{ 88 comments... read them below or add one }

mya said:

dont take it seriously… just for fun :D

mya said:

do they not look like ugly gays? :D

drmazher said:

It shows MQM is how good in propagenda compaign and also expose our media which is playing in the hands of terrorist part MQM.Do GEO and AAJ and other channels have courage to tell the truth to the nation and apologise for this news headlines broadcasted few days ago.

Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

lol. Mustafa Fraudia Kamal doesn’t seem too happy about being molested by Altaf Terrorist Hussain. I wonder why…

will we ever see these thugs and terrorists being brought to justice?

Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

excellent investigative journalism, btw Admin PkPolitics. you are doing a superlative job.

pro journalistic organizations like Dawn should be ashamed of themselves… they didn’t bother to confirm the story first. and it had to be investigated by citizen journalists.

nota said:

“we simply never ranked him in any way.”

Don’t listen to FP. They are just making it up. This is a fake story. They don’t want They are racist, biased, anti-MQM, anti-Karachi, anti-lower-middle-class, anti-Urdu-speaking.

Pity on all of you!!!

BTW, what I found interesting was that, though similar in nature, the Babar Awan story did not get called anti anything…Proves who is really biased, don’t it?

Jatt said:

Joshua Keating is PUNJABI don’t listen to her.

We should all be proud of Mustafa bahi for running our whatever remaining world standing into the ground in front of World’s Premier Foreign Policy Magazine.

Great work MTK.

Jatt said:

I hereby declare Propaganda Kamal as the world’s No. 1 “do number” mayor.

admin pkpolitics said:

@Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar,

Thanks for the appreciation.

This tiny effort proves that any simple citizen with internet connection can spend few minutes to find the authenticity of any news reports.

My mailbox is filled with emails from both sides, and the other side has nothing to say other than labeling me racist, and nota has put a perfect example above.

I don’t have anything personal against anyone and my differences with any political entity is purely based on their loyalty with the Constitution of Pakistan. We get labelled as biased all the time by new kids, but our regular visitors know that we don’t spare anyone based on his race, and always expose collaborators of illegal and anti-constitutional activities by any ethnic group in Pakistan.

Although racist and ethnic remarks are banned on pkpolitics, we have been tolerating them recently in hope that these kids might learn from others during discussion.

Please feel free to drop suggestions you might have in this regards.

Jatt said:

@Admin,

You do deserve Appreciation. I applaud your efforts and I request you to not censure any thing. Why ? Evil needs to be exposed before it can be defeated.

Internet forums are the only place where one can anonymously take out the garbage out of their head and discuss its merits without physically harming the other person.
    It’s a great way to shape and influence those whose reasoning is questionable.

If you do want to ban any thing than ban one line illogical hate messages.

Nisar Jamali said:

I checked the online issue of Foreign policy at (http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php?story_id=4509&page=3) and it says :
    “Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder: …”
    I think it is mistake on the part of foreign policy to say “three of the world’s top mayors”, which anyone would interpret as a sequential list. Whatsoever, it made everyone was happy for few days.

• بے طقی باتیں بے طقے کام » Blog Archive » کس کا کمال؟؟؟؟ said:

[...] میں آگاہ کیا گیا کہ بھائی ہم نے ایسی کوئی حرکت نہیں کی! وہاں ہی تازہ ترین پوسٹ سے آگاہی ہوئی ہے، کہ خود foreignpolicy والوں نے کانوں کو ہاتھ لگا کر توبہ توبہ [...]

nota said:

@dmin said: “This tiny effort proves that any simple citizen with internet connection can spend few minutes to find the authenticity of any news reports.”

A bit of blogging history:
    “We can fact-check your ass” and the fall of Dan Rather

ataraxis6 said:

@mya

Please refrain from posting explicit photographs on this message board.

How do you suggest I get the gross image out of my head?

mya said:

and see the first clown who endorsed it:

http://www.jang-group.com/jang/nov2008-daily/11-11-2008/editorial/col13.gif

see how biased these jouralists are…

Nisar clown: sold for MQM

Nusrat & Atar & Hamid Mir, Dr mere mutabiq and many others: PPP

i know the list is long enough but these are the prominent sold entites.

May God prevent us from Ghardari (and his clowns i.e F. Nalaik, L. Khota and B. Haywaan)

nota said:

@ataraxis6
    Hope you don’t imagine them with their clothes off.

Oh, you just now did, didn’t you?

Sorry :oops:

nota said:

Regarding the “Dawn Clarifies the Report”, funny it is NOT in the print edition, at least not in Lahore…Can anyone confirm if they printed it in Karachi???

Jatt said:

MTK should take off all the self-praising banners eracted in Karachi and stitch himself a nice ladies choori-dar pajama for his next meeting with Altaf Hussain.

I am sure Altaf would want to read the writtings on the banners. LOL.

expakistani said:

how many of you guys so far sent email to GEO, Dawn, Aaj etc for their mis reporting…?

nisar akbar said:

3 months ago I was in Karachi and see lots of good development in Karachi. Be honest with you Mr Kamal is doing very good job regargless what. Just belive me I am not from any political party or any religious group but he is better than over other political leader like Mr. 10% and like Moulvi fazal ur Rehman.
    God bless you Mr. Mustafa Kamal.

Hameed Chaudhry said:

I am expecting a strong statement from MQM leadership in which they claim that its all planned disinformation from PTI Chairman Imran Khan against us.

“YEH HAMAREH SAATH SAZISH KI GAEE HAIN”.

Thanks Allah, this news were not came through Ansaar Abbasi otherwise MQM and JUIF both keep him in line once for ever.

jazoo said:

MK inherited hefty budget which he can spend to build the city to show off his performance.
    The point is why still his performance is ranked 57/60–Theres something terribly wrong somewhere.
    Performance is not all about building the city–its more about providing the services to citizens.
    Those of you who live in Karachi can tell theres no organized way of dumping your garbage–People throw their garbage at your doorstep when you complain DCO will tell you we have limited budget hire your own chowkidar–we can see latest model road cleaning vehicles but they are not to clean the road in front of your house they are used just to clean Sharae Faisal to give clean environment to elite clowns who travel so fast they don’t even breath much when traveling.
    I recall how MQM boast when they help last earthquake victims–There were running full length documentaries on all the TV channels highlighting the generosity of Altaf Bhai–Receiving hands were shown just to show off the giving hand–It was sick.
    MQM like PPP is all about show off thats why they could not utilized heft budget to give better services to people that might have earned them a place in top ten ranking.
    I am not sure if police system comes under Mayor if it does then I must say FP Magzine should revised their ranking from 57 to 60.
    People follow you from the Bank & rob you at your doorstep in the broad daylite.
    This criminal collaboration of PPP & MQM has made us more insecure than Mush era.
    Citizens are scared to go out in daylite.

jazoo said:

Readers I am sharing this story I rcvd just to give you some picture of the city. Mobile snatching looks small thing in this ghunda gardi.

The incident that happened Friday night November 7, 2008 near BBQ-Tonite, popular restaurant in Karachi:

A 30yr old guy went out for dinner with his wife n 3 sisters to BBQ-Tonite at around 8:30pm…he had parked his car near the Nissan showroom…. the restaurant had the usual hustle bustle of this peak time n their car was surrounded by many others…after dinner as soon as they got back into their car, a corolla with tinted windows stopped right next to their car, a man came out n asked them to give them whatever cash, jewelry they had—they did as they were told, hoping that the gang would go away as soon as they get sum valuables. But that’s not what happened- …..after the “corolla-guy” got cash and sum jewelry, he asked the man to give him one of the 4 women he had with him..(3 sisters n his wife) …the man was dumbstruck!! …he said that these were his wife n sisters they were talking about…upon his resistance, they snatched away his wife, bundled her in to their car n drove off. The helpless man could not do anything to save his wife from these ruthless, disgusting people—he just smashed his head with a huge stone he found nearby and died on the spot, and there has been no news of his abducted wife.

Can u guys believe this??….this is the state of our “beloved” country and this is what our government is doing. Members of the ruling party are just globe trotting and the gangsters, kidnappers and other criminals who are under their umbrella are doing as they please, as if they own this place….this is really rampant in areas of Clifton and defence ….especially near the much celebrated “zardari house”…..please please please avoid going out anywhere till the situation gets stable…although I don’t see that happening in the near future…I can only imagine what the poor kidnapped wife would have had to go thru with—who knows even if she’s still alive or not……this is so disturbing.. .please pass on this message to as many females as you know…and even the guys——because when someone aimed a gun at u, all u can do is freeze and stare.

Once again, please avoid going out—especially after dark…I know it sounds scary and impossible.. .but that’s the only thing we can do to stay safe.

Rizwan Sami
    +92-321-2641566
    +92-322-2951244
    MSN: imrizwan@hotmail. com
    Yahoo: sky_walk3r5@ yahoo.com
    Gtalk: sky.walk3r5@ gmail.com
    Url: skywalk3r5.multiply .com

hkhan2000 said:

The biggest fraudia and traitor ever born in this nation after Zardari. I don’t understand why our media never point MQM out. They are scared coz this ugly ass joker M@^%#$ F@#$^# will hurt there family or something. People are blind in pakistan. I don’t know when will they understand that this kuttay kay moon wala has no good intentions with people of pakistan. They are the enemy of the state. Please use your brain :)

Hameed Chaudhry said:

I missed the main point for which I start typing earlier. Mustafa Kamal belong to a lower middle class family who work hard and become a Nazam-e-Alah Karachi.

In his young age, he proved his ability with dedication to bring some mega projects for the betterment of local public. No doubt, even though he has no high ranking at this present moment as a Mayor, but still he is struggling hard to build overhead bridges and link roads to make life easy for the residents of Karachi.

The reaction from Altaf Hussain or Pervez Musharraf was thrown at very early stage without confirming the news make the position very okward for Mustafa Kamal.

nota said:

@Hameed Chaudhry
    “he has no high ranking at this present moment as a Mayor, but still he is struggling hard to build overhead bridges and link roads to make life easy for the residents of Karachi.”

No high ranking? He is the bl@@dy MAYOR. And as far as I believe, good mayors DON’T “build overhead bridges and link roads”.

jazoo said:

Most of the low class daku are also middle class–middle class is not a protection of failure.

ghayoor said:

@Hameed Chaudhry,

All the plans this Mustafa Kamal running were initiated by Naimutullah. Where was this namzim on 12 may 2007 and 18 march 2008?

Also the karachi is nowadays is becoming hell for its residents. every day we see people are being killed by mqm mafia.

ghayoor said:

@nota,

y mqm always thinks him anti-karachi who is against its outspoken lies and brutality it does with pakistani people ,

aristotle said:

we r living in a state of propaganda with a lot fake doctors, fake Ph.Ds, fake Alim –e-Deen and fake intellectuals… but now this is the time to reject their false claims and propaganda and take stand against this fakeism …

c hussain said:

One of the guys above expressed that MK had done a great development job in Karachi.

Let me clarify certain things.

1. First of all neither MK or MQM is paying from their own pocket to do these development jobs – they are using taxpayer’s money.

2. Secondly they are not doing any ehsan on anybody because ITS THEIR DUTY because they are paid for that. That is what they are supposed to do.

3. I am surprised how everyone reacted on this news just like that because its common sense how could MK could be second best mayor because what about Mayors of cities like Los Angles, Tokyo, Sydney and the list goes on and on who have changed the landscape of the city.

4. In that news item you would read that MK himself says that there are 13 organizations running Karachi and he only runs 10 percent of it. So how can he take credit of everything.

We should not be carried away by such news and should analyse it first before accepting it.

As for journalists let me give them one advise – gone are the days when you could write anything and it would be accepted without any clarification – these days this is internet era – everything can be instantly checked so please be careful about writing anything before accepting the story – this advise is particularly for Hasan Nisar and others.

You guys cannot fool people of Pakistan anymore.

Serwani said:

I m not concerned about the news article but its aftermaths. Now Karachites will have to pay more BHATTA because an international organization has acknowledged the performance of their mayor.
    I wonder how these people start celebrating without any confirmation, even state issues official statements of congratulations !!!
    shame on all of them,.. even if it was true, they should have promised to work even harder instead of putting banners, wall-chalking and adverts in newspapers.

justice said:

MQM+Military+Maulvi

Mr10percent said:

@c Hussain and all the mqm haters

you guys are the real stupids, you don’t want to give any credit for anything he has done.

Tell me who in the country is doing their jobs right except MK and Shahbaz, at least they are trying.
    Karachi is a very big city and the police is not under mayor’s control.

But you Nawaz Ganjja’s supporters will come up with everything while the two bigger parties have been looting and destroying everything in the country.

KhalidMahmood said:

If Mustafa Kamal got second best Mayor or 57th best Mayor in the world>>>>
    He is still the best Mayor in all over Pakistan>>
    Did any one see any other Pakistani city name in that FP MAGAZINE ? answer is NO…
    Then why some of you are not happy that one city of our country got some position in this list?
    He really did hard work and huge work>>>
    Keep it up Kamal>>
    Teri Perwaz Say Zamana Jul Raha Hay……….Bazooo Ko Zera Aoo Hila Is Jalan Ko Aoor Hawa Dey…..

Malek said:

@ghayoor
    You are right ‘All the plans were initiated by Naimutullah’….we seem to forget this fact and the mafia party has taken all the credit

as regards your qst ‘Where was this namzim on 12 may 2007 and 18 march 2008?’…… you should know better….he was busy providing @rms and @mmunition to the facist party to carry out indiscriminate killings

KhalidMahmood said:

If Mustafa Kamal got second best Mayor or 57th best Mayor in the world>>>>
    He is still the best Mayor in all over Pakistan>>
    Did any one see any other Pakistani city name in that FP MAGAZINE ? answer is NO…
    Then why some of you are not happy that one city of our country got some position in this list?
    He really did hard work and huge work>>>
    Keep it up Kamal>>
    Teri Perwaz Say Zamana Jul Raha Hay……….Bazooo Ko Zara Aoor Hila Is Jalan Ko Aoor Hawa Dey…..

Taimoor Ashraf said:

Do we need an American Magazine to appreciate our Mayor ? I think noooooooo…….. because without any doubts he is one the best City Nazim’s in history of Karachi.

So to criticize him is a lil un fair. We should respect his work and effort.

Keep it up “MUSTAFA KAMAL” we karachites are expecting lot more you have done so far.

• Pakistan » Police: Gunmen kidnap Iranian diplomat in Pakistan (AP) said:

[...] FP Magazine & Dawn Issue ClarificationJoshua Keating at FP Magazine Writes: Yesterday, we started receiving e-mails from readers and journalists in Pakistan asking for comment on reports that we had named Karachi’s mayor, Mustafa Kamal, “the second best […] [...]

supercreature said:

Both are gays …..

This proves no one wanted to defame MQM. It was just MQM cheapest way of publicity …

supercreature said:

@Taimoor Ashraf
    You said ..
    “Do we need an American Magazine to appreciate our Mayor ? I think noooooooo…”

excuse me, Do we? or Does MQM need? if they dont need American Magazine then why they did such thing??

zahidbinmustafa said:

Improtant to read. Jasarat newspaper gave the reference of PKPolitics. Good work by pkpolitics

http://www.jasarat.com/graphic/details.php?category=nation&date=13-11-2008&newsid=10.gif

http://www.jasarat.com/2008/11/13/nation/details/02.gif

nota said:

@zahidbinmustafa
    Thanks! Here’s a direct link to the story in question….

Rashid1972 said:

excellent investigative journalism, btw Admin PkPolitics. you are doing a superlative job.

Malek said:

@nota @zahidbinmustafa

i like the translation of ‘email’ to ‘barqi khat’ in the article!

supercreature said:

@KhalidMahmood

Dont be stupid, FP magazine only showing 60 biggest cities rating, so obviously Karachi is only in the list not other cities of pakistan.

nota said:

@Malek
    That jumped at me too. First I went WTF? :)

shahid1984 said:

c

shahid1984 said:

Can anyone of you call Bolta Pakistan’s duo and expose this propaganda.

I would love to do it lken I couldn’t bcz of the time difference.

• Mayor of the Moment ‘exposed’ | Teeth Maestro said:

[...] to PkPolitics for doing a great job in digging out the facts for this story which also lead to a clarification by Dawn News Tags: Karachi, MQM, Politics Comment Meta: Leave a comment | Subscribe to the [...]

KhalidMahmood said:

@supercreature
    If you see that list you will find there are cities, have less population and area as compare to Lahoure ( 5 Million ), but they are there…Like Berlin ( 3.5 Million), Brussel (one million) ,Wien ( 1.5 Million) , Munich ( 1.2 Million), Amesterdam ( 0.75 million), etc etc…
    This list is according to their city ranking….and here Karachi has a rank 57…and this is the only city from pakistan who manage to come in this rank…
    From Indai there are four cities …Kolkata, Mumbai, Bangalore and Dehli…

winter said:

@jazoo

You have revealed a very horrific incident.
    I feel so sorry for the poor family and the poor guy. I guess the guy should have resisted and died trying to save his honour, although I know this is probably easier said than done.

One thing is for sure atleast, there is another world other than this world in which inshAllah these rapists will get what they deserve.

My appetite is gone.

regards.

naveed406 said:

altaf hussain has been given the award of the best politician in the world it was little missprint from the magazine i would appologize for any convienance it may have caused by the publication department of magazine thanks

naveed406 said:

i just wanted mustafa kamal to kiss altaf hussain in the same way he did lol

naveed406 said:

aisey lagta hai altaf bhai kisi gubarey mein hawa bhar rahey hoin

Malek said:

infact Altaf Hussain has been given the nobal prize!

Malek said:

a little misprint earlier….’no-ball prize’

Malek said:

naveed406
    ‘aisey lagta hai altaf bhai kisi gubarey mein hawa bhar rahey hoin’

it also seems like ‘altaf bhai sadaqa key baqra ko qurbani sey pehli puppy kar rahain hon’

nota said:

Our boy Mustafa Kamal was on ARY (PJ Mir of course)just now. Missed the first part so don’t know if this subject was mentioned. Just soft ball questions as expected… :)

nota said:

Meant to say we can be sure he knows about this issue to get on the tube so quick for some damage control…

SnrCtzn said:

I have never been into politics, but, IS IT TRUE, what I have heard, as follows:-

Since begining of MQM’s rule in Karachi, (under Mush,) Governor Ishrat-ul-Abad,Mayor Mustafa Kamal, Mrs Nasreen Jalil & other MQM appointments in Sindh Provincial Govt, have been continuously sending millions of Pak Rs,Us Dlrs & UK Pnds to ALTAF BHAI, (under his own directions.)

Can somebody please help to acknowledge or deny such NEWS? Is it FALSE NEWS AND JUST RUMOURS,only, against the MQM’s BELOVED, Altaf Bhai?

Malek said:

@SnrCtzn
    Altaf Bhai (-ch@d) lives in Mill Hill which is a very upper-class suburb of London…. houses there don’t come cheap then of course there are living expenses on top along with m@intenance payments to his ex wife…. and London is probably the 2nd most expensive city in world to live in!

Altaf Bhai unfortunately gave up his last job as a taxi driver when he left NY….so where else do you think he gets the money??

Jatt said:

Can some one from Karachi go out and take photographs of all the banners and bords congratulating him.

It will be a little fun to Poke.

supercreature said:

@Jatt:
    I can see such wall paintings and banners by MQM all the time, nothing new, again a cheap attempt of MQM to advertise themself.

Why they need banners and boards to tell people they are good? moreover Altaf bahi, will ask any market, every one will pay for banners and board, “akhir gooli say dar to lagta he hay…”

supercreature said:

@KhalidMahmood

Bahi naraz na hoo, Indian cities are big, plus india is famous all side world because of their bigger lobby so they will surely put their cities there.

Muhammad Usman said:

@ Khalid Mahmood

I partially agree with you, regarding why other cities like lahore , faisalabad , peshawar are not on the list.

But the fact is karachi has been always the best city of pakistan, since its birth.
    This is not a news.

Having said that i have to say the the mayors of lahore, faisalabad, peshawar are really dumb. They should have some shame .
    The other fact is the funding provided to karachi by Musharaff was unparalled.
    I believe all cities should have funding according to requirement with abalance, obviously karachi will need more money than any other city.

We should not bring ethinicty in discussion.

MQM should realize that this second best mayor affair was overplayed.

They should play cool. Ifthey have done good work they dont need certificate from any agency, rather people will speak in next election.

Critics of MQM should also play cool. Below the belt remarks are undesirable. You can question motive and authencity of news, but dont bring ethnicity of party or person, This is not fair.

I just got the name of lahore mayor( Mian AMEER) . He should learn a lot , why dynamism is//

Long live pakistan

Farian said:

@Muhammad Usman

I disagree that Karachi has been always the best city of Pakistan since its birth….infact it was very small and less siginificant then Lahore or Peshawar that were and still are historical and cultural centeres.You can check the population , newspaper circulations, media, govenment activities etc of these cities especially Lahore to that of karachi at that time.
    Please have a good knowledge of history and facts before makeing such childish claims.

Second thing that you revelealed that funding provided by Musharraf was unparalled…what do you say about the funding always consistantly given to Lahore by Punjabi establishment which it doesnt deserve in the first place.

If musharraf gave some thing to Karachi then it was not any kind of favour…it was and it is the right of the City which generate the Lions Share in the revenue of the country.

May be our brothers from north punhjab dont appreciate the idea that any group of poeple or city let alone Karachi live an honorable life with the choice to select what ever they want to represent their city.

From now on I will make a campaing to make Ranjeet Singh the Father of Lahore and Punjab and its best mayor ever(Second Choice Ch.Pervaid Ilahi)…may be average Lahori wont like it and want to see Nawaz and Shehbaz in this place but if this is the way our biased brother want to treat others then accept the same treatment for themselves.
    Wassalam
    Farian

Laeeq said:

@Muhammad Usman
    very well said , I’ll add one more point. if MQM is shit doesnot mean we should forget what mustafa kamal has done for the city. no doubt it was started by JI’s nimattullah sb and I respect him for that but this guy also done a lot. We should learn to respect for good things no one is an angel in ‘PKPOLITICS’. and Please don’t take me wrong..

Omar said:

Somebody please wakeup the Jung group.
    They are still persisting with the same news.
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2008-daily/13-11-2008/update.htm#94

Are they sleeping or saving their arse?

SnrCtzn said:

@ Malek.

Even a highly paid employee cannot live in a posh locality, described by you as very upper class suburb of London, what to say of a local taxi-driver?

In other words you confirm this guy’s income not from any legal source? Once a die-hard MQM
    worker/’nazim’ of Karachi admitted on a Tv talk-show, some months back,that hundereds of other MQM die-hard workers, contribute to Altaf (Bhai’s) Fund in London, out of their meager monthly income.

This was around the time when CJ Ch.Iftikhar returned from Karachi after his ‘unsuccessful march’ in support of lawyers movement, due to the ‘courtesy’ of MQM.

inam ul haq said:

both of them looking like Gays . proper gays .hahhhaa really i enjoyed this

Muhammad Usman said:

@ Farian

You are not at all a balanced person.
    What i have said in the comment is not to go into ethnicity of group, party, region.
    But people like you are like nutts.

You can come with reasoning.

For your information in 1947, Karachi was made capital of pakistsn, not peshawar or lahore. Do you know why, because it had infra structure, port and cosmopoliton capacity. No because of ethnic reasons.

I have praised the efoorts of MK and said shame on other mayors. You dont like that.

Well prove me if i am wrong musharaf has not given extra money .
    By the way a big city will definitely get more money, that is how things work.

IF YOU DONT DEVELOP karachi and start developing sukhar that will not make sense.
    But point is sukkhar has its rights too.

A president is not for one part of country, why he was not taking intrest in developent of peshawar or quetta let lahore on the side.

I dont care what you call about sharif brothers. You have every right to praise mr elahi or your uncle ranjit singh.

Regarding myth of revenue generation.
    The port and city has investment from all over country.That does not mean all generation is done by one community.
    Tell me before migration , who was running the port. the indeginous people. You should not goint o this debate. Other wise you will come into trouble. Karachi is part if sindh

Read the whole comment before uttering posionous things,

alam said:

Look at the fools celebrating for nothing:

http://www.mqm.org/

Javaid Khan said:

Daily Jasarat Karachi
    this newspaper has been working in Karachi despite Ghundagardi oF MQM terrorists.

Here they praise Pkpolitics.com for exposing False and baseless claims of MQM about Mayor Mustafa Kamal.

http://www.jasarat.com/graphic/details.php?category=nation&date=14-11-2008&newsid=05.gif

rebhos said:

Looks like the Media who reported this is at fault. By the way the picture of those two guys “kissing” looks repulsive.

Jibran_Khan said:

Assalam o alaikum!
    Guys i just have one small question …….. to all …….. if Mustafa Kamal Bhai was rated the second best then Karachi should be the second best livable city in the world i dont see that happening …….. then why is Vancouver is the best and then Melbourne and so on …….. Karachi is no where to be seen …….. as much as i want it to be the best …….. but that is not the case …….

jazoo said:

@winter

It is indeed horrific story–The worst part is we feel helpless to do anything.
    Thanks for responding.

d0ct0r said:

Follow-up to the Karachi saga

A quick follow-up to yesterday’s post on the inaccurate reports in the Pakistani media claiming that FP had named Karachi’s mayor “the second best mayor in the world”:

The Dawn newspaper, which gave prominent placement to the original inaccurate story, have now run a second story that quotes FP’s Media Coordinator Jina Hassan setting the record straight.

According to Dawn’s site, the story is the newspaper’s most read and most e-mailed item today, so hopefully this clarification should put an end to the whole mess. Although the amusing headline, “Magazine denies declaring Kamal 2nd best mayor,” kind of makes it sound like this is a matter of opinion.

We invite anyone who’s still confused to just read the original piece.

http://blog.foreignpolicy.com/node/10295

d0ct0r said:

This is what we call embarrassment on an international scale.
    (With exception of 12 may and 9 April massacre) Last time MQM encountered embarrassment on an international scale was when dorks sitting at MQM’s terrorist headquarter Nine zero (90) faxed Hitlist of journalists to Amnesty International and International media organizations including BBC etc. These half brained MQM terrorists didn’t bothered to spend few Rupees of their own to send the fax from an unknown number,instead they faxed it from official number of Nine Zero MQM’s headquarter as its and Altaf’s London hideout’s bills are paid by extortion money(bathakhori) from karachiites so why bother spending your own money when you can fax it for free.But these friggin` terrorists didn’t realized that header on fax was set to MQM’s official name and number and they faxed to all news agencies worldwide from the same number the hitlist to murder these journalists in case they didn’t stopped exposing MQM.All those journalists also received bullet filled envelopes to intimidate them.

http://tinyurl.com/mqmthreatensjournalist
    http://www.reuters.com/article/latestCrisis/idUSISL186008

nota said:

@d0ct0r
    “This is what we call embarrassment on an international scale.”

Don’t worry about that d0ct0r, as we are pretty used to “embarrassment on an international scale” by now. Don’t you remember Shauki trying to bag Rice, Mush on rape-for-visa, Gillani’s first trip to US, Zardari hitting on Palin and then pulling out BB’s pic at UN, etc., etc., etc. :)

wiqi said:

pug the news!!
    look at the picture..
    Gay Activists could award em the *MOST BESTEST* political gay couple eveh!!

shamsheer said:

PKPolitics did a good work in setting the record straight – and preventing more and more people becoming victims of news misinterpretation and/or deliberate propaganda.

It does not really matter whether Karachi is ranked 57th or 157th (or MK in top 3 or top 3000) on some magazine of which the majority never heard of before! But it is worth feeling proud about that the name of one of our cities (and countryman) were mentioned in praise.

Changes (positive) that Karachi has gone through in the past few years are un-deniable. After decades of having people spending all allocated money on fictitious ‘paper projects’, a person actually doing some work is indeed commendable. So, it would be unfair to discredit MK for ALL the good work he has done.

Even for the bloody and violent political history of Karachi, things have improved if compared to 80s and 90s. And inshaAllah, they will improve further.

Irrespective of their political backgrounds, our country NEEDs individuals like MK, Shahbaz Sharif and Kamran Lashari. Afterall, as much as a pious prophet can come out of the shadows of Pharaoh, and some biggest na-farmaan may be the very own son of Nooh – Point being: we should judge on individual’s merit.

Adnan Arshad Mansoori said:

There is no shortage of fools in this country who gets excited with full of enthusiasm without confirming/verifing a news as kiss of Altaf Bhai has gone into VAIN.

KhalidMahmood said:

@shamsheer
    Bahut Aacht Tajzea Kea Hay Aap Nay……
    It is clear for all now that ,
    Mustafa Kamal is not the best second Mayor in the world…..
    But he is still the best Mayor from any city of Pakistani ……
    In that list of FP Magazine….Only and only one city name manage to come , that is KARACHI , and Mayor of karachi is MUSTAFA KAMAL………
    So , he really deserve some salute….
    Well done Kamal….Keep it up….
    Zamanay Ko Jalnay Day…..
    Bazoo Ko Aoor Hiila…Is AAGH Ko Aoor Hawa Day……

Jatt said:

Real world’s top mayors rankings with their bio’s.

http://www.worldmayor.com/contest_2008/world-mayor-2008-results.html#Anchor-The-11481

Adonis said:

ROFL @ khalidmahmood

Your style and words you use are very similar to the eunuch of edgware road..

If that clown had been a bit educated and computer savvy I would have thought it was he writing under your name …..

citizenofkarachi said:

TT NAZIM

OH
    SORRY CT NAZIM
    MUSTAFA KAMAL IN PICS LOOKS LIKE ZABARDASTI
    PAPI

zalmay said:

@maya, can you please confirm whether MK is a ‘Khwaja Sara’? kept by Kalia