Zardari Becomes President of Pakistan

Pakistan People

323 Comments »

Let see what changes pakistan will have and which way Pakistan will go.

2. comment-top comment-bottom

Zinda Hay Bhutto Zinda Hay

Lpng Live Democracy

So when President Mr. Asif Ali Zardari are taking oath of his office and who is in the guest list. Also are we allowed to raise following slogans in the presidential house or is it against the decorum?
    aur haan aiwan-e-sadar mein bhangra daalnay kee ijazat ha ya nahi?

Bhutto day naaray wajjan gay
    Zinda hai BB zinda hay
    Tum kitnay bhutto maaroo gay
    aiwan-e-sadar say bhutton niklay ga

what is the point of oath when he is not going to follow it anyway

PPP now has absolute power (kun fa ya kun). They have their PM, President and Chief Justice. Zardari has become the most powerful person in the history of Pakistan. He has out smarted all other politicians. In my view, people got what they deserve.

@calypse
    your statement is true for the establishment goons , for the elected president following is truer..
    what is the point of verbal oath when he has taken the same oath by heart…

8. true_blue_pakistani Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 12:02 pm

THE DARKEST DAY IN THE HISTORY OF PAKISTAN

9. true_blue_pakistani Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 12:02 pm

WHERE IS OUR KHUMEINI?????

From the hubby/widower of BB to President of Pakistan.

He has to wait 21 years to find his own identity on the graves of his wife, brother-in-law & father-in-law.

Now we should better start asking for forgiveness as we are so are our leaders…
    This is the darkest day i the histry of Pakistan n no she will shattr in pieces.

@calyps
    what is the point of oath when he is not going to follow it anyway

lolz!!!!well said…..very right…..

DARKEST DAY IN THE HISTORY OF PAKISTAN……

There is no need to depress our selves everyone. Its not as bad. Zardari was as powerful before now only his responsiblites have increased. But if you want democracy then we have to go by the standards of democracy. That is civility, acceptance, etc. And learn to live within a system even if we dont like it.

http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9B07E0D8123CF932A15752C0A9679C8B63

2000 US General Election
    George Bush: 47.9%
    Al Gore: 48.4%

Shall I say any more. This is democracy. Do you want it?

Congrats to Pakistani nation on taking another step toward transition to full democracy!

A gaya bhai a gaya zardari cheeemi a gaya
    Cha gaya bhai Cha gaya Janjal poora cha gaya

17. missing_pakistan Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 12:35 pm

Inna lillahe wa inna ilahe rajioon!

@Sana
    And God said, “You messing with me, p!gs? I’ll show you what messing around really is!” :)

@maikolachi
    “George Bush: 47.9%
    Al Gore: 48.4%
    Shall I say any more. This is democracy. Do you want it?”

First of all you are making the faulty assumption that Al Gore would have some how been better. No this is not democracy. This is selection by electoral college or else Al Gore would be president today. And we already have it worst:

Zardari popular vote: 0.0000%
    S Siddiqu: 0.0000%
    Mushahid: 0.0000%

So, no thank you :)

Lovethe SkyNews headline:
    Bhutto’s Widow Wins Presidency

Zardari popular vote: 0.0000%
    S Siddiqu: 0.0000%
    Mushahid: 0.0000%

very Weldon my friend…..i agree with u……

Despite being totally against Zardari, i dont think its as bad as people are making it. Afterall he is given majority vote.

On the other hand, what is neglected in all this process is actually one of the worst incidences in Pakistan history i.e. oath of SC judges. Now noone in Pakistan will have courage to stand against dictators.

These respectable judges have literally been humiliated. And we have yet again proved that boot licking is always held in high esteem.

23. comment-top comment-bottom
  24. Adnan Arshad Mansoori Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 12:54 pm

Congratulation, Jubilation as Clif Richard Sang but as famous saying also in URDU “ABHI IMTHAN AUR BHI HAIN” as anaylists are clearly saying this was democratic process which is to be any how & any manner resolved but the major point to ponder is within just 6 to 7 months tentatively liking or disliking of the nation before the PPP as all the absolute power are being enjoyed by this Party. Time will tell ABSOLUTE POWER IS PROVED ABSOLUTE CORRUPT OR SOMETHING POSITIVE MEASURES ARE GOING TO BE PERFORMED.

It reminds me ex president’s last words ” PAKISTAN KA ALLAH HAFIZ”

26. comment-top comment-bottom
  27. pakistani2008 Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 1:17 pm

once a cheater always a cheater

Instead of being negative on Zardari, I am sure most people who come here and post are pro democratic, so guys lets be happy because he has been elected by the majority and we have to accept the majority’s decision.

Congratulation Asif for being the democratic president of Pakistan, I wish him best of luck!!

29. pakistani2008 Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 1:29 pm

what do expect from the black sheep of the PPP???

Definitely the darkest day in the history of Pakistan second only to fall of Dhaka. It is such a shame, the country desereved better, much better.

Alas, we missed the bus again!!!!

Meri qaum ne khudkashi ka faisla bohat sooch samajh kar kiya hai.

Look at Millions dancing in streets. I will not come back to help such a stupid nation. I advise same to all of you. This nation deserves such ba$$$tard.

Fools rush in where angels fear to tread(walk).

Quran says Allah imposes on you rulers which resemble you

@sic5770
    “he has been elected by the majority ”

No matter how many times you repeat this lie, it will continue to be a LIE! :)

33. shafiqahmed Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 1:35 pm

BRIGHTER DAYS TO COME from Sunday forecasted, if Saturday was termed as the Darkest day by some …

Let’s hope that the WORST is OVER !

Work TOGETHER for Progress of Pakistan, not against each other.

We need to Think and CONTRIBUTE Positively and Constructively to stand against OUTSIDE forces.

TOGETHER we STAND, divided we FALL.

Good Luck to a NEW, democratic Pakistan!

sic5770

He is definitely elected democratically, however he will still not be constitutional head of State by virtue of taking oath from Doggar, the illegal occupier of Supreme Court. And most people who come here and 86% Pakistanis overall do not consider Doggar a constitutional CJ. Therefor, we should also accept this majority’s decision.

According to a recent poll 87% of Pakistanis want to see Iftikhar Chaudhry (IMC) restored as the CJ of Pakistan. That puts AZ’s approval rating at 13%.

The mandate of current assemblies is slipping fast. By the end of the year it would have expired completely as the approval numbers will slip into single digits.

Pakistan is anything but a democrarcy. Once MNAs/MPAs are elected they tell people to shut up and do as they feel, like Q-league and PPP. They should have respected the mandate of the people who elected these people to restore the CJP Iftikhar Chaudhry. 170 million people of Pakistan have been robbed by AZ and PPP who have refused honor the aspirations of the people.

USA approval for Zardari?

The elevation of Mr. Zardari to the presidency, where he will have great powers, including the ability to dissolve Parliament and name the head of the Pakistani Army, comes with the tacit approval of the United States.

Mr. Zardari has promised a tougher fight against the Taliban and Al Qaeda extremists ensconced in the nation’s tribal areas, from which they mount assaults on American and NATO troops fighting in Afghanistan.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/07/world/asia/07zardari.html?_r=1&hp&oref=slogin

I am not pro PPP, pro Zardari ( In fact, I hate all feudals), but I still support Zardari because he has been elected by the people who were choosen by the people of Pakistan.

MQM must have set the record by giving their votes to two different presidents within one year.

anyone knows what %age votes Ghaddari got from Punjab Assembley? as this will determine whether PPP will form govt in punjab too?

AZ defeated in Punjab, gets 22/65 electoral college votes, he just got 33% of the votes in Punjab assembly.

@someone
    Mr. Zardari has promised a tougher fight against the Taliban and Al Qaeda extremists ensconced in the nation

41. Honest Paki Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 1:48 pm

Well whatever people say but we have to accept that Zardari is president of Pakistan.

He got more than 90% of votes in 3 provinces … may be people dont like him but people might have voted him because they hate the other party more than him.

I am happy because now NS will shut his mouth forever …

Zardari got 123 and Saeed 201 and Mushahid 36. Hope that makes it clear.

@kruman

@sic,
    You have no idea what democracy is. This is not democracy, it is a sham democracy. 87% want IMC restored as CJ of Pakistan. Only 13% people approve of AZ. And yet the ‘elected representatives’ refuse to heed the voice of the people.

Dacoit AZ trounced in Punjab:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7600917.stm

Only secures a shameful 33%. Enters the pres house with a 13% approval rating. Hence one can say that where Musharraf ended, AZ is already there at the start of his tenure.

46. amajid.malik Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 1:55 pm

Good Luck Pakistan :)

47. RoshanKhiyal Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 1:56 pm

The headline here should be Bhutto’s widower become president of Pakistan not Zardari become president of Pakistan. Who is zardari.

Soon we will be hearing the slogans

Zinda hai BB zinda hay
    Zinda hai Zardari Zinda hay

and after few more years..

Zinda hai BB zinda hay
    Zinda hai Zardari Zinda hay
    Zinda hai Bilawal Zinda hay

I guess the jiyalas have no answer to the 13% approval rating for Asif Zardari.

Sorry to have spoiled your celebrations.

49. Honest Paki Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 2:03 pm

Why dont you guys open a forum and sing a song of Sharif brothers. You only see posts against Mush, MQM, PPP, Mullahs, ANP and all political parties except one …

Are you doing good to Pakistan by speaking against elected representitives all the time.

Its pity for you guys but good for Pakistan that Nawaz Sharif is only popular in Punjab ..

The most corrupt and mentally sick became the president of Pakistan

What else could be more unfortunate for a country when an under graduate person, who looted this country the most and who is suffering from dementia becomes its president by design.

DW pointed out long time ago that the up-and-coming PPP emperor was not by chance. It was by design. Nawaz Sharif was not acceptable at all. That’s why he was overthrown in the first place. Benazir knew too much and she couldn’t keep her mouth shut. Zardari was the option with many weaknesses to exploit and blackmail. The game plan started when the modern day colonialists realized that Mush cannot serve them any more as the army chief. The hands behind the plot to have rulers of the choice of UK and US was confirmed by July 29, 2007.

Benazir returned. She was silenced for ever. A wave of sympathy was generated for PPP. Morarchial nature of PPP was known and used to promote Zardari. Nawaz was delibrately kept out of elections. Imran and more than 30 other parties decided not to join the shame elections which were meant to legitimize Musharraf’s illegal and unconstitutional measures. It was absolutely not a levelled playing field for any political party. PPP was given a huge advantage, knowing full well that Benazir was not around and Zardari’s criminal past and his opportunistic nature could be exploited to the most in the coming days.

The reason Zardari sought presidency was evident. His credibility in Pakistan hit bottom rock. Soon after his retunr to Pakistan, Zardari started showing his colors. Zardari took a start with lies and deception and went to the extent of lying on the Quran in the short run to presidency.

There was no sympathy wave for Banazir, according to a survey when she made a deal with the tyrant. She was considered a collaborator rather than a democrat. One of her objectives to strike a deal with Mush was to unfreeze the millions of dollars in Swiss accounts. That is what the Musharraf regime did soon after. If a playing field was provided to Benazir and Nawaz, she would not have done better at all. Even an election TODAY will expose the myth of PPP’s majority and mandate.

CIA/Mossad Ambitions Behind Bhutto Assassination were not hidden. Mush- Benazir deal was predicted to produce

A poet from Pakistan writes

@Kruman
    jyalas know well that they have just about 13% approval…..but

like their new leader they dont care about what people think…at the end of the day they have achieved presidency by US support not the support of people of pakistan…and sadly they seems to be proud of that!

53. comment-top

those jyalas who are still shouting

‘Zinda hai BB zinda hay’

in case they dont realise she died about 6 months ago? and her Qatil are still at large….may be in and around the presidency!

54. comment-top

This is so depressing!Aggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhh! sorry folks just felt like screaming!..our President? such a slime ball ..Bibi will be turning in her grave..I dont think she wanted him to be a part of all this..my apologies I meant to say Shaheed mohtarma… Kinda got stuck in my throat..Agggggggghhhhhhhh!okay now throat cleared..thank God there’s noone around to see why I’ve become mental!What is going to happen to Pakistan ?And here I bring you back to the point..how depressing!

55. comment-top

in these news it appears Daku Ghaddari will keep 2 posts…firstly co-chair of ZPP and secondly as President of Pakistan

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=54388

56. comment-top

NS lovers have wonderful logical mind: If 87% are for re-instating the former CJP then only 13% approve of Zardari! lol! Sour losers!

By the way Parliament, including all provincial assemblies, are reflective of people’s will and mandate. Wait for next 5 years to prove them wrong. Until then as of now, PMLN has only 22% of approval (and that too in almost exclusively in Punjab) while Zardari has almost 70% approval. Now THAT is actually based on facts of democracy.
    I am enjoying the day. I guess NS lovers are wishing for a military coup?!

57. comment-top

So what happened to the zameer of our baigarat Shahs, Gillanis, Syeds etc politicians when they voted for Mr. 10%, Mr. NRO, a person from whom BB was keeping a distance for many years - she did not want him to take part in politics - she did not award him a seat in Pakistan to contest elections!!!

Let’s see how he provides Rooti, Kapra aur Makan to the ‘ghareeb’ awam whose $2billion he has eaten without a dakkar. He claimed that he did not got a vote on judiciary so let’s see now what was his agenda!

A sad day in PPPs history!

58. BringMusharrafbackIguess Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 3:03 pm

This guy is not only incompetent, he is also a liar, a thief and in a true sense of word ‘malicious’.

I can only pray for this country. We all hated Musharraf even for the good that he did and now we have this guy who does’nt know a word about the economy and foreign affairs . He is following Musharraf’s policies in the frontier west province and tribal areas and Pakistan is being DICTATED more than ever under his goofy prime minister… what a sad day for us all..

59. comment-top

Today goodness and virtue is defeted and evil and injustice has won, how sad is this to watch and expirence that a criminal become a head of the state.

This is Pakistan , Oh People this is Pakistan

60. Amir Hameed Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 3:18 pm

So, the supreme wh0re of ZPP, Zardari, has now officially become the supreme wh0re of Pakistan:-).

Ladies and gentlemen, please start taking your money and jewelary out of the banks because any valueable items that you have secured in the banks would be much safer in your own homes.

61. BringMusharrafbackIguess Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 3:23 pm

Zardari Lotera hai hai

62. comment-top

Sad day, one of the darkest days in Pakistan’s history. Zardari ghaddari bud kiradri.

63. comment-top

Congratulations to Zardari and his supporters!!!
    The worst that we can do at this time to is go so far in our opposition to PPP/Zaradri as to become nostalgic for the military rule.
    I hope that any one who calls him/herself a democratic would realise that for democracy to mature we must give it time. There will be times when it will appear that alternates to democracy are better. But, modern history has shown that in the long run democracy is the best system we can have.
    Yes, by all means carry on the criticisms, put legitimate pressure, ask questions, even come on the streets and show your dispapproval of decisions nad policies but do not derail democarcy.
    Pakistan today needs more not less democracy, even if it is weak and vulnerable.

all2human

64. comment-top

People chose PPP so people willingly chose this death. I bet PPP will remain in power for long time. 20% educated sensible people will suffer thanks to illiterate majority that keeps voting for PPP.
    One day Imran khan will get chance to bat in 50th over with 30 runs to win. It will be too late by then. Ahhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!

65. Tauqeer Akbar Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 3:52 pm

The promise of roti Kapra and Makan shall be fulfilled.

There will be plenty of rotis bought with the swiss fund! Same goes with Kapra and Presidency is not a bad place for Makan especially when it is with the establishment and US support. Never mind the (100% - 13% ) pakis. They dont deserve any better.

Khomini is coming and lets wait for the day.

As “somone” once said PAKISTAN KA ALLAH he HAFIZ. Sounds like a saint!!!! Must be having a laugh!

66. comment-top

I hate the guy but lets hope it brings some stability and eliminates uncertainty.

67. comment-top

HAHAHA! this is just too good. you know when I went to Pakistan last summer, I was brainwashed by GEO TV into buying the Lal Masjid incident. I hated Musharraf’s guts, but now after democracy has arrived, i realize the GEO TV has spread fitna and fasaad in Pakistan and brought Zardari into power.

where is the judiciary? I know, they’ve sold themselves! where is Aitzaz Ahsan? I know, he lied! where is jamhooriat? I know, Zardari is the people’s mandate! congratulations everybody, the people of Pakistan will never even think about democracy again after the next coup!

68. comment-top

^^^am I the only one who can see my comment? or has a mod deleted it?

69. comment-top

Pakistan deserves better but Awaam do NOT. How dare 11 Million people drink PPP-poison and later blame Allah for result.
    Pata nahi Allah hamari dua kion nahi sunta.

70. comment-top

@RoshanKhiyal
    “The headline here should be Bhutto

71. Ahmed Khawaja Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 4:25 pm

jo Quran se mukar jaatay hein unhein oath se kiya faraq parta hai… moreover i feel ashamed and weird in saying… sadar-e-mumlikat Asif ali zardari.. .. wtf… i never thought it could possibly happen… nightmare coming true..

72. comment-top

congratulations, democracy just kicked in!

73. comment-top

Haha I just want to laugh at you miserable non-thankful Pakistanis… Kabhi khush na hona, har waqt mari hui baat karna… Everyone is bad isnt? Zardari bad, Saeed u zaman bad, Nawaz bad, PML-Q every one is bad… have you got any sense of ? Have you got a decision power? Or are you khotay? This is clean democracy… He won, and I would so prefer a civil dictator than a military zionist.

PPP have acheived a small goal, but in the long term they will suffer and if President Zardari continues to act the way he is, then the solgan would be ”ab nahi niklay ga phir bhutto, tum saray bhutto maar gaye” That would be the end of PPP and their so called naray baazi. I beleive in political system, let him play, inshahallah when zionist Generals couldnt ruin Pakistan I dont think he will do much.

There will be chance for everyone, and please Pakistanio learn the difference between good and bad… Within minutes one man is hero and the other is zero. I beleive a lot of political parties in Pakistan will loose out including MQM, ANP & JUI-F… I beleive PML-N will acheive alot from it, they were successful in Punjab, Zardari couldnt show strength there.

We all know he is a bad man, but he is a president now and through democracy. You want to defeat him you defeat him democratically. In my views PML-N are playing very defensive and smart. I was glad that they did not shake hands with PML-Q as the party is breaking without a need of hammer or dollar (in Zardari’s case lol)

74. comment-top

Baat Too Sach Hay….Magar…Baat hay Ruswayee Ki.

75. Munir Solangi Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 4:53 pm

Sindh Assembly gave 100 percent votes to the person you hate

B

76. comment-top

@H.K.Afridi
    People of Pakistan have vert short memory.Zardari’s popularity will not stay more than a year and propaganda will take over every thing.Look at NS 2/3 majority in the Parliament and what happend just after two years.Not only this but when NS was sent back to Saudi Arabia from Islamabad Airport,Not even a single person came out in the streets of Lahore to protest(As per BBC).NS is not playing cards wisely (IMO).
    He even does not know what the politics is.
    Any way,AZ is democratically elected president now and he has a chance to clear peoples mind about his misperception.I beleive all these three are same i.e. NS,Chaudaries and Zardari.
    Imran Khan should be given a chance.

77. Munir Solangi Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 4:55 pm

Baluchistan and NWFP also voted for Zardari

National Assembly and Senate also voted for Zardari

What else you want?

I think you people don’t believe in democracy you are mini dictators

78. comment-top

Congratulations citizens. Now we have elected a illiterate convict as our President!

Time to consider that even a President should be chosen by the people. One man one vote. Not the thieves that we have in our Parliment. It shows again they will sell there own mothers to stay in power.

79. antiliberal Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 5:04 pm

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Today I feel ashamed to be a Pakistani although it would be worthwhile to ponder, have we gotten what we deserve?

Being an overseas Pakistani, today I am more than willing to renounce my Pakistani citizenship.

*hangs head in shame and stomps the green passport…*

80. comment-top

BB gave many gift’s to Zardari and the BB’s last gift was NRO for Zardari. BB was a good housewife, she done a lot for her husband.Even she sacrifice her life for Zardari. Pheechay Rah Gyaee Yee Awam Joo Ye Sab Tamasha Daikhtee Rahi.

81. comment-top

Today it was a defeat of Establishment,Zia Bakiat and Yellow Journalism.

82. comment-top

Another darkest day for Ziaist murderers.

Nation has spoken through their elected representatives against. These children of Yazeed cannot listen the voice of people.

They should go and see people spitting in JABRA CHOWK despite being in the centre of Ziast stronghold. In contrast go to remote desert village of Ghari Khuda Baksh and graves of Bhutto are alive.

Sadiq Ashq Jinhan Day Bahoo
    Qabr Unhan Di Jeevay

TUM KITNAY BHUTTO MAARO GAY - HER GHAR SAY BHUTTO NIKLAY GA

83. comment-top

BHAIYO KHABAR HAI KEH ISLAMABAD MAIN ZALZALW KE JHATKE MEHSOOS KIYE GAI HAIN

84. Muzaffar Mansoor Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 6:09 pm

MR HUNDRED PERCENT [100%] PAKISTAN
    Muzaffar Mansoor
    Solicitor of the Supreme Court of England & Wales

Congratulations to Mr Asif Zardari who in spite of several odds and opposition has today proved to be Mr 100% Pakistan by land slide victory all over Pakistan as a new elected president of Pakistan. He has therefore binned the allegations of Mr 10% and or 20% all together.

One learns from experience and repentance if Mr Zardari has done so it is too good for Pakistan and its teaming population and if he continues playing tricks and or betraying as often alleged by opposition and coalition partners no good for Pakistan.

Mr 100% along with his PPP has repeatedly promised to re-establish 1973 Constitution in its original form and guarantee independence of Judiciary. As this is a desire of every Pakistani that he / she be treated equally as a citizen of Pakistan. This no doubt could be achieved unless there is the rule of law and respect of the judiciary and justice system based on equality as a citizen and no one above the law in Pakistan. To achieve this there is a greater need for the respect of each others

85. comment-top

If Muhmad Shah Rangeela could become king of India then why not Zardari.

But one thing I am very happy about today is that Punjab gave him only 33 percent votes. Mr Zardari the majority of the majority province have rejected you and you would never be able to say that you represent the federation of Pakistan. In fact you would never be federation of Pakistan.

To all those MNAs MPAs and Senators who voted for Zardari - Allah would never forgive you for sealing the fate of Pakistan and bringing the darkest day to this nation. You dont realise that today you have laid the first brick of break up of Pakistan.

Allah ki Laanat ho on all those who voted for Zardari - shame on you all.

86. comment-top

Baluch and Pashtun and Sindhi all the time cry that they havent been given the rights and now they have helped to elect a person who is worse person for this seat. No doubt they are still being ruled by Waderas, Sardars and Maliks - and they dont care about Pakistan. Only Punjab showed wisdom today in not voting for this snake.

If now economy goes down and law and order becomes worse then these very provinces would be responsible and now they neither blame Pakistan Army nor Punjab at all.

87. comment-top

c hussain

sorry to say bro, i can smell regionalism in your comments, very bad, hamid mir rightly pointed out that in his programe today. Punjab always have different tendencies then the rest of pakistan. for a fact 90% of corrupt population belongs to punjab, whether they are police, bureaucracy, military etc etc, yet they still claim to be pious and righteous. Even from the Dhaka fall they haven’t learned anything. The guy with a new hairdo who was corupt of corrupt came back and started yelling judiciary judiciary but do he believe in judiciary? never. two of the prime minister one sitting and one ex were killed in punjab, was it a coincedance?. I think Punjab is the greatest supporter of dictatorship as yesterday and today SMS campaign was launched against zardari.

very bad very bad.

88. comment-top

@chussain,
    Urban Punjab is not Mama of Paklistan. Zardari got a large number of votes from Punjab too. His votes from Punjab (combined) are much more than other candidates.

The stinking thinking of Punjabi elite is extremely racist and class centric. They never accepted mandate of Bengalies who were majority, how can they accept smaller provinces and Kashmir?

Punjabi elite never accepted the mandate of Punjab in past. Bhutto Shaheed had a huge base in urban Punjab. Did Punjabi elite in business and establishment accet that mandate? PPP is still very strong in Punjab. Zia and then GIK, NS, Mush took 30 years of lies and propaganda to twist minds of Punjabies. I hope in next few years PPP will get its position back in Punjab as well.

BTW: I am a Punjabi nationalist but that does not mean I am superior to Sindhies, Kashmiries, Balochies and Pathans.

President Zardari has shown that he has a strong support from every part of the federation. That makes him a true leader of the nation.

89. comment-top

@mynewpc

“BHAIYO KHABAR HAI KEH ISLAMABAD MAIN ZALZALW KE JHATKE MEHSOOS KIYE GAI HAIN”

Establishment and Ziaists are shaking with fear.

KISS SHER KI AAMID HAY KEH RUN KAANP RAHA HAY

90. comment-top

@ManglaBaba
    Quote ‘I am a Punjabi nationalist…….’

bro sounds like u r from indian punjab? amratsar is it? sardars?

91. comment-top

Future of remaining Pakistan is cloudy.Non of the candidate is fit to become the President of Pakistan. Selection or election of presidential candidate through Senate, National & Provincial Assemblies resulted due to lack of unity among the punjabis.Zardari’s image & character is controversial within and out of country. So I can not expect any good from PPPP.Nation should get ready to face some think like DUM-A-DUM MUST QALANDER or for a revolution

92. comment-top

@MalangBaba

do you have any sense any rational in your comments? why are jiyalas behave like mad dogs?

when ur senses will restore then rethink about ziaism and then it will be reveal to you (if u have a hint of sense and rational) that the only part that supported ziaism, dictatorship is your party… ur party betrayed with the people of pakistan by:

1- not restoring the judiciary
    2- accepting the Dogar as the CJ
    3- trying to indemnify Mush
    4- allowing US forces to kill people of pakistan in our own teritory.

please for God sake… stop chanting those ugly and useless slogans and come up with something rational… in my eyes all PPPPz people are corrupt and betrayers like ur co-chairman who made promise in the presence of Quran and then betrayed blatantly… what a shameless character you and ur party has…

and do you think that “Urban Punjab is not Mama of Paklistan.” is not a racist statement?

93. comment-top

From 10% to 100%. Ascent of a President
    Nuclear-Armed Pakistan found their 12th president in the shape of consistently deceiving and heroic corrupt figure of slain Bhutto widower Asif Ali Zardari.

94. Dr. Ahteram Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 7:34 pm

BREAKING NEWS::
    “Pakistani Nukes for SALE in international underground market as a gambler takes over the presidency in pakistan”
    ab pakistan ka allah hi hafiz

95. Dr. Ahteram Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 7:36 pm

now u should know who assassinated BB and hijack a nation-wide political party.

96. comment-top

@nota, @jinara,

You are missing the point my friend. The point is

To be magnanimous in defeat and to live within the system even though sometimes the system is not working correctly.

Most people on this site really do not want democracy, I think they just want NS there. The person who went through all the trouble to remove the 8th amendment so he could appoint the service chiefs and then with his first appointment he gave us Musharraf. You figure.

480 votes by the elected representatives, what else do you want.

97. mansoor chaudhry Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 7:41 pm

friends why we don’t look in other way. zardari’s presidency is blessing in disguise.if he proves himself good for pakistan, its good otherwise this is the last chance for ppp to come in power he won’t be able to enjoy his time by playing polo or the rest things he used to do.lets be vigilent and he is not a sacred cow we can grab him any time.

98. comment-top

Behind the curtain who is pleading Asif Zardari

99. comment-top

@mansoor chaudhry

you are under estimating the jiyalas my friend. They will always vote for PPPP no matter whatever happens :D

100. bullet_zone Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 7:58 pm

when u see Zardari, and when he is smiling, it shows “No Mercy” might it my misunderstanding, or its really looks like that. What i think i will not let anybody live. All his opposition will be in Jail or in grave. you will see.
    Allah forbid.

101. comment-top

@mansoor, agree 100%. Let him produce and let him run the country for a full five years.

@mya, the only reason there are these jiyalas is becuase of the victim mentality of the PPP. They are put in jail, get someone killed of their own. And that is their biggest qualification.

102. comment-top

congrtulations to all democracy lovers.

103. comment-top

does any one know if NS has congratulated Mr. Zardari?

104. comment-top

Let us see if democracy succeeds this time.County is in a mess as usual. Every tomorrow is worst than yesterday. Nawaz tried desperately for the ppp government to fail by being in and out and wild threats. PPP must now work alone and should never trust Nawaz. Hamid Mir seems to be supporting Imran again and again. Imran is a failed politician. He said enough nonsense against Zardari. Hamid Mir has biased opining and the way of his questioning is supportive to theones he like. Bad for impartial journalism.

God save Pakistan from Talibans and Fundamentalist.

105. bechari-awam Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 8:27 pm

I don’t like AZ but I accept him to be a legitimate president of Pakistan and unlike those FA pass second divisioner generals he didn’t use tanks to occupy that slot. I also have many doubts about his abilities to bring country out of disaster but we at least should give him a chance to prove himself. Remember he took the office willingly and knowingly that he still is a bloody civilian and nobody will be giving him a guard of honor when he is kicked out.

106. comment-top

To Zia’s ramnents and NS lovers,
    Instead of tankeed barai tankeed, you should have the courage to face democracy. I don’t personally like AZ and think he has hijacked PPP by a BBs ‘wasiat’ (Which is not obviously Quran or Hadith). But PPP had no choice except to follow him till they find a suitable replacement. I am glad that we are on the path of democracy except if its not foreign powers chaal to destablize Pakistan.

107. zahidbinmustafa Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 8:31 pm

It is democracy and zaradari won by people’s vote. I hate zardari dacoit but atleast we should show patience not 8 years but one year atleast. If we can give 8 years to dictator then why not to zardari. If he do well , he will suceed otherwise “Naam bhi na hoga dastano main es zardari ka”……. patience guys

108. bechari-awam Says:
    September 6th, 2008 at 8:31 pm

We should also remember that for the first time in Pakistan’s post 9/11 history, the supplies to nato were halted for some time on an excuse of security concerns. It must have brought a cold shiver in nato’s spine because without this secure route they are dead as a horse. Just wait and see how President AZ behaves next.

109. comment-top

@Sjunejo,

to (daddy) ayub’s aulaad and daco zardari followers…

democracy does not mean that whatever u do is right and everything is being appreciated by the people of pakistan. Pakistan has given majority to PPPP but not to zardari daco. the same mistake was done by PMLQ when they re-elected Mush kutta (and people were in a shock)… the same thing is happening again… a prty who has been given the majority of the vote have successfully elected the most controversial person of the pakistan. things could not have been worse than that…

lets wait and see what this docao will do to the pakistan and how long people will be able to cope with him…

i want to ask this question to all PPPP jiyalas that why everyone accepted Yousaf raza gillani as prime minister? why there was not such kind of rant in international and domestic press? why suddenly (so called) “Ziaist” has awakened to oppose zardari. why PPPP could not find a non controversial candidate for the supreme position in Pakistan?

110. comment-top

oh yes i must admit that i dont like him but he is legitimate president of pakistan. no question about that… the only quesiton is about his elegibility though

111. comment-top

So a hated figure and a liar figure becomes President?

I am sure all of those who wanted Musharraf to go are now having regrets.

112. comment-top

Another colonialists’ plan materialized: The most corrupt and mentally sick became the president of Pakistan

http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=6008&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

113. comment-top

Election Article 41(2) says as following:

A person shall not be qualified for election as President unless he is a Muslim of not less than forty-five years of age and is qualified to be elected as member of the National Assembly. Article 62 narrates qualification and clause (d) says that he is of good character.

Zardari a good character? What a joke. He is a crook to say the least. God knows how this person became head of Pakistan.

114. comment-top

Those who thought PPP is finished after sudden demise of BB are in deep shock how asif zardari revived ppp and made it one of the most powerful party of pakistan.

All PPP supporters and well wishers salute him on this achievement.JObola tha wo kur dekhaya… tomorrow in president house we will here GA BHUTTO…
    well done once again asif zardari…
    PAKISTAN KHAPAY

ZINDA HAI BB ZINDA HAI!
    others keep crying over spilt milk…specialy nawaz sharif and family

LONG LIVE PAKISTAN…..

115. comment-top

NS has already congratulated President-Elect Asif Zardari according to the Jang update at 1730. The oath taking ceremony will be held tomorrow at 10:00AM , I wish NS to be there however I believe he is leaving for england tomorrow.
    BTW PPP has developed this habit of ridiculing the “educated and know-alls” of land of pure , last I remember Asif Zardari went from Adyala Jail to Aiwan-e-Sadar to take oath as minister , this time he decided to go their as resident.
    Unfortunately though establishment is also expert in humiliating the democrats of this country by always getting some b**tard out their in the aiwan-e-sadar for 8-10 years every now and then.
    BTW I am waiting for the oath taking ceremony of President Asif Zardari as it will break another myth of establishment. Over the years from the times of Fazal Elahi Chaudary somehow this “sacred” building had become a symbol of establishment’s might and power. I am sure that with AZ in it we are going to see jiyalas chanting slogans of Jiye Bhutto in their…. I am trying to recall Faiz’s verse for this occasion…
    ……..

116. comment-top

No body regrets musharraf departure he was a brutal dictator.from karachi to khybar ppl of pakistan voted for PPP.They have given PPP right to rule this country for next 5 years.its our right to have prime minister and president of pakistan office.No party can compete PPP in people supp
    ort .This is the beauty of democracy LONG LIVE DEMOCRACY
    LONG LIVE PAKISTAN
    GA BHUTTO

117. comment-top

@Ijay

i agree with u ppp should be given their right to govern this country nothing gonna happen to this country Inshallah

the aim of all the goveronments is to develop punjab n dats going on no matters pushtoons dies or Baluch.

anyways NS is not the leader of pakistan but Nawaz league is only punjab and they r in power over there.

Pakistan tera tu Allah Hi Hafiz

118. comment-top

word of wisdom for nawaz sharif
    Please get rid of advisors like khuwaja asif and ihsan iqbal choudry nisar they are your open enemy and responsible mistrust between PMLN and PPP.Bring ppl like saad rafique and makhdon javed hashmi who are more friendly and peaceful person with open mind.

long live democracy

119. comment-top

Even a sold-out Musharraf was better in power than the present gang of criminals.

120. comment-top

Ijay
    any words of wisdon for AZ? what type of advisors should he have….salman taseer? sherry rehman? rehman malik? and faruq naik?

and also any words of wisdom for running presidency…follow the oath or since its not quran or hadith dont follow it? follow quran and hadith instead then? when u make a written promise follow it or not?