Blast in Islamabad - Several Killed

A blast has been reported near Melody Chowk in Islamabad that has killed 19 people, mostly Police. The blast has occurred near Lal-Masjid on completion of first year after military operation against Lal-Masjid.

69 Comments »

“Where were their humane voices when the Lal Masjid was attacked?”

indeed..where??

Most unfortunate. May Allah bless us with a leader who lives like a commoner and acts like one as well. but wait, it were us, the people who again voted for these landlords and big shot industralists. Why would they care about us. they have dual nationalities, nice suburban villas and more then enough looted money.
    Please wake up my poor people and go for a real change . A change wher e you can stop prime minister on road and ask him why is he wearing a designer suit and how can he afford this in his pay.
    Please forgive us Allah almighty. We are full of sins but your kindness has no limits.

3. shimatoree Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 3:51 pm

@ kafka -

and you still recommend miltary Operation to solve the problem of Talibaan in Pukhtunkhawa

karnee karey to keon drey
    aur karkey keon pachtai

pere boey babool key
    to aam kahan sey khai

Or chickens are coming home to roost.

Rehman Malik is effectively the “cheif executive” of the country. He is being given orders by the americans via Asif Zardari.

He also looks half negroid, so the americans must feel rather comfortable with him, especially that negress par-excellance, the one after whom oil tankers are named, the one, the only, Cuntoleeza Rice!!!

I don’t know why we feel so sympathetic to these terrorist Mullahs. Are we collectively suffering from Stockholm syndrome? We feel sympathetic to those who kill us and have held us hostage to their terrorism in the name of religion since ever….., and not for ourselves?

This government did not carry out lal masjid operation and it fully facilitated today’s event. Seems no matter how much government bends over backward to please these Mullahs, these Mullahs will not be happy until they can have full rule over us.

Shame on these mullahs for killing innocent Muslims no matter what pathetic reason they or their supporters may come up with.

@shimatoree

you are confusing my position. i have been actually arguing for the opposite…for a comprehensive approach to the problem. since my comments are offensive to people…(i am told).i will cease to contribute on this forum..but perhaps tk can vouch for my stand on this issue.

The cause as quite correctly pointed out by TK is the american neocon tinkering through Zardari gang. Listen up america your security concern can never be above human lives. While mullahs are cursed and they would find a twisted logic to attack innocents, the fact remains the blowing ups arent going away as long as we eliminate those in govt who put neocon agenda before welfare of this deprived nation. Its as simple but international media is steadfast in not recognising it and hence west has to live in fear as long as we live without justice.
    Its just a matter of time when your generations are making up excuses for you present wars as todays oppressed are bound to outnumber you soon. I hope they are fair in their treatment of your kids.

@shimatoree

my fundamental argument has been that the problem has to be understood in the context of all factors , geo-political context, border situation, faujistan, drug trade, global economic melt down in poor developing countries, oil prices, ….and that dialogue should be conducted towards resolving the conflict (force is fuel to the fire) but without accepting any kind of barbarism as a norm…be it from imperial powers or local / provincial/ religous ones.

@kafka8: can’t you just say stupid sh!t like

taliban good… ooga oogaa booga booga? me like islaam! d’ohhhh!!

I likes thats kinds of the analysists! word yo!

P.S. I can’t wait for the “incisive analysis” (and justification) of this latest BS attack on people!

nuzreen, billi ka balooNgRaay, nuzreen voh bhi duddu peetay haiN nuzzreen! aur nuzzreen, lal masjid kaa lamba minaara tha aur aaj … AUR AAAJ nuzreen, billi kay balooNgRooN ki pooNchal hai nuzzreen! nuzzreen, balooNgRooN ko duddu pilaa’eN nuzzreen

“nuzzreen”: vaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh!! VAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!! VAAAH!

@tk

bro …i can’t it seems…but you can so you tell ‘em!

(hiding behind TK)

@Rehan: I’m sorry, but the cattle outnumber the slaughterhouse staff by hundreds of thousands daily. Numbers don’t help you unless you change your mentality from prey to predator.

This is what is “wrong” with the Taliban. They are a group of the meek who have said “fuqqit” … that precisely is the main problem. It is our misfortune that it is the religious nutjobs who are being used, while the rest of the society is still mired in fiction that “peace” can be attained, if we just don’t cry too loud as we’re being raped en-masse.

What is needed is a Nationalist response to these intrusions by the foreigners (and I don’t mean the uzbeks by “foreigners”). At every level, in every “estate” of the society.And by nationalist I don’t mean another sold out group of jurnails lording over us for the final 7 years of this miserable country’s life. Moshe and his ever-loyal supporters in “karaaNchee ki taajir baaNraaNdaaree” are the least of the Pakistani Nationalists. They are the betrayers.

We have to fight our way out of this.

there is NO other way! every other way leads to destruction and disintegration of Pakistan as we’ve known it since 1971.

@Yahya

“Shame on these mullahs for killing innocent Muslims no matter what pathetic reason they or their supporters may come up with.”

Okkkkkk!!!! i didnt know implementation of Shariah Laws, which make up 500 ayats of Quran, eradication of corruption and bribery and removal of immorals from society were among the pathetic reasons of Lal Masjids mission

People who should be ashamed are those who dont say anything when women are sold in Red light district of Lahore, when govt officers take bribe at the cost of common men and when immoral activities of our female actress show up on GEOTV, ARY and FTV Pakistan, and specially those people should be ashamed who call Pakistan an Islamic country, yet Pakistan has an interest(Quran says that we have made Interest haraam and trade halal for you) based economy and not even basic Islamic laws are implemented…

Lal masjid is the cause of all evil

14. shimatoree Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 5:35 pm

@ Kafka-

before you withdraw - and I for one would request you should NOT-

The people IN PAKISTAN who have been branded-( for better or for worse)- ” taliban” are a group of Pakistanis- if for no other reason that they live in Pakistan. They have a point of view and like any other group they have a political axe to grind and try to achieve their goals.
    The problem that those that are exasperated have is that unlike other political groups like the Mazdoor Kissan Party etc- the taliban are from a society where everyone is armed. So you cannot just put them in jail or arrest them or some such actions because they will fight as the events have shown. by using bad language or calling one’s opponents names one cannot solve the problem which exists to-day. Just like the PPP -(of NRO fame )- and Mian Nawaz Shareef ( of Dhamaka fame )- and others you are first going to have to find out what they want and CONVERSATION is not possible through the gun barrel or through bombs against people who DO NOT intimidate very easily. So conversation by using dialogue is the only option and if that is your point of view- then more power to you.

15. revolution Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 5:35 pm

It is quite sad to see people arguing here

16. revolution Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 5:43 pm

People can blame the Mullahs, terrorists etc etc, but the US is involved is most of these terrorist activities. Every time the govt/ talks about negotiations with the tribals, there is a bomb blast, or a predator hit.

What the govt. needs to do is clearly spell out its strategy to deal with this. And catagorically say that no matter what happens, we will go by this strategy. Right now, and in the past, whenever there is a blast, the govt. changes its trategy and uses military might, stops talks.

A clear message has to be sent to the americans that pakistan will go by a set strategy irrespective of how much, and in what way , the americans put pressure on us.

This is what Talibanization stands for. You dont agree with me I will bomb you. The sympathizers of Talibanization would now say ‘Wah kya bomb tha’.

Unfortunate. I hope that PK take some courage and post pictures of the bomb blast site. If we donot expose this terrorisim it will become norm of the times.

@shimatoree

by all means…if a solution is available through conversation/dialogue ..that path should be explored. but bear in mind this cannot be the only book on the shelf…lest your adversary mistakes it for weakness…not quality.

i for one am not willing to change my world view because a certain group insists it through the barrel of their gun…(be this group regional or imperial).

Who was killed in these blasts? All Pakistani policemen who are a low salary class and may be some of those religious Muslims. Who have been targeted? Pakistani Muslims. Thousands of innocent Muslims have been killed so far by these terrorists. these terrorists are giving world an impression that Islam is based on gun. And worst are those who are protecting these terrorists in their discussions. These stubborned terrorists may think they have successfully hijacked our religion by force, storing guns and bombs in mosques and killing innocent Muslims in the name of Islam but in fact they are worst creatures on this earth. But I am sure Allah will protect us from these kafirs.

Some secular minds might not agree but the root of all oppression is the prejudice the imperialists have for poor in general and muslims in particular. I am optimistic for the third world of today as the changes within the mindset of middle class are astonishing. Soon you would have the masses recognising their internal and external enemies. It cant go on for very long. Maybe not in our lifetime but we can and must accelerate the process so we are relieved of our duty. We already know the results, long live the struggle.

21. zahidbinmustafa Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 6:26 pm

@zia8925 on July 6th, 2008 5:33 pm

“Lal masjid is the cause of all evil”

Not at all. It is the only Musharaf lodges in Rawalpindi is the cause of all evil and destruction in FATA, PATA, Balochistan, Karachi and almost in all parts of country.
    ——————————————————————————————————–
    Rehman Malik (I want to write his name with Docoit but due to Rehman, I don’t use) is succeeded in his duty againby pushing back to Lal Masjid admin to rebuild or recontinue the activities of Jamia Hufsa. He is a right man to fulfill the uncomplete agenda of Establishment (USA our enlightened moderate army liberal fascist and extremist)
    Allah SWT save Pakistan from liberal fascist and religious extremest.

22. Yao Pukhtoon Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 6:35 pm

Very sad to hear about the loss of innocent human losses. What is going to happen to our country. I am sorry to say but all this started with Musharraf. Prior to that we have heard no socide bombing. He is the main culprit and he has come with an agenda to dinintegrate this country and he is working on that plan. Army was the only institution but now people hate them because what they did to the country since 1999 has been controversial and has affected everyone. Now after the election our innocent and poor masses hope the situation could improve because of the political leadership, but the new political leadership irrespective of any political party beagan to support the status quo and the big planners like CIA etc want to make the political leadership equally controversial, till the time when people of Pakistan have no trust in both military and political leadership. Then with the absence of these two thing we will have anarchy, killing, bombs blasting and disintegration of Pakistan. It does not matter if we want it or not. Musharraf regime and the so-called political parties are working on that agenda and finally in the end the innocent and poor masses are sufferring.

23. sleepingnation Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 6:49 pm

supporters of taliban will be very happy by this Bomb Blast which involve heavy loss of life .. as per Taliban and Mullsh supporters traditions, two arguments are given

1) Its the reaction of Lal Masjid/tribal areas/ swat etc etc etc. hidden message in this statement is surrender to extremists and second part is to encourage more terrorist to kill people so that they can go directly to heaven

2) USA is involved in it..what i can conclude from this that these terrorist killer Mulwantas are on pay roll of USA.. who is using them against pakistan

both of these arguments means support to terrorists ….and terrorists will keep on killing people until Pakistan is completely destroyed……

All the proponents of peace and talk with terrorist talibans should realize that the only answer to these extremists is to send them to Heaven by the use of Pak Army force. I support Pak Govt and Pak Army effort to cleanse the society of these terrorists. Such cowards act will not deter the will of the nation and we are fully behind govt effort to eradicate the menace of talibans.

Pakistan ZIndabad. Send the Terrorists to their 70 hurs.

@ SGuy

same use of force should be against the terrorists of Karachi Altaf mafia, butchers of 12 May and 9 april.

agreed?

27. lance_naik Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 7:27 pm

OK enough of this BS. Lets stop blaming the rest of the world for this senseless violence. All my life I have argued with people in Pakistan when they spewed intolerance, violence in the name of religion. Why should I not believe that we are not capable of this kind of lunacy ?
    Forget all conspiracy theories. Forget all contexts. You cannot be passionately religious (and Pakistanis are the most religious people in the world) and yet never question your religion, never study it yourself and just selectively follow whatever interpretation comes your way. Because its entirely likely, that you will end up following a WRONG interpretation of Islam (ala Maudoodi) and then be terrorized all your life by a bunch of lunatic cavemen who think they are working for God.

Killing of any human being is killing of humanity irespective of the means used for killing or persons or organizations /institutions responsible for killing.

Never ever ask killing of other .

29. imalik5525 Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 8:00 pm

this will happen if you follow US agenda.
    there is no soln but to confront US and start peace talks in FATA.

Why there was no suicide attack before 911
    Mush is responsible for all this bloodshed who is follwoing US agenda.

this is y US is still supporting mush.
    where are all the human sane voices when innocent people get killed in wazirsitan,bajorh etc….

30. ali al-Hakim Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 8:04 pm

Democratic politics is all about resolving conflicts of all sorts, economic, political and even ideological, through a process of rational dialogue and continued struggle. Once unmitigated violence enters into the social-fabric and body-politic, chances of peaceful transformation of order in society remains very difficult. Violence breeds violence and a downward cycle of evil engulfs the whole system into an abyss from which no society can really recover. Violence temporarily puts issues on the agenda but it doesnot really seek to achieve concrete results.
    The cycle of violence imposed on us in Pakistan by militants who have unclear and perhaps unacceptable political goals is really dragging our country into a chaos from whihc we may never be able to recover. Although Lal-masjid operation last year was qutie brutally vicious but i think it is necessarry to either eliminate, suppress, or marginalise anarchic groups taking pakistan into hostage. I am not arguing in any manner for Pakistani establihment but the point is that political outcomes of change must be dictated by democratic struggles such as those of lawyers, and the media rather than than by violent elements such as taliban and al-qaeda.

the humane sane voices were saying humane sane people dont kill their own innoncent people …because they cant kill those who they may need to or want to.

down with faujistan but also down with taliban types!!!

32. yusafkhan Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 8:17 pm

NO PEACE WITH THE TERRORISTS. We have to wipe them off the face of this earth as a lesson to future generations. This is a fitna and if its not tackled RIGHT NOW the loss of East Pakistan would seem like a walk in the park. This should be a clinical operation just like treating cancer. The media needs to show raw footage of this carnage so that all the Taliban sympathisers (and there are plenty of those just like there were plenty of Germans sympathetic to the Nazis) see the monster they are supporting. All madrassas need to be taken under government control. Anyone teaching this stuff should be tried for treason. SamiulHaq and fatso Fazal “diesel” rahman should be put on a tight leash and their source of funds should be monitored. Food and medicines should be supplied to the people of FATA to reduce their misery. Finally our army needs to start a huge ground operation with 200,000 soldiers. No artillary or missiles or airplanes should be used. The Army needs to go to every village and (i guarantee 90% of the people of these villages actually hate the Talibans) work with locals to identify and eliminate (YES I MEAN EXTERMINATE) all terrorists.
    The soldiers that die in this operation will be the real Shaheed’s and the terrorists who are kiiled should be declared Kafirs their bodies should be cremated so nothing is left of them.

@ GM

Musharaf did great harm to this country by letting MQM monstors to kill ppl at will on May 12 and then show fists to the civil society. Yes, MQM mafia too need to be uprooted. But right now, the greater problem at the moment is Talibanization of Pakistan. If we have resources we should go after both MQM and Talibans. Period.

@ SGuy

But if we dont hhave enough resources, then we need to set priorities for the targets.

And Altaf mafia is threat to a greater number of people, a threat to greater quantity of assets, resources and wealth of Pakistan, so they MUST be number 1 priority. Also that mafia is in urban area and not in remote areas (mostly) like Talibans.

wat u think?

35. shimatoree Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 8:37 pm

@yusafkhan -

Last time someone talked about exterminating people- it was 1939 in Germany and you know what happened to them .

It seems that YOU are a DOCTOR -SURGEON since you talk about Cancer Surgery.
    But then YOU are also a GENERAL since you talk about 200,000 soldiers and no artillary- no airplanes and no missiles

But YOU also wish to be acknowledged as GOD Almighty since YOU decide who is Shaheed and who is Kafir .

And you want to provide food and medicine in FATA- by the way why FATA only and by the way who is going to PAY for all of YOUR generosity. Would it be only for the 90 % that HATE the Taliban or would you consider being kind to some others too.

Well, Well it certainly seems that you do not have a small EGO.

36. shimatoree Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 8:58 pm

@ali-al Hakim
    you talk about un-mitigated violence and it’s evils. What do you say to the people who have waited for generations fo things to get better and now they want to get things done in a hurry since their patience has run out. Political change comes through exercise of political power . The lawyers struggle has failed since they do not have political power. The newsmedia is a bunch of commercial groups out for profit and whatever sells they will sell. If it is Lawyers Long march to-day then they will talk about that and if it is disco dancing by topless and bottom exposed females - they will show that .
    Violent groups such as the Taliban are political movements and when the time comes they will transform into purely political movements-( examples are too many to mention).
    Let us hear something substantive-
    There are many political powers in the country- PPP, PML-N , ARMY and so on. Are the Taliban a political power- perhaps not yet but they appear to be helping modify the policy of those that are in power . They appear to be challenging the status quo and the status quo does not like it as is evident from the many comments on this web site.
    Can the Taliban succeed- probably not as there are too many interests alighned against them . But one cannot deny that they are a force to be reckonend with at this time.

In political dynamics- you always try to deprive your adversary of their legitimacy and support . You would have to take away the issues that are the basis of strenght for the Taliban .NO ONE - I repeat NO ONE hass done anything about THAT and is not going to do ANYTHING about that because that would rquire accepting that the Taliban are a force .
    HERE -( on this web site)-people are talking about military action ad infinitum, extermination and killing all of them.
    The current political set-up-( so called people’s mandate)- are only interested in perpetuating their own rule- they have no interest in dealing with the serious issues facing the country one of which is the issue of violence and anarchy and as you say un-mitigated violence.

@GM

I see Talibanization of Pakistan as the biggest threat to nation far greater than MQM or any other issue. You will be only fooling yourself if you think it is only restricted to the tribal areas or FATA. The bigots and extremists could be found in most madrassahs across Pakistan. When we say Talibanization we do not mean Mullah Ummar group taking over Pakistan, but a particular extermists version of rules forced in the name of Islam.

It is time to focus on rooting out the biggest evil - Talibanization. Or you these terrorists will brainwash young minds and send them to 70 Hurs every now and then. But remember to non-Muslims, every suicide blast by these Terrorists, equates every Muslim like you and me as being terrorists. To put simply the actions of talibans are making all Muslims = Terrorists. Do you want to become one?

Where to start? I think the way Gen. Zia built this menace by defacing the constitution and civil society. We need to undo all his blunders. Their need not be any no-go areas be it in Karachi or Swat or Bara. The first step may be to restore CJ and let Zardari and Nawaz Sharif fire Musharraf and restore the whole Constiution of Pakistan to pre 1979 days. Nothing less to start with.

May be we also need Gen. Baber to lead the security operation against all extremists this time also.

When would the time come when the junior army officers would realise their ultimate duty to the nation as opposed to the generals. There has to be some effort to create this awareness as Pakistani media is not allowed to touch upon such subjects. Although the banned site dictatorshipwatch.com does good work what is reuired is an easy to understand message for a junior fauji to be part of the revolution gathering momentum.
    To those of my friends who rightly condemn mullahs for the violence, if you want to hold them solely responsible, you are severly short sighted. Its shameful the Zarari loyalists are acting as enlightened moderates and trying to protect their benefactor America for rescuing their beloved Zardari (Shaheed to be) through National Robbers Ordinance. While I dont wish death upon anyone but I am sure some illiterate folks are too anxious to make Shaheed out of every power hungry politician that dies. Its quite similar to when the army used to get me and you singing patriotic songs to prolong their exploitation of poor civilian population. Well no more.

39. muhammad777 Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 10:12 pm

Nothing can justify this kind of barbarity.
    This is a clash between modernity & a metalty which belongs to middle ages.
    Talibanism is fascism and we must defeat it. This is our own war and not the Americans one.

40. muhammad777 Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 10:33 pm

This is in support of my opinion written by an eminant analyst.
    The view is shared by many that America’s war with the Taliban is not our war, and that by joining it our government has been killing our own people. The proponents of this view evidently regarded the Taliban as ‘our own people’. The problem is that the Taliban do not and will not, even if our American connection is broken, treat the generality of Pakistanis as their people. They think of us as nominal Muslims, hypocrites, worse than infidels. They have no interest in our survival and well-being as individuals or as a state.

As noted above, they are at war with the state of Pakistan. There can be no negotiations and accords with them, for they do not believe in bargaining and compromise. They want total victory. If they agree to a pause in fighting, that will only be to replenish their forces. The state of Pakistan cannot respond to this war, which they have imposed on it, except by fighting back. And fight back it must with adequate force, enough to get them out of our lives, and do so without equivocation.

41. Hameed Chaudhry Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 10:46 pm

I strongly condmn todays suicide attack near Laal Masjid in Islamabad, killing innocent 19 policemen of Islamabad Police and Punjab Police and seriously wounded dozzens of policemens in this action. It is a shameful act to kill other muslims to shown your anger and to blow yourself for nothing. This life is a prescous gift from ALLAH and blowing your own body and taking few dozzens other lifes to get publicity for some un-known and un-justified cause and terrorising millions of others innocent countrymens living in other cities and villages of Pakistan.

Blowing yourself, killing, terrorising and de-establising the whole country is not a proper solution what we are facing against war on terror. The best solution is to follow any moderate political leader like Imran Khan to whom you think have the courage to address your problems in a proper way. After election, I was very hopefull with PPP and PML(N) coalation but now my views are changing day by day towards Imran Khan as the last hope in this present condition with ANP who is doing their best but federal authorities is un-nesesary interfering provinicial matters in some areas which are not in the jurisdiction of federal government.

In Pakistan terrorism as well as show of aggressive power, both is very dangerious and harmfull for the country. Both sides have to show respect for each other, that is the only way we can have peace in the country. Non-elected advisors like Rehman Malik is the biggest hurdle for the country’s safety and security at this present stage.

In my opinion, if the federal government leave Asfandar Yar Wali and the leadership of ANP to handle NWFP issues the way they want to handle through negosiation and political talks is the best option than using extreme force by frontier constablary. This can bring more retaliation in coming future on people in uniform as an anger in the other part of the country which could be very severe and life taking.

42. muhammad777 Says:
    July 6th, 2008 at 11:02 pm

@hameed chaudhry
    I do not agree that Ik is a moderate political leader. He is a taliban lover.
    I words of Shafqat Mehmood:
    The only way out is a reversion to a principled stand.
    We cannot allow foreigners or Pakistani citizens to use our territory to wage a war against our neighbours or other external forces. We must stick to this principle with such ferocity that everyone understands it clearly. If this basis is established, and we must pay whatever price is required for it, we should be ready for peace anytime anywhere.

Another Talib takes it upon himself. They put bombs in Barber shops and Girls Schools. If you saw them lolling around in Islamabad, you would know they have no regard for anything else but their own brainwashed version of believes. If their Mullahs are reciting Surat Tauba to them and urging them to follow it literally, you know they will blow themselves and go to HEAVEN. You can not fight with illogical religious minds, even in United States some fanatics started killing Doctors because they were performing abortions. This is a disease of the mind.
    Patient must be destroyed with the disease. There’s no cure.

How are these Taliban helping Afghanistan occupation problem by suicide bombings? If anything they are doing US’s job by killing more Muslims than US could possibly have.

45. comment-top comment-bottom
  46. lance_naik Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 12:29 am

The premise that this is America’s war and these lunatics turned on Pakistan because of the help given to America is ridiculous. The only thing that 9/11 did was accelerate their invasion of Pakistan. These barbarians were just busy consolidating their hold in Pakistan. Their next step was always going to be the imposition of their barbarity (what they call shariah) on Pakistan. And that process was always going to be violent, because no Pakistani govt would have ever given them what they wanted. All those who defend these killing machines, I have one thing to tell you. Every single Afghan I have ever met despises the Taliban, whether rich, poor, pashtun, farsiwan .. whatever. Because they experienced their barbarity first hand. Of course, we a are a cowardly hypocritical people who only learn when we suffer. At first, most Pakistanis used to support the Taliban. Ever since they have started their antics in PAkistan, has their popularity gone down with the number of cowards/hypocrites dwindling but still signifcant as evidenced on this forum.

This is incentive for US to stay in Afghanistan even longer, as the longer teh US stays there the more of us Taliban kill. Muslims killing Mulisms…problem solved.

US must be thinking allah day …banda lay…

I never liked Punjab Police, but after today’s shadat of Punjab Police officers and Jawans, I will salute the force.

Pakistan Zindabad, Talibanization Murdabad.

49. binary zero Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 12:41 am

Talibanization Murdabad.

50. yusafkhan Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 1:06 am

@shimatore
    I am neither a general and nor am I a doctor. I am just a pissed off Pushtun whose religion and race has been hijacked by a bunch of illiterate, demented, psychopathic and fascist people. I have somewhat of an idea of how to deal with them. I might be wrong but at the moment it seems our government has bentover backwards to appease these animals but it is not working. The mistake we made was to take a punga with them in 2006 - then when they decided to kick the army’s ass we said ok we need a peace deal. That was a huge mistake. Furthermore, we were using artillary and F16’s - now I dont know much about military tactics but you dont use artillary and F16’s because that results in collateral damage and thats exactly what happened. Thats why if I were to lead this fight I would not use disproportionate force. Yes we will lose more soldiers but then thats the price we have to pay.

How would I pay for it? I would tax all the rich mofo’s in Pakistan who are presently getting a free ride (all Zardari’s and musharraf’s buddies). Furthermore, I would sell all these worthless F16’s and fancy war machines because they are absoluteley worthless in our present situation. I would stop work on the new GHQ. I would then buy a billion dollars worth of wheat and flood the Pakistani market with it at a real cheap price. Lets see all the mofo’s who are hoarding wheat feel then.

Join the struggle brother - lets get rid of this menace

51. lance_naik Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 1:41 am

“This is incentive for US to stay in Afghanistan even longer, as the longer teh US stays there the more of us Taliban kill. Muslims killing Mulisms…problem solved.”

This conspiratorial/victim mentality is what is keeping Muslms weak. The sheer ignorance and cowardice of supporting animals like the Taliban is keeping Muslims weak. Saying Islam Islam Islam without ever reading our Qurans is keeping Muslims weak. Worshipping idols like Zakir Naik and Mr.Israr is keeping Muslims weak …

“sumun, bukmun, umyun .. fa hum la yar ji’oon”

America is just capitalizing on this weakness. If Guatemala was a global power instead of America, they would have done the same thing.

52. TruthTeller20 Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 1:47 am

Another victory for Taliban and Taliban lovers. According to Talibans every blast gives credence to their lunatic belief that their process of talibanising of his country is sailing smoothly. God knows where this country is going or where are they taking us. There is no shortage of Taliban lovers in our country and they can still give you 100 reasons why Taliban are he best Muslims and we must follow their version of extremist Islam.
    Where do we stand as a nation?
    What is our strategy to deal with this problem?
    Why as a nation we are not united to tackle this problem?
    Why our political leadership is so incompetent and unable to devise a clear policy to combat terrorism?
    Why can’t we stand as one nation to say NO to terrorism?
    Why do we always blame US, Israel and India to hide our own incompetence?
    Why don’t we address the issue of Madarsa curriculum? (Or is it already too late??)
    Have they already created a potential force of lunatic suicide jihadis to destabilise this country?
    When will our sleeping nation wake up to realise and face ground realities?
    We must admit a bitter fact that Talibanisation of this society is in full swing and unfortunately we are losing this war.

53. comment-top

Think about it:

1 ) OBL had long before 9/11 been accusing US and announced war againt US.
    2 ) Taliban refused to hand over OBL to US and instead wowed to fight.
    3) US has to attack there for their own security and world opinion went in its favor.
    Look how cleverly the drama is presented to this world. Don’t you think all characters are inter related?
    4) Now talibanisation is growing in Pakistan posing a security threat to Pakistan’s nuclear arsenals and US.
    You already know what will be the next action?

54. comment-top

Blast is not sucide attack

http://express.com.pk/

55. comment-top

It is very sad. Lal Masjid and Hafza MUST be shifted from Islamabad to 50-100 miles away. Having such a controvertial place in the heart of capital city destroys Pakistan’s image. Foreign investments are blocked which is bad for economy. Our Mullahs and politicians do not understand this.

56. taimurdar Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 5:39 am

This is just the start, i’m AFRAID to say that but this is the horrible fact! These events are the AFTERMATH of whatever was done in the PAST so get ready for the roller coaster ride.
    WTF was Shahid Masood doing in the conference of Mush?

57. comment-top

This is just in on AAJ:

Suicide Blast near indian embasssy in Kabul..Details coming..

58. zahidbinmustafa Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 8:56 am

59. usman khan Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 10:53 am

1- i am extremely sorry for this incident happened in pakistan. this kind of incidents are bad, sorrowful. condamnable and pity. our relegion, our moral power, our society, and our humanity does not allow us to do such a thing. i condamn it fully,,

2– but despita all that,, i feel happy that some , behooda. lanti, haram ki olad, POLICE PEOPLE are dead like DOG in this incident. even if 16 krore of police dye in such incident, i dont care,, police is deserved to be treated llike that,, i only feel sorrow for inocent ordanairy people. but i am happy that some stupid police people are dead,,,,,,,,,,,,may God bless the police with the extreme part of HELL. aameen

60. peshoriboy Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 12:29 pm

Another happy day for US forces. Religous people of lal masjid was just asking for a law against prostitution but Musharaf make a mess, he is showing to world that Taliban wants to get control on pakistan nukes. what a big liar musharaf is. Dont forget There are many enemies are working on pakistan they are supporting and training anti pakistan forces. Read this blog and comments this is an FIR against the US. http://blogs.abcnews.com/theblotter/2007/04/abc_news_exclus.html

Musharaf done many Unhuman and terrible things against pakistan and one of that is he handover afia sadiqui a pakistani women to US army . She is in afghanistan’s Bagram US army camp since 2004 and she lost her conciuos becouse she tortured and raped by US army for last 4 years. her prisoner number is 650. now question is that …Is musharaf pakistan army chief or a CIA employee?

61. peshoriboy Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 1:53 pm
    comment-top comment-bottom
  62. comment-top

Five bomb blasts in Karachi…

Thank god for Talibans…where would we be without them…

63. comment-top

Another devastating attack on Pakistani soil by the illegitmate sons of cowards mullahs and another sacrifice by the Pakistani to save their land from froeign aggression as if they are not going to do it than tomorrow the rest of the world will b at the door in the name of helping us and than we know what they r going to do with us.

I think that end of the day someone is responsible for these cowardly acts we cannot sit as jsut do the formality that this sick mentality come from here or there, the solution should be in the form of punishment to their families and to the imam of the mosque he use to go so atleast they know that if they fail to inform the law enforcement agencies of the nefarious designs of the evil son or daughter than they will have to pay the price as obvioulsy the law enforcement agencies cannot keep an eye on every single person attending the mosque or madrassah and as a matter of fact all of them are not into all this killing.

so once few families and mullahs are going to get some harsh punishment than they will realise that if they try to contaminate the crudity of the juvenile mind they will have to pay the price even after the departure of that sick mentality from this world.

64. peshoriboy Says:
    July 7th, 2008 at 5:43 pm

I think if we wipe up MQM leader ship from karachi it will be peace in karachi. there is no doubt the conection between RAW and MQM leader ship is craeting trouble in the city. Nashtar park killing , benazir rally bombed and 7 bomb today are simply terrorism not a retaliation.

65. comment-top

musharaf and his followers are the root of all evil. islamabad incident was done by his regime to overshadow lal conference, same thing they did on aparah’s restaurant, when lal masjid was opened for the first time after mushraf kuittas brutal crime.against humanity …about todays karachi incident…eveyone knows why did it happen in mostly ANP areas…

66. Bulleh Shah Says:
    July 8th, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Recent blast in Melody market is another coward act of evil from Jehadist talaban type mullas of our region – they killed thousands of innocent poor civilians in one year from this type of act of brutality. Now their hot target is law enforcement agencies – once they scared them then these criminals have free ridge on unarmed civilians like the way Lal-Masjid mullas exercised during last year.

Everybody knows which “sacred” forces are behind these brutal killings of innocent humans but not much of us have courage to unveil them. These vicious forces Lalmasjid type mullahs are our “enemies inside” they are uglier than the enemy out there. Two and half centuries back Bulleh Shah said:

Mullah te mashalch, donu iko chit Loka karday chanan, aap andheray wich (The mullah and the torch-bearer Hail from the same stock They give light to others, And themselves are in the dark.)

Now its time for liberal and law abiding Muslims of our country to unite against dark forces of extremists

67. comment-top

The only solution is to uphold the rule of law, reforming police and educating our people. This can not be done overnight as it takes generations but someone has to start that process. Ofcourse our leaders like AZ, NS don’t have the political will and the courage to do that due to their own reservations. May Allah give us dedicated and sincere leaders to run this country.

68. Bulleh Shah Says:
    July 8th, 2008 at 7:00 pm

@usman khan
    Sounds you get real rough time from police – besides all of there negative role – Usam once we lost there control than our society will be real hell like tribal areas now a days. Remember in Afghanistan how these Talaban killers turn the country into stone age. First they finish Police then Army and then everybody.
    When Russians left Afghanistan Kabul and big cities infrastructure and roads were there but mujahidian destroy everything during civil war among themselves.

This is on record that Israel never killed that many Palestinians in last 60 years compare to Jehadists killed each other from 1990-2001 in Afghanistan.

69. comment-top

DAWN Editorial today:

THE authorities are still clueless as to who was behind Sunday’s devastating blast in Islamabad that killed a large number of people. Since the bombing coincided with the anniversary of last year’s crackdown on Lal Masjid, it is widely believed that the suicide bomber and those behind him have exacted a revenge on the government. More than the death and destruction they have caused, the brains behind the attack on the police party have announced triumphantly that they are not only back with a vengeance. They are also capable of striking any time, anywhere. There hasn’t been much of action in Khyber Agency — in fact the militants managed to make their way safely to the Tirah valley. So precisely who struck on Sunday in Islamabad is the crucial question. Fata and Swat are relatively quiet. The state of negotiations appears esoteric, and we do not know precisely who is talking to whom and what the parameters are. That bring us to the one question that really matters — does the government have a well-crafted policy vis-à-vis the militants?

Whatever has been happening in Fata and Swat for the last many years, and the vehemence with which the Taliban have been killing Pakistani soldiers and civilians, makes it clear that what we are witnessing is more than terrorism; it is a full-fledged rebellion against the state. Either you take the enemy head-on or shirk duty and let the Taliban threaten the very state structure — society itself. The government has declared from time to time that it is wrong to believe that the war on terror is being waged for America’s benefit and insisted that the war against the Taliban is our own war. Going by the wounds the Taliban have inflicted on the Pakistani people, the innocent men, women and children they have killed and the brutality they have demonstrated, the government has to treat this war as Pakistan’s own war. But any observer of the scene will be struck by what appears to be a lack of resolve on the government’s part to crush this mischief that by any standards is the greatest threat to Pakistan.

Does the government feel inhibited in its actions from within? It cannot be denied that the situation is full of contradictions. There are Taliban sympathisers in the establishment, especially the army. In society, too, powerful sections — even though in a minority and utterly indifferent to the nation’s long-term interests — tacitly approve of this bloodletting. But then the government has no choice but to make an obvious decision to fight this rebellion. For this the security agencies must equip themselves with the training and scientific methods to fight terrorism, which has assumed the deadly form of suicide bombing. In Islamabad, which was in a state of alert, even a check-post had not been set up to protect the police from a suicide bombing attack that could have been expected.