Financial Times reports – A senior Pakistani government official said that a deal had been brokered between president Musharraf and members of the newly elected coalition government, with the army playing a key role in the agreement.
A senior Pakistani government official said that a deal had been brokered between president Musharraf and members of the newly elected coalition government, with the army playing a key role in the agreement.
Related: No safe exit for Musharraf: Nawaz – Friday Aug 15, 2008
Uff Allah! It is not You, It is not America, but it is Army … occupation continues.
lakh la’anat ays army tay… duur fittay munh aaina da. kam day na kaaj day dushman anaaj day….
the dollar generals strike again…
@ Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar .. lol ……….. very right
if Musharraf does escape away, then definitely beyond doubt army would be involved.
“We were not taken into confidence” I am waiting for this statement from Nawaz Sharif.
Mush will stay in a farm house in Islamabad. That should make TK happy. He can **** Mush there now.
Another safe exit for the ELITE & death to danda bardars, wah mairey mulk k hukmarano.
After reading the comments on this site about the above matter- it seems that Pakistanis have become IRAQIS !
They want Musharraf’s head !
Whatever happened to – it is better to forgive. This seems like double standard since PPP was voted into power and all the sins of Zardari were forgiven.
Ha Ha Ha
Why they let the courts decide instead of giving indemnity one another time & again?
Why they don’t let the courts decide instead of giving indemnity one another time & again?
That is the problem.
FAUJ kab aqal ke nahun le ge.
@ayubi
What do you say.
These jurnails are real MUNAFIQS/ cowards
Using guns on politicians. Atleast politicians go to jail/ hanged.
Hamed gul went to jail for few days and started complaining.
They should alsp spend time in ATTOCK FORT
Shame on them
i wrote here five days ago that its more than enough if these politicians are pushing for mushraf’s resignation let alone the impeachment……..
they won’t be able to impeach him at all……….dint you see wt happened to that ISI’s notification saga………..just 6 hours and they had to took back that decision…….
who ever says that army is not in to politics….they are wrong……..they are just makin their face dubbed up again………they were maligned badly by musharaf and now they are doin the face saving………..
giving musharaf a trial means no way in for another army chief in the future………..would they let it happened……i doubt that……
these compromised politicians……won’t expect wonder from them…..its more than enough wt they are gettin now……..a clean sheet…….
musharaf will be dealt with the natural fate……….tit for tat………he has got to run now…….
if they had let musharaf go for safe exit than there is no point charging few politicians from Q leauge under the hammer………….if the head goes so do the stooges as well……….
i hope that those judges comes back and musharaf stays in pakistan…..i m prayin for that……….
WSJ: Musharraf Set to Quit And Receive Immunity
…”Musharraf will neither face impeachment nor be prosecuted,” …
NYT: Musharraf Is Expected to Resign in Next Few Days
…Mr. Musharraf also wants immunity from prosecution for any impeachable deeds, which the governing coalition appears willing to grant if he steps down, they said….
…Nawaz Sharif, the leader of the junior partner in the coalition, the Pakistan Muslim League-N, has demanded that if Mr. Musharraf is impeached, a trial must follow, a proceeding that would be very messy and could rip the country apart….
DailyTimes: Addressing the procession, PPP Punjab General Secretary Chaudhry Ghulam Abbas accused Musharraf of involvement in the assassination of Benazir Bhutto, and plundering the nation, adding that he would not be forgiven for that. PPP Central Executive Committee member Dr Ziaullah Bangash said that the PPP was a party of martyrs and had no soft corner for “dictators like Pervez Musharraf”.
I am just waiting to see how low the coalition partners will go to spin the “immunity”. If he is the murderer of BB as PPP is claiming, why the forgive and forget? Will PML-N say “We were not taken into confidence” as MaanJi (RIGHTLY) pointed out? I mean why make a deal, especially now that you know the impeachment will be successful.
Though it is being presented as deal with the Army it is anything but a deal with the US. Remember this whole “impeachment” business did not start till after it was reported US had withdrawn their support of Mush right after the Gillani visit and not before the political leadership had given away all their rights to conduct the War Of Terror to Kiyani and proved to Americans they were going to their servile b!tches.
No question about ‘safe exit’…just hang him till death!
Mush’s NRO let politicians have billions of looted wealth of poor Pakistan and also many criminal cases were also droped. Then what’s wrong giving Mush a safe exit. He is one of the honest leaders who does not have foreign accounts and properties. Otherwise GEO and Corrupt Politicians would be beating drums. Let’s be honest.
Kakajatt is on the money. hang the dictator. hang the traitor. make an example out of the bashtard. let his hanging carcass serve as an example to every general, brigadier, colonel, major, captain and lieutenant dreaming of holding the constitution “in abeyance”.
we – the people of Pakistan aka bloody civilians – will no longer tolerate military dictatorship. the next time some jarnail tries “meray aziz humwatno”, it will be open war. and we all know what this army’s track record is in wars.
A good backgrounder by Kaiser Bengali
Impeaching Musharraf
Is he now gonna be the future guest of talk shows???? hot candicate!!!
i am against not only mushrraf but all the dictators but i dont want him to be humiliated.public has no right to demand for his blood bc public did,nt play any role for sheding his uniform or for holding free and fair election.this all became possible bc of BB who forced him to shed uniform and held free election.
@msohail83
Just a guest? I bet he would be a talk show host….
Anyways, Imran Khan does have a point…
Impeachment certifies Musharraf status
What about the safe exit to around 1 million prisoners in different jails in Pakistan!
Pakistan army supports Musharaf it does make sense becouse Musharaf was Pak army chief But what happened to the Politicians where is the strong will of Political parties? after four months Pakistani are still waiting for free judiciary. If PPP provides safe exit to Musharaf then ‘Khamosh’ Kyani can be next silent Volcano.
I am not surprised. This country was created by a deal. Lately, people affirmed NRO as the guiding principal for this country.
All these people including Imran who say that impeachment would certify Musharraf status are living in cockoo’s land.. Can Imran tell me then how he would have managed Musharraf’s exit.
By the way Musharraf would resign no doubt about that because if he is impeached he would lose everything – security, retirement benefits and make himself open to future cases. So he would go for resigning – the reason why this is taking a bit long is that modalities are being ironed out.
If Musharraf resigns then one other history would be created which people do not realise.
Nawaz Sharif would have scored HATRICK of getting three presidents resign
1. Ghulam Ishaq Khan – in which he himself had to go
2. Farooq Leghari – when he also saw that he was going to be impeached
3. And now Gen Musharraf.
The advice to future presidents
Dont mess with this guy – he doest care about what he loses – he never spares even if he has to wait for ten years
Musharraf should see the movie – THE DARK KNIGHT
in which Batman makes are famous remarks
You dies as a hero or you live long enough to be a villain.
If Musharraf had come , cleaned up everything, got elections done and a democratic goverment installed and then left – he would have been a hero but he chose to live long enough to be a villian.
His real enemies are not Nawaz Sharif or Zardari but Pervez Elahi, Arbab Rahim and MQM who have brought him to this situation. Hope he realises that
Astaraxis
About this NRO – Zardari might have benefitted from NRO but they didnt force Musharraf to give that to him – Musharraf did it for his own reasons
Secondly the major beneficiary of this NRO is not Zardari but MQM who hundreds of activists were involved in murder investigations – it is them who got scot free. Thats why Musharraf never revoked NRO.
Plus Zardari was in jail for 8 years. What stopped teh goverment to find out what he had done and get him prosecuted.
Why doesnt Altaf Hussain return to Pakistan and why did he accept British nationality – the reason was simple – he had been involved in guresome murders and by accepting British nationality he cannot be foreced back to Pakistan. So which country in het world is harbrouring terrorists. Is it Pakistan or UK
In the News today it is being said that Isreal has offered to provide security to Musharraf. Indian Nationall Security Advisor in December had said that he doesnt trust BB but trusts Musharraf and now he has said that imepachement cannot happen and it would be a big disaster if Musharraf goes. Still you are stuck with this NRO.
I think time has come that guys like Imran should grow up now because he should move himself out of this Jamat Islami politics and become a real mature politician. If he is so fed up with NRO why was he with PPP when there was movement against Musharaf. Didnt he remember at that time that bB and Zardari were corrupt.?
if army does this agreement for this stupid musharaf,, then i sent LANAT on NAPAK ARMY,,,,,,,,,,
aik generral sala,, sare mulak ko HEEJRA bana detta he,,,,,,,,
@c hussain
“All these people including Imran who say that impeachment would certify Musharraf status are living in cockoo’s land.. Can Imran tell me then how he would have managed Musharraf’s exit.”
The only way to prevent future adventurers is to bring wannabe dictators to a court of law, and to do that we need an independent judiciary. Thus the right order would have been to reinstate the judiciary and then let the judiciary handle the issue of Mr. ILLEGAL.
I am afraid that NS’ “hattrick” will bring us nowhere. I fear that he is making a (deliberate) mistake and may have to repeat the “hattrick” again, if he is around.
Shame on Pak Army…. Na-Pak army!
Na-Pak army sucks!
@c hussain
“All these people including Imran who say that impeachment would certify Musharraf status are living in cockoo’s land.. Can Imran tell me then how he would have managed Musharraf’s exit.”
As I do live in Pakistan, you might be right about the cuckoo’s land part. I think Imran had repeatedly said he would restore judiciary and let them do the rest. And I bet you had that been done, Mush’s exit would have been guaranteed with no need for these “impeachment” shenanigans.
“Secondly the major beneficiary of this NRO is not Zardari but MQM who hundreds of activists were involved in murder investigations – it is them who got scot free. Thats why Musharraf never revoked NRO.”
Wrong on that count by a long shot.
“by accepting British nationality he cannot be foreced back to Pakistan. ”
Wrong again. I know we do have an extradition treaty with UK — our government only needs the will to pursue it.
Interesting discussion. So many people here have many valid points. When you talk of indemnity, is there an indemnity to a ghareeb chor who had stolen, may be , 3000 rupees only, and he is in jail for more than one year just because he is not rich. When you talk of NRO, its not something against zardari alone or mqm, its a question of rule of law. Why no nro for all of us who have to pay our credit card payments, some of which only 2 to5 lackhs. I hope you agree with this.
We have made this NRO our law of the land. I feel bad when zardari comes under attack for NRO even having spent 8 years in jail. The answer is not NRO, answer is the real courts, who should give give him compensation if he is found not guilty and bring back money to the country which is stolen, whosoever is guilty, be it zardari or the agencies. Why give indemnity to Musharraf brokered by Army. Is it just because he was the head of army. Was Iftikhar chaudry not the head of the justice system when he was dragged on the roads. But the judges and the awam dont have guns. We need to try everyone, be it Chief of army staff, chief justice, president, prime minister, altaf hussain, nawaz sharif, zardari, imran khan or whoever, any politician, or any big gun.
When Imran khan cries about nro , I also feel irritated sometimes but there is a case behind it man. You need to do it if you stand for the rule of law. If zardari and altaf are not guilty they should establish a justice system which is fair and get a compensation. Lekin yahan kia karein, yahee iftikhar chaudry sahib pichley itney saaloun se insaf sahi bhi tou nahin kartey rahey. Abb sahi ho gaye hain, parr log pichley khaatey kaisey bandd kar dein.
Yaar yeh jo keh rahey hain ke jamhooriat aa gaee hai, jhoot hai. National security ke naam par har waqt marshal law laga hai. Chaar paanch jurnail hakoomat kar rahey h ain. Agencies are ruling. Achakzai is right.
Wait for a few more years before you see the real change. Kuch behtar ho gya hai aur bahut behtar hona baaki hai.
Please also read this from the same article:
At the time that impeachment proceedings were first mooted last week, some form of intervention was still seen as a possibility by the army. However, they have since retreated to a position of strict neutrality on the issue.
PTI rally in islamabd 14th august 2008 …. kisi channel ney coverage nahin diii … shame on media……
here are few pictures …
http://pkyouth.com/?p=86
Lets make sense. If we want to impeach, it should start from Yahya Khan and onword incudling Nawaz Sharif who supported Ziaul Haq and became millionaire in his regime. PPP already paid the price for Z A Bhutto and BB. This process will never end and our politicians are corrupt not army. They always provided opportunities to army to come and take over. Ideal example, current situation. Instead of addressing important issues of the counatry they want to impeach President that would result legal problems.
It is important to get rid of current leadership to save Pakistan.
Now that Mush is reported to be resigning today, time to revive this topic since it turned out to be true. The army has once again protected its own…
WSJ called it right to (Musharraf Set to Quit And Receive Immunity)