{ 49 comments... read them below or add one }

dervesh99 said:

i was kinda underwhelmed…

Claremont said:

Bhutto initiated it – Nawaz tested – Musharaf has secured it so far. It should only remain as deterent and God forbid never to be used. My bailf is that such should be destroyed by all the neuclear pwer countries including Israel, so that the mankind could be safe and countinue the strife to live in harmony and continuance of peace . We must all endevour to get rid of these weapons from our beautiful living planet.
    Long Live Pakistan

TK said:

This DOES IT!

Bilal647 said:

This world needs peace not war or weapons. But to secure Pakistan , it is and was need of time.

LONG LIVE PAKISTAN, LONG LIVE DR. A.Q KHAN.

usman55 said:

Bhutto, Nawaz Sharif, Dr Abdul Qadir …. all these people paid a very heavy price of direct involvment and not taking any pressure from west in this whole issue.

In 1998 we proved that we are capable of making our own decisions. Salute to NS for not taking any pressure depsite all threats and 5 phone calls from Clinton. On the other hand shame on Musharraf on becoming a goat on just 1 phone call from Defence Secretary.

pak.nukes said:

Bhutto is our hero.

establishment said:

we are happy cauz we thought now we will have a war n so no need for FSE exams.

lolz

abuhaleema said:

Assalam o allaikum,
    I went to Pakistan for a four month vacation in the first week of May 1998. Within the next few days, the rumour in the newspaper was that India is going to conduct the test. There was little or no talk on the PTV regarding this, apart from a couple of hints in the Khabarnama.

I remember on May 12 when the news came that India had conducted the tests along with the news that CIA had no prior information of it, the common feeling among the people was that USA is trying to protect India and that USA knew it all along. Shortly during the day, you could hear national anthems being broadcasted on the radio as well as the television.

Then there was the famous khitaab of Nawaz Shareef that Pakistan is going to respond to these tests and asking the nation if they were willing to go all the way in case there were sanctions against Pakistan. Portions of the speeches were played time and again on the TV and radio.

It was too hard not to get sucked into the emotions created by the print media, where almost every politician seemed to agree that Pakistan should conduct the tests.

On May 28, when the tests were conducted, the news spread like a fire. I remember how all of us in the family were glued to the television for any updates or footage of the test.

Surely, I felt proud that day, that our nation did not succumb to the pressure of the west and made an independant decision.

10 years have passed, and in these last 10 years every effort is made to make us subservient to USA. I think we are at a point of forgetting how it felt to be proud and honourable and what it meant to have an independent stature in global politics.

Saqib said:

NS took a correct and brave decision, which makes the nation proud. I remember that I discussed the issue with some friends before the tests. One of them had the view that Pakistan should not conduct the nuclear test, because then The Yankees (and the rest of the Western gang) would favor Pakistan with more aid and favorable export conditions. In my opinion that was a wrong assessment of the situation, because we had a hostile neighbour, who was trying to bully us and on top of that we would maybe not get a such chance to go nuclear for a very long time. Thank God that NS made the right decision at the right time well knowing that it would bring hardship to the nation.

HR said:

After what Musharraf has done with Dr. A. Q. Khan and many other nuclear scientists and engineers, Pakistan’s nuclear program is effectively at a stand-still. Anyone wanting to do something for their country in the future will think twice, fearing what their own government may one day do to them.

Riddle 792 said:

HYPOCRACY ….. HYPOCRACY…. AND HYPOCRACY……

this is what we are… PMLN never took any “hard position” on AQKhan’s detention cz of America’s fear….. and today they are celebrating Yom e Tashakur….!

Lakh Lanat Hamari Kaum Par Jinho Nay AQK Becharay Ko Najaiz Saza Di….

NS did not do it alone just like AQK didnt do it alone…. Yes NS had the courage to Go for the Detonation Cz of Army’s, Public’s and Scientists Backing….

But NS should also have had a clear standing on this issue………… DID ANy one notice that NS didnt say a single word about AQK, Missing Person and The recent Attack in Bajur………………… !! LOL

And now when they need some political issue they have come back to these issues cz of their upcoming distances from Zardari AKA PPP

Jo Kaum Apnay Heros Kay Sath Ya Salook Karay Uss Pay Lakh Lanat…. and yes I am also a member of this ashamed buzdil kaum….

DilbarJani said:

Pakistan didn’t have a choice once India had tested its nuclear devices. I felt quite satisfied.

However, attempts to politicize and take undue credit are pathetic — prime example is Nawaz Sharif whose contribution to Pakistan’s nuclear program is at best marginal and highly overrated.

Compare this with India where Congress (I) never claims to be the creator (ala PPP) or BJP the “exploder” (ala PML (N)) of the “atum bum”. Its their national program and they treat it as such, unlike Pakistanis

PS. I remember I immensely enjoyed Jugnu Mohsin’s parody of NS “Every one tells me tear bum tear bum”. What a blast :)

diamondheart76 said:

Nahra-e-Takbeer Allah ho Akbar!
    Mere Pakistan ki Kher. its a great the in our history, we went liberal in international and regional politics and proved a young and vibarant nation. we shoud not loose our spirit and shoudl keep working hard to stand as proud to be Pakistani.
    ey tahir-e-lahoti es rizq se moat achhi
    jiss rizq se aati ho parwaz men kotahi
    We should thank Allah for this ability and acknowledge people involved in making us proud Pakistani today.
    1. Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto.
    2. Dr. A Q Khan The Great & True Patriot (even he has done some mistake in patriotism to give this power to other Muslim nations, but that was a big mistake, but still a Great Great Hero).
    3. All other scientists Like Dr. Ishfaq Ahmad, Dr. Sammar Mobarak Mand etc. Love them all wwmmmaaah.
    4. Nawaz Sharif ( The civilian PM of Pakistan other then Z A Bhutto to stand before high international pressure and even at the moment Army Chief Rtd. Musharraf resisted, but he made a cry Nahra-e-Takbeer ALLAH HO AKBAR)
    5. The Great Pakistan Nation. ever smiling even with all the hardships of the time on them, from corrupt Generals to dis-allocated politicians & shatterd Judiciary, they never stop smiling and loving…. )
    Mr. Navi Sahin Leeds UK

kambohguy2 said:

@Riddle….I think you should listen to it again…b4 starting to jump…

Munir said:

1:Salute to Bhutto…
    2:Pak Army who stood behind this program.
    3: All scientists(including Dr.Qadir) who worked hard.
    Munir

rasheed said:

1- Salute to Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto
    2- Salute to Army for killing Zulfiqar Bhutto
    3- Salute to Army for jailing NS who refused International Pressure
    4- Salute to Benazir Bhutto for saying that NS has isolated Pakistan in the entire world on 28th May 1998
    5- Salute to Army for punishing NS
    6- Salute to Army for transferring their crimes to Dr. Qadir
    7- Salute to Army for forgetting the great 28th May for 10 years.

Rashid said:

@Riddle saab

kaanoon (ears) main tumbay lay kar taqreer suni hay kia?

safshan said:

@ diamondheart76

Very true and agree with you completely.

Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, Dr. A.Q. Khan and all other scientists, Nawaz Shariff deserve the credit for making our country a power to reckon with.

As far as our nation is concerned, I have seen the glory of this great nation after Earthquake in October 2005. Each and every civil soul was involved in it and they showed tremendous sacrifice, love for fellow beings and demonstrated the character which makes a nation honorable, great and true patriot. Long live Pakistan.

Only one point I have to clear from your post. Mush was not the Army Chief at that point. It was General Jahangir Karamat and he was against conducting nuclear tests alongwith Naval Chief, only Air Chief supported Nawaz Sharif in going ahead with the plan.

gv said:

24% of the population living under the poverty line
    50% illiteracy rate
    10% of the pop (16m people) don’t have access to clean drinking water

and what we really need to fix all our woes is a nuclear weapon… yep you guys hit the nail right on the head… hurrah for nuclear weapons… thats whats going to take us ‘up up and away.. ‘

TK said:

Atomic weapons are useless if our leaders don’t have the psychology of honour (not in the tribal sense) and self respect.

Our weapons are useless when our faujistanic tinpots are more than willing to hand over the codes to our enemies as long as their villas in turkey and argentina are not touched…

how sweet is is this piece of sh!t life.. to sacrifice your nation, your liberty, your honour for another miserable breath under the heel of the foreigner.

TK said:

It used to be called Yom-e-Takbeer.

Musharraf has turned it into Yom-e-Tazleel !

Other Pakistan said:

PK Politics Friends,

I extend my mubarak to all Pakistanis inside and outside of Pakistan on this day. A nuclear Pakistan is our greatest safeguard against foreign intervention which in itself is a contradiction and a paradox of sorts.

That said the editorial of The News today does leave us all with food for though, see it below:

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=115123

Feimanallah

Wasim
    http://www.otherpakistan.org/archive.html

Other Pakistan said:

You are right on the attack on the leaders who have made this nation the backyard of Uncle Sam even with our nuclear standing.

I think that’s why the lawyers movement and legends like Ali Ahmed Kurd are so appealing to a nation starved off leaders who have spines!

Feimanallah

Wasim
    http://www.otherpakistan.org/archive.html

safshan said:

@ gv brother

you are right in mentioning that we are a nation suffering with poverty. Every day dozens are committing suicide because of it but ground reality is that unfortunately we are living with a very hostile neighbor. We were cut to size in 1971 and our army, despite getting and snatching all the facilities from this poor nation, is not capable of putting an eye with eye to our staunch enemy. Our army has conqured its own territory time and again and with all their business interests they are more interested in destabilizing the elected governments. This is going on for ever.

See Pakistan accepted India as an independent nation. Two nation theory is a true proof of it, which recognizes that Indians have the right to live in their country but the problem is Hindu mindset is different, they never accepted the partition in 1947 and creation of Pakistan. So we have to live with reality.

Pakistan never started the nuclear race, it was India who came with nuclear tests in 1974. Believe me if our civil leadership would not have decided to go nuclear, India could have done anything to harm a muslim nation. In 1983, all the Indian top brass was sitting in Moscow and a plan was underway to attack Pakistan, just before its execution Indira Gandhi was killed by a Sikh. India will never tolerate Pakistan, it is a hatred which goes back to thousand years. I think with nuclear deterance we can save billions every year by cutting our army and using the same savings to alleviate poverty.

Poverty, illiteracy and not getting basic needs like drinking water, atta, health facilities and shelter is not because we tested nuclear weapons, our nuclear program is not so expensive.

We spend more than 380 billions rupees for our army only last fiscal year, add it up for each and every passed year and you will be astonished. Where all this money goes? just go to Murree any day in this summer and you will be seeing families of army officers with big limos burning the oil which we import spending billions. Electricity and gas is used so shamelessly in army accomodations that I have seen with my eyes a heater burning all the day just because the Major sahib never wanted his room cold whenever he comes in, which he rarely. Same is true with our bureaucracy. I urge you to go to Murre on any day and you will be seeing 80 percent vehicles belong to one govt. department or another.

This when we are seeing worst energy crisis in our history. Does this has to do with our testing nuclear weapons? No it is because we were being ruled by people like Mush and Shaukat Aziz who left Pakistan leaving the poor nation crying for atta, sugar, oil and electricity. How shamelessly he was coming on tv every day and braggin the so called development he made during his dark rule.

We are poor not because of nuclear weapons but because of corruption, ill-planning, VIP culture, Qabza group, nepotism and an economy which supports rich rather than poor.

gv said:

@safshan

and which institution is it that controls our nuclear weapons??? it sure wasnt the civilians last i checked.

india built their nuclear weapons for china not pakistan pakistan never really posed a military threat to india until it went nuclear….It is the army that keeps promoting india as this scary demonic neighbour out to swallow us.. if it wasn’t for kashmir india couldnt give a damn about us… we don’t make a difference to them in case you hadnt noticed… they’re still poised to be a super power in the next 25 years with or without pakistan…

maybe if we had focused on development instead of defence (NUCLEAR = DEFENCE) then maybe we would be an economic power in our own right…

Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

- When and where did you hear the News about the Nuclear Test?
    In Pindi with my class. Ex-adjutant told us and was ecstatic.

- What was your reaction and the people around you?
    I didn’t know what it meant. Everyone else around me was happy. So I guess I was happy too.

- Were you expecting Pakistan to conduct Nuclear tests after Indian Tests?
    Wasn’t following the episode closely. Didn’t really know what it all meant.

Having grown up and all since the tests, I can’t see what the big deal is/was. Someone wrote a letter to Dawn last week that Bhutto’s words have come true – we got the bomb and we are eating grass. Now that is sad.

What is the use of a weapon you can’t even use? I could see the point if our defence spending came down. But it hasn’t. So, what was the bloody point? What is the point of keeping India at bay when we are going to be backstabbed again and again by our very own army? It is the Pakistani people who suffer at the end of the day – whether at the hands of an external army or an internal one.

I would rather the government spent all this money on providing healthcare and education to the population instead of a weapon of mass destruction. I don’t see what we’re celebrating. What is there to celebrate? We’ve created a weapon that can kill lots of people?

lota6177 said:

After making the bomb we have abandoned Kashmir. We are living with our head bowed to India, Israel and USA. One Lebanese and one Saudi pimp came to Pakistan and took ns an ex prime minster like a chained animal to Saudi Arabia. That day was the end of self respect for us when two individuals from diseased societies can pull off an event like that in nuclear Pakistan. We get weekly visitors from the USA telling us how to conduct ourselves. We have a country without electricity, food, healthcare, education or justice. We are suppose to celebrate a day when we took some copied designs thanks to the Chinese and Koreans friends and named them Islamic warrior names and called it our scientific achievement. This great accomplishment makes us protected and invincible. Happy Yom takbir to everyone.

Munir said:

@rasheed
    Army is not responsible for Bhutto’s murder.
    Only few greedy generals are responsible and it was NS who fully supported those criminals.NS has personal gridge with musharaf.
    It was also Pak Army who put pressure on NS to have nuclear tests.
    Salute to Pak Army minus few criminal generals.
    Munir

zenith said:

@ munir
    Yes salute to pak army for the genocide of begalis and now balochis.
    Salute to the army for being silent when people were being slaughtered. Salute to the army for owning evereything from a shack to a palace.

Rule No.1 for any army
    “PROFESSIONAL ARMIES ARE ALWAYS UNDER CIVIL CONTROL”
    Is that so in our Pakistan?

The army pressurised NS to go nuclear, but couldn’t stop Mush, its own son to mend his ways.

justice4all said:

This was a real moment of PROUD for pakistanies.Despite all their weaknesses and failure THEY became the 1st NUCLEAR POWER of the muslim word ,what an achievement.
    WE have many great moments of glory in the days to come with an INDEPENDENT JUIDICIARY in place and MUSH THE DICTATOR forced by a ELECTED GOVT to resign.
    AAGAY AAGAY DEKHIAY HOTA HEY KIA….

chottibibi said:

Youm-e-Takbeer Un ko Mubarak Joo Muslaman hain aur Pakistani hain.

———–

Did any body know what holly prophet Rasool Pak Mohammad Peace upon be left in his home when died………… 6 Swords, which he was usning in his fights against Kuffar-e-Makka.

—–

Allah Subhan-wa-tala said in one sura of Quran-e-Pak, Kasam hay un Horces ke jin kay paoon say chingarian niklti hain……

did any body know how many time God talk about Jehad in Quran-e-pak.
    —–
    Shame on those people who call theselv Muslim and still dont follow Quran and Muhammad pbuh. how said be always ready for your enemies.

Just think if you know history.
    How many wars you have seen between Atomic nations. Non
    If you were not an atomic nation Hindus would have long ago invaded Pakistan and would have raped your sisters and mothers and daughters…
    They just can not ignore it that if they even think about attacking on Pakistan, they will face the consequences.
    ———
    How many of you think if Iraq would have an Atomic nation would US have attacked them… never
    —-
    I think if each nation have atomic bombs and hydrogen bombs, wold would be safest place.

I pray God help Iran and Saudi Araibia so they also have the Atomic Bomb, so if any country think about attacking on our Khana-e-Kaba. they face the consequences.

God said They..(Jews and Christians) will never be your friend.) if you can believe follow the following link.. and see what is going on.. soon you will have a new Quran in all over world with no surra about Jehad.
    Think about it and respond..

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/
    1579211755/qid=1096805827/102-4933271-2395342
    ———
    Read reviews as well and be careful….
    http://www.amazon.com/review/product/1579211755/
    ref=cm_cr_pr_hist_5?_encoding=UTF8&filterBy=addFiveStar

—–
    We should not attack any body but we should be ready for our defense…

Revivalist said:

One of my friends was in Palestine and he told me that one day he was praying a Juma Prayers in a Masjid, as he was not good in Arabic language but he understands the Imam is praising Pakistan and is very happy. When he finished the prayer people were shouting Takbeer. he asked them what happened so they replied don’t you know that Pakistan has tested its Atomic weapon and now one of our Muslim brother has atomic Bomb, we will now talk to the Israelis and will teach them a lesson. So he told them that he is from Pakistan. By hearing this they raised him on there shoulders and one of them offered him to marry his daughter….. But alas what are we doing. We are not benefiting from the weapon rather the weapon has made our rulers more cowards and they get afraid by just one phone calls and give more then expected. I remember once I saw a headline in a newspaper where Busharaf offered India to destroy there nuclear weapons and India replied by saying that our Nuclear weapons are not Pakistan specific.
    I would simply say SHAME ON THESE COWARDS AND TRAITORS!!!!!

May Allah (swt) grant us a sincere ruler who utilizes the resources and strengths of this noble ummah for its betterment and protection and not for its enemy to destroy them. May Allah (swt) grant us khilafah Rashida soon.

Revivalist said:

Jazakallah khair Chotti bibi for such a great post.

Abu Haleema Chishti said:

Nawaz Shareef sb should have learned by now to give credit where it is due.

He should have specifically mentioned Z A Bhutto as the pioneer and person solely responsible for the commencement of the Pak Nuclear Project and Dr A Q Khan was a direct recruitment of Z A Bhutto.

People expect a change from our leaders, they need to be more honest and appreciative of others around and before them, and more humble in praise of their own “great” efforts.

nazia said:

Stupid arguments of justifying presence of nuclear arms for one’s security is quite absolete. Spending more than 70%on defence or nuclear arms is a dream of insane rulers that has come true in Pakistan.70% people are now living near to poverty line,working class is coming into trauma for its survival or preferring to leave the country and only 10 % class that is elite or ruling is making propaganda of power of arms and nuclear bomb.People are dying in my country ,firstly for normal way of living and now for necessities of lives.No power, no food, no basic health facility, decling literacy rate,increased criminal attitude are the fruits of our arms deals.Could nuclear missile an alternative of flour mill,or F- 16 can be conevrted into hospital for dying people,or subamrines can work as schools.The answer is no.At this moment these idly lying million dollar equipments are just used as symbolic horror for so called Indians.Indians need no arms to kill us as we have our million dollar arms deals that is surely killing our civic infra structure.

Ahmed Bhai said:

I think stupidity lies in the corrupt nature of rulers and not in becoming nuclear power. let me give you example how hi-tech industries from defense contributed to national and international economy.

aircraft
    nuclear power generation
    laser
    instrumentation
    Internet

the point is that these resources and skills can serve nation’s competitive advantage as well. whats required is vision & leadership

ALE-Xpressed said:

Please check this out :

http://ale-xpressed.blogspot.com/2008/05/nuclear-power-baloch-perspective.html

The perspective of Baloch on the Nukes !

qr said:

AQK …..what we need to know is the name of the generals who pocketed the money from the xport of Nuclear tech…….there is no way this could have been done without the complicity of the corrupt pakistan army …….

Shaheed he Shaheed said:

@nazia on May 29th, 2008 10:29 am
    At least ,the presence of this nuclear bomb has constrained Indian army.I think u were not born at the time when India tested the weapons in May 98.

In this world, MIGHT IS RIGHT,is the final pricipal.,at least in the current world.

Had there been weapons of mass destruction in Iraq, Israel would never permit US to attack Iraq this way.Off course ,other ways would be sought,as India and US doing now against Pakistan.But it does not mean,

All of our floor mills and power plants will be useless (for us,but for India,they can serve), If india attacks and (God forbid) captures pakistan in few hours, as Iraq did against Kuwait.All the great wealth of Kuwait was useless at that time.

So please think a bit ….
    (sorry for this differnece in opinion )

——————————————————————–
    Its extremely digusting that this day was not celeberated officially.
    It was Pakistan’s achievment.

nazia said:

to shaheed
    I really dont mind on difference of opinion as its is urs right. My father fought 3 wars for Pakistan and I know the true history of war.These wars were always imposed on us for two major reasons, one is to sustain military supremacy in this part of region for US dirty games and secondly to run the US war industry in smooth manner or one can say Pakistan play the role of marketing agent of US war industry.In 1970s it our army that has introduced arm and army tactics in UAE belts and now having a billion dollar deals with them in the name of defence.Crush india is a stupid army solgan made from top army mafia to fool the warm blooded Paksitanis,You can see the india has already won our culture through the power of media and yours officers are more interested in their herions then their war abilites.We only fought for 38 days with India but our amry opted to rule its own people for more than 38 years.They usurped civilian powers and resources on the name of war and in the dark era of mush they were openly involved in killing their citizens and destroying their resources for pleasing US .If instead of nuclear arms AQkhan gave us nuclear technogly for power production then surely our generation wouldnt have lived in darks as we are living these days.With this modern weapons we are heading towards stone age.Worst street cimes,display and open use of arms for impressing our foes are now part of our culture and it is linked with the same mentality of our rulers that is being copied by our middle and lower class.Nations arent made with modern weapons but it is made with strong man power and human develpment.In two world wars the developed countries learnt this lesson and opted for only defensive army but our ruling mafia took the opposite direction using promoting war culture in this hot area.

m5433d said:

A great day for Pakistan.

I had never felt so proud before. Bhutto should be given credit for initiating the programme, Although Zia a dictator and not Popular amongst many but credit is due to him too for the most of the development went on in that era. Credit to BB for not rolling up the programme although she was under great pressure from US. Credit to NS for withstanding the pressure from the world and from cowards at home.

If NS had not gone ahead with the explosions, It would have been very easy for the likes of Moshe to roll up the programme and claim, what bomb? The nation was conned by A Q Khan who put all that money in his pockets.

Allamah Iqbal carved Muslim youth of India for the Pakistan movement, Mohammed Ali Jinah delivered Pakistan through his leadership with the backing of all the Muslims and Dr Qadeer secured Pakistan for the foreseeable future.

Until we are a nuclear power with an army that is subdued to the prime minister and we have a democracy that is transparent and founded by the public and we have a Judiciary that is independent, no nation can ever suppress us again like we were suppressed in the time of Moshe.

This is why we need to struggle for the independence of the Judiciary and this is why we must deny public support to every politician whose policies are not transparent.

m5433d said:

@gv on

This is exactly the kind of rhetoric foreign funded NGO’s in Pakistan say about the nukes.
    When these explosions happened, I heard a British MP Margaret Beckett on a current affair program I haven’t seen for a long time say the same thing, She was infuriated and she said It’s not right for a country that lives on our Aid to take up nuclear power and then she played the poverty card.

Pakistan will pull out of all its problems of poverty and education, Insha Allah. But there is a good chance that Pakistan may have not existed today if it was not for the nuclear deterrent.

Since the dawn of the first day, war has been the way of the world and it will remain this way. Muslims have been in the line of fire since the first person said: La ilaa ha il lallah Muhammadur rasulullah.

So chill out my friend, in my view 90%of the Pakistanis are proud of their Nukes because it creates a window of opportunity that we may finally get the independence that was promised in 1947.

gv said:

@ if big bad india was so desperate to invade us why didn’t they do it in the 30 year window before we were even rumoured to have nukes.. this is basically a small d**K syndrome that we all suffer from which has led to our over hyped and largely unnecessary defence programme. i don’t give a s**t what some gora thinks about how their funds are spent. what i know is that our real issue is poverty and human social development and no amount of nuclear weaponry is ever going to cure that..

Riddle 792 said:

These are all false allegations,” Dr AQ Khan told the BBC Urdu service.http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/05/080528_qadir_explains_rza.shtml#

cucuvero said:

usman55

I guess its not only Newaz Sherif, any Prime Minister of that time would have said yes to test the Bomb at that time back in 1998.

Suleiman said:

What was done with Dr. Khan was meant to stop the next generation of scientists and researchers to contribute for the welfare of the country – But indeed the planners of such policies dont know that there are still many committed to give even their life for the beloved land…

umairbilal said:

For people saying against the nuclear weapons of Pakistan, its amazing how u managed to overlook the corruption, and the way the pakistani leaders have hollowed its economy and infrastructure …the one good thing they did do, u have the nerve to whine about it …the real arguement thats been going on since 10 years is that how these blasts have lowered pakistan’s international status and the sanctions put on pakistan by the many inter. organizations …and u din even bring that up ..cuz u probably have ur own one leg to stand on // stupid!!!!!

Fahim23 said:

Atomic weapons are useless if our leaders don’t have the psychology of honour (not in the tribal sense) and self respect.

Military might never gives you honor. It results in quite opposite and drastic endings. The nations prosper through principles of humanity. democracy, rule of law and knowledge. For Bablylonians, Egyptians, Persians, and Romans etc, the peak of their military might proved as their first step towards destruction.

USA is known as sole super power currently, and look at her how is she behaving. This is exactly what military might does to nations.

It was very unfortunate, but probably becoming a nuclear state was a right decision. But I don’t think this is something we should be Proud of as nation!

and @those who are quoting Islamic reference to glorify this day!

When Prophet Muhammad SAW conquered Makkah, he felt and experienced Humility rather than proudness.