Better Pakistan - 25 September 2008

September 25, 2008 . 45 Comments   

A very special episode of Better Pakistan with Mrs. Amina Masood Janjua, who reveals her shocking ordeal in quest of finding her missing husband kidnapped by Pakistani Army along with several hundred other missing persons. Mrs. Amina Masood is currently leading the group of families whose loved ones have been in military detention for years without any access to Justice.

Please Login or Register to read the rest of this content.

Email This Post Email This Post
{ 45 comments... read them below or add one }

• baghat sing said:

Jiyo Justice Chaudry Iftikhar Ahmad.
    May Allah pak give this lady strength and courage to carry on and she finds her loved one and loved ones of others.
    This is really very very pathatic.

• Anum Moeen said:

thats exactly why we want a free judiciary….May Allah save pakistan.

• darkjustice78 said:

@EVERYONE

Did you note the BADDUA of his lady when the police took away her son?

MAY GOD NOT GRANT YOU A FUNERAL!

GOD has send HIS wrath now,,,I believe her AAH has been heard and GOD has send those who are making sure these people do not get a Funeral,,,just keep thinking how many police and security force members have changed into mere pieces of human body.

Please note that I am not justifying any succide bombing, But I am elaborating a SNNAT of GOD ,,,and I think everyone knows,,,those who jsut watch like bystanders are the worst Munfiqs and they are also punished according to the Sunnat of GOD Almighty..

Comments Please,,,,

• Paki Power with No Power said:

another sad story from Pakistan. Our country is shackled by corruption and family owned feudal politics. We will not progress an inch without solving these issues. Vote for Imran in the next election and if you don’t like Imran then vote for Nawaz and if you don’t like both of them then don’t vote at all. PPP does not deserved to be called the largest party in Pakistan. They are not the largest party and they being in power is a result of a deal not the vote. As for this lady, my heart goes out to you and your family. People like you are the reason why this country still exist otherwise we would have been sold out completely by now.

• busybee said:

its disgusting… this is real Pakistan where we are fighting to stay alive against our own government and on the other hand our president is busy flirting the wouldbe US Vice president. Shame on Zardari

• concerned_pakistani said:

May Allah end ordeal of all involved families, what a great tragedy. I salute this “bahimmat” lady.

What kind of justice is this, the one who stood for upholding the law was “deposed” and the one who was responsible for this mess was sent home with a guard of honour.

Are our present day elected representatives really different from the dictator they replaced? Alas, we are in a illusion that our country is run by elected representatives who believe in rule of law.

• apna apni said:

I whole heartedly sympathize with Amina Masood and other victims whose loved ones are illegally put into dungeons. However, a question has been irking my mind for several years.

What is special about Westridge area of Rawalpindi?

1. Khalid Shaikh Muhammad was arrested from a Westridge house (allegedly occupied by a JI member)

2. Group related to Lal Masjid’s imam Aziz was caught with illegal weapons from Westridge area

3. Amina Masood (and her husband) is also from Westridge

• moaziz syed said:

A very shocking revelation of what has been happening in Musharraf’ regime. I was perticulaly pained to view the treatment meted out to ladies and Amina’s children when they tried to march to GHQ to submit an application regarding theit missing family members. The VCOAS and his taff ordering this hold up must be ashamed to see this as I am sure or hope they never thought the way their order would be implemented. There are civilised ways in civilised countries to handle peaceful demonstrations by citizens, especially women. It seems we are passing through our dark age now , four centuries after Europe.

• usman55 said:

All those who thought that Kiyani would bring any change were completely wrong.

He is the same person who shamelessly involved in talks with Benazir just a year ago without considering the importance of his post. And he is the same person who has given full protection to Musharraf. Despite giving resignition from Army post a year ago Musharraf is still staying in his Army house.

Shame on Napak Army and Napak Army’s head.

• Omer Khan said:

Kiyani bring change?

Since when was anyone rooting for Kiyani to bring change?
    Truth be told he is acting how a COAS usually acts: tool of a govt.
    Had I been infected with the virus of antipathy, I might even give the turtle a prop or two for following his text book.

Ofcourse if he decides to bring change that’s be defying the constitution (a brand of toilet paper manufactured in Pakistan, just like K2 cigarettes) no?

Change was expected by some stuck in their cultish reveries of these bandwagonners of PPP and co.

I’m glad I wasn’t one of them, I had no illusions about that. How could I, when the smooth transitions were clear as daylight. So Napak is right, but that’d be the rogue government of Pakistan.

• Omer Khan said:

@apnaapni
    1)KSM was arested in khi.
    2)Was there really? But it doesn’t mater does it? For other hathyar khanas linked to lalmasjid would prolly be located in Isloo, chaklala and GHQ.
    3)Missing persons have gone missing rom all over Pakistan.

• Riddle 792 said:

No doubt that her husband was wrongfully picked up and no news yet. B

But there are also rumors that they were VERY close to ISI and had a great share of apple pir. However after 9/11 and the subsequent UTURN from the Musharaff Govt pushed people like them to the side and were made “kurbani kay bakray”…. same like Dr.AQK…..!!

This is one of the main reason that even GOVT is not much interested………and is more interested in “dallali” of its own people !

• Aneeza said:

A very brave and dignified lady. Its amazing to see a common homely woman rise to shake the foundation of government because this was indeed one of the major reasons that set Mr Musharraf on a frenzy. The saddest part is that the ones sitting in government were baighairat and are still baighairat. Rehman Malik ko chullu bhar pani mein doob marna chahyey while accepting the international peace award.

• Aneeza said:

@ Riddle792

The point is not that all the disappearing people are innocent. Some might be guilty. All might be guilty. The point is that if they are guilty they should have a trial. What is this nonsense that they are picked and handed over without even a fair trial.

• bokhari abid said:

aaawful…. but this is not the first or last story.
    For better pakistan we must condem and justice must be activated.

• BaTil Ka QaTiL said:

Shame on dis new Democratic govt
    IFTHKHAR-e-MILLAT Zinda Bad
    Munir NAizi well sed:::
    ~~~ Iss Shaher-e-sang dil ko jala daina chayeay
    Phir Is Khaak Ko Bhi Ura Daina Cheay
    Milay Nah Pana jahan Kisi Shaks Ko
    Ik Aisa Hasher Iss Zameen Per Utha Daina Chaeay~~~

• aekpani said:

Masood did what?

• chaudry mohammad said:

shame on musharraf shame on pakistani agencies who abducted pakistani citizens to please barbarian americans who are blood thirsty of muslims around the world sending them to guantenamo nazi camp for physical and mental torture without fair trail.shame on agencies shame on americans and solute to iftikhar mohammad chaudry

The Hallmark of our ARMY & MIB to kill own MUSLIM brother/sisters & children as occured at East Pakistan now at Northern Areas.

• mian11 said:

sister you are great persons. May Allah S T
    help you

• umar said:

Meri Bahan Main Sirf App k Liye Dua Kar saka hun aur aap hum sab pakistanion k liye dua karain k hum app k liye kuch kar sakain… Including me I will say only one thing… Ab iss mulk main Mard-e-mujahid peda nahi hotay

• justice said:

wonderful program

Brother Umar: As our elder say MAUSI KUFAR HAI as disheartedness/hopeless is not allowed in our beloved religion. So that rely on Almighty Allah with whole heartedly. Just wait & see with patience because the truth is remained in the last, whatever the high power portfolios’are doing as & when the fruitful results will not appear they/comman-men will be gathered again and will come on streets as a protester mind-you, you will observe every developed countrys’ such similar this sort of history. Because JUB ZULM HUD SAY ZAIDA BAHRTA HAI TOU MITA DIA JATA HAI. (WHEN HIGHHANDEDNESS IS ARRIVED ON its PEAK IT IS PERISHED AWAY by COMMON-MEN).

• darkjustice78 said:

@Everyone
    This time there will be dark wind,,,thousands will die,,I think it snot about MAUSI,,,its about the total decay of society,,,History tells us that GOD burns that civilizations to give a fresh birth from its ashes,,,it has happened in history…With Muslims and with other civilizations,,I think its our turn…Some one v v cruel is on the cards who will just burn everything to ashes,,,Remember PolPot,,Masulini,,Someone bad and mad to take the living out of this dead nation ,,,no one is concerned but with so called economic condition,,,or foriegn trade or so on,,,,Its time to BURn I think,,,,,,

YA ALLAH KHAIR,,,,,

• Renaissance said:

@Aneeza

You are absolutely right, spot on!

• MalangBaba said:

@Adnan Arshad
    “The Hallmark of our ARMY & MIB to kill own MUSLIM brother/sisters & children as occured at East Pakistan now at Northern Areas.”

Till 9/11 army had a strong alliance with Mullas. Forgot - Jamaat Islami created Al-Badr and Al-Shams to conduct massacres in East Pakistan? They were financed and trained by Army.

Zia created and trained terrorists with financing and support from CIA and Petro-dollars.

Military-Mulla allinace is still intact to some extant. If Army id X-axis of Evil - Mulla is Y-axis and dirty terrorists are all over the plot.

• adeelshahid said:

We don’t do anything and wait for when something like this happens to us.

Well at that time there would be no one to do anything or speak anything for us.

• kamiali said:

its famous “POWER CORRUPTS”. everyone is very nice and good, when it knows its power corruption starts from the day and so its happening in the existing world. if somebody wants not to misuse it, the other exile it from the system as it happen with Mr. IFTIKHAR MOHAMMAD CHOUDRY. whether he will be back or not but listening Mrs AMINA MASOOD its clear whats make him out.
    All we need the independence of departments, having no influence.
    Politicians are very nice people as they talking and promising to the people BEFORE ELECTIONS, we are not good even though we know them the same faces comes every single time and again we vote them to elect in PARLIMENTS and rule on us instead of to solve our problems.
    AIK PAKISTANI

• call a spade a spade said:

I must appreciate the great work done by the pkpolitics team.
    Any body from the baighairat armed forces of pakistan viewing this. This is your sister crying. Where is her husband?

• Omer Khan said:

@apnaapni

1)Many AQ suspects have been captured from karachi, Islamabad, lahore, mardan, peshwar, quetta etc etc etc.All over Pakistan. And ofcourse you could fill a directoy of weblinks of suspects which is ofcourse a useless exercise and proves no point.
    http://www.nationalterroralert.com/updates/2008/06/22/pakistan-police-arrest-5-suspected-terrorists-seize-explosives/
    http://articles.latimes.com/2007/oct/21/world/fg-pakistan21
    http://articles.latimes.com/2004/jul/31/world/fg-pakistan31
    http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Regional/Islamabad/03-Jul-2008/7-suspected-terrorists-sent-to-Adiala-Jail
    http://www.dawn.com/2008/09/09/nat19.htm

2)Khalid sheikh mohammad was not arrested from westridge, but from karachi.
    http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/DJ30Df01.html
    http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_9-9-2002_pg1_1

Again there is no point to this.

3)Amina Massoud is one of hundreds of thousand of petitioners whose loved ones were kidnaped by musharraf govt and disappeared from al over Pakistan.

4)If your point is somehow to muck rake JI with curved balls, logic and spite be my guest. Unfortunately, there can be as many speculation as there are mouths. What we do know is that Musharraf’s govt. destroyed families, lives, and honor of the nation in every which way possible. That’s the only truth so far. :)

• SnrCtzn said:

@ Everyone.

I happened to meet Mrs: Amina Janjua,in person once,during a Live, TV Street-Show by GEO,of Hamid Meer to sympathise with missing persons, in Rawalpindi courts.

No doubt it was very saddening to watch her condition, which was so pathetic, that immediately my eyes were wet with tears, the moment I wished her.

I just cannot understand, why the SOB Musharraf, his ISI, once headed by non other than our ‘great’ fauji jarnail, Ishfaq Pervez Kiyani & the MI headed by yet another stupid-looking jarnail, Nadeem (ex- Armoured Corps,) a cousin to SOB Musharraf’s wife; all put together, did not have any sympathy for this wretched lady, or for other hundreds of other women, whose husbands, brothers & sons were & are still missing?

Non of these jackals or their colleagues, subordinates,etc; ever felt any remorse for their stupid actions to make that SOB Mush & his mentor SOB Bush happy? I always held a view & the womenfolk / children should now be made ta suffer in a similar fashion; & only then these SOBs will ever realise the gravity of pain & suffering, they caused to Mrs: Amina Masood & others.

I happened observe nearly all these SOBs, very closely,in a social gathering, & all of them showed contentment that as if nothing had ever happened ?

I also pray to ALLAH ALMIGHTY that none of those SOBs be granted a funeral. You will see it happen sooner or later.

• kashaf azim said:

The stories like these r very disturbing

Can we do anything to improve the situation????????

or do we think by submitting comments we have fullfilled our responsibilities…………..

Think!!!!

• mark said:

May God return her husband and other missing people to their families Police and army should be ashamed of their actions Good to hear so much admiration for chief justice

• dara said:

Please don’t take me wrong but Amina Masood , Dr. afia Sadiqui and couple of others have been picked by media because they belongs to upper middle or rich classes of Pakistan.
    There are thousands of poor specially Baluch youngsters missing but no body talk about them.
    I strongly support the argument that those peoples including Mr. Janjua should be produced to courts and if they have done any thing wrong should be punished.
    Who will bell the cat? because Musharaf has already documented every thing in his book how he and his generals sold those people to USA.
    Who will bell the cat? because cat is very big and wild, and most of us unfortunately still believe this cat was sacred cow, you know what i mean.
    I wish if those people had relations to Alqaida they should have been produced to courts and punished, i would have no problem with that Al qaida people should be punished.But innocents? God give us some wisdom of humanity.

• shandana said:

@dara
    media didn’t pick them up, but they stood strong. Amina is an extraordinary woman, and she is an alive example of strength, loyelty and love that an eastern woman could have for her family. I am so proud of her, may Allah return her husband safely and many others missing to their families.

The West & particularly America, leave Pakistan Tribal Areas & Afghanistan alone!!! The history is eleborating you without any ambiquity that since the Mighty King Alexender, Conqueror of the World i.e. British Rulers, So called super power of 80s & 90s Soviet Union couldnt take over this particular areas/country thus neither will the United States of America! Because in these areas nature of people strongly believe in REVENGE in BRUTAL MANNER, therefore, these Northern Areas of Pakistan & Afghanistan are unconquerable!!! Everbody knows that America will lose the war on terrorism in IRAQ & right now at Pakistan & Afghanistan!!! According to the West theory they were stupid enough to supply the rebels weapons they used against the Soviets and now they are being used againts their own by the rebels!!! However if anyone can conquer Afghanistan. According to our/Muslim Ummah religious belive soon you will see the Armies of IMAM MAHDI emerge from Afganistan and they will erect their falgs in Jerusalem, on their way to Palestine they will slaughter anyone that comes in their way in such manner that history never has seen.

• SnrCtzn said:

@dara:

You are right in questioning that who will bell the cat? And also you have rightly said that (SOB) Mush put everybody in trouble; that is, individuals, institutions and the nation at large.

Can somebody find out if he has been put on exit control list? If not, it should be done immediately and an inquiry into his wrongdoings be immediately initiated by the government

• Peace.1 said:

Salam to eveyone,

Being Pakistani, I feel ashmed, I don,t known what to say either about Pakistan or Pakistani people or Government. One Hadeeth say: the Government is the reflection of the people or your leader be the worst amongst you.

I think this fit for Pakista.

• ZAKs said:

unfortunately we Pakistani are unsecure in our home…………..we are not immuned from our enemy and even dont konw who is our enemy ………….May ALLAH BLESS those displace People ……………lets hope for the best ,,,,,,,,,,,,

• sarkar said:

Jab tak is mulk mein INSAAF nahin hoo ga aisa hota rahay ga, HAZRAT ALI R.A. nay farnaya tha “aik society KUFAR par to Qaim rah sakti hay but not on INJUSTICE”, people like mush and other ISI culprits should be hanged in CHOWK in Islamabad to make an example for others

• dara said:

@ Shandana i respect brave woman Amina Masood, but what i am saying is that the same murderer hand has been active for 60 years.
    From 19777 to 1985 hundreds and thousands of Sindhies were tortured, murdered and kidnapped.
    thousands of baluch were treated even worse ansd so on…..
    We should always remember there is no sacred cow in this country specially not the yellow color one.

• Shahbaba said:

I would like to express my deep sympathies to all those who had lost their love ones in so called “War against terrorism”. I also strongly condemn the police action taken against peaceful march up to GHQ. This situation is very disgusting and cannot be tolerated any more. We are not safe in our own homes. Without going in detail that the missing people are innocent or not, the question arises that why so called democratic government is not giving them a chance to go for a fair trial. On one side, Mr. President requests the whole world for investigation of murder of Benazir Bhutto (sahid) but at the same time he cannot help these poor people.
    May Allah give the relatives of all missing people’s strength and courage

• justice4all said:

This is the the PEACEFUL WORLD bush and mush has created for us and now ZARDARI is brought into power to safggaurd it.
    HATS OFF to this brave and courageous lady for confrontting the BEASTS of PAK Army.
    We miss you CHIEF JUSTICE IFTIKHAR but zardari cant afford to restore you because he dont have a permission from bush.But let me tell you one thing this Mr ZARDARI will be looking for JUSTICE when arrestted by some GENERAL sahib in a few years time and w,nt be able to find any.

MalangBaba Says:Till 9/11 army had a strong alliance with Mullas. Forgot - Jamaat Islami …….

According to your point of view:
    In other words the entire blame is putting on Mullas & Jamat e Islami now a days whoever political expert is appearing on TV or writing in Print Media they are putting entire blame on Elite Class of this our beloved Country either they are all stating LIE & you are the only one who is speaking the truth!!!???