ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan People’s Party is all set to clip presidential powers and pre-empt the lawyers June 10 long march for the judges restoration by introducing the 18th constitutional amendment, which has almost been finalised, before the budget session.
Related Article
Naek explains planned amendments
May 20th, 2008 at 12:42 am
Little good in it. Have guts to implement it retroactively? Will kill two birds with one stone!
May 20th, 2008 at 12:49 am
18th amendment is a mixed bag, what choice would N league have in case its filed coz it also gives cover to 3rd Nov’s unconstitutional acts
May 20th, 2008 at 12:52 am
N league might agree to some point but might not agree on some others, some one kindly enlighten me, would N league have choice to vote on point to point basis or would it have to aprrove or disapprove the package as a whole,either take it or leave it..?
May 20th, 2008 at 1:10 am
it proves that zardari is working on his slogan to make parliament soverign,and stopping judges to give approval to martial law in future,this will be great attck on establishment
May 20th, 2008 at 1:13 am
Am I missing something here? Why would Mush be amenable to permanently clipping the powers of the presidency? Why is PPP willing to engage with PMLQ on this amendment? Why is the PMLN so insistent that restoration, even if it includes Iftikhar Chaudhry, will not be valid only if it occurs through a resolution that would sanctify the day before November 3rd, rather than supremacy of the 1973 constitution?
I get that Zardari wants stay immune, and that he doesn’t trust Nawaz-Chaudhry in this regard. But what reason would PMLN have for not supporting the PPP on this package, which would serve the sovereignty of parliament. Somebody (who?) should just pardon bloody Zardari so we can get on with life. Let’s go after Zardari once he starts to think of himself as the Ameer-ul Momineen rather than obsess about his backroom style
May 20th, 2008 at 1:14 am
sorry that should read,
Why is the PMLN so insistent that restoration, even if it includes Iftikhar Chaudhry, will only be valid if it occurs through a resolution that would sanctify the day before November 3rd, rather than supremacy of the 1973 constitution?
May 20th, 2008 at 2:25 am
@kalabaazi: “Somebody (who?) should just pardon bloody Zardari so we can get on with life.”
You should have told this to him.. he could have gotten rid of moshe and then gotten himself pardoned for it.. as part of a written deal…
I think the sovereignty of the parliament is given. But the sanctity of the judiciary (not Iftikahr Ch.) was violated on Nov 3 by a Jurnail with dubious qualifications with a sitting senate, PM, cabinet.
I they they should also put a poison pill in the 18th amendment.. which is that if any Military officer is involved in putting the constitution in “Abeyance” they will automatically be courtmartialed. If they abrogated it.. they must be killed.
Poison pill number 2 is that the maximum emergency that can be executed is Rule by Cabinet… and Governor rule under the command of the cabinet.
Enough of this FUQQN Bs jurnail-shahi…
May 20th, 2008 at 2:26 am
PPP run by Zardari is a shameless party.
They are trying to tame justice of this country.
May 20th, 2008 at 2:30 am
And Disband that WRETCHED BADBAKHT Triple One brigade… Khuda in kuttooN kaa sattiya-naas kare inhooN nay Pakistan ko barbaad kiya hai!
The Parliament and PM must be protected by a civilian corps of police officers UNRELATED to the military.
If there is a Pakistani version of the French Revolution, I think the mob justice will take the form of public burnings.. No “humane & quick” death for these rats! They will be killed in the same manner these parasites have destroyed their motherland .. slowly and painfully.
May 20th, 2008 at 4:16 am
PPP is afraid of Judicial March by Lawyers and Retired General’s March outside Army House where Musharraf is staying. Also, Mumtaz Bhutto met PML-N leadership and other political leaders in Lahore. Mumtaz
Bhutto is also touring interior Sindh to expose Zardari. All these are
putting pressure on PPP leadership and they want to get a package through Parliament as soon as possible. Lets hope Nawaz Sharif does not compromise on Judiciary issue with PPP.
We can win if do not rely on political leaders. Continue the struggle with the full support of masses. Musharraf and Zardari will collapse.
May 20th, 2008 at 4:20 am
PPP and PML-N want superamacy of parliament but nothing is being discussed there. All issues are being negotiated outside the parliament.
Prime Minister and Memebrs of Parliament are taking orders from the party leadership. Both, Zardari and Nawaz Sharif are not elected members of parliament.
What kind of democracy? Can some one explain?
May 20th, 2008 at 9:51 am
good article!
What Mr 10% doesnt realise is that if we dont have independent and fearless judges like Mr chaudhry who have the balls to refuse and stand up against the uniformed, self-proclaimed Gods of this nation, this power show will continue forever. These constitutional amendments/packages can be replaced by further changes and packages in the future when another uniformed bastard will rise from GHQ and occupy the state like a bandit. New Q league , new shaukat aziz and new jamilis will be produced and they wont waste a minute in throwing these constitutional changes into the bin. We need independent judges sir, not a bloody piece of paper. Laws have been there since this unfortunate state was born, we need law implementers not laws or lawmakers for that matter!
But how will Mr 10 % know that. He can only see his millions. Good old NRO.
Waqaii! jamhooriat behtreen intiqaam hay!
Awaam se!
May 20th, 2008 at 10:55 am
Dear All.
I am new to this forum. I am also one of you who closely follow Pakistan Politics and love to discuss it.
But unlike many of you - I am more neutral (as my nick says) … I appreciate good and I disagree with bad. Its not that I never followed any party but because I am sick of many politicians in our country.
SO, if my comments in future are not of any one’s views or their party, PLEASE DO NOT FEEL VIOLATED OR INSULTED. I just want to give my views to the content and will try to make discussion in mature manner.
Thanks Admin for accepting me … and look forward for discussions to come.
May 20th, 2008 at 11:04 am
@wshaikh
Its better that Zardari and Nawaz are sitting outside parliment … look Sonia Gandhi in India … she was smart and the democracy in India works fantastic.
What makes difference: if they are out or in - the decisions will be made by them whatever happens … we have to accept that it is Pakistan, we people have different mentality.
As far as I know whatever decisions are made by Sharifs or Zardari … they take their party members in confidence. I dont think that they are that fool to leave their members behind and even if they are left behind they always say “Yes Sir”
Faraz
May 20th, 2008 at 11:31 am
we need the judges back with all they powers on 2 nov 07. as for mr 10% is downhill till the next elections, honeymoon is over.
May 20th, 2008 at 1:31 pm
As such it is a good idea to start from scratch and get rid of all PCO judges – both the past judges as well as the present judges, but is this an honest effort from PPP-Q. Obviously not, because just like any other previous government – be it civilian or military – PPP-Q also want to control the judiciary as much as possible, and this is exactly their intention – otherwise they would have reinstated the judiciary, which dared to say no to a dictator. How can PPP-Q keep those judges who stood up against a dictator? Another blow to the judiciary will be that a lot of inexperienced judges may find a way to the top posts, and thus again easy to manipulate and easy to toy around with.
PPP-Q intentions are really worrying
I don’t understand why there is no uprising within this party. Have they all closed their eyes?
May 20th, 2008 at 2:08 pm
Dear Admin,
My comments read “our comment is awaiting moderation”?
Is it normal when it write comment each time or is it because I am new?
Many thanks,
Faraz
May 20th, 2008 at 2:20 pm
BREAKING!!
Asif Zardari is hiding BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI in a cave in Koh-e-Hindu-Kush and refusing to come out … he has said he doesn’t like the BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI number 18 and therefore will not tell Yusuf Rubberstamp Gillani to table BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PALTI the amendment until and unless it is renumberd to Amendment No. Pachattari !
BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
Mr. Zardari also BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PALTI said he doesn’t like the color blue and demanded it be named Zlue ..
Shareek chairman nay yeh bhi kaha keh BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI ek dafa daataa saahab kay urs per BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI ek malaNg nay unki chummi lenay ki koshish ki thi aur voh yeh chummi-gate awaam ki adaalat meN pesh kareNgay.. kiyoonkey.. us malaNg ki moonCh Ch. Iftikhaar say milti thi..
May 20th, 2008 at 2:46 pm
what if we replace PAALTI with PAATI?
May 20th, 2008 at 2:48 pm
Punjab govt of PML has announced full protocol of CJP to CJP Iftikhar Chaudry when he visits Punjab because he is the real CJP… excellent initiative by PML
[On purpose i have said PML as PMLQ doesnt exist anymore]
May 20th, 2008 at 3:01 pm
Farooq Khal naik! Judges ki bahaali ke liye aaiinii package mukammal ho gia hay….tamam parties ka is par ittifaaq ho gia hay….aik do din main judges bahaal ho jain gain…hamray aur NS ke darmiaan koi difference nahinj hay….PML-N aur hamaray darmiaan sirf modalities ka farq hay…woh kuch din main hal…………….BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
Bonga Badr! BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
hamaray quaid asif ali zardari sahb sahee keh rahay hain….is se pehlay hamari quiad shaheed mohtarma bhi theek kehti theen aur is ke baad hamaray honay walay quaid bilawal zardari bhutto bhi sahee kahain gay….BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
Ahmed khud Mukhtaar! mushrraf hamara qaumi assaasa hain…BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
Mrs Qureshi Foreign walay! amricaa se taawun isi tarah chaltaa rahay gaa….kashmir policy par tasulsul barqaraar rakhaa jaey gaa…. dehshat gardi ke khilaaf jang jari rahay gi…..BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
Sherry parkatti rehmaan: Musharraf ne aaj phir cheenk maari hay……. Yeh hamaray khilaaf saazish hay……….BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
farzana Raja! BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
Saiin zardari! Jamhooriat ke liye ham ne sab se ziada qurbaanian deen
iss liye ab hamari marzi ke ham is ke saath kia karain
aakhir ko BB KI SHAHADAT — SHAHEEDONKI PAALTI
Bilawal zardari! waisay to jo mairay daddy keh rahay hain wohi theek hay
laikin arz kia hay
‘jamhooriat behtreen intiqam hay’
apni awaam se
May 20th, 2008 at 3:03 pm
I agree that NS should not compromise with PPP on judges issue. NS must stand with lawyers,APDM ,civil society and the majority of people of Pakistan TO RESTORE OUR HONOURABLE JUDGES.
NO COMPROMISE ON JUDGES ISSUE.
UNITED WE STAND.
DIVIDED WE FALL.
May 20th, 2008 at 3:08 pm
@ALEXBUTT>>>LOL>>> well observed.
May 20th, 2008 at 3:13 pm
@alexbutt
Plz add these>> Latif Khota, Baja Pervez musharaff, Babar Hawan, Retarted Malik
May 20th, 2008 at 3:18 pm
@alexbutt: hehehe
May 20th, 2008 at 3:32 pm
AZ will never jeoperdize the NRO by reinstating IMC. Punjab govt should repoen corruption cases against AZ.
May 20th, 2008 at 8:31 pm
While PPP is moving ahead with bringing sweeping changes to the constitution and bring it closer to 1973 form and restore judges…NS is still sitting on the “Parliament Resolution” EGG…….waiting for results to come out….NS should wake up from the “KURAK” ….Mutawallas and Piyalas should compell their leader to leave the “KURAK”……..
May 21st, 2008 at 3:08 am
73 Constitution was the brain child of many seasoned politicians and law makers. Present constitutional package is the solo effort of Law-Less minister and Zar-Dari. Could you believe they even didn’t consult any prominent law maker. Shame –Shame—Shame. IS this democracy or BBcracy. They going to have a tough time in parliment during debate.
We should protest on each any every corner of this earth and expose these so called champions of JAMHOREET.
I hope senior PPP politicians who have been cornered by unelected Chamchas’ like law-Less minister, Rahman Duakate, Barber Awaine (Awanoo key munh pay Kalik) and Future BB of PPP (Information Ministry) will speak some day.