Capital Talk - 19 August 2008
Hamid Mir brings a fresh episode of Capital Talk with Aitzaz Ahsan, Attiya Inayatullah (PMLQ) and Ansar Abbasi.
Free Version
Please Login or Register to read the rest of this content.
![]() |
Email This Post |
Pakistan Politics |
Hamid Mir brings a fresh episode of Capital Talk with Aitzaz Ahsan, Attiya Inayatullah (PMLQ) and Ansar Abbasi.
Free Version
Please Login or Register to read the rest of this content.
![]() |
Email This Post |
Musharraf Ouster is good for the future of Pakistan.It will help to bring down the violence levels in NWFP and will reduce the interference of US in Pakistan As Mr. Shariff dont subscribe the America views.It will also pave the way for restoration of judiciary and Pakistan will move ahead and will be able concentrate on some of burning issue like rising inflation ,depleting foreign reserves,gowing unemployment,rising influence of talibanisation across the nation.
I am surprised with Mrs. Attiya (PML-Q). How they are showing their support now for judges. Where were they when Musharaf was in power. This is LOOTA party
Mr. Zardari is afraid that old judges will come and cancel NRO. Then he will be in trouble. He should act and reinstate the judges and win the hearts of People of pakistan. but instead all leaders are fighting for safe passage of Pervaiz Musharaf.
there is a sound problem, could you please fix it
JUDGES ko Bahal karo…….
Muree declaration nahi parhi…. WTF………. Who asked you not to read it if you weren’t invited? Lozerss
ANP fears that CJ will also expose them with MQM when 12 May case will be in his court…. They were also shown on TV with alot of guns and must have contributed with MQM Gundaaas in killings of innocent civilians of Karachi
FOR HAMID MIR AND ANSAR ABBASI
“jis fankaar kay fan ka hai shahkaar too
us ne sadyon teri takhleeq pe socha hoga”
GOD bless both of you and all the honest journalists
I am surparised that JUI and ANP are part of govt for six months now and they have never asked for the copy of declaration. Also it has been published in various news papers and still they say that they have never read it. What are they trying to prove here are we fool or what. What about Mr 10% statement which Ansar Abassi quoted “We dont want active judicialism” So Mr 10% wants a tamed judiciary then what is difference between him and mush.
@MqM-?
you think ANP fears? and the Fascist MqM doesn’t? i’ll put it another way…they have been told that if judiciary is restored…expect mqm to go wild in karachi…are the pakhtoons ready for war with the fascists in karachi>>??
did anyone hear the ‘we (3) are all pushtoon’ line….?????
this is what afsandyar wali khan…has gone back to his party for..
ofcourse the above is speculation…(ahem ahem)..
NRO NRO NRO….darya mein doob maro
http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/legislation/2007/NationalReconciliationOrdinance.html
the line i refer to….is from press questions..and was aired by geo..after the coalition meeting on judiciary today.
Missing Persons is the real reason why Zardari can’t restore the Judges.
Past and Present of AsfandYar Wali explained here
http://www.ummatpublication.com/cartoons942629427/index.php?album=/&image=80805.JPG
The Patomime is over. Qne actor is rendered surplus and dropped from scene and stage. We will perhaps, no more hear the words
“Enlightened Moderation.” Golden words but no evidence to show that he was really serious about it. But now we may hear nothing
of that kind.
The noise against action of any kind to beat the enemies of enlightenment is loud and clear. It is wrapped even in the silence about any action in quarters who have the destiny of this province-( Frontier)- in their hands and no more proof is required to belie their claim of being champions of the rights of this Province-( Frontier)-.
That spirit is buried with their valiant ancestors.
What we see is “remnants” interested in retention of power and security of a financial base, not for the province but for individuals. WE hear that -about the militants, a formidable threat around the corner, their apparent policy is to wait and see, with efforts to cultivate ,encourage and support influential maliks and khans to stand up in support of peace against militancy.
That, as we can judge,is a long-drawn process ,replete with imminent risk to those who are seen to be working with the Establishment.
In a similar attempt an inept administration had lost over a hundred of its loyalists in Waziristan. The militants are therefore quite an enigma .
They are no more mere ‘militants’.
They are, by the day, maturing into highly trained and highly equipped guerillas.
Their arms are equal to all that they encounter from this side.
Their tactics may be better.
Today, they are scared of air power, particularly gunship helicopters.
But if you sit with a Vietnam veteran he will say to you with confidence that wars are not won with military superiority. Our wise heads should get together and find the via-media.
Enlightenment is half a century away.
And that would be possible to come only if we realise that religion is just an accident of birth and education in, about and of religion is an embodiment of blind faith. Religion, however, is one of the top requirements of ‘Insaniat’.
Can we expect INSANIAT from those that frequent this web site.
i just can’t see judges re in statement from mr 10%. i wish these parties do they full 5 years and do not become political martyrs again.
@ Media Maven
Agreed. There’s more to this judges issue than just NRO, involving other players. This is a country of “deals”. I don’t think the judiciary will be restored without some kind of a deal with some quid pro quo (that they will not revive the missing persons cases etc.).
@Kafka8
Ahhhh what a lame excuse.
Asfandyar Wali wants to save ‘Pakhtoons’ FROM MQM Fascists so he doesn’t want Judges to be Restored.
Hahahahahahahahaha , ,,,, Oh My God… I can’t control my laughter….
Wat’s your age? Pal!
The judges will punishment Mr 10% regarding his corruption cases. Zardari is scared.
The PPP would prefer not to reinstate the former Chief Justice, Iftikhar Chaudhury, in case he overturns an amnesty granted by Mr Musharraf to Mr 10% last year.
who sez anp has a problem with it….or is afraid of the fascists….?? did u read that in what i wrote MM ? : )
Zardari thinks OUR COUNTRY PAKISTAN is his property, he mad his retarded son chairmna of ppp, himself co-chairman, now he is trying his sister to be made president of PAKISTAN.
“” Bilawal is saying I said, go and say at ur home, dont give ur lecture, u rebort.
“” ZARDARI WE GOT RID OF MUSH DISEASE NOW INSHALLAH WE WILL GET RID FROM UR FAMILY.”"”
PPPP LEADERSHIP IS GONE, u r zardari party, u will be going soon, get lo…st.
“” chalak dacoo, clever choor”"”
Hamid Mir should stop writting for Daily Jang and working for Geo TV.It has become a platform of dishonest people.I am presenting an evidence here.I recieved a mail forwarded to me by a freind in SAMA TV.This mail was actually written by Mr.Hassan to the CEO of Jang group who is owner of Geo TV.Here is the mail.
Dear Sir,
This is with reference to my telephonic conversation with this
afternoon, in the wake of Dr. Shahind Masood article in Daily Jang on
19 August in the wake of resignation of the President Pervez
Musharraf.
In his article, Dr. Shahid Masood adopted the version that he was
present in the president house during the President’s speech and he
was the person who organized the entire show.
I would like to clear that Dr. Shahid Masood’s article is based on
nothing but sheer lies and concocted facts. The fact is that he was
not at all present at the fourth floor of the President House where
President delivered his last address to the nation.
I am the eyewitness of the entire series of events; I remained in
President House from 10 am to 7 pm on 18th August. And as a Senior
Producer of Samaa Television I was invited to cover President’s
address to nation, and entire technical and production team of Samaa
Television was present there.
According to sources in President House, Dr. Shahid was first not
allowed to get in to the president house and when he manages to enter
the presidency along with PTV staff, he was not allowed to go to the
fourth floor from where President will be addressing the nation in
short time. Dr. Shahid remained confined to the office of Maj. Gen.
(R) Rashid Qureshi’s office at the third floor.
The reason why the president house invited a private TV channel to
telecast Presidential address live is that The Presidency could not
trust the PTV authorities as PTV did not run President’s speech live
on the eve of Independence Day celebrations. On that day (13th August)
it was only Samaa TV who broadcast President’s speech live, whereas
PTV adopted time delay method due to which other channels who were
depending on PTV feed were telecasting President’s speech 15 minutes
late, while Samaa was broadcasting President’s speech live. On that
occasion Dr. Shahid was present inside the banquet hall but he could
not do anything to make sure that President’s speech telecast live on
PTV.
The fact is that there were only three camera inside the President’s
office. The Samaa TV had its own camera inside and we installed our
camera at 11 am. The PTV Camera was installed about 12:30 pm and
almost at the same time Eastern Television News , The PTV one camera
belongs to Samaa TV, one camera
In his article Dr. Shahid falsely wrote that he was an eye witness to
the entire episode, I would like to clear certain facts that he
wrongly stated in his article.
He said he was the only journalist present there. Wrong, Dr. Shahid
was not there at all, I was there along with my host Uzma Alkarim who
later give live video beeper from the gallery of President house on
Samaa with me, and my Producer Adeel Ahmed was also there.
The address was telecast from President’s office not from the
committee room; if Dr. Shahid was there he should have known from
where the speech is going to be telecast.
His comments about the body language of President are baseless as he
was not there to see. The Present was smiling before the address and
he was looking very calm and peaceful.
He said President was reading points from one paper. Wrong, President
had few cards in his hands from which he was reading salient points.
He said that he recorded recitation of Holy Quran and announcement was
recorded earlier. Wrong again, the recitation of Holy Quran, was
broadcast live not recorded, even the announcement was broadcast live
not recorded from the gallery of President House just outside the
President’s office.
He said that flag was provided by PTV. Wrong, the flag was there as it
always remains there; the flag was there when I first entered the
President’s office at about 10 am 2 hours before the PTV crew arrived.
Soon after the address was over, I went into the office along with my
colleagues, the President was looking gloomy, however he did try to
smile when he saw me. The President first shook with my colleague Uzma
Alkarim, than with my Producers Adeel Ahmed and Moeen Khan and said
Khuda Hafiz to everyone one by one. Than he moved towards me and said
“Khuda hafiz and Thank You Sir”. He tried to give a smile but failed
to hide his gloomy face. At that time Uzma Alkarim said “Sir, please
don’t worry lots of people are with you”. “I Know” the President
replied in a gloomy voice. After that he immediately left the room as
Mr. Rashid Qureshi told him that Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice
Abdul Hameed Dogar is waiting to meet him.
There was no tea served in his office at all at that particular time.
I don’t know how why Dr. Shahid Masood wrote this article which
contains sheer lies. Dr. Shahid Masood was not present there at all;
he never met the outgoing President before or after the address. I am
the eyewitness to entire event and my technical and production teams
are witness to the event that Dr. Shahid masood was not there.
I wish the Jang group should have at least confirmed from the other
sources that whatever that Doctor turned host turn MD PTV has written
contains truth or not.
I remember once he said to me in Dubai while having a cup of coffee in
Dubai Media City infact one of the senior Jang group’s correspondent
was there that he is actually an intruder in the field of journalism
and today he has once again proved that he is not a journalist but an
intruder in the journalistic community.
Hassan Kazmi
Snr. Producer,
SAMA TV.
Come one guys, do’not be impatient….Sabarun-Jamil is best thing to do, InshaAllah Judiciary shall be restored
Still, I’m for keeping the pressure in a democratic way. I suggest that on one side members of Senate and National Assembly raise the issue in the houses such that a debate starts in Parliment & elected people take the charge and the matter goes beyound likes and dislikes of individulas.
On the other side lawyers, civil society and media keep the pressure in proper and polite way.
ANP never participated in the voilence of 12th May they have one agenda n thats is No Kalabagh dam n No punjabi establishment n that we want our rights for the ppl of Pukhtoonkhwa which is isnt wrong but i know most of the ppl are scared of ANP bcos ANP reminds them of Pukhtoonistan movement we cant run pakistan like this one province in dominance and the rest of the country’s rights are been hold by them we are pakistanis but we want our rights n we will get our rights INSHALLAH but neva compare ANP with MQM cos our leaders are in pakistan nt in London they aint terrorist n they r the part of collation goveronment
ANP and JI are the 2 most Democratic Parties in Pakistan…..
Having said that, JI has a very islamofascist agenda….and has a history of riding on a dicatator’s back in the past.
ANP on the other hand had always been clean, to the point and stood against all dictators….be it Zia or Musharraf. Contrary to what the establishment, or ISI or army would tell you, ANP is NOT a pakistan hating party.
Last but not least, all you friggin whiners should shuck the F up…stay back and RELAX….It’s called “POLITICS” for a friggin reason….things take time….things take solicitation…discussion…conversation….negotiation…etc. Judges WILL be restored in due time.
Give the democratic forces their due time……if after 5 years they don’t deliver….you have every friggin right not to vote for them again.
Also, Nawaz Sharif is ONLY playing with People’s Emotions….
Pakistani people (muslims from the sub-continent in general) are very stoopidly emotional….
The very same King fuking Abdullah that bailed Nawaz Sharif, 8 years ago, is bailing Musharraf and telling everyone that if you think you can put Musharraf on Trial, you can suck my oil-dripping billion dollar c0ck!
So here, lick this Oil and shut the F up!
it is a good thing that musharraf resigned . i belong to AK and i wonder why no media covers the injustice in azad kashmir supreme court where an adhoc judge who was not even the judge of supreme court was appointed as a chief justice how can people expect justice from a person who couldnt even justice within the court hope fully media will take notice of this issueand highlite it on its preiority.
In my openion, new President must be either from Baluchistan, one of former Justice of 3rd Nov’s Judiciary . According to charter of democracy the prsident should be from opposition but now both parties are in govt. thats why they are again greedy and going against charter of democracy.
Although I’m for moving away from the provincial system and going for a new social contract where the power is decentralised; still in current situation Baluchistan needs to be brought in to main/ national stream.
I’m myself originally from the province, therefore not in favour of Sardars, Mirs and for progressive forces; but unfortunately the progressive nationalist have gone in to the laps of these Sardards, Mirs…
We sure need a political heavy weight NOT just a symbolic rep like one from Judiciary or beurucracy, to have the Right reconcialatory effect.
So we have a dilemma of choosing a right person from these tribal chiefs who these days unfortunately are leading prossives parties as well as resistance movements in Baluchistan, but they are kind of people who stick to status quo, maintaining their own supermecy and using their people as disposable commodities.
True face of ANP… there is no difference between ANP, PPP or Fazlus politics.
ANP has just realized that its wrong to reintsate november 2 judiciary!!
SHAME ON THEM..
volume problem
@jamil
“there is no difference between ANP, PPP or Fazlus politics. ANP has just realized that its wrong to reintsate november 2 judiciary!!”
I think they have been saying that from day one alongside PPP….you just weren’t paying attention. Good that you finally realize there is no difference between the three. Why do you thik MQM loves them?
[...] and shrugged it off more in the line of just another reactionary column. Had it not been the email by a producer of Samaa TV who also claims to have been at the Presidency and in fact refutes all of [...]
There is a punjabi saying and that completely fits with ANP stance:
“Bhookay Jat Katora Laba, Pani Pee Pee Aphraya”
They have first time a CM in NWFP and they want that there Govt. remain intact on every case, so they have to sing in chorous with their coalation partner of NWFP i.e PPP…
everybody is same when in power it is ANP or MMA or XYZ….Asfand Yar makes lot of statements about “Nizam Change” Justice, Haqooq and now he is willing to compromise everything and to make their coalation partner PPP happy…..It is all Top Drama …
PML (N) was in GOvt. two times before so they are not so much power hungry as ANP which have first time a CM in NWFP.. PML (N) knows that they are in “win win situation” ..in any case their popularity remains high .. and if they do not compromise in Judges issue then they will clean sweep in next election.. even in NWFP they will win many seats (in past they were majority party NWFP also)….while ANP thinks that it is their first and last chance and they want to enjoy power corridors and cant speak against their partner PPP
It is pathetic that Bilawal will be making the key decisions of Pakistan, who has no idea how pk politics work, who has never lived in pakistan, who can not speak our mother language.
what talent he has got, just son of BB.
WHAT THE HELL………………………………….
@Sleepingnation
“”There is a punjabi saying and that completely fits with ANP stance:
“Bhookay Jat Katora Laba, Pani Pee Pee Aphraya”
They have first time a CM in NWFP and they want that there Govt. remain intact on every case, so they have to sing in chorous with their coalation partner of NWFP i.e PPP…”"
Lets keep the record straight….ANP has never been power hungry… In the last two terms of Nawaz sharif…ANP was in majority in NWFP but inspite of ANP majority, Wali Khan accpeted a coalition govt in NWFP with Nawaz sharif…And accepted Sardar Mehtab Abbasi and then Pir Sabir Shah…They just demanded provincial autonomy and change of name of NWFP with Pukhtoonkhwa….But Nawaz Sharif couldn,t do that.
In 1970( first free and fair election of Pakistan) ANP was in power in two provinces (NWFP and Balochistan)…..Going further back….Dr. Khan Sahib, the elder brother of Bacha khan and the Uncle of Khan Abdul Wali Khan, remain the Chief Minister of NWFP for three times ( First time,1935 elections) , (2nd time 1946 elections) and third time 1954. Dr. Khan sahib was then killed in Lahore. Dr Khan sahib government in their times was in absolute majority, not a coalition one.
To add further: ANP has never been part of any care-taker government and never ever supported any dictator. Please read history before making any serious comments.
Videos Shows