{ 141 comments... read them below or add one }

Javaid Khan said:

Wow. Thank Admin Bhai
    for exposing the fraud.
    Altaf Kalia (chooran walay) was addressing big press conferences on that issue.

Thank you for taking out all the wind from his balloon.

Omar said:

Good work people.
    But i would love to see more detailed and comprehensive report about that.
    I hope this issue and news be raised in TV talk shows.

Blackhawk12 said:

Great job in exposing these idiots

wakpak said:

Wonderful work, Admin! You make us proud.

Also, in the same spirit, let us highlight “Dr” Babar Awan’s fake degree as reported in the news

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=146175

kqmallick said:

Please check the link

The Mayors of the Moment

No city globalizes on its own. But with shrewd investments and smart urban planning, a mayor can help turn a regional player into a global powerhouse. Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder:

http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php?story_id=4509&page=3

texasboy said:

this is such a red-herring. we should’nt even waste time on this.

rasheed said:

@kqmallick,

I don’t know what BS regional player, investment and planning you are talking about.

The fact is that these Anti-Pakistan MQM thugs are one of the core problems. They were the main force in stopping the building of dams a few years ago when Pakistan had billions of dollars coming in. All businesses & industries are going downhill because there is no electricity and MQM + Musharraf + Allies made sure that no new dams are made, while India makes all new dams that give cheap electricity.

Blackhawk12 said:

i think there’s been misunderstanding and we should be fair and remain neutral. If you read the last line of “Mayor of the Moment”, then you will notice that it says “world top 3 mayor”. We should not be biased to any party with all due respect.

Hassan Niazi said:

@blackhawk12

I agree with your assessment. However this is what the website state and I quote;

“………Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder”

It does not say “world top 3 mayors” (unless its is written somewhere else)

I guess since the magazine picked 3 mayors out of the population of cities they ranked, in which Karachi ranked 57th, the people who spread the news thought since Mustafa Kamal’s name is coming second on the list of three, he was 2nd best mayor.

Love to all my Pakistani brothers and sisters.

justice said:

thanks for letting us know the truth

I believed it for a day or so.

I feel so much better now.coz i was there on may 12,07 when the second best mayor’s team was cleaning up the city.

chottibibi said:

Sheck it again…..they have mentioned….Three of the worlds top mayor…
    —————
    The Mayors of the Moment

No city globalizes on its own. But with shrewd investments and smart urban planning, a mayor can help turn a regional player into a global powerhouse. Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder:

——————————————————————————–

Syed Mustafa Kamal Mayor of Karachi (#57)

The new mayor of Karachi is an unlikely poster child for innovative urban planning. The 36-year-old Syed Mustafa Kamal governs a city that’s more often in the news for religious violence than cosmopolitan ways. But the hard-charging Kamal is looking to change all that. He’s courting foreign investment, encouraging international ties, and boosting the city’s tourism. Kamal isn’t shy about his goals: He has said he wants to turn Karachi into the “next Dubai.” His Green Karachi project aims to plant thousands of trees in the city. No stranger to Karachi’s bare-knuckled politics, Kamal isn’t letting anything stand in the way of his grand plans: He has threatened to arrest anyone who tries to cut down the new saplings.

nota said:

Reminds me of the “Peace Prize” for Rehman Malik and yesterday’s Haqqani blurb.

areeza said:

I am very disappointed after looking at this article by admin of this site to expose thier own country’s mayor who is actually “WORKING” and gaining popularity around the world.

If you CANNOT praise someone’s work atleast you can “Close your eyes”

On reply Foreign policy wrote “we applaud Kamal’s efforts”. means he is doing soemthing and making a difference with others.

nota said:

@chottibibi
    Sure they said “three of the world’s top mayors” but that does not translate into “The Top Three”. Three here means the three they are mentioning in the piece/sidebar. Maybe they meant “three of the worlds top 100 mayors” or “three of the worlds top 1000 mayors.” You can read into it whatever you want but remember what’s coming from the horse’s mouth: “this mention was not meant as a ranking per se” and “his mention in our magazine was only a small part of a larger article that ranked the world’s most global cities (Karachi ranked #57).” :)

Jatt said:

MQM’s Marketing department is always busy spreading lies and hypes. This thing is not an exception and It does not come as a surprise to me.

To me Mustafa Kamal has always come across as a ‘Sales Man’. He spends more hours of the day giving interviews to print and electronic media than doing actual development work.

Karachi is under MQM’s siege and with the level of support he enjoys from MQM goons any one can be a good mayor. He simply bulldozes any opposition and is a self indulging idiot who claims to ‘know-it-all’.

Lately he has been busy spreading hate against poor pashtun migrant workers. Claiming that they have a Master Plan to take over Karachi. As if Karachi ( once a small gujrati/sindhi town ) has not been taken over my outsiders already ?

Jatt said:

edit: As if Karachi ( once a small gujrati/sindhi town ) has not been taken over by outsiders already ?

chottibibi said:

I agree with you..he is not mentioned as top 3 in the world but is one of the three how are mentioned in 100 mayors, but as ranking he is on # 57…..
    I have visited 7 cities in the top 10, an it was hard for me to believe how can Karachi be in the top 3….

marta paki said:

THIS IS NOT A FAKE STORY
    YOU SHOULD HAVE A COURAGE TO ACCEPT THAT MQM IS THE ONLY PARTY IN PAKISTAN, WHO BRING TH LOWER MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE IN POLITICS.
    ONLY MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE CAN BRING THE LIFE TO THIS COUNTRY, OTHERWISE!!!!
    PLEASE APPRECIATE THE MAYOR FOR WHAT HE HAS DONE, INSTEAD OF BLAMING HIM, FOR THE REASON HE IS NOT A PUNJABI GUY.

Jamshed Khan said:

I was amazed as how come this Kalia and son of ISI and Musharrf Kalia is the second best mayor in the world. wow the world…
    He issue ethnic statements in USA about Karachi and he needs to be tried in Islamabad for treason.

nota said:

@marta paki
    First, please stop screamin :)

Second, Are you suggesting there are no “lower middle class people” in Punjab? I would have thought Punjab has the highest number of these “lower middle class people”

Nayyar Sohail said:

@MartaPaki….you are right mqm represents middle or lower middle class…but only problem is that policies of MQM are bad…no go areas, attck on inocent people, bhatta khori, blackmailing, ghunda ghurdi …etc… if the stop doing all this they can also attract middle class of punjab and rest of the pak…

Jatt said:

@marta Paki,

You are a true MQM Scoundrel. You guys are never shy to use ‘Ethnic Card’ when you run out of reasons. Dude, go to the nearest book store and pick up a book on reasoning — you need one.

What the hell is up with you guys and your policy of using Ethnic Hate to disporve opposition’s point. Are you suggesting that I am wrong simply because I am Punjabi ? What a moron.

regarding this beauty,

‘MQM IS THE ONLY PARTY IN PAKISTAN, WHO BRING TH LOWER MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE IN POLITICS.

replace POLITICS with FACISM and it’s true.

Now chill out and re-read the emails on the top and come up with a reason why your man MTK is the second best Mayor. For me, Email from ForeignPolicy says it all.

If you are still not convinced than you must bring evidence to support your position, with out it you are just a noisy head less chicken.

Blackhawk12 said:

well if it’s not true then some one should tell media because they they are making big deal of this. i just watched the show “Kamran khan ka sath” in which he mentioned it and had him on the phone to tell his successful myth about Karachi development.

jazoo said:

IMO Theres no ambiguity in the article that its talking about world’s top 3 most important Mayors–Its not top 3 best Mayors.
    All this drama that Karachi being Talibanized, naturally bring Karachi in limelight.
    So a Mayor who is supposed to build a city against all the so called odds of Talibanization must be a very important Mayor to be mentioned at second most important place.
    Mayor’s performance ranking is well mentioned as the ranking of City(57).

nota said:

Speaking of fakes, here’s another:
    @Riddle 792
    “Fed Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Babar Awan’s PhD Degree is Fake !”

Great find :)

Yes, googling, I can see there IS NO University of Montecello. There is one University of Arkansas at Montecello (and the only masters program it offers is in Education. There are NO Ph D’s offered even today, let alone back them when Awan claims he got his)

Let’s see if Awan, like Fazlu, now accuses Ansar Abbasi of “working for the zionists” :)

• Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors. - Page 2 - GupShup Forums said:

[...] The Fake Story – World’s 2nd Best Mayor | Pakistan Politics The Fake Story – World

jazoo said:

I think Babar Awan issue should be a major heading in Pak Politics.

nota said:

From the links Ansar provided:
    Monticello UniversityThe judgment remains completely unsatisfied and has been deemed uncollectible within the state of Hawaii. Although incorporated in Hawaii, MU was based in the state of Kansas. MU’s Hawaii corporation was involuntarily dissolved on January 30, 2002. MU was formerly known as Thomas Jefferson University.

From year 2000, (the Babar Awan college experience? :) ):
    State dominates the $200 million quick-degree industry
    As a history and law student at unaccredited Monticello University, Todd Rebillot never had “the typical college experience.” He didn’t take any classes, never spoke to any professors, never read a single book, never even set foot on campus….
    …In April, Monticello University operator Leslie Snell was found guilty in Hawaii and Kansas of issuing invalid degrees without state authority and was fined in excess of $1.7 million. The organization was ordered to refund tuition to all students….

karachichap said:

Worlds 2nd best or not… he is the best of all mayors karachi had since 1947. He has done a lot and we should appreciate it.

nota said:

From the Ansar Abbasi story, another example of the “Jiyala Syndrome”:
    “Despite all this evidence, Babar Awan insists that it is incorrect that the Monticello University was unaccredited and that the Ph.D degree he was awarded is fake. Awan, who also delivers regular lectures on Quran and Islam on a television channel, said that he got to know about the university through an advertisement in the international Times magazine and also reconfirmed the standing of the institution from his acquaintances in the United States.”

Danish said:

The best example of our thinking process. Actually, matter of fact is that we don’t think as a Pakistani. It’s very clear that we use to think as Punjabi, Sindhi, Muhajirs, Pukhtoons, Baloch.

If Aitizaz’s & CJ’s movement/actions is supported by rest of the world, its good. On the other hand, if the same world admits City Nazim Karachi’s hard work, “oh no. it’s fake and some thing like that”. It becomes our tradition now.

Believe me or not, I was just wondering till now that if Mayor’s news would also be reported on this Punjab dominant website or not…. And here is what we get.

As a neutral person, one should speak against the wrong deeds of MQM, I agree. But, for God Sake, plz also learn to admit the good work by the same party.

I don’t think that no one can deny the massive development in Karachi during the last two or more years and we don’t need any certification. Even the Pukhtoon TV took the interview of Mayor and admits his hard work.

But we are so use to of the culture that if one party is bad and we never expect something good for them, and one party is so good therefore never expects anything wrong from them.

Some days back, I saw the same type of story regarding ANP Leader and the comments by the members were really astonished me. Why do we have such a huge hate amongst each other??? Someone is definitely working on it and most of us are following their agendas.

Plz I request you all, that we all should be very proud of being Pakistani and nothing else. Otherwise, the movements like “Greater Pukhtoonistan”, “Greater Balochistan”, “Greater Sindh” or “Greater Karachi” would become popular in public. And it would be the result of hate that is also propagating through this website.

The time has come now that we should start respecting each other being a Pakistani, nor we only respect or prefer people belongs to our same ethnic/regional group. It’s the time to give equal rights or share to all Pakistani. Otherwise, our enemies have huge funds and ambitions that would really hit us very badly.

• Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors. - Page 2 - GupShup Forums said:

[...] The Fake Story – World’s 2nd Best Mayor | Pakistan Politics The Fake Story – World’s 2nd Best Mayor Category Featured Articles | Posted on November 12, 2008 One of the most highlighted news by several media entities reported the nomination of Mustafa Kamal as the World’s Second Best Mayor by the Foreign Policy Magazine. Based on a quick investigation, it was revealed that this story was a misleading and was actually fabricated to be used as a propaganda tool by MQM. In fact, Karachi has been ranked at 57th out of 60 global cities by the Foreign Policy Magazine at their website. Please also note that Mustafa Kamal’s name was only mentioned as the “Mayor of City Ranked at 57″ in the world and there was NO ranking of any Mayors by the the FP Magazine. —-Original Message—– From: xxxxx@pkpolitics.com Sent: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 4:35 PM To: xxxxx@foreignpolicy.com Subject: Verification of News item Referred to FOREIGN POLICY Dear Sir/Madam, It has been reported in some media entities in Pakistan that Mustafa Kamal (Mayor of Karachi) has been ‘Ranked’ as # 2 in the best Mayors of the world by your organisation. Can you please verify this news item. Also what is the criteria for Ranking of Mayors ? http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&ne…nG=Search+News Thanks and Regards, Admin PKPolitics —–Reply from Foreign Policy Magazine—– Dear Sir/Madam, To clarify, the mayor’s mention in our magazine was not a ranking. Although Kamal was mentioned in a sidebar called ‘Mayors of the Moment’ in the article, ‘The 2008 Global Cities Index,’ this mention was not meant as a ranking per se. Rather, we meant to highlight city executives doing innovative things against enormous odds. While we applaud Kamal’s efforts, his mention in our magazine was only a small part of a larger article that ranked the world’s most global cities (Karachi ranked #57). I hope this explains your question. Please feel free to reach me with any concerns or comments. Sincerely, xxxx xxxxxxx Media & Public Relations Coordinator FOREIGN POLICY magazine _________________________________ Last edited by yazdi; Nov 12th, 2008 at 12:05 AM. [...]

manson said:

i am sorry to say that i will have to disagree with the admin on this occasion..When some one do some good work in pakistan we never acknowledge and appreciate him..to be honest with you all pakistani brothers and sisters, mustafa kamal is the second person after ayoob khan who have done a lot to make karachi a better city.. all karachians including sindhis, punjabis, pathans, siraikis and muhajirs have been seen him working hard day and night..if you want to meet mustafa kamal, you can go to any under construction site of karachi city govt and can find him there even on odd timings..If not world’s best but he is definitely the best mayor of pakistan at the moment…now please do not deny me just because i do not belongs to punjab…

nota said:

@Danish
    I am confused. First you say “The best example of our thinking process. Actually, matter of fact is that we don’t think as a Pakistani.”

But then you do the very same thing you are accusing others of (“I was just wondering till now that if Mayor’s news would also be reported on this Punjab dominant website”)

Ghost Of TK said:

Let’s see if Kamran “overbite” Kaaaahn issues a retraction after kissing the fake “no. 2 mayor”’s arse yesterday.

What a joke, these people know that a sizable portion of the droolers will accept pretty much any GARBAGE you feed them. And by “these people” I mean the “right”, the “left”, the “seculars” and the goddamned hell fawn molvi’s.

A cleansing is what we need. A great cleansing!

Danish said:

I am also a citizen of Pakistan and I said that WE don’t think as a Pakistani. not pointed to any particular group of people.

dara said:

@ Danish
    I appreciate your point of view, unfortunately
    there has been a deep spread and injected poison in Punjab against other nations.
    specially in the times of Zia Ul haq , I know most of the Pujabies do not think like that but there are some who have been poisoned with a stupid idea that they are the most loyal to Pakistan.
    This was the Last province to accept Qaidi azam and Muslim League as till 1945/46 it has unionist party cabinet and provincial Govt.

dara said:

I don’t agree at all with MQM politics, but if Mustafa Kamal has been Nominated then we should take it as a success of a Pakistani. After all Mustafa Kamal is not from Isreal, he is a Pakistani, we should congratulate and accept it.

Democrat2007 said:

@nota:
    I like the comments by mbokhari that you gave a link to. But where has he gone? Don’t see any comments from him now.

Serwani said:

Yes, I knew it from the beginning.
    and just Imagine that our prime minister officially called Altaf in london to congratulate him.
    These stupid people don’t even bother to confirm the news and sources before issuing statements.
    So even a blogger can direct our government to issue official statements….lol

nota said:

I think the point of the article is not whether Mustafa Kemal is the “World’s Second Best Mayor” or not but that “this story was a misleading and was actually fabricated.”

Of that there is no doubt — “here was NO ranking of any Mayors” is a statement of fact. Claiming him as “World’s Second Best Mayor” is indeed a fabrication.

Here is the complete text of the sidebar that contains the only mention of him:

The Mayors of the Moment

Klaus Wowereit Mayor of Berlin (#17)

The concept of the global city isn’t lost on Klaus Wowereit. Since taking office in 2001, the popular, 55-year-old mayor of Berlin has tied his fate to rebranding the city as a glamorous, artistic model of urban renewal. And Berlin’s reputation has thrived as a vibrant, tolerant, creative metropolis under his watch. Wowereit cites the construction of a gigantic international airport, the successful 2006 World Cup, and a cultural festival called “Asia-Pacific Weeks” as landmark accomplishments. His critics claim that he focuses more on the city’s image than its crumbling infrastructure or budget shortfalls. “We are poor but sexy,” admits Wowereit. A fun fantasy it may be, but Berliners will probably only be willing to play the starving artist for so long.

Syed Mustafa Kamal Mayor of Karachi (#57)

The new mayor of Karachi is an unlikely poster child for innovative urban planning. The 36-year-old Syed Mustafa Kamal governs a city that’s more often in the news for religious violence than cosmopolitan ways. But the hard-charging Kamal is looking to change all that. He’s courting foreign investment, encouraging international ties, and boosting the city’s tourism. Kamal isn’t shy about his goals: He has said he wants to turn Karachi into the “next Dubai.” His Green Karachi project aims to plant thousands of trees in the city. No stranger to Karachi’s bare-knuckled politics, Kamal isn’t letting anything stand in the way of his grand plans: He has threatened to arrest anyone who tries to cut down the new saplings.

Wang Hongju Mayor of Chongqing (#59)

Think Michael Bloomberg has his hands full? Wang Hongju is mayor of the fastest-growing city on the planet, one whose metropolitan area is already bursting at 32 million—more than the population of Iraq. But Wang isn’t letting China’s urban revolution happen under his feet. He has been known to collect advice from citizens (for cash rewards), from mayors of sister cities such as Toronto, and even from the works of Thomas Friedman. Wang has sought heavy foreign investment, which his administration says has topped a whopping $3 billion in the past five years. In 2005, he claimed his antipoverty programs had helped 3 million Chongqing residents rise out of poverty in the previous eight years. Wang rarely shies from reporters’ questions, even about hot-button topics such as Tibet or SARS. His approach, a stark departure from Communist Chinese officials of old, has made the 63-year-old Wang the face of a new breed of Chinese mayors.

nota said:

@Democrat2007
    Actually I was pointing out this “gem”:
    “I know there is one thing which I can not agree with anybody even if I see it happening with my eyes (Remember the good old athiest refusing to accept the God even after seeing HIM). And that is PPP is establishment, establishment is PPP, AZ is establishment’s agent, AZ is worse than musharraf, Establishment is sitting idle, establishment loves people of Pakistan, establishment respects the verdict of people of Pakistan, it is PPP doing everything is Pakistan, establishment goons have magically disappeared, Chemical Tariqs, Ashfaq Parvez Kiyanis , Nadeem Tajs and the military officer have performed Hajj , they have repented for their sins in the past , they now believe in supermacy of the Parliament, AZ is leading the establishment…..blah blah…..”

I don’t know why @mbo stays away most of the time. But he is around more often than you think…

Faiyyaz Ahmed said:

jatt sahab abb buhat he racist kind of personality ke malik ho i think so u recon the advice given from danish

may be you change your views everybody accept his hard work so ek do bando ko koi takleef ho to no worries

#2 par ho ya #57 kisi no par to hai na

take care brother and dont run after one huge crowd of karachi.

Alhumdulillah karachi is going well just worried abut yur city.

you are loser man

KhalidMahmood said:

@ all
    If Karachi got 57 as a city in the world as well as Mustafa Kamal got rank 2 as a mayor, this will remain as a topic here>>

I would like to show you some of MK works…..

Decide self if he did good works or not !!!

Karachi Shining City Mayor Mustafa Kamal Part-1

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Qi-ghi5JOD4&feature=related

Karachi Shining City Mayor Mustafa Kamal Part-2

http://youtube.com/watch?v=KMa8AhO3Rms&feature=related

Karachi Shining City Mayor Mustafa Kamal Part-3

http://youtube.com/watch?v=NN-WjEFE6dk&feature=related

Karachi Shining City Mayor Mustafa Kamal Part-4

http://youtube.com/watch?v=A7Bp3KyrOWY

Malek said:

This mayor looks like a ’sadaqah ka baqra’….and as per the artcile he is defintely a ‘No 2′ (in more ways than one)

did anyone see him getting shabash by stroking his head from Altaf Kaalia on ARY news yesterday?……it was just like you do to ’sadaqah ka baqra’ before qurbani!

that shabash clip from ARY may be worth putting next to this story?

Jatt said:

@ Faiyyaz Ahmed,

regarding,

“jatt sahab abb buhat he racist kind of personality ke malik ho ”

the man and the party you are praising is Racist in true sense of the word. Altaf and MTK never miss a chance to take a swipe at non-urdu speaking’s. BTW, You prove my point that any time one criticizes Altaf or any of his party member the only response that comes back is that you are racist ! ! ! I wonder when you guys are going to grow up and make sensible arguments in support of your claim instead of slander.

regarding,

‘you are loser man’

Is this cause I have brains ? BTW, a looser is the one who says ‘loser’.

Again a very atypical response from MQM fundoos. Go beyond name calling and slandering before making an argument. Oh no, your feeble brain can not handle that.

I have nothing against any one and I wish your city all the success.

Malek said:

This mayor looks like a ’sadaqah ka baqra’….and as per the artcile he is defintely a ‘No 2′ (in more ways than one)

did anyone see him getting shabash by str@king his head from Altaf Kaalia on ARY news yesterday?……it was just like you do to ’sadaqah ka baqra’ before qurb@ni!

@dmin
    that shabash clip from ARY may be worth putting next to this story?

Jatt said:

@ KhalidMahmood,

MTK’s Karachi was also shinning on May 12, 2007.

Karachi received huge financial and politcal support from Musharraf and MTK had an uninterrupted free reign over the city.

If You pour the same amount of cash in a Lyari Gutter I bet you can make it look like a Palace that even Sheikh Zayed Al Nahayan will envy.

• Mustafa Kamal - World’s 2nd Best Mayor - The controversy « Long Live Pakistan said:

[...] has become a controversy now. On of the main players highlighting this controversy are people from PKPolitics. They suggest the following and present an email conversation as a proof. One of the most [...]

• Pakistan » Seeking Ghana,Nepal,Pakistan,Romania!! said:

[...] Comment on The Fake Story – World’s 2nd Best Mayor by Jamshed KhanI was amazed as how come this Kalia and son of ISI and Musharrf Kalia is the second best mayor in the world. wow the world… He issue ethnic statements in USA about Karachi and he needs to be tried in Islamabad for treason. [...]

adnanalaric said:

pity on all of you ; karachi has flourished under him and we have seen noticable difference…n for the admin kamal name is mentioned in the heading “The Mayors of the Moment”…
    “Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder: ”

The city is ranked at 57;
    really sad times for paksitani nation ; i agree it was misreported in ALL the papers including dawn…

2nd best or one of teh top 3..what eva; he has done great work for karachi n we are proud of him…

well ; sad this page clearly shows the jealousy amongst our selves…are we really a nation?….im confused

KhalidMahmood said:

@jatt
    only May 12 2007, what about 19 june 1992,
    what about 31 oct. 1988, what about 27 dec. 2007, what about 14 dec. 1986….etc etc etc…
    Musharraf did not workonly in karachi>>> See this video>>>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTGLPkJhUXM

Jatt said:

@khalidMahmood,

You are right, we should include all the statistics of all the strike calls made by MQM in 80’s and 90’s. And not to forget the famous public speech by Altaf Hussain in which he instructed his cadres to sell TV’sand buy AK-47’s.

What’s the point of this video ? I can make my own video and post it, would it mean whatever I am saying is correct ?

Listen you may be the victim of MQM’s propaganda but I am not. If you think more money was spend elsewhere than bring numbers to me. These subjective broad statements won’t convince any balanced mind.

Rashid1972 said:

marta paki Says bakwas

shame on u marta pakistan

adnanalaric said:

shows the biasness….dnt knw why my comment was deleted ..which was a very straight forward one…comparing to the ones ove already read……hopeless….

dot said:

KhalidMehmood: what about 19 june 1992
    Jatt: Silence
    KhalidMehmood: what about 31 oct. 1988
    KhalidMehmood: what about 27 dec. 2007
    KhalidMehmood: what about 14 dec. 1986

etc etc etc…
    KhalidMehmood: Musharraf did not workonly in Karachi See this video…
    Jatt: What’s the point of this video? I can make my own video and post it, would it mean whatever I am saying is correct?

Point of this video is that Local Government System was introduced, which has finally produced some results in Karachi(thanks to Mustafa Kamal, not the best but definitely a hard working mayor) and thats one reason why most of the Karachi supported Mushrraf. With that system the power trickled obviously center lost some.
    Which is exactly what Pakistan need now. Autonomy to all Provinces, then to cities and finally to town levels (where town will generate and manage its own funds). Unfortunately, your beloved democracy is back with Zardari and Nawaz who obviously want power back in the center so that they can become civilian dictators.

Farian said:

OK this story is misreported..and its clear Mustafa Kamal is not a 2nd Best Mayor.

So what ….I think most of the web site visitors including me and above all the Admin PkPolitics are BIASED.

Look at the angle of coverage…we are always covering the news and info with specific angle of interest supporting couple of favourite parties and not at all objective.

MQM no doubt have lot of blood and mistakes but its a part of political process and its being refined continusly. At least look at where they stand today interms of stated policy as compared to their hard line policies in 80s.

But we all must admit and try to analyze MQM dirty tactics in light of Jamiat, ISI and Establishments own dirty deeds.

I am quite hopefull MQM will evolve and get rid of Altaf and other thugs and will work for the cause of Pakistan.

I am very happy for the work done by Mustafa Kamal and it make me proud to see his name mentioned in a good way. I feel that more hardworking administrators like Shehbaz Sharif and MK are needed for every town, city, and provibe of Pakistan.

My request to all brothers and sisters is to stop looking every thing with biased glasses and try to appreciate positives in others and show some good will.

And only this GOOD WILL of ours will save and secure Pakistan.
    Wassalam
    Farian

dot said:

Jatt: Listen you may be the victim of MQM’s propaganda but I am not. If you think more money was spend elsewhere than bring numbers to me. These subjective broad statements won’t convince any balanced mind.

Even if he some how provides the number, won’t believe them as well:)

Adonis said:

It is useless to try having a logical discussion with MQM followers. They think that their taxi driver cum psychopath leader is the source of all wisdom and a “semi-prophet” and whatever pathetic nonsense he utters is divine wisdom.

Nincompoops !!!!!!

KhalidMahmood said:

@Jatt
    In this video, If MK lied a single word?
    Come with proof, see again this video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTGLPkJhUXM

and yes, Altaf Hussain siad TV , VCR Beecho Aoor Islaha Khareedo ( License Wala).
    He never said buy ak-47( just for correction)

See old newspapers….
    and why did he say and when exactly he said , Do u know this?

For your information and for others who have less knowledge about karachi politics,

This was first time just after 14 Dec. 1986, after massacres of Mohajirs in Ali Garh Colony, karachi>>>

How can you defend from those genociders,
    who wanted to kill all Mohajirs at that time,If u get time come to Ali Garh,talk to those people who faced those days>>>

Before this massacres of Mohajir in Ali Garh, karachi, Mohajir had almost no gun in their community>>>
    After this 14 Dec. 1986 , Mohajir had not choice , but to buy guns for their own security>>>
    Do some research, do not believe me, believe me after your research or try to change my mind with your research>>>
    I, in person met people from Ali Gargh, I can not write here what they said, what they had experience, most of us will feel shame as a pakistani.

Do not push Altaf Hussain from Mutheda to Mohajir Tehreek>>>>

Wo Aadmi Hay Tumharay Jesa….Jo Tum Karooo Gay… Wo, Woh Karay Ga….

nazia said:

Sooner we will find that this magazine is rating altaf baji as top of courageous eununchs who is fighting for the rights of poor people while sitting thousand miles away from them.Our so called leaders still thinking that they rule on fools.

Adonis said:

It is a common tactic of MQM thugs to play the race card. They try to portray as if MQM is the party of all urdu speaking people which it is certainly not.

Even in the last ‘relatively’ free elections in karachi of 2002, MQM could not get even 50% votes. Its success in seats won was due to division among its opponents not because of any overwhelming support.

So MQM supporters should not try to portray as if criticizing MQM is like criticizing all urdu speaking people of karachi because this tactic has long worn out.

But I guess nincompoops really can not learn !!!!

nota said:

@zeeshan673
    “So whoever supports chor is also a chor(according to the principles of Islam)”

Am I to understand you were trying to prove @nazia correct? :)

Fakhir Tanoli said:

Chill everybody…..or may be being Pakistanis u won’t……

On this controversy, MQM and its history…..everybody knows this party operates less like a political party and more like a criminal gang……Altaf “Bhai”….well what one can say….just view any of his many available clips on youtube and you’ll need no proof about this guys being a head case….everyone knows MQM and altaf on who’s behest karachi bathed in blood in 90s and on 12 may.

On other hand……well….me born & bred in karachi….left it for higher studies in mid 1990s…(yeah…during the bloodiest era in karachi’s history)…..and after studies settled in London…..last eid in september i visited karachi after 3 long years and was amazed by the new shape of my hometown…..i mean who gives a hoot about MK’s being number 2 or number 57….this guy has done something good to the city….lets acknowledge that…appreciate it….shall we??……i have been told by many friends that this guy works like a jinn……he regularly visits the project sites, sometimes even at midnights…..monitors projects’ progress personally and makes sure that things get done by the deadlines. I was also surprised to see young college/university students controlling traffic and other stuff…..under his “our karachi” program or something…nice idea……well he may not be the 2nd best in the world but he is good…innit?? thats why his name appeared in this survey/magazine……and one more thing….

on a different note…i seriously advise those who love mayor and posted in favor of him that they should pray for his mayor’s long life…bcoz as per the history i know….in MQM those who rise above the ranks/get popular strangely get killed on “someone’s orders”.

Adonis said:

The same argument was given by Nazis that as Germans they had to support Hitler. There are millions of urdu speaking karachiites who do not support MQM. Are they against the development of karachi?

The fact is that before MQM. Karachi was the most developed and most advanced city of Pakistan where people of all linguistic groups lived in peace. It was MQM that destroyed Karachi. If Mustafa Kamal is doing development work in Karachi then Naimat Ullah Khan was doing similar development works before him. But I wonder why all emphasis is on mustafa kamal? If he is good, then by all means vote for him and his party in local bodies elections.

But what has MQM done at the national and provincial level? Lets not forget that MQM has been a part of every single government in Pakistan since 1988 whether it be a democratic government or dictatorship. MQM had gained popularity on its policies of opposing quota system and demanding repatriation of stranded Pakistanis. Now it does not even pay lip service to these causes.

MQM boasts of promoting middle class leadership. But what I have observed is that MQM ministers have always been some of the most corrupt ones in every cabinet.

So if you think that for a few fly overs and wider roads in Karachi, the price of division of city on ethnic lines, crimes, bhattas and a permanent atmosphere of fear and violence is worth paying for, then good luck to you.

Fireblade said:

I appreciate admin for a great work but we still need to publish this in the print media as well as on air tv stations so this will drop like an hydrogen bomb on mqm altaf and its rabita tor chor committee.I dont think our tv channels have courage to publish this but they have misreported so they should correct themselves and tell the pakistani people the truth.Mqm is a thug party everybody knows nobody need to verify this they work on terror by terror for terror they are also involved in money laundering their party’s higher level is involved with khanani and kalia and we will see what ppp would do to them but as usual mqm has threatened the government again not only threatened to leave the government but to terrorise the whole karachi the can go again to bomb blasts as they are already funded by RAW and others.We need a quick solution to eliminate these foreign terrorists they have there their own intelligence network same like a state in a state but we cannot do anything without the help of our brothers and sisters of karachi.

Fireblade said:

I am from karachi aswell believe me nobody i have ever seen liking mqm by heart even mqm people themselves.My mqm brothers please think with a cool and neutral mind you are a patriotic pakistani mqm is not patriotic and is on the international agenda they are just using you, they kill their own mqm members if you still dont believe then tell me when your friend is killed by mqm or any other party what does mqm do with you what does altaf do with you why he is living a good life in london why do you follow his orders why he does not come back and live with us why! think with a cool and neutral mind.How come he runs the pakistani politics when he does not want to live abroad,dont you see there is something fishy ? Mqm is full of false stories altaf tabayla.

asif65 said:

@KhalidMahmood
    Please tell us how much has been payed to produce
    such videos?

With videos you cannot measure the living standard
    of a city. If this is right then watching Indian movies of Shah Rukh, etc .. one would say India
    is the most beautiful and richest country of the world. But it is not so!

These videos are propaganda videos.

The truth is Mayor of Karachi has Rank 57 as Karachi has Rank #57!

Democrat2007 said:

Well if MQM is doing good development work, then it should be willing to allow others to freely hold jalsas and campaigns in Karachi. Instead, what we saw on May 12 and the way MQM valas defended it by saying keh “hamaray sheher main aa keh rally kyoon kur rahay thay” shows that the party does not believe in democratic politics. Let it allow a free political atmosphere in Karachi where others can easily hold their rallies and campaigns. Then if the people of Karachi think the MQM is doing better development work, they can vote for MQM and noone will be able to complain

opinion786 said:

I have never seen such a BIAS article to DIS-CREDIT a PAKISTANI by a Pakistani forum!

You write in your introduction that “there was NO ranking of any mayors by FP magazine”

Would you care to explain, why:

1- Mustafa Kamal (#57) was included in THREE “Mayors of Moment” out of so many?

2- There WAS indeed a ranking in which three were short-listed. #17, #57 and #59.

3- FP allocated a separate page for “Mayors of Moment” http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php?story_id=4509&page=3

Please DON’T discredit a pakistani! Would you have jumped if it were an Indian?

makhalil said:

thanks for accepting me to this website.

Regarding Musrafa Kamal in never thought he is anything special.
    he is ’show biz man’. Thanks to GEO he is in.

Danish said:

@asif65

It’s ok that Karachi secured 57th and our Mayor also secured 57. But don’t you think that Karachi represents Pakistan internationally?? The people who are insisting that Khi secured 57th position is actually treating khi as enemy and feeling jealous with its position.

Plz try to think that success of Karachi is the success of Pakistan and we should be proud of that. Atleast one city of our country is recognized internationally.

Take example of ourselves, we always try to take the credit of the things that we didn’t achieve. And its human psychology that our family members also trying to defend that decision.

From this example it’s very clear that we are not treating each other as our family members. And instead of praising the decision, we are feeling jealous from the success of our bro and try to reasoning the decision.

syed1508 said:

I see smoking coming from some quarters which shows their bias and racial thinking. It is sad that some of the people are still living in old ages. Nations are developing and moving forward but we maintain jealousy and hatred against each other that is why we are beggar in the world. We all should be proud if Pakistan name is highlighted for any piece of good work done by any Pakistani.
    By the way, some people need to understand english properly because it is not our language.

KhalidMahmood said:

@Adonid
    Who is the founder of “MQM” or Mohajir Tehreek?

nota said:

How come this topic is all “biased” and “anti-MQM” / “anti-Karachi”, etc. but no one is making similar complaints against the Dr. Fake topic?

Hmmmm!

Jamhooriat said:

@Danish

Your assumption that if any one is trying to bring the truth is an enemy of Karachi is absolutely false.

If YOU get 57th position in your class of 60 students and back home you tell your dad proudly that you are the No. 2 in class , What this will be called as ?

And if later your dad gets to know that you actually were telling lie and infact you are 57th in class what he will think about you??? And do you think then your dad will be your enemy if he reacts to your cheating ???

jawada said:

@jamhooriat

where this is written that he is 57th

if he is 57th

who is the first then ??????

ask FP put another mail get the list and show to the people

syed1508 said:

The Mayors of the Moment

“No city globalizes on its own. But with shrewd investments and smart urban planning, a mayor can help turn a regional player into a global powerhouse. Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder:”
    KARACHI IS NUMBERED AS 57th CITY OF THE WORLD, NOTHING TO DO WITH THE RANKING OF MAYOR.

Rashid1972 said:

machinations

Rashid1972 said:

Bagh-i-Benazir & diversions

By Ardeshir Cowasjee

TO digress, as we must because it affects our survival, a quote from the front page of yesterday’s edition of this newspaper of record — first the headline: ‘FO admits ties with US strained’, under which is a recording of the “politically and diplomatically” strained relations due to the ongoing drone incursions.

“Pakistan is against the violation of the sovereignty and national territory of any state.”

Well, we plebeians cannot solve the problem and neither for sure can the FO. What the FO can do is to tell the Americans, even indirectly, that “You have got us into this mess, now get us out of it. Your machinations have seated our present president and he now reigns and rules at your behest and to the best of his ability.”

His ability must be questioned as there appeared in last week’s press a news item announcing that Sharmila Farooqui, niece of deputy chairman of the Planning Commission, Salman Farooqui, and daughter of Usman Farooqui of Pakistan Steel Mills fame, has been appointed adviser to the Sindh chief minister. If we can believe it, as reported, “President Asif Ali Zardari had directed the chief minister to appoint her as special adviser owing to her sacrifices for the party.”

It would be of immense interest to know, just in this one particular case of nepotism, exactly what her sacrifices were, and as she will presumably be paid for her advisory services from the national coffers we need to know her qualifications to advise and precisely what will be the subject upon which she will tender advice to Commuter Qaim Ali Shah (who in this dispensation also spends much of his time commuting between Karachi and Islamabad — thanks to the advent of technology, flying and not on horseback).

Now, to use one of the favourite phrases of our former president, Gen Pervez Musharraf, we must move to the ‘core issue’, which our judiciary can well solve. Last week’s column was devoted to Gutter Baghicha, out of which area I suggested that a park be carved, laid and nurtured and named after Benazir Bhutto. It brought in many responses, mainly from those settled abroad who elaborated on the virtues of London’s Hyde Park, New York’s Central Park, Paris’s Bois de Boulogne, Washington’s Orchard Park, and so forth.

Parks and open spaces are necessary if the citizens of cities are to be allowed to ‘breathe’ in their congested polluted and overpopulated environments. An open space such as Gutter Baghicha in densely populated Lyari is not only a boon but almost a ‘must’.

The fight for the preservation of Gutter Baghicha started 17 years ago way back in 1991 when the KMC went to the Supreme Court and filed a writ petition against the Government of Sindh asking that the land be handed over so that the KMC could construct offices, cooperative housing societies and such constructions.

The NGO Shehri intervened in 1993, pleading that the space should be retained as a park. The land was handed over to the KMC and a stay was granted which lasted until 2003 when, at the request of the CDGK which had replaced the KMC, the Supreme Court directed the two parties to settle the matter out of court through negotiations and in consultation with Shehri.

Nothing happened until 2005 when it was found that the CDGK was, on the quiet, trying to implement the original KMC plan. Shehri filed a contempt application in the Supreme Court maintaining that it had not been consulted. The application was dismissed in 2006. Shehri immediately filed a constitutional petition in the Sindh High Court against the CDGK and others who were aiming to convert Gutter Baghicha from an amenity plot into residential/commercial plots, and a stay was granted. The stay remained in force until the petition was dismissed early this year as having been already decided by the Supreme Court contempt application.

Then, Shehri appealed to the Supreme Court against the dismissal and was advised by the Court to file a suit in the Sindh Hight Court as a constitutional petition did not lie. Shehri did so, against the CDGK and others, and a stay was granted.

Herewith an excerpt from the order handed down in the Sindh High Court on Oct 23, 2008 signed by Justice Gulzar Ahmed: “It is contended by learned counsel [needless to say Naeemur Rehman] that there was a garden maintained by erstwhile KMC by the name of Gutter Baghicha in Lyari, which was of about 1,000 acres of land and that such Garden was being enjoyed by the people of Lyari and adjoining area for almost about 100 years. He states that the KMC allotted about 200 acres of land out of said Garden to Defendant No. 3 against which the plaintiff filed Human Rights Petition No. 6-K of 1993 in the Honourable Supreme Court, which was disposed of vide order dated 29.5.2003 in the form of a compromise that the matter will be settled by negotiations among the parties.

“He states that as such order was not complied with by the KMC the petitioner filed a contempt petition in the Honourable Supreme Court which was disposed of and the petitioner filed C.P. No. D-17 of 2006 in this Court which also came to be dismissed vide order dated 14.2.2008, against which a Constitutional Petition was filed in the Honourable Supreme Court, which has been decided by order dated 19.8.2008 whereby the petitioner has been advised to avail the remedy by way of a Civil Suit. Learned counsel states that in the Human Rights Petition, the contempt petition … in the Honourable Supreme Court and the Constitutional Petition in this Court a status quo order was operating and that unless such a status is continued the plaintiffs apprehend that the defendants will create further third party interest in the said Gutter Baghicha garden.”

Now, the case will be heard by Judge Gulzar Ahmed in the High Court of Sindh on the 12th of this month. The poor people of Lyari have been fighting to save this baghicha of theirs for the past 17 years. What they now need is help and money. Will President Zardari, placed as he is, help them? After all, Lyari was his wife’s constituency from which he and his party will continue to glean political support.

arfc@cyber.net.pk

sufyanshoaib said:

Whatever and where ever he stands in the position on Mayers ranking if it somehow exists but

What i don’t understand is why and how does the media either print or electronic just passes on all these such rumors to public ????? without even confirming it??

Such things caused me to move away from news, now i just don’t believe on any TV/newspaper. And im sure most people will agree with me.

localdude said:

someone said in his remarks that Foriegn Policy didn’t mean TOP Three, Read again, it clearly says that How the Top Three Mayors of the world are climbing the ladder AND Ladder here refers to the previous line of Intro i.e.
    “No city globalizes on its own. But with shrewd investments and smart urban planning, a mayor can help turn a regional player into a global powerhouse.”
    It means these are the Top 3 Mayors who are helping their cities to achieve these goals.
    Hats off to Mustafa Kamal and his party i.e. MQM

areeza said:

Laro and Maaro but dont see Pakistan development by hand of any URDU speaking person.

If you CANNOT praise someone’s work atleast you can “Close your eyes”

asadumar said:

What you people are doing is no more different then what MQM and/or other parties are doing. Had you people have guns, you would have fired each others.

I am nor a fan of MQM , but it is no exception to other political parties. A fight can not take place unless there are two parties ready to fight. What MQM does, has been demonstrated by other parties time and again like Jamiat, PPP, and others as well.

The racism is not something which is built into the party but the people that are part of that party and such people are no other than you all.

For you people to think constructively, am leaving a beautiful quote.

When I was a young man, I wanted to change the world. I found it was difficult to change the world, so I tried to change my nation. When I found I couldn’t change the nation, I began to focus on my town. I couldn’t change the town and as an older man, I tried to change my family.

Now, as an old man, I realize the only thing I can change is myself, and suddenly I realize that if long ago I had changed myself, I could have made an impact on my family. My family and I could have made an impact on our town. Their impact could have changed the nation and I could indeed have changed the world.

btw, we must appreciate the efforts put up by MK, because none of you had the courage of doing anything other than pointing your finger up. A place like Pakistan, which almost all the world knows for its extremism, corruption and other synonyms, gets the highlights on something different.

khobar said:

MQM is a proven fascist organisation. A court in Canada passed a landmark judgment in which it declared MQM as a terrorist organisation.

MQM has thrived on policy of intimidation and blackmailing. Unfortunately, the present government has given a lease of life to Altaf Hussain who stood isolated after 12th May massacre in Karachi. I feel very much annoyed when both the print and electronic media dutifully cover Altaf Hussain’s speeches.

The Nazim of Karachi is a minion but because of propaganda machine he has been projected as a great leader who has transformed Karachi into second Dubai. The fact is that Karachi’s centuries old villages or popularly known as ‘goths’ have systematically been destroyed and the land alloted to mafias of MQM. The roads and sewerage system are in pitiable condition. Not long ago, the life was paralysed by monsoon rains and the underpasses were turned into swimming pools by the rain water.

True its policy of lies and lies the supremo has now come with another lie that a magazine has labelled Kamal as second best mayor in the world. The Foreign Policy Magazine has come out denying that Mustafa Kamal has been ranked second best mayor.

gardezi said:

MQM proven lairs of the 3rd MILLENNIUM.

MQM is the Fascist,raciest and terrorist organization.NO NEED OF PROOF EVERYONE KNOWS ABOUT IT.

nota said:

@gardezi
    “NO NEED OF PROOF EVERYONE KNOWS ABOUT IT.”

Very valid point :)

Muhammad Usman said:

Dear ALL

Please remember, whatever it is, best mayor or passing remark. Atleasr there was amention of a pakistani.
    Ithink this man is doing good work.Give him his due appreciation.

You may disagrre with his ideology.
    Who is stopping the mayors of peshawar, lahore, rawalpindi or quetta from doing development work.

Ithink at the moment only two persons in pakistani politics are doing activr development .

SHAHBAZ SHARIF and MUSTAFA KAMAL are only two dynamic and active administrators.

We may disagree with them , but learn from them.
    Sahme on most of corrupt politicians and rulers, be it military or civil.

syed1508 said:

Mr. Khobar. Please let people know the name of the city and which court as you said passed landmark judgement in Canada. You are lebelling a serious charge, therefore you must provide this information, otherwise you will be considered same as you said in your own statement.

Also read the magazine text, English is a bit difficult language to understand.

The Mayors of the Moment

“No city globalizes on its own. But with shrewd investments and smart urban planning, a mayor can help turn a regional player into a global powerhouse. Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder:”

KARACHI IS NUMBERED AS 57th CITY OF THE WORLD, NOTHING TO DO WITH THE RANKING OF MAYOR.

Riddle 792 said:

Audio Conversation With The Press Rep of Foreing Policy Magazine

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWswbdQ8vTM

dakul daku hi hota hay !

shame on u bandro !

Riddle 792 said:

some 1 should send this news to AAJ, GEO, ARY and etc …………

Jatt said:

Here is an independent proof that MQM is a terrorist organization,

http://reports.fja.gc.ca/eng/2006/2006fc246/2006fc246.html

http://immlawyer.blogs.com/my_weblog/2007/11/pakistans-fault.html

Here is excerpt from report stating Judges decision.

In a January 17, 2005 letter, immigration officer Byrd advised the applicant that he was inadmissible to Canada pursuant to paragraph 34(1)(f) of the IRPA on the grounds that he was a member of an organization that there are reasonable grounds to believe engages, has engaged or will engage in acts of terrorism. In her letter, the officer stated:

I have come to the conclusion that you are inadmissible to Canada based on your involvement with the Mohajir Quami Movement – Altaf (MQM‑A) from 1985 until 1996 working as a volunteer distributing pamphlets, attending meetings and writing newspaper articles for MQM‑A; MQM‑A is a known organization that has participated in terrorist activities. As a result your application for permanent residence has been refused.

Jatt said:

This audio is really hillarious.

MTK has been exposed. Hahahhahah…. He really is a self indulging idiot.

Thanks to ‘Riddle 1972′
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWswbdQ8vTM

kami said:

@KhalidMahmood

abe duesburg wale baz a ja is propogand se!!!

asif65 said:

Thanks @Riddle for calling FP to clear facts.
    All Fans of Mayor of Karachi please leson to the conversation of Mr Raza with Press secretary of FP before giving further arguments!

Jatt said:

@Mr10percent,

You MQM boyz need to chill out and look at the facts in a calm and cool manner.

Look all we are saying is that ‘HE IS NOT THE SECOND BEST MAYOR IN THE WORLD’. Nothing else. Why is it so hard for you to digest this even in the face of glaring facts ?

Through your name (Mr10percent), are you implying that your brain capacity is 10% of any normal human being ? What the hell do you mean by “the so called son of the soils are empty headed now” ?

Mr10percent said:

@jatt
    What the hell do you mean by “the so called son of the soils are empty headed now” ?

Some one above is calling the people of karachi “outsiders”

Mr Jatt, even after 60 years we are hearing this non sense and i am pretty sure it is coming from the Nawaz group and Imran group.

I admire only IK in the current batch of politicians.

Mr10percent is very famous and president now that is why my id is Mr10percent, hope you like him.

Sidqi said:

It seems that people like all of you, have become so cynical and pessimistic.

Nothing good makes you happy, nothing bad make you sorry. We have forgotten joys of life and pride of successes. We fight each other for the sake of fight and not reason.

Why.
    Becuase we were never a nation nor will be, ever.

Sidqi.

Malek said:

@sidqi
    ‘pride of successes’ watch this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWswbdQ8vTM
    more like pack of lies! nations dont survive on lies

may be u are not a nation….but a c@lt follower of MQM….because rest of pakistan is a nation and a very strong one

Mr10percent said:

@Malek
    I can see from your tone and how others are writing against the people of Karachi that how hateful your nation has become.

Please do not include me into your brain damaged nation, you are the sick people of Pakistan and need treatment and mqm will treat you very well.

Jatt said:

Mr10percent : Some one above is calling the people of karachi “outsiders”

What do you expect from ’some one’ to call you ? when you call them “son of soils” ? Are you not declaring that you are not “son of soils” ?

BTW, Can you tell me why Altaf led MQM calls ’son of soils’ ‘outsiders’ in Karachi ?

I have nothing against any one but I can’t stand bigotry whether it’s coming from right wing nut case like Baitullah Boom or Secular Violent Facist like Altaf and his boy MTK.

Sidqi said:

The city ranking and a mayor ranking are two entirely different things.

Karachi is 57th. in cleanliness, transports crime etc.
    Mayor ranking is 2nd. in hard working, making roads, renew water systems etc.

Why mix them. Like foolish kids.

Mr10percent said:

@Jatt
    Don’t be so naive as you have not been living in the Pakistan.
    They way you are targeting a specific group, it seems that you are not on the right track.
    I, my self has experienced the discrimination because i speak urdu and i could not go for the admission in the engineering college in sindh so i went to karachi.

Please don’t give me BS, it was all started against urdu speaking first and when urdu speaking started to call themselves what others have been calling them then others started saying that they are outsiders.

Jatt said:

@Mr10percent

It was wrong for some one to discrimnate with you, if thats how it happened, but that’s no reason to return the favor in kind.

I believe we can go on with this discussion well into next millenium but lets try to form some online truce.

I understand that some wrong’s were done to ‘urdu speaking’ people but than with the same token you must admit that same sword cuts bothways.

Now, am I right to expect a repudiation of Altaf’s facist methods ?

KhalidMahmood said:

@Mr10percent
    well said about Jatt

@Jatt
    You did not answer of my question.

@Kami
    Wer bist du?Kennen wir uns?
    and what propoganda you meant ?

Mr10percent said:

@jatt
    Now, am I right to expect a repudiation of Altaf’s facist methods ?

Then talk about all the parties in which mqm came in the last and has learned from the jamiat, ppp and pml-n.

People of Karachi and hyderabad were pushed towards mqm by doing Army operations by Nawaz sharif against urdu speaking in the name of mqm. I still remember those days when i was a student from interior sindh in karachi and witnessed those humiliating acts by army when they forced people into chicken positions in the chokes.

In my views all the parties are same and all the politicians are same except Imran khan who has not been tested and is talking sense these days. I also respect the pak army because this is the only entity in pakistan who can protect this mother from its own children.

Jatt said:

@KhalidMahmood

Are you ready to condemn the murderous acts comitted by MQM goons on various strike calls ?

In no shape or form do I support any one who picks up the gun and starts forcing others to comply with him.

There were many AliGarhs that were comitted by MQM cadres. What you have to say about them ?

yabaooon said:

well neither i m a MQM supporter nor i know too much about Mustafa Kamal to judge him.

But the 2nd link provided by the Admin http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php?story_id=4509&page=3

The first paragraph says this:
    “Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder:”

Although they didn’t provide a formal list of mayor’s ranking but they did identify top 3 mayors of the world.. and Mustafa Kamal’s name is definitely there.

opinion786 said:

THIS IS WHAT THE WORLD IS SAYING! Pls take PRIDE in being a PAKISTANI !

9. City District Government Karachi: http://www.karachicity.gov.pk/

1.Mustafa Kamal second best mayor in the world: http://www.dawn.com/2008/11/10/top11.htm

2. Karachi Mayor Mustafa Kamal is worlds 2nd best mayor:
    http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/…100117230.html

3. Karachi Mayor Mustafa Kamal is world’s 2nd best mayor:
    http://news.webindia123.com/news/Art…0/1100782.html

4. Karachi Mayor Mustafa Kamal is world’s 2nd best mayor:
    http://story.singaporestar.com/index…d/428272/cs/1/

5.Karachi Nazim, Mustafa Kamal placed among top-three world mayors:
    http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-ne…e-world-mayors

6. Mustafa Kamal declared 2nd best among top mayors in the globe :http://www.geo.tv/11-9-2008/28516.htm

rasheed said:

Dawn News Confirms that Kamal is not 2nd Best Mayor:

http://tinyurl.com/6h4d83

opinion786 said:

PRIME MINISTER lauds City Nazim Karachi for being named as world’s efficient mayor

ISLAMABAD, Nov 11 (APP): Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani on Tuesday congratulated City Nazim Karachi Syed Mustafa Kamal on being declared the second most efficient mayor in the world.

The Prime Minister said Syed Mustafa Kamal has made the whole nation proud, adding he would invite Kamal to the PM House soon to personally greet him

http://www.app.com.pk/en_/index.php?…58779&Itemid=1

opinion786 said:

@ rasheed. This what DAWN News says:

Mustafa Kamal second best mayor in the world

KARACHI, Nov 9: The Foreign Policy magazine of the United States has chosen Karachi Nazim Syed Mustafa Kamal as the second among the best three mayors in the world for 2008.

Berlin Mayor Klaus Wowereit and Chongqing Mayor Wang Hongju were the other two “mayors of the moment”, a press release issued by the Karachi City District Government said. http://www.dawn.com/2008/11/10/top11.htm

rasheed said:

@opinion786,

I have posted link to latest news from Dawn, published on 13th November 2008.

The purpose of publishing this Updated News was to cancel the previous article and to clarify the position that Kamal was in fact never ranked as 2nd Best Mayor of the World.

If you don’t understand or don’t want to understand, then please listen to the Audio Explanation by Foreign Policy Magazine Lady in the above YouTube Link shared by Riddle 972.

Samad Khurram said:

This is from the Foreign Policy blog:

http://blog.foreignpolicy.com/node/10285

• بے طقی باتیں بے طقے کام said:

کس کا کمال؟؟؟؟…

میں بنیادی طور پر نالائق ہوں! اس میں کوئی شک شبہ نہیں! ہاں کسی پر یہ راز آشکار نہ ہو تو اسے آپ میری خوش قسمتی کہہ سکتے ہیں! ذہانت نہیں! اس لئے م….

Nisar Jamali said:

Why they wrote in their magazine “Three of world’s top mayors” then……..?

(http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php?story_id=4509&page=3)

nota said:

@Nisar Jamali
    “Why they wrote in their magazine “Three of world’s top mayors” then……..?”

Becaue they meant “Three of world’s top mayors” and NOT “World’s top three mayors”. See the difference?

Tell me why did they write:

“We hate to rain on Kamal’s parade, and certainly intend him and his city no disrespect, but we simply never ranked him in any way. This entire mess could have been avoided with some very basic fact-checking.”

(Emphasis theirs)

More here, if you can handle the truth…

concerned citizen said:

Dear Admin, It would have been better if you had confirmed the authenticiy of the news rather than creating a masala item which is totally untrue. I have no inclination towards Mustafa Kamal’s party which has done more damage to Karachi and the country than it has done good. But if they have changed or are at least trying to change and this change has brought an honour to the country, we should appreciate that. Here is the link to the actual page of the Foreign Policy Magazine where Mr Kamal is awarded as second best among the mayors of the world:

Based on the fact that your article is incorrect, wouldnt it be fair that you modify it to confirm the news and appreciate the mayor so to reverse the damage that is being done? A honest, sincere Pakistani will…

utggondal said:

Mustafa Kamal has been hobnobbing with strategists and planners at the pentagon and Langeley., and to see an ordinary mayor of a strife torn city of a third world country,visiting such places n invitation, is curious and alarming to say the least.

Not so long ago, with Mush in attendance, This same Mayor had passed a meaningful remark that investors should not take capital out of Karachi as who knows by next year, the geography of the area may have changed.

USA and its lackeys are busy furthering their agenda of making Pakistan splinter along various geogrphical and ehtnic lines by 2015; with MQM slated to govern the area named “Jinnah-Abad”;

Fakhir Tanoli said:

Mustafa Kamal is not 2nd best mayor in the world…..and MQM is facist…ok…so??……does it give us the authority to call all Karachiwalas terrorists??traitors??……outsiders??? …are you kidding me??…..after 60 years of independence these mohajirs are still outsiders??…you guyz definitely have lost your minds……I mean what and in which way the people from rest of the current current Pakistan participated in Pakistan movement??…..these muhajirs and bangalis were the ones who gave their everything for the cause…their careers, money, properties, wealth and last but not the least lives……what was Punjab, Balochistan and frontier doing back then??? Nothing…absolutely nothing…..sindh yes….GM syed was the one who organized and led muslim league in sindh and was the first guy who raised his voice in favour of Pakistan in 1940s……(well its another story that later he took a 180 degree turn and showed his resentment….for valid reasons like oppression of minorities/poors by those waderas and choudhries who later took hold of country which once they opposed so much)….but seriously (since many of jatts like pointing fingers are muhajirs) lemme ask you whats Punjabs role in independence movement?……..don’t you remember the 1946 elections which was kind of “for and against” Pakistan referendum……and when muslim league swept seats in all muslim majority cities/provinces……why whole Punjab voted for unionist party???….. …
    Like majority of participants here…..i hate MQM’s leadership like anything…especially “Bhai”……man!!!…..when I see that guy and hear him making a speech….it makes me through up…..he is facist…racist and god knows whatelse…….but why pointing finger at him only …….”kiya baaqi saray politicians doodh kay dhulay hoe hain???”…….
    OK….lets start with our present in power party…..everybody knows how corrupt and dangerously stupid they all are……many argue that if “Shaheed” Benazir Bhutto were alive…..things would be in better shape…..first of all …..man…..whenever I hear the term shaheed used for that BIT** it makes my blood boil……using shaheed for someone who was always ready to give her American masters a blowjob in favor of helping her to get back in power……the better half of the most corrupt man in pakistan’s history and who herself owned billion of dollars in foreign account and whose government was thrown away by his own party leader on serious charges of corruption….damn….and after going through the recently widely circulated news/list of richest people in pakistan…what baffles me the most is how on earth the zaradi climbed to status of the 2nd richest person in pakistan…..i mean ok I can digest others on the list being richest bcoz they are either industrialists or waderas…..but as far as I know …..neither zardari or his father was the largest landlord or mentionable industrialist …..Mr. 10% got suddenly rich during PPPs two terms in power in 80s and 90s……does it need all of us to be a rocket scientist to understand where he got all this wealth from??…..and yes…who can forget the famous surrey palace controversy which both mian biwi once denied so forcefully taht they nothing to do with them….its noth theirs blah blah balh…. and then bb in her last yeasr and Mr. 10% using all their energies defending their case in british courts…to stop it sell order….i.e. to get the property back…….pufff
    And then there are the self claimed “god’s gift to the mankind” ….pakistan’s second most hated (after MQM)party – the hypocrite jamaties aka Qazi & the gang……these guys spent their whole lives financing their kitchen budgets making anti-American/western speeches…..and yet…qazi sahab’s own sons have been settled in US since ages……motivating others sons to go to Kashmir and Afghanistan to do jihad for promised jannat and his own sons to USA….wow …what a wiseguy….and yes……last 10 years they bragged so much about the wardi issue….what justification can these a-holes give about their support for another wardi-wala…yeah I mean our yet another shaheed… our mard-e-momin …mard-e- haq……for almost the same 10 years period….infact they were even part of their cabinet…. these hypocrites are always in frontlines whenever it comes to criticizing MQM and its policies and alleging MQM’s student wings terrorizing educational institutions……but…..hello……who introduced the AK47/ghunda culture in the universities/colleges in the first place…….these very jamaties…..their student wing……..its a matter of fact that altaf , imran farooq, farooq sattar were all jamiat members back in there student days…….its a no brainer “where and from who” these facist/terrorists got their first terrorist trainings from …..they learned the art of terrorism from those who introduced/invented it and when started applying it against their mentors….the mentors didn’t know how to undo things…….what a pitty…..one more thing …why…these jamaties hate MQM so much??….. for one very big reason…… KARACHI…….karachi was JI’s vote bank b4 MQM entered in politics……b4 MQM except for Karachi….. they never had and they still don’t win elections anywhere in the country……everybody hates them with same intensity all across pakistan…… they hate MQM becoz it turned their voters against them……
    Oh….yes …..here comes our Mr. innocent aka Saint Nawaz Sharif Rahmutallah alaeyh……..this saint with IQ level which is only challenged by George bush the 2nd…..led our herd (sorry can’t call ourselves a nation coz we don’t qualify for that status) two times as prime-minister…….its a general knowledge that his and his family’s wealth quadrupled during Zia’s era when he was punjab’s CM….. and then again during his terms as PM……..ok he might not be involved in killing or giving orders to kill people like “bhai” does…but does he have a blank slate??….if bhai is a killer (which he certainly is) then our saint is an economic hitman….bhai eliminated a select few of his enemies…target killing as the term goes……but this saint’s corruption effected the masses……and how can you satisfy someone if he asks….why in PMLN majority of the top leaders and those landlords whose ancestors were awarded lands by gora sahib because they all were so good ass kissers……our these beloved leaders twanas, makhdooms, maliks, chathas, etc are not ashamed but proud of their ancestors history who killed so many of their own depressed people on gora sahab’s behest…… why can’t you guys see blood on these people hands……and even these days….they govern their people like their ancestors used to in gora sahab’s days……in their mini states….they kill whoever they want….rape anybody they envy….even making a juloos of women and walking them around naked in bazaars……and nobody raises an eyebrow…..but in Karachi bcoz it’s a city and everything comes to limelight instantaneously…everybody knows how bad altaf led MQM is…….i personally believe these people are (if not worst than MQM) then atleast are equally worse……if in Karachi MQM controls the city and nobody can breathe without these MQM ghundas’ permission…..then in the state-within-state areas of these landlord leaders from both PPP/PML things are even worse…..tell me how many times have you heard in karachi anything like “making women from your mazaraas/enemy’s family walk naked in bazaars” happened? …I reckon never………what action did nawaz and Bb took against their party leaders who were and still are involved in such shameless acts….nothing…..they overlooked it coz they needed their support in next elections….. grrrrrr…….and from my own experience ….well actually not mine but my younger brother’s who did his degree from UET Lahore….. tells me stories about MSF ghundas…stories which were not different form MQM ghundas stories……Please don’t tell me that there is no bhutta culture in Lahore, pindi or intereior sindh Punjab sarhad…….every political party does that….the magnitude of the act may be different but if one is taking bhutta or analogically eating shit it doesn’t matter its horse shit or chicken’s. MQM’s problem is as they saying goes “bad acha bad-naam bura”…………everybody is doing wat MQM is alleged of doing in one way or another…but MQM bcoz of its shady past always makes the headlines….

Imran khan sahib….wat can I say….”baad meray qatal kay us nay kee toba – haee us zod-e-pashemaN ka pashemaN hona” …… imran khan supporters …..hope you guyz won’t exchange blows with me when I discuss his past……pakistan’s famous playboy…..how can you forget that……the biggest zaani in our cricket team……have been fighting against dictatorship for past so many years….somthing that is his biggest poltical qualification so far……was himself the biggest dictator in pakistan’s sport history……dictating his terms to the cricket board …dissing selecting committee members and not accepting their selected candidates instead giving them a list of his own and saying “this is final and I don’t wanna talk about it”…….racist ….yes he was….against Karachi’s talent …..what he did to miandad is not a secret….and then even after retirement couldn’t help himself from interfering in matters that were not his anymore……poisining waseem akram’s mind from outside….advising and manipulating him to maintain imran’s dictatorship policies……this poisonous training made wasim akram making lives and careers of some great names like Rashid latif (best wicket keeper of all time), basit ali, miandad, aqib javed, waqar youns, miserable just because these people raised voice against wasim’s dictatorship during newzeland away series in 1995………well the dictator who Imran has been so against for so many years…..who doesn’t know that imran was in process of negotiating a deal to be made a prime minister back in early 2000s….why didn’t deal come through…it’s a separate topic….but Imran himself doesn’t deny that both of them were not talking options…..didn’t imran see his wardi and dictatorship back then??? was he blind??? Well …I dunno….but many say that things didn’t work out because imran, being a dictator himself all his life, asked for more powers which the other dictator didn’t agree upon….had the general agreed …..imran would have been the PM doing the same shitty job that shaukat aziz did. I don’t see character in Imran…….he might be good at administrating things but again he himself is not doodh ka dhula hua…..aur haan after that deal not working out ….and then imran’s “struggle” against dictatorship….only one thing comes to my mind…..”angoor khattay hain” 
    Don’t want to talk about Q league and moulana diesel……everybody knows the history of these zameer-free people are.

So my friends……here I am ….. at the crossroad…don’t know whose side to take..….I know I hate MQM leadership and altaf but on other hand I equally hate everyother politician in Pakistan. They all should be killed (except for imran since he never got the power to do any corruption/ killing and I honestly believe his tanga party like JI never will)…pack of jerks. I wrote such a long post just to make my point that “is hammam mein sabhi nangay hain”, and that on MQM issue don’t blame whole muhajir community or Karachi walas……I am a Karachiwala and well a mohajir (in the true sense of the term thought didn’t migrate from pre-partition india) as well…so i dont like the tune when somebody says bad things about karachi or karachi walsh.

i know and i don’t need any certifictes from anyone about Karachi’s being a great place……and taht in general on personal level people are very tolerant of differences,…..to give an example….there are more pathans in karachi then they are in peshawar and more people of my community (i.e. hazarawala) then there are in abbaotabad and mansehra combined……and they all are living in peace and harmony……yes there have been occasions when a spark ignited the city but overall on personal level an average Karachiwala doesn’t give a shit which community/ethinicity the person he is sitting with or doing business with belongs to. Believe me nobody gives a shit. In Punjab, interior sindh or even when visit my dad’s home province it’s a must for everybody to introduce himself with his complete name so that others know immediately whether he is jutt, arain, rajpoot, khan, sheikh, Tanoli, junejo, soomro, jatoi or god knows wat. I repeat in Karachi nobody has time to ask you your second name….nobody cares……I love Karachi and respect wateva good anyone has ever done to Karachi from abdus sattar afghani, farooq sattar , naimut allah to Mustafa kamal…….i don’t care if Mustafa is ranked 1000th best mayor of the world or worst in the world….he is doing good to the city and one cannot deny it even by closing one eye or both. Lets forget about which party he belongs to for a moment and appreciate his efforts.

KhalidMahmood said:

If Mustafa Kamal got second best Mayor or 57th best Mayor in the world>>>>
    He is still the best Mayor in all over Pakistan>>
    Did any one see any other Pakistani city name in that FP MAGAZINE ? answer is NO…
    Then why some of you are not happy that one city of our country got some position in this list?
    He really did hard work and huge work>>>
    Keep it up Kamal>>
    Teri Perwaz Say Zamana Jul Raha Hay……….Bazooo Ko Zara Aoor Hila Is Jalan Ko Aoor Hawa Dey…..

Shirkuh said:

@KhalidMahmood

You are worse than even ZPP people in lying. You have got all the proofs and still you are lying :-(

asif65 said:

@KhalidMahmood

In anderen Worten, Khalid Du bist ein Sturkopf!

Rao_Adnan said:

Check the website
    however Its true that Karachi Lies in world Global city ranking on # 57 but an Article named
    “Mayors of the moment” Mustafa Kamal discussed on 2nd Number. What does it mean if its not Ranking?
    My Question is to the management of Foreign Policy that why they posted Mustafa Kamal Name in Mayors of the Moment page on Number 2nd? What was the reason to post the name of Mayor on 2nd Number while if he is not in Top 11 Mayors? Who made mistake.
    Check the above weblink and decide yourself.

sunsunny said:

wwwwwwwoooooooooooooowwwww
    at last all pakis are awarded with the certificate that we are the best damn fools and any one can screw us.
    Kamal has been awarded as the World’s Best Mayor.i saw this board fixed in Punjab Chourangi and so many other places.today on12 November while comming to my office iw as askign a question from myself that ” sunny is it possible??”
    when i was checking my inbox in office i got the whole story about MQM’s fake story.i am extrmly sorry that we are pakis and we are being made fools like this.you can see the devolpment in many area but you are not aware that in some areas ppl are living so miserably.
    Kamal has done a good job no doubt abou it.But no one is observing the street crimes are on the peak.cell phone snatching killing and all such crimes are also increased by the same ratio. who is responsible for all this.
    we are damn foooools and we ll be treated like it cuz we deserve it.i have so many things in my mind.i am totally fedup with all such non sense and foolish statements of our current Government the Decoits and the city government Karachi.they are just making us foooools
    thats it

sunsunny said:

sorry i forgot to Hug and kiss my bahi who pointed out this thing

ummmmmmmmmmah for Admin bahi
    nice job brother
    koi to hay jo awaz uthata hay
    thanx alot
    Long Live Pakistan

• Mayor of the Moment ‘exposed’ | Teeth Maestro said:

[...] was simply the Mayor of the Moment. A special shout out to PkPolitics for doing a great job in digging out the facts for this story which also lead to a clarification by Dawn News Tags: Karachi, MQM, Politics Comment Meta: [...]

• PkPolitics pulls the curtain over 'fake' 2nd best mayor of the world; Mustafa Kamal - WCCFtech.com said:

[...] at 57″ in the world and there was NO ranking of any Mayors by the the FP Magazine. Source: pkpolitics.com __________________ All the desirable things in life are either illegal, expensive, fattening or [...]

• مصطفٰی کمال۔ دنیا کے دوسرے بہترین میئر؟ خبریں، بلاگز اور حقیقت۔ — Pak Fact — پاک فیکٹ said:

[...] اردو بلاگرز نے اس پر اپنے خیالات اور حقائق بیان کیے۔ پی کے پالیٹیکس نامی انگریزی بلاگ میں بھی فارن پالیسی میگیزین کو کی گئی اور موصول شدہ [...]

NASIR said:

@nota i think mr nota has best comments,i read all,he is the onlyone with a great mind and mqm followers have mind set,it can not be changed,mushraf gave most of money to mqm he got from america,of course all people are in pakistan poor not even middle class except rich politician including altaf head of mqm who is enjoing his life and poors suffering in karachi,it will be nice if he is with them?????????????

Mr10percent said:

@Fakhir Tanoli
    Brother you explained it very well to these dumbs.

Mustafa Kamal is not 2nd best mayor in the world…..and MQM is facist…ok…so??……does it give us the authority to call all Karachiwalas terrorists??traitors??……outsiders??? …are you kidding me??…..after 60 years of independence these mohajirs are still outsiders??…you guyz definitely have lost your minds……I mean what and in which way the people from rest of the current current Pakistan participated in Pakistan movement??…..these muhajirs and bangalis were the ones who gave their everything for the cause…their careers, money, properties, wealth and last but not the least lives……what was Punjab, Balochistan and frontier doing back then??? Nothing…absolutely nothing…..sindh yes….GM syed was the one who organized and led muslim league in sindh and was the first guy who raised his voice in favour of Pakistan in 1940s……(well its another story that later he took a 180 degree turn and showed his resentment….for valid reasons like oppression of minorities/poors by those waderas and choudhries who later took hold of country which once they opposed so much)….but seriously (since many of jatts like pointing fingers are muhajirs) lemme ask you whats Punjabs role in independence movement?……..don’t you remember the 1946 elections which was kind of “for and against” Pakistan referendum……and when muslim league swept seats in all muslim majority cities/provinces……why whole Punjab voted for unionist party???….. …
    Like majority of participants here…..i hate MQM’s leadership like anything…especially “Bhai”……man!!!…..when I see that guy and hear him making a speech….it makes me through up…..he is facist…racist and god knows whatelse…….but why pointing finger at him only …….”kiya baaqi saray politicians doodh kay dhulay hoe hain???”…….
    OK….lets start with our present in power party…..everybody knows how corrupt and dangerously stupid they all are……many argue that if “Shaheed” Benazir Bhutto were alive…..things would be in better shape…..first of all …..man…..whenever I hear the term shaheed used for that BIT** it makes my blood boil……using shaheed for someone who was always ready to give her American masters a blowjob in favor of helping her to get back in power……the better half of the most corrupt man in pakistan’s history and who herself owned billion of dollars in foreign account and whose government was thrown away by his own party leader on serious charges of corruption….damn….and after going through the recently widely circulated news/list of richest people in pakistan…what baffles me the most is how on earth the zaradi climbed to status of the 2nd richest person in pakistan…..i mean ok I can digest others on the list being richest bcoz they are either industrialists or waderas…..but as far as I know …..neither zardari or his father was the largest landlord or mentionable industrialist …..Mr. 10% got suddenly rich during PPPs two terms in power in 80s and 90s……does it need all of us to be a rocket scientist to understand where he got all this wealth from??…..and yes…who can forget the famous surrey palace controversy which both mian biwi once denied so forcefully taht they nothing to do with them….its noth theirs blah blah balh…. and then bb in her last yeasr and Mr. 10% using all their energies defending their case in british courts…to stop it sell order….i.e. to get the property back…….pufff
    And then there are the self claimed “god’s gift to the mankind” ….pakistan’s second most hated (after MQM)party – the hypocrite jamaties aka Qazi & the gang……these guys spent their whole lives financing their kitchen budgets making anti-American/western speeches…..and yet…qazi sahab’s own sons have been settled in US since ages……motivating others sons to go to Kashmir and Afghanistan to do jihad for promised jannat and his own sons to USA….wow …what a wiseguy….and yes……last 10 years they bragged so much about the wardi issue….what justification can these a-holes give about their support for another wardi-wala…yeah I mean our yet another shaheed… our mard-e-momin …mard-e- haq……for almost the same 10 years period….infact they were even part of their cabinet…. these hypocrites are always in frontlines whenever it comes to criticizing MQM and its policies and alleging MQM’s student wings terrorizing educational institutions……but…..hello……who introduced the AK47/ghunda culture in the universities/colleges in the first place…….these very jamaties…..their student wing……..its a matter of fact that altaf , imran farooq, farooq sattar were all jamiat members back in there student days…….its a no brainer “where and from who” these facist/terrorists got their first terrorist trainings from …..they learned the art of terrorism from those who introduced/invented it and when started applying it against their mentors….the mentors didn’t know how to undo things…….what a pitty…..one more thing …why…these jamaties hate MQM so much??….. for one very big reason…… KARACHI…….karachi was JI’s vote bank b4 MQM entered in politics……b4 MQM except for Karachi….. they never had and they still don’t win elections anywhere in the country……everybody hates them with same intensity all across pakistan…… they hate MQM becoz it turned their voters against them……
    Oh….yes …..here comes our Mr. innocent aka Saint Nawaz Sharif Rahmutallah alaeyh……..this saint with IQ level which is only challenged by George bush the 2nd…..led our herd (sorry can’t call ourselves a nation coz we don’t qualify for that status) two times as prime-minister…….its a general knowledge that his and his family’s wealth quadrupled during Zia’s era when he was punjab’s CM….. and then again during his terms as PM……..ok he might not be involved in killing or giving orders to kill people like “bhai” does…but does he have a blank slate??….if bhai is a killer (which he certainly is) then our saint is an economic hitman….bhai eliminated a select few of his enemies…target killing as the term goes……but this saint’s corruption effected the masses……and how can you satisfy someone if he asks….why in PMLN majority of the top leaders and those landlords whose ancestors were awarded lands by gora sahib because they all were so good ass kissers……our these beloved leaders twanas, makhdooms, maliks, chathas, etc are not ashamed but proud of their ancestors history who killed so many of their own depressed people on gora sahab’s behest…… why can’t you guys see blood on these people hands……and even these days….they govern their people like their ancestors used to in gora sahab’s days……in their mini states….they kill whoever they want….rape anybody they envy….even making a juloos of women and walking them around naked in bazaars……and nobody raises an eyebrow…..but in Karachi bcoz it’s a city and everything comes to limelight instantaneously…everybody knows how bad altaf led MQM is…….i personally believe these people are (if not worst than MQM) then atleast are equally worse……if in Karachi MQM controls the city and nobody can breathe without these MQM ghundas’ permission…..then in the state-within-state areas of these landlord leaders from both PPP/PML things are even worse…..tell me how many times have you heard in karachi anything like “making women from your mazaraas/enemy’s family walk naked in bazaars” happened? …I reckon never………what action did nawaz and Bb took against their party leaders who were and still are involved in such shameless acts….nothing…..they overlooked it coz they needed their support in next elections….. grrrrrr…….and from my own experience ….well actually not mine but my younger brother’s who did his degree from UET Lahore….. tells me stories about MSF ghundas…stories which were not different form MQM ghundas stories……Please don’t tell me that there is no bhutta culture in Lahore, pindi or intereior sindh Punjab sarhad…….every political party does that….the magnitude of the act may be different but if one is taking bhutta or analogically eating shit it doesn’t matter its horse shit or chicken’s. MQM’s problem is as they saying goes “bad acha bad-naam bura”…………everybody is doing wat MQM is alleged of doing in one way or another…but MQM bcoz of its shady past always makes the headlines….

Imran khan sahib….wat can I say….”baad meray qatal kay us nay kee toba – haee us zod-e-pashemaN ka pashemaN hona” …… imran khan supporters …..hope you guyz won’t exchange blows with me when I discuss his past……pakistan’s famous playboy…..how can you forget that……the biggest zaani in our cricket team……have been fighting against dictatorship for past so many years….somthing that is his biggest poltical qualification so far……was himself the biggest dictator in pakistan’s sport history……dictating his terms to the cricket board …dissing selecting committee members and not accepting their selected candidates instead giving them a list of his own and saying “this is final and I don’t wanna talk about it”…….racist ….yes he was….against Karachi’s talent …..what he did to miandad is not a secret….and then even after retirement couldn’t help himself from interfering in matters that were not his anymore……poisining waseem akram’s mind from outside….advising and manipulating him to maintain imran’s dictatorship policies……this poisonous training made wasim akram making lives and careers of some great names like Rashid latif (best wicket keeper of all time), basit ali, miandad, aqib javed, waqar youns, miserable just because these people raised voice against wasim’s dictatorship during newzeland away series in 1995………well the dictator who Imran has been so against for so many years…..who doesn’t know that imran was in process of negotiating a deal to be made a prime minister back in early 2000s….why didn’t deal come through…it’s a separate topic….but Imran himself doesn’t deny that both of them were not talking options…..didn’t imran see his wardi and dictatorship back then??? was he blind??? Well …I dunno….but many say that things didn’t work out because imran, being a dictator himself all his life, asked for more powers which the other dictator didn’t agree upon….had the general agreed …..imran would have been the PM doing the same shitty job that shaukat aziz did. I don’t see character in Imran…….he might be good at administrating things but again he himself is not doodh ka dhula hua…..aur haan after that deal not working out ….and then imran’s “struggle” against dictatorship….only one thing comes to my mind…..”angoor khattay hain” 
    Don’t want to talk about Q league and moulana diesel……everybody knows the history of these zameer-free people are.

So my friends……here I am ….. at the crossroad…don’t know whose side to take..….I know I hate MQM leadership and altaf but on other hand I equally hate everyother politician in Pakistan. They all should be killed (except for imran since he never got the power to do any corruption/ killing and I honestly believe his tanga party like JI never will)…pack of jerks. I wrote such a long post just to make my point that “is hammam mein sabhi nangay hain”, and that on MQM issue don’t blame whole muhajir community or Karachi walas……I am a Karachiwala and well a mohajir (in the true sense of the term thought didn’t migrate from pre-partition india) as well…so i dont like the tune when somebody says bad things about karachi or karachi walsh.

i know and i don’t need any certifictes from anyone about Karachi’s being a great place……and taht in general on personal level people are very tolerant of differences,…..to give an example….there are more pathans in karachi then they are in peshawar and more people of my community (i.e. hazarawala) then there are in abbaotabad and mansehra combined……and they all are living in peace and harmony……yes there have been occasions when a spark ignited the city but overall on personal level an average Karachiwala doesn’t give a shit which community/ethinicity the person he is sitting with or doing business with belongs to. Believe me nobody gives a shit. In Punjab, interior sindh or even when visit my dad’s home province it’s a must for everybody to introduce himself with his complete name so that others know immediately whether he is jutt, arain, rajpoot, khan, sheikh, Tanoli, junejo, soomro, jatoi or god knows wat. I repeat in Karachi nobody has time to ask you your second name….nobody cares……I love Karachi and respect wateva good anyone has ever done to Karachi from abdus sattar afghani, farooq sattar , naimut allah to Mustafa kamal…….i don’t care if Mustafa is ranked 1000th best mayor of the world or worst in the world….he is doing good to the city and one cannot deny it even by closing one eye or both. Lets forget about which party he belongs to for a moment and appreciate his efforts.

Nisar Jamali said:

@nota:
    I am talking about the original source of ‘confusion’, i.e. FP magazine’s language. Am not interested in later clarifications. My point is that Dawn took it wrong due to the ‘language’ used in the article, should keep this in mind bro. We may not like MQM, but we should appreciate efforts being carried out in the Karachi city, should it done by Mustafa Kamal or someone else.

nota said:

@Nisar Jamali
    “we should appreciate efforts being carried out in the Karachi city”

No argument there…Certainly we must but for the real efforts and not the fake, aggrandized ones. I think the problem in this case was propaganda being attached to those efforts. If he really is doing good work, then why go for these stunts? He should let his work speak for him…

Javaid Khan said:

Admin Bro
    Congratulations !!

Daily Jasarat karachi Pakistan mentions your website for exposing false claims of MQM Mayor Mustafa Kamal.

http://www.jasarat.com/graphic/details.php?category=nation&date=14-11-2008&newsid=05.gif

alicanguy said:

I believe the admin of the article has made an error while reporting the story – I may be wrong, would request the admin to clarify the matter:
    “ In fact, Karachi has been ranked at 57th out of 60 global cities by the Foreign Policy Magazine at their website.”
    As per my understanding the above statement of the admin of this article is INACCURATE. The accurate statement would be, Mr. Kamal has been ranked 57th in the world.
    If understanding is correct which I hope admin will confirm, we should all congratulate the Mayor for this achievement.

wiqi said:

@jamali
    did i hear “efforts being carried out in the Karachi city”?
    ZOMGG!!
    what development you are talking about seriously?
    12th may? or April the 10th?
    Lets get these *KARACHI HATE MACHINES” out ov power.. then you’ll came to know how much they have developed the Karachi and off course themselves..!
    Development my a**!!

citizenofkarachi said:

TT nazim

oh

sory CT nazim mustafa kamal
    2numbry
    who is the first one ?
    altaf bhgora can u give us the name of first mayor of the world

szaidii said:

I find this sad in soooo many ways. this is the reason why Pakistan is where it is today…if u read the comments, it seems like enemies of pakistan are writing something for a pakistani.

its funny, when I look below this box it says “constitution of pkpolitics” and it says no racist comments…yet I read soo many racist remarks up above.

Pakistanis can never be proud of something without being critical of it and thats why we will never be happy.

out of soo many mayors…they said 3 of the top mayors..let me explain that:
    top= category = group of people
    3 of the top mayors = these mayors are from the GROUP of top mayors.
    so guess what: it does NOT matter if mustafa kamal is #1 or whatever…he IS AMONG the top mayors of the world. end of story.
    people from karachi…and people of pakistan should NOT need FP magazine to tell them this. I already knew this.
    the people writing against mustafa kamal are short sighted…they can’t see past their own ethnicity and political party.
    u say “oh mustafa kamal is always giving tv interviews” well maybe its time u listened to one of those interviews. he is demanding that a LOWER middle class person from LAHORE or any other city should come in to politics.
    pata nahee kyoon aaj kal pakistani youth ko na English aati hai na URDU. Ignorance is beyond belief!
    ( I am not saying MQM is perfect or mustafa kamal is perfect, BUT the Man deserves CREDIT for his work)
    how many people that live in karachi know the map of karachi in their head?? what more proof do u want?
    you want a white person to say “he is good” and then u will believe he is good?? shame on all of you.
    very disappointing to see this especially from the outside!

fmshah said:

MQM Fake Claim : 2nd Best Mayor of the World
    MQM’s is always busy in marketing/spreading lies, hypes, violence and hates. This thing is not an exception and it is not a surprise. Mustafa Kamal has always come across as a ‘Sales Man’. He spends more hours of the day giving interviews to print and electronic media than doing actual development work. At same Altaf Bhai will be delivering telephonic lectures on War on Terror and Talibanization. Karachi (1/10th of Pakistan) is under MQM’s siege (bunch of Idiots) and with the level of support MQM enjoys from Establishment goons any one can make marvels. Mustafa Kamal simply bulldozes any opposition and is a self indulging idiot who claims to ‘know-it-all’. Lately he has been busy spreading hate against poor Pashtun migrant workers in order to bambofying Pathans from every corner of Land of Pure Cartels from Tribal Areas to Karachi for pleasing his Masters in UK/US. Claiming that poor Pathan workers (mostly watch mans, taxi drivers etc) have a Master Plan to take over Karachi. As if Karachi (once a small Sindhi town i.e. Mai Kulachi, Lyari ) has not been taken over by outsiders/aliens already? He issue ethnic statements in USA about Karachi. If such statement would have been given by anyone else he would be declared Bugti and tried in this Land of Pure Cartels for challenging the writ of state and treason. Since 1947, Karachi a city of Sindh has gradually become Sindhi-less city, if compared with Lahore, Peshawar, Quetta.

Karachi has almost equal composition of all major ethnic group of Pakistan. Urdu, Punjabi, Pathan, Baluch, Sindhi each ethnics group has almost more than 2 million souls. However cultural, political, business and economically dominating class in Karachi are only those who are aliens, settled, migrated from other areas particularly Gujrat/India. The resistance against Gawader project from Baluch ethnic group is also based on fears of unfair practices done during past fifty years to Sindhis in Karachi.
    Lyari (Composing of Sindhis, Pathan and Baluch) which was actual Karachi will always remain slum, as if it is never ever part of Karachi. Similarly disparity and contrast can also be found between actual 70 % rural Pakistan and British era Metropolis cities like Pindi, Lahore, Queta, Karachi composing of Mall Roads, Saddar, Societies, DHA, etc. The decision making elite of these Metropolis is less 1 % of the whole Pakistan population of 180 Millions. This all is result of colonial policy of state patronage of imposing minorities/aliens over majorities/locals and cultural homicide treatment to majority even after partition. Karachi explains exactly why Pakistan is taken over by Autocrats and Establishment. Pathan, Baluch and Sindhi will live with each other in peace in Interior Sindh, whereas in Karachi, there will be always violence and bloodshed of Sindhis and Pathans . The violence and TT culture, we see in Karachi, can’t be seen in other cities like Lahore, Queta, Pindi, and Peshawar. This sort of violence and TT cluture can also be observed in Indian Movies and Bombay.

I always wonder
    Why our Free Media never dare to discuss MQM fake claim of 2nd best mayor the way they discuss and create justification and support for ethnic cleansing of Pathans under the label of WOT and name of Taliabn/Alqaeda. Every bomb blast is accepted by some mysterious Mullah/Talib sitting in cave in Tribal Area (Swat, North/South Waziristan). Leaving aside US Drone attacks, all killed by Jet PAF Jets Bombers and Army Heavy Artillery are always terrorist? How many such occurrences have been investigated? How many bombs blast have been preemptively avoided/intercepted?

I always wonder
    After Army operation (spanning for couple months) against Boriband culture in Karachi Army Chief is poisoned to death, President along with Prime Minister are sent home whereas whole Govt is packed up. Why Army operations (spanning over years) against Bengalis (1970/71), Baluch (1974/75), Sindhis (1980s) and Pathans (WOT) is not followed by same consequences.

I always wonder
    MQM and Pathan both are aliens in Karachi. But why Pathans are taxi drivers, watch man and waiters whereas most of Clifton, DHA villas, Business Houses and Industrial Units on II Chundrigar Road, Site and Mall Road (Shahrah Faisal) are owned by migrants from Gujrat/India.

Punching Note
    Meritocracy is social science concept, which equates various educations streams and merits in various societies to cast system, where structured tests etc are used as merit tool to favor few and deprive majority from opening/opportunities for educational and work roles/occupations. Performance in these tests mostly depends on geographic location and social conditions in early life and childhood.

sammajeed said:

Follow the link below to view the list of Top 11 Mayors of the world in 2008.

http://www.worldmayor.com/contest_2008/world-mayor-2008-results.html

I didn’t find the name of Mr. Mustafa Kamal. Can you ppl find it out?

Pakistani said:

Express Group is proving to be pro MQM. Look at the address of A.H in Gilget on 13 Nov. Where he again warned for BORI politics to non MQM supporters.