l Off the Record – 1 November 2008 | Pakistan Politics
{ 51 comments... read them below or add one }

• Democracy said:

Kashif, I think you are the only one who can unite the PMLN and PPP… AGAINST YOU! Whoa my man! Hope you got a plan B!

• Jamhooriat said:

@Democracy

Kashif was totally off track, i would say. He is focusing ONLY on politicians and that is the same line of ISI.

I callenge him to have next programme with 3 Generals and ask them about their plots and all corruption by military mafia. Corruption by politicians is nothing as compared to corrution of ARmy gang.
    Lets see if Kasif has enough Paani to invite Generals in next programme.

Also why not one programme for journalists and media tycoons?? Lets see how they got their wealth??? u must make it transparent, that is the best accountability.

• Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

sorry to say this because I really admire the good work that Kashif (and other anchors) have done in the past especially with regard to democracy/judges/etc but this was a very poor program.

when it comes to the economy and finance, I don’t want to hear from Hanif Abbasi, etc. I don’t need political sloganeering. I want to see experts explain the issue in detail AND offer solutions. some issues are easy to understand such as a general cannot dismiss the chief justice of the country and it is very easy to know which side a decent person would pick.

but this issue requires a calm and detailed discourse with real experts – not a screaming match with partisan hacks like Hanif Abbasi.

having said that I think the quality of financial journalism as a whole needs to be raised round the world. even print journalism in North America is shockingly poor when it comes to financial issues. Seth Klarman highlighted this issue as well.

• Jamhooriat said:

@Democracy

As ou seem some one very close to Kashid Abbasi( always praising him), so plz do ask him to spend few minutes for reasrch on Debt retiring scheme. DOnt come to screen right from the make up room without preparation.

http://www.sbp.org.pk/reports/annual/arFY01/chap8.pdf

Go to page 11 and 12 , and you can find all details of this scheme. It will be worth reading and an eye opener for many who have different perception about the scheme.
    Also please note that this report mentioned above was issued in Musharraf regime, known as worst enemy of NS.

• fareed said:

Lanat on these generals and politicians who are sucking the blood of our nation. lanat on hanif abbasi as well. PMLn has started targeting media keeping mid term elections in the mind.
    Kashif Abbasi Zindabad

• Democracy said:

@jamhooriat

You are hilarious. Yeah I like the man. So sue me. He will continue to get my praise, and as much of it as I choose if I think he deserves it. Much like Talat or Quatrina or Bolta Pak guys if they deserve it. Let me know when praising someone becomes a crime and then we can have another discussion. Until then, Kashif gets my praise, and my thanks for doing what a lot of us should have been doing long before he was even born!

• Democracy said:

@Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar

Totally agree with your critique. There also needs to be a sober discussion with experts to understand the issues. But equally essential is to hold people accountable for abusing their authority. But overall I do agree with you.

• hope228 said:

I am not agree with anyone who is talking against kashif abasi because he it the only journalist which are bringing the weakness of all politician or any other people in front of media. he is the only journalist who has got the courage to ask question about any curruption. I think he is now on the top of all programe so
    off the record is no1 programe

• Jamhooriat said:

@Democracy

My point was not to ave any objections on your praise for him. I dont know why u r so sensitive about this issue that u ignored the point i raised for Kashif’s improvement specially the challenge to inivte Army Generals and ask about heir acountability.

that proves that your praise is blind and not based on performance. This seems like a symptom of Jiyalaism. R u or had been a jiyala ? I can bet 50 pound for that. Infact it had been proved that this jiyalaism disease can not be treated 100%.

Earlier, you being a drawing room analyst, had been shouting for a tax on poor agriculturists who are living hand to mouth.

• Jamhooriat said:

@Democracy

i am all for accountability and transparency,BUT my point is that when focusing on this issue, we should be fair and should focus as per the sare in corruption. In my opinion, it should be like this:

1-Army mafia 60%
    2-politicians 15%
    3-Bureaucracy/Judiciary 15%
    4-Journalists/Technocrates 10%

If, we will ignore the biggest corrupts Army mafia and ONLY focus on the rest, it will be professional dishonesty and you will be standing low on moral grounds.

• Democracy said:

@Jamhooriat

Point well taken. You got me there. He should invite the generals I agree and he needs to have more financial experts on air as well.

Are you PMLN? I can bet 50 pounds you are. And I hadnt been shouting to tax “poor agri” I was shouting to tax your rich landlord friends:)

I remained always the great admirer of Wusat ullah Khan whenever he speaks it seems & sound he has too pain to survive for MUSLIM UMMAH.

• hope228 said:

hi everybody
    dear brothers dont take any thing serious all these comments are only to share some felling dont critize one another. the politician or dectator any one are not fair with pakistan they just used pakistan and then another one come to ued it. the media is playing quite good role nowadays b/c bringing some issues which we did not know before
    salam to all of you and share knowledge not critize the comments of any one seriously b/c all of us are thinking about pakistan not about politician

• Democracy said:

@jamhooriat

Did you notice our two usernames? bizarre.

Anyway, I do agree with your last post completely and cant argue with anything there. On ag tax, well lets battle on about that!

• Jamhooriat said:

@Democracy

Whats bizarre about this username??

would you like to elaborate plz??

• Jamhooriat said:

@Democracy

If you agree with the list, why not you ask Kashif to inivte the Army Generals and discuss their accountability.

Otherwise at least admitt at the start of every programme” i dont have guts to challenge Generals so lets focus on politicians only”.

• Democracy said:

@Jamhooriat

I don’t think Kashif lacks courage in any way at all. So that was a rather unfair comment to make. However I do see a bit of scaredy cat behavior on your part by asking me to ask Kashif. This is an open forum. Please ask him yourself if you really care that much about his program style or his guest line up. I am sure he is open minded enough to take criticism and improve as needed. Not sure thats the case for our politicians nor our generals. However since you are bit scared let me ask him for you:

Dear Kashif: Please dont pick on the politicians alone- invite a few generals, or ex-generals to your show and ask them about their ill gotten wealth and plots and cars etc…jamhooriat was a tad scared to do it so I agreed to ask you. Meanwhile, stay in the game.

• Jamhooriat said:

although your comment could have been even better without persoanl attacks.

BTW, wat is bizarre about my user name?

waiting for your reply

• Democracy said:

what personal attacks? that you are scared? You are! Sorry didnt mean to attack you personally. cant be personal since we dont know each other. If you arent scared why dont you recommend the Generals etc whom Kashif should invite. Put names next to your earlier list- that would be most helpful.

Your name isnt bizarre, its that both our usernames are the same and we are at odds at present.

• tariqmahmud said:

O God these dirty vicious and ……. politicians and leaders of Pakistan and enemies of pakistan know that “the pakistan army” is the only institution department that is clean…and now they are trying to cover their own corruption and dirt to disrepute pakistan and pakistan Army…
    LOVE PAKISTAN

• nota said:

@tariqmahmud
    ““the pakistan army” is the only institution department that is clean”

ROTFFFLMMFAOWFHTIME

• ranaumair said:

free version please admin

• shahzad ahmed said:

is asif zardadri a general who made 1.8 billion from this country????these are declared assets….what about the hidden ones????
    no one can point out one contingent who has sucked pakistan….from a peon to the pm,everybody is making money from 2 numbri…

• Asim Sattar said:

@Jamhoriat
    @Democracy

They both are the same person. Trying to defend Zardari by blaming others.

Dont forget everything is under control of Govt/PM/President. If something is going wrong in the country its because we dont have independent Judiciary. Zardari has killed the judiciary to hide his corruption, NRO, deals with Musharraf/America …………………..

• Safdar Ali said:

No one pay tax till they don’t stop to eat the tax money. No one bring his money in Pakistan till they will not bring their own money (which is infect the money of Pakistani tax payers). Now they want to take loan from IMF for their expenses (<50%) not for development and betterment of common Pakistanis. and then who will pay, sure Pakistani have to pay more taxes or high prices and they will be still buying the cars and making trips at this money .

• Muhammad Usman said:

ALTHOUH i dont like hanif abbasi, but he raised the relevant point about jiurnalist and media money making.

Other day Nusrat javed called him MUSKHARA on his live show, what do you expect fron him.

One example about media money making is KHABRAIN NEWS GROUP

Zia shahid was a n ordinary sub editor in jnag in 1988, now he owns khabrain group of news paers, Channel 5, etc.

Did any one bothered to ask media how they have accumulated such awealth.

Abbass athar is sons are usa

Jang group has acuumulated such a wealth.

ALL the anchor pesons have salaries , which very learned professionals like CEO or heads of departments haave.

Foe example let us say a journalist of kashif s age is getting this much salary which some ceo have after 40 lus age.
    The point is selective targetting of politicians is not good.

What about dictators, thes e blood sucking business community.

Nobody bother to ask them.

Abbasi has a point, i mean hanif.

• Muhammad Usman said:

KASHIF abbasi is good journalist, nothing personal about him.

IT is about media groups AND journalists cloumn writers.

Nazir naji, abbass athar, asad ullah ghalib, mushtaq minhas, abdul qadir hasan,
    These are bunch of semi ediucated, so called intellectuals and blackmailers.

Look at there educational background and wealth accumulated . Look at hteir sons and daughters well setteled outside pakistan.

I am not not against the well being, but their moral bankrupcy.

Example is naji article today praising ch pee elahi for his role in weakening musharaf. what a joke?

• A0SAF said:

Kashif should have raised the point that News Anchors work to earn money and it is THEIR MONEY.

Being a Politician is not a money making job and the money these currupt politicians spend is the peoples money and NOT their PERSONAL WEALTH!!

Besides if TV anchors earn millions it is not illegal whearas politicians making money is ILLEGAL (ofcourse if using their profession as a source of income)

• mahmood malik said:

Mr. Kashif
    Give me just one good reason why we Pakistanies living abroad should send our money to Pakistan? Are you going to give our investment’s warranty? If not then shutup. If yes then what is your own credit rating?

• Muhammad Usman said:

@ AOSAF

wHAT about khabrain group phenomenal rise?

Is blackmailing allowed for journalists?
    Question is , we as nation need soul searching.

Blamming politicians will not solve the problem.

IS the common man exempted from coruption?

Having said that polticians have more rsposibility. No doubt.

Media should also be resposible.
    These jouranlists want VIP treatment every where, abuse their pen, otherwise thretean people, i will write against you. Dont these people have plots in jornalit colonies?
    Be resposible citizen.

• shahidrehman said:

Dear Admin
    Asim Sattar is right Jamhoriat and Democracy both are the same person kindly check their previous messages too. he always confuse the whole topic of blogs and always hijack the topics.

• Muhammad Usman said:

IF we overseas pakistnis send money to pakistan through legal way, that is no an EHSAN.obviously we are not doing any ehsan.what is the argument, we will have money in our accounts.Let us suppose govt freeze our accounts,we will get exchange rate at govt price.Is it big deal?We should be ashamed o ac as well.Having said that govt should take the overseas pakistanis i confidence.God save our country

• Talat Hussain da best!! said:

@ M. usman
    u r rite, but yellow journalism is not so common as “yellow”politics. there r very few corrupt journalists but a lot of corrupt politicians n having a plot in journalist colony is not a sin its the rite of journalists. my father also has one. its our rite that after serving 4 so long cant journalists or their families get a 10 marla plot?

@ Usman
    4 ur info. zia shahid has worked in nawa e waqt too he was a collegue of my father there. n i think most of u dont know that in lahore where building of khabrain stands its of an old woman whom he has snatched this property by fraud n now she is living in a kutia like house near that plac. i agree that journalists r not angels but not all r bad. imagine we r still living in a rented small house. so paanchon unglian barabar nahi hoti!!!

• Muhammad Usman said:

I agree TALAT H T BESTI am talking about bg moth NAZIR NAJI, QADIR HASSAN, ABBAS THAR, ZIA SHAHID TYPE PEOPLE

• Muhammad Usman said:

BIG MOUTH HAN JI

• Muhammad Usman said:

NOBODY TALKS ABOUT CORRUPTION OF LAND MAFIA.

Why no one is talking about WEALTH of MALIK RIAZ BAHRIA FAME.
    IF any jornalist has the courage

@ Usman
    bahria town man is also in journalism hahah
    he owned Jinnah a not so good rated newspaper..now its editor is khushnood ali khan.same is wid express lakahni mils.lacson tobacco,franchise of mcdonalds n a newspaper+channel expess. ARY smugglers of gold only non political beneficiary of NRO n Jang group having a big share of warner bros n Zee in geo.kali bhairain her jagah hain

• Democracy said:

@A0SAF

Agree with your point. I would add that when anchors like talat or kashif get paid well, its because the media company is earning and attracting ad revenue from their popularity. Their salaries are coming out of the profits the companies are generating. Public servants such as politicians, generals, policemen and other govt employees are paid from the taxes of those pakistanis who are paying taxes. See the difference? The comparison Hanif Abbasi tried to make is just plain stupid. Millions of mostly lower and middle class Pakistanis pay your salary Mr. Hanif Abbasi! So your salary is up for scrutiny from we the people. As for the salary of anchors, let competition drive it up or down. If Kashif is a big revenue generator for ARY let them compensate him from those profits. In turn let him then have to pay higher taxes…so that he can bear more of the burden to pay for yes, Hanif Abbasi and bullet proof cars and entourages which show up at the ARY office for interviews.

• Asim Sattar said:

@Democracy
    @ Usman

You can not compare media with Politicians. its like comparing a horse with donkey. We did not elect media. but you elected Mr Zardari and he decieved you.

NRO, Inheritence in politics where is that wasiat ? why he is hiding it ? deals with America/Musharraf, Killing Judiciary……..

All the discussions come to the same point you need an independent Judiciary which Zardari will never allow.

• A0SAF said:

@ Muhammad Usman

My point was not in relation to media abusing its powers, rather it was the fact that if anchors earn a lot of money it is because of the revenue they generate for the organisations that they work for.

Hanif Abbasi said anchors persons earn hundreds of thousands of rupees.

@democracy

I wanted to keep it short, anyways you just elaborated my point quite well.

• A0SAF said:

@Muhammad Usman

Besides media persons abusing thier powers are unlikely to get very far as they will be exposed because they work for the media itself!

I dont think many people would really listen to or care much about what Nazir Naji, Javed Malik or perhaps Shahid Masood have to say (anymore).

• Democracy said:

@AOSAF

Why thank you :)

• ranaumair said:

Its been more than 24 hours ..free version please

• ranaumair said:

Thank you :D

• supercreature said:

Please put the news on front page,

http://www.law.harvard.edu/news/2007/11/13_pakistan.php

• Democrat2007 said:

We need a media watch initiative to keep an eye on the media too. People who take lifafas or write stuff with blatent misrepresentations should be pointed out. And good guys like Talat Hussain and Kashif Abbassi should be acknowledged.

Talking of black sheep, what do people here think about the Dawn group?
    Hameed Haroon’s brother is Hussain Haroon. Hussain has been appointed Pakistan’s embasador to the UN in place of Munir Akram by this PPP government. Hussain Haroon was also a class fellow of Sherry Rehman in school.
    Dawn strongly supported the lawyers movement last year, but as soon as the PPP took over the govt, it started taking the editorial line that there are other more important issues like inflation etc. It also published a very disproportionate number of articles against the lawyers movement.

• Democracy said:

@Democract2007

I think media watch initiatives are fine if they do not become witch hunts. Who decides what is “good media” what is “bad media”? who decides who is a “good journalist” vs a “bad journalists”? I think competition is the best way to go. Dont like what an anchor is saying or his/her style change the channel. Or dont buy the paper. All other methods in my opinion become very problematic. I think ratings are really a great way to go…I would support more ratings.

Only reasonable & of course with so much logic one & only Wusatullah Khan discussed & elaborated with various examples other remaining two just presented their own lame excuses.

Wusatullah Khan’s calibre & class meets with Haroon Rasheed & Ansar Abbasi.

• Nonaligned said:

Kashif Abbasi you are doing a fantastic job by exposing politicians and bureaucrats, keep it up. I work for government in Canada, only people who are provided official transportations are Prime Minister, chief ministers of the provinces, chief of police, chief justice and some corporation heads, every one else drives his own car and pays for gas. Only Prime Minister of Canada has an official residence, no one else gets a residence at Government expense. I will give a little example, official vehicles have credit cards which are supposed to be used for official vehicles only. Director of my ministry used one of those gas credit card twice to fill up his personal car. Ministry officials came to his office , showed him the receipts and gave him a choice, either resign or the case is going to the Police, he was given ten minutes to decide and he resigned, we never saw him again. This is called accountability.

• Agronome said:

Well, Kashif Abbasi hasn’t prepared his topic well. Just off-the-cuff references and comments do not suffice especially when you are dealing with a subject like Economy. You must first define the areas you are taking up in your program for discussion. Talking like a layman in street doesn’t suit to an anchor.