They have also agreed that Justice Javed Iqbal will either not be restored, or made junior to the present Chief Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar”

(I really have no love for Justice Javed Iqbal but he is a thousand times better than that p!g Dogar. He he IS being victimized not for his short-comings but to get Dogar to the the chair and that is disgust!ng))

• TK said:

Looks like the prospects of Q and N joining hands have put the fear of Gawd into Zardari if he’s not listening to the masses..

Today’s Capital talk has Babar Awan and Ch. Nisar together and their tone is decidedly consciliatory.

Zardari cannot afford to PHUQ with punjab…

• savage said:

Pakistan Debt Rating Cut by Moody’s on Political Risk

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?sid=aw.Y0pQ8RtBA&pid=20601080

• savage said:

Today’s politics is so gloomy that nothing is obvious..

PML-Q to toe Musharraf’s line while supporting PPP’s proposed package
    http://www.dailyindia.com/show/241980.php/PML-Q-to-toe-Musharrafs-line-while-supporting-PPPs-proposed-package

• TK said:

Ch. Nisar ON FIRE! today!

Babar Awan bauNgiaaN maar raha hai!.. he just claimed the British Raj apologized to Galileo .. hahaha! (wasn’t galileo wronged by the Roman Catholic church? — I’m twice shy after being bitten by Kurd the other day)

QUESTION:

A caller on today’s Bolta Pakistan (on right now) said that the U.S. put some Maulana on TV in Pakistan…..I actually wasn’t listening to her, so I only heard a bit.

Does anyone know what she was referring to?

• savage said:

It could have been a good article, had it not been written by Ahmad Quraishi, I simply can’t trust this guy. but feel free to read it.

http://newsfrombangladesh.net/view.php?hidRecord=200722
    ….
    A small incident in Karachi in September 2007 gave Pakistani policy strategists a rare glimpse into the larger game plan in the region at the time. The incident fitted a pattern and provided clues to the unfortunate role played by some actors in India, apart from the sitting government there, in compounding Pakistan’s problems on our western borders. A car raced by a police check post in the city’s busy downtown, stopped close enough for the policemen to see it but far enough to ensure escape. Two men were inside. One of them pulled down the window, threw out some jackets on the street and then screeched away. The unknown car had just dropped a few ‘suicide vests’ ready for use, with markings that indicated US origin. “It was a lousy act linked to the Indian intelligence services trying to create an impression that CIA was sponsoring terrorism in Pakistan,” Mr Munshi’s book quotes a Pakistani source as explaining. “Neither the CIA nor the actual suicide bombers are in the business of dropping US marked suicide vests on roadsides from moving cars in front of the police.”
    …..

• TK said:

@savage: the only way left for these two is to merge.. and if they’re talking about moshe leaving then the real power politics is gonna start after that.. and I think PML-N and Q are natural allies… sooner or later they’re have to do some dramay bazi like chori brathran coming out in public crying.. asking nation for forgiveness.. giving back some money and PML-N will accept them back in the fold…

This way, we won’t need new elections.. PML-N can run a coalition govt sans PPP and the ill will being created now against PPP should carry them through.

N will need to keep these members on a very tight leash and the advantages will be many for everyone involved..

The only thing I’m worried about is that once moshe get’s indemnity he might not leave and stab everyone in the back one more time..

guesses! guesses!

• mbokhari said:

If N and Q band up, the balance of power will always remain with Q. Q could ditch them any time Similarly if PPP were to ally with Q, the PPP would be a hostage to Q.

I am beginning to think that whoever in the current situation decided to side with Q will be handing Q a lot more than some ministries.

What we have here is a classic Mexican standoff. Nobody wants to start shooting but they all have guns drawn. And everybody knows, once the bullets start flying, no one will be safe.

• TK said:

@mbokhari:

Well I don’t consider Q a real party.. They are more like bhaGoRa’s on furlow.. and an “alliance” with them as a separate party would be counter productive in exactly the same way as you described.

I’m thinking more of a merger with the mambers going into some “re-habilitation” and then being made “mr./ms. Clean” after apologies to the whole nation, oath to CoD and democratic principles etc.

I’m just throwing it out as a possibility.

• savage said:

“Well I don’t consider Q a real party.. They are more like bhaGoRa’s on furlow.. ”

Exactly, and that is the real problem, As you said they are not only natural allies but cut from same cloth. But Q could sell even their ………. for power and can not be trusted at all. PPP would be very happy with this setup as PML vote bank is divided into Q and N. It was Judges Issue and APDM boycott which was so fruitful for PMLN.

Q league is nothing but pressure group and proving itself worse for democracy, sooner it disapears better it would be for country, but for that Moshe need to be thrown out first, he is the only binding force for these hunters and gatherers.

• TK said:

The key thing in understanding Q is … there is no Q …

Q’s “members” are opportunists.. and therefor IMO it is only a management problem. If PML-N can manage them and quarantine them for a while.. then it will work.. but if they start pretending Q-N bhai bhai.. after a week.. then I won’t have any sympathy for them if Q goes and sells them for a kilo of jaleebi the first chance it gets … ;)

• taimurdar said:

May 21 Capital Talk

Finally Hamir Mir raises the issue of impeachment of president which I was waiting for……must watch!

• savage said:

I could never apprehend why Thar coal reserves were never tapped in spite all hype in last govt.

Coal project to generate 5,000MW: Gilani
    http://www.southasianmedia.net/index_story.cfm?id=499794&category=Frontend&Country=PAKISTAN

• democrat said:

farzana raja is BB’sclone.

• GM said:

Asif Zardari and Farooq Naek met Tariq Aziz to discuss proposed 18th amendment.

http://www.ummatpublication.com/2008/05/21/lead7.php

• Amir Hameed said:

“Musharraf set to counter PPP moves”
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14847

A source in the PML-Q, wishing not to be identified, said the delegation led by PML-Q President Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain also included Chaudhry Hamid Nasir Chattha. The source said the president told the PML-Q leaders that he enjoyed support of the powerful national institutions, the United States and some political parties, including the Muttahida Qaumi Movement.

The SOB does not enjoy support from the masses. He is under the illusion that support from US will save him. They will sell him for less than a nickle when the time comes.

• Amir Hameed said:

Ansar Abbasi writes: “Nawaz opposes indemnity”
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=14850

A key PPP leader said the party was under pressure from Washington to provide indemnity through parliament to Musharraf’s Nov 3 actions. “This can get delayed because of media pressures but Asif Ali Zardari cannot backtrack from this,” the source said, adding that after enjoying the fruits of the controversial NRO, now it was time for Asif Ali Zardari to pay back. Providing indemnity to a dictator’s action, he said, was perhaps one of the promises made earlier and was now required to be fulfilled.

• TK said:

Conversations with History – John Mearsheimer & Walt (1 hr video)

Authors of “The Israel Lobby & US Foreign Policy”

Knock yourselves out boys/girls. since there aren’t any more vids for now

• mbokhari said:

!!! Hear Ye, Hear Ye !!!

New garam Dhamaka videos in the Audio-Visual section of the Documents page.

Get your latest Mirchi Masala NOW!!!

We have got it all. Movies, Documentaries, Lectures and Mushairas….What’s not to like?

• mbokhari said:

I was thinking about the political paintings you linked to a while ago by some woman artist. I forget the name but they were amazing.

Whenever you are free, could you create a flickr account for pkpolitics and upload her collection (with her permission) and post the flick link in the “Paintings” section of Docs?

I wish there was some collection of Sadeqain, Chughtai and Gulgee online which we could link to.

• TK said:

@mbokhari: oh yeah.. that was Saira Wasim.

Her site is really slow.. but I’m leary of taking her stuff.. I’ll send her an email and ask. I think she’s based out of the States these days… really good stuff there…

• Riddle 792 said:

Breaking News: Pakistan Means In 2008

P = Petrol 68.89 Rs Ltr

A = Aata 26 Rs Kg

K = Khud Kash hamle

I = Ilm Ki Kami

S = Sarko‘n Pe Paani

T = Traffic Jamm

A = Awaam Helpless

N = No Electricity

• TK said:

900 choohay Jurnails: Noora kushti with Mr. Faiz Ali Chishti

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hed6VroPT5g

• TK said:

Sunt jurnail singh Martial Law waalay: The saint part 2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFyYZ0g3DxM

The jurnail blames the civilians.. AFther he’s raped the nation (did I mention HIS OWN NATION?)

• TK said:

Destruction of the Pakistani Education System: Dist. Govt thinks “it’s a good idea” to throw garbage in drains and “also a brilliant idea” to burn garbage (yes.. plastic, carcinogens, smoke .. all of it.. GRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEAT!)

http://dailywaqt.com/220508/Images/p2-04.jpg

This failure of education system brought to you by: Y.O.U. !!!!

• BABU FROM USA said:

@Amar hameed>> thanx for sharing Ansar abbasi report.

The only hope I have that the true leadership of PPP like Amin Fahim,Raza Rabbani and others will not let AZ to indemnify mush. They must uphold the PPP comitment and donot let AZ,Naik,R Malik etc. NON ELECTED PERSONS to play a game WITH PPP ELECTED PERSONS.

KICK OUT AZ AND OTHER FEW MONKEYS FROM PPP>> RESTORE JUDGES ,IMPEACH MUSH AND THEN RULE FOR FIVE YEARS WITH DIGNITY AND RULE OF LAW.

• TK said:

Zardaro seems to be in bad shape. Rings around the eyes.. BB’s photo almost thrown haphazardly in the back… ??

And now, The Vulture in YOU (yes YOU):

Pakistan Railways on the way to being obliterated (At least USA won’t need to bomb our railways into stone ages, BEECAAZ IT”S ALREADY THERE!!)

Go on, tell me “justice isn’t the main problem”.. go on.. you MA pass, Primary Fail IGNORAMUSES!!

• TK said:

Another Feather in HEC’s cap

http://dailywaqt.com/220508/Images/p14-05.jpg

(or is that another Lakh Lanat?)

• TK said:

UK “Mai Baap” of moshe threatens Martial Law in Pakistan and Afghanistan.

David Miliband – Why don’t you KISS MEIN TUCHUS?

Note to self: Make Medical Check (for BALL5) necessary in the next COAS and other Military Officials next time around.

• nota said:

ANP leaping over the thin line towards Bayghati?
    They deny CJ Ifthkhar protocol in NWFP (using the sorry excuse “we want to end VIP culture”) and oppose Punjab government doing so (using the sorry excuse “it is politicizing the CJP”). But you know WHO is doing the talking here ….

• nota said:

“UK “Mai Baap” of moshe threatens Martial Law in Pakistan and Afghanistan.”

THIS is the policy this maha-MOFO is recommending….

• nota said:

And I guess Miliband doesn’t read The Guardian:
    The ‘war on terror’ licenses a new stupidity in geopolitics

• TK said:

@nota: “THIS is the policy…”

Reminds me of the “successful” strategy taken by the Zionist occupiers in Palestine. I wouldn’t be surprised if Moshe kutti da puttar didn’t authorize Negro Panty to send Israeli “advisors” under the guise of “anti terrorr trainers”

Pak Fauj has been licking Israel’s ba!!s for quite some time now.

Moshe’s the ultimate mole. He has ruined us, and is ruining us.. the people are against the Army.. our western flank is completely exposed, population UP IN ARMS against the state.. Kashmir is out of our hands pretty much.. India has got a foot up Mosh’es ar$e ..

America talks about “taking” our nuclear weapons away (you heard it right!) .. and our intelligentisa, “ruling elite”, and politcians and jurnails collapse like sacks of SH!T that they are.. mumbling uncontrollably “umrreeekkkaaa… stone age meN puchaa degaa!.. stoneagee….”

GODDAMNED PU$$IES!

• TK said:

What the FBI agents saw : An article on how widespread and criminal the Bush Administration’s acts were in Abu Ghraib, Guantanamo Bay and various other Black prisons

I have a feeling some of those prisons exist right here in Pakistan.

• TK said:

criminal.

• nota said:

“I wouldn’t be surprised if Moshe kutti da puttar didn’t authorize Negro Panty to send Israeli “advisors” under the guise of “anti terrorr trainers””

Oh don’t be! In fact you can be sure that is the case. Where you think US gets it’s “anti-terror” training? Do you think Fallujah just happened? Remember before there was Fallujah(2003), there was Jenin(2002). Hell they even bought modified bulldozers from Israel. And guess who was there to observe the atrocity of enin? US Marines — to learn to do the same to Iraqis.

• savage said:

> “I have a feeling some of those prisons exist right here in Pakistan.”

I remember reading something regarding that and little search on google and found following.
    ___

Fourth Briton accuses MI5 of collusion in torture of detainees

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/apr/30/humanrights.terrorism
    The demand came as a fourth Briton alleged that British officials “outsourced” his torture to Pakistan’s Inter-Services Intelligence agency in an attempt to extract information about a planned al-Qaida attack against the UK.

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ TK >> Neocons are getting exposed slowly in the US media. I think if Obama wins might neocons will do the same thing to obama as they did to kennedy.

• nota said:

Messed up the first link:
    sure that is the case.

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ ALL >> Pak govt. cannot even save Pak people from Indian brutality while they are in indian custody >> wat the hell they will do >> they did not even protest over dead bodies recieved from Indians??innocent poor people are dying everywhere.

• BABU FROM USA said:

@TK>> BLACK WATER>> IN IRAQ.

• savage said:

@BABU FROM USA

Is something wrong with you keyboard, there are too many “>” which make is hard to read sometime.

• BABU FROM USA said:

Necons !!!
    http://www.zfacts.com/p/253.html

• BABU FROM USA said:

savage ok I will try not to use > how about < will that work.
    Just kidding.

• savage said:

Thanks @BABU . :)

• BABU FROM USA said:

zionists!!!
    http://www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/zionism

• BABU FROM USA said:

for neocons !! add /p/253.html on your browser. somehow it is not going through directly. It is going directly to z facts website.

• TK said:

@BABU: WHATS WITH THE CHEVRONS DUDE? WHY U PUT ?? NO WORKY KEE BOARD?

• savage said:

Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Ch. addressed Karachi bar.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/05/080522_cj_presser_khi_zs.shtml

• mbokhari said:

I think Baboo is using mathematical symbols

Read this:

TK>> BLACK WATER>> IN IRAQ.

as:

Iraq is negligibly small when compared to Blackwater. TK is extremely large when compared to Blackwater.

Babu, did you just call TK fat?

farook naiq on capital talk saying IMC should not address the bar’s.

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ Tk !! for Neocon. simply type the whole thing on your browser. I am not sure why it is not going through.

• Riddle 792 said:

Opportunists of Jhang: Eldest got land by washing “Gora” sahbs dogs (Col Abid) … the daughter has switched parties 4 times for “Kursi” (Abida Hussain) and now her daughter (Soghra Imam) is spreading the word of democracy in the word……!!

Time’s Excellent article about this “Miserable” family…..
    “That has helped earn her the derogatory epithet lota, the round-bottomed (and thus wobbly) pitchers used in Pakistani bathrooms.”

http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1709995,00.html

• BABU FROM USA said:

Also try !!! http://www.zfacts.com/p/775.html

• BABU FROM USA said:

type the whole thing on your browser

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ ALL !! Another Pakistani Passed away in Indian custody today.

Shame on Paki Govt. and so called human right activist Ansar barfi.

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ ALL !! Another 70 years old woman passed away in Indian custody.
    So far four Pakistani have been killed in Indian custody since last month.

• TK said:

While “the political forces” are on the “front foot”.. and dithering like scared little b!tches afraid to lose “sweet sweet iQtidaar” after such a long time, moshe builds a case against democracy.

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/22-05-2008/up59.gif

I really hope Moshe shoots Zardari in the face cheney-style with 58-2b and then Dogar re-opens all the NRO cases against him and they send him to jail for 50 years and confiscate his bloody “bilawal” houses all over the country…

Now THIS will teach PZP a lesson or two on being in-decisive in the heat of battle.

FOKING UNELECTED IDIOTS!

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ ALL http://www.geo.tv./5-22-2008/18446.htm

AT least AZ showed some courage. I hope it is not a part of another drama.

• savage said:

a little warning to new govt to show who is the boss, moshe has become very active these days, hibernation time is over due to PPP’s warm relation with him.

• TK said:

- US talks with Asvandyar Walik Khan. AYWK fails to convince them of his strategy.
    - AYWK comes back, talks start with Pakistani militants in Swat etc.
    - US shows “reservations”
    - US attacks in BajauR – Talks still continue
    - Peace Accord signed and the pressure tactics begin:
    – US “Angry” over it
    – US “Watching” it
    – David VUKFACE Miliband threatens that if US/UK agenda is not followed Democracy could end.
    – US senators “upset” over the peace accord with the tribesmen and ask for revocation.

Meanwhile,
    - Power/Food/Inflation gets worse.
    - Law and Order deteriorates as the foreign agent provacateurs start burning people
    - The international money speculators (guess who THEY are?) start hitting Pakistan like they did Malaysia and other ‘asian tigers’ (we’re not tiger but methods are same)

==> Zardari is intimidated through the idiots he has surrounded himself with. He starts to dither … loses confidence of the people, his own party and steadfast allies. But NRO and the fear of DEATH by assassin (if he doesn’t comply) keeps him “on track”. Nevermind the fact that this ‘track’ leads to Pakistan’s destruction and beginning of anarchy..

President starts to build his case against the current setup, calls PM for a meeting.

• TK said:

@savage:

“…moshe has become very active these days, hibernation time is over due to PPP’s warm relation with him..”

I wouldn’t call it “warm relations” I would call it cynical, craven, shameless treachery and betrayal of the aspirations of the Pakistani People.

Zardaro will have a lot to answer for.

The “President Camp Office” like the pre-partition days, is still a DEN OF FOREIGN SPIES!

• BABU FROM USA said:

Finally, His own supporters, Mps and MNAs have putted pressure on AZ not to deal with mush. I hope peoples pressure will remain on him so he will stay on the right track.
    I hope it is not another drama from AZ to gain People support and then help mush.
    BUT I WILL GIVE HIM A CREDIT FOR AT LEAST GIVING A STATEMENT AGAINST MUSH.

• TK said:

@BABU: I have stopped believing a SINGLE WORD Zardari Utters through his bunghole… I have lost pretty much all respect for him as a “reformed democrat” that he presented himself as in the heady days after the feb 18th elections.

Also, he’s still acting like a scared little b!tch:

To a pointed query if Musharraf’s days as President are numbered, Zardari evaded a direct reply saying: “I don’t know whether his days are numbered or my days are numbered or our government’s days are numbered. Who knows that?”

La’anat hai aisay “iQtidaar” par.. la’anat aisay mandate par. la’anat aisay “democrats” par.

• BABU FROM USA said:

Thats the way US works They put pressure and if you stand up with pressure then they back off with some reservations. But if you lay down against pressure then they really press you hard.

• savage said:

Haroon Rashid raised the same point in his todays’ column.

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100411192&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20080522

• Amir Hameed said:

“President to apprise PM of his reservations soon in a meeting”
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/

Is Moshe looking for excuses to apply 58-2(B), like the poor economic condition, reduced investment and other BS?

• TK said:

Syeda Abida Hussain on “Siyaasi Log” is saying that President has been crashing Prime Ministerial engagements…

She implied he shouldn’t have gone to china but did
    Shouldn’t have negotiated the pipeline deals with Ahmedinejad but did

She also said categorically that General (u) Mussharraf showed up “uninvited at the Olympic Torch ceremony” and “crowded the Prime Minister’s” space.

WTF?? This guy is a total ChiChuRR (flea? I think it’s called a Flea) or kuttay ki makhkhi !! jaan hi nahiN choR rahaa… Aur Bay izzat ho kay jae-gaa bechaarah .. tch tch.

• TK said:

An Express News correspondent has been gunned down in BajauR area. Taliban leaders actually went to his house and condoled with the family.

It seems the RAW/CIA/MOSSAD/KHAD agents are again acting up and trying to destabilize the peace before the ink is dry!

I say we hang that fvker Sarbjit Singh (and Ansar Piggie.. I mean Burnie with him!)

• pejamistri said:

I am trying to revisit/reassess the events of November 3rd and afterwards. Here is some reassessment (a bit of passimissm here).
    1. So it is 2nd November and the high minds of establishment are devising plan to handle the situation. There is a charge sheet against CJ and certain other judges. Let me first try to guess the charge sheet.
    a) SC is going to declare the election of mad dictaor as illegal.
    b) CJ and certain other judges are looking into missing person case and are giving tough time to establishment.
    c) The change (Suo Moto cases against the high-ups) IMC is bringing into the society is unacceptable.
    2. Before coming to analysis of the above three charges , let us see how establishment has to handle this situation. So it is decided to impose martial law and send the judges home , let us assume that establishment did not expect that 60 judges (including the high court judges) will refuse to take oath and will stand with the CJ. Even if establishment did not expect this , November 3rd actions were still the ultimate action by the establishment. So does the above three charges warranted the ultimate action from establishement?
    3. None of the above charges (a,b,c) was necessary and sufficient condition for the ultimate action. Taking each charge separately I would assume establishment could have managed the situation. However combination of all of the above three charges (and perhaps few other unknown charges) forced the establishment to go that far.
    4. In my opinion because of the international pressure establishment has to choose one of the two option , either they can have November 3rd or a rigged elections. Establishment decided to go for November 3rd and held elections relatively transparent.
    5. So the question I am looking the answer for is that , Were SC/CJ so dangerous for the establishment that they decided to have a parliament with 90 members of PML-N instead of 7 judges in Supereme Court?
    6. If I take that the charge a (declaring mad dictator’s election) was the biggest reason for November 3rd , than how is it possible that mad dictator will leave without any resistance.
    7. If SC/CJ were so dangerous on 2nd November , won’t they be much more dangerous after the second restoration. If the answer is YES , than I believe that it will not be possible to restore CJ and judges without the ultimate fight. Although I am optimistic but more I think I get convinced that establishment will not allow CJ and some other judges back without an all out effort from civil society and the lawyers.
    Therefore it becomes imperative for the people to come out on street during the lawyer ‘s long march to Islamabad and put the maximum possible pressure on the establishment.

P.S. I have deliberately avoided the assisination of BB as it adds a new dimension.

• TK said:

The general state of dis-repair in “People’s” party is evident from the horrible diction, pronunciation and enunciation used by the “leaders” of this party.

Just watching Farooq Naek mumble something about BB and UN… but he said something about “kafeer-e kirdaar”..

isn’t it supposed to be “Kaifar-e Kirdaar” ???

maybe I”m wrong.. but none of the leaders speak as well as Kh Asif or Saad or even NS/SS ?? Zardari ?? naah!

• TK said:

@peja: in #5 above, aren’t you assuming that the ‘all knowing’ establishment knew around Nov 3rd that PML-N would win large number of seats?

evidence suggests to the contrary. Moshe and his buddies till the end thought that Q was going to win the majority, it was the split within the kleptocracy which caused Kiyani to stop the interference in the elections and therefore allowed N to win unexpectedley..

maybe kiyani’s actions were supposed to help out PPP but theJudiciary issue commitment and oath broadsided everyone…

I had said immediately after that ‘oath” that this was a brilliant move by NS and the only thing Zardari could do was to do a counter-oath.. but obviously no one listened to me :(

• TK said:

He could have weazled out of HIS OWN OATH had he gained most of these seats.. but his dithering and in-decisiveness on the issue made him lose to PML-N all the seats that he did…

that is the point I’m trying to make..

Also regarding ur questons @peja:

The thing is.. Moshe is shooting from the hip. The americans told him NOT to do this … Q told him not to do it.. this is the reason he did it as a jurnail.. because the civilians.. as craven and shameless as they are.. were NOT WILLING to go along with this…

IMO, he shot from the hip and he shot himself in the leg.. he’s bleeding profusely but like all FOOLS he thinks he’s gonna make it… but the time is running out for him.

The Lawyers are on the offensive!

• TK said:

Also, I still stand by my explanation of Nawaz Sharif’s return. it was connected with BB’s non-return.

When she returned… it broke the deal right then and there. and his Arab gurarantors had NO moral reason to keep him there anymore as moshe allowed BB to return but she returned earlier than agreed on..

Moshe wanted to keep NS/SS out of Pakistan precisely because of this scenario which we saw unfold… this is why he had her removed. (just guessing)

• pejamistri said:

2nd Attempt:
    So let me put this way.
    Comparing November 3rd 2007 with 5th July 1977 and 12th October 1999.
    1. The martial law is considered by the establishment as the lost resort to keep things under their control. The history tells that the martial law is usually planned well in advance. So I assume that the martial law of November 3rd was in planning since 9th of March 2007. It can not be a rash action by the establishment just because of unexpected turn of the events (Dual Office Case).
    2. Historically the subsequent events of the martial law are also well planned. Usually establishment ensures a smooth sailing for at least 5 years after the martial law. Although 2007/8 is radically different from 1977 and 1999 , and there are things happening which are totally unexpected for establishment. But I still think that establishment must have devised a plan for smooth sailing for at least 2-5 years. (I know people will point out that the plan is to have PPP as the establishment party which will allow them to have similar smooth sailing as PML-Q allowed in 2002).
    3. I consider November 3rd as more serious and grave action by the establishment than even 5th July and 12th October. Establishment can not underestimate the consequences of November 3rd actions. Because this action was not against “corrupt” politicians , instead it was against the most popular person(s) in the eyes of public , hence establishment would have known that it will not be that easy to keep the things under the control.

So if establishment was not reluctant to take the action on November 3rd, how it could be reluctant now. I think that a more decisive struggle will be required by the civil society to achieve their goal of getting the honorable judges back on thier seats. I don’t see constitutional package or any other peaceful attempt by the democratic forces to succeed.

• pejamistri said:

I am actually assuming that establishment agreed to have a “relatively free and fair” election. And I am sure establishment would have considered a worst case scenario in which PML-N would have had that many seats.

• savage said:

Yesterday Geo aired Humayun Akhater’s interview conducted by Sohail Waraich, he did reveal some of the issues just discussed by @TK, @Paje, I posted the b-lip link but add-mens deleted my post. :(

• savage said:

Wusatullah’s blog on PPP’s decision to ask UN for BB’s death investigation.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/urdu/2008/05/post_310.html

• savage said:

@peja

Your lastest writeup is contradicting to your prevouse one? did you change your stance that “Establishment is on backfoot?” because all of your new points tell how powerful esablishment.

• mbokhari said:

@savage

Perhaps you can find it in your heart to post the exact spelling of Humayun Akhtar’s name as it appeared on the place whose name must never be mentioned?

I pray thee, blurt it out!, bleeep it out!

• TK said:

@peja: well #5 implies knowledge of it..

5. So the question I am looking the answer for is that , Were SC/CJ so dangerous for the establishment that they decided to have a parliament with 90 members of PML-N instead of 7 judges in Supereme Court?

A lot of suppositions, implications and conjectures etc here:

1. “they decided” implies they could
    2. “have a parliament of 90 members” implies knowledge on their part that it would be the case.. events since then bear out this assumption is likely not correct.
    3. “instead of 7 judges” .. again.. implication via assumption is that they (1) had the knowledge and (2) they made a choice.

Also, when you say: “And I am sure establishment would have considered a worst case scenario in which PML-N would have had that many seats.”

Well, they didn’t do a very good job of “considering” this.. and 90 seats is not worst case…. 2/3rds majority would be worst case ;)

They’re just a bunch of a$$-kissing petty bureaucrats who do things based on “jo Aawdurr aataa hai” and “aawdurr kaheeN aur say aataa hai”…

I don’t think they deserve the lofty mythical place that you seem to give them out of hand without much resistance. In any case, Zardari is not fighting the battle of good vs. evil.. if he is.. the HE is the EVIL :)

• taimurdar said:

MAY 22ND CAPITAL TALK

Warning…….do not watch today’s capital talk………it’s Farooq Naik in the program!!! Do not waste your time.

• pejamistri said:

@savage
    I am just trying to second guess the next actions of establishment , they can be on backfoot but who knows how they respond back. Honestly I could never second guess actions of November 3rd, it was just unbelieveable for me. The most I could think was that establishment will try the CJ again in Supreme Judicial Council with the help of dograh judges , another worst possible scenario I could think at that time was a constitutional amendment by buying mullahs again and so on…. But I never expected sacking of 60 juduges , closure of 20 channels, arrest of 7 senior most judges of supreme court. It seems now too possible and perhaps normal , but honestly to me it seemed the remotest possiblity , nay in fact I could not even imagine such a thing in my dreams….
    So you see I am now trying to think of all possible scenarios :)

• TK said:

@savage: re: Wusatullah Khan’s blog

It is obvious Zardari doesn’t want this investigated.. as Aitezaz tactfully pointed out, they haven’t even started cataloging the evidence….

Na nau man tel hogaa na raadha naachay gi!

either that or Zardari wants to give legal cover to Mossad Teams under the guise of UN “investigators” … as if there aren’t enough Mossad agents here ….

• pejamistri said:

Seems you pick up few points from my remarks , previously I attempted to defend such points however I think it is better actually not to defend them as they are not defendable :) . You are right overall the analysis is completely based on conjectures , implication and assumptions sometimes they are really stupid.
    I actually agree with you that establishment does not deserve any kindof place , I do not consider them much capable of learning or attribute to them any wisdom or intelligence. But one thing I acknoledge is that they have gun power including the most lethal weapons against humanity and worst thing is that they are quite capable to use them when the need arise.

• TK said:

@peja: “The most I could think was that establishment will try the CJ again in Supreme Judicial Council with the help of dograh judges ,”

You realize the whole point of the Nov 3rd was to bring in the so called “dograh judges” ?? Because they could NOT be brought in any other way? there was no other way of bringing another set of corrupt judges.. the Supreme Judicial Council has already given it’s verdict.. yOU can’t try someone for the same crime twice (especially after you’ve exonerated them 3 months before).

The truth is, there is NO ESTABLISHMENT… (just like there is NO COW) .. it was Moshe who did this rash act without thinking it through because he is FREAKING INCOMPETENT! .. now the Americans are having to come in and bail his a$$ out by trying to subvert the sovereignty and mandate of the people via one Mr. Zardaro.

Trust me. THERE.IS.NO.ESTABLISHMENT ! They are all just lackeys of Foreign agencies.

• mbokhari said:

Peja wrote:

“So if establishment was not reluctant to take the action on November 3rd, how it could be reluctant now.”
    ——————————

The pursuit of undiluted power is the ultimate goal for our kleptocrat establishment. They could throw a few crumbs politicians’ way but if they get too uppity, so be it, another Martial Law.

I was going to respond by saying that the international environment won’t allow another Martial Law so soon. That the Americans wouldn’t stand for it. That the world opinion would decidedly shift against Musharraf.

But then I remembered reading this piece in Esquire Magazine about Admiral William Fallon who had a meeting with Musharraf ONE day before he declared emergency. Fallon was against attacking Iraq and was fired by Bush (a strange thing. General? Fired??) But this piece was written before he was fired. Fallon is quoted as trying to persuade Musharraf not to impose the Martial Law but when Musharraf “explains”, Fallon relents with “He is the boss of his country. He knows best.”

Well, Papa don’t know whats best for us. Papa don’t preach. Roll over and die with Syphillis, Musharraf.

Fact is, the Americans will go along with our establishment’s conspiracies. If anything, they would be guiding them along. What is needed is a ‘causus belli’, a simple cause, an excuse. This could be anything engineered by the ruling kleptocracy. I foresee a worsening Law and Order situation with more dakoos being burnt. Some violence during Lawyers’ Protests. Assassination of some national leader (NS?). Horrific violence in Karachi perpetrated by Bakra-Worshippers. Perhaps a turning of public ire against the Fauj. (Could they burn a Brigadier or Major of ISI? Or is it too soon to hope) Some ‘advertised’ fears of a split in the army. Perhaps we would hear of a brigade or two which refused fighting in FATA, or maybe rebelled against the GHQ on some other pretext. As soon as things start going down the drain with widespread public despair and uncertainty, I will be keeping my ears open for Ay Marday Mujahid Jaag Zara.

In short, we are looking at some big “Drama” before the drop scene of another Martial Law. I am waiting with baited breath. It is sure to be entertaining.

Some excerpts from the Esquire Article:

“I didn’t do any preaching,” Fallon says about his talks with Musharraf. “In a previous life here, I had two extra constitutional events: a coup in Thailand, and a head of the military took over in Fiji. So I talked to the president for quite a while yesterday, both with the ambassador and then alone. He walked me through his rationale for what he was going to do and why he was going to do it and why he thought he had to do it. We talked about what planning he’d done for this, the downsides of this, what could happen, and how that could screw up a lot of things. At the end of the day, it’s his country and he’s the boss of it, and he’s going to make his decision.”

“He’s made his calculations. He feels very strongly that he’s responsible for his country. His alternative is to step down. That would not be the most helpful thing for his country.”

Why not?

“It’s a very immature democracy. Look at the history of the place. It’s rough. Musharraf knows his country. He knows what he’s got. Their factions, their tribes. There’s that group of folks that wants nothing more than to start war with India, another group that wants to take over the FATA [Federally Administered Tribal Areas], another group that wants to take over part of Baluchistan. He’s got a tough road. Most guys in his position do.”

Meanwhile, Fallon argues that with U.S. plans in the offing to arm Pashtun tribes against Al Qaeda and the Taliban in the FATA, now would not seem to be the time to be pushing the democracy agenda in Pakistan.

When Fallon asked Musharraf, “How long do you expect to have to do it?” the general answered, “Not long.” And twenty-four hours later, Fallon counseled patience. After all, he said, think about how strong America’s military relationship is with Egypt despite Hosni Mubarak’s twenty-seven-year “emergency rule.”

But that doesn’t mean the relationship building remains limited to just Musharraf, and so the rest of Fallon’s long day in Islamabad was spent networking with General Ashfaq Kayani, former head of Pakistan’s much-feared Interservices Intelligence agency and new chief of army staff. If Musharraf were ever to step or be pushed aside, Kayani is a leading contender to replace him.

But more to the point for Fallon, Kayani becomes the operational point man for any increased collaboration between the U.S. military and the Pakistani army to tackle the issues of the FATA, which a Centcom senior intelligence official calls “the huge elephant in the closet.”

• econfused said:

@pejamistri

You are giving hope that establishment is on the brink of loosing the game, but believe me, its a monster raised for last 60 years. There is no quick end insight. Our nation is definitely moving toward that goal, but it is still couple of decades away.

• pejamistri said:

I actually have a problem , I think stated earlier that I always look at things from my black and white glasses , I only see either black (establishment) or white (people/democratic forces) in Pakistan. I usually avoid any discussion which does not include establishment and deliberately don’t get into argument related to any civilians even if it is about molvis whom I detest most or the mafia (MQM) whom I hate. It is very easy to explain and write things when establishment is ruling from the front like in 2007 as at that time they (establishment) are fully exposed to the people , however once establishment starts ruling from behind it becomes extremely difficult to expose them or criticise them. People assume that after 18th February
    * Ashfaq Kiyani and Chemical Tariq have performed Hajj and they have gone to borders and are now fighting against enemies at the border. They now live in tents at siachin and what they say in urdu
    Dhooaye gaye aisay kay bas paak hoo gaye
    * The chore commanders have nothing now to work in cities and currently they are only devoting thier time in preparing for the next war against india , they have no time for anything to do with defending the ideological borders of Pakistan , the patriot PPP and tahreek-e-Pakistan’s karkun Asif Zardari is taking care of the country whole heartedly.
    * Hazrat Moulana Mad dictator has repented all his sins and has now become a saint and these days you will find him only praying tahajjud in the early mornings or you will find him in tableeghi ijtama in Multan.
    * In the eyes of public the epitome of all the evils and the most corrupt person on the face of earth , the infamous Asif Zardari is now running the whole country , he is the worst enemy of every single Pakistani and has decided to take revenge from people of Pakistan because they (people) caused so much trouble to his beloved mad dictator. So he will teach the lesson to the judges who stood against the generals.

• mbokhari said:

What makes you think there is no establishment? There most certainly is. They have permanent interests and temporary allies. Musharraf is just a front man. He is there because he holds the balance of power between the different wings of the kleptocracy. He is needed to keep peace between the DHAs and the Wheat, Sugar Barons etc and to keep the gravy train rolling from the US.

If you study Putin’s place in modern Russian power politics, it is precisely that of Musharraf.

You have blasphemed against 40 years of Marxist-Jiyala rhetoric by denying the existence of an establishment. There is still time, you can still be back in fold of conventional wisdom.

Repeat after me:There is no Establishment except the Establishment, and Musharraf is its Kanjri

• pejamistri said:

@econfused
    Yes it will take another two or three decades but our speed has increased. These litlle wins in small battles are very important.

• zenith said:

Pakistan acquired the 127th rank among 140 countries in the Global Peace Index Rankings (GPI)
    http://www.visionofhumanity.org/gpi/results/rankings/2008/

• AMagsi said:

http://geo.tv/5-22-2008/18446.htm

Howcome admin doesnt post these kinda news everytime when theres something negative about PPP it will be the headline of this site.

• GM said:

@AMagsi

Thi is just a POLITICAL STATEMENT by zardari and you know the meaning of ‘Political Statement’, dont you??

As per zardari dictionary, Political statement = SAfaid JHOOT.

• TK said:

@GM: Right ON!!! :D

He said it himself. “DauNT baleef me, I’m just a jacka$$ liar! I say things that I don’t mean. They say a man is as good as his word, and you know what? I go back on my word. “

• TK said:

@mbokhari: “What makes you think there is no establishment? ”

Well I think there isn’t one in the sense that an “establisment” is more like the “roots” of a country and the pillers (trunks) of state grow out of it. The establishment is the class which is the real beneficiary but it also leaves enough for the nation to be healthy enough to do the wealth creation.

I always try to distinguish ours as “a suicidal kleptocracy” instead of an ‘establishment’. An establishment is a class that despite being rich identifies with the land, values being ‘the dominant player” in the land on a permanent basis. But the necessary condition for such a class is an identity and for that identity to be in line with the nation and it’s aspirations.

You are right in saying that they have permanent interests but temporary allies and the characterization of moshe is apt. But what I’d like to add here is that for a country the size of Pakistan (population, demographics, geo-graphics, resources) the conditions are right to have a indigenous National Establishment which actually does not compete to the death with the 99.99999% of the population for the dwindling resources, rather, it is a shepherd of these masses.

What _we_ have is a “remote controlled kleptocracy” which does not believe in the BS it shoves down every 1st grader’s throat. A kleptocracy that uses identity as a vehicle for stealing and robbing the people. A kleptocracy which knows quite well how un-sustainable it’s policies are. Therefore it keeps its own nest eggs in safe bank accounts in Switzerland while OUR banking system goes to hell in a handbasket.

What we have is more akin to a colonist group which still maintains a net flow of wealth out of the the country at the behest of those (foreigners) it needs to maintain it’s legitimacy and power at home (as it doesn’t draw it’s power from the people, on the contrary, it is suspicious and contemptuous of them).

Also, this group we mistakenly call our “establishment” is lazy. It is incompetent. It leaves the hard work of strategizing to the foreigners. It is not the foreigners who “go along” as you mentioned in your response to @peja, rather, it is the kleptocracy that does not take any steps unless it is ordered by it’s foreign bosses. Obviously there are pockets of nationalism and some semblance of self respect.. but in general, this class is a mercenary class which fulfills the objectives of the foreign powers through its crimes of commission and more importantly omission.

So that is why I say we have no Establishment in the sense that nations do eg UK, US, India, Japan, China, Russia, France. What we have here is a Kleptocracy which is suicidal due to its own ignorance and laziness. A closer (IMO) equivalent of Mush is probably Hosni Mobarak or one of those FAKE “monarchs” of Arabia.

Funny you mentioned Russia. I consider moshe to be more akin to Yeltsin. Completely under the sway of the foreginers.. and not really paying attention to the carrion eating that was going on as the dogs ripped apart mother russia.

Putin seems to have brought some semblance of order back to russia. He put those 12 thieves (wonder who provided the seed money for these simple college professors and professionals — now worth billions each) in line and he DID have the russian establishment at his back. You see, the establishment is a slower moving creature than even the revolutions.. (I think) … so it survived the purges and put a new garb on for 80 or so years. But it identifies with Russia. It makes russia its playground.

Our kanjars don’t consider our beautiful country anymore than their dead mother off of whose bones they can rip some more flesh off to drag into their foreign dens. They do not identify with this land (call it Pakistan, Abaseen, Land of Indus whatever) .. They are not “established” here, neither in body nor spirit, and therefore they are NOT “the establishment”

At best they are kleptocratic mercenaries brave enough to rob their own motherland. They are for sale. on really cheap prices. They sell our honour and our inheritance for a few shekels.

I would welcome an establishment, as it is in the vested interest of an “establishment” to make sure it’s chattel are well fed and well clothed, well employed so they can create more and more wealth for it. What we have is just a group of degenerate thieves who ought to be purged and their properties confiscated at the first opportunity.

• mbokhari said:

Good Post. I think what you are arguing about is semantics. You think establishments ought to behave more rationally and ethically. My answer is: Thats only for rational and ethical societies. Our establishment, for better or worse, is a projection of ourselves as a society. We can’t compare British establishment to Pakistani establishment. Thats similar to calling Zardari a ‘leader’. He couldn’t be a leader of a band group or win an election for a class representative. But there he is, head of the largest political party in the land. That we should have ‘leaders’ like Zardari, necessitates that we have the establishment that we have.

We have the establishment we deserve. In our collective national behavior, the establishment reflects our fears and our desires. Its just that they are capable of doing what we can only dream about. Injustice, deceit and abuse of power is rampant in our society on all levels. From family relationships, labor practices, education, health, industry etc. Wherever you look, you will see the same behavior dominant.

We are a nation of psychopaths and we have psychopaths lording over us. Have you ever seen a road accident that the guilty party fled, and the onlookers passed by nonchalantly without helping the injured. Haven’t you ever seen cheating in exams. Haven’t you ever seen mazdoors being abused or underpaid. Haven’t you ever seen the mazdoors cheating those they work for. Haven’t you ever seen brothers deny their brothers from the inheritance of their fathers. Haven’t you ever seen Saas abusing Bahoo and vice-versa. I am sure we have all seen this happen. The abused becomes the abuser. I am particularly fond of the dynamics of family behavior as a microcosm of our political culture. PMLN bhi kabhi pro-establishment thi. Saas bhi kabhi bahoo thi.

I think we, as observers at distance, should be unemotional and dispassionate about the whole affair. There is nothing new under the sun. Our rulers haven’t changed because WE haven’t changed. The things will take their own course for better or worse and Pakistanis have little say in the matter, or indeed, any coherent plan to subvert it. To get rid of the establishment and create a new patriotic establishment will need a thorough and bloody revolution that would rewrite the social contract between the state and its subjects. But we are not a revolutionary people because to be revolutionary, you have to be dissatisfied with the old order, the old way of doing things. All revolutions have been religious in basis, either rejecting it or enforcing it. That’s the single common denominator of the proles, the sheep. Has been this way from the English Civil War, French Revolutioin, Russian and the Iranian Revolutions.

The basis of any revolution that replaces a national establishment (Iran, for example) must be religious introspection, a spirit of reformation, a drive towards demolishing the old and creating the new. When the political atmosphere is rife with dissatisfaction, then comes a vanguard party, the Bolsheviks with Lenin, the Republicans with Rousseau/Voltaire, Pasdaran with Khomeini and Republicans with Oliver Cromwell,

Unfortunately, we have already had our religious revolution. Its the Taliban with Mullah Omar. We may want to have a different revolution: The lawyers with Aitzaz. But it won’t happen because their revolution is more sophisticated and requires precious brain matter. Majority of our population has the mental capabilities of Khilafah Turtles (religious, middle class values, hypocrisy) or Teendoos (blind party loyalty, uncritical politics, hypocrisy, fascism).

In the absence of broad religious upheaval, rejection of religious politics and commitment to some ideal, there will never be a revolution. Ergo, we will never get rid of our establishment.

• AMagsi said:

@GM

When PPP make any statements its political statement and a safaid jhoot but when PML(N) makes a statement is all good u need to come out of Nawaz Sharif @$$

• mbokhari said:

@AMagsi

And yes, my daddy can beat your daddy up. Thats a stupid argument.

If you have an intelligent argument to make, do it, and let others decide how to make up their minds. I suggest if you disagree with someone, bring counter-examples. Suggesting people have their heads shoved in someone else’s behind kills your argument.

And above all, please try to be civil and don’t get personal. Don’t make this website into a Youtube comments section. You can go to youtube and troll to your heart’s extent.

• mbokhari said:

A Shape of Things to Come?

Arrest warrant against ex-army chief Mustafiz
    Staff Correspondent

A Dhaka court issued arrest warrant against former army chief Gen (retd) Mustafizur Rahman cancelling his bail as he failed to appear before it in the MiG-29 corruption case yesterday.

Judge Golam Mortoza Majumder of Divisional Special Judge’s Court issued the warrant after rejecting the former army chief’s time petition.

• TK said:

@mbokhari: dude I’m gonna have to read your post again.. but let me just say that I think the differences seem semantic at first but are more fundamental (IMO). I think the reason of a lack of a proper establishment is a lack of a coherent identiy. And btw, I don’t expect any ‘establishment’ to be benign, I expect them to be ruthless, power hungry, sneaky and all that “good stuff”.. but all “good” establishments always strike a balance and they all start out in meager circumstances.. (the american, french.. british what have you) and the nations surrounding them are not much better.. anyhoo.. I’ll need more time to explore this further…

What I’m trying to convey is that ours is actually not an establishment in the proper sense of the word…. it is “something like that”.. but in essence it is a whole other animal.. (I always chuckle when Mushahid “Napolean” Hussain say.. “ab to nai establishment aa gaie na ji” eheheh)

but I know I haven’t built my case properly..

hey but interesting you mention the saas-bahu relationship in a discussion about establishment and power politics.

I have been intrigued by it as well.. and I’ve tried to observe this relationship in the context of various cultures I’ve been in.. I have come to the conclusion that it is basically a power struggle between the two women.. not necessarily for “the affections” of the man, but for the man itself as “an object of control” (as opposed to object of desire platonic/passionate/etc)

You see, I have this man-ghaRat theory that man-woman relationships are about control. And specifically, the exercise of woman’s control over man. In my htinking.. man controls the world, and woman controls the man. This control is not what men usually associate with control (displays of dominance) but a longer term, subtle, almost imperceptible form of control.. almost as if anesthesia is involved :)

I also think there is some kind of eveolutionary benefit from this rivalry.. I don’t exactly know what.. but ususally the “bahu” wins this one. The Saas, finds it hard to give up that control .. That tussle is usually ‘the transition period”…

anyways.. totally off topic rant.. but I noticed it in your audio talk as well.. and i’ve thought about it as well so it kinda piqued my interest… I think this ‘power struggle’ seems to be universal in all human societies.. and therefore I think it’s an evolutionary/power/control thing which of course get’s slatherd in the culture that it happens to operate in.

I think there are too many mistakes in this.. but I’m way too tired to fix any of them..lol

• nota said:

@AMagsi
    “When PPP make any statements its political statement and a safaid jhoot but when PML(N) makes a statement is all good u need to come out of Nawaz Sharif @$$”

Who what a defense: “PPP make any statements its political statement and a safaid jhoot.” And good to know what body part of Zardari you are hiding in :)

• Kruman said:

Good one Nota!

Next AZ will be appointing these goons as SC judges.

In another interesting development an MNA from PPP said in Multan that she’ll resign if PPP fails to reinstate the judges.

• AMagsi said:

First of all i dont consider zardari as my leader and secon that u should be thankful that im not hiding in ur mom ?????

• Fahim23 said:

@AMagsi on May 22nd, 2008 10:45 pm

The admIn is certainly pro-PMLN which has nothing wrong. I just don’t understand why he sometimes tries to hide it. When you have personal inclination towards any thing, then even if you try very hard, you cannot escape that.

• admin pkpolitics said:

@AMagsi,

I apologize if you got offended from GM’s statement. He has been very upset since Zardari declared his signed Murree Declaration as a “Political Statement” and he was joking with you in that regard.

I have added your news article here.

• nota said:

@AMagsi
    BB is not my mom. :P

• nota said:

@AMagsi
    And thank you for confirming your my suspicians about your family’s roots. The fruit doesn’t fall far fro the tree, now does it?

• Riddle 792 said:

JAAL: Dil Dil Hindustan Jan Jan Pakistan
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1qIuPMy7-M

do think if there is any thing wrong with it ???

• nota said:

Regarding Miliband’s statements:

It is interesting to compare how our press reported his statements and how the western press reported the sane:
    Daily Times:
    No ‘military solution’ to FATA problems: Miliband
    Dawn:
    Britain backs negotiations with militants: Miliband
    AFP:
    Miliband warns Pakistan, Afghanistan democracies at risk

Hard to believe they are talking about the same thing. Here’s another example:
    Dawn:
    US ‘reserves judgment”(on peace deal with militants)
    The Australian:
    US slams Pakistan pact with al-Qa’ida-linked rebels

• Riddle 792 said:

MQM gave “Lifafa” to Hassan Nisar:
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/23-05-2008/col14.htm

I can not F@#k$%g believe this.. what is wrong with our nation…..

I always thought that Hassan Nisar was a good journalist with a “different” idea of peaceful Pakistan………… But reading his today article…….

ufffffffffffffffff :(

No wonder we as a nation are doomeddddddddddd

• sleepingnation said:

riddle 792

a few weeks agao hassan Nisar met altaf terrorist in London..i do not remeber the exact date but News was in daily Jang ..that Hassan Nisar Met Altaf Hussain..so yes may be he got some Lifafa from altaf

• TK said:

@Riddle792: “I thought [so and so] was a great [so and so]”

hehehe… I’ve been bitten by this too… :D

TRUST NO ONE. PERIOD.

P.S. (except me of course)

• TK said:

@nota: hehe.. yeah.. it’s funny isn’t it.. our newspapers have a tendency to try to lull us into sleep.. until of course it is too late…

Remember the 6th fleet? Well it’s coming.. Don’t worry.. be happy..

BTW, here is the whole David Miliband audio right from the horses mouth:

http://www.csis.org/component/option,com_csis_events/task,view/id,1660/

Don’t you love how Neocons/Zionists move their “players” on the board towards key positions in key powerful states.. to achieve their objectives? And now they’re fighting tooth and nail in Pakistan to save their stooge Moshe Kutyaan.

• sic5770 said:

“MQM gave “Lifafa” to Hassan Nisar:”

I am sure Hasan Nisar must have realized if everybody is making deals with everybody, why not I kiss Altaf’s ass and able to achieve something late in the carrier which I have not achieved all my life.

PS: I am sure both Nisar and Naaji pissing in the same pan.

• TK said:

@nota et al:

I would like to observe that his overall tone is reconciliatory (though I still think it was a veild threat re: democracies.. but his remarks, proposal rather, of a diminished role of the military in the Pakistani State has to be a welcome change.. but we’ve heard these things before too..)

David Miliband’s address to CSIS (PDF) :

Here is his statement re: the Diminished Role of the Military.:

Fourth, democracy cannot work effectively when power is concentrated in
    one institution
    – be it the army or the executive. Stability requires an
    equilibrium in the distribution of power, within the different arms of the
    state – parliament, judiciary and the army – and between the state, civil
    society and individuals.

The imbalance of power between the military and civilian dimensions of
    the Pakistani state has been the source of continuous instability. The
    army’s stranglehold on politics has prevented democratic government
    from maturing and moving beyond personality politics to proper policy-
    based debate.

Given the nature of Pakistani society, the army will need to continue to
    play an important role. But the army’s commitment to stay out of politics
    must be sustained. It must be prepared to accept civilian administration,
    even when that involves rebalancing the budget away from defence to
    allow for more money to be spent on economic development and social
    welfare.

An independent judiciary is critical in protecting democracy from
    manipulation and corruption, and ensuring that differences are settled on
    the basis of rules not force. But building an independent judicial system in
    Afghanistan where it costs $115 to feed the average family for a month,
    yet judges are paid less than $100 and prison guards just $42, is an
    enormous task. The international community will need to provide support,
    both through finance and training.

The informal checks and balances outside the state are arguably just as
    important in holding government to account. The vibrant Pakistani media
    – despite reversals at the end of last year – helped to shape the debate
    about the need for free and fair elections. The independent media in
    Afghanistan, though challenged, has an important role to play in holding
    the Government to account and keeping people informed in the run up to
    the elections of the next two years. Civil society organisations or NGOs
    can strengthen governance by providing a platform for people to engage
    with the state.

• BABU FROM USA said:

@TK !! I agree that AZ acted like a chicken in his next statement but still we should need to give him some credit for giving a statement against mush. I think it was a big thing to hear a statement from AZ who was acting like a A team to mush. I know he said this statement under extreme pressure from within his own party as well as people pressure.
    He realized that his own party will not support him in supporting mush.