well done AITZAZ.
Aitzaz rulzz. But naaray baazi against aitzaz is really condemnable ( might be anti long march forces tried to mislead people buut all in vain)
It does not seem that this issue could be resolved within 48 hours rather even in months ( though there was a historic crowd ) Because nobody bothers about public opinion whether in masses or small numbers.
But any way it will shake PPPP and there intentions to keep both parties happy.
Lastly Comments about mushee’s present conditon was awesome ( radio… he he
SHAME PPP SHAME SHAME TO MUSHE OH MAN WHAT A HERO OF PAKISTAN WE DESPIRATLY NEED LEADERS AND EDUCATORS GOD BLESS PAK INSHALLAH THIS RADIO’S LISENCE SOON WILL BE SNATCHED !!
Great job Aitzaz. Congrats from the USA. Now “Establish a new party with CJ” to include educated middle class for the real essense of democracy. We need to get out of this “jagirdar” politicians who have given NOTHING to Pakistan rather looting and they are liability on nation. Attorneys are the cream and combining educators we can really bring a revolution, an economic revolution as well. Why you and CJ has to be #2 always. This is Sharifs and Zardari who have to be #2 or 3 now. Don’t let them hijack Pakistan’s educated middle class LAWYER’S movement. This is advise to consider. You wil have 100% support and we will give great economic development package, which “jagirdar: politicians always blocked. Let Mush also pay the price of his mistakes of CJ removal and NRO; which you and CJ MUST oppose because never in the world looters, murderers, and criminals are set free like this NRO. LET’S MAKE A POLITICAL PARTY.
So the 30 people from PTI and SAC wanted to “advance on the president’s house” breaking the discipline and when they were stopped they accused everyone of “sauday baazi”.
I’m with Aitezaz. The message is already delivered.
Zardari’s got EGG on his face. He dared AA to go ahead with the long march, they did, and produced a crowd of 500,000 people in the heart of Islamabad.
First rule of power: Threat of force is more effective than actual use of force.
Is there any authoritative information as to WHO EXACTLY these troublemakers were? I find it hard to believe that SAC students would become so bloodthristy and bent on mischief?
WHO where these people who RUINED the march and ended it on an anti-climax. ?
TK,
I am retiring from blogging buddy. The long march was a complete bust at the end.
Sh!t hit the fan finally for Aitzaz. I don’t condone the criticism on him but he is partially responsible. If he wants to step out of the bar rooms and become a national leader he can’t be in PPP while leading the lawyers’ movement. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t doubt his sincerity, but the people in the jalsa did.
It was one of the worst public speeches I have heard. AA failed to connect with the people. I got the impression that “AItzaz dandee mar kay nikala gaya hai.” He kept telling people that I will talk about dharna and in the end gave a one-liner and walked off. Wouldn’t you call it “dandee marna”.
AA should have been more honest with the people. He should have said something like, “Change does not come about in a day. Quaid-i Azam led a long struggle that culminated after a disciplined and organized movement.” He should have told the people to adopt the motto of the Quaid: unity faith and discipline.
AA is no public leader, he is better suited to bar room speeches.
Great show of people’s strength in isb, one thing i dont understand what happened to “dharna”? they said they will sit in until judges are restored and then AA says we dont have arrangements fo dharna. I really missed ali kurd, he would have created a sensation there. Hats off to lawyers for their efforts.
I hated this to end like this, although message was delivered, was not already delivered on 18th Feb, but this message doesn’t suite everyone in power politics hence they are looking on other sides.
I think it was not AA but NS which let down this whole saga, honestly it was PMLN show and NS did announce in his speech that there should be no “dharna”. Without PMLN consent dharna number can’t be more than few thousands, so it was good move from AA to leave with respect.
I guess I have lost a bit of trust on NS after today’s let down.
Those were Jamat e Islami people who else , who are agents of agencies. This Jamat wants only one thing and that is to destroy ppp and present democratic set up. they never want Musharaf to go and army to surrender to rule of law. They were the one who should be held responsible for voting for 17 amendment which is the real source of power of Musharaf.
The lawyers committee realized (IMO) that there were agent provacateurs in the crowd. The lawyers had achieved the show of force. (which is NOT the same as storming the president’s house. That was NOT the intention of the long march IMO)
They could have used better planning, but if they had gone along with what the fat 50 yearold “SAC Students” who looked more like ghundas-for-hire wanted, there would have been chaos, mayhem, possibly firing into the crowd and many deaths.
They did the right fugging thing, and they dispersed the crowd. They showed everyone involved what they can do on short notice. The completed the task without a hitch and ended on a not so bad news.
The crowd didn’t want to stay. It was just the 30-40 trouble makers who wanted to start a riot. If they had NOT stopped this right then, things may have gotten ugly. And frankly, I don’t think they had any contingency plans.
If there _was_ mayhem, as some people had planned, the whole thing would have been tarnished and ruined. I think they came out of it with their a$$es intact.
The 498,000 people dispersed peacefully when told the jalsa was over. The “2000″ stayed .. it was more like 50 A$$HOLES who fuqqed up the party.. but I blame the laywers a little bit for the logistics.. however, given the gargantuan task, I think they did a GREAT job!
They organized, marched and deliverd half a million people to ISB.
If Zardari still doens’t wake up, he’s gonna be buried WITH moshe. that’s all I can say.
It was a resounding success, and it was peaceful! I Salute all the lawyers, they should try to plan their routes a little better next time and get some poets and some entertainers(singers) next time as @kafka8 mentioned.
Good Job All in All. Credit Goes to Lawyers, PML-N and civil society and citizens of Pakistan and pindi/ISB for keeping it peaceful and setting a new example in the history of political/social rally’s in Pakistan.
“Aaj nahi to Kabhi Nahee” is a STUPID slogan. You pick your fuqqing battles. And don’t push it when you don’t need to. Aitezaz tried to say it, but the matric-fail (”SAC Students” didn’t get his point — he belittled them at one point when they didn’t get his point)
I wish it had ended on a better note, but I’m sure as day after seeing the footage and listening to the manner in which Aitezaz handled the situation that they were dealing with a group of determined trouble makers (probably the same crowd which has already shown its “abilities” in the Sher Afgan and Multan Looms protests)
Well TK, I hope AZ takes stock of what happened. If he does not then next time it will be IK and Kurd leading a march. And those guys are not AA or NS. It will get ugly then.
A wise enemy is better than a foolish friend*. If AZ still does not reinstate judges then AA suffers, AA will then be replaced by some hardliner. NS will lose swing voters to IK too.
To summarize, if nothing is done then parties with a harder stance on judges will gain stregth at the expense of moderate forces.
*CLARIFICATION: I am not calling Kurd or IK foolish, just saying that they are more belligerent than NS and AA.
@dara
this is very clear who are these people. I slaute them who were protesting. Lawyer leadership boosted people for dharna and then no dharna..This was natural emotions of people. It is very rediculous to labelled them people of agencies…had hai jahalat ki…..these are clear activists of SAC and you can find them from start of this long march from Lahore.
@kruman
i fully agree with your comment that kurd and IK should replace AA and NS since the later two have destroyed the movement for so caleed mushawarat. NS is busy licking zardari’s black @ss since he needs a partner against his dushman(or may be they are both gays).
AA has proved to be impotent and all he was moaning was not to be able to be a MNA. No more syasee phoosee mars. we need true people like kurd and IK.
Poor people dragged in 50 degree celcius to listen to their bogus speeches. They have taken the last hope away fro awam.
bad show NS and AA.
@democrat
you are very right. This long march was for reinstatement of judges and for independent judiciary but from first speaker to AA, they targetted only Musharaf. Why they did not target Asif Drakula and govt?
Everything was pre planned they missused emotions of people.
The Long March was a great show. I think whatever they were targetting, they acheived.
Although, some of the youg lawyers were not happy with the desision of not going for
this is dishonesty at highest level. It is a bigger sin than financial corruption. NS and AA played with poor people’s emotions. They travelled in extreme weather conditions and 99% did not earn their “deharee” for a week. NS kept enjoying his Niharees and payas sitting in Punjab house and then joined the party surrounded by security staff for only an hour, delivered a pathetic and totally personal speech, and fu ck ed off.
Did AA not know to start with that they donot have enough money. B@stards have exploited us yar.
yar please please please… stop guessing who is who? even mullas were part of this tehreek. For the first time left and right were fighting for a common goal. This could help us to achieve a broader atmosphere where everybody has a stake in national affairs.
It was a very very successful show, start of a new era in pakistan.
Only problem was some mismanagement at the end of event but it does not mean that we should give up. A little disappointment or depression for a moment is understandabale becos everything was charged up and there were some expectation for a quick solutions , But………….now lets MOVE ON
yes MOVE ON……
stil a long way to go and we can not succeed unless and untill we are positive and optimistic.
One important thing we need to understand is that it is not a ONEDAY match (some even expecting it a 20-20 match)……..we need to press on…..a consistent struggle wit passion and Hope..
If these buggers had not estimated how much money was required and what logistic support would be needed, or when should they reach where so that people are not too tired to make unwise speeches and decisions, even then this was a leadership failure.
we saw one leadership failure on 12th of may when we were told that it was not calculated what legal problems could be faced in reinstating the judges. they had enough time both times.
most of the time they keep planning when to eat niharee and paya I guess.
actually one can hit hard only when the iron is hot… we are not that mature nation where govt. consider such long march as indication of protest and confidence against them and resign or admit demands… these instruments if ended like so politely will never have an impact in Pakistan.
Q. How many times and frequently such shows can be demonstrated?
What if establishment and other stakeholders decided not to listen to people voice?
To all the negative ninniess (who seem to have sprouted up in the last 3 days):
The long march was a RESOUNDING success. They managed a show of force unprecedented in the History of this capital that was designed to discourage such things.. (negotiating with Rehman dacoit Malik and city authorities is part of it. Yes!)
Aitezaz Ahsan is right, was right and Has ALWAYS been right.
I am not about to start listening to some “khamba nochi” utterings by some naam-nihaad fly-by-night “jiyaalas” who wanted to see blood last night and are now dissappointed that their plans were foiled by a Jujitsu-Move by Nawaz Sharif and Aitezaz Ahsan.
suppose if i m jamaati, then what should i do…agree with your points, say yes to you…and say everything right after this march…what non sense….
Question is very simple…
If you had no plan for dharna, then why every leader encourage people before and during march for dharna…Atleast they could extend march till saturday noon. and this was not a big problem to extend …
almost it has been decided that march will be ended in night and no one will be in morning.
interesting…….
this is the Growl of the Tiger-( The people) The politicians have heard it and they know what it means.The message has been recieved. If the PPP,ANP,MQM etc continue to treat the people like goats- next time it is going to be BASTILLE DAY.
I would like add to your ” Negative Ninnies” by saying that the self proclaimed pompous priests of some segments of the press who do not get it are taking smoking POTT and are in a different world.
.First of all we should condem or appreciate the actions or course of
action
. Leave the Cult Mentality in both ways in condeming or appreciating a course of actions .
.We may differ with a particular starategy but be overcome this mentality to blame game just ANP is tola of GADARAS because GAFAR KHANwas against the creation of Pakistan
.Leaders are human beings they do good thing and also do mistakes
. Zulfiqar Bhutto was not a FARASHTA but he did great job by giving the ZABAN to POOR people of Pakistan .
.Aitziz Ahson along with ali ahmed Kurd did a great job by Giving people the awarenes that if the JASABA SADAQ HO TO people do respond and crowd pulling is not the TRADE MARK OF Few Parties.
. We may differ with the closing strategy but please do not critise undully to Aitziz ahson ,he is a great asset,similarly NS is not a farashta but again he is a great asset in terms of providing resorces to any movement ,differ with his strategy but not intentions ,
.Imran Khan is also great asset but again do not depend only one personality because ,we shuold try to integrate not go for disintegration
@zahidbin: You know, you’re getting all bent out of shape over a tactial misstep (which IMO was brilliant move to counter the riotors who wanted to ’start something’)
Sounds to me that the plan was to start something after most leaders had left to go sleep, but as soon as NS and Munir Malik(?) said something.. these people saw their plan collapsing.. they started pressuring by “Abhi nahiN to kabhi nahiN” to keep the crowd there.
You can imagine their frustration when 99.99 % of the crowd DID NOT participate in the rioting activity they were trying to incite. (an instant vote of NOCONFIDENCE) …
You could see the desperation in their actions… they wanted SO bad to “start something”…
I have a (unsubstantiated) theory:
By saying “I will tell you later about the dharna” Aitezaz kept them at bay while lawyers spread out in the crowd and quietly told key ppl inthe crowd (vafad leaders) the meeting was ending as soon as AA finished talking. This is why when Aitezaz said meeting is adjourned and you can do your dharna, it was check-mate time… people started leaving peacefully.
BTW, I never thought the lawyers would let the thing turn violent, and that’s why I always wondered why they were talking about surrounding the prez house…
They might have done it if it was 10-20k lawyers.. but with half million crowd, it is very hard to control and at the mercy of agent provacateurs like we saw in action last night.
Too bad mate. The plans were foiled.
Better luck next time! NOT!
They made the right decision, I think Nawaz Sharif should actually get credit for sensing the mood of the public and advising them to not spend the night there. Everything would have been downhill from there.
BTW, people who are complaining about the thing not ending with a bang are like people who complain the plane landed “without incident”…
The lawyers sent the space shuttle up into space without incidence, and some are complaining that 2 tiles fell off ..
@savage: personally I think the lawyer leadership wasn’t ready for it and they were overwhelmed by the crowd that gathered there.. maybe got scared of the power they had summoned and knowing their limitations in terms of being sure of keeping the crowd under control, they decided to call it a day.
I tend to think this is the best they could do at the moment. Also keep in mind that they did one thing wrong and that was to exhaust themselves and not taking proper rest. This may have hampered their ability to make decisions.
There should have been better decisionmaking on what could have been done NEXT, but I think it was the march that did them in.
But it’s not a failure. not by a ..um.. Long Shot! The lawyers movement will hopefully get over these doldrums, sleep it over and revel in the fact they accomplished something historic and wonderful on so many levels!
Was MLK’s address a failure because they didn’t storm the whitehouse that day?
Was Tabuk a failure because they dis-engaged and came back?
Was Hudabiya a failure because …
tactical decisions, but something wonderful happened at the strategic and psychological level.
The lawyers job now should be to not let the “Negative Ninnies” take the upper hand in making the lawyers feel bad about this. PML-N should help them. As should Imran Khan (who apparently needed his beauty sleep so decided to split early for some reason)
I agree with you all points, but any CJ journey was enough to show the establishment the mood of people, if this was the only purpose lawyers wanted to acheive, but these Pakistani Neros are still fiddling. Rehman Malik has already gave a hint how PPP would play it. (20,000 people).
My only concern is at the end people felt betrayed, lawyers leaders including AA always talked about sit-in (right or wrong separate discussion). So it might be hards for lawyers to get even half the supports what they got, which might lead this movement to a sad and forgettable climax.
Despite agreeing your all points i m surprised that lawyers leadership are so “masoom” or “doodh peetay bachat” that they did not know the mood of people. They had already seen the mood in different reallies even Gallup surveys indicated more than 81 % people are with CJ.
You are good “words” player but you did not catch why there was sudden end. Atleast they could sit in for few hours in day light on saturday so that there could be built more pressure “establishment (Army USA)”. But as per agreement, in night, they ended long march……..
I am still positive for movement but I am worried that people will not participate heartdly in future.
@zahidbinmustafa: yaar, have you ever stood closed to tarbela dam? or a large waterfall? or one of those barrages in pakistan in the middle of summer when the water is full?
Do you know the kind of visceral feeling it is to watch it and feel in the depth of your soul the kind of beast that is erupting?
You can rationalize it all you want, but once you are sitting in a little boat in the middle of the storm, then you realize the true power… we see thunderstorms on tv everyday, it’s another thing to feel it.
I think they weren’t expecting this large a crowd and had it gotten out of control it would have been a blackmark (much blacker than the SherAfgan incident) against the lawyer morment
And trust me, people would have much more demoralized and the movement completely imploded had something untowards happened. Remember the kind of work they had to do after Sher Afgan? multiply it by 1000 (or something like that).
I think it was a great show and it went without a hitch. They should now chalk new strategy and start putting meaningful pressure on the govt.
Zardari and all the critics have been disarmed in one fell swoop, and their allegations went something like ths:
MYTH:
These people (lawyers) have no backing…
REALITY:
NOPE, they brought out MILLIONS of people on the route and they gathered quarter million people in friggin Islamabad! Islamabad was “deflowered” by the lawyers.
MYTH: People want food and gas
REALITY:
They want “honourable roti” but they want most of all, JUSTICE! and they showed it
MYTH:
Pakistani’s are violent, religious fanatics, they don’t know how to be democratic or constitutional or protest peacefully
REALITY:
BIG SLAP in the face of moshe, CNN and every other zionist a$$hole (and their gullible supporters everywhere). We showed we want the rule of law, and we will do it peacefully and within the norms of the constitution and law.
So? Be proud! It was a great march! It was a great culmination and it was handled very aptly given the constraints!
@savage:
–
I agree with you all points, but any CJ journey was enough to show the establishment the mood of people
–
Nope! I disagree. They put a howitzer to the Establishment’s head. And then took it slowly away, and walked off triumphantly.
The moral of the story was:
Not only can we summon “the beast”, but we can turn it away at our call too. We stay peaceful, but don’t get used to it.
I think people in Islamabad were nearing nervous breakdowns around 1:00 am when they say aerial shots.
My only nitpick is that they should have taken aerial photos with balloons or kites.. but they didn’t.. (cuz everyone exptected to be there for 2 days at least.. hehehe.. see how it works? )
1930 jalsa in Allabad, India was memorable - Iqbal publicly gave the idea for Pakistan
1940 jalsa in Lahore was memorable - for Pak resolution
Bhutto jalsas in early 70s were memorable, he kept building momentum that culminated in the formation of PPP and an election victory.
Now the long march on Jun 13, 2007 was a grand success in terms of public participation. But people were expecting something from Aitzaz , a memorable speech. His speech was a complete wastage of everyone’s time.
You guys tell me what will this long march be remembered for, for ending in a whimper.
AZ can’t bring this movement to it’s culmination, he is just an entertainer who can recite poems, that’s it.
Nadan jhuk gaya sjday main jab waqt-e qayaam aaya
It will take a while now for this movement to regain momentum, and it will not be Aitzaz leading it then.
It was also intereting to watch Justice Tariq Mahmood on Left Right yesterday. He was literally screaming, an indication of the fact that the lawyers are feeling the heat now, for the poor ending.
Good summing up. I guess all of us want a Velvet/Rose/Orange revolution and were kinda disappointed. That kind of peoples’ revolution is brought about by political parties, not bar benches.
I think the drop scene is not very far, around November. Thats when the US elections would have been over and it would be easier to kick Moshe out by then. This Long March was just a training period for NS. Remember he hadn’t had much of a chance to do peoples politics before the election. Now the Sher-e-Pakistan has flexed his muscles and his political machine is in gear.
If Musharraf doesn’t resign by September and judges are not restored, I foresee a Ukraine type Long March and Sit-In by PMLN. As a political party, PMLN have the explicit right to make a dharna and even storm the Presidency.
The end was embarrassing, what was the purpose of such a huge struggle?
Next time people will not trust AA and his associates, because they achieved nothing of this long march. People lost their hopes…They shouldn’t leave the place until Zardari himself declare on the stage in front of the crowed to restore the judges within 24 hours.
June 14th, 2008 at 3:18 am
well done AITZAZ.
Aitzaz rulzz. But naaray baazi against aitzaz is really condemnable ( might be anti long march forces tried to mislead people buut all in vain)
It does not seem that this issue could be resolved within 48 hours rather even in months ( though there was a historic crowd ) Because nobody bothers about public opinion whether in masses or small numbers.
But any way it will shake PPPP and there intentions to keep both parties happy.
Lastly Comments about mushee’s present conditon was awesome ( radio… he he
SHAME SHAME PPPP AZ
June 14th, 2008 at 4:17 am
SHAME PPP SHAME SHAME TO MUSHE OH MAN WHAT A HERO OF PAKISTAN WE DESPIRATLY NEED LEADERS AND EDUCATORS GOD BLESS PAK INSHALLAH THIS RADIO’S LISENCE SOON WILL BE SNATCHED !!
June 14th, 2008 at 4:31 am
Great job Aitzaz. Congrats from the USA. Now “Establish a new party with CJ” to include educated middle class for the real essense of democracy. We need to get out of this “jagirdar” politicians who have given NOTHING to Pakistan rather looting and they are liability on nation. Attorneys are the cream and combining educators we can really bring a revolution, an economic revolution as well. Why you and CJ has to be #2 always. This is Sharifs and Zardari who have to be #2 or 3 now. Don’t let them hijack Pakistan’s educated middle class LAWYER’S movement. This is advise to consider. You wil have 100% support and we will give great economic development package, which “jagirdar: politicians always blocked. Let Mush also pay the price of his mistakes of CJ removal and NRO; which you and CJ MUST oppose because never in the world looters, murderers, and criminals are set free like this NRO. LET’S MAKE A POLITICAL PARTY.
June 14th, 2008 at 5:39 am
So the 30 people from PTI and SAC wanted to “advance on the president’s house” breaking the discipline and when they were stopped they accused everyone of “sauday baazi”.
I’m with Aitezaz. The message is already delivered.
Zardari’s got EGG on his face. He dared AA to go ahead with the long march, they did, and produced a crowd of 500,000 people in the heart of Islamabad.
First rule of power: Threat of force is more effective than actual use of force.
June 14th, 2008 at 5:42 am
He could have made a historic speech, and he wasted it on FUQQING IMBECILES FROM PTI AND SAC acting like RETARDED 3 YEAR OLDS!
WAY TO GO A$$HOLES! THANKS FOR SHUTTING DOWN THE MARCH with your violent outburst.
I’m glad I didn’t send money to these brats!
June 14th, 2008 at 5:54 am
Is there any authoritative information as to WHO EXACTLY these troublemakers were? I find it hard to believe that SAC students would become so bloodthristy and bent on mischief?
WHO where these people who RUINED the march and ended it on an anti-climax. ?
June 14th, 2008 at 6:33 am
TK,
I am retiring from blogging buddy. The long march was a complete bust at the end.
Sh!t hit the fan finally for Aitzaz. I don’t condone the criticism on him but he is partially responsible. If he wants to step out of the bar rooms and become a national leader he can’t be in PPP while leading the lawyers’ movement. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t doubt his sincerity, but the people in the jalsa did.
It was one of the worst public speeches I have heard. AA failed to connect with the people. I got the impression that “AItzaz dandee mar kay nikala gaya hai.” He kept telling people that I will talk about dharna and in the end gave a one-liner and walked off. Wouldn’t you call it “dandee marna”.
AA should have been more honest with the people. He should have said something like, “Change does not come about in a day. Quaid-i Azam led a long struggle that culminated after a disciplined and organized movement.” He should have told the people to adopt the motto of the Quaid: unity faith and discipline.
AA is no public leader, he is better suited to bar room speeches.
June 14th, 2008 at 6:37 am
SAC = ?
Who were the IDIOTS, AA was talking about in the begining?. Which Party?
June 14th, 2008 at 6:48 am
Great show of people’s strength in isb, one thing i dont understand what happened to “dharna”? they said they will sit in until judges are restored and then AA says we dont have arrangements fo dharna. I really missed ali kurd, he would have created a sensation there. Hats off to lawyers for their efforts.
June 14th, 2008 at 6:53 am
100000 time LANAAAAAT on people sitting in front of AA, distrubing him frequently…..
June 14th, 2008 at 7:01 am
I hated this to end like this, although message was delivered, was not already delivered on 18th Feb, but this message doesn’t suite everyone in power politics hence they are looking on other sides.
I think it was not AA but NS which let down this whole saga, honestly it was PMLN show and NS did announce in his speech that there should be no “dharna”. Without PMLN consent dharna number can’t be more than few thousands, so it was good move from AA to leave with respect.
I guess I have lost a bit of trust on NS after today’s let down.
June 14th, 2008 at 7:05 am
Those were Jamat e Islami people who else , who are agents of agencies. This Jamat wants only one thing and that is to destroy ppp and present democratic set up. they never want Musharaf to go and army to surrender to rule of law. They were the one who should be held responsible for voting for 17 amendment which is the real source of power of Musharaf.
June 14th, 2008 at 7:07 am
PTI workers were the ones who tried to break the police cordon.
June 14th, 2008 at 7:08 am
According to Aaj it was the PTI workers at the front.
June 14th, 2008 at 7:16 am
@Kruman et. Al:
The lawyers committee realized (IMO) that there were agent provacateurs in the crowd. The lawyers had achieved the show of force. (which is NOT the same as storming the president’s house. That was NOT the intention of the long march IMO)
They could have used better planning, but if they had gone along with what the fat 50 yearold “SAC Students” who looked more like ghundas-for-hire wanted, there would have been chaos, mayhem, possibly firing into the crowd and many deaths.
They did the right fugging thing, and they dispersed the crowd. They showed everyone involved what they can do on short notice. The completed the task without a hitch and ended on a not so bad news.
The crowd didn’t want to stay. It was just the 30-40 trouble makers who wanted to start a riot. If they had NOT stopped this right then, things may have gotten ugly. And frankly, I don’t think they had any contingency plans.
If there _was_ mayhem, as some people had planned, the whole thing would have been tarnished and ruined. I think they came out of it with their a$$es intact.
The 498,000 people dispersed peacefully when told the jalsa was over. The “2000″ stayed .. it was more like 50 A$$HOLES who fuqqed up the party.. but I blame the laywers a little bit for the logistics.. however, given the gargantuan task, I think they did a GREAT job!
They organized, marched and deliverd half a million people to ISB.
If Zardari still doens’t wake up, he’s gonna be buried WITH moshe. that’s all I can say.
It was a resounding success, and it was peaceful! I Salute all the lawyers, they should try to plan their routes a little better next time and get some poets and some entertainers(singers) next time as @kafka8 mentioned.
Good Job All in All. Credit Goes to Lawyers, PML-N and civil society and citizens of Pakistan and pindi/ISB for keeping it peaceful and setting a new example in the history of political/social rally’s in Pakistan.
“Aaj nahi to Kabhi Nahee” is a STUPID slogan. You pick your fuqqing battles. And don’t push it when you don’t need to. Aitezaz tried to say it, but the matric-fail (”SAC Students” didn’t get his point — he belittled them at one point when they didn’t get his point)
I wish it had ended on a better note, but I’m sure as day after seeing the footage and listening to the manner in which Aitezaz handled the situation that they were dealing with a group of determined trouble makers (probably the same crowd which has already shown its “abilities” in the Sher Afgan and Multan Looms protests)
Just my hunch.
June 14th, 2008 at 7:35 am
Well TK, I hope AZ takes stock of what happened. If he does not then next time it will be IK and Kurd leading a march. And those guys are not AA or NS. It will get ugly then.
A wise enemy is better than a foolish friend*. If AZ still does not reinstate judges then AA suffers, AA will then be replaced by some hardliner. NS will lose swing voters to IK too.
To summarize, if nothing is done then parties with a harder stance on judges will gain stregth at the expense of moderate forces.
*CLARIFICATION: I am not calling Kurd or IK foolish, just saying that they are more belligerent than NS and AA.
June 14th, 2008 at 7:36 am
welldone Ch Aitzaz Ahsan
keep it up
“God help those who help themself”
our all prayers for u & ur lawyer communty
I THINK Ch Aitzaz Ahsan IS QUAID-E-AZAM OF 21ST CENTURY.
Abrar Hussain Gorsi
June 14th, 2008 at 12:28 pm
@dara
this is very clear who are these people. I slaute them who were protesting. Lawyer leadership boosted people for dharna and then no dharna..This was natural emotions of people. It is very rediculous to labelled them people of agencies…had hai jahalat ki…..these are clear activists of SAC and you can find them from start of this long march from Lahore.
June 14th, 2008 at 1:33 pm
@kruman
i fully agree with your comment that kurd and IK should replace AA and NS since the later two have destroyed the movement for so caleed mushawarat. NS is busy licking zardari’s black @ss since he needs a partner against his dushman(or may be they are both gays).
AA has proved to be impotent and all he was moaning was not to be able to be a MNA. No more syasee phoosee mars. we need true people like kurd and IK.
Poor people dragged in 50 degree celcius to listen to their bogus speeches. They have taken the last hope away fro awam.
bad show NS and AA.
June 14th, 2008 at 1:42 pm
i dont think that blaming motivated people for being agency members makes any sense.
June 14th, 2008 at 1:42 pm
anybody knows the link to CRICKET final. youth.com not working. plz help, its getting exciting atleast i can see the 2nd innings
June 14th, 2008 at 1:45 pm
@democrat
you are very right. This long march was for reinstatement of judges and for independent judiciary but from first speaker to AA, they targetted only Musharaf. Why they did not target Asif Drakula and govt?
Everything was pre planned they missused emotions of people.
June 14th, 2008 at 1:49 pm
I am repenting for voting for about 50 times for AA on foreign policy magazine. lol.
June 14th, 2008 at 1:50 pm
@zahidbinmustafa: you’re a jamatia no? I can see how you’d be dissappointed right now.
June 14th, 2008 at 1:54 pm
The Long March was a great show. I think whatever they were targetting, they acheived.
Although, some of the youg lawyers were not happy with the desision of not going for
June 14th, 2008 at 1:54 pm
@zahidbinmustafa
this is dishonesty at highest level. It is a bigger sin than financial corruption. NS and AA played with poor people’s emotions. They travelled in extreme weather conditions and 99% did not earn their “deharee” for a week. NS kept enjoying his Niharees and payas sitting in Punjab house and then joined the party surrounded by security staff for only an hour, delivered a pathetic and totally personal speech, and fu ck ed off.
Did AA not know to start with that they donot have enough money. B@stards have exploited us yar.
June 14th, 2008 at 1:56 pm
@ TK
theek pehchana
June 14th, 2008 at 1:58 pm
yar please please please… stop guessing who is who? even mullas were part of this tehreek. For the first time left and right were fighting for a common goal. This could help us to achieve a broader atmosphere where everybody has a stake in national affairs.
June 14th, 2008 at 2:00 pm
What if AA had declared a bhook hartal till death…oh but he was acting as mahatama but was a sardar patel in disguise.
June 14th, 2008 at 2:02 pm
Com on everybody
It was a very very successful show, start of a new era in pakistan.
Only problem was some mismanagement at the end of event but it does not mean that we should give up. A little disappointment or depression for a moment is understandabale becos everything was charged up and there were some expectation for a quick solutions , But………….now lets MOVE ON
yes MOVE ON……
stil a long way to go and we can not succeed unless and untill we are positive and optimistic.
One important thing we need to understand is that it is not a ONEDAY match (some even expecting it a 20-20 match)……..we need to press on…..a consistent struggle wit passion and Hope..
June 14th, 2008 at 2:04 pm
@GM
you mean that we need to continue to support this pro Musharraf zardari Govt so that NS gains some time to recover.
June 14th, 2008 at 2:06 pm
OK…@everybody
now before I am kicked out of this website …let me say
NS and AA did not decive the emotions of pakistani people. it was a great success and they are great..
GM///thats what you like us to say.
June 14th, 2008 at 2:06 pm
Now I will be labelled as an agency member…
June 14th, 2008 at 2:09 pm
@ democrat
no body is going to kick u out of this website as long as u r using a decent language. everyone has right to make his point.
My point was, what we will gain by just being disappointed and depressed ?? Will it be gong to help us or the oppoents forces?
June 14th, 2008 at 2:13 pm
If these buggers had not estimated how much money was required and what logistic support would be needed, or when should they reach where so that people are not too tired to make unwise speeches and decisions, even then this was a leadership failure.
we saw one leadership failure on 12th of may when we were told that it was not calculated what legal problems could be faced in reinstating the judges. they had enough time both times.
most of the time they keep planning when to eat niharee and paya I guess.
June 14th, 2008 at 2:29 pm
actually one can hit hard only when the iron is hot… we are not that mature nation where govt. consider such long march as indication of protest and confidence against them and resign or admit demands… these instruments if ended like so politely will never have an impact in Pakistan.
Q. How many times and frequently such shows can be demonstrated?
What if establishment and other stakeholders decided not to listen to people voice?
June 14th, 2008 at 2:33 pm
Imtiaz Alam was drunk listen him in Bolta Pakistan 13 Jun.08
June 14th, 2008 at 2:42 pm
To all the negative ninniess (who seem to have sprouted up in the last 3 days):
The long march was a RESOUNDING success. They managed a show of force unprecedented in the History of this capital that was designed to discourage such things.. (negotiating with Rehman
dacoitMalik and city authorities is part of it. Yes!)Aitezaz Ahsan is right, was right and Has ALWAYS been right.
I am not about to start listening to some “khamba nochi” utterings by some naam-nihaad fly-by-night “jiyaalas” who wanted to see blood last night and are now dissappointed that their plans were foiled by a Jujitsu-Move by Nawaz Sharif and Aitezaz Ahsan.
They Marched!
They Came!
They Saw!
And they MutterFigging CONQUERED!
DEAL
WITH
IT !!!!
June 14th, 2008 at 3:27 pm
suppose if i m jamaati, then what should i do…agree with your points, say yes to you…and say everything right after this march…what non sense….
Question is very simple…
If you had no plan for dharna, then why every leader encourage people before and during march for dharna…Atleast they could extend march till saturday noon. and this was not a big problem to extend …
almost it has been decided that march will be ended in night and no one will be in morning.
interesting…….
June 14th, 2008 at 3:31 pm
Would fully agree. Well said
this is the Growl of the Tiger-( The people) The politicians have heard it and they know what it means.The message has been recieved. If the PPP,ANP,MQM etc continue to treat the people like goats- next time it is going to be BASTILLE DAY.
I would like add to your ” Negative Ninnies” by saying that the self proclaimed pompous priests of some segments of the press who do not get it are taking smoking POTT and are in a different world.
June 14th, 2008 at 4:21 pm
@TO ALL
.First of all we should condem or appreciate the actions or course of
action
. Leave the Cult Mentality in both ways in condeming or appreciating a course of actions .
.We may differ with a particular starategy but be overcome this mentality to blame game just ANP is tola of GADARAS because GAFAR KHANwas against the creation of Pakistan
.Leaders are human beings they do good thing and also do mistakes
. Zulfiqar Bhutto was not a FARASHTA but he did great job by giving the ZABAN to POOR people of Pakistan .
.Aitziz Ahson along with ali ahmed Kurd did a great job by Giving people the awarenes that if the JASABA SADAQ HO TO people do respond and crowd pulling is not the TRADE MARK OF Few Parties.
. We may differ with the closing strategy but please do not critise undully to Aitziz ahson ,he is a great asset,similarly NS is not a farashta but again he is a great asset in terms of providing resorces to any movement ,differ with his strategy but not intentions ,
.Imran Khan is also great asset but again do not depend only one personality because ,we shuold try to integrate not go for disintegration
June 14th, 2008 at 4:49 pm
@zahidbin: You know, you’re getting all bent out of shape over a tactial misstep (which IMO was brilliant move to counter the riotors who wanted to ’start something’)
Sounds to me that the plan was to start something after most leaders had left to go sleep, but as soon as NS and Munir Malik(?) said something.. these people saw their plan collapsing.. they started pressuring by “Abhi nahiN to kabhi nahiN” to keep the crowd there.
You can imagine their frustration when 99.99 % of the crowd DID NOT participate in the rioting activity they were trying to incite. (an instant vote of NOCONFIDENCE) …
You could see the desperation in their actions… they wanted SO bad to “start something”…
I have a (unsubstantiated) theory:
By saying “I will tell you later about the dharna” Aitezaz kept them at bay while lawyers spread out in the crowd and quietly told key ppl inthe crowd (vafad leaders) the meeting was ending as soon as AA finished talking. This is why when Aitezaz said meeting is adjourned and you can do your dharna, it was check-mate time… people started leaving peacefully.
BTW, I never thought the lawyers would let the thing turn violent, and that’s why I always wondered why they were talking about surrounding the prez house…
They might have done it if it was 10-20k lawyers.. but with half million crowd, it is very hard to control and at the mercy of agent provacateurs like we saw in action last night.
Too bad mate. The plans were foiled.
Better luck next time! NOT!
They made the right decision, I think Nawaz Sharif should actually get credit for sensing the mood of the public and advising them to not spend the night there. Everything would have been downhill from there.
June 14th, 2008 at 4:51 pm
BTW, people who are complaining about the thing not ending with a bang are like people who complain the plane landed “without incident”…
The lawyers sent the space shuttle up into space without incidence, and some are complaining that 2 tiles fell off ..
A little prespective perhaps?
nyuk! nyuk!
June 14th, 2008 at 4:53 pm
@TK and all others
These are my questions do you have any answer to these???
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2008/06/080614_longmarch_abad.shtml
June 14th, 2008 at 4:56 pm
@TK on June 14th, 2008 4:49 pm
first sentence should have said:
“You know, you
June 14th, 2008 at 5:05 pm
@savage: personally I think the lawyer leadership wasn’t ready for it and they were overwhelmed by the crowd that gathered there.. maybe got scared of the power they had summoned and knowing their limitations in terms of being sure of keeping the crowd under control, they decided to call it a day.
I tend to think this is the best they could do at the moment. Also keep in mind that they did one thing wrong and that was to exhaust themselves and not taking proper rest. This may have hampered their ability to make decisions.
There should have been better decisionmaking on what could have been done NEXT, but I think it was the march that did them in.
But it’s not a failure. not by a ..um.. Long Shot! The lawyers movement will hopefully get over these doldrums, sleep it over and revel in the fact they accomplished something historic and wonderful on so many levels!
Was MLK’s address a failure because they didn’t storm the whitehouse that day?
Was Tabuk a failure because they dis-engaged and came back?
Was Hudabiya a failure because …
tactical decisions, but something wonderful happened at the strategic and psychological level.
The lawyers job now should be to not let the “Negative Ninnies” take the upper hand in making the lawyers feel bad about this. PML-N should help them. As should Imran Khan (who apparently needed his beauty sleep so decided to split early for some reason)
Doesn’t he live in Islamabad?
June 14th, 2008 at 5:23 pm
I agree with you all points, but any CJ journey was enough to show the establishment the mood of people, if this was the only purpose lawyers wanted to acheive, but these Pakistani Neros are still fiddling. Rehman Malik has already gave a hint how PPP would play it. (20,000 people).
My only concern is at the end people felt betrayed, lawyers leaders including AA always talked about sit-in (right or wrong separate discussion). So it might be hards for lawyers to get even half the supports what they got, which might lead this movement to a sad and forgettable climax.
June 14th, 2008 at 5:56 pm
Despite agreeing your all points i m surprised that lawyers leadership are so “masoom” or “doodh peetay bachat” that they did not know the mood of people. They had already seen the mood in different reallies even Gallup surveys indicated more than 81 % people are with CJ.
You are good “words” player but you did not catch why there was sudden end. Atleast they could sit in for few hours in day light on saturday so that there could be built more pressure “establishment (Army USA)”. But as per agreement, in night, they ended long march……..
I am still positive for movement but I am worried that people will not participate heartdly in future.
June 14th, 2008 at 6:11 pm
@zahidbinmustafa: yaar, have you ever stood closed to tarbela dam? or a large waterfall? or one of those barrages in pakistan in the middle of summer when the water is full?
Do you know the kind of visceral feeling it is to watch it and feel in the depth of your soul the kind of beast that is erupting?
You can rationalize it all you want, but once you are sitting in a little boat in the middle of the storm, then you realize the true power… we see thunderstorms on tv everyday, it’s another thing to feel it.
I think they weren’t expecting this large a crowd and had it gotten out of control it would have been a blackmark (much blacker than the SherAfgan incident) against the lawyer morment
And trust me, people would have much more demoralized and the movement completely imploded had something untowards happened. Remember the kind of work they had to do after Sher Afgan? multiply it by 1000 (or something like that).
I think it was a great show and it went without a hitch. They should now chalk new strategy and start putting meaningful pressure on the govt.
Zardari and all the critics have been disarmed in one fell swoop, and their allegations went something like ths:
MYTH:
These people (lawyers) have no backing…
REALITY:
NOPE, they brought out MILLIONS of people on the route and they gathered quarter million people in friggin Islamabad! Islamabad was “deflowered” by the lawyers.
MYTH: People want food and gas
REALITY:
They want “honourable roti” but they want most of all, JUSTICE! and they showed it
MYTH:
Pakistani’s are violent, religious fanatics, they don’t know how to be democratic or constitutional or protest peacefully
REALITY:
BIG SLAP in the face of moshe, CNN and every other zionist a$$hole (and their gullible supporters everywhere). We showed we want the rule of law, and we will do it peacefully and within the norms of the constitution and law.
So? Be proud! It was a great march! It was a great culmination and it was handled very aptly given the constraints!
June 14th, 2008 at 6:16 pm
@ZBM: “You are good
June 14th, 2008 at 6:22 pm
@savage:
–
I agree with you all points, but any CJ journey was enough to show the establishment the mood of people
–
Nope! I disagree. They put a howitzer to the Establishment’s head. And then took it slowly away, and walked off triumphantly.
The moral of the story was:
Not only can we summon “the beast”, but we can turn it away at our call too. We stay peaceful, but don’t get used to it.
I think people in Islamabad were nearing nervous breakdowns around 1:00 am when they say aerial shots.
My only nitpick is that they should have taken aerial photos with balloons or kites.. but they didn’t.. (cuz everyone exptected to be there for 2 days at least.. hehehe.. see how it works? )

June 14th, 2008 at 6:24 pm
1930 jalsa in Allabad, India was memorable - Iqbal publicly gave the idea for Pakistan
1940 jalsa in Lahore was memorable - for Pak resolution
Bhutto jalsas in early 70s were memorable, he kept building momentum that culminated in the formation of PPP and an election victory.
Now the long march on Jun 13, 2007 was a grand success in terms of public participation. But people were expecting something from Aitzaz , a memorable speech. His speech was a complete wastage of everyone’s time.
You guys tell me what will this long march be remembered for, for ending in a whimper.
AZ can’t bring this movement to it’s culmination, he is just an entertainer who can recite poems, that’s it.
Nadan jhuk gaya sjday main jab waqt-e qayaam aaya
It will take a while now for this movement to regain momentum, and it will not be Aitzaz leading it then.
It was also intereting to watch Justice Tariq Mahmood on Left Right yesterday. He was literally screaming, an indication of the fact that the lawyers are feeling the heat now, for the poor ending.
June 14th, 2008 at 6:27 pm
Good summing up. I guess all of us want a Velvet/Rose/Orange revolution and were kinda disappointed. That kind of peoples’ revolution is brought about by political parties, not bar benches.
I think the drop scene is not very far, around November. Thats when the US elections would have been over and it would be easier to kick Moshe out by then. This Long March was just a training period for NS. Remember he hadn’t had much of a chance to do peoples politics before the election. Now the Sher-e-Pakistan has flexed his muscles and his political machine is in gear.
If Musharraf doesn’t resign by September and judges are not restored, I foresee a Ukraine type Long March and Sit-In by PMLN. As a political party, PMLN have the explicit right to make a dharna and even storm the Presidency.
Not the lawyers.
June 14th, 2008 at 6:31 pm
Thanks for your comments bro…
June 14th, 2008 at 6:32 pm
“bro…”.. I guess it . sorry if I am wrong
June 14th, 2008 at 6:40 pm
Long march participants react:
http://newsurdu.net/2008/06/14/long-march-30
June 14th, 2008 at 6:44 pm
If things changed by November then isn’t it according to script… plus ’sher’ needs not to be governed by ‘babber sher’ - the saudis
not lawyer, not political party but only united awam under no umbrella… but awam has to now focus on 16% increase in electricity
June 15th, 2008 at 1:55 am
The end was embarrassing, what was the purpose of such a huge struggle?
Next time people will not trust AA and his associates, because they achieved nothing of this long march. People lost their hopes…They shouldn’t leave the place until Zardari himself declare on the stage in front of the crowed to restore the judges within 24 hours.
June 15th, 2008 at 8:15 pm
BARAY AFSSOS OR BEGAHIRTI KA MUQAM HAI, KEH WASAIL KI KAMI PAR REVOLUTION ROOK DI GAYI!
LA HOWLA WALA QUWATA…
BAKWAS, TAQREER, SAAF ZAHIR HAI KEH NAZRIYA E ZARRORAT HAVI HAI AB BHI…
SAB SODAY BAZI OR MAZLAHAT KI BATAIAN HAIN..
MULLA!