l Chief Justice Gets Historic Reception at New York | Pakistan Politics
{ 45 comments... read them below or add one }

• yhdil said:

great stuff PTI

appriciate that

• Hameed Chaudhry said:

CJSC Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry’s visit to United State of America and receiving the highest honour from the Law University for life time membership is a great honour for a citizen of Pakistan due to his struggle against the illegal actions carried out by the previous federal government ruled under Pervez Musharraf and Shaukat Aziz.

Due to firm stand against irregularities of Pervez Musharraf rule, he was removed and kept house rest illegaly by the previous regime. The lawyers movement, media, civil society, students, political workers, human right activists, retired and serving government employees, senior retired service personals, industralists and million of general public, supported CJSC Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry.

But it is shameful for PPP government and Asif Ali Zardari for not restoring the full judiciary including Iftikhar Chaudhry till today even after Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Sahiba announced and showed her willingness to restore CJSC few days before she was assasinated during an election compaign.

If not today, might be tomorrow Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry will be restore as a Chief Justice Supreme Court of Pakistan and illegal occupant Hamid Dogar has to leave.

The time is running, present PPP federal government has to fulfill promises made with Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif PML(N). If at any stage PML(N) used this issue as a weapon against PPP…. possibility is there that PPP will face strong criticism.

The whole week, CJSC Iftikhar Chaudhry is going to receive appreciation in U.S.A from local and international community and he is going to deliver speaches while in his tour to America and explain his position.

• Waqas Aftab said:

chied sahab zindabad

PTI is doing great stuff , as it is evident

plz open the link below to join PTI

http://www.insaf.pk/

they need 5000 members

• Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

had I lived in NYC, I would’ve definitely gone to receive the honorable CJP. he is a hero.

for too long, we Pakistanis have been told that we can’t change the system and that we must bow to the establishment. but this one man has shown us the way. men like Justice Iftikhar Chauhdry make ordinary people like me proud of being Pakistani. whenever Pakistani history talks of honesty and integrity, the CJP, Justice Iftikhar Chauhdry’s name will be mentioned always…

the dictator dog wasn’t good for much. but he unwittingly gave us a hero and an ideology-based movement and awareness.

• Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

also, a sincere thanks to all those who showed up to welcome our hero, the CJP. you guys did a great job representing us and showing the CJ that he most certainly is not alone in his rightful fight for rule of law in Pakistan.

of course, thanks also as usual to the admin of Pkpolitics for covering the event like no other media outlet has. I seriously think that a lot of newspapers, etc are being forced to mend their ways or at least be more vigiliant with what they report and how thanks to citizen journalism by Pkpolitics, Teeth Maestro, etc.

• Waqas Aftab said:

chief sahab zindabad

great stuff PTI

• dara said:

Iftikhar Ch received by PTI members at airport. This is politics , no stand for rule of law or fight for independence of judiciary.
    Suppose Ch Iftikhar was restored as CJ. some one has filed a case against Imran Khan or PTI, no matter how deserving that was or how much they (PTI) are involved, will Ch Iftikhar
    be justified to listen to that case?
    He should resign and give this nation a new hope and choice in politics, may be he can form the best team in Pakistani politics.

• nisar akbar said:

MAIN ASIF ALI ZARDARI HOO AUR MAIN NE KASAM KHAI HAI KEY MAIN CJ IFTIKHAR TO WAPAS CJ NAHI BANAUGA KIO KEY YEH MERE FILE KHOL DEH GA AUR MEY WAPAS JAIL NAHI JANA CHAHATA. MUJHE MAF KARNA.
    PLEASE SEE THIS WEB PAGE FOR PPP PARTY MEMBERS AND FAMILY.
    http://www.makepakistanbetter.com/why_how_what_forum.asp?GroupID=5&Group_title=Pakistan&ArticleID=4297

• NASIR said:

@dara it is clear that you are a member of ppp period???????????????

• establishment said:

where is ali ahmed kurd.
    i think he should be the one accompanying chief justice.

• WhosePakistan said:

dara!
    Your comments are absolutely ridiculous. what do you think of Mr Abdul Hameed Dogar? He actually fall into this category!

I have only one question for all of my friends!
    if one is removed from his house illegally, does he need any legal settlement to go back? of course no because legally he still owns the home. but i don’t know why our “great” law minister don’t understand this. and he is still trying to convince every one that there is no legal way to get Mr. Ch. back into his office.

• sher428 said:

@ DARA
    You can not justify the unconstitutional act taken by Musharaf and PPP (I feel PPP has become participatory of Musharaf’s action by not restoring the chief justice) with these explanations.
    We have to make Musharaf,Zardari and all others who had plundered Pakistan’s wealth accountable to nation.
    Wake up before fire reaches your house

• RoshanKhiyal said:

Geo News Has Been Shutdown again…

• nazia said:

dara
    if you see the meaning of politics in dictionary you will find
    the art or science of govt or of guiding and influencing governmental policy or of wining and holding control over a govt.
    You people just follow this word as abuse in Pakistani culture for abusing yours opponent and I call it propaganda of army rule.In army and private companies one cant use this term as their exist military and other laws that are made accordingly.In all public and govt affairs politics mean what it says above.So for God sake dont use this term as abuse.Politics leads nation towards development if you are able to find good leaders to follow and thats why we people are following cjp ch ifitkhar.if you dont favor ch Iftikhar really dont matters but see the courage of a lonely unarmed man who is standing in front of mafia culture.

• shamsheer said:

I have my doubts with the words ‘politics’ and ‘democracy’ – both of these are western denominations that they are enforcing too much (only where it suits them) and we are trying too much – and failing.

But ‘judiciary’ is beyond any shadow of a doubt: Leave it and see yourself go down the drain of chaos, corruption and anarchy.

I dont care whether whole affair of Ch Iftikhar is politicized or not. Bottomline is: his detention was illegal, has set a lethal precedence, and he must be restored.

But with stakes of our ‘democratically-elected’ and ‘ever-smiling-since-then’ president so closely linked up with the ousted judge – I dont see any restoration happening in near future :(

• m34190 said:

Welcome Mr. Chief Justice. No matter how you are treated in Pakistan, but you have become a pride of Pakistanis — inside and outside Pakistan.

• Omar said:

Great stuff pkpolitics team and hurrah and bravo toall PTI members.
    Pak media will wake up when somebody put foot on their tail, otherwise, it seems like, they don’t really care.

• Rashid1972 said:

اِک زرداری کو دیکھا تو ایسا لگا

جیسے خانہ خراب

جیسے ٹوٹل عذاب

جیسے عادی فقیر

جیسے مردہ ضمیر

جیسے ناسور ہو کوئی سڑتا ہوا

جیسے بجلی کی تار

جیسے خنجر کی دھار

جیسے دوزخ کی آگ

جیسے زہریلا ناگ

جیسے کتے پہ ہو کوا بیٹھا ہوا

جیسے گرمی کی دھوپ

جیسے شیطان کا روپ

جیسے بے وردی ڈکیٹ

جیسے مولوی کا پیٹ

جیسے ڈاکو کوئی گن دکھاتا ہوا

• fewad iqbal said:

RASHID chaa gya aeen well done

• xtra said:

These are all Pakistanis so please show up as Pakistanis not PTI workers. I dont know why we are divided in many fractions outside Pakistan.
    Pls project it as Pakistanis…………..

• Basharat said:

This is great.

I joined PTI and I encourage everyone to please join PTI. It may not be possible for all of us to participate in political activities but at least we can do this bit to support the good cause. Thanks

• Shaz said:

Apparently it seems that GEO is only shut down in those areas where MQM presence is large (Karachi, Sukker, Hydarabad, Mir pur khas etc). Can any one has inside news and explain this!

• geele.mitti said:

Most likely cause is a difference of opinion between the government and TV channel. Probably either Altaf Husain felt that he has not been given enough “Air Time” or government wants these private TV channels to “restrain” their tongues ,that is why MQM had to show their Original self.

If you ask me this is highly unnecessary as media is more than willing to do their willing. Perhaps a little bonus piece of pie would have solve the problem, but then again this is MQM we are talking about how. Guess what i got another idea , sort of epiphany, MQM wanted to bridge the gap created by weak rupee and dollar so they thought the best thing to do is to try it for their purposes and increase the rate of “Bhata” . YES!! this got to be the reason :-)

• bilajutt said:

Very very well done PTI and Imran Khan. You are
    the real heroes .

• fareed said:

Great work by PTI because PTI is the only party which is standing with CJ from the day 1 and was made for the rule of law.
    Long Live Imran Khan

• Asif said:

Status quo’s strength lies in sticking to fear-mongering & pragmatism. These forces always get together when its gonna get a hit, as an example the coalition of various parties in the recent elections to save the staus quo, once its done they parted their ways otherwise people will demand the solutions to their problems from both of them simultaneously that can also led the people to look for an alternative to the status quo.

But hope is there as long as the struggle for principles and rule of law is there. The message of rule of law and principles is getting resonated in Pakistan. Thats a healthy sign moving forward.

• Ashrafi said:

I cannot find any news coverage of CJ’s visit to New York from the mainstream press of Pakistan. Can anyone point out some links? Has the media been duct-taped or the journalists have sold themselves out to the forces of “Above the Law”? I do not see anything on bbcurdu.com either.

“We try to tell the truth but we cannot tell all the truth” – Media of 21th century

• agrana75 said:

@dara
    I need your answers..

1-Zaradari is a president of the country and also chairperson of a political party, y?
    2- If a political party in goverment is allowed to employee its political workers as goverment employees ? or if a political worker is allowed to apply for a gov job when its party is in power because it is likely that gov wil prefer its political worker instead a common man.
    3- What about justice dogar? He is considered to be personal emloyee of first musharraf and now zardari. Do we expect any justice from him against zardari? he approved 3rd nov actions of musharraf, immediately suspended clause of BA degree to entertain zardari, approved NRO to forgive people involved in mass corruption.
    4- If Iftikhar ch did something good , then if it is the time to encourage him or discourage him by saying that he is becoming political? Gov has offered him lot of things , if he was really crazy for money and good job then he would have accepted it.

• agrana75 said:

I am fed up of listening this word “muhtarma shaheed ” .. she died because she was struggling for power and not for to serve islam. PPP struggles for power only and not to relief common man. thats why their most of mnas are feudal lords. who can never afford progress in their areas.

• Malek said:

@argna75
    if i may correct you slightly….its not just for ‘power’…its for power, cash and commissions to be precise

• Hamdun said:

Great Stuff PTI, I think Imran Khan has the ability to successfully lead the nation

• Ghost Of TK said:

Great stuff PTI, let me tell of these newfangled gizmo’s called veedio recawdurr’s.. you see, what they do is, you point it to a person and it records a veedio… then, through the mirakull of tukknowlij you can posht it on the webs of the internets.

mashallah!

but seriously, ENOUGH recruitment! post some video links already!

• justice4all said:

Imran Khan is the only hope rest is crap.

• ask_me445 said:

Thnks PTI usa you done your job by welcomeing real chief justice of paksitan.

• nisar akbar said:

RASHID 1972

Very well poet,

If you write several book for this Mr. 10% and all moulvi and mullah still is not enough.
    yeh kuttey moulvi, mullah aur zardari ne Pakistan ko tabah aur burbad kar dala.

• dara said:

@ agrana75
    Ans 1+2. I don’t support or justify Zardari or PPP’s wrong doings, but unfortunately or fortunately Zardari has not entered presidency while riding tanks.
    3. I think there was no difference between Dogar and Iftikhar, as one served dictator earlier and took oath under LFO and other served him after.
    4. Yes Iftikhar Ch did well to say no to Musharaf, But when he was restored as CJ he never able to brought culprits to law, He did extremely good in steel mills case but again was not able to label charges against the culprits.
    Mr. Iftikhar Ch is nice man and straight and brave at times but he is not what you think of him “savior”. I know him and his family from Quetta from times when Late MR. Bugti appointed him high court judge in late 1980s.

• mkshoaib said:

Chief Justic Iftikhar Choudhary is a hero of the nation. pakistani people loves him and think the will resolve the problem of justice in the country

• junaid said:

lanat zardari kuttay dako wadaira per.
    lanat ppp looters per.

• Democrat2007 said:

video of CJ’s welcome at JFK airport in NY:

here

• makhalil said:

Zardari is sitting in presidency and PPP is governments by the votes of millions and millions of Pakistanis.

• Democrat2007 said:

makhalil:

Hitler was also sitting in the presidency on the basis of milions of voters. Zardari can get all the votes he wants, but that still does not make him innocent and a legitimate president, your endless trolling not withstanding.

I wish CJ Ch. Ifthikhar would eleborate & lift the curtain point blankly in his major speech at HORWARD Uni. that why American Govt. Machinery is deadly against “Restoration of Deposed Judges.”

• FahadAfridi said:

Has CJ shifted to America permanently?