Live with Talat - 25 July 2008

Talat Hussain discuss Guantanamo Bay with a american laywer Zachery Katz Nelson who’s fighting for the detainees rights.

23 Comments »

Talat .. You are the best ..

2. imalik5525 Says:
    July 25th, 2008 at 9:43 pm

ADDDMEN
    If you r in contact with the hosts tell them that we love talat hussain
    after him comes bolta due and ofcourse haroon rashid and kashif abbasi.

Somthing wrong with video. Not working.

4. we_are_nuts Says:
    July 25th, 2008 at 10:17 pm

Thanks Admin!
    I have been trying to prove this point for the longest time on this forum. How many Pakistani lawyers are out there “representing” a “hired American spy” in the tribal areas? Hell, they ain’t even an American soldier, just a paid tribal youngster accused of helping the Americans. Why doesn’t she/he get any justice? Why is his head chopped and thrown on the side of the road and our public is just quite? Because our public thinks and has been feed that every American needs to be killed! Yes, American government and individuals are playing a great game, but there are forces everywhere who are trying to counter. We can always counter with strategy, talks, cunning policies, money and so forth. No, but our message is, kill, kill, kill…

The guy’s name is ‘Katz Nelson’, Jewsih to the core. This is what i was mentioning to Mr “nota” the other day!

5. we_are_nuts Says:
    July 25th, 2008 at 10:26 pm

Hahaha. Nelson, teri NE training pay sadqay jaoon! Pakistan government should ‘demand’ from America…LOL.

6. Democracy Says:
    July 26th, 2008 at 12:05 am

There are over 500 lawyers many from top U.S law firms who are representing Guantanomo prisoners pro bono (for free), as Mr. Katz Nelson is. It is to their credit and their belief in what the U.S constitution promises all individuals, whether nationals or not in the United States or in the custody of the United States. The right of Habeus Corpus is their first priority. Ironically the right of habeus corpus is exactly what Pakistan’s lawyers have been fighting for and the Nov 2nd judiciary was demanding of the Musharraf regime in regard to the missing persons. The love of constitutionality, rule of law, habeus corpus and civil rights is why the American lawyers have stood by their brethen in Pakistan and also because they have seen these rights eroded in America during the Bush years. This fraternity should be celebrated and Mr. Katz Nelson is a wonderful example of this. Great interview by Talat.

7. we_are_nuts Says:
    July 26th, 2008 at 12:11 am

@Democracy
    Thanks for the info. We are all hoping for a free and independent judiciary in Pakistan with individuals like Khalil Ramday who represent what little good is left in the Pakistani society.

vaah kiaa baat hai. maarnay vaalay bhi yahoodi aur bachanay vaalay bhi yahoodi.

Subhanallah! Islam is on the offensive brozzers and seeestars. Keep reproducing at a mindboggling speed! We’ll beat them in the bedroom!

Above—–Great comments guys. Keep it up

@w.a.n: “…No, but our message is, kill, kill, kill…”

No offense, but I think you watch way too much Fox News and “24″.

Re: above comment, Nothing could be further from the truth. Millions of people came out in the long march.. how many KILL signs did you see? How many kill signs were there all along the peaceful constitutional movement of the laywers community? that went on for a year and a half and NO ONE in the western press bothered to report on that aspect. But give orange flags to a bunch or Ukranians thorugh Mr. Soros and we see more Western photographers than the actual protestors. And then what hurts is that people like yourself repeat the manufactured consent regurgitated ad-nauseam on every western pop-news outfit.

Given the crims committed against them, I think Pakistani’s maybe the most docile nation ever. how many times have you seen them say kill kill kill (an american stooge bureaucrat or a pakistani jurnail) ?? I wouldn’t conflate the actions of the “so called” Taliban (with their myriad categories and as many instigators) with the actions of the Pakistani people. How you made that statement (use of “WE”) is beyond comprehension for me.

And to say he’s jewish to the core. What does that even mean? “Katz” implies he’s “jewish to the core” ? how?. He maybe a gay atheist for all we know. However I agree that his being a conscientious lawyer only proves that Jews have other priorities than American Muslims. Most Muslims like to jack off to an idol of someone or the other while the jews concentrate on their education and becoming a part of the society rather than creating ghettos of the mind. Muslims like to maintain their navel gazing position, nee, they want to become a 9th centuray FOETUS again by entering their bodies through their navels, while the jews are engaging in research, education, law, politics, and all other kinds of venues (WHILE MAINTAINING A PRIVATE JEWISH IDENTITY and remaining FAITHFUL TO THEIR EFFED UP (IMO) VISION OF MEDINAT YISRAEL).

end result is that American Jews are on the ascent in the US and the American Muslims are actually quickly replacing the Blacks as the most reviled , feared, and discriminated group in America despite all the conferences and hordes of hijabi b!tches swarming the “nasheed singer” concerts. But no matter, I will get to hear about the “explosive growth” of Ithlaam in America before I refresh the screen. TWICE!

Muslim is the new black. Couldn’t agree more.

11. diamondcut Says:
    July 26th, 2008 at 1:40 am

Whenever i listen to these tales of Guantnamo bay or Abu ghraib,it really hurts as a muslim.And worst of all People like mushii sell them to increase their bank balance.As a Pakistani iam feeling ashamed seeing Musharraf still as a President,,,,

12. we_are_nuts Says:
    July 26th, 2008 at 2:53 am

@Tk
    -Man, some intense analysis there! My point was that we (Muslims) ‘claim’ to have the upper moral ground but that’s just not the case (again everything is relative as well, so in this relm of this ‘relative world’). I can say that for sure because I am one. I have seen both societies very closely (America and Pakistan). Although Americans are potrayed as very religious, i don’t see any fanatics, atleast not on the streets (definitely on the TV though). Also, at this point in time, it would be naive at best to fit all Americans in the ‘regular sense’ that atleast Pakistanis do. There are all sorts of Americans, indeed, including Pakistani Americans.

-You can analyze it which ever way you want, but that’s how it is. Truth hurts also! With regards to the ‘Jewish to the core’ comment, i was referring to his name. I don’t know if he is athiest, gay, striaght, transgender, whatever. Name is very Jewish.

13. Munir Solangi Says:
    July 26th, 2008 at 12:00 pm

This lawyer Nelson appeared in capital talk of Hamid Mir few weeks ago.Hamid Mir raised the issue of Mr.Piracha who is in US jails.If you remember Hamid Mir did a show on the IRI survey and after few days Talat also did a show on the same survey but very late.Few days ago Hamid Mir invited a PPP MNA Samsam Ali Bukhari on his show and after two hours he was on Talat show.Many visitors of this site especially sleepingnation accused that Hamid Mir is an Al Qaeda agent.If he is Al Qaeda then why Talat Hussain always follow Hamid Mir.

Hamid Mir visited Khayber Agency many weeks ago,even before the operation and then Talat Hussain followed him.If Hamid Mir is an Al Qaeda agent why Tony Blair and Condy Rice gave interviews to Hamid Mir?May be because he always raised voice for people like Afia Sadiqui.I remember Hamid Mir show in New York in which he initiated an interfaith dialogue in a Mosque between Muslims,Christians and Jews.I think this not Al Qaeda policy but people like sleepingnation have some personal problems with Hamid Mir.He was the only TV anchor who was present on the roads for three months against Musharraf martial alw.

@WAN
    “Hell, they ain’t even an American soldier, just a paid tribal youngster accused of helping the Americans. Why doesn’t she/he get any justice?”

Who should deliver justice?

You must know: Might is right!

In NWFP it is the so called Taliban/Al-Qaeda, who deliver “justice” and in the rest of Pakistan it is the Moshe-regime, who delivers “justice”, f.ex. by kidnapping Pakistani citizens and sending them to American jails in Guantanamo, Bagram etc.

Btw: Spies/traitors are the most despicable creatures and should be (man)handled like that anywhere in the world. How much the Muslims have suffered because these traitors/spies (Moshe is NO exception and should have the same treatment).

@w.a.n : dude I agree with most of your analyses but sometimes just don’t understand some of the tangential stuff in your comments. I think that sent me off on a rant of my own.

But yeah! I think we’re on the same page.. he _is_ jewish based on the name (but I was just being pedantic about the “to the core” thing…)

nevermind.

“UK troops kill Afghan civilians

The incident took place in the Sangin district of Helmand
    British troops in southern Afghanistan have killed four civilians and injured three others after a vehicle failed to stop at a checkpoint.

Soldiers opened fire on the vehicle in the Sangin district of Helmand, suspecting that those inside were insurgents, Nato said.”

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7526806.stm

Real disgust for human life is shown by the western forces. Shoot first ask later. They have come from all parts of the world to fight a highly dubious war on “terror”……………disgusting. Action speak louder than words, and the western actions like the countless attacks on innocent civilians are far worse than what is comitted against these crusaders far away from home on foreign soil to subdue other people.

Btw: Has the world ever seen the “proof” for invading Afghanistan? Yaaah Moshe has seen the “proofs”….subsequently he lied down flatly on the ground and uttered “Yes, MASTER BushMan….we oblige”

17. Omer Khan Says:
    July 27th, 2008 at 3:13 am

wearenuts and Democracy: You guys are right in that, th Amerian republic is resilient but the the rest most of what you said is absolute rubbish.

The US was founded much like Pakistan on basis of liberty and it has very moral foundations. While hardly anyone will dispute the fact here that while US may be involved in fk**g up people’s lives outside its borders, but within it the country has a sustainable system. And that is not because of its governing elite. Yes there are good men in it. But they and especially within the last 8 years or so they are also guilty of trying their best to subvert the US constitution, the rule of law and for misleading the public as well in gross intimidation.

The fact that US has not crumbled and become another shithole is a credit to its institutions which can at the very least delay its entropy. For all empires do decay and I don’t believe my beloved US is a Republic anymore. Or atleast the republic that it was envisioned to be.

SO while we may give credit to the lawyers, civil rights groups and the US supreme court who only by a tie breaker vote decided that after 7 years and no evidence and incresingly disgusting stories cropping up about abuse of power, liberty and decency it is time to chortle out something lest this country goes the way of socialist abaddons of yore, let us not forget that Guantanamo is not the only prison that US operates, the renditions of US citizens, the profiling , the tortutre and the approved tortutre of prisoners, their murder, and rape, their improsnment with out any right to any thing.

Even now, while the US supreme court have taken the right decision, a constitutional and moral decsion, let’s not forget the constant efforsts by this administration to subvert it. As well as that majority of Americans believe like a classic mob mentality that these detainees should have no right.

Here is where the truth lies: the institutions of a free and just society are not there for bettering the entire humanity or because they are dependant on popular will or consent of the governed. They are there to provide stability WITHIN (not w/o) the borders of a nation. The institutions are both a check on the power of the elite as well as the masses.

Unlike in Pakistan, where the entire system is immoral and barbaric. Murder of citizens without consequences, no trial, no justice for the bombed and killed. And then these primitve cruel chattels (and their minions) have the gal to say that Pakistani liberty fighters are unjust and cruel. Some of them are. True. With as barbaric tendencies. But at the very least they as a collective are more right than these murdering fanatics sitting on the constitutional lane and bilawal house.

Any inquiry into the muder of Bugti marhoom, or Benazir, or lal masjid or thousand s inocent who are dead in FATA? or hundreds of thousands displaced?

No. Why? because an immoral kleptocracy can never bear the thought of the viability of institutions of righteousness.

18. Omer Khan Says:
    July 27th, 2008 at 3:23 am

@TK: hey u still residing up on the “make up hill”?

Your comments on American muslims do indicate you cook up your own facts. lol

Yes American muslims are a hated minority in the US, but not because of their own doings, but because of the increasing intolerance this country is heading towards. Still the US civil soceity is a far cry from 1940’s US or other shitholes because there are many good people here who would stand up and fight for their fellowman.

IN the US muslims are amodel minority. Above average income, wealth, degrees, ownership of properties and very low crime rate.

SO your comparison with blacks is extremely idiotic. For while bigotry against blacks is palpable, it is notout of place to mention the fact that Blacks in the US for whatever reason do have higher crime rates, teemn pregnancies, drug abuse, and single family households etc.

So get your facts straight. The hatred against muslims is beasue of the rise of semi fascist radios shows in the US, rise of very very influential christian fasicsm, misguided politicians, and bigoted politicians.

And there is absolutely no excuse for this.

Only a 20inch think line divides the first world from the 3rd world.

@ AllListen to ImranKan. Put your people first, Build your institutions. And dont play games of misdirection. Be a moral nation and always try to have a moral stands. Take this advice from a very very patriotic American.

This program has the most diverse topics in current affairs…Not the same shitty politicians coming everyday…

today its 28th and still its not working somebody please tell me why this program is not playing.

free version please!!

Free version, Free version, Free version, Free version, Free version,
    Plz.

This is one of the most important episoddes lately but admins seem to have forgotten to upload the free version. I wonder if they wanna make a lot of money out of this particular episode for some creepy reason.