ISLAMABAD: Nawaz Sharif’s absence from the country at the time of the long march for the reinstatement of judges is raising many eyebrows and the concerned leadership of the lawyers’ community has reservations over the PML-N’s strategy.
June 9th, 2008 at 2:23 am
He has chickened out.
June 9th, 2008 at 2:46 am
Even Imran Khan is sitting in London. What is he doing there? He should be preparing to walk the road with lawyers by now.
June 9th, 2008 at 3:08 am
Well I have been a great fan of imran khan, but right now I think it is shamefull for him to be outside pakistan at this crucial time. I blame him more than NS. obviously both of them have chickened out.
June 9th, 2008 at 3:17 am
So called long march has been hijacked by anti-PPP establishment agents.
NS is itiing in London, IK is enjoying sleepless nights and sleep ful days of London, Qazi wil send his third rank leaders. SS will use punjab police to save roads leading to Military house. Punjab police will stop lawyers at Rawat from going towards Rawalpindi (Peshawar Road). This is just a drama that will no one except Mush and his loyal generals.
June 9th, 2008 at 3:44 am
Shame on IK and NS. They are exposed. I will resign from Tehreek Insaaf today. IK we don’t want to hear from you again the word of “Justice”. What a shame….
June 9th, 2008 at 4:39 am
NS’s wife is recovering in London from a crucial surgery and he had this visit planned a long time ago…i could give him the benefit of doubt..pml-n is also in punjab government so maybe a calculated decision….
as far as IK is concerned..he never had a future in politics..its not the first time he isnt there at a crucial point…
God bless Pakistan
June 9th, 2008 at 4:53 am
Imran Khan to Join LONG MARC On 11th!!!
NS has chickened out!!! What a shame… he has sold himself to Zardari that cheap…
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=117477
Omer Cheema, PTI Information Secretary, told this correspondent that in view of his engagement in London, Imran Khan would now be back on June 11. Instead of landing in Karachi, where he could not go since May 12 last year, due to the ban imposed twice by the former PML-Q government and once by the caretaker set-up, Imran would arrive in Islamabad.
Earlier, he was scheduled to return on June 08 and land in the port city, where he was to address some political gatherings. But now, his most important activity after homecoming would be to welcome the participants of the lawyers’ movement on June 13 here.
Imran Khan had filed an application with the British police against Altaf Hussain last year. But the Scotland Yard, Omar Cheema said, could not make progress in this context as the previous government did not cooperate with it.
June 9th, 2008 at 5:46 am
Lawyer’s movement is the movement of People of Pakistan… it doesnt depend on ANY political party or ANY political figure….. so dont get disappointed, it will make itw own way!!!!!!
June 9th, 2008 at 8:26 am
@fariha
ns wife got ankle surgeory, its a routine procedure.
June 9th, 2008 at 8:42 am
as per other rumors NS is trying to patch-up with shujat and altaf. however, I think he should be present in Lahore.
June 9th, 2008 at 8:45 am
@ilyaskhan
can we just think for few seconds before rushing towards a conclusion and embarking on the criticism. why people forget about imran khan when he was on his jeep whole night in front of data darbar lahore. He sat there whole night waiting for chief justice to come. i clearly remember one of my friend from some other party was so impressed with his commitment, courage and dedication. people also forget his and his family’s sacrifices when his respectable sisters and aunties were dragged into police vans. how can we just sit there and write few silly lines without confirmation which do not mean anything but to spread rumours and to get imran under unnecessary scrutiny.
why would not he be there? he has fought for it for whole of his political life and has sacrificed so much for the independece judiciary. remember pti is the only party who is fully, fully committed to cj issue. i know ji, nawaz league are coming along but they were not that enthusiastic about it in the beggining.
so i request all please do not jump to the conclusion before conforming the news. thanks
—————————————————————–
above answer is by a PTI representative not me
June 9th, 2008 at 8:47 am
@saqibtahir
I hope and pray that you are proven wrong once and for all.
I hope and pray that people turn in hundreds and thousands if not millions and I hope that they are able to shake this shameful government and musharraf allies once and for all
and your job by the way is not to crticise them but to stand on roads give drinks and sharbat to the participants as told by your so called leaders….right!
June 9th, 2008 at 9:30 am
@Poola
Right…people have a very short fuse, but maybe that is not so strange, because the Pakistani nation is used to be let down time and again, and now they see ghosts everywhere. It will take some time for the politicians to restore the confidence. For most of them (PML-Q/MQM/PPP) it will never happen, because they have made it a habit to cheat.
Can somebody give information about why NS and SS are not participating? Is NS’ wife seriously ill?
June 9th, 2008 at 9:54 am
Can someone justify the Ayaz Amir, last great supporter of Iftikhar Ch., s’ suggestion that Iftikhar should resign alongwith Dogar and Mush.
Remember he is from PML-N and also came out to welcom Chaudhary at Chakwal on his way to Faisalabad.
from his article:
“Someone with true greatness in his soul would have said by now ‘all right I am ready to step aside provided Musharraf goes too, Dogar also goes, and the Nov 2 judiciary is restored’ thus sacrificing self for a higher cause.”
Article:
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/print1.asp?id=115634
June 9th, 2008 at 10:15 am
@ poola
good article this from ayaz mir. shows the increasing frustration and restlessness of an impatient journalist cum leader. I certainly dont agree with him when he say that Cj should raise hands and leave on conditions. He is a symbol, an icon , the main figure and the cornerstone of this movement which by the way is the only of its kind since the formation of this country, is being run by educational elite of this country, by common man , without any vested interest and for the rights of the common man. If CJ goes we would be back to our position on 9th march, 2007. Musharraf will keep his head high saying I have done what I wanted, and its still questionable whether he would still leave or not as we all know ‘he will only go when he thinks nation doesnt need him’ and that time will never come. If Cj goes this movement will die, the remaining judges will have to then deal with dogar and co and it will be a big mess again. CJ should not only be restored but should made CJ for all his life until limited by death or illness as this ountry needs someone who can take actions on the call of a common man.
Coming back to Ayaz mir, I think we should also give credit to him as in this very article he is very openly criticising his own party although I dont agree with him there as well when he says that PML N would become a one slogan party. We have only one problem and that is injustice and inequality. All our problems, this rauti, kapra , makaan, loadshedding, food inflation, social crimes, corruption, terrorism is there because we dont have justice. So I want all our parties to be a one slogan party when they say they want justice in this society and will fight for it. Only Allah knows the minds of NS and PML N but certainly for whatever reason they are supporting Lawers movement its only serving the cause of nation.
I do however think that above column is an individual’s opinion rather than a party stnce.
June 9th, 2008 at 10:29 am
@ alexbutt
I don’t think it ’s an individual ’s opinion. It is way how to test the temperature in public opinion to see how people react to a certain option.
Nawaz is very cunning politician and has been improving his tactics with the passage of time. He understands how to play in new media empowered Pakistan to mold people ’s opinion.
NS is the most beneficiary of lawyer ’s movement. He was sitting out for 8 years setting up departmental stores in Saudi Arabia and instantly got benefited both legally and politically by joining in the middle of lawyer ’s movement.
There is no harm to be part of a movement and have reward in return but at the time crisis and struggle you should be their at the helm of affair.
So far NS has just cashed lawyer ’s cause and has not return any output to lawyer community and now both parties (PPP and PML-N) wants to divert lawyer ’s crowd to army house to get rid of Mush without stepping back their commitments with Saudis and Americans.
What kind of leaders and politicians they are. They are even not able to restore judges and sack Mush when they have the strength. Better they should start acting in Bollywood in action movies.
So far all the major developments have been made because of lawyers and in future it would be so. These PPP and PML-N politicians are just HIGRAS.
June 9th, 2008 at 11:58 am
I think our problem is that we make or give judgement about any thing or issue so quickly and if something goes opposite then all our analysis and opinions go down in drain. We should wait and see the overall conduct of both the leaders who are under fire
with controlled emotions and a rational mind. Thats only a suggestion to my compatriots.
June 9th, 2008 at 12:08 pm
as per my knowledge..Kulsoom nawaz has been operated on her back and not her ankle..doctors have advised her against travelling and thats the reason nawaz sharif flew to london again…this is the second time he has done do…the last time the had negotiations in london were due to the same reason..
June 9th, 2008 at 12:20 pm
ARY News: Nawaz Sharif returning to Pakistan on Tuesday to be a part of long march..and he will also be adressing a press conference in London today…Please put all rumours to rest now…
June 9th, 2008 at 12:23 pm
The conclusion is already drawn. They have the power to:
1 - impeach Mush
2 - restore judiciary
but they haven’t done that so far and won’t do because:
1 - their commitments with Saudis and Americans
2 - fear of free judiciary
They are going to give freehand to long march and little support not because of their love for free judiciary but hate for Mush. I am sure they would love the direction of this march to be diverted towards Mush ’s house.
They don’t have water in their Testicles on get on Musharraf, therefore they would like Lawyers to get this job done as well like
- they did them back
- help them to negotiate NRO
- provided slogan for more seats
- provided opportunity to have more poor workers to be killed so that later they could claim number of sacrifices
June 9th, 2008 at 12:24 pm
@Fariha on June 9th, 2008 12:08 pm
OK…I hope she gets well soon, inshallah!
BUT…why does NS not fly back to Pakistan NOW?
June 9th, 2008 at 12:27 pm
So Nawaz Sharif is coming back to participate in long march
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jun2008-daily/09-06-2008/update.htm#47
Can we stop spreading rumors??
fariha is right. NS was in london for his wife’s operation of backbone and not ankle.
Just one stupid idea and we all start bashing people who are out there “working”. And what are we doing??????
Talking talking
critising critising
June 9th, 2008 at 12:30 pm
@Saqib
“BUT…why does NS not fly back to Pakistan NOW?”
Good question.
How much time is left between “now” and Tuesday??????
June 9th, 2008 at 12:41 pm
@Adam1
sorry if it hurts you but we must remember that our leaders are not that great. It is you me and others who are compelling and pressing them to get back on right track.
I think NS heard and felt the feelings/pressure of media and common people that he must be in Pakistan to join Long March. After all he the man who cashed and championed this cause most.
If you have heard Mujeeb Ur Rehman Shaam in yesterday ’s Meray Mutabiq, he too raised concerns about the absence of leadership.
June 9th, 2008 at 12:58 pm
@Adam1 on June 9th, 2008 12:30 pm
If true then it looks good
June 9th, 2008 at 1:01 pm
@Poola
Agree, our leaders are not that great and we have to keep them pressing and compelling to keep them “great”.
If NS heard to concerns of people and responded positively, well, I’ll give him good marks.
Generally, my humble request would be:
We have some good people (my list includes IK, NS, Qazi, lawyers, some retired Generals etc).
They are not great, but then it is what we desrve, as we are not contributing our share.
We must either contribute actively or at least, not condemn or discourage these people on false assumptions or rumors.
When reasons are solid, then by all means, let us go and bash them.
For example, if some one proposes an 80 point constitutional package instead of a simple executive order, then one has reasons to question his sincerity, especially as the ruling party allies don’t have 2/3 majority.
On the other hand, they have 2/3 majority for impeachment (remember it is combined NA senate session), but they (or HE) don’t have neither the courage nor the intention.
June 9th, 2008 at 1:12 pm
If NS sits out and does not participate in the long march then it will prove that his strings are still being pulled by the fokking Suadies on the request of their American “friends”. If will also prove that “baldy” has not learned diddly from his past deeds and mistakes.
June 9th, 2008 at 2:27 pm
@Amir Hameed
Speaking of fokking Suadies, I wonder how this dynamic works: We know they are America’s friends and have baldy’s strings that they yank. But on the other hand We have Zardari and YRG over their with their begging bowl (Shouldn’t we say it is the Saudi’s begging since they are getting agri land at throw away prices in return for their “concessions” on oil??? — but that’s another story…) but I am sure the saudi’s know PPP’s ambassador to US has been the one promoting policy there to fight against Saudi influence ….
(Here’s a quote from SoureWatch: “The Jewish lobby has to organize, write letters, and continue to contribute to politicians to counter the Saudi lobby, which has extraordinary influence in Washington” - Haqqani and Schwartz)
June 9th, 2008 at 2:50 pm
So it just happens to be a coincidence that Nawaz, Imran, Qazi, and Ch. Shujaat just happen to be out of the country on one pretext or the other?
June 9th, 2008 at 5:32 pm
I am sick of this ill rhetoric against Saudies… when ever we are in crises, they are the one who always offer their support and we go and beg them again and again but I guess as a nation we are selfish nation. When was a last time we appreciate services of our heros and well wishers.
And Nawas Sharif is coming BACK.
June 9th, 2008 at 7:05 pm
Plz allow me to REPEAT my assertion that Mush is a very cunning ‘ fox .’ Remember my words that he has the capacity to outwit any Pakistani ‘ wizard ‘ under the sky.
While he is still in chair Mush will continue to do so, till he RUNS AWAY to a third country. I wish I am proved wrong.
All other talk / discussion is simple, rhetoric.
June 9th, 2008 at 7:18 pm
@snrctzn
at the risk of not offending you, that may be true. but remember what happened to the lasr ‘fox’; to quote his toadie GIK: : ” jahaz hawa mein urra aur phaat gaya!”
June 9th, 2008 at 7:52 pm
@kafka,
forgive my linguistic pedantry, but you might have meant to say, “at the risk of offending you”… hehe…
June 9th, 2008 at 7:58 pm
@SnrCtzn
Abraham Lincoln once said:
“You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.”
Yes, he has been “smart” for some time, but you know what?
Mush has used all his quota of fooling around with people!
June 9th, 2008 at 7:58 pm
@texas
y’all are no fun!
( ofcourse…i meant it just as you say!)
June 9th, 2008 at 8:01 pm
@texasboy
dont mess with texas…thats all i know! ….
June 9th, 2008 at 8:11 pm
it would be a good experiment to gather such gems form HH..send it to the anchors like nj, th, sm, etc….and see if they can ask PPP is this is their policy…if not..why is he there representing the rest of pakistan.
if they dont…we will stil get an idea…of how far the fear travels…
June 9th, 2008 at 8:23 pm
@kafka,
speaking of texas, imagine the corollary with musharraf, since supposedly texas is known as bush country and how texans have paid from bush’s overtures.
its only texas that can produce gubernatorial candidates like “kinky friedman”
on another note, we’ve been hearing that Bobby Jindal might be a possible running mate for McCain, that’ll be another black mark on Pakistan’s face, since if he’s elected that would mean a heavily Indian inclined government in washington.
June 9th, 2008 at 8:44 pm
@texasboy
dude..wake up…american interests changed way back in time..the first sign of which was the bill clinton tour when he refused to meet mush.
we need to get over that one…like fast.
but i am counting on the college going youth of the cybernetic age…for real chnage in american govt