Aitzaz Ahsan, Atta-ul-Haq Qasmi and Mushahid Hussain with Hamid Mir in a fresh episode of Capital Talk.
July 15th, 2008 at 11:11 pm
Aitizaz Ehsan has made us all proud! For once my tiny lil vote counted…
July 16th, 2008 at 12:25 am
Waiting for the free version .. looks good
July 16th, 2008 at 12:46 am
good program
July 16th, 2008 at 2:50 am
We voted for you AA , you should thank PK Politics Admin who put your name here and asked us to vote and I did it because of your stance on the judiciary issue, might not have if the long march had already happened. I don’t think it had anything to do with his book/s and more to do with his political stand.
July 16th, 2008 at 3:29 am
we always proud of Atizaz ahsan . great person and inshallah he got Bright future …
July 16th, 2008 at 3:36 am
Atizaz aside, if we have Intellectual like Mushahid and Ataullhaq qasimi, then write down this ” there is no future for Pakistan” only get worse, how can a so called nation argue thing which cannot manage his country abd only after 25 years lost majority parts, this is history, Pakistani is the only nation (if you dare to call it) in wihich majority diceded to separate, every where minority has this call but you we different than whole the mankind.
July 16th, 2008 at 6:39 am
i m proud to be a pakistani having intellectuals like aitzaz ahsan,
PPP is very lucky having a person aitzaz ahsan
July 16th, 2008 at 6:39 am
i m proud to be a pakistani having intellectuals like aitzaz ahsan,
PPP is very lucky having a person aitzaz ahsan
God bless him
July 16th, 2008 at 8:23 am
Aitzaz is the GREAT PAKISTANI !!!!1
July 16th, 2008 at 8:25 am
Mushahid Hussain about a coalition government with PPP: “Ham is gand mein nahin parhna chahetai” ………that was a good one. Credit to the “lota”=turncoat Mushahid Hussain.
He.he….PPP must get ready to have more lessons about good governance from PML-Q “intellectuals”…………….kya baat hai. PPP deserves lectures from these people.
July 16th, 2008 at 9:08 am
aa has always been a third tier leader. He really hurted the lawyers movement by his stupid unconsulted decisions during the long march. There are a lot of bright people in the lawyer movment and they also need to come forward because uptil now aitazaz has been uncapable of accomplishing any goals. He is a good talk show guest and speech maker on talk shows but a leader he is not.
July 16th, 2008 at 10:40 am
Aitzaz Ahsan is misquoting Benazir Bhutto, when he asserts that she stated that “both, she and People’s Party” will re-hoist the flag at his house.
The statement to the best of my knowledge was that “Chief Justice of Pakistan ke ghar par dubara Pakistan ka parcham lagaen ge.”
There was no mention of People’s party in that quote, and there were probably all kinds of people there, not just PPP workers.
Hamid Mir should have pointed this out on the spot.
Anyway, these assertions by Aitzaz Ahsan don’t seem to be effective with the current PPP leadership and government office bearers, as contrary to their assertions that the 3 November 2007 actions were a mini martial law, they have fully accepted and stated on record that because of the Oath of Office (Judges) order, CJP Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and all the other judges who refused to take oath under PCO are were no longer judges at that point, and Dogar and the PCO oath taking judges were judges from that point on.
http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/post_03nov07/judges_oath_order_2007.html
Also, since these PCO-inserted judges took oath under the third schedule when the “proclamation of emergency” was removed (meaning that we totally accept that the Dogar-led Supreme court validated it as legal and constitutional) this made them constitutional judges.
http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/post_03nov07/emergency_revocation_order.html
There is no ambiguity in the current PPP leadership’s stand on the 3 November 2007 steps taken. They consider it as both legal and constitutional, and fully accept all of the orders that were promulgated during that time along with all one-man constitutional amendments that took place,
http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/post_03nov07/po5_2007.html
and accept that the Dogar-led court as 100% valid, legal and constitutional Supreme Court of Pakistan regardless of what Benazir Bhutto stated during her public address outside the house of Chief Justice of Pakistan, Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry. When, the Murree Accord was signed, it is almost certain that all of the PCO-2007 steps were known to all of the lawyers on the PPP’s CEC, and to say that it was not known at the time of the Murree Decleration, is misleading, and hence the Constitutional package is a lame excuse, because even the PML-Q will not accept those amendments as they are satisfied that there no need for any further constitutional covers.
Aitzaz Ahsan should do the hounorable thing and resign as President of the Supreme Court Bar association (since he is stubbornly not leaving the party completely against the lawyers movement, nor speaking out against them openly). He did an excellent job upto 20-07-07, and I admire him for all his efforts, but people should accept the fact that we are now in the post 05-10-07 (NRO) era, and Aitzaz’s occupation of this post will not be able to help the laywers movement as evidenced by the dharna fiasco. This is not meant to slander him, as I admire his good efforts, but he is human and in my opinion now his stances are causing problems for this great movement.
July 16th, 2008 at 4:39 pm
I respect AA a lot but lately I have started to think that the lawyers’ movement should be led by one of the following:
1) Munir A Malik
2) Wajeeh-ud-deen
3) Tariq Mahmood
I have deliberately omitted Kurd because he tends to be too emotional at times, otherwise he ’s very dedicated. The three person mentioned above have this quality that they have passion and wisdom at the same time. AA is def. having *some* problem due to his party affiliation.
July 16th, 2008 at 6:38 pm
July 16th, 2008 at 11:57 pm
Hamid mir has done an innovative and thought ful programe this time round. watching this programe was like inhaling fresh air after a seemingly ceaseless series of anti-muhsarraf futle debates. most of the earlier programe and disuccsions conducted by hamid mir were and continue to be efforts at personal vendetta rather than a real concern for the direction and stability of pakistan.
as far as Aitzaz as an intellectual of note on a global scale is concerned, i am like aitzaz himself quite surprised to find out that he has come no.5 in the global pantheon of opinion makers. aitzaz has written a single book, and that too on history. i am quite skeptical about aitzaz’s so called achievement. having said this there were beyond doubt some really inspiring Muslim intellectuals who must be read, understood and of course celebrated. those included such people as Iranian intellectual abdolkarim soroush.
i think there r few people who have heard of him. like ata ul haq qasmi we tend to consider famous people as intellectuals as opposed to people who got real substance.
July 17th, 2008 at 5:25 am
Dear Fellow Country men
Well Said Hamir Mir! Rahzan who are as follows:
- Mr. 10%
- Mr. Lannti (Rahman Malik)
- Farzana Raja
- Latif Khoosa
- Babar Awan
The Bastards of this system. But Congratulation to PPP voters of their great achievement and Salam on their Selection.
Secondly,
- Opportunist Brothers = Mian Brothers
- Mr. Beans = Ch. Nissar who still taking lakhs of funds as Minister/s.
- Ms. Fafa Kutni = Tehmina Doltana who is no more than paid Lady Worker who is giving the task to strip and chuck away her Dupattas infront of thousands of peoples as Protests. And look what ministry she got SCIENCE AND TECH.
Shame on Nawazo and his intellect. The woman who can’t switch on a computer is S & T Minister.
But Congratulation of PML N voters, their cast fellow, their cousins Massers, and Curropt Nare Baz has been elected. Shame on them.
God bless us from these Devils.
Ya.Allah.Khair
July 17th, 2008 at 8:50 pm
I wish our leaders now know the importance of credibility and integrity in politics and stop playing with the poor people’s emotions. If our judiciary and police is streamlined half of our problems will be solved.