Live with Talat - 19 June 2008

Talat Hussain asks three visiting UK citizens of Pakistani descent how their tipple identities affect them and how do they see Pakistan’s future in a very interesting mixed English, Punglish, Unglish and Urdu languages episode of Live with Talat.

24 Comments »

thanx admin
    but i miss meray mutabiq :(

I liked this program! dunno about speaking punjabi on a national show, but other than that it is good to see successful young pakistani’s who care for their ‘paisans’ as it were.

Listen to the self made Millionnaire: “INVEST IN EDUCATION and CRITICAL THINKING”

@DjAqib,

I think Meray Mutabiq will be there tomorrow.

@TK, due to several factors lots of British Pakistanis don’t get to learn urdu language properly. But instead they do get pick up some regional language (Punjabi etc) from their immigrant parents. I think participants’ effort to try to communicate in urdu or punjabi are admirable. All they are trying to communicate.

Another good effort by Talat to discuss a new topic with fresh faces. Though I like to listen to our political saga but at times it’s mentally very tiring repeatedly hearing from our bloody munafiq civilians or bloody munafiq establishment people.

@vaqas: right on.. I”m getting Munafiqat-Fatgue myself. and I wasn’t knocking the guy.. I actually thought it was nice that they tried to speak in a local language.. (I was just wondering if it makes sense on a ‘national’ program like LWT.. but then again.. everyone talks half english half urdu on it anyways.. so.. it maybe a moot point)

good program all in all.. that one guy is a billionair.. woohoo! finally a decent guy who’s a self made billionnaire and who hasn’t stolen it from ‘arz-e pakistan’ … making money with your own honest efforts, what a concept!

sigh bbcds! what a bad representation of pakistan..

@zawarmas, Who else you rather would like to see representing Pakistan in UK? Altaf Hussain or Farzana Raja?

I don’t like generalizing all British Pakistanis as BBCD (British born Pakistani Desis). Don’t know about these folks who came in the program but at least their ideas and observations are respectable.

@zawarmas

i beg to differ. for one thing they represent britain first…and they did that admirably along with their muslim and pakistani identity.

secondly, it will take a miracle to portray a good impression of pakistan with faujistania at the mercy of imperilia.

thirdly, they were rather kind in their opinions on the state of affairs of pakistan…there is a lot more they could have said..but chose not to. it was obvious.

finally…stop looking outside….to rectify what is rotten inside. for there is something seriously rotten in the state of denialistan. why should you expect someone …particularly pakistanis or people with a soft corner for pakistan..to not point out that this rotteness is an outcome of the faujistanization of pakistan.

@GM..is Mere Mutabiq really going to restart tomorrow? Have any info about Capital Talk? Much excitment if that is the case…

@sam

capital talk already resumed. I think it will be uploaded here soon.

oh that is great!! stupid me for not checking this evening although fortunately I can watch it here tomorrow…thanks for letting me know…

must be my lucky day!

aaj should put urdu translation of such shows. i doubt more then 5% of pakistani audience would understand what they are saying maybe even lesser coz of the annoying british accent

( talat should have invited admin )

Hi all,
    I agree it was a good programme. Really happy to see a different one. There are so many pakistani guys out there doing great. I am impressed with the approach of all 3 guests. There are many in Pakistan also having similar views. Its just a matter of having a level playing field that the youngsters start excelling in our country. The conditions are high ambitions and good opportunities. The difference obvious here in the programme is the critical reasoning and approach which is a bit lacking among our youth ( I am not saying it doesnt exist ). I mean if our system is good like that in the UK, we can develop that level of critical analysis among our students and youth. We need to analyse the thing rather rationally now. The time is not far when this will happen and then we will flourish Inshaallah. Once we are out of this compulsion of voting for a party or individual just because our family always voted for the one, we will come out victorious. Once the politics becomes issue based it will happen.
    In our system a graduate gets to the peak of his career around 5 to 10 years later than an american or a british graduate. This too happens if he is lucky enough to get some post graduation abroad. I wish we can provide all the required circumstances in our country. But we cannot slove a problem of judiciary in 16 months which started with just a stroke of pen ( that too unconstituitionally ), how can we expect the things to change so rapidly.
    We as a nation as a whole need to change. People are great in Pakistan but we have leadership crisis. We need leaders who have vision and pain and who can see beyond their own vested interests. Inshallah it will happen but may be not too soon. Believe me we need to come up as a nation now. Just 10 or 15 yeasr earlier Pakistanis had a much greater respect as a nation. We need to come up , we need to. The confidence building comes when we are on a right path. This confidenc is apparent only if the individuals feel great as a nation as well. I will feel prouder myself if I feel pride in my being Pakistani firstly. Individaul confidence can be multiplied if we rise as a nation.
    Lets hope for the best.

Salam, thanks to Talat who is both creative & innovative, I like his style when he starts the prog by being very involved in what he has written so he do not make mistake in introducing people; I remember when he first appear on Prime TV and I could see that this gentleman is full of talent.

I agree with most of you that this was a good initiative both to get good inspirations, but also to have an humble still critical view on Pakistani society, kind of SWOT; Strength, Weaknesses, Oppertunities, and Threats. We all know that this great society and is going through number of fundamental changes, what once BB called “need for new social contracts” and all good inputs shall be forming this in a positive direction.

I also like to request to our people to expand ourselves beyond being Muslims & Pakistani and regional. The point is most of us believe strongly in Raab-ul-Alameen ( Raab of all the Worlds) and in our beloved Prophet (PBAUH) who we know is Rahmatul-lil-Alameen (Kind & humble for All the Worlds), therefore we have to help, exchange views & experiences etc with other nations and beliefs. We tried to act like Pakistani and Muslims for last many many years and sought support from the World and demanded that they should understand us and our issues; unfortunately we seldom think & do what we expect from others for ourselves (shame om us)

We should learn from Nebal how the long and consistent struggled awam did there resulted in getting rid of dictotarial and farsooda badshahi nizam.
    We should support the democratic struggle in Burma and other places and we should not be frightened to object wrongs of others. Those of us who can should join international organization for humanity and good causes. This is also an indirect promotion for ourselves, nation and religion.

What I’m saying is to learn and extend ourselves and our brains & hearts to others in the World irrespective of their faith, belief, color, race, gender etc. We are to make alliances on all levels. We have invested a lot of time on West; this is not where we shall be getting good alliances; they experience is telling us that…

Talat Hussain is great as always

19. Adnan farooq Says:
    June 20th, 2008 at 12:12 pm

Being a pakistani, when we talk about identity we talk about our colour which speaks about our identity in the society at public places. I am living in Amterdam, the most multicultural city in the world, Last year I was in Canada and somebody asked me where do you live? He was surprised when i told him that i live in Amsterdam. He sai Amsterdam is in Europe, do dark skin people live there? It was my looks, my colour which established my identity. What is the difference between the identity of a pakistani christian and Pakistani muslim while both were traveling in a subway of London or newyork. Look the woman, Adeeba Malik, in the above played program of Talat, while speaking punjabi, no body can tell she has a pakistani origin, she speaks punjabi like Indian sikhs.
    Why it is necessary to look muslim at public places. The young people participating in this program representing less than 10 percent of the pakistani youth in UK , the rest are doing ordinary jobs , misusing the welfare system of the country and a considerable portion of them is indulged in crime, drugs, street crime and cheating their own Pakistani brothers.
    I think that there is no need to involve religion in establishing identity. it means that peopel in pakistan have three identities, Muslim, Christian and Hindus. But in fact when they all are in UK or in USA, they look the same. If Adeeba Malik is not wearing the hijab , does it mean she does not look muslim or pakistani? Anybody can guess about her origin.

20. Uovervinnelig Says:
    June 20th, 2008 at 3:27 pm

Excellent program, Indeed education is very important for Pakistan.

21. Midhat Asghar Says:
    June 20th, 2008 at 4:24 pm

Good show .. and it is nice to see something besides a mono track CJ - long march programs. Aur bhi ghum hain zamanay main CJ kay siwa. Not saying that its not an important, likin har program us par ho raha hay .. so this was a good break. funny punjabi tho ;-) ..

22. Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya Says:
    June 20th, 2008 at 8:12 pm

The people in this program do not represent MAJORITY of the muslims in UK….

Majority of the UK muslims are on welfare and are most of them anti western, just go to dewsbury and you will see ..

Talat has picked up some strange people to talk to….

23. whereareu Says:
    June 21st, 2008 at 9:30 pm

Its more than 48 hours and free video has not yet posted