Mr. Zardari despite all reservations and his past was duly elected by the Parliament on 6 September 2008 and it is a good sign for democracy that opposition legitimised the show by participating it and later whole heartedly accepting defeat. Congratulations to Mr. President and let’s bye gone be bye gone and restart a new chapter in Pakistan with an aim of parliamentary sovereignty, rule of law and economic alleviation in the country which is at the verge of institutional and economic collapse. The job which requires sheer wisdom and consultation may not be completed if President does not take himself above his party interest and venture to work jointly as envisaged in ‘ Charter of Democracy’ by his knightly wife Be Nazir as working single handedly may not remove the dark clouds on the civil system which carry a history of four decades.
I foresee four main issues which may take him from 5 months to 5 year rule. First of all his impartiality as his job requires him to treat all equally by genuinely promoting Federation and allowing the healthy opposition by invoking an idea of issue based constructive politics. If he can agree to disagree and allow this principle to be digested by his party and the political class in general, it will evaporate the politics of 90 and will promote tolerance which is in deficit in Pakistan. It will also strengthen the civil system and continue the political process. He must also consider giving his party position to that of his sister and or the sister in law whilst he is a head of state, of course with due consultation of his party.
Secondly, most important issue is Pakistan’s foreign policy. I believe the determination the limits of Pakistan’s role in war on terror will be very crucial and he must take Parliament and security apparatus in confidence in order to advance Pakistan’s due and lawful contribution in this global exercise keeping our sovereignty intact. Musharraf’s tacit understandings which has no parliamentary backing will not be acceptable now and any ‘double crossing’ will not work here either, so he must make it clear that no access either to nuclear or our rear tribal areas without Parliamentary approval and security clearance as that will determine how far his new assignment is acceptable to circles which matters. If aid emphasis remains on United States then shopping list will come with it from them and trade preference will vanish so we need a clear priority on state integrity, controlling inside security and flourishing economic activity.
Thirdly, judges issue will remain a bone of contention in his governance if not settled amicably. I am sure he can work on bigger issues of repealing 17th amendment, implementing charter of democracy and economic revival if judges are restored in accordance with his own declared agreements with his opponents. I am not sure whether he is acting like Nehru or is genuinely has been transformed like him but his credibility will depend a lot on how he settles the judges issue. The way he has so far managed to divide judges, pulled out pro PPP lawyers from the movement and finally had capped the long march show his capacity & management skills. However, dishonouring the whole struggle may not leave any judge in future for so called war of independence of judiciary and sovereignty of Parliament in the event military comes in future, so despite having reservation on any particular judge by PPP, saving the original principle is a genuine and national cause. Iftikhar Choudhary no doubt carries the support of the people for his resilience against a dictator since 9 March 2007 and their clans restoration, compensation and honouring them will create a serious obstacle in the way of military intervention in future.
Fourthly, the issue of a popular slogan of ‘roti kapra aur makkan’ the manifesto of PPP to ease the suffering of ordinary people of Pakistan by providing shelter, food and employment, basic justice and human rights and that’s only possible if Mr. Zardari’s government could get out of the mess it should have been out in the first month. When there is an international food shortage and recession looking over our heads and Pakistani budget trailing in 10 billion, there is not a lot of economic activity one may initiate. Its agreed that his govt. may not be able to fill the bellies of millions who are living below poverty line, but historian will definitely forgive him if he contributes to rebuild a basic structure from where service are provided by erecting hospitals, employment bureaus, educational establishments, and justice for all irrespective of who they are as I believe if his nation is healthy, happy and educated and is treated equally then they will find a way to contribute constructively in any national drive.
Finally a word of wise to new President that complacency is a vry dangeroius thing in politics and he must learn from that of the coup de tat against Mian Nawaz Sharif. When General Musharraf took over on 12 October 99, Mr. Sharif premiership had a two third majority, his own party supported President, his brother as chief minister and he had government in all provinces including his speaker and chair of senate but we witnessed that a junior ranking officer implemented the orders of his seniors by pointing a short range gun on the prime Minister and his own appointed COAS. The lesson from it was clear and unambiguous to initiate a ‘charter of democracy’ by both former premiers to avoid a similar situation. Absolute power is nothing, the key to save the system is in partnership of civil and military and collective collaboration of political forces until we are out of a real threat of a war. We wholeheartedly welcome you for being duly elected and you have a chance to either change the history from here onwards and stop the future of military dictatorship in Pakistan or become a victim of history yet again. You can either be a villain a don of yesterday or be an originator of a new dawn for the poverty ridden, institutionally weak, segregated, and truly traumatised Pakistan. The decision is yours and BB will be watching over you with great interest.
Amjad Malik is a Solicitor-Advocate of the Supreme Court of England & Wales
First of all I want people to stop calling BB as shaheed , SHE IS NOT. She was killed in her persuit of power. When she was in power she never gave any relieve to common people, instead appointed a jahil husband ( aka Mr. 10 % now President) as Minister of Investment so the couple could rack up cash. She had multiple opportunities to serve the people and she wasted all of them. She had all the traits of a self serving politician who talked a good game but never actually did any any thing for people.
DEMOCRACY WITH OUT GOOD GOVERNANCE IS LIKE A BIRD WITH OUT FEATHER.
There are no if’s and but’s , Zardari has been perpetuated to new heights because of self-serving nature of corrupt politicians, and there is no darth of this animal in Pakistan.
Argument goes (1) He is good for federation (2) He knows how to make deals and can hence give us economic miracle …. wtf ?
Musharraf was supposedly good for federation too, the same argument has been tried so many times before. Let me put it straight up. BALOCH DON’T CARE IF ZARDARI IS PRESIDENT OR NOT , THEY WANT RESOLUTION OF THE THEIR PROBLEMS.
EVER SINCE THE DEATH OF QUAID-E-AZAM Pakistan has been waiting for a Stateman and what it keeps getting are these Racoons ( Army, Mullah , Politicians ).
when ever a dictator takes over he says — I am doing it for National Security. When ever Mullah get’s caught with his pants down he says — Shariyat yeah kahti hay. When a corrupt politicans gets kicked out of the office or goes to jail — he hides behind the democracy argument and say’s ‘ I was thrown in jail because I want to serve people and establishment won’t let me do this. ( Have you guys noticed how fast PPP and ANP have changed their color on Judiciary )
GIVE ME A BREAK —- WE DON’T LIVE IN A FANTASY WORLD.
OH BOY! Just wait tentatively 2 to 3 months you will find the following burnning issue against Zardari!:
Whether he will comply the Aihlay Tashih Rule (like Iran & Syria) in Pakistan?
As Rehman Malik & Farooq Naik are not in favour of Restoration Of Judiciary before Nov.2 thus if this is correct that Taliban is less safe now and Pak Army are destroying them day to day basis it certainly won’t be any MORE safe under Rehman Malik’s who prefers to appease rather than to act and ready to kill anytime his own muslim brother sisters. If I were Rehman Malik or Zardari, I don’t think I would have put that assessment in such stark words. Doing so is an argument against Zardari’s election. Does anyone really think that Zardari can find Taliban on the map? According to various local newspapers such as Nawai Waqt Sources Zardari and Rehman belong to Aihlay Tashiih so that in a constant manner Iranian Government/Ambassadors are meeting with these high profile leaders in Pakistan and show their deadly against feelings rather movements regarding Taliban or Sunni SARKARI DEEN of Pakistan. Another newspaper Daily Dawn says “Pakistan may feel Un-Secure since Zardari & Co. is active.” What will be the next shocking headline to appear? “Iranian & Newcons followers living & ruling in Pakistan”? Seriously. Mr. Zardari’s foreign policy has been a disaster on a number of fronts, including making the entire South Asia region much less stable. The world should breathe a collective sigh of relief when Mr. Zardari finally moves to his bunker in NawabShah–permanently. The Zardari legacy speaks itself. Therefore the PPP government is threatened by any Bullet Shooting, bombing/kidnapping will result in an immediate war against Taliban.
What will Zardari & Rehman Malik their excuse be? 1000% chance of war? If Taliban succeeds in kidnapping more Chinese along with others another war is sure to erupt. Is war really in Northern Areas Pakistan`s interests or are we serving the interest of the West? I know you all scream to the skies how you won the last war, even though our own Muslim Brothers/Sisters suffered greatly: 3000 deaths, billions in infrastructure damage, Air Bombing at Bajur, cluster bombs, no education burnt Dry Fruit Farms, loss of territory Fata Areas to Pak Army etc. yeah, yes quite a victory many deaths of Pak Army Soldiers. War is not in Pakistan`s interests nor is it in Muslim`s. According to Major well recognized columnist of Pakistan Only the West want war between the two. Actually, the USA is in the driver`s seat because they control Raw & Mossad and ultimately Karzai & Co. themselves. The USA just has to give the order and Karzai & Pak Army Chief and along-with the high profile PPP leadership obeys like an obedient dog. They work in the West’s interests, not Pakistan`s this is not my own opinion the entire electronic and print media of Pakistan is stating like crystal.
Amjad Maliks article underline our low expectations from our politicians. The sooner we realize that we are living in the 21st century wheather we agree with it or not.
The presidential election has on the contrary highlighted the weekness in our constitution which should be corrected. It is not right to ask our corrupt politicians to choose our president whatever his powers may be. We the people should. Let all those who think that they are qualified for the job put their name forward and the people should decide. I wonder what the result would have been if this was the case now!
Secondly, again we the people should demand and elect highly educated people only. The reason our economy is suffering, or that we do not have a sensible foreign policy is because our politicians do not have the knowledge to present good practical ideas. I wonder how many of them can sit down in front of a computer and google something. Many of them do not even have a email address. One of the reasons why Imran Khan talks sence is because he was educated in Oxford.
The nation is sick and tired of the “blame game” If we are to make progress then we should place our faith in young highly educated persons who will bring new ideas. We have now elected a “illiterate convict as our President”. What can we expect from him? Mushraff like every other general is basically a society “reject”. Have we forgotton that parents whose sons are not doing good in studies are told to go and join Army. Then one day after years of sitting on there bums they retire as generals and we put them in charge of our country, our provinces governor’s, our big companies chairman like the steelmill or even our sports, cricket, hockey. The results of all this is right in front of us.
This is what is destroying us. Like termite it has spread all over Pakistan.
Personally I agree with Jatt. We should stop calling BB, Shaheed. She blew her chances twice. She is not our hero in any form and we should not treat them like one. It is unfortunate that she died the way she did and I am sorry for that but she DID NOTHING FOR PAKISTAN. The underhand deals with Mushraff a general is not exactly sign of sacrifice.
We should expect high standards from our politicians and nothing less. Our police has to be our press and media. I hope they will continue to employ young educated people who are not scared to report and expose all corrupt people. We should encourage everyone to use there cameras in there cell phones to record people who are taking bribes and put them on the national TV. We should record all the filth lying around our backyards and put it on the national TV. We should go for our local MP’s and tell them to do something about our polluted water and other basic needs or else we will sack them. Believe me these are thing which we can do. You don’t need to qualify in rocket science to do these.
I think the dissapointment of the nation in choosing this President and the way this PPP government has failed to fulfill each and every promise it made is sickining. Frankly we should not expect anything better in time to come. The present cabinet headed by the Prime Minister is a bunch of idiots and morons. None of them has the ability to change Pakistan.
Rise people and do your duty to your nation. Take matters in your hand. You can do it. Young educated blood is our answer.
Benazir Bhutto is not Shaheed.
She was a crook like her husband. Bhutto died after pursuing her personal goals she was not interested in helping the country.
[Zalmay Khalilzad advised Asif Zardari in secret and helped him plan the campaign to oust the general Musharraf. He had been livid with Musharraf for refusing to give 100% support to his Afghan protégé, Karzai. Khalilzad now saw an opportunity to punish Musharraf and simultaneously try and create a Pakistani equivalent of Karzai. Asif Zardari has been elevated into a crucial figure in the "war on terror".]
http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2008/sep/07/pakistan.usa
I don’t undferstand why you guys are wasting your time in a very stupid argument about BB being shaheed or not. Who cares. You can’t dictate others. Those who think she is shaheed will not changed like you who think she was not. Come forward now. Think about future of Pakistan.
http://www.khabrain.com/pics/main6.jpg
Mobile SMS becomes very famous in UK…..
Jin!!!! hohohhahaha..kia hukm hai mere aaqaa…
Aaqaa!!! is mulk ka sara maal mere account mai daal do….
Jin!!!! Hukm karain , bakwas na karain….main Jin hon , zardari nahi hon…..
Please, My dear critics! give Mr. Zardari a chance he is a changed person be polite with him, he is a father, son, brother and the President of Islamic Republic, I wish him all the luck, he needs it.
Establishment, Zia Bakiat and Rumors.
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/sep2008-daily/08-09-2008/col14.htm
I have no hope for this Government, how can you trust the leader of the party who flip flop almost everyday. Pakistani politicians have not learned a single thing in the past 10 years. By choosing Zardari as our new President, we have officially declared that our country is a failed country. I see going downhill from here.
I have seen most people have using Musharaf’s words about Zardari ( Pakistan kaa Khuda hee hafiz), but what Musharaf has done it in last 9 years, Zardari would need 90 years to match Musharaf’s accomplishment.
@Rumijee
How is Zardari a changed person. Has he returned back all the looted money?
If he does so, we all are with him and will support him.
A must read article:
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/sep2008-daily/08-09-2008/col6.htm
“Old Don and A New Dusk”
@sic5770
“but what Musharaf has done it in last 9 years, Zardari would need 90 years to match Musharaf’s accomplishment.”
Wanna bet? I think he will do it in less time than Musharraf. As an examle see:
New accountability law to cover armed forces, judiciary
Who’s working on it? Great minds like
Farooq H. Naek
Rehman Malik
Ahmed Mukhtar
Salman Farooqui
Need I say more?
(Inherent in it is a threat to the deposed judges, isn’t there?)
By the way, the following line from above got me laughing:
“The sources said the National Accountability Bureau was likely to be renamed as national accountability commission or national commission for accountability.” A new dawn, indeed…
By the way, certainly a must read article by Rauf Klasra(“Jub Siyasat Dan Sazish Kartay HeiN”). Thanks.
I read the article and see that there are four main issues with the country but as a citizen do you want to trust a corrupt president, who’s past is not hidden from anybody, would be able to cope up with these issue. The answer is “NO”. He didn’t do nothing in the past but to fill his swiss accounts and I am sure he’s gonna do the same thing now.
Zardari is a big sanke, he played a big game. He was crawling among all the coaliation parties and was looking for a big pie and he got it. I have no hope from him and his party.
Does any body see a light at the end of tunnel??? I dont…
God Bless Pakistan
@sic5770
“but what Musharaf has done it in last 9 years, Zardari would need 90 years to match Musharaf’s accomplishment.”
LIAR! the new govt. took our forex reserves from $15 Billion to $8 billion in a matter of months! we are already bankrupt if you haven’t noticed. Welcome to the 90’s, with love from democracy.
Pakistan needs “substantial external financing”-IMF
By Sahar Ahmed
KARACHI, Sept 5 (Reuters) – Pakistan needs “substantial external financing” to stabilise its economy and rebuild fast-shrinking foreign currency reserves, a senior IMF official said.
The economy has been hard hit by soaring world prices for oil and food, which have cut the reserves to a six-year low and pushed the rupee down a fifth against the dollar this year alone.
IMF Director of the Middle East and Central Asia Department Mohsin Khan said Pakistan’s five-month-old government was preparing its own strategy to steer the economy away from the rocks and had not requested a fund programme.
In an email reply to Reuters received on Friday, Khan said he had yet to see all the details of the Pakistani strategy, but it had outlined its plan to raise funds and put finances in order.
“They are looking at accelerating privatisation, obtaining donors’ support, and tapping the international markets by issuing GDRs (global depository receipts) and exchangeable bonds,” he said.
Khan said the strategy included letting interest rates rise if necessary, allowing greater exchange rate flexibility, reducing the fiscal deficit and cutting government borrowing.
The government has said it will cut quarterly net borrowing from the central bank to zero, in order to help control inflation already running at close to 25 percent.
“If the measures outlined in the comprehensive policy strategy are implemented, and sufficient financing is secured quickly, the Pakistani economic authorities could stabilise the economy this year and start to build up reserves,” Khan said.
Investors dislike so many ifs, and the international bond market has been pricing in the risk of Pakistan defaulting on its debt early next year. [ID:nSP237376]
Currency reserves have been falling at a rate of around $800 million a month since peaking last October.
Latest data released by the Finance Ministry showed reserves fell from $9.13 billion on Aug. 30 to $8.89 billion on Sept. 3, the lowest level since 2002, of which the central bank’s reserves accounted for $5.5 billion.
Some bankers have suggested that the civilian government should turn to the IMF for support.
Because of Pakistan’s frontline role in fighting terrorism and backing for the NATO mission in Afghanistan, bankers anticipate international help to avert a default and a balance of payments crisis.
The United States and other friendly governments have a stake in seeing Pakistan’s transition to democracy succeed after nine years under former president and army chief Pervez Musharraf.
WAITING FOR RELIEF TO ARRIVE
Pakistan was being bailed out by the IMF when Musharraf took over in a coup in 1999, and over the last six years it underwent a remarkable turnaround to become one of the world’s fastest growing economies, albeit off a low base.
Between 1999 and early this year, the Karachi stock market’s main index rose close to 1,000 percent.
But in 2007, as Musharraf’s grip on power began to slip, the fiscal and balance of payments deficits deteriorated largely as a result of policy paralysis in the face of soaring world prices for oil and food.
After winning a general election in February, the coalition led by the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) of assassinated former prime minister Benazir Bhutto forced Musharraf to resign last month.
Victory for Bhutto’s widower, Asif Ali Zardari, in a presidential election on Saturday, appears a foregone conclusion. The PPP and its allies have a majority among lawmakers from the upper and lower houses of parliament and the four provincial assemblies that make up the electoral college.
Analysts, however, see Pakistan entering a fresh phase of political instability, highlighted on Wednesday by an apparent assassination attempt on Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani. Gilani was not in his car that was stuck by bullets on a highway near Islamabad.
The rupee hit an all time low of 77.45 to the dollar the same day but steadied to close on Friday at 76.40/50, marking a drop of more than 19 percent from the end of 2007.
Central bank Governor Shamshad Akhtar issued a statement on Thursday saying the World Bank was seeking to speed up close to $1 billion in investments in Pakistan.
A Finance Ministry official has said the Asian Development Bank (ADB) is also expected to $500 million from a $1.3 billion loan programme.
Pakistan has also agreed in principle with Saudi Arabia to defer payments on oil imports estimated at $5.9 billion. (Writing by Simon Cameron-Moore; Editing by Neil Fullick)
http://www.alertnet.org/thenews/newsdesk/ISL950058.htm
@rumijee.
I did not know still there are lot of phola ppl.
Zardari is 53 years old and he has not changed a single bit. Oly now he shows big smile to every one, hugs and then stabs in the back.
Bloody jokers on this site claiming Zaradari to be a changed man !
Go get a life you losers!
Read this article in today’s Nawaiwaqt by Tawfeeq Butt ….
Corrupt Zardari is now persident. OH my Allah Almighty, what happened with People of Pakistan, this type of person is persident mean People of Pakistan ka Allah Hafiz. If you see his laughing face, you can clearly understand that he is a true copy of Satan and Munafiq.
Pakistan is full of contradictions.
- Those, who attacked the courts in the past, are the champion today.
- Those, who were the laces of dictator’s shoes, are the champion of 1973 constituition today.
- Those, who were attacked media and arrested editors in the past, are the champions of freedom of speach today.
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/sep2008-daily/09-09-2008/col15.htm
Correction,
Those, who attacked media and arrested editors in the past, are the champions of freedom of speach today.
A hyena can not be made a Tiger. It is just an illusion.
Neither old DON nor New DAWN.
Zaradari will DOWN ONLY AND DOWN more and more
PAKISTAN…………..
As our elder say very famous saying in Urdu
“JAISY ROOH WAISAY HI FARISHTAY” all I want say as the nation chose the leader so face the same.
@Admin I am not able to play any videos on my BlackBerry Storm 9530. I get the following error when. […]
iam member of pkpolitics and i have nokia n82 i want to see pkpolitics on my mobile. the web site is. […]