50 Minutes - 16 May 2008

Shehzad Roy, Ahsan Iqbal and other educationalists with Abdul Rauf in 50 Minutes.

20 Comments »

yaar ye tu freeee hona chaea

2. rajkumar123 Says:
    May 16th, 2008 at 11:55 pm

A good program indeed. However, (and a big HOWEVER REALLY):

Ahsan Iqbal says to make education more demand driven (agreed). But he quotes examples of Persian and “Philosophy” as insignificant as there is no demand for such courses. I particularly disagree for the case of philosophy here. For philosophy has always stayed on the cutting edge of human development. Philosophy attempts to answer the questions which science failed to answer and the ones that mythology never bothered to answer. However, I do agree that philosophy is not a “popular” subject world over. Besides it has less demand as well. However, it is very important to introduce students to such a subject so that some of the nerds may take it up professionally to become guys like Iqbal etc. It would be a good idea rather to teach students various things from the Greek philosophy at some stage so as to provoke some thinking habits.

3. imalik5525 Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 12:45 am

@rajkumar

i 100% agree with you……….

this is a few days old

5. sajid mehmood Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 12:51 am

@rajkumari
    with due apology, i have to say it is better not to comment on something you don’t know.
    if you want to come up with a logical explanation to some problem, you need to know the logic/philosophy first. There has been times when logic was being taught everywhere especially by the islamic scholars. Your ability to explore, learn and give highly valid and acceptable explanations of every issue increases if you keep in view the principles of logic (a sub-branch of philosophy). Whenever, we listen anything non-sense we call it illogical. Illogicality of an explanation decreases if it is crafted in a logical fashion. I think philosophy should be taught at all levels, everywhere. Here in Europe it is an important component of curruculm especially in higher studies. I am doing PhD in Economic Sciences, and after having read philosophy I am feeling more strong to take onto the assignment of presenting an acceptable thesis to the scholarly community which is not possible if it is not logical and i cannot do good logic if i don;t know what logic/philosophy is (analogy: A barber cannot repair a car because he does not know anything about the car). I think Mr. Ahsan Iqbal is too learned for a nation which has Master and even PhD degree holders with knowledge inferior to those of undergraduate of Europe and USA. So be careful in criticizing/commenting upon a learned persons views when you don’t have the enough knowledge to do that. But i know this is a fashion in Pakistan. (Sorry for being harsh, but your comments were too foolish)

6. God that failed Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 12:55 am

@rajkumar123
    “However, it is very important to introduce students to such a subject so that some of the nerds may take it up professionally to become guys like Iqbal etc”.
    What have you referred iqbal to…a nerd or a psychological wreck?

7. sajid mehmood Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 12:56 am

i know there are lot of (spelling and grammatical) mistakes in my blog posted in the above.

8. God that failed Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 1:07 am

If so, the only problem with Iqbal, if any, for some readers was that he was a greater mind like Nietzsche and Rumi. Many tiny minds have failed to understand their philosophy and yet have assaulted them vainly. Only somewhat greater minds have understood them :P

“hamara har government school Atchison high school se acha bane ga” - ahsan iqbal

What a joke!

11. A Kamran Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 7:43 am

I agree taht our Eduaction System need a full transformation/ overhaul, ofcourse people have to come forward to make this a priority for ruling parties.

A good program/ tradition where many stakeholder air their views. After this a more detailed series may be necessary b4 govt finalizes its policy; Ahsan Iqbal is on leave these days due ro judges so Eduaction & every thing else has to wait as far as contribtuon from PML(N) is concerned.

12. spectremak Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 11:15 am

Please Add Free version of Kal Tak

13. BABU FROM USA Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Lets hope for the Best in education.

I hope so too!

@Sajid Mehmood

There is a joke in punjabi:
    “Q: Tusee lahore jaa rahay ho?
    A: Naheen, main lahore ja riya aan”

As it appears to me, Rajkumar presented a case FOR philosophy and not against it. You also came up in support of philosophy as to how it helps you in presenting a better thesis as you prepare to graduate in Economics.

In this light your harsh criticism appears quite idiotic to me.

16. rajkumar123 Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 5:34 pm

@ sajid Mehmood

I dont know what is the crux of ur mail. OK, it sounds good that u r doing PhD. But it doesnt sound good that u start lashing out ur harsh comments on me like this. Words like foolish etc. sound saddening. I presume that education should also teach us some humility. And even if my comments are really not up to the mark, please help me rectify my thoughts, for I may be the same undergrad student who needs some counselling, and to groom the likes of whom u r working day in and out to learn a PhD degree.

I must agree that I haven’t read philosophy much. I find it hard to read and understand logic, for instance. But I dont undermine its importance, maybe it is just that my aptitude is not up to the mark at the moment to grasp the basic concepts. But all I wanted to say was that philosophy should be taught i Pakistan.

We can also criticize Ahsan Iqbal, why cant we? Sure we can. It is a god thing that he is a Ivy leaguer. But his coming from such an institution shouldnt make us stand any shorter. And even in Pakistan, specially in Urban areas like Pakistan, the people who are introduced to Ivy Leagues are no more shy of applying there for admissions. And as a matter of fact there are many who actually do end up there. Ivy League is not a news in Pakistan.

On the other hand, what ever ur recommendations are for the rest of the people of Pakistan, and no matter whether they take them or not, I am not shy of criticizing Ahsan Iqbal. I think I am equally qualified, if not more. And I am confident. Besides, given that I am a decent person, I would choose my words accordingly while doing so. :)

I particularly didnt like the way you kind of bashed me. That we must respect u coz u r doing a PhD sounds, but please dont think that u r a unique person on this forum. I personally believe that plenty of PhDs benefit from pkpolitics everyday. Moreover, it would lead u to earn a poor reputation among ur students if you bash them like this.

I conclude this message with a personal quote which I just coined to suit the context of this mail.

Education should inculcate decency and humility, apart from the skills of the trade: For it not hard to find a good car mechanic in Pakistan, but it is hard to find one who is genteel too.

I am so sick of watching Ahsan Iqbal in every other program.

18. Usman_Sheikh Says:
    May 17th, 2008 at 10:22 pm

i totally agree with shehzad roy …..he clearly mentioned and defined one of the several problems in our system

it was nice to watch yet another discussion on education. there are no two opinions that education should be there for all and same. but my worry is that even in studies we are looking for commerical / sellable items. rather we should make the market value of neglected fields, attention and pays should be the same / or at least comparable not matter if some one is IT professional, or islamiat teacher. or else we shall loose many prospective brilliant islamic scholars for that matter.

And secondly in the modern age of OCW why dont dont we offer video lectures of subject specialists to all the Govt. high schools, all one needs is a computer for a grooup of 4-5 students, and they can watch it at the time of their ease. i know its not unique idea there is one virtual tv and i remember watching some of their lectures, why cant their recorded programs be offered to students so that they can watch it at the time of their convenience.

wassalam

20. kurkosmici Says:
    May 19th, 2008 at 12:21 pm

The main education is not from the school, but from the home. Our whole society is uneducated. We need strong revolution in every department. Changing schooling system will not help our children to progress. We must have ethics and social education.

I give you one example: In europe the dogs also cross the road on zebra crossing and dogs also wait for the green light to cross the road. How amazing it is.
    Any comments.