Dr. Shahid Masood Joins PTV

Dr. Shahid MasoodDr. Shahid Masood has joined PTV as a Chairman as per multiple news sources.

ISLAMABAD: Jang Representative – Federal government has appointed Dr. Shahid Masood as the chairman of Pakistan Television Corporation. The Establishment division has sent out his appointment’s notification. This post will be in effect until further notice. Previously, this position was delegated to Federal Secretary of Information.

Link to Jang Daily
Link to Daily Times Article

Related Stories
Dr Shahid Masood joins Geo network - January 25, 2007
Dr. Shahid Masood: The Voice of the Voiceless - December 11, 2004

217 Comments »

1. dictated_democracy Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 9:28 pm

strange news, don’t know what to say!

2. revolution Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 9:28 pm

You have got to be kidding me!!!

3. revolution Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 9:31 pm

May be the govt. is trying to improve PTV

How can Shahid Masood improve PTV ? By introducing culture of interrupting people constantly ? :) lol

5. chicagobull Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 9:34 pm

This selection is NOT on merit rather loot from national resource. He should go and prove in hospital first.

I can’t wait till 4-man show does a skit on him chairing a PTV board meeting.. hahaha!

Though I gotta say, will he be able to maintain his “neutrality” ??

Reminds me of someone’s comment the other day: He’s a pipplya from the outside but MQM from the inside… maybe his appointment is part of the ‘mufaahimat’ between the two parties.. hehehe

I’m gonna miss poking fun at him .;)

Please list down/provide your sources of the news. Any link?

@ashahid,

Ticker on ARY One World.

9. revolution Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 9:51 pm

@Aneeza

May be you dont like Dr. Shahid Massod, but many do. His research is always complete, and he doesnt take pressure from any side. He can improve PTV by making it unbiased. And if this news item is correct, im quite sure that’s why the govt. decided to lure him into this deal, just to show that they are trying to make the state owned channel independent

Independent Channel???

Dr. Shahid Masood is now effectively reporting to Rehman Malik, Hussain Haqqani and Zardari.

55 lakh per month baby!! way to go!

12. AzadPakistani Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 9:59 pm

@rasheed have you seen his recent interviews with Rehman Malik, Hussain Haqqani ? i think he asked them tough questions,but yea maybe it might be attempt to tone him down abit, lets see if he can really improve PTV or just act as Zirdari’s mouth piece

After all his qaseeda singing abilities had a price.

[...] ???? ????? ?? ?? ?? ?? ????? ?? ??? ??????????? ??????? [...]

15. AzadPakistani Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 10:07 pm

@TK thats not even 1lakh $ per month, what are other chairmans of state owned news channels getting?

16. ehmedsyed Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 10:08 pm

is that APRIL …………………………… JOKING ????

Very difficult to say any thing. Dr SM has good relations with Hussain Haqqani and other PPP leaders including AZ.
    HH may have some role in Dr SM degree from USA. Now it seems that finally he had decided to join the boat.
    It is very difficult to remain neutral rather crtical of Govt. Lets see how he handels his new role.
    Different qualities are required now and he may be avery successful CM .

Shocking socking, I lost one of my favorite anchors. :((

Is there anyone who is not for sale!!!!!

“55 lakh per month baby!! way to go!”
    Task given to him is to relax and keep quiet. :)

PTV here comes new Dr. Ahmed Shahid Masood Qureshi.

@Azad,

SM is still going to be reporting to Rehman Malik. Even the stupid most person cannot believe that PTV will be running on governments fund and blaming government on TV.

PZP regime have played the best card in their favor. They got rid of one of the top anchors from private channel and will also try to switch rural viewers to their side who only have antenna to watch TV transmissions.

I think Dr. Shahid Masood has joined Peoples Party ’s pppppppppp TV

If he speaks bold in the same manners as he was used to on geo, then how long he ’s gonn’a servive there ?

21. establishment Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 10:20 pm

i think ptv should follow bbc model and dr shahid can be valuable asset. i am sure he must have but sth on contract regarding which sort of freedom he will get and if they try to tone him down he can always walk away with 5.5 million even more cauz of forced unemployment.

22. bechari-awam Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 10:25 pm

How come Dr. Shahid Masood be reporting to Rehman Malik or Hussain Haqqani. At the very most, he will have Sherry Rehman as Minister in charge. I guess if this news is correct then I am glad to hear this. If you want to make PTV gain some credibility, you need a person like Dr. Shahid Masood to fix it. I hope he will maintain his impartiality and continue his program on PTV global.

23. niazbhatti Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 10:28 pm

Probably we are being a bit unfair with Dr. SM. After all he is an anchor person employed by geo t.v and if he gets a better offer why he shouldn’t pick that up ? Its the job of politicians to make/break policies, what a t.v anchor has to do with this ? If I am working at IBM and gets a better offer from HP, I may consider to move there. If I have the right to switch jobs why doesn’t he has ?
    I am not sure if he has joined ptv or not but even if he has then may be he can do something good for it.

24. Riddle 792 Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 10:35 pm

QUESTION : Why Dr. Shahid Masood has joined a State Run TV channel (GOVT propaganda machine) when he can get a Top Job at any other independent TV channel?

ANSWER: If this news is true then SIMPLE,

PPP knew that he will be giving them a hard time

so a cunning person like Hussain Haqani and Rehman Malik asked him of HIS PRICE,

and what ever $$PRICE$$ he said, PPP said OK lets go with that.

Dont be surprised if its TRUE,,,,,,,,,,,,,

and STOP SKETCHING GOD out of ordinary people in a country where most of the people have a PRICE.

U STUPID AWAM !!!

btw i am also part of this awam….. :)

Chairman PTV is more of a political post as for technical/mangerial matters, MD PTV is enough to take care of.

IN NS 2nd tenure, Pervaiz Rasheed ws chairman PTV who is PMLN leader and not a journalist.

So i think, this chairmanship of PTV is not a job for anchor shahid masood, rather it will be used to counter current media campaign for awareness of common people.

First crack at the media, civil society is next and than the judges. Awaam kiss keth kee mooli hain!!

27. niazbhatti Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:02 pm

Again its the matter of choice. Perhaps everyone has some political inclination towards a party. If I want to have the right to be a supporter of Party A then I have to give the same right to you to choose your party with your free will. Whether ppp is bad or pml n is corrupt etc etc I guess its a useless debate. Every party comes with a good motto, its the people who run parties matter.

If Dr. SM is offered chairmanship of ptv why he shouldn’t take it ? Only because its ppp’s govt. Does it mean that if it happens to be pml n’s govt then it was ok to do so ? With all merits and demerits of pml n, I think Parvez Rashid sahib is still a good person. Will it make Dr. SM a bad guy by taking the same position but in ppp’s govt ?

28. Riddle 792 Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:04 pm

Watch ARY one World live at:
    http://www.ary.net.pk/beta/arywebtv.asp

29. Amir Hameed Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:05 pm

PTV is owned by the government, so how can Dr. Shahid stay neutral when he has now become part of the the government ? It just can not happen. Besides, this was probably done to shut him up. Let’s see what happens to the Bolta duo and to journalist like Ansar Abbasi, etc.

30. chottibibi Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:06 pm

This is just like when President of Lahore Bar Ahsan BHONE decided to join as a judge and took oath under PCO. This was a shameful act. And the potential of this move is same as if Imran Khan decides today to join PPP or Etizaz Ahsen become senator of PPP or CJ Iftikhar decide to quit his movement.
    Dr. Shahid is not an ordinary anchor person who just read what ever is given to him by Producer. He is a great wise man and does research for each of his episode.
    Changing job, no doubt is his right as every body like to grow and grab the opportunity if it come along down the road. But the thing is does he change his ideology?
    @Aneeza don’t hurt people, we still love him and will wait and see how he performs there. Like @ establishment said If he tried to change the culture of PTV and remain critical on bad moves of present government I would praise him for that but if he tried to go along with the wind and become spokesperson for PPP then I would say he is a traitor and LOTA
    But honestly speaking, I am SAD. This brought another session for depression for me

31. Riddle 792 Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:09 pm

@niazbhatti,

u r solla anay such BUT remember Pervaiz Rashid was a well known PMLN member and never tried to sell his image as a independent world known political analyst who portrays to be unbiased and claims to be the savior of Pakistani Journalism ……………………. like Dr. Shahid Masood……………. !!!

LOL….. :)

when news came about him at Harvard, I was the few one here at this forum who said that “its Ivey League American Mentality to pick people from Third World Countries and groom them for self interests”

nothing against Dr. Masood, BUT i done like him taking this job …….afterall this nation deserves better than this……. no more NAZIR NAJI and NUSRAT JAVED…………..!!! and now Dr. Masood :(

@niazbhatii

point is not of chairmanship under ppp or pmln.
    point is of HYPOCRACY…..

Pervaiz Rashid was openly on PMLn side and paid the price after 12 october.

Immediate task on PTV is to counter the campaign of lawyers and long march media campaign………now this guy dr shahid had been presenting himself as champion of free media and showing support for laweyrs movemet stance………..so dont u think his U turn will expose his reality.

33. strange123 Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:10 pm

thats really very strange

34. Hardliner Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:15 pm

just another rumor, made as headline by pkpolitics

@GM

wait my dear, he just joined, joining is not hypocrisy. Let him do some sins then we will all bash him

I don’t understand this “neutrality” thing! In fact I don’t believe in it. One can be fair or unfair but most of time it is impossible to be neutral unless you are an outsider.

Everybody knows that Dr. SM has been previously associated with People’s Student Federation like Nusrat Javed, but they have been very fair in their analysis and that’s the reason people respect them.

I hope now PTV will improve its news and current affiar programs because DR SM is very talented person.

One thing to understand, once Musharaf would leave, Judges will come back ( which is eventually happen soon, according to the multiple news), people are not going to follow this politics soap opera with the same interest. So Dr. SM did the right thing to accept the big offer, after all he has to feed his family and want to move higher in his life just like everybody else.

38. chottibibi Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:26 pm

Just imagine if PPP managed to Buy-Out, Himid Meer, Kamran Khan, Talat Husain, Mushtaq Minhas and Kashif Abbasi, Where this movement for free judiciary go.
    And I am afraid that is going to happen soon. Sub Bakaoo mall hain.
    I don’t remember who said but some one did———-Pakistani to paisay kay budlay apni maan bhee sell ker daitay hain——-I was so pissed off with those comments but I think was it true??

Joke is on Shahid Masood, the so called icon of anti-establishment jouranalism has joined the establishment. Now he is going to sing praises of Zardari?

This PTV should be privatized immediately. A complete waste of taxpayayers money. Look at its ugly logo, thay have not changed or modified it since its inception, it symbolises the past, relic of a propagandist,shameful past. It should be buried along with the Martial Laws it used to support.

40. niazbhatti Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:30 pm

@ Immediate task on PTV is to counter the campaign of lawyers and long march media campaign………now this guy dr shahid had been presenting himself as champion of free media and showing support for laweyrs movemet stance………..so dont u think his U turn will expose his reality.

1- How can you say with certainty that he will curb lawyers movement ?
    2- Do you think that along with 50 other independent channels one Dr. SM will be able to make a dent in the movement ? If so then such a movement should be abandoned who can’t tackle one person. (Although it survived against organized agencies).
    3- Why we always wanna see the dark side of picture. Lets wait and see, I am keeping my fingers crossed.

41. econfused Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:33 pm

For 55lakh per month, evem pkpolitics will consider a change :)

42. niazbhatti Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:33 pm

If accepting a position during ppp’s govt is a sign of hypo then I guess Chief Justice should also wait for pml n’s rule otherwise he may also get the medal of hypoc …. .I know you probably say that but cj post is not a political post but then who appoints supreme court’s judges ? Do they get appointed without any political parties willingness or advice etc ?

what even musharraf could not do - zardari has done it - he has put a price on Shahid Masood and he has been bought. Shame on Shahid Masood. You know basically as a nation its a shame to call ourselves a nation - we have no principles or rules at all - but its good at least now we know the real Shahid Masood.

As I said earlier that with passage of time and esp when Musharraf would be long gone - people would remember him with nostalgia as he would appear to be an angel when compared with Zardari and company.

I know I am asking for a very impossible thing - I think there people should try to bridge differences between PML N Q Musharraf and CJ Iftikhar Chaudhry because Zardari and company would be far more ruthless and dangerous because they are LIARS. At least Q league was not a liar and they say howsoever wrong what they believe in heart but this Zardari and company are MUNAFIQS and they say one thing and do other thing. They are corrupt and liars.

44. chottibibi Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:39 pm

@ c hussain very well said… 100% truth …..

45. Riddle 792 Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:39 pm

Yes I am also not in the favor of Chief Justice becoming political…….

but why I favor him….???

SIMPLE: yes he took oath under PCO ……. ( i condemn it)
    but now he is our only hope to get back on track….and we need to giver him some credit for “saying the right thing”….. remember even AQK also said that CJ did what he wasnt able to do…………..

plus its the current GOVT n I blame both PMLN and PPP who have forced him to come in open to fight for his bread and butter……….. so dnt blame him. ur father would have done the same for your Dinnerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

@niazbhatii

no one said that he will be successful to curb lawyers movement. and PTV is already working on these lines but unsuccessfully.

@niazbhatti,

Proofs of hypocrisy:

- Musharraf’s close ally and Federal Minister Salman Taseer gifted post of Punjab Governor. This is a heavy investment to bring Salman’s TV Channel and newspapers to PPP side.

- Qatil’s League’s senior leader and ex-Chief Minister Watto joins PPP along with several politicians

- PPP killers MQM and Musharraf’s closest allies also gifted with posts in cabinet in Sindh Assembly.

- Champion of 17th Amendment Maulana Diesel given position in cabinet by PPP.

…. and the list of hypocrisy goes on daily basis.

inna lillah i wa inna ilaih i rajioon!

Justice wajeehudin in his press conference warned the media that the campaign to buy it has started. now that politicians have realized that free media is a reality of pakistan they cannot change they are going to buy em out one by one.

I think this is the beginning of the end, good bye Geo , Aaj ,Ary .hello fox news

50. niazbhatti Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:47 pm

@ Rasheed

Good points and I agree to all of them but how they prove that Dr. SM is a hypo ?
    All those people/parties you mentioned above are known thieves.
    Let us give Dr. sahib some time and let him show first what he has in his basket and then say something about it.
    Secondly if we start blame game then is there anyone who can escape from an allegation ? (IK probably one exception but people do blame him for supporting mushe in the beginning).

51. revolution Says:
    May 30th, 2008 at 11:59 pm

SO many conspiracy theories here, let the guy do somethign on PTV first. iF he didnt sell out to the all powerful mush and co., why would he sell out to zardari. I am sure the govt has done this to revamp PTV< and its image, and nothing else. And I am also sure that SM wil continue being unbiased as he always is

@niaz,

Dr. Shahid Masood himself said in Geo TV during emergency crisis that he is not against Musharraf, but he is going to criticize every government to expose their wrong doings. How can he expose any wrong doings of his employer? Can any true journalist be on payroll of government instead of a pure media group?

There is a large part of Pakistani nation who build their opinions based on words of Dr. Shahid Masood. Now he will make policies of PTV or even host some programs where he will follow the government policies.

For example, tomorrow if he start saying that food is more important issue that justice and government should solve food crisis before even thinking of restoring judiciary, then many Pakistanis will think the same, which could cool down the lawyers movement.

53. comment-top

actually it’s pretty much bribing him to get him off the air.. afaiac !! He won’t be making any noises now… oh well.. I’m gonna miss his annoying intonations.

54. Amir Hameed Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 12:05 am

@c hussain
    What you have described is what the ZPP (Zardari’s people’s party) folks call politics, when it is actually munafiqat.

55. Amir Hameed Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 12:07 am

@TK,
    Paisa bolta hai. May be he was shown lots of Benjamins and he could no longer resist it.

56. jamil afzal Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 12:16 am

guys money wont be more than 7-10lakh, I personally know a recent MD PTV he was getting 5 lakh plus house and a car.

57. bublushah Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 12:17 am

why dont you guys give credit to PPP for appointing one of its biggest critics for a very important post. If they make mistakes in future this move can be dangerous for them butt still they took this risk.
    Despite all these biased comments i think this is another move towards free media in Pakistan.

58. comment-top

“”why dont you guys give credit to PPP for appointing one of its biggest critics for a very important post.”"”

no they wont
    beacuse they are bloody Bias against PPP.

59. comment-top

@jamil,

Even top Junails and DOGar court judges are not getting more than 2 lakh per month. But the main catch for them are the free “plots” in Islamabad that they can sell for Crore (Rs. 10 million) each.

60. comment-top

rasheed

Generals and Judges come under the Govt Pay Scal.
    while MD PTV is a head of a semi Govt organizations.

like MD PIA

Like PCB Chairman

61. comment-top

media in pakistan is still not mature, there are some good journalist and anchors but media groups are crap frankly speaking. only Ajj tv owners are a bit professional.
    dr shahid and hamid mir are both Guzara. specially when they ask follow up questions, they tend to forget what they were talking about and jump to another topic, which is a bit childish for a good journalist. I think they dont prepare questions before interviews and just try to go with the flow….

62. comment-top

come on.

People think {i though i dnt agree} that they are the most professional Journalists.

as far as media Groups are concverned JANG GROUP is the most Richest organization of pakistan.

63. comment-top

@Awais,

The point I am trying to tell is that you can make more money at the end if you are in good books of the present government, and source of money is not only salary.

It is a crystal clear professional conflict of interest for a journalist working on government payroll. All of us love Dr. SM based on his journalist profession, not as a chairman of a government institute.

It is fine if he chooses to manage a government institute, but he should put his journalist profession on hold and just run the PTV without trying to influence the public opinions.

We should leave the opinion building job to pure journalists who are not running on government payroll.

64. baig_lahori Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 12:38 am

WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Either he has lost his mind or PTV is going to under go a HUGE change!!!

65. comment-top

rasheed

isnt it a bias of you that you regard a person as ‘professional Journalist’ and as soon as he is made a Chairman of a Govt institute he becomes Unprofessional and bad!

66. comment-top

@Awais

MD PTV is a different post and yousaf baig is MD of PTV??

chairman PIA is Ahmed Mukhtar….appointed by defence minister Ahmed Mukhtar..

67. comment-top

its we who say Dr SM is neither Professional nor independent irrespective he works on GEO/ARY/PTV.

68. comment-top

I still dont understand why cant they make PTV a complete autonomous organization?

69. comment-top

GM

you didnt got my point i think.

i said MD PTV and MD PIA/Chairman PIA are the heads of semi Government organizations.
    and their pays are not in the rank of Usual government ranks.

70. comment-top

Now all those who had a go on me when I said something about Hamid Mir and Shahid Masood ,should eat their own sh@t.

71. comment-top

Its money my Friend.

simple.

72. comment-top

democrat
    i totally agree
    when all these people were paraising Dr Shahid Masood for his ‘independence’ and ‘professional Journalistic attitude’ .

when we said he is none of these all those try to bash us saying we are Bias.

now where are those!

73. comment-top

I dnt think so Govt SHOULD Make him the chairman of PTV. Specially a person who has been suspected to connections with ISI.

74. comment-top

No one should question SM and Hamid Mir’s integrity, either they just dont prepare enough for their shows or as an anchor they have limited abilities.

75. comment-top

SHOULD NOT MAKE HIM A CHAIRMAN

76. comment-top

Also they are to close to politicians, civil and military elite. You must have heard Dr shahid was sitting with zardari etc or hamid mir meet this military or civilian guy. I mean as an independent journalist they should be really careful. These meetings should be only linked to an interview or press conference!!!

77. bechari-awam Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 1:03 am

The problem with us pakistanis is that we are too emotional and want to see everything through our lenses. This guy has accepted (if its true) a very challenging and risky position and has put his credibility at stake which he earned in a very hard way under lot of duress and stress, being fired a number of times from different channels (especially the one which is showing this ticker). If you guys think he is after this money then you better keep your record straight. He can earn a number of time more money by just keeping his previous job as a royal college senior surgeon (may be C Hussain can speculate on his expected salary there).

I can’t imagine that he will take this job without any pre-conditions attached which should include complete editorial freedom and no govt pressure on any issue. My respect for PPP will start going up (which had started eroding after AZ flip-flops) if thats the case.

Guys hold your guns and don’t get emotiional.

78. sarosh mahdi Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 1:04 am

why are my comments being censored

79. comment-top

@bechari awam
    well said..

80. comment-top

jamil

thats wrong if you think that independent Journalist should not have contacts/Friendships with the Politicians/others.

Friendship is something different.
    one must be independent in it s analysis.

there having lot of LEFTIST Journalists who has been independent.
    there has been so many muslims Journalists who are independent instead of having Belief!

81. comment-top

bechari-awam

come on a ‘royal college senior suregon’ earns about 4-7 Lakh per month in ENGLAND

he is earling more than that in GEO at present

82. Hameed Chaudhry Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 1:15 am

How it could be possible for Dr.Shahid Masood to accept this offer to become the PTV Chairman in this present political setup. I am sure we must have an another individual who also have the same name in Pakistan.

Dr. Shahid Masood can never let all of us down………. I really mean that. I am 100 % sure that this is wrong information may be circulated by Major General (Retd.) Rashid Qureshi.

83. 90degrees Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 1:31 am

Well I Analyze the situation sans reading any above comments:

1. If he did by choice, he wanted to gain further popularity of his views. In that way he might start his own program on ptv. And his reach could be ten fold through the more reliable terrestrial network of PTV.

2. If he did not do it by choice, then he might forced to do this by PPP. Geo also might have been forced to let him go at the expense pf fair competition and getting a licence for the english television channel.

3. In the end, probably both scenarios discussed in point 1 and point 2 might be relevant. I mean somehow dr. shahid masood might have thought that what choice now do I have. If Geo lets me go, and I wont go back to ARY then lets end up at PTV. Although he had a choice for Aaj TV. Well lost of gossip for the day……

84. malik123 Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 1:35 am

well don e dr shahid masood ,good decision we need people like him to support govt on issues like tribal areas , i salute govt to take stand against usa in tribal areas . and balichistan as well

85. bublushah Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 1:42 am
    comment-top comment-bottom
  86. DilbarJani Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 2:00 am

Another great choice by PPP government after Shoaib Suddle’s appointment as IG Sindh! Dr. Masood’s style is annoying but he is definitely not a PP yes man.

It shows PP has the courage to appoint people on merit (relatively speaking).

87. moizuddin Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 2:16 am

We will see how much he going to critisize PPP or its policies the way he did in merey mutabiq, this decesion looks like a bribe to shutt his mouth against govt. & he accpets it…strange…

88. Javaid Khan Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 2:24 am

He was a Piplia anyway so he got where he wanted to. he always supports Zardari so now got rewarded for that

89. comment-top

give him chance to prove a point.im sure he will be neutral even on ptv.

90. Bulleh Shah Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 2:31 am

It is hard to believe – BUT it might be good business move from PPP government and PTV. Since now a days folks from Pak Watan are interested in only political TalkShows and he might bring more advertisements and viewers to PTV. Other than that still PTV drama is superior then any private networks

91. comment-top

I cant beleive this. I am worried about Dr. Shahid, I dont know what the establishment/Govt. will do with Dr. Shahid. Because i cant expect good from Govt. for the great people like Dr. Shahid, Dr. Qadeer, Imran Khan etc.

92. comment-top

If Dr. Shahid made a deal with Zardari, than everybody will start hate him.

93. Mohammad Khalil Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 2:50 am

he was always a sell out

94. comment-top

Zardai mentioned that soon PTV will be an independent channel.
    I think Zardai offered Dr.Shahid an opportunity and to accept a challenge to change PTV immage.
    Just my observation,
    Munir Hussain

95. comment-top

I can not believe it

96. comment-top

PTV should be made an independant entity like NPR (or BBC).

One of the few good moves by the PPP govt so far.

97. comment-top

well done Mr saleh zafir —–well done .
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2008-daily/31-05-2008/main4.htm

98. comment-top

I can not believe this!

99. comment-top

Ohhh My God!!!

Dr. Shahid will never be able to erase this ‘dhubba’ from his face- he has been politicized forever!!! As I wrote a few days ago that he is PPPilyya from outside and MQMwalla from inside - I’m glad my statement proved right so fast :) Plus this proves the point why he gave so much importance to Najam Sethi on this shows lately!!!

I have no doubt left that Hamid Mir has been compromised by Zardari too! Read this latest articles and you would notice his soft stance towards Zardari…. Hamid Mir also portrays agenda of Zardari on CJ Restoration i.e. to fix term to 4 or 5 years.

Here is what Zardari and Co. doing…

1) Buy time on judges restoration so that awam gets sick of this thorny issue and slowly start moving away from CJ Chaudhary’s demand. Constitution Package’s 62 points would never get approved by a single party.

2) During that time slowly flat out ‘thorny’ ancher men. So far Zardari and Co. have succeeded in flattening out Dr. Shaid Masood, Hamid Mir, Shaheen Subhai. Najam Sethi of the Daily Times was already in their pocket.

Rest to go: Bota Pakistan Duo, Ansar Abbasi, Rauf Klasara, Haroon Rasheed, Javaid Chaoudhary.

100. comment-top

Javeed Chaudhary… impossible
    Bolta pakistan …. possible
    Ansar Abbasi ….. can be emotionally blackmailed
    Rauf Klaasra ….. very possible
    Haroon Rashid…. Dont know…

101. comment-top

May be Dr.Shahid Masood got tired of abiding by GEO policy ( 100% Pro Nawaz Sharif ) also he does not want to lie any more. Congratulation and thank you Dr.Masood , you are keeping the spirit of true journalism alive.

102. truthful Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 3:29 am

Don’t be astonished. It is a deliberate move. Recall Dr SM’s last few programmes. He is the only person keeping Benazir’s issue alive- a thing very irritating to Rahman Malik and Co. He has been offered to be quite. Dr SM appointment is linked with the assasination of Benazir Bhutto. He talked and he was approached. And Dr SM knew it well. Good luck

103. comment-top

@j.a.g

are u from army’s jag branch… :P
    by the way ur last comment was BS

104. pak.nukes Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 3:34 am

This is a very sad news. Dr Shahid Masood has been manipulated by Zardari.He is his friendand got the reward but at the cost of his journalistic ethocs. Very sad I did not think that Dr.Shahid was also availableforsale like other shameless once BB loyalists nowlicking Zardari’s feet. True colours of human beings we have witnessed during the past 5 months.

105. saqibtahir Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 3:38 am

Good decision by PPP Ns government.

A news that is ignored by media and Bhutto haters:

Akram Sheikh a Lawyer Movement Leader broke the boycott of PCO judges by presenting in favour of NS SS duo in front Election Tribunal.
    Sheikh sahib claimed to be representing the ‘Civil Society’.

NBS SS made proxy representation in front of PCO judges. What a bunch of hypocrites.

106. comment-top

@jag,

You did not reply to your lies about $35,000 hotel.

Secondly, Pakistani nation has progressed and they are getting out of their shells of Pro-NS, Pro-PPP, Pro-Xyz etc. Media and People are now smart enough to appreciate or follow parties based on issues and their stance/actions rather than the face of their leader or their sacrifices.

If tomorrow PMLN turns against restoration of judiciary, then Geo will also become anti-Nawaz Sharif, because it is very very difficult for media to take anti-popular stance in this age of competition.

107. malik123 Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 3:53 am

guys stop this nonsense he accepted job for pakistan tv not indian tv , give him chance may be he will remain neutral and support govt on issue to issue, and criticize govt on some issues as well

108. comment-top

55 lakh ??????? Are you serious - Its over a million dollar a year - And most likely no or almost no taxes - Its unbelievable. A country where per capitca income is less than 1000 dollars / yr and Govt. spends this much in governance - no wonder every politician wants to spend millions of rupees to contest elctions—- Sorry state of Affairs - SAD SAD SAD

109. comment-top

I still can’t believe it - Its probably a typo- its most likely 55 lakh a year or 5 lakh per month–

110. comment-top

@ Jamil, why you expect every one to speak your language, I am not a sheep to follows the hurd , i listen , i see and i make up my mind, set my own directions. Also I just checked with Dorchester London, three nights most expensive suite US$ 9800.

111. comment-top

@malik123,

Please stop your nonsense.

Dr. Shahid will be on Government payroll and it will be pure conflict of interest as “Dr. Shahid will be Government”

It will be unethical for Dr. SM to speak against his own employer. Since he will be a party himself in the media game, he is now morally bound to shut up and not try to influence public opinion.

112. comment-top

@jag,

Please stop your propaganda.

Here is link to Jang article of 2 million per night:

http://jang.com.pk/jang/feb2008-daily/04-02-2008/col9.htm

Here is an article that shows the rates for Royal Penthouse at Dorchester.

http://travel.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/travel/article2320293.ece

113. malik123 Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 4:17 am

@jag http://www.dorchesterhotel.com/rooms_suites/rates.html
    prices starts from 850 pounds to 6500 pounds per night , klaisra is exagaratting to 14500 pounds

114. malik123 Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 4:21 am

this website is so biased and anti ppp, even they criticize right decisions, ppp appointed one of independnt journalist to improve ptv, people are still moaning,
    what will happen if ppp appoints rehmat afridi, frontier post editor on this post

115. comment-top

@malik123,

This has been discussed in Pakistani senate too after senators were shocked to see the bill.

It was reported in Jang but I could not find it. Check the following article:

http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news/Musharrafs-Rs-21-lac-a-night-hotel-bill-irks-Senators/278582/

Pakistani Senators have questioned President Pervez Musharraf’s fat hotel bill of Rs 63 lakh during his recent three-day visit to Britain, saying it caused a deep hole for the state exchequer.

Musharraf, who undertook a 10-day tour of the European countries last month, stayed in a royal suite of an expensive hotel near Hyde Park in London. His three-day stay cost Rs 63 lakh.

Senator Azam Swati of the Islamic alliance Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) informed the upper house of Parliament through a point of order yesterday that the hotel the President stayed in charged Rs 63 lakh for three nights or Rs 21 lakh a night.

116. comment-top

@malik123 / jag,

The hotel rate list has the “Royal Suite” missing, but the above article confirms that Mush stayed in Royal Suite.

117. malik123 Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 4:25 am

@rasheed
    i gave you even website link , you are still not believing it, you believe in this third class journalist , who knows nothing about london,

118. comment-top

@malik123,

“this website is so biased and anti ppp, even they criticize right decisions, ppp appointed one of independnt journalist to improve ptv, people are still moaning,
    what will happen if ppp appoints rehmat afridi, frontier post editor on this post”.

First of all, if you are Pro-PPP, why are you defending Musharraf’s hotel bill? As far as I know PPP suffered too much under Mush and PPP workers should hate Mush.

Secondly, I did not see anything bias in the news reported by pkpolitics that SM joined PTV? The commentators are free to express what they think is right or wrong.

119. comment-top

@malik123,

The link you gave me has “Royal Suite” missing and your Rauf Klasra is 3rd class reporter because he criticized both Musharraf and MQM. It seems you support Mush/MQM more than PPP and just BS’ing here.

The following link shows the rate:

Royal Suite = ÂŁ17,625 = $35,250 = Rs. 2.2 Million

http://travel.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/travel/article2320293.ece

120. malik123 Says:
    May 31st, 2008 at 4:35 am

@rasheed
    i am not supporting mush at all , i am rectifying mistake by media , that there is nothing call royal suite and i am not pro ppp as well , i am against all these politicians including nawaz sharif, imran , zardari , they are all so rich and careless about public, you know nawaz sharif got flats on park lane, most expensive road in europe where you can only take lease of property , you can not buy it free hold, same goes with bb and imran khan as well