Ex-Chairman Pakistan Steel Mills, General Abdul Qayyum reveals the corruption in Privatization Scandal of Steel Mill in fresh episode of Meray Mutabiq with Dr. Shahid Masood.
May 25th, 2008 at 6:57 am
One of the best interviews I have watched! Hats off to the General. He exposed everybody, Musharraf and his cronies. Atleast, not all generals are ‘yes men’ to the dictator. I respect this man.
May 25th, 2008 at 7:56 am
If I am not wrong he (Abdul Qayyum) is the same person came in (views on news) and he was defending this shameful act of privatization of steel mill .At that time he was chairman of steel mill. I remember he said that steel mill might be at loss in future & he gave so much weak & stupid reasons for that privatization. Now the person is ex chairman and he is telling all about this fake privatization. Why these people tell the truth when they become EX ?
May 25th, 2008 at 8:03 am
@fiza
do you know the source where one can find his earlier views?
notwithstanding fiza’s comments, I must say this was a brilliant programme, a gem of journalism. The resulting ‘facts’ were depressing though.
I think Dr. Shahid should do more usch programmes where he should help the public understand how the system runs. It will be useful if, towards the end, or on the very next day, he also interviews someone who represents the alternate viewpoint. In this case it could have been the then head of the privitisation commission or the person who signed the ‘rude’ letter to the Chair Steel Mills. What willa lso help if some documentary evidence is added. For example, in this case the letters, judgements and reports taht were refered to could have been shown as well.
good work…
May 25th, 2008 at 8:05 am
my request to Dr, Shahid will be to interview someone in UAE government and dsicuss how Geo transmissions were stopped. It will be very enlightening to understand how Pkaistan government was able to ‘force’ another government to block a TV channel. It may not be easy to get to the facts but whatever will come out will shed some light on the matter.
May 25th, 2008 at 8:11 am
People like this General and General Kayani give me hope that we do have decent hard working officers in our army.
I want to bring Shaukat Aziz back to Pakistan and give him Sher Afghan style treatment.
May 25th, 2008 at 8:12 am
Well done….very informative and at perfect time …Good stuff Dr. SM
May 25th, 2008 at 9:14 am
@ibnrazi
You have good ideas in the above two comments, I think Dr. Shahid should do that, it will be highly appreciated by the people since they are more aware today than they were yesterday.
May 25th, 2008 at 10:07 am
ki mere qatal ke baad us ne jafa se toba
hei us zode pasheman ka pasheman hona
excuse from General Abdul Qayyum is not acceptable; he is responsible for what happened. Let’s decide for the future that no faugi/ militaryperson to be appointed in the management of public and private sector companies.
Dr. SM did not ask about the big business/ corruption military is in, many companies….Faugi foundation, NLC, Banks etc…and making lots of money, influence, lobbying; Ref. Dr. Aisha Sidiqa and other sources.
Aactuall our military is trained by colonial masters and imperialists according to their British & American people supressing by force type of standards.
Zia’s so called “jihadi” & “pure wahabi” mindset & training made the things even complex….in the whole scheme of “manipulating people to any level” … such that faugis now have a paralell system “govt over a govt” in Pakistan and they behave as “black” angreez/ britisher supressing their own people; we never forget number of dictators and marsha laws, farms cases against mazaras, militray insulting police, Dera bugti woman rape case, Manssor ul Haq, King of heroine Fazal-e-Haq, Ogari Camp, Shia Suni conflict, masakar in Sind, Northeren areas, NWFP and Baluchistan, kidnapping and brutally murdering their own people and thousands of such matters.
When it comes to tehir real job of combating real enemies they are fast to surrender.
shame shame shame faugis…
Their role is set to serve pepole and function as chaukidars to guard national bounderies which they are paid…..like loyal dogs…for not more not less.
May 25th, 2008 at 11:11 am
1) Dr. Shahid will do whatever is in the interest of owners of his TV channel.
2) Agreed that he does not allow his guests to finish their point of view. but what can be done, Dr. Shahid has NEVER paid any heed to various listeners / friends, etc who have either e-mailed him their suggestions, or have personally requested him, over the years, to do so.
3) Like Hamid Mir, he is working for a controversial channel, whose roots are in MQM ( Muhajir Qatil mivement ? ) If i were in his place, i would have left this TV channel, much earlie, alas, when money is at stake, who will leave such a prized position ?
4) Also, agreed that Dr. Shahid is an able anchor person / anaylst, but it does not give him the right to ‘ CUT DOWN ‘ his guests. He laments / bemoans the
helplessness of the natives, over the Indian Sub-continent , during the British colonial masters rule,for over 200 years.
5) Yet he unconsciously wears western dresses & takes pride in the ‘ culture ‘
of the ‘ vultures ‘ of the WEST, but at the same time expresses plaints & wails in his talk shows, about the poor & declining condition of the so-called
‘ Islamic ‘ states & their culture, by the intrigues of the WEST.
6) A show called ‘ The END of Times ‘ was nicely prepared & telecast by by himself, in which he exactly did what has been said above, i.e ; bewailing the adoption of western dress & values, due to cleverness & trickery of the WESTERN Christians & JEWS, by the so-called muslim states.
7) I personally know people who requested him through e-mails / phone calls /
personnel meetings, to make a start in wearing Islamic dress, to set an example, but he never seemed to pay much attention.
May 25th, 2008 at 11:25 am
Don’t accusing Ex-Chairman, Steel Mills, he could an honest person as he mentioned here( unless we have access to a person who worked with him or knows him very well).
Don’t agree with Ex-Chairman, about running the country, because Musharraf is doing same thing, what PPP, MQM and ANP is doing (”shir aur shakar”) no policy differenc, if these parties don’t agree with Musharraf they should come public and say, they have public behind them, if they have!!!! Public don’t see any difference before and now, it is worst than before.
If PPP and or new public government can’t give bread and shalter to public, nobody will come out for them to get bullet in their heads (peoples are smart now, if you pay few people it is different story), since these parties don’t have very good past history to give the public.
Now why don’t they sell Stolen Mills to china (no security risk) when deligation came from there?
We all know all government institutes are White Elephants (”NASUR”) those are sucking our nation’s (90% non-government employees and unemployed of the naiton) blood.
Again in governmental institutes 90% employees are damn corrupt and don’t leave any stone unturned to avial the opportunties (”jaiz or najaiz) for themselves only, beside their salaries, they get free medical benefit (they sell the medicians in the markets and make money plus with the help of the corrupt doctors they make false doctor visits and divide 50/50 and public pays), they also get rent allowances (they submit over-charged rent reciepts, even in foreign countries they are paid all these things in Dollors and Pounds according to American or European standards, in foriegn they also submit false recipts, and statements) like their Bosses, so who will do accountability? Obiviously it has to be approved, top to botton is corruption), plus bribery “Rishwat”, and if they are in sales department and other “shikaari” departments, they will use all national facilities (fax, phone,photo copy service, customers, etc)and will refer these customers to private outfit and get commission (these good for nothing B*S*T*D*S) get the salaries from public and serve private parties for commission. And many many more………..like the intestine of “saitan” endless.
Accepted Shortcut Aziz did many wrong doings, we also know sometimes one or two actions of these corrupt people benefits the nation (obiviously they do for themsleves, but unintentially it benefits the 90% of the nation) like sometimes very honest person can make mistake and nation has to pay the prize.
These institutes hardly made any profit campare to losses, they are net loss to the naiton. Why private sector makes profit whereas government sector losses. I can bet if you privatised PIA, it will be profitable institute, shame on PIA, which trained Air Emirates and Emirates makes profit and all indian and pakistanis like to travel on Emirates, for same fare Emirates has better reservation/booking systems (they don’t do “haram khori” like PIA does), and better customers service on board. This is the story of 90% government runned institutes.
Why Russia failed because they had everything nationalised. I saw on tv around the fall of Russia they have one bread used to come out of bakery after some time. Obiviously there is lack of interest and responsiblity that what I will get if I prepare 5 bread in a minute and I won’t be fired from job for negligents (no accountability)!!!!!
Accepted chief jutice gave correct disicion in his capacity. But see the followings;
Now look from different angle. Total losses of each institute is more than it costs of the whole institute so far, as of today.
More you keep these rotten institutes, more they will eat the foodless and helpless nation, for what? To benefit these 10% “Haram Khor”?
Get rid of these nation’s resources eating institutes for free even. When priviate owner will come he will make same decaying institute profitable (obiviosly for their own benefit), otherwise we will keeping paying (tremendous amount of money) out of the pockets of this foodless and shalterless nation. This will get rid, and will stop deficit financing righaway and this amount can be made available to other areas such as aid to poor farmers, private employees (employees those whose work at shops and other 90% non-governmental institutes and have no benefits annouced by the government, including two days off, who will be accountable on them?), deserving sick patients in government hospital for their medications, there are so many things can be done for the benefit of the general public from these decaying “haram Khor” govermnet departments”.
Please forgive this nation, oh you allmight government servants, nation has only few bones left you want to chew them too? You have looted all they had, they don’t have anything else. Now leave them alone, for the sake of Allah if you believe in him!!!!!! Because in first place, if you had believe you wouldn’t have done these.
Whatever corruption you are doing, Allah will show you results in your children, in your other family members and even in you, you will cry at night time when no one is looking you, you won’t be able to tell anyone that how pain and “siskiyan” inflicted on you, which is eating up you from inside.
It is the law of the nature ” What goes around comes around”. If you don’t believe it!!! Try it.
May 25th, 2008 at 1:09 pm
God knows, when this kanjar mushi leaves Pakistan. Look this Waseem Sajjad who demanded 62 Lakhs, when one was agreed on just 7 Lakhs. How the government tries to fund their lovers. Mushu said that OK add the bull shit Peerzadas (Haraam Zadas) all the family lawyers and tried to give them benifit so that they will lick him…..
May 25th, 2008 at 1:10 pm
Addition:
whereever there is denationalization, that country has progress, see country like China (where economical enterprises were totally in government control) they learnt and knew the key of economical progress, they forgot nationalized system, which kept them behind in economical progress, same thing is true about Russia.
The secret of western countries economical progress is lying in private sectors, they have only post office and forces in government section rest all private. Indian, Russia and China learnt from that and progressing, and getting world economical power.
In Pakistan corrupt Beaurocrates and other governmental employees are hindrence in the way incentive to the private section, many Pakistani from abroad went to Pakistan (for the love of the country, you don’t know their love towards Pakistan, you can’t even feel that) to invest but government Beaurocrates and red tapes created hindrences in every walk, they came back with half of their capital and experience that they are advising other overseas Pakistanis that we make mistake that we went to Pakistan and lost our blood earnings, because when we want to do business with white money and want to pay the taxes why we pay the bribery to these Beaurocrates every knock and conners.
Now tell me who will invest? Are these B*A*S*T*A*D*S are paid to serve these people or to loot them and create difficulties in their ways or dis-courage them. Go to Canada the government officials will rub their ass in front of investors to bring investments for their people not for themselves.
If these overseas Pakistanis were provided facilities, they can pay true taxes, since their money is white, they can provide employement to the mass, in the quantities which government cannot provide, some governments of the world want to do everything for the investors, only for that they provide employement to their public.
In above situation, who will bring investment to Pakistan??? And why? For those “Haramis”.
May 25th, 2008 at 1:12 pm
@fiza and ibnrazi
i remember that program in ‘view on news’ even in that program chairman steel mill said clearly that steel mill was going very profitable and there was no need for privatization.
and ibnrazi you must check the program of ‘view on news’ in which Dr Shahid revealed the whole scandal and after which chief justice of pakistan took suo moto notice and privatization was later cancelled.
i have the link but dont know how to post because it removes the post =]
May 25th, 2008 at 1:35 pm
One of the best interviews.
Lt. General Abul Qayoom seems to be a man of integrity and principles. I do not know him personally but I can feel the sincerity the way he answered the questions.
Mr Shoukat aziz and Musharaf are criminals and should be prosecuted and hanged if proven guilty .
May 25th, 2008 at 1:53 pm
@edcoym
I enjoyed your comments as much as I enjoyed the interview. You are absolutely Wright that the corrupt Beaurocrates and establishment is our problem. These forces are exploiting us for last 60 years. If we had a sincere leadership we could have Asian tigers long ago .We have so for wasted every thing, the talent, resources and what not.
May 25th, 2008 at 2:02 pm
But we need the total losses Steel caused us so far !!!! If it is more than the total cost of the outfit than better to get rid of this ‘NASUR”.
We all know the performance of government runned institutions, best example PIA and Emirates. People who travelled with PIA, they advise not to travel with this “chorr system” they had night mare. Everybody prefers to give foriegn exchange to their country, but not for thrid class service and screwed up reservation/booking and ripping off their own people.
I worked for travel agency in Karachi. I know PIA very well. It is my country’s airline but the people who operates it, I can’t trust them unless they travel with me.
May 25th, 2008 at 2:04 pm
It is enough to reveal and know about criminal people. We must now open our eyes. Dr Shahid is doing a great job. It was a great episode.
May 25th, 2008 at 2:14 pm
@edcoym
I am in favour of privatization, but it should be done observing some rules and regulation. It should be given to some one who are interested in business not like privatisation of PTCL and KESC. If privatisation is to your own friends and partners then I am afraid it will be another disaster
May 25th, 2008 at 2:20 pm
We have decaying system, nobody does anything about people’s bread and butter (it doesn’t mean that somebody talks B*S*H*T on media that bread and butter is nation’s problem and blah blah blah, everybody knows that) problem.
We don’t need talk ok!!! We need action.
GOLDEN WORDS:
————————
TALK IS CHEAP, ACTION SCREAMS
Don’t make nation stupid on the media by worthless speeches. Show in your action, what you are doing for the nation. Nation has sharp eyes they are watching, whatever you are doing, both good and bad. Clock is ticking and will decide whether you are winning or lossing battle against time.
May 25th, 2008 at 2:35 pm
@asqu,
just see, KESC is not independent, it dependents on WAPDA (Maader Chorr Department Of Government Servants).
Now let me explain you, KESC and PTCL, got these B*S*T*D*S “Haram Khorr” emplyees in “Jaahez:”. You can’t fire these good for nothing same S*H*T for improvement and quality of work. Plus they have link with these corrupt Beaurocrates, who don’t want any change, which changes their privelleges. And you know that no corrupt person can tolerate honest person or system, because they feel threat to their corrupt dynasty
May 25th, 2008 at 2:49 pm
@asqu,
Let me explain you, steel mill is very important for national security. You think national security agencies (they are more worried than you and I), will let it go in the hands of unfavourable person to pakistan? They will go into their asses before such a transaction takes place, and will keep monitoring them all the time. So what is disaster?
I guess you are satisfied now. Steel Mills is not only problem, we have PIA, PNSC,WAPDA,PAK TELEGRAPHS,ETC they all causing us to do tremendous amount of deficit financing for what? For these “haram khorrs”?
May 25th, 2008 at 2:53 pm
It was one of the best interview ever Dr. Shahid Masood brought on air for the general public of Pakistan to find out the truth behind the scene. I have strong believe that Lt. Gen.(Retd.) Abdul Qayyum was saying 100 % truth in the most popular political and social talk show “Meray Mutabiq”.
It is true, that being a Chairman Pakistan Steel Mill Gen.(Retd.) Qayyum Sahib brought hurdles for the Pervez Musharraf ’s imported Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz and his corrupt team to make easy billions of rupee under the table commission in the privatization deal.
Even though my support and political affiliation is with PPP from 30 years but at this stage ………. I have no respect for present PPP leadership the way they are mis-handling the issue of judiciary. I am not the only PPP devoted supporter but you can find hundred of thousands today who think in the same way after the assasination of Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Sahiba our political party is hi-jack by un-popular group within the party.
After this interview, sufficient information provided to the public to evaluate the route cause ……… I may suggest to Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan Mr. Justice (Retd.) Wajihuddin, Mr. Justice (Retd.) Tariq Mahmood and others to launch an F.I.R. against the un-constitutional and un-lawful President of Pakistan Pervez Musharraf and Fugitive Ex-Prime Minister of Pakistan Shaukat Aziz and others to face the criminal charges in the lower courts of Pakistan where the lawyers have no objections to appear in front of Session Judges.
Pervez Musharraf, Violate the 1973 Constitution of Pakistan. Shaukat Aziz, Sharif-Uddin Pirzada, Wasim Sajjad, Malik Abdul Qayyum, Wasi Zaffar, Dr. Sher Afghan Niazi, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Chaudhry Pervez Ellahi and other civil and services beaurecracy associated him to run the contry un-constitutionally which make them liable to be brought to justice as soon as possible in the superior courts of Pakistan.
If today, after getting the political strength by public at any stage present leadership of PPP Mr. Asif Ali Zardari and Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani Sahib and Rahman Malik Sahib failed to support PML(N), PTI, JI, Lawyers Movement and Strugle for Restoration of Judiciary, Civil Society, Print and Electronic Media, Students, Business Community, Political Workers are not going to spare them in near future.
Pervez Musharraf, will be arrested from Rawalpindi (Punjab) the moment Mian Shahbaz Sharif will become the Chief Minister of Punjab in coming few weeks and he (Pervez Musharraf) will also be chained in Attock Fort like he did with other political leaders.
Pakistan Peoples Party leadership have to take appropriate steps to ensure the public and supporters that GOD FATHER of Qatil League and his entire team is behind the bars and they have to face the charges in front of honourable superior judiciary which was available on November 02nd, 2007. We are not interested any enquiry from United Nations, we want quick result from our reputed officials to point out the key man behind the trigger …….. we are not interested in the ficilitators.
I am very greatful to pkpolitics management for providing us the most popular tv anchor shows on the internet at their earliest while we are away from country……….. Dr. Shahid Masood Sahib, millions of viewer love you because you are the best of the best tv anchors available. May ALLAH protect you always from the evil powers.
May 25th, 2008 at 3:00 pm
I have also noticed that Shahid Masood doesnt let his guests complete their point of view and that takes away the the flow and the context and at times Shahid Masood’s explanations are very childish
Gen Qayuum whatever his past is has done a very good job in coming on this programme and spill the beans.
I think this would be one of the final nail in the coffin of Musharraf.
Musharraf is trying to get Gen Kiyani removed as he has refused to back President to use 52 B and this Zardari knows very well therefore he has been bold against Musharraf.
Everyone knows that Musharrafi is DIRECTLY INVOLVED IN HURDER OF BENAZIR BHUTTO - no doubt about that.
May 25th, 2008 at 3:18 pm
this Retd.Gen (A)Qayuum is as big SOB as our beloved.At the time of corruption and money minting he was head of the Steel Mills and an accomplice of Musharraf. These days he has abandoned him to save his skin.
If i recall correctly he himself was advocating President Musharraf actions 18/24 months back. Hes also in the league of big cronies as Shaukat Aziz and the Chaudries.
Regarding “900 chohay kha ker billi haj to chali”. Jihad is saying right thing against might ruler at his time of power.No putting your tail between legs and attacking back when everything has passed.
May 25th, 2008 at 3:24 pm
Excellent program, lots of information, annoynaces kept to a minimum! Good JOB!
One thing is for sure:
We have had a group of wolves in charge of the chicken coop!
We need to make sure Musharraf, Pervez cannot run and hide, we need to bring “PM” Shaukat Aziz here, have him etradited and tried on Pakistani Soil!
These thieves must be made to pay!
First of all I was disappointed with Dr. Shahid to call CJ as Iftikhar Chaoudhary ONLY!!! Every channel news strip address Iftikhar Chaudhary as ‘Mazool CJ’.
Dr. Shahid is PPipliya from outside and MQM from inside!
Dr. Shahid is the best. It is such a coooool interview.
Note that he is the one who would have selected the topic for discussion and he is the one who has find that man. Hence I think he is the best one….
May 25th, 2008 at 3:27 pm
These people have treated Pakistan like a group of heyna’s and wolves treat a dead animal.. they rip the flesh off the body of our motherland so their heinous children can “live a better life”
Where’s a good sharp guillotine when you need one?
May 25th, 2008 at 3:28 pm
very impressive!
May 25th, 2008 at 3:33 pm
dear admin.
with deep sorrow.r we pakistani.was shuakat aziz pakistani.?what is the agenda of USA.is pakistan for sale.?how long we,ll be robbed by these peoples.?when we will see neat & clean GOVT.they will make pakistani nation beggers. MUSHRAFF should leave the presidency &be ready for his trial.because steel mill case is enough for him.in modren age we r still slave.is this our destiny.?pakistani nation should awake up now against these root causes.where the sharif-ud-din pirzada DAKU.has he died now.?where is QUMA CHNGAR.MUSHARAF really destroy this country badly.rupees still falling down.even dollar is falling down in whole world but in our country getting up.where r our reserves.where is WHEAT.where is gone our prosperity.where is Q league TOPI DRAMAY.they SOLD my homeland(PAKISTAN).GOD BLESS PAKISTAN.
May 25th, 2008 at 3:38 pm
Dear admin,
Somehow it ends in the middle…. Is the program is complete?
May 25th, 2008 at 3:42 pm
Hi Admin
Can you please upload capital talk with law minister and other old programs. Its been more than 48 hours. Thank you
May 25th, 2008 at 3:53 pm
To all those who are praising this RETIRED GENERAL !
Open your eyes guyz and stop praising every thing that you see on surface…. this is the reason that we r in the current mess…
we as a nation has a habit of making GODS out of corrupt people and then later on we burn their effigies….
Haven’t u thought for a single moment that this guy who is so bravely using words like “to be honest.. i did this… i said this”… is nothing more than a useless General who is trying to get close to PPP Zardari by blaming Mush in the latest developments…
Remember, he is using reverse psychology on some Stupid people by making them believe that I am the HONEST GOD…..
If he had such a courage that he is showing now….. then I ask this…
“where the hell was he for the last 4 years… why did’nt he brought this in open public since he claims to be a such a high patriotic person” /???
Is’nt this exactly what these all retired General do…….. ??
Remember …. ~ All what you see is not Gold….. Every single person has a “Personal Objective” these days…..
even u and me we all are the reason that our nation is at such a crossroad….
May 25th, 2008 at 4:02 pm
@edcoym
As I said Previously ,I am in favour of privatization, but it should be done observing some rules and regulation. It should be given to some one who are interested in business not like privatisation of PTCL and KESC. If privatisation is to your own friends and partners then I am afraid it will be another disaster
WAPDA supplies power to all of Pakistan, except the metropolitan city of Karachi and some of its surrounding areas which are supplied by KESC. KESC is a vertically integrated electricity supply company undertaking all elements of the supply chain – generation, transmission, distribution and retail supply. So it is wrong to blame WAPDA for mismanagement in KESC.
KESC was put on the chopping block and the usual motley crowd of investors representing obscure and insignificant companies in the Arab world grabbed the expensive family heirlooms at a price that General Zia would term as ?peanuts?. Of course, each buyer comes up with tall promises of injecting millions of dollars and cents to make the privatized enterprises into world class organizations. In the end, the harried Pakistani tax payer foots the bill while the manna is shared by who knows who.
Please see the link for more detail
http://www.sapulse.com/new_comments.php?id=161_0_1_40_M1
May 25th, 2008 at 4:12 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUYqi6shWyM&feature=related
May 25th, 2008 at 4:32 pm
@asqu
My friend, please let me know that, does KESC generates electic? I guess no, plus why they have no choice to hire and fire employees based on their efficiency and merit basis not based on “harami panah” like previous system (then what changes private section can bring to the public), why WAPDA is not given to KESC owners? Because half way denationalization and half way nationalization is same, as you want to keep happy god and saitan at the same time, it doesn’t work.
Plus Karachi’s Mafia is biggest hindrence and make private sector to run away, obiviosly nobody likes that they provide you kids jobs, invest their millions hard earned “aur tum in per dauns damao”. It will never work, and utimately young generation of Karachiites are suffering, and they will be jobless, they will do “ghunda Ghardhi” but they will not have respectable jobs.
If parents of a girl ask for “ber” what your son do, would they tell them that he snatches cell phone, perses, do “dakety” in people’s homes. Who likes this Zalil life, plus “kutta mot”.
Khuda Samaj dey is nadaan kaum ko.
May 25th, 2008 at 4:41 pm
Karachi Mafia, treats the KESC if they fired preious government empolyees they will have to pay, now tell me won’t you be scared? and will ever come back to Karachi Pakistan? Won’t you limit your business and will try to get rid of this, after all life is previous (may be not for Gundass)
May 25th, 2008 at 4:44 pm
Correction *Karachi Mafia, threats the KESC
May 25th, 2008 at 4:49 pm
We cant do privitization blindly. In every industry we have to look at our interests and should do whatever is beneficial for Pakistan.
Someone wrote it ‘mistake by Shaukat’. I think you dont know the definition of mistake. If I am an ordinary person (like I am right now) I wont even read it twice what I am writing now; but If I am PM of Pakistan I would re-read this 10 times before posting it. Try to understand what I said ….
Hearing the interview and decision of SC; makes the whole process very doubtful. No trust on this Aziz and Mush.
These ‘pak loving’ foreign pakistanis (in other words second class citizens of Europe and America); always go to pakistan assuming that they will see the same environment as they have in US/Europe. Every one knows the situation of pakistan; you dont need to tell us about ‘Mafia’.
Maza to tab hey jab in sab key hotey hoeee kutch karo pakistan keliey.
thats what is called ‘Jihad’. thats what Pakistan need. I am 100% sure that only pakistanis living in Pakistan can make pakistan better Pakistan.
Foreign Pakistanis Cant do any thing
(btw; I am also a 2nd class citizen of EU.)
May 25th, 2008 at 4:58 pm
@edcoym
I think we should not drift away from the topic. In principle I have no objection in privatisation. The world have seen how the the Russian economy has been collapsed based upon socialist philosphy . China shifted successfully from socialist to imperial economy after taking lessons from USSR.
The only point is not to throw away National assets like used tissue paper. Privatise them yet in a transparent way.
KESC generates 575 Mw at Bin Qasim thermal power station and Korangi Thermal power station 220 Mw.
Please see the link
http://www.kesc.com.pk/Projects.aspx
May 25th, 2008 at 5:59 pm
@snrctzn
The ignorance in your post is astounding. What is an islamic dress and since when wearing a suit or tie is un islamic?
May 25th, 2008 at 6:07 pm
for anyone confused about th dress code in islam try this link
http://www.tv-almawrid.org/home.html
video lecture most popular
status of hijab in islam episode 1 and episode 2
May 25th, 2008 at 6:12 pm
well done dr shahid, the best anchor in my book. He does the best research and gives a view that he always has a strong grip on. I like his command on most topics. I also like him cutting people off when he makes his point and carries on to point no2. The program is meray mutabiq as to what he thinks. The crime of mushi are so grave that he should be put on trial in court, no putting him on trial would be a grave injustice.
May 25th, 2008 at 6:17 pm
the whole interview is done by asking loaded questions and stopping the interviewee from talking. Not sure that makes this guy a good anchor at all.
May 25th, 2008 at 6:33 pm
Great program!
I’d suggest that you keep it on top of the videos section for atleast 2 days.
May 25th, 2008 at 6:34 pm
@democracy
i didnt see him stopping the gen from talking about a topic. You might wanna give an example of a loaded question or stopping the gen from talking?
May 25th, 2008 at 6:34 pm
This general is not speaking all truth anything but truth. I went through the news during the sale of Steel Mills. Nowhere, this “soldier” states his reservation about the dole away sale of Pakistan Steel Mills.
People who are impressed by his articulation should think again before praising these generals. The corruption gutters in Pakistan Army are so deep and so wide spread that no rule of law process, writtern with conventional wisdom, can fix them [since generals have now laws]. I am copying this statement from highly educated, dedicated and patriotic Pakistanis who have worked with these generals.
http://www.dawn.com/2005/02/10/ebr5.htm
Financial adviser for PS sell-off appointed
http://www.dawn.com/2005/07/07/ebr7.htm
PS sell-off process begins
http://www.dawn.com/2005/07/21/ebr16.htm
Search for steel mills’ buyers
http://www.dawn.com/2005/08/01/ebr11.htm
5 foreign firms interested in PS
http://www.dawn.com/2005/10/07/ebr9.htm
Early resolution of issues directed: PS pre-bid moot
http://www.dawn.com/2006/01/07/ebr9.htm
PC told to expedite steel mills sell-off
http://www.dawn.com/2006/02/14/top3.htm
Steel Mills sell-off on March 10
http://www.dawn.com/2006/02/22/top10.htm
Approaches to PSM privatization
http://www.dawn.com/2006/03/13/ebr2.htm
Bidding of PS set for 31st
http://www.dawn.com/2006/03/17/ebr1.htm
PSMC to pay back Rs10bn debt on 15th
http://www.dawn.com/2006/05/12/ebr8.htm
Pakistan Steel pays off Rs7.7bn debt
http://www.dawn.com/2006/05/16/ebr6.htm
SC halts handover of Steel Mills
http://www.dawn.com/2006/05/25/top2.htm
PC may consider revamping PSM: Detailed SC judgment awaited: minister
http://www.dawn.com/2006/07/06/top8.htm
PSM proposal not received, claims ministry of industries
http://www.dawn.com/2006/07/16/top15.htm
Opposition keeps up offensive
http://www.dawn.com/2006/08/17/top3.htm
Pakistan Steel assets to be re-evaluated
http://www.dawn.com/2006/08/21/ebr8.htm
CDA gives plots to military officers [Gen Abdul Qayyum]: Rs160m loss to kitty
http://www.dawn.com/2006/08/23/nat1.htm
3 resign from PSM board of directors
http://www.dawn.com/2006/09/02/top7.htm
Qayyum given extension till further orders by the prime minister
http://www.dawn.com/2006/09/07/top8.htm
Bidding partner wants adverse remarks cut : Petition filed in SC
http://www.dawn.com/2006/09/10/nat1.htm
Gen Javed replaces Qayyum as PSM chief
http://www.dawn.com/2006/09/13/top8.htm
Chief Justice punished for verdict in steel mills case
http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/09/welcome.htm
Landmark judgments of Justice Iftikhar
http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/10/nat3.htm
http://www.dawn.com/2007/06/22/top1.htm
Reference filed against Aziz: Steel mills sale, stock market crash
KARACHI: Lawyers want PM disqualified over Steel Mills sell-off
http://www.dawn.com/2007/06/23/local12.htm
Lt-Gen Abdul Qayyum rejects the notion that it was the army alone that was to blame for the tragic incident
http://www.dawn.com/2007/12/17/local4.htm
May 25th, 2008 at 6:36 pm
@lota6177,
What does hijab have to do with Dr Shahid Masood’s program? Please don’t post unrelated material. For the sake of everyone’s sanity, no one wants another discussion like the khilafa discussion to erupt on this forum.
May 25th, 2008 at 6:43 pm
@kruman
this post was in response to the wonderful post by snrctzn. Scroll up to get your answer.
May 25th, 2008 at 6:53 pm
@kruman
snrctzn has a beef with dr shahid because he appears on his tv show wearing a western dress which he considers un islamic. The link i provided might clear that notion for him.
May 25th, 2008 at 6:56 pm
@hopes Alive,
you must note, we waisted trememdous amount of poor people’s money on these B*S*T*Ds “Kaam chorr” people, we have lost more money on them then the price of the whole insitute cost, and it is costing us more and more every second. People of Pakistan are commiting sucides and sell their kids, and these B*S*T*Ds have no care about, people and promoting more “gundass”
May 25th, 2008 at 7:04 pm
Let me explain you, if a thing costs Rs. 100/= and it has costed you
Rs.1000/= down the road. who fool will keep this “NASUR”. Unless it benefits someone.
People in pakistan are ready to sustain losses of 100,000/= to pakistan just for their benefit of only 1000/=
May 25th, 2008 at 7:16 pm
Hour of the Furnaces:
A classic film on “neo-colonialism” part 1. (english subtitles)
How countries are broken apart, people made to fight each other, to control them and get their resources. You owe it to yourself to watch this.
May 25th, 2008 at 7:25 pm
An 8 min portion of the Solana Movie “A Social Genocide” about the rape and pillage of the Argentine economy.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNCeK4E6sqY&hl=en
It used to be on google, but has mysteriously disappeared. Most of such documentaries are disappearing from Google. Try to save them if you can locally.
May 25th, 2008 at 8:25 pm
This is in reply to comments to a commentator using, user name as lota ?
I do not want to engage myself with him in any unnecessary discussion, because I think, a person who has no etiquettes to address his seniors; does not deserve
to be addressed-to, in return.
I am equally ASTOUNDED by his POOR knowledge of Islamic scholars, but also SHOCKED to learn that he refered Mr. Ghamdi as a scholar on the subject, who himself is controversial in Pakistani circles. To most people, he seems to have been ‘ planted ‘ to validate Musharraf’s role in Pak politics.
For I know this much, that Before the French, the Dutch & the English stepped on the Indian soil with their filth & grime to subjugate the natives, & later to kill Tipu Sultan, & hire Mir Sadiqs & Mir Jaffers, NO NATIVE EVER KNEW, what a western dress looked like, whether composed of a business suit & a tie or the like.
I do not know how old this so- called lota is, but I am sure, he must be twice less than my age. I would advice him, NOT DIRECTLY, to be CAREFUL in future, while passing comments about knowledge of another person, unless he is of high scholarly repute, & DOES NOT REFER TO HIMSELF AS A
LOTA.
May 25th, 2008 at 8:30 pm
War by other Means
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5399796928596929639&q=war by other means&ei=Xrw5SMWSLYTO2AKfkuncAw&hl=en
We are in WAR………………….guys………………….Wake Up……………….
May 25th, 2008 at 10:27 pm
HATS OFF to Dr. SM.a very informative programme.out come of the programme is that CJ IFTIKHAR was the person who resisted this lootting of pakistan by MUSH & CO, thats seems to be the one big reason MR 10% dont want to restore him as he (mr 10% ) flexing his muscles to be MR 100% of the future.
May 26th, 2008 at 12:02 am
Before writing this I had my head in my hands literally and I was screaming: “minja maula!” literally translating from saraiki to “Oh my God”.
——————————————————————————————————
To all pakistanis,
After watching this tv show, I thought I just went through some hollywood’s feature film story about a popular heist, bank robbery, or a big government financial scandal of white house caught on tape. I though I just finished reading one of jeffery archer’s novel. But really the show wasn’t any popular fiction or film but was a sad but true story of Pakistan.
Is it so easy to do corruption in Pakistan. I mean Mushy and his gang were simply thinking of selling the steel mills at one third of the price they were supposed to sell.
The Math is as follows:
——————————–
The Deal(without land) was for 20 billion rupees
The Land was worth 40 billion rupees
Therefore, The Total Worth of Pakistan Steel Mills was worth 60 Billion Rupees
——————————-
Seriously, Musharraf is a really corrupt person. And now then he says it to Zardari , Benazir and the gang that they were doing corruption.
After selling the only steel mills plant in Pakistan how were they thinking to get all the steel to make the airports, seaports, railway system, roads, missiles, bombs, tanks, and guns. Yes, then this army would happily BUY it from the steel mills they previously owned, making everyone from russians, to indians, to the arabs aware that how many guns, missiles, tanks, and planes we are manufacturing.
This is such a big crime. And there is no FIR for this corruption.
And now they say there is wheat crisis because there is inflation all around the world. There is no such thing anywhere in the world. It is so much serious in Pakistan. And why??? Because of the corruption of these mindless idiots.
———————————————————————————————–
May 26th, 2008 at 1:18 am
Good point above justice4all!
In a western country, the govt would’ve collapsed after such a program. But in Pakistan Musharraf and Shaukat (in Bangkok) still strut around with their thumbs up their a$$ after such a program.
May 26th, 2008 at 1:22 am
SnrCtzn,
There is no formal dress in Islam, the only dress code is that your attire has to cover your body’s prescribed areas. A pant/shirt is as Islamic as shalwaar kameez since they both cover your body.
For further discussion please open a discussion under forums. This is not the right forum for this discussion.
May 26th, 2008 at 5:54 am
A good show. All of Gen. Qayyum’s remarks must be taken at face value. He hasn’t said much that hasn’t already been revealed in court or corroborated by others.
Some folks need to quit blaming the Army and the military establishment alone for the state of affairs that Pakistan is in today. It is said that a democracy gives people a government that they deserve. I firmly believe that the people almost always get the type of government that they deserve. No government can stay in power with the aid of violence alone, it must have support within the state and its people to stay in power. As long as Pakistanis continue to stand as silent spectators, they deserve rulers like Musharraf.
May 26th, 2008 at 9:27 am
@power2ruly
If you know the link plz let us know but if I am not wrong I remember he said
“abhi chonkay yeh profit may ja rahi hay iss liay iss ki achi price aay gi
Ho sakta hay yeh aagay loss may jaay to iss kay scrap kay daam aay gain”
And
@Rising plz go to the link:
http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=114877
which clarify & support my point of view
May 26th, 2008 at 9:54 am
what will happen of this coutry………..????????
YA ALLAH………………..
itnay corrupt log……………………………………
may to duwa karta hoon kay ALLAH in corrupt logoo ka loota huwa paisa in kay bucho ki takaleef may nikalay…………….
ibrat nak troubles, pains and death 4 THEIR CHILDEREN………………………….
where is justice??
HALLA BOLL
May 26th, 2008 at 1:16 pm
Who we are to speak bad words for anyone! because justice is depended on Allah, Couldn’t u hear that, Mushreqeen-e-Makka hurt our prophet (PBUH) many time and some time they through the stone on (PBUH) but Muhammad never gave them bad words even asked to Allah for their Hedayat.
So leave everything to Allah and just pray to him, who gives us life and death.
Who is Zarrdari and other politicians, they can do nothing for us and our country, as u know everyone just jumping to have governments to make much money and go back to foreign countries and enjoying the life.
Actually we peoples are so much stupid, because we never understand that the “America is not super power than the Allah”
Afsos Jettna hum America se dartay hain agar ettna Khoda se dartay toh aaj ye haal na hota.
Ya Allah Forgive us, Ya Allah Send Ur Rehmat, Ya Allah Give Us Hedayat.
May 26th, 2008 at 1:20 pm
By By our correspondent
5/26/2008
Karachi The claim of the former Pakistan Steel Mills (PSM) chairman, Gen. (retd) Abdul Qayyum was false and misleading, the People’s Workers Union (PWU) Pakistan Steel (CBA) President Shamshad Qureshi said Sunday, adding that that Gen. (Retd) Qayyum was fully involved in the privatization of the organization and was the front man of Pervez Musharraf and Shaukat Aziz during that period. Qureshi, Ghulam Mustafa Zardari and PWU General Secretary Syed Hameedullah stated that Gen. (Retd) Qayyum had an played important role in the assessment of the asset’s value, as well as signing packages with trade unions and officers association. He was, however, now claiming the credit for stopping the privatization of Pakistan Steel. The CBA leaders, who belong to the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Labour Wing, further said that the ex-chairman had taken action against the union leaders and had played an active role against the union when it moved higher courts against the Pakistan Steel privatization. Besides, he transferred the union leaders from Karachi to other provinces and lodged FIRs in order to victimize them, they added. The ex-chairman had neither resigned in protest against the privatization nor had he lodged a protest at any forum, they said. The CBA leaders declared that the purpose of this false and misleading statement of the retired general at a Geo TV program was to pave the way for again becoming the chairman of this organization. They warned that all such attempts would be resisted. The union leaders asked the host of the programme as to what the purpose of this interview was, while Dr Shahid Masood had presented a complete and comprehensive programme over the privatization of Pakistan Steel. They lodged a protest against this act, and said that the purpose of this interview was to destroy facts. Meanwhile, the National Industrial Relations Commission (Karachi Bench) rejected the application of the Pakistan Steel management against holding a referendum in the organization. The PWU leaders welcomed the NIRC judgment, and termed it a victory of the workers.
May 26th, 2008 at 2:10 pm
That kind of program is true recogniton of dr shahid and that’s why he is highly placed in bad books of ruling mafia.Another tremor for Mush and shuak group who are as usual being humilitated by their handpicked people and so obstinate in their anti national behaviour that never accept their crimes.This general was once known as blue boy of Mush therefore always got the top seats on higher mangement of Mush system.Those who worked in Steel mill knows very well that he had misused all the authoritative powers of chairman for himself ad even his family members.The actual job for drastic change in steel mill culture had already been done by its ex chairman who died on job but had successfully put the steel mill in right track.Gen qayyum was just enjoying the benefits when his clash started with shuakat privatisation group.
No doubt general qayyum is also put on the list of those generals who ’s conscience was awakened after near retirement .In his saying he is actually praising Bhuuto for his revolutanry plans for his nation.He is speaking truth and all truth except that It was he who aided theortically to all the respectable judges of the full court to unveil this national crimes and that’s why he was fired.Wihtout his help its very difficult for judicairy to go to depth of such technical crime and for that we as a nation should be thankful to him that he atleast pay the debt of his country.You can call him mini iftikhar chaudry of army mafia.
We are also thankful to him about revealing the fee scale of govt lawyers and that is the reason these group of lawyers are supporting mush till his death as he is their real god father.
Now by recording this program dr shahid has written the history of Pakistan in black pages.This program would indirectly help the cause of CJP Iftikhar but no doubt a big slap on the swollen face of MUSH who has now only option left “Die with shame”
May 27th, 2008 at 12:00 am
@snrctzn
The creators of pakistan were western educated and english suit wearing be it quaid azam, iqbal, liaqat ali khan and etc etc. How do you feel about that? In your society snior citizens use age as a source of kowledge or a handicap that suits a situation. If your posting an opinion on a board than have arguments to defend it instead of hiding behind your age. As for ghamidi being planted by mushi read some history on ghamidi. Was he not part of ji in the past? Look at his resume and that speaks for itself. Your whole reply has no argument but a lot of crying that you are not being respected since your 100 years old. It is ok to be unpurh but it is bad to be jahil. Please present your case if you have one. As for your hero tipu sultan he lost the war because the english had guns and he was using swords. The outcome was decided before the war started and in this day and age thinking like yours sets muslims up for defeat before any challange. I dont understand your dramatics about a user name.
May 27th, 2008 at 12:18 am
@lota
where i disagree with the evidence you bring forward in defense of ‘western dress’…..the creators of pakistan wore western dress…etc.., i find myself agreeing with the overall argument….also…in addition, to the pointing out a hyper sensitivity on snrctzn’s part to play the age card whenever he finds his views criticized.
May 27th, 2008 at 12:19 am
@Lota
Good call. I agree that the matter of dress is mundane, inane and totally stupid when it comes to national survival or ascendancy. Its just cosmetics.
Just to point out: Tipu wasn’t defeated because he lacked guns. He was defeated because he was betrayed by a Hindu General. Tipu Sultan used missiles and advanced rockets which were then taken by the British to England where they researched upon the rocket and came up with better versions. But yes, at those times, people used artillery, cavalry/horses, missiles and finally, swords for man-to-man combat. Kinda like the bayonet.
SnrCtzn has some sound and logical views most of the time. But sometimes he is very emotional and angry. That’s why I like him. ..
May 27th, 2008 at 12:29 am
@mobkhari
“But sometimes he is very emotional and angry. ”
delightful word choice.
May 27th, 2008 at 3:50 am
Shortcut Aziz wanted to privatize Steel Mill to cripple the Pakistani economy. My hypothesis is that he was directly working for the Bush administration that wants to cripple Pakistan’s economy so that Pakistan either becomes so reliant on American aid that it loses its sovereignty and falls in to complete submission and then surrenders its nukes or its economy becomes so crippled that it becomes impossible for Pakistan to fund its spend on defence projects such as the nuclear capability. The whole mismanagement of the wheat production and deliberate understatement of the budget, the excessive provisions of non development funds, and the lack of successful economic projects especially in electricity generation etc was all along a planned strategy by Shortcut Aziz. If Pakistan falls in to chaos today, it would be very easy for America to intervene.
Dr Shahid did not investigate the consequences of the privatisation as much as he ought to have, in my view, no doubt a good programme and although the effects of privatisation of a national asset such as the steel mill are not difficult to imagine but they should have been examined in detail.
Pakistan is yet a developing country; it has yet to build its complete infra structure. Steel is the requirement of every walk of life in a developing country. What sense does it make to sell the only steel factory when you will need to purchase the very product it produces in great volumes for national projects? Once privatised the Steel factory would charge highly inflated prices. Furthermore the profit it generates will no longer be able to be diverted in to the state reserve. The only income to state would be through taxation, which in a country like Pakistan would be largely avoided. Steel would become expensive for the general public, yet another price rise that would crush the poor.
It is true that privatisation has its advantages but those advantages are not for countries like Pakistan that rank high in the international chart for corruption.
Shortcut Aziz was should be brought back and hanged along with Qadiyaani Musharraf and the Gujrat bunch.
May 27th, 2008 at 4:45 am
@mbokhari
The same people that have a problem wearing aso called un islamic western suit and tie have no problems getting on an airplane made by boeing or air bus to travel the world or operating a computer running on mac os or windows to post on this board. The same people are using military weapons made in the west be it an f16 or a cobra helicopters to defend there homeland but when it comes to wearing a suit it is the end of the world. KIya yeh khulla tazad nahie?
May 27th, 2008 at 4:59 am
@mbokhari
On tipu sultan his whole army was French trained and he was a devout Sufi Muslim who built the first church in Mysore on the request of the French. He got defeated by the British in a war where he was outnumbered by 20000 soldiers. The state he was ruling was small in size but due to his well trained army and tactics he won some victories in the beginning. The British had bigger numbers and better technology and were successful in beating both tipu and napoleon over time. The way I look at it doesn’t matter if he was betrayed or not. It was only a matter of time that people possessing newer technology would have conquered people using old technology. In the end the result would have been the same. To think or Romanize the notion that if that betrayal didn’t happen and things would have been different does not hold much weight with me.
May 27th, 2008 at 7:22 am
@ mbokhari / admin, Pk Politics, ( with a request to please read / pay attention to my comments at serial #s, 2 & 3, below. )
1) As I have repeated again & again, I think, in these columns before also , that while discussing a topic, let’s not get personal against ANY commentator or against each other, but should confine ourselves to the topic itself ; which I am sure you will agree, that it will thus create or will give rise, to unnecessary ill-will ,acrimony & bitterness among two commentators.
2) I NEVER, EVER, thought of hiding behind my age, but I always INSISTED & still INSIST in observance of DECORUM, i.e ; propriety in manners & conduct.
If, WE CARE to pay attention Serial # 7 of ‘ Constitution of Pk Politics ‘ which
CLEARLY says ‘ Thou shall not use dirty language against other visitors of this
site ‘ then the wisdom of that ‘ constitution ‘ will not be lost on any of us.
3) At Serial # 6 of the same ‘ Constitution ‘ it is CLEARLY mentioned in black & white that ; ‘ Though messages will be deleted ‘ (& I think after that repeated
non-observance / non-conformance of their instructions, ) it further warns :
‘ and / or thou shall be banned for violation of any terms. ‘
4) I will, Inshalla comment more later on, after hearing further from @ mbokhari / others ( LESS lota6177 ) , whether they agree to what my opinion is, as above.
May 27th, 2008 at 8:57 pm
The most informative show , i have ever watched. But, its always better to let someone finish his/her talk and not to interupt him/her (an advice for Dr. SM and other paki media people).
God knows WHEN THIS MUSH WILL REALIZE KEH “IZAT BHI KOI CHEEZ HOOTI HAI..” after that much of insult mush should blow himself outside RED MOSQUE WITHOUT HURTING ANY more civilian.
May 27th, 2008 at 9:11 pm
WHO can say that what we are hearing is ‘Truth’?
Do we really need a Reality? The cost is too much for it. When a ruling elite take a decision, Right or Wrong it is up to them. If those who are NOT in that elite decide what is correct or incorrect then what is the meaning of a government?
A ruling elite is also based on human beings which can do mistakes BUT why those sitting outside starts making noise of such steps? We need to BREAK that culture of Aggression.
May 28th, 2008 at 8:13 am
[...] the last government tried to make in the area of steel production they should watch this video: Meray Mutabiq - 24 May 2008 : Pakistan Politics Watching that video should make any reasonable person wonder if they should give a second thought [...]
June 2nd, 2008 at 10:04 pm
[...] week back Dr. Masood had pulled the cart out of the bag when he brought Steel Mills Ex-Chairman to expose the corruption of Shaukat Aziz, but today (June 2nd) he was able to pull yet another cat out of the bag bringing [...]