Visitors News & Views - Week 2, June 2008

Share and discuss latest Pakistani Political News and Views here. Feel free to share links to interesting videos, columns, and articles from other channels, newspapers or blogs. Always pretext your comments before a link or useful information about the content of a link.

379 Comments »

1. Amir Hameed Says:
    June 8th, 2008 at 2:53 am

The snake, Zardari, states: “Musharraf to be impeached unless he resigns”
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=47068

Now it is in contradiction to the statement from the moron defence minister, Ahmed Mukhtar, a few days ago where he had stated that “Musharraf is an elected president”

ZPP is nothing but an incompetent bunch of clowns.

2. Amir Hameed Says:
    June 8th, 2008 at 3:03 am

Ansar Abbasi: “Thar coal turning into another Kalabagh Dam”
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/arc_news.asp?id=2

The following excerot caught my eye:

…passing day on the development of Thar coal, the greatest national wealth and energy resource worth US$6 trillion.
    —-

USD 6 trillion! this sounds like gi-normous amount of reserves.

A heads up. Jang is reporting that interviews of Iftikhar Chaudhry’s children will be aired on the show with Asma Chaudhry. Please plan on uploading it.

Thanks!

Amir,
    The Z in ZPP has become so pervasive that now it is ZZZ.

ZZZ = Zar, Zan aur Zameen

The Empire - A Status Report
    by William Blum

There are a number of expressions and slogans associated with the Nazi regime in Germany which have become commonly known in English.
    “Sieg Heil!” — Victory Hail!
    “Arbeit macht frei” — Work will make you free.
    “Denn heute gehört uns Deutschland und morgen die ganze Welt” — Today Germany, tomorrow the world
    But none perhaps is better known than “Deutschland über alles” — Germany above all.

Thus I was taken aback when I happened to come across the website of the United States Air Force — http://www.airforce.com/ — and saw on its first page a heading “Above all”. Lest you think that this refers simply and innocently to planes high up in the air, this page links to another — http://www.airforce.com/achangingworld/ — where “Above all” is repeated even more prominently, with links to sites for “Air Dominance”, “Space Dominance”, and “Cyber Dominance”, each of which in turn repeats “Above all”. These guys don’t kid around. They’re not your father’s imperialist war mongers. If they’re planning on a new “thousand-year Reich”, let’s hope that their fate is no better than the original, which lasted 12 years. ….

NATO, Kosovo, Afghanistan and Pakistan
    What is NATO Doing in Afghanistan?

By Faheem Hussain
    “…Attentive readers in Pakistan will note the uncanny similarities between the proposed Rambouillet Accords of 1999 preceding the 78 day NATO bombardment of Yugoslavia and what Shirin Mazari, a Pakistani defence analyst and former head of the Institute of Strategic Studies, Islamabad (ISSI), revealed as a set of demands that the USA recently made to the Pakistan government (The News March 8, 2008). Although one can never be sure, I hope that the Musharraf government at that time and the present government have rejected these demands which negate Pakistani sovereignty. I wonder if the new “democratic” dispensation has given in to US pressure to remove Ms. Mazari from her position as head of the ISSI given her opposition to NATO presence in Afghanistan and her criticisms of US policy in the region…..

Regarding Iraq:

US Issues Threat to Iraq’s $50bn Foreign Reserves in Military Deal

The US is holding hostage some $50bn (£25bn) of Iraq’s money in the Federal Reserve Bank of New York to pressure the Iraqi government into signing an agreement seen by many Iraqis as prolonging the US occupation indefinitely, according to information leaked to The Independent.

Revealed: Secret Plan To keep Iraq Under US Control
    Bush wants 50 military bases, control of Iraqi airspace and legal immunity for all American soldiers and contractors

New Agreement Lets US Strike Any Country From Inside Iraq
    Senior Iraqi military sources have told Gulf News that the long-term controversial agreement is likely to include three major items.

Iran: US-Iraq security deal aims to enslave Iraqis
    One of Iran’s most powerful politicians vowed Wednesday that the Islamic world will stop a long-term security agreement that is being negotiated by the U.S. and Iraq.

Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani told a gathering of Muslim figures in the holy city of Mecca that the United States is trying to enslave Iraqis through the deal. This comments were the strongest and most high-level public condemnations of the potential security deal by an Iranian official.

Why?
    Arabs shocked by Obama speech
    Arab leaders have reacted with anger and disbelief to an intensely pro-Israeli speech delivered by Barack Obama, the US Democratic presumptive presidential nominee.

Obama told the influential annual policy conference of the American Israel Public Affairs Council (Aipac): “Jerusalem will remain the capital of Israel and it must remain undivided.”

His comments appalled Palestinians who see occupied East Jerusalem as part of a future Palestinian state.

Saeb Erekat, the chief Palestinian negotiator, told Al Jazeera on Thursday: “This is the worst thing to happen to us since 1967 … he has given ammunition to extremists across the region”.

“What really disppoints me is that someone like Barack Obama, who runs a campaign on the theme of change - when it comes to Aipac and what’s needed to be said differently about the Palestinian state, he fails.”….

9. comment-top comment-bottom

U.S. STATE DEPARTMENT: ‘NO DEEP NATIONAL INTEREST IN HUMAN RIGHTS’
    That is basically what was said yesterday as the U.S. distanced itself from the U.N. Council on Human Rights.

I realize that I may be getting too demanding, but Shahbaz’s speech was a speech par excellence. For the first time I felt a newly elected chief executive was speaking with sincerity.

Please try and upload.

Thanks!

Top companies accused of helping finance Burma’s dictatorship
    Fifty top companies have been accused of helping finance Burma’s military dictatorship.

The Burma Campaign UK published its Dirty List today aimed at exposing those companies that directly or indirectly support Burma’s ruling junta.

The 50 new companies named include, BBC Worldwide, Toyota, Qantas, TOTAL Oil and Daewoo.

In total, 154 companies are named on the list.

“In an age where companies like to claim they behave ethically, this list exposes those corporations for whom corporate responsibility is just a hollow public relations exercise,” said Johnny Chatterton, campaigns officer of the Burma Campaign UK.

“If you are serious about ethics, you don’t fund dictatorships that rape five year old girls, shoot at peaceful protestors and leave storm victims to die.”…

@nota: bbbbuu buut… they’re “engaging” the evil regimes to “reform” them tsk! tsk! .. oh the humanity!

moshe’s lament, ba-zubaan-e Dr. K. Chaudhry:

http://video.yahoo.com/watch/2127033/6712467

15. texasboy Says:
    June 8th, 2008 at 4:08 pm

i cant believe my ears, i just heard yussef gilani say. ” global prices aik slow ’sawami’ hai”… i think he meant to say “tsunami”…. tsk.. tsk….

i double checked to make sure i did nt mishear, and sure enough we are facing a slow “sawami”!

Raja Zafrul Haq says that Shahbaz Sharif statement is NOT according to party policy.

http://www.ummatpublication.com/2008/06/08/lead19.php

@texasboy: I think you meant “tch tch tch!” ;-)

Btw, what’s wrong with “sawami” ? we don’t want a con-fun-tray-shun with the prezdunt kiyoonki mullak is saahinay kaa muhtamal neeN o saktaa!

anyone got the shehbaz sharif sapeech?

whats with shahbaz sharif speech, why is it so significant

20. sleepingnation Says:
    June 8th, 2008 at 4:28 pm

hey what happened..anyone who comes in office start talking about Constitution and president…..same statements were given by PM YRG and zaradri and now SSharif saying: sadra say constitution kay mutabiq relations rakhein gay” what the hell going on….

why is ss talking this rubbish, he is not president he is a dictator, they should not use the word president.

22. texasboy Says:
    June 8th, 2008 at 4:43 pm

hey did anyone catch the IMC’s childrens’ interview on geo?

23. democrat Says:
    June 8th, 2008 at 5:30 pm

@dmin
    please start a thread on brunch with bushra with altaf hussain. It will be great fun for all of us. You should catter the humourious needs of this website visitors.

it is 11pm…in pak. when will new videos be uploaded here?

25. Riddle 792 Says:
    June 8th, 2008 at 7:28 pm

Watch 6/8’s Left Right n see MQM’s lifafa’s kamal on Hassan Nisar. Hassan recently visited Altaf Daku and has started praising both Altaf Kalia and Mush Donkey.

What a pitty……… dont these old journalists know that the “Media Dynamics” have changed and people can see their ever move………

I used to thought that Hassan was a idealist but now ……… WOW….!! i wanna push him into the Lahore river………….

@Nota

Any of your post deleted today (time stamp should be around 1-2 pm)?

I think this link was included in your post:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=117342

Excerpts:
    “Responding to a query, he said Mian Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif would not participate in the welcome because of security reasons. He said Mian Nawaz Sharif would be in London while the parliamentary meeting had decided that Mian Shahbaz Sharif should not join it owing to security reasons. He stated that they had made foolproof arrangements for the Chief Justice and his caravan. He said the long march would be a last nail in the coffin of the dictatorship.”

Pakistan ready to sale land to Saudis for $6 bn.

In return, the sources said, the prime minister, who would be joined by PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari on Sunday, would offer the Saudis hundreds of thousands of acres of agricultural land, which could be tilled by the Saudis and the product could be taken away for consumption in the Kingdom.

http://www.paktribune.com/news/index.shtml?201545

@texas boy
    The children specially balaj is so intelligent. They were clearly reflecting that they have an excellent brought up and are children of a ngreat man. Very interesting. am must to watch. Blaj was very well spoken probably most of our “seasoned ” politicians.

@texas boy
    more than our ..politicians

It is June 9th today.

Do you know where your president is?

@Saqib on June 8th, 2008 10:09 pm
    “@Nota
    Any of your post deleted today (time stamp should be around 1-2 pm)?
    I think this link was included in your post:
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=117342

I think the post you are talking about is here

@asfand1
    “Pakistan ready to sale land to Saudis for $6 bn.
    In return, the sources said, the prime minister, who would be joined by PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari on Sunday, would offer the Saudis hundreds of thousands of acres of agricultural land, which could be tilled by the Saudis and the product could be taken away for consumption in the Kingdom.”

This is nothing new. This sort of rape has been going on for some time under the guise of “corporate farming” where not only are foreigners are given land but also guaranteed water, electricity, and tax-free profits that have no strings attached. Remember these profits are based on “cost plus” formula so no matter how much they fvck up their farming they still make a profit of around 20% on all monies spent….

33. Revivalist Says:
    June 9th, 2008 at 8:01 am

Pathetic efforts aimed at easing Pakistan ’s energy crisis

On 1/6/2008 Pakistan ’s government put the nation’s clocks forward by an hour and ordered stores to close early to ease electricity shortages that are hurting economic growth and fuelling unrest across the country. This initiative by the government is too little too late. Conservative estimates suggest that Pakistan faces 5000 mw power shortage due to the widening gap between supply and demand. During the past 10 years successive governments failed to build power plants to meet the increase in demand. Furthermore, the privatization of electricity production and distribution in the 1990s has aggravated the energy crisis. Independent Power Producers (IPPs) in some cases refuse to produce and distribute electricity to Pakistani cities, unless the government compensates them for the high price of oil, which is used to generate electricity. The IPPs want the government to raise the electricity tariff by 30%, so that they can maintain their profits. All of this means that during this summer, people will have to pay extra for electricity that will be in short supply. The solution to Pakistan’s energy crisis is to abandon privatization and exploit Pakistan’s coal mines, which are the 2nd largest in the world. But to accomplish this feat, the people of Pakistan must re-establish the Khilafah. The Khilafah will invest heavily in producing liquid coal fuel to generate power, and will also prevent the IPPs from exploiting the people.

@Poola

Right…people have a very short fuse, but maybe that is not so strange, because the Pakistani nation is used to be let down time and again, and now they see ghosts everywhere. It will take some time for the politicians to restore the confidence. For most of them (PML-Q/MQM/PPP) it will never happen, because they have made it a habit to cheat.

Can somebody give information about why NS and SS are not participating? Is NS’ wife seriously ill?

35. comment-top comment-bottom

Sorry my post ended in the wrong thread .-(

@Saqib on June 9th, 2008 9:07 am

37. Ahmed Bhai Says:
    June 9th, 2008 at 9:37 am

confident or cocky ?

Nawaz is very cunning politician and has been improving his tactics with the passage of time. He understands how to play in new media empowered Pakistan to mold people ’s opinion.

NS is the most beneficiary of lawyer ’s movement. He was sitting out for 8 years setting up departmental stores in Saudi Arabia and instantly got benefited both legally and politically by joining in the middle of lawyer ’s movement.

There is no harm to be part of a movement and have reward in return but at the time crisis and struggle you should be their at the helm of affair.

So far NS has just cashed lawyer ’s cause and has not return any output to lawyer community and now both parties (PPP and PML-N) wants to divert lawyer ’s crowd to army house to get rid of Mush without stepping back their commitments with Saudis and Americans.

What kind of leaders and politicians they are. They are even not able to restore judges and sack Mush when they have the strength. Better they should start acting in Bollywood in action movies.

Bottom line:
    So far all the major developments have been made because of lawyers and in future it would be so. These PPP and PML-N politicians are just HIGRAS.

**Live Coverage** from the Long March to save Judiciary

http://pklongmarch.blogspot.com/

Could you please put the following link about live coverage somewhere on the front page for people ’s interest:

http://pklongmarch.blogspot.com/

PPP slogan should now be changed since PPP has been shifting colours like a chameleon (Surprise…surprise…) with regard to Musharraf’s future role and the restoration of the judiciary. The slogan “Roti kabda aur Makaan” (RKM) has long been DEAD, it’s a hoax, a mirage….you choose what fits best. Maybe the slogan RKM should now be changed to

R for Rusvai
    K for Khajalkharabi
    and
    M for Munafiqat.

What a shameful way to KILL peoples expectations :-(

@Poola

“Better they should start acting in Bollywood in action movies.”

What’s wrong with Lollywood?

It’s close by and suits the style much better;-)

that this site continues to ignore significant events in international politics, at times makes me wonder if it is acutally a study on the species that is the pakistani polit-animal…the pak-roach of kafka…and who is studying the studier

anyway..here is something out of context by definition of what is important in pak politics;

http://zope.gush-shalom.org/home/en/channels/avnery/1212871846/

@Kafka8

Excerpts from your link:

“The Jewish votes are important, of course, especially in several swing states which may decide the outcome. But African-Americans have more votes, and so do the Hispanics. Obama has brought to the political scene millions of new young voters. Numerically, the Arab-Muslim community in the US is also not an insignificant factor.”

I would say that the Jewish votes are most important since they have MOST money, and that’s exactly why Obama barks tremendously in favor of the Jews.

@saqib

uri makes a point (although not detailed) about how much money they do have..compared to other ethno/religous groups…nevertheless..i think this is a very important dimension to geo-political situation..the refusal of umreeka to look at the world without zianist specatcles..

@saqib

i also think…that the growing number of left of center/college going umreekis will also be watching this spectacle with questions of their own!!

@saqib

point remains; why doesn’t this site cater to wha?t is going on in the world at large?? how can you understand or discuss what is unfolding in pakistan..without studying it in the context of the ‘frame’

@kafka8 on June 9th, 2008 1:06 pm

I agree, but we have much higher issues at stake right now. For us it is important to bring Pakistan on tracks first, then we can concentrate on such issues.

The Americans knows very well the public mood in Pakistan i.e. how much or rather how limited support they have amongst the common population. Such issues will be taken seriously if they are raised genuinely (not only rhetoric’s) by our rulers. Who should do it right now? The present rulers are no brave hearts but all poodles/wimps :-(

@saqib

that is not my point…even if pakistan is put on tracks, it wont stay on tracks …if she is not cognizant of the forces acting to derail it or maintain it.

in other words, before pakistan begins to get on the tracks..it must know how to stay there..

pakistan is no island…no place actually ..is an island anymore.

@Kafka8

I am not ridiculing your point. In fact I think it is important, but who should put forward our concerns?

I don’t think the Yankees have doubts about the public mood. What we need is to get rid of collaborators first and then ensure that we have PAKISTANI negotiators instead to voice our genuine concerns!

@saqib

that would be useless..actually..better to let the umreekis think they are in control…atleast until such time that their own people are back in control of umreeka. we are being administered more or less along the same lines that the ruling elite of umreeka runs/governs umreeka.

as i said that is something the umreeki people have to do. what i was trying to say is that to understand what pakistan has to do…it must understand what is going on in the world…and how that relates to what is unfolding/may unfold in pakistan…at politcal forums such as this.

therefore when an event as important as obama securing the democratic presidential nomination goes unaddressed at such a forum…i am inclined to question why this is so>

Hussain Haqqani ’s latest statement on CNN:

“President Musharraf should not be removed and Pakistan should play active role in War on Terror”.

Split tongue of snake.

53. comment-top

@tk

note the comments on the june 6 ‘live with talat’ today. fragmentation of discussion ..eh?

54. comment-top

55. comment-top

@dmin

sire what is to be expected by when..or shall one come back tomorrow,,,

56. comment-top

Musharraf kee awaz
    saaree ankhoon koo teh-i-taigh kiya hai mein nay
    saray khwaboon ka gala ghoont diya hain mein nay
    ab na lehkay gee kisi shaakh pay phoolon kee hina
    fasl-e-gul aaye gee namrood kay angar liye

Long March 2008
    uthay ga jab jam-e-sarfrooshan
    paray gay daar-o-rasan kay lalay
    kio na hoo ga kay joo bachalay

….

57. comment-top

MACDUFF (Aitzaz)

Yield thee, coward,
    And live to be the show and gaze o’ the time:
    We’ll have thee, as our rarer monsters are,
    Painted on a pole, and underwrit,
    ‘Here may you see the tyrant.’

MACBETH (Moshe)

I will not yield,
    To kiss the ground before young Aitzaz’feet?
    And to be baited with the rabble’s curse?
    Though Shehbaz be come to Takht Lahore,
    And thou Lawyer, being of no military born,
    Yet I will try the last !! Before my body
    I throw my warlike shield. Lay on, Aitzaz,
    And damn’d be him that first cries, ‘Hold, enough!’

——————————————–
    hmmmm….something has to give, something must happen. Its June 9th, TK, where art thou??

I have supp’d full with horrors;
    Direness, familiar to my slaughterous thoughts
    Cannot once start me.

….out, out, brief cande!!!

58. comment-top

@mbokhari: Guilty as charged!

I suck at predctions… (but don’t take this as a promise that I will repent and refrain)

The next date is 18th of June muahahahahahahahaha!!!

59. comment-top

@kafka8: I think I’m going thru comment fatigue… damn this winter!

60. comment-top

@peja

Can you find this poem by Faiz. I can’t find it. Goes something like this:

Ay khaak nasheeno uth baitho….something something…ab takht giraye gayeN gey.

61. comment-top

@mobkhari

are u sure its faiz…and not jalib?

62. comment-top

Eureka!!
    ————
    Darbar-e watan main jab ik din sab janay walay jaein ge
    Kuch apni saza ko pohanchein ge, kuch apni jaza le jaein ge

Aey khak nasheenon uth baitho, woh waqt kareeb aa pohancha hai
    Jab taj uch’halay jaein ge, jab takht giraey jaein ge

Ab toot girein gi zanjeerein, ab zindan’on ki khair nahin
    Jo darya jhoom k utha hai, tinkon se na ta’llay jaein ge

Kat’tay bhi chalo, barhtay bhi chalo: bazoo bhi bohat hain, sar bhi bohat
    Chaltay bhi chalo, k ab d’air’ay manzil pe hi da’lay jaein ge

Aey zulm k maro, lab kholo, chup rehnay walon chup kab tak?
    Kuch hash’r to’ un se uthay ga, kuch do’or to’ na’lay jaein ge

——Faiz

63. comment-top

Paths to parliament blocked off with containers - source Geo News

64. comment-top

Kat-tay bhee chaloo , barh-tay bhee chaloo
    bazoo bhee buhat hain sar bhee buhat
    Chal-tay bhee chaloo , kay ab deray
    manzil per hee daalay jaain gay

65. comment-top

Bushra Rehman of PMLQ receiving letters of Sherry Reman (by mistake) …..

and here is what she claims about contents of these letters.

http://www.ummatpublication.com/2008/06/10/lead22.php

66. comment-top

At 50 degree temperature,

PTI, JI workers and lawyers chanting slogans at Multan Airport on arrival of
    Iftikhar Ch.

67. comment-top

I never trusted PPP but I think PMLN has sold itself to Zardari/Moshe to get Panjab, where is their oath????? now what is the difference between Moshe (Multi-time oath breaker), Zardari (Murree Accord Breaker), PMLN (breakers of their own oath) .

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jun2008-daily/10-06-2008/up26.gif

68. Democracy Says:
    June 10th, 2008 at 4:46 pm

Dear Ms. Hina Rabbani Khar, covering your head is not going to cover up your incompetence and mis-management as Minister of State for Economic Affairs in the Shaukat Aziz roach ridden kitchen cabinet! Today you preside over the same hen house as advisor to the PM for economic affairs? Can you please first be accountable for the mistakes which you presided over? Please tell us what were you doing these past years which led us to hit the economic iceberg?

69. ataraxis6 Says:
    June 10th, 2008 at 4:48 pm
    comment-top comment-bottom
  70. comment-top

@mobkhari
    Aey zulm k maro, lab kholo, chup rehnay walon chup kab tak?
    Kuch hash’r to’ un se uthay ga, kuch do’or to’ na’lay jaein ge

kya baat hai!

71. comment-top

@mobkhari. peja, tk, nota

PTI and JI…at the forefront as far as political parties are concerned…sometime back i expressed the fear that the lawyers movement MAY be hijacked by the mullah brigade….(which is particularly good at street politics/danda politics) ..if this happens..(i sincerely hope it doesn’t and that i am being paranoid) then it is a case of setting up pakistan for being type cast as a talibanesque failed state with nuclear weapons…what follows that…(in wake of obama and his recent aipac bs)..is the beginning of the end. this is also why i am in favor of supporting students in addition to primarily supporting the lawyers…and also why i wish IMMI and his PTI would distance itself from JI and base its dynamics on the students!!

72. comment-top

Condoleeza Rice has written a policy piece titled “Rethinking the National Interest” for Foreign Affairs magazine.

Apparently they spent 3 billion dollars on schools, clinics, hospitals… in Pakistan! hahahahaha….. buahahahahahahah!…. [gasp... gasp] buahhahahahahahhahaahahahahahaha!

Gawd! I needed a good laugh. She’s left Chris Rock way behind hasn’t she?

Here are some gems related to Pakistan:

Admittedly, our interests in both promoting democratic development and fighting terrorism and extremism lead to some hard choices, because we do need capable friends in the broader Middle East who can root out terrorists now. These states are often not democratic, so we must balance the tensions between our short-term and our long-term goals. We cannot deny nondemocratic states the security assistance to fight terrorism or defend themselves. At the same time, we must use other points of leverage to promote democracy and hold our friends to account. That means supporting civil society, as we have done through the Forum for the Future and the Middle East Partnership Initiative, and using public and private diplomacy to push our nondemocratic partners to reform. Changes are slowly coming in terms of universal suffrage, more influential parliaments, and education for girls and women. We must continue to advocate for reform and support indigenous agents of change in nondemocratic countries, even as we cooperate with their governments on security.

An example of how our administration has balanced these concerns is our relationship with Pakistan. Following years of U.S. neglect of that relationship, our administration had to establish a partnership with Pakistan’s military government to achieve a common goal after September 11. We did so knowing that our security and that of Pakistan ultimately required a return to civilian and democratic rule. So even as we worked with President Pervez Musharraf to fight terrorists and extremists, we invested more than $3 billion to strengthen Pakistani society — building schools and health clinics, providing emergency relief after the 2005 earthquake, and supporting political parties and the rule of law. We urged Pakistan’s military leaders to put their country on a modern and moderate trajectory, which in some important respects they did. And when this progress was threatened last year by the declaration of emergency rule, we pushed President Musharraf hard to take off his uniform and hold free elections. Although terrorists tried to thwart the return of democracy and tragically killed many innocent people, including former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto, the Pakistani people dealt extremism a crushing defeat at the polls. This restoration of democracy in Pakistan creates an opportunity for us to build the lasting and broad-based partnership that we have never achieved with this nation, thereby enhancing our security and anchoring the success of our values in a troubled region.

73. comment-top

Even Nepal got rid of monarchs but we are still beings ruled by kings, generals,king’s parties and now kids, you name it.

http://www.thepeninsulaqatar.com/Display_news.asp?section=World_News&subsection=Pakistan & Sub-Continent&month=June2008&file=World_News2008061063725.xml

ISLAMABAD • The eldest daughter of Benazir Bhutto, the assassinated former prime minister of Pakistan, took her first steps on the political ladder last week with her appointment to a high-profile post in the party her mother once led.

Bakhtawar Bhutto, 17, has been made head of the Pakistan People’s party’s (PPP) women’s wing. In her first television interview since her mother was killed last December, she pledged to carry on Benazir’s work.

74. comment-top

@savage
    And did you expect anything different from PPP??? :)

75. comment-top

It hurts, we are still being treated as medieval peasants. No right but all duties.

76. comment-top

@kafka8
    I don’t think Mullah’s, like Mush, can hijack anything right now. Sure the west would present it as such but they do that anyways and really don’t need JI’s help in that right now.

Let me put you a question. If Israel does take the step against Iran as it seems hell-bent on, do you think they will just stop there?

77. comment-top

Yesterday, Geo was reporting that 2 year toddler, fell down from roof and rescue van took him to at least 4 hospitals including Alshifa and MH but no one treated him because lake of facilities…. and look at these b$$$$$rs’ living style who are ruling us.

78. comment-top

i dont think israel will make that mistake…but the other israel…america may. …and yes..i agree they will not stop there…but get this…i think India will be the one arguing FOR pakistan before China…

79. comment-top

PM approves 50k tonnes wheat export to Afganistan

Updated at: 2245 PST, Tuesday, June 10, 2008

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister, Yousuf Raza Gilani, Tuesday approved export of 50,000 tonnes wheat to Afghanistan on discounted rate.

Afghan president Hamid Karzai a few days ago telephoned the Pakistan Prime Minister and requested him to export wheat to Afghanistan due to acute shortage of the staple food commodity.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=47227

80. comment-top

While our own people starve to death , the PM exports wheat at discounted rate. Lanat on our rulers……

81. comment-top

hasan nisar..on meray mutabiq…talking against the lawyers and AA…has this loudmouth sold out?

82. comment-top

@kafka8

Hassan Nisar is always like that, now he has been exposed actually.
    His recent visit to London was sponsored by MQM and he spent 3 days in Altaf Bhai office .
    So i think , he is saying and doing exactly what is expected from him.

83. comment-top

@geog47

Pakistan exporting wheat????
    what a vision…!!!!

but I am sure it is not for the people of Afghanistan but for the US troops there…
    I am told that sometime age Nestle was intending to establish a water processing plant just outside Karachi for the puprpose of exporting it for the US troops in Afghanistan…they were stopped after a legal battle (not on this matter) but beacuse of the land dispute…

these are some things taht we come to know…who knows what else is happening…

oneday we will wake up to find out that the whole country has been mortgagued….
    Ibn Razi

84. comment-top

@geog47

In yesterday Parliament session, our PM said that, he has been given the list by agencies of people involved in hoarding. He further said that they all are respected people and we request them to do some favor to nation or we will take action which would cause embarrassment for them.

It is so obviouse who these roti,kapda aur makan waley protecting.

85. comment-top

@gm

a list should be put up under the title ‘yellowism”
    the following names should be on the list along with links to their their ‘resume’
    kamran khan
    hasan nisar
    hussain haqqani
    asif zardari
    altaf husain
    pervert beysharaff
    rashid qureshi

86. comment-top

@ kafka8

I think work is in process for something similar to ur idea, rather more comprehensive one and it is to be launched soon.

It will help people to know that, for a certain journalist, do u they need to take it with a pinch of salt or ‘bori’ of salt.

87. comment-top

Some ‘honourable’ people hoarding wheat, NA told

ISLAMABAD, June 9: Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani told the National Assembly on Monday he had intelligence reports about wheat hoarding by some “honourable” people who, he said, must bring their stocks to the market to ease shortages or face disgrace.

Responding to an opposition call-attention notice, he said more wheat could be imported if shortages persisted even after the already arranged import of 2.5 million metric tons arrived by the end of November while the private sector too would be able to import the grain put on the free list.

He cited hoarding as one of the reasons for wheat shortages besides the previous government’s failure to fix a support price in time, a three-fold increase in DAP fertilizer price and a resulting drop in cultivation and yield, and said he had received report on Monday from the Inter-Services Intelligence and other agencies that some “barey izzatdar” (very honourable) people were hoarding stocks.

http://dawn.com/2008/06/10/top3.htm

88. comment-top

@ ALL

can we brainstorm to have some ideas to counter the CONTAINER TACTIC used by the gangster Rehman Malik .

May be to have some ladders or to to have some wooden blocks for setting up wider step stairs….or may be some portable welding plants?

89. comment-top

call for tractors!!!

90. comment-top

@kafka8

wat the tractors will do?
    dont forget , last year on NS first arrival, they used containers filled with some heavy material and not te empty ones.

91. comment-top

@GM

Can we rent Maulana Deisel, this useless could be used as “Road Roller”.

92. comment-top

@gm

go with cutters/generators/tractors…rent a construction crew with crane…

93. comment-top

To get an idea how ZPP is reacting, see this picture.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/specials/images/1029_longmarch_ra/2111246_pic_2.jpg

94. imalik5525 Says:
    June 10th, 2008 at 8:08 pm

If you notice DR SHAHID MASOOD always invite establishment people on his show ,weather it be ex generals(durrani,moinuddin haider,aslam baig etc),haqqqani etc or current politicians (sh rasheed) or the yellow journalists like najam shethy and hassan nisar.

dr shahid is loosing its viewer ship…..bolta pakistan,live with talat and columnkaar have taken over

95. comment-top

@savage

i think we cant trust this Fuzla even as a Road Roller.

96. comment-top

HAR !!! HAR !!! HARDY HAR !!!

Fuzla = Fazlur Rehman

nice.

97. comment-top

@GM and savage and those connected to the movement on ground

i see the container wall as a great event in making….imagine the lawyers and civil society cutting and chipping away at the ‘WALL’ …if the berlin wall could be dismantled…this is nothing!!!
    people should hire cutters/generators/blowtorches…….this wall will go down easily……this wall will serve only to empower the movement … !

98. comment-top

I think bamboo stairs is the best..

but we have to ask first? why cross these barriers to begin with? so.. you’re gonna go 200 meteres down the road… and then what? then you’re gonna be “good boys and gals of democracy brigade” and sit by the side of the road?

what would have happened had there been no barriers? everone would have sat in front of the parliament and waited ??? in tents? talked to media and the assembly ppl going in and out?

You can do that just before the containers. In any case, the containers will be the second line of defense. Wherever the lines of defense are.. it is generating pressure within the govt and _that_ is the point.

Everytime we start talking about cutters and cranes and stuff like that, we are essentially talking about giving control to Jamaat islami. These douchebags.. HAVE NEVER setup 100 stalls against the fruqqing Moshe govt in the last 10 years.. but now they’re running around in front of everyone..

I’m really leary of these people and their “Sha’eedonn ki Palti” methods (the original ones) … cute thing is _they_ generate the “shaheeds” on an on-demand basis. This is my biggest concern right now… Jamat Islami knocking off a couple of their dirt poor student workers from Paasbaan or Shabab-e-Milli or whatever the hell they call themselves these days and then carrying their deadbodies to Islamabad and hijacking the whole event completely.

I would say stay away from any overtly violent means… and just keep it peaceful. It will all depend on the size too.. but I really don’t see the point of attacking the barricades as if we’re going to invade the parliament…

99. comment-top

Actually I would say let us be passive agressive and really sarcastic as a way to remind the govt of what a force to be reckoned with we iz. ;-)

100. comment-top

@ TK

ur point is valid if the barricades are outside te diplomatic enclave and parliament house only. But as per Rehman Malik recent statement, they might plan to stop people from entering Islamabad (right from Zero Point).

And i think , some times we are overestimating JI strength ( i might b wrong, though). I think gone are the days of 90s of Dharnas of JI.

101. comment-top

@tk
    Everytime we start talking about cutters and cranes and stuff like that, we are essentially talking about giving control to Jamaat islami. These douchebags.. HAVE NEVER setup 100 stalls against the fruqqing Moshe govt in the last 10 years.. but now they’re running around in front of everyone..

point taken….whatever was to be done beyond could be done before…

with respect to passive protest; consider passive painting…get your artists to paint murals/slogans on this side of container wall!!

102. comment-top

@TK:

“Actually I would say let us be passive agressive and really sarcastic as a way to remind the govt of what a force to be reckoned with we iz.”

hmmm….. this coud REALLY work!

103. comment-top

The containers in the picture do not look that high (they are without the axle). I think if they can park a bus parallel to the container one can easily climb up the container and it won’t be to hard to jump from the other side.

104. comment-top

Articles of Impeachment Template:

http://chun.afterdowningstreet.org/amomentoftruth.pdf

A list of articles of Impeachment against George W. Bush. I’m sure our lawyers can use this as a template for a charge sheet against Musharraf.

105. comment-top

@mbokhari: ha!!! I think this would also work with Taliban.. we just need to keep our mind open and “work with teh steak holders” *cough*

106. Riddle 792 Says:
    June 11th, 2008 at 1:38 am

“Corrupt Politicians Laughing AT U Stupid Awam”

U Dnt Have Electricity n My Horses Live in AC rooms. !! ha ha ha !

look at me ur destiny is in my hand …. U Stupid Awam !

http://statesman.com.pk/pictures/Pix10-58.jpg

a pic worth thousands words

107. comment-top

I have always like Naveed Qamar and his squeaky girly voice. I think he is trying to compensate for something with his huge handlebar Moonch. I think he feeds his Moonch with ghee after the manner of General Faiz Chishti. Small and pathetic men, both.

Good luck Naveed Qamar. Where is our Roti, Kapra and Makaan?

108. Riddle 792 Says:
    June 11th, 2008 at 2:47 am