Iftikhar is translated as ‘honour ’ in the dictionary, however this one word in Pakistan has gained significance from the name of deposed Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Mohammed Chowdhary who is still waiting for his restoration on 3rd November position. He was dismissed, and detained by General Musharraf as a result of an unlawful military action. Chowdhary not only settled the score of history by challenging the myth that Pakistani judges are always ready to work hand in hand to support its generals , but also tried to nip the very evil in the bud, which is core of Pakistan’s constitutional hap hazard history, the all time notorious ‘law of necessity.’
When we look at these hollow claims that law of necessity is buried forever especially after 20 July, we must analyze as to why there always seem a gap which is filled by our Generals. We need to look at the reasons as to why the country was divided in 1971; corruption allegations always surfaced in civilian rule and military never could hold them accountable as they lacked legitimacy. Musharraf regime despite weak opposition and leaps of dollars could not go nearer to the completion of its seven point’s agenda. In fact, he brought the federation to near collapse. Most ironic is the current civilized government who seems an epitome of mal administration where committee chairmen along with anyone coming to Premier house with warnings is deemed fit to be given ‘Federal Minister Status.’ President house seems to be representing a group amongst one party only than the federation. In these circumstances the slogan or aspiration of rule of law, democracy, justice, and governance seems a wish for the moon. Iftikhar Chowdhary has turned the tide towards the very basic fact that from Karachi to Khyber people demand justice let it be Justice with the state, justice with the nation or justice with the institutions.
Our corrupt mindless politicians have always provided a room for an unlawful intervention. Strong unpoliticised, meritorious and robust judiciary is the need of the hour to break the nexus of the military & judges which always legalized military coup de tats in the short history of 61 years of Pakistan. 9th of March initiated a debate and 20 July was its near climax, however politicians could close the gap after 18 February elections and could have translated the death of Be Nazir towards a new era by forging alliance of political forces that now martial will not be the future of Pakistan. Looking at their 9 months rule, it’s a plethora of deceit, lies, broken promises, bluff, mal administration and corruption. Everyone is trying to do what is not its job & expertise, President wants to be Premier, Premier aspires for love of all by doing nothing, Chief of armed forces doing premiers job when he warns retaliation to foreign invaders, and Advisors -Generals and Ministers trying to do scholars job. Media is partially gagged and at some places its mouth is shut rather than filled with coercive adjustment and or warnings. A few honest are trying to work unnoticeably. Musharraf’s claim to liberate media despite two interceptions has started to look real.
Lawyers who worked hard during last 20 months are regrouping for a bloody battle of clash of ideas as this time it’s going to be very difficult for any Aitzaz to send them home quietly as they will come for a confrontation from home to either successfully secure reinstatement of CJ or Dama Dam Mast Qalandar (end war). The election of Ali Ahmed Kurd to the President of Supreme Court Bar slot, will speed up the resilience and confrontation process as sanity is vanishing rapidly amongst grey haired lawyers and it’s all because of breaching pacts dearer to their souls which are merely proved hollow unreligious words of politicians to Zardari. When we try to compete with India through war of words, they respond by taunting us as to who is begging for survival, and it seems due to incompetencies of our political classes Pakistan has only unskilled people to export as they have nothing fresh to offer to the community of nation.
Addressing to Iftikhar Chowdhary, I can only say a few words, that you did your best; you are an ‘Iftikhar’ for us and hats off to your team who lighted a candle of Justice and rule of Law. But Pakistan is not ready yet for transparency, good governance and rule of law. You will soon hear that the sale of very steel mill you stopped considering an asset, will be given in a ‘buy one, get one free’ deal to the one who loan these beggars as IMF when comes in any compound does not go empty handed. You suffered the summers, and winters in confinement for us, but we are though ready in mind for justice but are reluctant to relive the Zardari’s of our country from their duties considering ‘what will Be Nazir think of us.’ Though they never think if they do not restore the Chief Justice, what will she think of them. Forgive us Iftikhar Mohammed Chowdhary, you may be a pride of the nation, a prize for the unprivileged, but you still are a nightmare for our corrupt elite, unbridled police and bureaucracy. How can you be restored, Pakistani Govt does not afford your recall. They wish to survive with All time respectable trouble free Dogar as he sees nothing, hears nothing, does nothing, and taking a suo moto action even if Angor Adda mission is accomplished is beyond his comprehension as Supreme Court is on leave after 61 years.
Amjad Malik is a Solicitor-Advocate of the Supreme Court of England & Wales
In life- timing is everything. Leaders and those who have leadership thrust on them usually have a limited window of opportunity to rise above the norm and to excell beyond their intellectual means.
In the case of CJ Iftikhar- he missed a few moments when he needed to be forthright and decisive and when he missed the moment.
As a result both he and the nation of Pakistan is paying the price.
First such moment was when he selected the judges to be on the panel which was going to hear the petition about the Musharraf presidency and he put on that bench the Dogars, Khokhars and Abassi etc who reported all the happenings of the court every evening to Musharraf so he could plan his counter moves.
Second such moment that he missed when it was declared that the election of Musharraf could go ahead but the legality would be determined later – giving Musharraf time to plan and carry out his counter moves.
I have always been at a loss to understand why this was allowed to happen. The stakes were very high and I am sure CJ was aware of that- so why did he not rise to what the moment needed- which was for him to make the right decision then and there and force the confrontation which he tried to avoid .
I can also elaborate on similar missed moments by some of our so-called Lilliputian leaders like Nawaz Shareef, Zardari and Musharraf but that would be waste of time and I would not like to waste my words on intellectual midgets.
It is a shame so many Muslims are proud, arrogant and ill-mannered. Zardari is a liar, who will not bring back the CJ.
@shimatoree,
You are saying that when Iftikhar Chaudhry made a bench for dual case, he should have also predicted the timings of all the judges working in that bench?
Secondly, Army/ISI would have executed coup anyway, even if the judgment was made earlier. This is because ISI was given deadline to come to the court and finish the issue of ALL missing persons in one go.
@shimatoree,
Agree. Also add when he approved Musharraf’s PCO the first time. Also he should have understood that he is tainted and would never be able to come back, he could have bargained for a better supreme court without doggar, et all and ofcourse without him. I think in the long run the country would have been better.
He just got wrapped up in this wukala populism.
We cannot just keep wiping the slate clean each time. Someone has to pay for approving the PCO of musharraf the first time. If M is guilty of treason, so are all the Justices who approved it.
Lets just say Jazak Allah to the CJ and say that his debt to Pakistan has been repaid. Time to move forward.
Ch. Iftikhar can achieve his lost pride subject to not accept American Ambassoder’s Ms. Peterson pressure or may say so from any official of American Government thereafter if it is received like in the past i.e. very very humble request of Asif Zardari & Co. with showing his entire 32 teeth. If Aitzaz Ahsan is melt down then like past then believe me this time NO USE OF DHARNA!!!
@maikolachi,
Iftikhar Chaudhry was not Chief Justice when Musharraf’s PCO was approved.
Jab tak awam kherray nahin hotay ye kahani kabhee bhee katam nahin ho gi aap ki army pervaiz musharaf aur ppp is mulk ko taqseem ker k dam lain gay.ye jhamuriat k raag alapne walay jhamuriat k sab say barray dushman hain.
ye sab kutch in siasat daano aur army k kia dhera hai na in ko log pasand kertay aur ye hamaray opper army ki support say bethay hua hain aur logon ka khoon choos rahay hain .Allah in ka bayra gharaq karay jinno ne is khulk khuda ko azab main dala hua hai.yahee itakhar ch inshah Allah in k sir lay k jay ga aik din ppp mushraf aur army aik doosray ko support ker rahay hain aur mulk berbad ho raha hai
Iftikhar Chowdhary really, turned out to be a great & a honourable man; a person of great vision, like Allama Iqbal & other great visionaries & seers,before him.
He is truly a ‘ DEEDAWAR’ as probably, an Urdu verse describes it, something like;- ……..Barri Mushkil Sae Hota Hae, Chaman mein, DEEDAWAR, paida?
May Allah give him a long life, full of more honour; Ameen.
Its really surprising, the political leadership of Pakistan Peoples Party is very flaxiable in press release and statements. We have noticed that during the restoration of judiciary issue handled by Asif Ali Zardari and Niaz A. Naek.
Time is not favourable for PPP, lets see how the coming weeks will bring changes. The federal government took wrong steps from the day first with the political allies which they have to pay the prise accordingly.
Iftikhar Chaudhry, even not get restored in PPP government but he is a winner and federal government is a looser.
The people who are twisting the law affairs to keep Iftikhar Chaudhry out of Supreme Court illegally, they will be accountable.
CJ Choudhary is a real CJ.
Our leaders, Fauj and establishment is baigarat…. they think of their pocket before Pakistan.
Nawaz Sharif has sold out to Zzzz.
Media has sold out to ZZzz.
It is upto civil society to make a noice!
Chief Justice of Pakistan IFTIKHAR MUHAMMAD CHAUDHRY will restore along with other honourable judges who refused MUSH PCO and Zardari,s re-instatement.
Zardari should must know that only GENERALS in Pakistan can get away with whatever they do and not BLOODY CIVILIANS.
Zardari is going to pay a very high price for killing the dream of a NEW PAKISTAN.
@ Rasheed
What I am saying is that even though it is considered fashionable to say that everyone is equal and that the goct should be of laws and not PEOPLE- the fcat is that there will always be an aristocracy of INTELLECT. It is always the PERSON or PERSONS who make the difference. The decision to put Khokhar, Dogar and Abassi and such on the bench to try the Musharraf presidency case was flawed on the part of CJ. The fact was already defined that Musharraf was out to get the CJ- there was no doubt left about that. So to put these guys on that bench was a mistake.
I do not understand about your question of time- if you would kindly explain then I can comment.
The army under Musharraf might have acted anyway- YES they might have but they would have been caught off guard and they would have needed time to plan and I a sure everyone knows the great minds that our Armed Forces have !
After the 18th Feb election- let us assume that Zardari and Nawaz Shareef were genuine people and had dealt with the problems facing the country in a decisive fashion as follows-
1.Restored CJ
2.Stopped the suply of the Americans
3. Had a real parliament meeting and decided to deal with the economic difficulties in a focused and decisive fashion.
If and I say IF that had happened the world would be different to-day. But the world is not different to-day because we have no leaders just crooks with no guts and no imagination. Even if we had a crook with guts we would have been better off. Instead we have cowards and gutless creeps.
Just imagine what would hav e happened if after the Lawyer’s march on Islamabad= they had given DHARNA and refused to leave till what they wanted was done. It was not because Nawaz Shareef and Aaitazaz got cold feet and they became afraid of the people in the street.
They call themselves people’s leaders !
people in the streets greeted him not because what he was before NO but for what he was after that coz people know how “easy” is to say NO when ones enjoying the perks of highest office in pakistan.
Chief we are with you, “YOU” are the hope. May Allah pak give you the strength and courage to stand comitted. Chief teray Jaan Nisaar bayshumaar.
Athar Minallah, Kurd, Aitzaz, Tariq Mahmood, all Wukla bradri zindabad.
There are seldom among lawyers who are upright in the judicial system of the country. Chief Justice or the ‘Chief Qazi’ means the most pious man and the most trustworthy. If as said by Musharraf he has been corrupt in service than he was not only to be dismissed or degraded but his punishment needed to be the most severe.
Now if he sincerely stands fast for the defence of law and justice and the national integrity of the country then he is truly on the right path and fighting in the way of Allah.
Justice will prevail only when this strictly for cash judicial system is totally altered. In any case if The Chief Justice is true to the cause, will prevail as a permanent headache for the present Bhuttoised regime.
Pakistani people are stupids,They knew that zardari is the most corrupt and Benazir aswell.Then why did they vote pppp.They voted and now they should abouse themselves,not zardari or pppp.PPP Agenda has been clear that they are 1step ahead to Musharraf in america”s salavary.
People are so stupid that even if there will be elections now,they will still vote pppp.what a shame this 160billion crowd.
Even now,instead of blaming themselves For what they put in Govt.They are blaming Nawaz Sharif,what Nawaz sharif can do,hes not even member of parliment.On one side hes on hit list of America,the other hand zardari and co.if he comes on street what will happen ,the whole system will be F****d .
So 160 crowd should think next time who they vote for .
KHAN Says:Pakistani people are stupids,They knew that zardari…………….”
KHAN Bhai you are very depressed, getting furious also & the most important you’re forgetting ZARDARI & Co. gave words to this nation in Election Time; if the Pakistani Public had trusted to the commitment of PPP what’s wrong with it?
Lateron if Zardari & Co. is thinking that USED of DODGING SKILLs is an EXCELLANT ART OF TELLING LIES to RULE THIS NATION.
Then I must say ZARDARI & Co. & many other PPP Officials are living in the PARADISE of FOOLs.
As might be you have not heard this popular song & saying as well: YEH PUBLIC HAI SUB JANTI HAI — THIS IS PUBLIC WHO KNOWS EACH & EVERY THING DON’T UNDERESTIMATE THEM.”
& above all ALWAYs THE ONLY TRUTH IS REMAINED IN THE LAST.
PakPolitics, I can see some of my comments are not published. We all love to see freedom of speech and expressions, you do not want all possitive remarhs for certain personalities otherwise the whole purpose of this Pk politics discussion fails. We all see the world with different angles and we express ourself in a distinct way and this is the beauty of taking part in Pkpolitics discussion.
Iftikhar Chaudhry has not played his real innings yet. What we have seen of him thus far was/is a mere trailor..the real movie is yet to begin.
He is destined to play a far more significant and long lasting role in the history of this country, than what he has till now.
Zardari is planning the murder of iftikhar ch.
No i don’t think so CJ is not a Peace of Cake.
I can’t believe he just said that hes gonna wait for another month before going to the IMF.In another month Pakistan’s foreign exchange reserves may decline by another 3 billion and rupee may touch 100 against the dollar and it will be mighty difficult to bring back the investor in that situation.
Pakistan Financial Crisis: A Grim Picture painted by Shaukat Watch This Shocking News
http://www.pakistanhousing.pk/News/index.php/pakistan-financial-crisis-a-grim-picture-painted-by-shaukat-tarin/
Iftikhar Ch. & Co. are watching and evaluating the piece of paper of covered with 14 points and may be discussing with each other what a valuable annonoumous resolution passed by the Pakistani Parliament within just 2 hrs American Droned Attack is occurred as if Americans are making fun of Pakistani Parliamentarians. There is no doubt in my mind just within 6/7 months or may say so even earliar Pakistani General Public would stand up & is ready to take this —WAR ON TERROR— burning issue in their own hand and on full scale Pakistani will be ready to fight with America. As now a days the APDM & LAWYERs Movement are making up the minds of general public specially creating DEADLY HATRED with US ARMED FORCES & AGAINST AMERICAN POLIICIES.
@ irshad khan
Same thing happening to my comments as well, or they wait moderation for hours, I wonder why. So now I don’t feel like posting or sharing any thing here :-s
But I have good regards for the people who are behind, updating and maintaining this website.
Thank you Zaradri for showing us how shallow we are.
You have put to shame all these HAJJies, they are more afraid of loosing their comfy jobs and the VIP treatment than they are of you.
You must really be proud that you have reduced the lion of Punjab into a pussycat.
Zardari, on doubt you will have to account to God one day for all your actions but for the moment you are showing all these religious MNA”S and the self claimed patriots of Pakistan, like the Sharif brothers,that they are all a bunch of hypocrites and even together they are no match for you; you have reduced them to NOTHING.
American is awarding to IFTIKHAR Ch. it is suppossed if you out rightly refused to receive this award Like the Brave Boy SAMAD or whatever his full & real name what will be real re-action of this nation? Would you be more popular or your graph of popularity will be declined kindly think over the same!!!?????
good luck, Pakistan.
@ ALL ..
I always wonder that whats wrong with these Pakistani Leaders , no modesty , no self respect , I was so emabarrased and ashamed one a pakistan minister said ” We can’t tell not to attack tribal areas simply because they provide us financial support and runs our country ” WTFFFFFFFF ,, no look at them , begging for money , visiting different countries , no self respect for themselves and making all pakistani nations as beggers …
We need leaders like General Hamid Gul , Imran Khan , CJ choudhry , Itizaz etc …. Let CJ the president , Imran Khan Prime Minister and Hamid Gul Defence Minister , you will see how things going to change !!!
Zardari as a president , I wont comment much on him cuz he deserved hanged to death . He killed his own Wife.
GOD BLESS PAKISTAN
Zardari invites deposed judge to politics
“The way these former judges are delivering speeches similar to that of politicians, I will advise the prime minister to give them a party ticket for the Senate elections to be held next year,” the president said in an interview to daily The News published here yesterday.
He said the president has the power to lift the two-year ban before any judge or government servant contests polls responding to how he would deal with the situation if Chaudhry decides to contests the elections.