{ 40 comments... read them below or add one }

KMAJ007 said:

Geo is banned in Karachi, also there are news that ARYoneworld is alos banned, according to news conference by Sherry rehman, it is under pressure by a political party, Federal Govt. is not involved. Everyone is convinced that its MQM, because of not giving promotion to City 2 no. Nazim’s arrival to karachi.

geele.mitti said:

Most likely cause is a difference of opinion between the government and TV channel. Probably either Altaf Husain felt that he has not been given enough “Air Time” or government wants these private TV channels to “restrain” their tongues ,that is why MQM had to show their Original self.

If you ask me this is highly unnecessary as media is more than willing to do their willing. Perhaps a little bonus piece of pie would have solve the problem, but then again this is MQM we are talking about how. Guess what i got another idea , sort of epiphany, MQM wanted to bridge the gap created by weak rupee and dollar so they thought the best thing to do is to try it for their purposes and increase the rate of “Bhata” . YES!! this got to be the reason :-)

Masood Ahmad said:

No matter what’s going on, the only one to blame is GOVERNMENT.

If you can’t control the country, you better resign. It’s no point putting fingers on your ownself.

Malek said:

until yesterday on ARY i was watching undue coverage of chief bhutta collector along with his Pet Mayor in connection with Pet winning No2 position and his/(its) arrival in City No 57

if there is pressure from MQM to shut down Geo (and ARY – although surprised by this) then its upto Geo and ARY to fight this battle….

i am confused whether to support these channels or not as they themselves have been involved in collaboration with facist party aka MQM and giving them more than due coverage and importance when it was not needed….???

Traffic said:

here we go again…

SnrCtzn said:

KMAJ007.

You seem to be well informed. All fingers point towards one culprit,i.e; MQM.( Right NOW, at 08.05pm, if you watch Geo Tv’s Capital Talk, present Information Minister, Sherry Rehman is ‘pointing fingers’ towards PPP’s ‘partner’ in Sindh,ie; MQM, & that she is not purposely admitting MQM’s involvement.

What other ‘proof’ if any, is required?

Malek said:

contd from above

the main message on ticker from Altaf Bahhatta Collector on ARY was

1) People of Karachi (meaning MQM) should get max number of ‘aslah’ licences

2) People of Karachi (meaning MQM) have all luxuries of life but they dont have adequate means of defence and for this reason they should be accumulating more ‘aslah’

This is a very disgusting and irresponsible statement, inciting violence, and should never have been made….but for ARY to run such statements is an equally bad offense

This news ticker was in addition to regular news for arranging a welcoming party for Do Number (No2) mayor on 17 Nov

shame on MQM and shame on ARY

Malek said:

@SnrCtzn

please update what else has been said on Capital Talk in this connection??

amajid.malik said:

Indirectly MQM is being named in this incident.

Even Hamid Mir asked Mustafa kamal(karachi nazim) that if he is such a good nazim ,he should find out till mid night who was responsible for blocking geo in karachi.

jazoo said:

Theres no difference between MQM & PPP both of them work like a Mafia.

rauf muhammad said:

if GOVT dontknow abt Geo they have no answer then someone can think what that GOVT can do in future

Jatt said:

These two chanells are anti urdu-speaking, they are the voices of feudals, two anti-karachi chanells……lol

I am getting little sick of MQM parrots repeating the same line of reasoning day after day.

I think they were worried that their scam could be called off on any of these chanells so they just disrupted their transmission.

Shaz said:

This is irony that a group of people has made hostage to whole city and its population. I really dont know how to get back this city from these terrorists and how long the situation will remain same. More than dozen of killings of Sunni Treik organization workers went unnoticed even by the media purposely. One can recall the killings of top leadership of Sunni terik in the planted bomb blast in the stage by this party in 2007. It was Musharaf who let them develop their roots and supported them to accumulate every kind of weaponry and allowed their penetration into every sensitive department including police and intelligent agencies

Malek said:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=60330

- Sherry Rehman said ‘Nobody will be allowed to obstruct the transmission of any channel’…..errrr so she doesnt know who is behind this….perhaps should also start bombing the MQM terrorists hideouts in Karachi and Hyderabad like govt is doing in Swat???

- Ahsan Iqbal expressed his shock that Federal Information Minister and Sindh Government were unaware of the secret hands responsible for transmission’s blockage.

Jatt said:

Another example of MQM’s blatant hate campaign.

http://img.metblogs.com/karachi/files/2008/11/2dsc_6173.jpg

Read the news clipping from MQM’s mouth piece paper. I find the title especially interesting “Dostoon aur Dushmanoon ko Pachanon”

geele.mitti said:

I have been an avid reader of this site. One question that i always ask to myself is why People in Pakistan are so indifferent. I am talking about “Awaam”. They are not showing their frustration. It seems this is not enough to move them. If “Awam” is so indifferent what purpose it would serve by posting our ideas and thoughts here other then to take out our frustration.
    Is this getting anywhere?

Malek said:

geele.mitti

how do u expect awaam to show frustation?

Shaz said:

I am socked to read this news

http://daily.urdupoint.com/Live-News.php?news_id=83185&featured=1&cat_id=5

I really dont want to be a citizen of the country which discriminate its citizens based on the religion they follows. This is state of affairs in Pakistan. Instead of encouraging a converted muslim, he is being treated discriminatingly.

@Admin plz put a link to condone such an act from PCB and team management against Muhammad Yousif

Shaz said:

* read condone as condemn

makhalil said:

i think its self propaganada of GEO to get fame and label to itself as an ‘Independent Media’

its Just a Fake smoke screen.

Laeeq said:

@Malek..
    perhaps should also start bombing the MQM terrorists hideouts in Karachi and Hyderabad like govt is doing in Swat???

Wow what an idea… you are genius man. Make whole country a battle field? Great thinking. I know MQM folks are idiots and so as PPP govt. But bombing will solve the problem like its solving in Swat and tribal areas. Nothing to say but feel sorry for you.

geele.mitti said:

@Malek

in similar way as it was shown by the people of Russia against Tsar, Iran against the Shah both in 1953 and 1979, people of our own sub continent against the British Raj.

zainengineer said:

Is following news true?

Geo TV Jawabdeh host Iftikhar Ahmed resigns in protest
    Written by http://www.daily.pk
    Monday, 17 November 2008 01:35

Iftikhar Ahmed, the host of Geo TV show ‘Jawabdeh’, resigned on Sunday after the channel administration refused to air an interview with former Pakistan Television managing director Shahid Masood.
    The interview was recorded last week and was being advertised in the group’s The News and Jang newspapers.

On Sunday, the Geo TV administration seized the original recording and declined to run it. Iftikhar Ahmed told Aaj Kal he was being pressured to censor parts of the interview but he did not compromise on principles and resigned.

http://www.daily.pk/local/other-local/8157-geo-tv-jawabdeh-host-iftikhar-ahmed-resigns-in-protest.html

shamsheer said:

Hard to believe that the whole province-wide (which includes interior Sindh as well, besides Karachi) outage of Geo and company can occur without Govt’s (i-e our president Zardari’s) will.

And specially when Govt spokesperson like Sherry Rehman and Rehman Malik immediately jump in front of mic to come up with pre-mature explanations of how and why Govt is not involved in it.

geele.mitti said:

Mir Shakil-ur-Rahman and Geo, playing the role of Rupert Murdoch and Fox.

Adnan Arshad Mansoori said:

Is this not challange of Writ of the Govt?
    Is this not terrorisim?
    Is this not banned on freedom of Speech?

No not at all terrorism only is determined by the Americans & their friends & importantly these friends’ children who are studying in the Westren Countries & above all who are belong to the ruling class of this country which is even less than 2% they may only decide what is true & real defination of Terrorism!!!???

zainengineer said:

Here is truth in jinnah news paper. The first news paper which had courage to say MQM was behind the ban

http://www.dailyjinnah.com/?p=12794

zahidbinmustafa said:

Important to read article by Khusnood Ali Khan in which information revealed about mqm involvement of today blockage.
    http://www.dailyjinnah.com/?p=12794

c hussain said:

Can someone guide me on this ongoing perception

Before Zardari was elected in that period there was extensive loadshedding throughout the country especially at night time which finished by magic the moment he was elected.

Some people say that the loadshedding was to prevent any negative coverage of Zardari on TV so that people could not watch those programmes.

PPP would never accept free media and they are after it now that they have tamed the judiciary. But it should realise that they dont fall in the process.

justice4all said:

This action by MQM got good results as i have been forced to watch the biggest killer of pakistan ALTAF BHAI all the day on ARY ONEWORLD.

Hameed Chaudhry said:

MQM leadership “BHAI” have announced to the supporters, join gym and shooting clubs. It means 2009 will be clash year in Karachi. Once the youngsters get trained Pervez Musharraf “RAMBO” will lead this group to achieve his goal …. this is fact.

When private tv channels, expose Altaf Hussain, Mustafa Kamal, Maulana Fazal-Ur-Rehman, Tahirul Qadri and corrupt bigli chaur wafaki wazir Syed Khurshid Shah then how its possible transmission could run smoothly.

Chaudhry Iftikhar CJSC, ARAHA HAIN.

nota said:

@zainengineer
    Re: Iftikhar Ahmed/Geo affair

Another version I heard was that Iftikhar Ahmed resigned in protest of rehiring of Dr. Shahid Masood by Geo.

Any one know if Shahid Masood has been rehired?

Munir Solangi said:

@zahidbinmustafa

I don’t agree with Khushnood Ali Khan completely.Geo TV exposed MQM in last night Capital Talk without naming it.Hamid Mir asked question to Mustafa Kamal about his mayorship ranking drama but i agree that MQM was not identified by name.

Hamid Mir exposed Altaf Hussain two years agi in Capital Talk and proved that Altaf is enemy of Pakistan.Musharraf actually targeted Hamid Mir after that incident.

MQM killed Salahudin of weekly Takbeer in Karcahi.Killers are stil at large.I request Pakistanis living outside country to expose MQM because people in Karachi are too weak against MQM.

mkshoaib said:

The bolcked of ARY One World & Geo is not a healthy sign for Democratic Goverment

Adnan Arshad Mansoori said:

Until & unless these Channels are assembled at one platform and raise the voice against those culprits who are responsible such blocked in one voice it is by mean if PROFESSIONAL JEALOUSY is remained between Geo & ARY then how can they protect themselves from such blocked/attacks?

piyariawam said:

Before its too late make all provinces staate and go under presidential system like USA. Make the Governor system like US states. If you do it yourself it is better. See how they did it in Iraq.
    Dont give your enemies a chance to further destabilize Pakistan.

I told you MQM is very very strong now. Just stop calling them terrorist, dont be naive. These people have experienced in breaking up from majority Hindu “the Indian subcontinent”,
    they can take the heat, have experience with break away of East Pakistan majority Bengalis and have rough history lessons with them.

Both with dealing with majority muslims and majority non muslims.

For now their interest lies with being in Pakistan, but if you keep calling ‘em terrorist and send Naseerullah Babar after them. They will make sure this does not happen again. And now they have made it sure it will never happen again.

This MQM is very organize and looks into the future and ahead. With all the possibilities, in mind. They have strong strong backing form the people of Karachi. Donot over look ” the will of the people” West Pakistan did unilateral decision on East Pakistan behalf, see what happened.

But this time its West Paksitan’s biggest city anf the most revenue collection bussiness center and the only workable ports. And with Port Qasim and Karchi Port.

I told you MQM is too strong, in this uncertain times dont try to pick a warin Sindh, Islamabad will loose for sure and you can see now Islamabad is challenged here via TV channels closure.

So be smart and dont try to pick wars you cannot win. And be wise in the sake of Pakistan’s interest. You think everything is allright, dont be naive we have a major civil war and international war on our ground right now in sarhad , Balochistan and FATA and AFGhanistan. Dont make a blunder of spreading it into Karachi.

For Pakistan’s sake pick another time , if you do it now you might loose Pakistan. Let them buy arms. No one can stop someone from buying arms for self defence. If you call them terrorist , its human nature they gonna go and buy arms and more.

I will tell you from MQM’s psychology they will live independently with or without Pakistan. They will be partners with the strongest international parties. That’s my assumption and it will most probably be the Americans.

love4all said:

@ piyariawam

I 100% agree with you. 68% revenue of Pakistan comes from Karachi. Don’t be misguided by propaganda that they get votes on the basis of arms & terror. People of Karachi have voted in favour of them again & again willingly. Thats the TRUTH. Therefore be fair with them & all can live peacefully together. If u keep calling them terrorist then be prepared for another Bangladesh. Phir na kehna khabar na hui.

In fact their support have increased immensely after the unbelievable development of Karachi. Those who never used to vote for them cast their vote for MQM this time.

offstage said:

Dr.Shahid Masood was angry with GEO and Iftikhar Ahmed, because of his interview “Jawabdeh”.I believe that was the ONLY reason behind Iftikhar ahmed resignation.Now i have seen the CLIPS of that interview on GEO.And now i understand, that why Dr.Shahid resign from Prime Ministers Advisor post.As he was saying in the interview clips.But interestingly, Dr.Shahid resign from the POST which was not given to him YET.As Zardari just promise to him about the Advisor Post.But without any Notification.It Means,
    “Na Khuda Hi Mila Na Wisaal A Sanam”
    “Na Idhar Kay Rahay Na Udhar Kay Rahay”
    Zardari was just using him as a CONDOM.
    But i believe, that in many Channels will OFFER him for his Services, As Dr.Shahid is very GOOD DALLLAL. and Channel owners needs that kind of Sh*t