Column Kaar - 22 July 2008

July 22, 2008 . 22 Comments   

Haroon Rasheed and other columnists present a fresh episode of Column Kaar.

Free Version

Please Login or Register to read the rest of this content.

Email This Post Email This Post
{ 22 comments... read them below or add one }

• Nisar said:

thanks admin it´s my favourite program with all these bhdudas

• TK said:

@admain: That bhudda comment reminded me of something… Would it be possible to please do a survey poll(s) of your audience and their ages etc? I think the demographic info will be interesting for all readers.

I would suggest:

1. age poll
    2. sex poll (yes please)
    47. location poll (closest major city)
    98. Education level poll
    7. industry/job poll

I think it would be interesting to see at least the first 2 (or 3) polls …

• drmasood said:

Most of the politicians are ”MUNAFIKS” unfortunately.

What a shame if Haroon is right 1.5 Billion Dollars on food item imports including tea …… Shameful shameful. Where are our leaders….shame

I dont understand they are all blind and cant see the misery of ordinary people. Pakistan will become Zimbabwe and civil war will start like this.
    Ordinary people will start looting shops and banks and will break into rich people houses…. I can see that coming

First time a good point by Abbas Ather…… For 5 million people of Pakistan we are exploiting 165 million…..hah

• TK said:

This is a good program. Not Annoying at all! kudos!

If only they would follow my advice. We could save 1-2 Billion in fuel costs. every year. And it’s a simple fix.

• ataraxis6 said:

There discussion is a little disorganized, but it is an interesting talk show.

• alam said:

Haroon Rasheed has such a great historical knowledge that the others look dumb infront of him……

Good thing is that Shah Jee was not blindly favouring and supporting Zardari and company today…

• admin pkpolitics said:

Free Version Added

• edcoym said:

Haroon Rasheed is the great.

See Indian politicians, how they are faithful to their nation!!!

“Hamarey zammir kay murdha hakimrano per kiya asaar kere ga, jub tak hakimrano kay saath yeh sub nahi ho ga, jis may awan hey, woh kabi bi nahi samjayn gay, waysay bi in ki badniyat yun nay in kay zammir ko mardala hey”.

“Agar 16 crore awam roz in hakimano kay haq may bad dua kerien 40 din may inshaallah “corroupt” hakimran barbaad ho jain gay”.

Allah ki zabardast mar ho, in zalimo per, Allah in ka sukun aur aaram barbaad ker dey, in kay khandaan kay bachey moozi merz ka sikaar ho ker thora thora roz merey, in ko kabi bi khandaani khushi na miley, yeh khud bi bay intihai azyatoun may zindagi guzaarey. Allah in zalimo ko her terha say mukamal barbaad ker dey. AAMIN…

• Shaz said:

A piece of Information

Reko Diq is a small town in Chagai District, Baluchistan. World’s largest Gold and Copper reserves are found in Reko Diq.

Tethyan Copper of Australia has taken the contract to develop this mine. Barrick Gold Corporation of Canada and Antofagasta of Chile have a joint-ownership of the copper-gold deposit at Reko Diq. The Reko Diq deposit is being explored by Tethyan Copper Company Pty Ltd (75%) and the (BDA) Baluchistan Development Authority (25%). Tethyan Copper Company is held jointly (50:50) by Barrick Gold Corporation and Antofagasta Minerals.

Currently the deposit is at scoping / pre feasibility stage… It is a world class copper / gold porphyry style deposit, typical of the tethyan belt.

It has been sold to the Zionist controlled regimes by the Pakistani Government under the dictator at a price of $21 billion. Rough estimates suggest that the gold and copper at the surface accounts for $65 billion worth of deposits.

Tell me how many of us know about it …remember the total debt on Pakistani Nation is $38b.

Now the question is why Pakistani media and Govt is silent about it? Why it is kept secret from Pakistani Nation?

• TK said:

Europe knew about the oil deposits in the middle east for a few decades before they let it on. During those decades, they plotted the disintegration of the Ottomon empire and a new world order. They accomplished that in the first world war. Certain “chosen ones” got a freebie for bringing the beast down from within .. and I mean from within the TopKapi .. That freebie is now the only nuclear power in the middle east.

For all we know they have figured out the new source of power which will be derived from a mineral which our country is awash in. But which we, due to our monumental ignorance have NO idea about.

But since we are about as intelligent as GYPSUM due to our proactive focus on research and education (I’m being sarcastic), it will be 200 years before we start figuring out what the fudk hit us _this time around_ …

You see, there is REASON they spend billions on building particle accelerators and trying to figure out why a certain worm in the bottom of the pacific ocean only eats certain kinds of plants. IT is the collective knowledge of europe that keeps us their unmitigated b!tches!

Not their tanks or planes.

As a matter of fact, if you destroy their tanks and planes, They can make more because they KNOW HOW. And as soon as your F-16 are shutdown by remote control by those who made them, YOU ARE DONE. (this is of course the best case scenario, usually your brave jurnails would take the trouble to “safeguard” these treasures by burying them in sand before running the fudk off..)

Meanwhile, our “Mujahideen” have to rely on Uzi’s and Klashnikov’s to fight their pseudo-Jee-hadz ! Being mortally dependent on the culture whom you’re fighting your war of survival with because of what it is, has got to be irony defined.

• TK said:

Wow, Kh. Saad Rafiq has two other relatives in the assemblies? hmm.

Only Haroon-ur-rashid has enough sense to point out the real problem: Lack of internal democracy in Political Parties.

When is PML-N going to hold party elections? anyone know?

• establishment said:

i dont know whats going on..but video is getting stuck after 14 seconds

• establishment said:

i think today’s episode was really good but it made me really depressed.

• Democracy said:

@shaz

I know about this issue. Not sure it has anything to do with a zionist conspiracy, I think that takes away from the issue of resource extraction and resource “curse” which poor countries with oil, gas, gold, copper etc go through. please google romania canadian gold company. hopefully you will find a documentary on a canadian gold company’s effort to extract gold from under an entire village and displacing the entire population with little benefit to the town. I believe some of the same players might be involved in Baluchistan because apparently this canadian mining company is one of the few companies which have the wherewithal to extract these large deposits. These contracts are negotiated on the quiet and few if anyone knows about it until it appears in some obscure place or some footnote. Glad you raised the issue. Thar coal deposit is also possibly now one of the largest in the world.

• kamran said:

@ Shaz

Thanks for this useful information.

Do you have any link or some further details about this gold thingy which you would like to share with us?

Thank you

• Taimur said:

*2004 Statistics*

The list below shows the top tea importing nations.

1. Russia … 172,145 metric tons (17.8%)
    2. United Kingdom … 156,311 mt (16.2%)
    3. Pakistan … 115,967 mt (12.0%)
    4. United States of America … 99,484 mt (10.3%)
    5. United Arab Emirates … 65,826 mt (6.8%)
    6. Japan … 56,234 mt (5.8%)
    7. Morocco … 45,670 mt (4.7%)
    8. Germany … 43,409 mt (4.5%)
    9. Poland … 32,119 mt (3.3%)
    10. Syrian Arab Republic … 30,330 mt (3.1%)

Top tea consuming nations:

1. India … 757,000 metric tons (22.5% of global total)
    2. China … 676,253 mt (20.1%)
    3. Russia … 181,680 mt (5.4%)
    4. Japan … 151,400 mt (4.5%)
    5. Pakistan … 134,578 mt (4%)
    6. United Kingdom … 127,849 mt (3.8%)
    7. United States … 100,933 mt (3%).

• nota said:

@kamran
    @Shaz
    I really don’t believe the $21 Billion figure as these deals are made for a lot, LOT less. And judging from the following statement in Dawn (”Balochistan would get 25 per cent royalty on net profit after start of the production” — so if the company shows no profit — and they won’t — Baluchistan gets sh!t) and the piece quoted below, you’d be lucky to get $21 million….and that too over the life of the project — expected to be 23 years. Baluchistan might have to spend $21 Billion to clean up the mess left behind but that’s the only way the $21 billion figure will come into play….

I don’t suppose many people have heard of the Riko dik discovery in Pakistan, in Baluchistan Province. It is a giant project in Chaghai, containing 12.3 million tons of copper and 20.9 million ounces (yes, that’s right) of gold. In inferred and indicated resources it is believed to be even bigger than Sarcheshmeh in Iran and Escondido in Chile. Its projected revenue will be nearly $ 200 million in royalty and taxes alone for the Baluchistan Govt over its 23 year mine life. And yes, you guessed it… Barrick are right in there as a major player.

• TK said:

@nota:

so if the company shows no profit — and they won’t — Baluchistan gets sh!t

Bingo!

Also, if worse comes to worse, the rights for these companies can be enshrined in the constitutions of victim nations. (See: South Africa)
    ;-)

• TK said:

sorry.. (south america)

• nota said:

“Also, if worse comes to worse, the rights for these companies can be enshrined in the constitutions of victim nations.”

They already are enshrined in something much more meaningful, namely WB,IMF,WTO “constitutions”… :) :(

• nota said:

Remember they are already talking only “$200 million over 23 years” already so i don’t know where the $21 billion figure came from….

• Gul said:

The Khakwani chap is the most sensible person on this panel. He is the only person who is notable for his ability to see the wood, not just the trees (unlike abbas athar….endlessly talking about tea).