Nawaz Sharif has emerged as the most popular political leader in Pakistan today. A striking 86 per cent of Pakistanis have a favourable opinion of Nawaz Sharif who has also seen a steady rise in his popularity, from 57 per cent favourable in the August 2007 poll, to 74 per cent in January 2008 and 86 percent today.
The survey by two Washington based think tanks , New America Foundation and Terror Free Tomorrow (TFT) find a surge in public support for former primeminister Nawaz Sharif and his party PMLN.
“In the first poll before the elections, our survey shows that Nawaz Sharif is now the most popular political leader in Pakistan. Mr. Sharif’s party, the PML-N, would emerge as the clear winner in any national contest, far eclipsing the current largest party in Parliament, the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).”
Is it not a bit late for this news? Anyways, this is the survey I am talking about here…
Is popularity means ‘good leadership’, may be Edihi is more popular.
muftee
Do not FALL in the Blind well of so called Democracy!
What this percentage says about Nawaz’s qualities as a leader?
You CAN NOT prove The QUALITY, by a quantitave method.
muftee
@ Muftee
Edhi is popular only in collecting alms (chanda) not as political leader.
things are done with consent which NS must be doing withing top leadership. thats why he was before quantitatively 57% which has become now 74%.
at least best option among other leaders
Is it not a bit late for this news
or perhaps well timed to quickly move from the story “PMLN Sold”
waisey a new survey is required to confirm its sustainability
Captain! I was talking about ‘popularity’ not in which field, so surely Edihi is more popular as He is doing something consistently, while What about Nawaz?????????????
That says NOTHING (% % %) about a persons qualities.
muftee
>> Is popularity means ‘good leadership’, may be Edihi is more popular.
what a “logical” and “the most intellectual” analysis by you. dont you they the survey was meant political popularity? you are free to fool urself but dont think that others are fool 2.
@captain jack sparrow
correction…as of yesterday it was 86%
though it may fall after today…or maybe not…
faujistanic muftee knows everything..perhaps he can enlighten-ban us?
oooooooops
by “dont you they the survey was meant political popularity?”
i meant
“dont you know that the survey was only meant to test the political popularity”
I hope Nawaz Sharif stays straight and clear just he has been on almost all occassions during last 10 years or so. Otherwise what happened to Zardari is in front of everyone.
Also I am not a worker of Nawaz Sharif league (eventhough i casted my vote for him) but i still appreciate and respect his stance. one may never know his intentions but his stance is the voice of mine and overwhelming majority of people of pakistan. so i must support his cause because i believe his cause is good for the betterment of pakistan (regardless of his intentions. and i also believe that he is the sincere to pakistan)
Dear NS,
mera tun mun dhan tujh pe kurban. You are my only hope for me to guard Pakistan. Please look after yourself.
Senator John McCain is on the advisory board of Terror Free Tomorrow which is interesting as he is the Presidential candidate by Republican party as well. Republicans usually dont have favorable views of PML.
http://www.terrorfreetomorrow.org/template.php?section=AU
Report is also very detailed, 92 pages ….. and putting some light on other issues as well !!!!
@Ahmed Bhai
“or perhaps well timed to quickly move from the story “PMLN Sold” ”
Bingo! That is what I meant…And like I had said in my comment I linked to above: Do a poll today and let’s see what number comes up
maya! my question remain stands, ” Is popularity or (you call) political popularity means a Good Leader? On what qualities you think so?
A percentage is a quantity, by that NOT means A TRUTH also.
muftee
If he does not break up with PPP very soon I’d also say that he is the dumbest leader in Pakistan.
AZ’s policy with PMLN is:
Hum to doobay hain sanam, tum ko bhi lay doobain gay
@ Muftee …. A percentage is a quantity but not necessarily a truth ? Good philosphy …. but please guide us what method do you suggest should be adopted instead ? ………………….. The one which Musharraf has been using for almost 10 years ? that he knows better than all ?
@ mya …. good comments … totally agree with you.
Method for WHAT? maya!
What you want to measure?
The world of Physics can be measured with quantitative methods, NOT the qualities and personal abilities. It needs more depth to think rather to have a short arguments here.
muftee
I am surprised and thinking about the criteria of such popularity?
How many people he fired from PTCL,KESC, PIA, SSGC and government jobs
Did people forgot who attacked Supreme Court?
Did people forget Ch Qayoom, Sharefuddin Pirzada and especially product of PML -N which is now PML-Q
Did people forget he ran alongwith his family to KSA where he established his business
Did people forget overnight theft of bank money (making dollar cheaper for one night and making it expensive next day to benefit some ppl)
How about Saif ur rehman Ghunda? never heard anything from him
Stance on PCO judges
Appointed Musharraf superseating other generals .
Distribution of party ticket to brothrs, sons, nephews.
And many many more
Congratulations Shareefs
Guys if you want to be successfful follow NS footsteps. Its easy to become a politician. Just fight for judges restoration and wash out your sins. Theen sign a deal with PPP and you’ll get what you want :::money, fame, dignity….Isn’t it a good idea?
>>>maya! my question remain stands, ” Is popularity or (you call) political popularity means a Good Leader? On what qualities you think so? A percentage is a quantity, by that NOT means A TRUTH also.
Yes!!! it does matter the most. in any republic country, majority counts. quality becomes secondary attribute.
as a counter argument, do you think that mr. bush is having enough qualitative attributes? he was (once) having majority of the votes and that was what counted. hope that will open up your mind
@Genetically Manipulated
I do not have any issue with the popularity of Nwaz Sharif. However, I would like to point out certain things related to this poll and other political behaviors of our leaders:
1. The sample size (1300) of this poll is way smaller than previous polls size (6000) conducted by IRC. So the breadth of error will be higher.
2. The poll is somehow tied to terrorism. An average reader/ viewer, especially non-Pakistanis, will tend to see NS as a pro Taliban/ UBL leader. This is a big negative for a party, which is trying to sing the elitist song of moderation. So the excitement may be short lived.
3. Nwaz Sharif and Zardari claim to carry the ever-dwindling torch of democracy but what about the following grossly undemocratic events:
– Zardari’s sister got elected unopposed
– Nawaz Sharrif’s brother got elected unopposed
– Shahbaz Sharif’s son got elected unopposed
4. Does anyone believe that these are just coincidences or a part of prevalent bullying (Tehkaism/ Juggaism)? We all have some views about the big THUG who does not allow his opponents’ votes to be counted properly. But isn’t some voting is better than no voting?
5. It is ironic that Pakistani media is shying away from these events. Not to mention the mobster activities of Altaf.
The reality is that Pakistani political scene is overwhelmingly tinted with thugs, whether it is Army, Lohars, Bhatta Khors of Karachi or Zardaris. Most thieves have certain covenant among themselves. So the alliances among looters should not bring surprises. You can only get rid of some thieves with more ruthless ones. I do not think ordinary people can bring any change unless ______.
@Ashraf
Totally agree with you and to add to the list Yousaf Reza Gilani’s son got elected unopposed as well.
@ Shahabj
You forgot to add Few.
–> The money that he Looted in “Qarz Utaro Mulk Sawanro” Scheme.
–> Being the product of Dictatorism.And then himself assuming that he is the only one who fought against dictators.
–> Hijacking the the popular movement to gain political Milage.
–> Amount of work he did to unite the Pakistan!!!!!By Concentrating in only one province.
–>
This was conducted before NS accepted PCO judges by increasing strength of SC to 29.
@Ashraf,
Just count the number of military people on civilian posts in last 8 years, none of them ever got elected. hmmm … sucks … no ?
I think there is a typo in the title. It should read:
“Nawaz Sharif, The most gullible leader in Pakistan”
No.2 is Imran Khan. He will always be No. 2 in politics. But don’t mention it to the groupies.. they are tho thenthitive on thith iththew!
@Ashraf
@Casuri
3. Nwaz Sharif and Zardari claim to carry the ever-dwindling torch of democracy but what about the following grossly undemocratic events:
- Zardari’s sister got elected unopposed
- Nawaz Sharrif’s brother got elected unopposed
- Shahbaz Sharif’s son got elected unopposed
- Gillani’s son got elected unopposed
How dare you guys use the word “elected”? Name ONE person who VOTED for any of those listed…
(Didn’t you and I get the the same amount of votes as all of them put together? Can’t we put in a claim for at least an MPA seat???)
“Gullible”? I seriously doubt it — unless of course you mean as gullible as AA
At least we can count them to be 4, 40 or 400.
But imagine how many boots and their families have pulled out blood from the tax payers. Every second general is son/nephew of an other general. Hardly any of those went to siachin or kargil or any other major warfare. It’s the strongest group who is dominating since 60 years. None of them ever filed the papers in any election either, but they always get elected.
We innocent ‘common peope’ always waste our energies in criticizing politicians.
@Nota
Right….Let’s have a fresh poll and see what are the facts after the introduction of the new PML-N course. I also seriously doubt NS can keep his popularity on 86%. It will go DOWN since many PML-N supporters are rightfully disappointed.
Btw: why Keep on venting spite on others in spite of the fact that it is NS who has changed course?
all this hoo haa created by some members here about NS changiung course and PMLN being sold etc clarified in the parliament by PMLN leader of the house….what else would satisfy some people here? Nothing perhaps!
http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=15540
@Malek
From the link you posted:
“..The National Assembly had approved the Finance Bill on Sunday and when the clause 18 was taken up for consideration only the PML-Q (note: meaning PML(N) voted for it — nota) announced to abstain from voting on the plea that though the party supported the increase in the number of judges of the Supreme Court it objected to the way it was being done(note: I am with PML(Q) on this point — nota). They argued that it should not be done through the Finance Bill. On the other hand, only one PML-N member spoke on the bill and that, too, after it had been passed.
The opposition rejected the PML-N clarification as ‘unjustifiable’(note: and rightly so — nota), saying the bill has already been passed by the majority and PML-N leaders have also admitted before the media that the clause has been incorporated with the consent of the party.
PML-Q Chief Whip Riaz Hussain Pirzada warned that if the government failed to restore the judges then they should prepare for meeting the same fate his party had in the February 18 elections.(note: Shouldn’t this statement have been coming from by PML(N)? — nota)
At the outset of the National Assembly session on Monday, PML-N acting parliamentary leader Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan on a point explained that his party has supported the Finance Bill 2008 but it opposes the clause regarding increase in the number of SC judges. “We have serious reservation on increasing the number of the judges of the Supreme Court and if a voting is held on the clause, the PML-N would abstain,” he added.
He said the confusion was being created in the media(note: Right – blame the messenger! — nota) that the party had consented to all the clauses of the bill passed on Sunday, and added: “We had voted for all the clauses except the one relating to the judiciary.”….
… opposition member Raza Hayat Hiraj said the Finance Bill had been approved through a majority vote and after 24 hours a coalition partner of the government has started venting reservations on it.
“To show their reservation after the passage of the bill showed that they were only playing to the gallery,” he commented(note: And I second that. Well thanks PML(N) for putting me in the position of having to agree with scvm like Hiraj and Q… — nota).
@Malek
Also look at this one:
“ISLAMABAD: PML-N Quaid Nawaz Sharif is said to have opposed the 29-judge Supreme Court proposal in the Finance Bill and had asked his MPs in Saturday’s meeting not to support this contentious part of the budget,
but this decision was neither announced nor implemented.
PML-N Secretary-General Iqbal Zafar Jhagra confirmed to The News on Monday Nawaz Sharif had asked his MPs not to vote for 29-judge Supreme Court Finance Bill proposal. Another senior Leaguer, who had also attended the party’s meeting at Jati Umrah, Raiwind, endorsed Jhagra’s information whereas Ahsan Iqbal, the PML-N top media manager, said no such direction was ever given.”
Link:
http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=15535
everyone has the right to interpret the wordings they wish to.
More important is to look at the essence of the matter/message…and to me it is quite clear. i.e. PMLN did not support the increase in judges and they have previously stated that whatever lawyers movement decide on judiciary they will follow that decision.
@Saqib
it may be useful to highlight the first para – not just the last sentence? but if you are looking for faults….you can find one in every statement of any party/leader. however more important is the stance of the party, which we all know
anyway the latest statement by PMLN further clarifies the issue
http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=48171
@Saqib
Stop all this silly “interpretting” right now!
Yes, sir……I stand “corrected”.
@Saqib
By the way what’s your take on this?
…Minister in charge for finance Naveed Qamar told the assembly on Sunday that a Finance Bill clause that provided for increasing the Supreme Court strength to 29 judges from the present 16 had been drafted by PML-N Senator Ishaq Dar after a PML-N lower house member (Ayaz Amir)called it a “mockery of our constitutional structure” even though the key coalition partner had not announced opposition to the move or an abstention from the vote….
…Nisar Ali Khan … said that Sunday’s strong remarks by PML-N member Ayaz Amir against the judges’ clause “reflected the party policy” and added: “We did not vote for this clause.”
The bill’s clauses were passed one by one by voice vote and nobody was heard saying “no” when the clause about the Supreme Court was put to the house because the main opposition PML-Q party abstained from voting with its ally Muttahida Qaumi Movement apparently going along without a formal announcement…..
…“We supported the bill knowing this clause was there,” PML-N spokesman Siddiqul Farooque told Dawn….
I should have made the last line above (Farooque’s statement) bold as well…
Yes, it is crystal clear now………………………..
@Malek
I would like to know IF there is left anything to interpret now? There is absolutely nothing apart from “interpreting” Ishaq Dar. That name is “translated” into PPP-language means Rehman Malik.
@nota and saqib
It has been reported that NS had clearly instructed his MNAs to vote against the finance bill. However, his orders were not properly conveyed to all the PML-N MNAs. Two top leaders of PML-N are being seen as the ones responsible for this.
Here is a link to this news item:
http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=15535
you cant blame NS for this mess. As far as Dar is concerned, well, one can’t say mush. he is a hardcore pml-n guy, and if he deliberately went against the party wishes, it is quite sad.
And here’s Ansar Abbasi on the subject:
Nawaz taken for a ride by his top leaders
Bad boy! That’s the same article I posted
@revolution on June 24th, 2008 2:29 pm
I could accept your argument if it had been a single member, who went against their boss. In this case there is a substantial number of prominent PML-N leaders, who are making controversies then I doubt the whole of PML-N quite a bit. It’s a part of the game to fool the people of Pakistan. They will NOT succeed in fooling the whole nation, inshallah!
@revolution & @nota: re: Nawaz “taken for a ride”
either that or they are knowingly protecting Nawaz’s poll ratings by taking the blame onto themselves (or putting it on Dar and Kh. Asif etc. ???)
I think this is topi drama now.
@saqib
I think the confusing statements by PML-N are not planned, they are just damage control for the mess the party has been thrown into by some of its top leaders, which right now, appear to be Dar and Khwaja Asif.
Besides, only Asif and Nisar have given conflicting statements. In fact, some PML-N MNAs really trashed the finance bill in the national assembly session.
You might be right, but I stil think it was confusion more than anything else, and was deliberately caused by some people.
According to pml-n spokesman, NS will not challenge his disqualification as he does not recognize the PCO judges.
@Revolution
Maybe you are right, but don’t you think that some heads have to roll in PML-N before we believe in “damage control”.
You know what this shows.. this shows what VULTURES we are as a nation… I think I may have been too hard on the MQM’ites an negative ninnies… they are always right about this stupid country.
Every man, woman, child, dog, cat, vulture, donkey and bakri out from him/her/it self
Welcome to pakistan, we carry Quran in one hand, tasbeeh in other.. Please check our a$$es for our price tags. Sell Our mother? sell our mother? why I Oughtaaa punch… whaaaaa? 10 Dollars? whole TEN dollars?
Sold!!!
Ammi Ji.. Ammi Ji … idhar Aaiyay zaraa…
@revolution on June 24th, 2008 2:37 pm
“@nota
Bad boy! That’s the same article I posted”
Apologies! Did not see your post
Topi drama / Nora-Kushti indeed
@Saqib
Does this look like some heads are going to roll? This pic is from yesterday…
Regarding that “Nawaz taken for a ride by his top leaders” by Ansar Abbasi:
I say pure hogwash! In the whole st!nking package there was only ONE thing every one was talking about and am I to believe they ferked even that up? Sorry — not buying this unless I buy PML(N) leadership is a bunch of m*r*n which they are not. Nor have I forgotten all the previous stories coming out for days suggesting this underhanded deal was in the works….
honestly there is no scientific basis of such polls. we all now that nawaz and his party is a mere 9 districts party with no roots in other areas of pakistan. so yes, for a poll conducted in lahore, islamabad, gujranwala, jehlum, abbotabad this is a likely outcome.
all persons on this blog are not doing justice with nawaz sharif…..he is not chanda maker….being pakistani i m proud of him…he is brave and patriotic pakistani…..his stand on judutiary is above mark……..i will point out one most popular guy of pakistan in the country but he is not leader HE IS SAMAD KHURRAM…..
MOST HATED PERSON IN PAKISTAN IS NOW musharraf then zardari
Qualities of most popular Leader NS.
- NS,Founder of APDM, left the alliance within months.
- Announces the Boycott of election
- Will participate the elections.
- Will boycott the elections.
- WIll contest and did.
What does it shows? Lack of decision making.
Now NS thinks sticking at one point will make hime a Bhutto.
Why does he talk less to the media?
86% shows very very correct result of public opinion in pakistan…it id due to nawaz shreef,s stand on national issues…
Dear admn are you on vacation???? What about the programs from today and Talat from Yesterday??
@navers,
7 programs have been uploaded today in addition to lots of free versions.
Where are you looking?
navers
vacation..lol
I think dats very true poll.cuz no doubt dat NS has gained alot after resigning 4rm their ministries.Long LIve NAWAZ!
Admin ven v vil get free version of Hum Sab Umeed Say Hen-22nd June
nota on June 24th, 2008 4:35 pm
Off course NO heads will roll. I was just day dreaming
Too many politicians are connected to each other through favours, family and business relations. They are members of the same clan. In this clan there are families (Parties). Will there ever be a change if we continue to pick our “leaders” from the clan? No, never! There will only be a change if we pick from little group politicians……the “outsiders”.
why is this site not working properly for many, many hours? Is there any link to NS being “in the line of fire”?
I thought IK was the most popular leader because of his support for the judges issue……….I can understand why AZ is not that popular…but what happened to IK’s popularity…….what did he do wrong….biggest supporter of judges issue…………and still NS is most popular leader………….who is part of coalition……
[...] old judges back and, God bless him, he’s been trying. Mainly because his promises have won him massive support among ordinary Pakistanis. He could probably use this support to become prime minister again. If [...]
News Source... Additional material was found in this news story to assist you [...]...
Good Lord, we were zapped again. Thank you Rabia Zia. You are simply marvellous.