Off the Record - 18 November 2008

November 18, 2008 . 74 Comments   

Nabeel Gabool (Minister Ports & Shipping), Saad Rafique (PMLN) and Waseem Akhtar (MQM) in this episode of Off The Record.

Free Version

Please Login or Register to read the rest of this content.

Email This Post Email This Post
{ 74 comments... read them below or add one }

• USMAN SHEIKH said:

bravo kashif abbasi bravo
    hats off to u, even my kacha off to u…lol
    ur way more brave than hamid mir
    i bet u will be the first anchor to be banned

• paki123 said:

Allah Pakistan paay raham karay
    Every Pakistani should pray for Pakistan.
    Pakistan can’t make progress and can’t be a progressive country until you we start Following SYEDNA MUHAMMAD (SAL ALLAH HOO ALIHAY WASALM) and make our iman strong

White Lie totally exposed: Nabeel Gabool (Minister Ports & Shipping)if you may not answer in a proper way why do you attend such talk shows?

Tottaly Unnecessary Arguements of Waseem Akhtar (MQM): just like that, why did Waseem adopt the policy against Kashif Abbasi tit for tat which sound & seem too oakward to watch & listen?

Khawaja Saad Rafiq: Too rigid to accept his party is not “Friendly Opposition” for PPP rather PML(N) may also become within next 4/5 weeks too hostile to bear.

Astonishing News!!!

• Malek said:

awesome programme…..KA is now perhaps the best, most fair and bravest anchor

- first anchor who had the courage to name MQM as behind blockage of channels

- treated fairly (i mean no let up in critisicing) all parties on show

i see very soon PMLN becoming more aggressive in opposition….i also see danger to SS Punjab govt

Important: so where is Zardari - as KA asked?

• Malek said:

PPP Gobol could not name a single achievement of PPP in 9 months of govt!

• swaqas said:

GR8 stance by kashf aginst MQM they are behind every terrorism act in karachi the nation needs another naseer ullah babar badly this time wipe them out especially bhai log ………

• aaddaab said:

fantastic Kashif,

MQM is stupid,

ppp is shit, uneducated ministers

jaz

• Asim Sattar said:

Excellent Program.
    MQM and PPP exposed badly.
    where is Zardari ?
    9 months have past what are the major 3 things they have done ?
    one thing $ falls by Rs 3
    Was he joking or serious ?

• agrana75 said:

Wonderful Kashif, you are the first anchorperson showing coourage to name the the actual who blocked GEO , ARY transmission and look how Wasim is admitting and barking the reasons for that.

• Voice_of_Pakistan said:

Kashif…. you are brave and I love you for this…..

May Allha bless you as you were the first one to be the Voice_of_Pakistan….

May Allah safeguard you from evil masters of our country….

Mr. Goal was sadly not able to name a single real acheveiment…..

• Traffic said:

hahaha MQM guy admitted that the closure had something to do with not giving enough airtime to baaji log. what losers man.
    kashif once again proves hes the best and bravest anchor on TV. and i really hope kh saad was serious about PMLN coming out against the PPP with full force. cos if they dont do it soon, people will loose faith in the only party they still have some faith in. they have wasted enough time playing friendly opposition already.

and this PPP minister looks like a sidekick of some Bhai from an Indian movie WTF? this is what PPP is composed of, a bunch of criminals and morally bankrupt gang of individuals.

• Malek said:

- MQatilM leader threatens on live TV….. ‘kuch TV channels to sudhar gai hain baqi bhi sudhar jain gai’

- SR: MQM dont have the equipment for aerial bombarment yet!…otherwise they will do that too in addition to their ‘bori mai lash’

- main failure of PPP govt is that not even a single institution has been strengthened….correctly pointed out by KA and fully supported by SR

- 1st Quarter 2009….is it the deadline to PPP by PMLN and after that dhama dam mast qalander…as in the words of BB??

- PPP is maligning PMLN by calling it friendly opposition. Very well responded by SR; dont take advantage, mend your ways and take advantage of the ‘tolerance’ which is not going to last for ever!

- Perhaps one of the best was PPP offering all oppostion for help in resolving law, order, economical situation etc etc….SA sarcastic comment what about judici@ry!!

- PPP Gobol who is a federal minister cant even answer a simple qst by KA ‘what is a direction of the govt’…answer aein bain shain..gol motol just like the minister himself!

But teh Question is ….where is Zaradri?

• inam ul haq said:

well done Kashif . you gave shut up call to MQM (Lanti)…you all time my fav kashif . can any one help me out to pass kashif Abbasi direct NO ..please …message me here on mail me my id is chand_100@hotmail.com
    thanks if someone help me for this

• Blackhawk12 said:

these kind of statements not only make there claim more stronger but also give them chance to point there finger at media. Our media is a revolution and Allah’s blessing to this nation and most of anchor are doing excellent jobs (including Kashif abbasi) in exposing the hypocrite and corrupt devils who are sucking this nation blood. But at the same time every thing has some rules and we must play by these rules.

• Hassan Niazi said:

Kashif Abbasi is the new Sher of Pakistan!

May Allah bless our country.
    Love to all my Pakistani brothers and sisters.

• lofty said:

Kashif is most courageous anchor among all the anchors. I would rank Mushtaq Minhas on number two. I think these two anchors will pay heavily for speaking the truth and exposing these hypocrites. May Allah keep them under His protection.

• BA said:

Nabeel Gabol is out of his mind. Rather than respecting PML(N) and instead of using the annoying ‘Friendly Opposition’ phrase and embarrassing them publicly, he should have payed thanks and appreciate them by adhering with Misaaq-e-Jamhoriat.

This is the difference between political midgets and leaders. When you are a ruling party you respect all those elements who overtly or covertly assist you for a great cause. And everybody know that cause, which is to keep khaki out of power affairs. But this guy was bent on exposing and humiliating them, thus to push them to wall and start that once again that crazy decade of 90s where fighting between democratic forces encouraged usurpers like Musharraf to ruin this country.

PPP leadership, please pick the right people to represent you as you are already facing a credibility crises.

• desi-ghee said:

to MAKHALIL,

Thing is your soul will only be awaken when you will lie in your grave.

Party affiliation OK

but to throw away your kids future for the sake of few rupees?

you may wake up before you go to your grave, I hope you do so.

• Asim Sattar said:

@makhalil
    the other side of these 3 things are

1. Giving gaurd of honour to Musharraf, deals with him, protecting him like their father.

2. Benazir Card: another way to steal the money of tax payers. whos money is this ? Its not coming out of Zardari Swiss Bank account but its the people money that will go to Jiyalas/corrupt MNAs.

3. Bombing on innocent children and women and leting America do the same.

• zahidbinmustafa said:

Kashif abbasi hit at right time and on right person. This was the Waseem Akhtar who was provincial interior minister in mushi govt. He always used fascist tactics to bring hurdle in lawyers movement and mqm opponents. 12th may is the evidence. bhatta khur pillay….

@MAKHALIL,
    first wake up and then grow up ….u jiyala moron

• makhalil said:

@Traffic

i didn’t put forward point that you people will agree with that.

the ultimate decision lies to the people of Pakistan which they will give in next election in 2013.

Not few anchors who are paid 1.5millions per month for critising the government.

• ranaumair said:

hahahahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhahahaha best program ever…KASHIF ABBASI IS THE MAN u rock man…ur the man!!!!…long live kashif abbasi!!!

• makhalil said:

let me address your points

1-Mush is a criminal
    Yes i agree then all his collaborators are criminals as well so helped him and worked with him
    1-general Kiyani and gang.
    2-Doger and Gang
    3-Ch Iftikhar and Gang
    4-PMLq and gang
    5-all bureaucrats
    6-all ambassadors

so if we want to bring Musharraf to court of Law then why not all these collaborators as well who help him at times to break the constitution of pakistan.

what do you saY.

• SuchaPakistani said:

Kashif is the best.

• makhalil said:

If you want to arrest and hang Musharraf [which i totally agree with you} then you will have to arrest and hang all these people as well.
    Which i hope will be at least 1000 people/.

and I personally don’t think so that its will Help Pakistan in any way if we arrest and hang 1000 above mentioned people.

• Traffic said:

@ makhalil

you are a typical PPP idiot who circles around questions like a motorbike in a “maut ka kuwaan”. till today germany arrests former nazis who had a role in the crimes of hitler, chile arrests former criminals who killed innocent people in pinochet’s dictatorship, Iraq arrests former Baathists who helped Saddam carry out massacres, same with almost all other criminal dictators around the world. PPP is the only party which is spending millions on PROTeCTING a criminal and murderer and taking care of all his needs because they came to govt through a deal with him and because their American masters have ordered them to do so. you can never defend these actions of Zardaro and PPP.

• bokhari abid said:

KISI KO NANGA KERNA HO TU HAZIR HAI arY kI jANIB sAY kASHIf ABBASI …. :)
    nEED 2 TAKE CARE OF URSELF ….
    MEDIA IS UNDERFIRE AGAIN

• yhdil said:

Bravo Wow Wow

Bingoo

Thats’ the best programme done by kashif - to me.

Bang on target and grilled everyone.

I am particularlly happy on his take on MQM. Atleast he dared to ask straight away.
    MQM minister as usual crying about fedual system!

Nabeel Gbhool is like lost bafallo. Someone should tell me how to represent the party.

OMG, the cabinet men does not even know where his party co-chairman and president of PK is :O

Pee Pee Pee ship is definately sinking !

Kashif Abbasi Was Best
    Saad Rafique was good
    Wasim and Gabool Was WORST.

* Suggestion to Admin *

Is there any possibilty of introducing the Rating System of each program. i.e. Viewrs, after watching the programme can rate it from 1 to 5.

It would be helpful for those who do not have enough time to read the comments. They can see the rating and find out the views of the majority about the specific programme

• alam said:

Kashif Abbasi Rocks…

Nabeel Gabool Humpty Dumpty SUCKS…

• fareed said:

Great Kashif. He is daring person who can name the real terrorist.
    Long Live Kashif Abbasi

• umrooayar said:

bravo u r great
    outrageous and fully confident of your arguments.
    absolutely marvellous
    i hope MERAY MUTABIQ anchor will be much ashamed today to see this man

• Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

if anyone was going to expose MQM terrorism and fascism, it was going to be Kashif!

great job, Kashif. stay strong - we’re with you. you’re a star and we love you.

• noorul said:

I hope kashif was backed by a solid proof otherwise it sounds un professional for a non partisan anchor to acuse some political party like he did by naming mqm behind the closure tv ch in karachi.

• A Mehmood said:

KASHIF ABBASI IS DOING GREAT JOB. ALLAH HELP HIM.

• A Mehmood said:

EVERY ONE KNOWS IN PRESENT GOVT WILL PULL OUT SOME ANCHORS TO SPEAK TRUTH.

REQUEST TO ALL PATRIOTS TO PRAY FOR ALL ANCHORS especially,

KASHIF ABBASI
    HAMID MIR
    TALAT HUSSAIN
    JAVED CHOUDHRY
    IFTIKHAR

and some journalists
    INSAR BARNI.

• A Mehmood said:

WE ARE MISSING TO IMRAN KHAN IN SHOWS.

• Ghost Of TK said:

Good on Kashif Abbasi for showing the MQ-Munafiq the mirror. Although I wish he had put the question in terms of how he was making his claim (unconfirmed reports? sources? rumours? — what exactly is it that prompted Kashif to make that claim)

I guess the program is called “off the record” for a reason, but sometimes I wish Kashif wouldn’t become a party to the argument and sort of conduct the conversation ‘from the outside’ as it were as opposed to getting entangled in the arguments, he-said-she-said type shouting matches which are all too common when our esteemed polly-tishuns are in front of a camera.

Still, all in all, brilliant job and a great show of COJONES!

• srau said:

shukar hai kissi main tow himmat hai! bravo kashif bravo….mashallah kia mqm ka banda hai…kehta hai kuch chanels theek ho gayay hain kuch ho jain gay…wah wah wah….usss kalay moonh walay ki speech nahin dikhai tow channel band kar diyay….kaisay himmat hoi bhai loogoon ki speech nahin dikhanay ki….

• mastang said:

God bless Kashif. Really a brave guy. Even Hamid Mir did not have the courage to point at MQM. I can see him getting banned very soon.
    I do not think Pakistani politicians have the courage to listen to criticism and accept their mistakes. This is one of the best from OTR

• nota said:

Bravo!

(As for wishes that “Kashif wouldn’t become a party to the argument and sort of conduct the conversation ‘from the outside’”, I say to hell with that PC crap. Want that? Then watch one of the hundreds of other talk shows.)

• Traffic said:

@ nota

i agree. i wonder why some people have problems when the anchors grill these mofos, and then these guys say “oh they’re becoming a party”. whose side was kashif taking today? he criticised everyone including PMLN. these ppl love it when sellouts like talat take sides of the govt, then its “balanced reporting”.

• nisar akbar said:

Well done Kashif,

This ppp leaders are completly corrupt.

Yeh saab chor hay saleh.
    yeh saab khutay kha kar aur bhook kar chaley jaigay.

• love4all said:

Good job Waseem,

MQM is the future of Pakistan. People like Naseer-ullah Babar thought that they have finished MQM. And that’s What people of other provinces wished also. But thanks to ALLAH that MQM is becoming popular day by day all over Pakistan & has never been so strong ever before. Negative propaganda will always be there since majority of Pakistan is ruled by uneducated corrupt politicians & intelligence agencies.

Kashif Abbasi should have provided the proof. Hamid Mir was not sure it was MQM who did it & was smart enough not to take MQM’s name. Invetigate first, come with proof & then put blame on someone. Maybe it was enemies of MQM who just wanted to tarnish the image of MQM as always so other provinces of Pakistan be misguided & don’t dare to join MQM in other provinces. Journey to all over Pakistan will be hard one but not imposssible. Inshallah!!

• nota said:

@Traffic

I think what they want is something like the following:

Host: People are saying the sky is blue. Do you agree?
    Govt. Rep (GR): Sara media ka kasoor hay. It is clear the sky is green!
    Op: No, the sky is red!
    GR: Green!
    Op: Red!
    GR: Certainly not red!
    Op: Certainly not green!
    Host: Thank you for the frank discussion and thank you for your valuable time. Tomorrow we will talking “Do cows moo?”

May I suggest they watch Atiqa Odho/PTV?

What’s wrong with the host stating “You know it is fvcking BLUE, so cut the cr@p!”??? Why can’t the host call a lie for what it is? The very reason these shows (Talat, Hamid Mir, Kashif, etc.) have become popular is because they question what pols would have us believe…

• mansoor chaudhry said:

Kashif Abasi u r best

• aristotle said:

Great and brave effort by Kashif abbasi… he is the only one who did it openly… even Hamid Mir did not do it. Our best wishes for u…but at the same time we r afraid.. This cruel system can not bear truth and openness … my child! Why u r trying to produce a widow and orphans? Anyways, God bless u and safe u from MQM mafia

Nabeel gabool is a big dadoo and fit for Zardari cruel’ s cabinet… even he does not know that where is his big boss ?? Who r enjoying in London with his son… Mr gabool has nothing to reply.. Not a single achievement … Saad Rafique is gud one as always… waseem akhtar is a true representative of his party… “ Baqi channels tu sudhar gay hen eik do reh gay hen…” he admitted that his party is involved in channels sudhar campaign by threats ..gunda gardi, dhons dahmki, qatal o garat gari, dehshat gardi and bhatta r major tasks of this party.. God bless us
    again Kashif bravo but be careful… nobody would help u in tough times and hot waters… except slogan chanting…

• aristotle said:

waseem akhtar was speaking and condemning feudal mentality in the parliament .. Big joke… they r against feudalism but nominated and supported Mr Zardari as president.. gud !hypocrisy zindabad .. but people r not stupid at least not as much what u QM people understand

• Taimoor Ashraf said:

I agree with Usman Sheikh … he will be the first to be banned, not only banned he might get a kicked from owner’s of ARY. Because owner’s are greedy there motive is “Quaid e Azam” money paisa .. Let’s see

His stance against change is geniune I support him, if he will be jacked I’ll organize “OFF THE RECORD” on streets. INSHALLAH

• Malek said:

Irfan Siddiqi on Punjab Governor’s letters to Punjab Govt, Taseers onslought on media and use of governor house

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/nov2008-daily/19-11-2008/col3.htm

• nota said:

@Malek
    You ought to see this as well

• Rough Idea said:

May ALLAH protect Kashif Abbasi and sincere ppl like him from MQM terrorists. Ameen.

• junaid said:

kashif in action. pmln should come out to street against fatal wadaira party.

• Ghost Of TK said:

No one wants Kashif to turn into one of the other ‘hundreds’ of anchors. It is a general comment on the state of Pakistani electronic media where even the supposed ‘best’ can’t seem to know where to draw the line for themselves and seem to jump into the fray.

Talat is the best of the bunch and I think Kashif could learn a few tricks from him. Far be it from me to broach this any further and irritate the already oversensitive egos.

No problem with what he’s saying or ‘trying to expose’ , it is the way he is doing it. and NO it is not un-due emphasis on mere semantics. I support his stance btw, just not the way he’s going about it.

• nota said:

@Ghost
    “Talat is the best of the bunch and I think Kashif could learn a few tricks from him. Far be it from me to broach this any further and irritate the already oversensitive egos.”

Agree :). Maybe I was being oversensitive but I suffer from PTSD having lived for over 20 years under the “Equal Time Rule”, the “Fairness Doctrine” — and it’s revocation (that made FoxNews and Rush Limbaugh possible) — and the very thought gives me the creeps… :mad:

• Shujaat Ali said:

This was a very good show. Kashif abbasi did a good job. He should just be careful. Almost a year, and these people are still talking and doing nothing. wohi baat hogayee…jo garajtay hein woh barastay nahi.

They have wasted time in
    1- begging for loans inspite of sitting in the country and making it happen within Pakistan’s effort.

2- coming on talk shows and thinking of how to talk stupid. Really their answers seem stupid most of the times. Sometimes they just argue like people do at homes…tch!

3- trying to change everything that has happened in the last 60 years!! Are they nuts? First, do what you can do for today then look at the things done in the past 60 years. What are they thinking?…five years are nothing in front of 60 years…

OMG…IDK…I pray Allah is with the nation, Inshallah!

• mm76 said:

there is one golden rule,
    i think we forget this……..
    let me remind you.
    ——–
    our prophet (PBUH) said.
    (Meaning).

“Jasa Log wasa Hukmran”

fault is we choose these rulers, and we pay the price.
    until we change our thinking. thing will remain same. even worst then Bastered Mushraf

• dara said:

I don’t understand what that Kashif Abassi the brave warrior thing is?
    I agree up to the fact that we need to criticize and question government people, but when answer has received then there is no need to argue and being judgemental.
    Kashif Abbasi sounds like immature and partisan. Every one has opinion and Kashif has aright to have one but as anchor you put a question but never react to answer the way kKashif does.
    I hope you take my critical analysis in good faith.

• dara said:

This government will not react as did Musharaf against media. The history of our country reveals there were unsung heroes in media world. Those who stood against Ayub, Yahya and Zia, as those were the times when media people were jailed and some got lashes as punishment. In those times there was no GEo, ARY or Aaj Tv to show the bravery of those real heroes.
    most of the anchors specially new journalist have no links to society, they come from rich back grounds or they become rich.
    The majority of our masses doesn’t have access to these tv talk shows and they don’t care much about it.
    The success of TV Talk shows was only imminent during lawyers movement and elections time.

• Taimur said:

Idiots who are posting critical comments on Kashif should realize that he lives in the same country and is a citizen and he has emotions. He knows that PPP is further sinking the country. One thing PPP could have done was to prosecute Musharraf and his buddies atleast. Too bad a deal was done in the past!

• supercreature said:

Moreover:

If you remember the Tehmina Durrani was married in that Khar’s family. Tehmina Durrani is currently associated with a non-governmental organization that works for the social rehabilitation of women after abuse. In 2001, Durrani publicly took on the caregiver role of Fakhra Yunas, the former wife of Bilal Khar, a former politician and the son of Ghulam Mustafa Khar from his first marriage. Yunas had been a victim of an acid attack by her husband. Durrani took Yunas abroad, capturing media attention and spurring her commitment to bring Khar, convicted of the attack, to trial. She was inititally denied passport to leave Pakistan for Yunas’s surgery. But later on under pressure the government allowed her to leave Pakistan with Yunas. Durrani was also successfully able to provide reconstructive surgery free-of-cost to Yunas, courtesy of Italian cosmetics firm Sant’Angelica. The firm is now working in Pakistan for many such battered and abused women.

I am not trying to make Durrani good, just trying to point out the many part of Hina’s interview echo’s her Feudal background

• saba said:

i m unable to view this prog

• offstage said:

Tehmina Durrani is Now Tehmina Shahbaz Shrif, Chooto Bhai ki BeeVee.Asal mein Sharif Family par bahut bura waqt tha, aur islam mein 4 ki ijazat hay, agar ziada bura waqt aa jaay, to mazeed bhi socha ja sakta hay.Akhir pooray Punjab ka sooda kia hay ham nay.Zardari and Gilani have more choices than Sharif’s Brothers now a days.Baynazir ki kami aik Aurat say kahan poori hoti hay,4 province say chunn chunn kar ……. Zardari sahib kami ko pooora karain gay.

• saba said:

very good prog
    kashif u rock

• masadi said:

Kashif bravo,
    Allah will bless u,
    Go ahead,
    you are representing a common paki.
    The best program ever,
    All the credit goes to kashif,
    The good grilling,
    U are the man,
    U are the bravo,
    Love u meri jaaaaaan,
    Allah Bless u always,
    All nation’s prayers are with u.

• concerned_pakistani said:

BRAVO, BRAVO, BRAVO Kashif !!!!

Finally someone has the courage to ask a direct question on live TV from a MQM goon like Waseem Akhtar (notorious for his role in 12th May massacre as interior minister Sindh).

I wish and hope that other anchors will take courage and will be united against the politics of fear and will take MQM head on. One issue they should not let easily pass by is to expose this so called “No 2 Mayor of the world” stunt.

May Allah protect Kashif, ameen!

• ali4asat said:

God Allmighty bless u Kaskif.

• ali4asat said:

Kashif*

• love4all said:

Good job Waseem,

MQM is the future of Pakistan. People like Naseer-ullah Babar thought that they have finished MQM. And that’s What people of other provinces wished also. But thanks to ALLAH that MQM is becoming popular day by day all over Pakistan & has never been so strong ever before. Negative propaganda will always be there since majority of Pakistan is ruled by uneducated corrupt politicians & intelligence agencies.

Kashif Abbasi should have provided the proof. Hamid Mir was not sure it was MQM who did it & was smart enough not to take MQM’s name. Invetigate first, come with proof & then put blame on someone. Maybe it was enemies of MQM who just wanted to tarnish the image of MQM as always so other provinces of Pakistan be misguided & don’t dare to join MQM in other provinces. Journey to all over Pakistan will be hard one but not imposssible. Inshallah!!

• love4all said:

Dear intelligent people of Pakistan please watch today’s episode of “Sawal yeh hay” on ARY ONE. One of the world’s best mayor was the chief guest. pk (pee kay) politics will not put this prgramme here. Or they have the courage to do so ??

Take care, Allah hafiz & PAKISTAN ZINDABAD.

• mansoor chaudhry said:

Kashif***** FIVE STARS FOR YOU
    I am watching this show once again.
    for kashif i can say

MUJHEY HEY HUKUM-E-AZAN LA ILLAHA ILLILAH.

• proactive37 said:

The body language and delivery of Kashif Abbasi is definitely awe-inspiring. After the inconsistent interview with hussain haqqani Kashif has changed dynamically.

• supercreature said:

@love4all
    That so called future of pakistan is telling to media if you will cross the line you will not have smooth sailing …. wow,
    you please shut the …. up.

• love4all said:

@Supercreature

Always mind your languge & be a good muslim.

Aqbat kharab kernay ka kia faida ?

These politicians don’t even know we are defending them here, wasting our time throwing bad eggs & abuses on each other.

From this forum we should learn how to save our Pakistan. And I will again say MQM is the only choice. Believe it or not.

• qurman2000 said:

Can some one throw this huge Ass named Nabeel Gabool?
    He is from Lyari but never did anything for Lyari.
    Waseem Akhter is as usual a Mafia King threatening Kashif Abbasi.
    Saad Rafiq is in opposition so his saying has less weightage as long as he is in opposition.